Perodua Ativa Hybrid spotted in Malaysia – 28 km/l; 106 PS/170 Nm range-extended EV; launching soon?

At first glance, this scene doesn’t appear to be anything out of the ordinary. What you’re looking at here are several units of the Perodua Ativa being carried on a trailer, but the keen-eyed among you might notice something peculiar.

See it, yet? Well, if you look at the rear bumpers of the cars on the trailer, you’ll notice they are of a different design than those of the Ativa currently on sale – the wheels too. Rather than having L-shaped elements at the corners that meet up with an arched segment in the lower apron, the cars on the trailer have five-sided fog lamp surrounds that are separate from the flat black trim.

It’s certainly too soon for the Ativa to be refreshed considering it only made its launch debut last March, so what’s the story here? Well, this rear design is what you’ll find on the Daihatsu Rocky which the Ativa is based on, and we could very well be looking at the hybrid version of the compact SUV.

The idea of Perodua introducing an Ativa Hybrid isn’t new. Following the launch of the model in March 2021, a Rocky e:Smart Hybrid was spotted a few months later in October on Malaysian roads – e:Smart is what Daihatsu calls its hybrid system. In November the same year, Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad confirmed that the taped-up SUV sighted was “for evaluation and study purposes” and “more will be disclosed when the time is right.”

It appears the time may very well be soon, as none of the cars on the trailer are disguised and they all bear the Perodua badge. Of course, the carmaker hasn’t confirmed if or when it will introduce a hybrid version of the Ativa, but it looks like they’ll have quite a few units to offer. The rumour running around is there’ll be just 300 units offered for lease.

We don’t get a clear frontal shot of the cars on the trailer, but what little of the headlamp we can see appears to be the same as those on the Rocky. The Ativa’s face differs from its Japanese sibling, the latter of which has a smaller honeycomb-mesh grille and triangular cutouts for the front fog lamps and DRLs.

Daihatsu Rocky e:Smart Hybrid (left), Perodua Ativa AV (right)

Seeing how the design of these cars appear to be identical to the Rocky e:Smart Hybrid (at least from the rear view), these cars are likely fully imported (CBU) from Japan before being rebadged here. Word on the wire is the Ativa Hybrid is currently codenamed D47B (the regular Ativa is D55L).

The e:Smart Hybrid system in the Rocky is claimed to provide a WLTC-rated fuel consumption of 28 km/litre and features a WA-VEX 1.2 litre Atkinson-cycle three-cylinder rated at 82 PS (80 hp) at 5,600 rpm and 105 Nm of torque from 3,200 to 5,200 rpm.

The engine primarily acts as a generator for a 4.3-Ah lithium-ion battery that sits under the rear seats, which then powers an E1A electric motor that drives the front wheels with 106 PS (105 hp or 78 kW) and 170 Nm.

Can you make out the orange high-voltage cable?

The range extender setup also comes with a Smart Pedal feature that enables one-pedal driving, with normal and eco modes available to vary the throttle response. Though not explicitly visible, the provider of these images, paultan.org reader Shavinish Nash, noticed an orange high-voltage cable running across the undercarriage when snapping the photos.

In Japan, the Rocky e:Smart Hybrid is offered in two variants, starting with the X that is priced at 2.116 million yen (RM69,577) and followed by the range-topping Premium for 2.347 million yen (RM77,172). The current Ativa we have here with the 1KR-VET 1.0 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine is priced between RM62,500 and RM72,600, for context.

Are you looking forward to getting your hands on the Ativa Hybrid? How much would you be willing to cough up to pay/lease it? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

GALLERY: Daihatsu Rocky e:Smart Hybrid (Japan market)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Typo wweiiiii on Jul 28, 2022 at 10:57 am

28 litres per 100 km???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Habibu on Jul 28, 2022 at 12:10 pm

That’s just a minor typo where authors can edit it back immediately, no need to give so surprise reaction like you hit jackpot

Typical Malaysian reaction

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Aikon on Jul 28, 2022 at 12:36 pm

28 km/litre.. Syabas P2. amazing car, pride of Malaysia. 32mil rakyat , Dare to change

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jul 28, 2022 at 1:39 pm

So “Targeted Subsidy” test is real

• Barang rare ni

• meladam on Jul 28, 2022 at 5:29 pm

if they add on the EPB and change the aircon design button, I’ll buy for sure

• AppleTree on Jul 29, 2022 at 11:44 am

I don’t see you like this car enough to buy it. Both your request are minor. If you like this car enough, u will buy it.

• Orang Minyak on Jul 28, 2022 at 11:01 am

“The e:Smart Hybrid system in the Rocky is claimed to provide a WLTC-rated fuel consumption of 28 litres per 100 km and features a WA-VEX 1.2 litre Atkinson-cycle three-cylinder rated at 82 PS (80 hp) at 5,600 rpm and 105 Nm of torque from 3,200 to 5,200 rpm.”

Fuyoh 28L/100km
    This is the Perodua Maserativa?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • ManualPowah on Jul 28, 2022 at 11:15 am

Myb manual ativa LOL

• 28km/ litre la… Bukan 28 litre/ 100km..

• shiro on Jul 28, 2022 at 1:08 pm

If the leasing with the price of less than RM600/month ok la, i would consider it then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Anant on Jul 28, 2022 at 2:30 pm

You buy car 10% dp with loan already RM800-1k per month, and you expecting them to lease you at RM600 per month?

You should buy it and lease it to me at RM600 per month inclusive petrol, maintenance and insurance instead. I’d take it any day.

• U might as well ask for free

• Cipai on Jul 28, 2022 at 6:06 pm

That price? Proton Saga manual maybe lah.

• Nirvana on Jul 29, 2022 at 2:47 am

Proton is the best when it comes to price, i d’ont see any reason to buy Perodua

• Anant on Jul 29, 2022 at 11:51 am

Why not you put your money where your mouth is and buy a Proton? Do show picture proof of car and JPJ reg card.

Hopefully they have parts for you in case car break down.

• Ground europe passenger on Jul 28, 2022 at 2:19 pm

Just spot the similar rim design can confirm it’s hybrid? If does is that necessary? Ativa turbo 1.0 already save fuel. Malaysian more keen on a perodua 1.5 sedan.

• dellen on Jul 28, 2022 at 3:38 pm

hello… did you read any of the part about the high voltage cables?

• Ground europe passenger on Jul 29, 2022 at 10:11 am

Oh ya sorry sorry, but thought that was a rusted exhaust pipe.

• 1.5 sedan?

Already have Vios for that.. if Perodua decides to do 1.5, it will be the same car and use same strategy with Aruz & Alza. Toyota will be selling the premium version.

• Ground europe passenger on Jul 29, 2022 at 10:34 am

The problem are with the pricing. Vios G rm90k, if perodua 1.5 sedan full spec rm70k will surpassed myvi selling. Ativa hybrid will properly go up rm80k+ too. Like city hybrid few people will want to buy, 7 years later the battery needs like rm10k to replace or no more hybrid, the safe fuel money won’t cover that.
        But then a perodua 1.5 sedan will kill off vios sales like alza to avanza. Possibly kill off city and persona too.

• Whatever.... on Jul 29, 2022 at 4:19 pm

If Ativa is going hibrid, they will throw away the turbo….

• https://paultan.org/2019/07/22/renault-subscription-now-open-to-the-public-malaysia/

A compact Renault Captur SUV –
    RM109k for
    RM1299/24months, 20,000km/year
    RM1499/24months, 30,000km/year
    Excess mileage is expensive @ RM0.50/km.

This 1.2EV Raize DNGA Ativa Hybrid,
    With good 28km/L fc, ppl would travel alot easily,
    Enjoying the sporty and fun compact SUV.

Meanwhile,
    Stellantis Europe low spec EV Subscription start as low as 145Euro 500km included, £0.07/km.

• una owen on Jul 28, 2022 at 3:18 pm

hope they add this hybrid system into Alza as well in the future

• Even better.

• Sohai on Jul 28, 2022 at 6:03 pm

If you want to predict the future, you just have to look at what Toyota and daihatsu are offering. If Veloz has such model than have lah…

• Whatever.... on Jul 29, 2022 at 4:24 pm

The battery itself is around rm10k not to mention other stuffs to change to hibrid. What would Alza price be then? Kayangan price…

• Klipnof on Jul 28, 2022 at 3:36 pm

Hi yaa , i tell u ahh … hybrid is a waste timer .. mr tan paul ahh dont u dare to review or say good comment on current hybrid batts … i sudah pakai myself ( audi ke/ merz ke/ bm lo semua macam bodoh la beli hybrid) wait until they use coming china technolgy BYD battery that can go more than 500km range , then only worth to talk … right now can forget about all hybrid cars… stupid lah to drive when range only 50-100 km .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 34
    • kebal on Jul 28, 2022 at 5:03 pm

u talking about PHEV vs full BEV… of course BEV will have much longer range. Thing is full BEV is too expensive/troublesome for most ppl. HEV is the intermediary solution

• Sohai on Jul 28, 2022 at 6:01 pm

Just by Alza lah… 22km/L, not bad mah.

• Why no plug in hybric, electricity much cheaper than petrol and most house in malaysia can charge overnight

• Mark X on Jul 29, 2022 at 9:32 pm

YES PLEASE!!!! I’ve been waiting for ages for this!

• Mark X on Jul 29, 2022 at 9:45 pm

Dear Editor,
    Please update the FC.
    28km/L as per WLTC standard,
    34.8km/L as per JC08 standard.
    Both similar to Prius.
    I’ve been using Prius since 2010, this Rocky E comes just in time as my old Prius real world FC now reduced to 20km/L.

• ROTI CANAI on Jul 31, 2022 at 2:53 pm

meanwhile geely proton syok sendiri keep on selling outdated rebadged cars with 4 airbags

• In practice, we would not get the claimed 28km/l. Usually we down-perform by 4 or 5 km, that means it would practically be about 23km/l. If Perodua is selling Ativa Hybrid at the same converted price from Japanese Yen, then it is very worth buying it. If the price gap is too big, then going for the non-hybrid is still a better option. Usually hybrid car don’t have a good second value after 5 years (warranty ends). The maintenance cost for the electrical wiring system may be quite expensive and only trained professional foreman knows how to repair it. I’m not sure how long can the battery last and how much this 43 MAh battery cost….usually a new battery may need to be replaced after 8 years on average (will need to wait for Perodua’s detail). However, if bank interest is low ( for eco car) then it’s worth considering.