Sime Darby Motors opens pop-up store in 1 Utama – BMW, MINI, BMW Motorrad, BYD, Hyundai and Ford

Sime Darby Motors (SDM) has opened its first-ever pop-up store, and it’s located at the ground floor of 1 Utama’s old wing. Situated next to Uniqlo, you won’t miss it. Brands under SDM that are present are BMW, MINI, BMW Motorrad, BYD, Hyundai and Ford. Open to all, the pop-up store will be there for three months, till March 31.

Auto Bavaria is showcasing its EVs, which include the BMW iX xDrive40, iX xDrive50 Sport, iX1 and the statement-making i7. BMW Motorrad is showing the futuristic CE04 electric scooter, the C400 GT premium midsize scooter and the retrolicious R nineT. Over at MINI, try the fun little MINI Electric out for size.

Also parked in 1U are the BYD Atto 3 (including the Anniversary Edition), BYD Dolphin, Ford Ranger Raptor, luxury-oriented Ford Ranger Platinum, the Ford Everest SUV, Hyundai Ioniq 5 and Hyundai Ioniq 6, the latter featured in Max RWD and Max AWD form.

Of course, sales representatives and product experts will be on hand to explain the vehicles and the tech/features within, and there are also exclusive promotions and special offers available only at the pop-up store.

Once again, the SDM pop-up store is at the 1U’s old wing, next to the ground floor Uniqlo, the spot where Muji used to be. Click on the links above to recap the models. Guys who have to wait, have some window shopping of your own.

GALLERY: Sime Darby Motors 1 Utama pop-up store

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• He Long Must on Jan 05, 2024 at 4:06 pm

I wonder where they got this idea from

• Dah Menang Semua on Jan 05, 2024 at 6:23 pm

This has been quite common in some other Asean countries if U google U might know where…

• ROTI CANAI on Jan 05, 2024 at 10:03 pm

very pointless, the staff in the shop damn blur dono anything one

• lolpanda on Jan 08, 2024 at 8:58 am

that’s pretty much most SAs in Malaysia across all brands from my experience. they don’t bother learning the details of the cars they’re selling.

sometimes they even quote you wrong info (confidently) despite it being printed on the brochure.

• Peppa on Jan 05, 2024 at 10:39 pm

If i want to buy a brand new BMW, why would i should be in the same room with people looking for Hyundai? Sime Darby missed the memo here. Tesla open a Tesla Store to sell a TESLA ONLY product. Not this messy embarrassing pop up store

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
    • Sayam Dabi on Jan 06, 2024 at 1:10 pm

We attract delusional buyers (read B40) into the shop hoping to buy jenama kayangan but after SA viewed their income docs slowly drop brand to the cheapest. Our bad for not including jenama rahmah like T & P2

• Low class or no class Sime darby on Jan 06, 2024 at 1:30 pm

Peppa or pepper
      Sime Darby does not know what niche market means.
      They got all mixed up,like rojak.
      Can u imagine one walking into a showroom full of chapalang
      low class cars while they r trying to sell you a Rolls Royce?
      It is like Pavilion Mall allowing all the roadside mamak or longtong stalls side by side with upscale Bulgari or Loius Vitton.
      Bukan jatuh standard..langsung tiaada standard,Sime darby.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
      • best in class on Jan 08, 2024 at 8:49 am

yes, nobody has better class than you in your chapalang pimped out bezza with GT wing bigger than a mahjongg table.

the whole point of the pop-up is to position Sime Darby as a leading EV player in the market. what puzzles me is why Volvo isn’t there but they brought Ford instead which doesn’t have any EV models on offer – a bit out of place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Point is to show consumers that Tesla is not the only name in the game synonymous with EV.

• they’re hardly the best either…Tesla’s got great PR but mediocre cars and quality control.

credit where credit’s due – excellent software though.

Musk going they’re a tech/software company and not a car company almost seems like a sorry excuse to why their cars are such poor quality.

• BYDnambawan on Jan 07, 2024 at 10:04 pm

you mean Burn Your Dreams..Hyundai also too expensive for you to afford (more exp than some BMW EV)

you may now go back and cry in your zhapalang no class P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Peppa on Jan 08, 2024 at 9:06 am

Bij if you recognized my name, you will know i hate every single chinese related crap and sime darby. Must be BMW fanboy then XD

• basher#1 on Jan 08, 2024 at 9:11 am

Once upon a time, Peppa went in and thought maybe can buy iX1 / Ioniq 5 then SA told him he too B40 to even afford BYD – so now come to PT and start bashing because ego bruised.

The end.

• simederby on Jan 08, 2024 at 9:02 am

hmmm, some minds really can’t bend – you do realise this is pretty much the same concept as an expo where a company brings in all their brands to display – except it’s in a mall and not an exhibition centre.

i’m more curious why volvo isn’t there though.

• Phaser on Jan 10, 2024 at 11:10 am

I think the answer is because Sime Darby isn’t the principal/main dealer for Volvo. For all the other brands, they are either the principal (BYD, FORD, Hyundai) or the main dealer and even own part of the local entity (Auto Bavaria for everything BMW).

That’s also probably why you don’t see any JLR products there.

OR…maybe zee Germans didn’t want any other competitor premium brands sold in the same space so no Volvo and JLR :P

• Too many shopping centre mall built on non metropolis city and adjacent suburbia township on Jan 07, 2024 at 6:00 pm

Shopping mall retail lettable space business must be stagnant until no anchor tenant capable to rent that lot…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • meowoof on Jan 08, 2024 at 8:54 am

actually this is a pretty common concept around the region outside Malaysia.

Bangkok for instance, ppl spend a lot of time in malls so all the car makers have their showrooms inside the mall even on upper floors because their multi-storey car parks have access to drive into the retail space on higher floors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • Subanah Bumi on Jan 08, 2024 at 5:05 pm

Agreed. Irrelevant to compare apple to orange. Bangkok population more than 11 mil meanwhile klang valley combined population less than 5 mil…..

• newme on Jan 08, 2024 at 10:49 am

They are treating BYD like some luxury as BMW. In middle kingdom, these cars are left to rot at EV graveyard.