No such thing as “Puspakom-compliant” window tint, says CEO – inspection company follows JPJ regs

Puspakom CEO Mahmood Razak Bahman has said claims of “Puspakom-compliant” window tint are misleading and baseless because the vehicle inspection company does not set its own tint regulations. As reported by FMT, he warned tint film companies and vehicle runners against misleading the public about the company’s role in vehicle inspections.

Mahmood’s comments come after warranty cards from a well-known tint film brand surfaced, claiming that their products were “JPJ-compliant” but “not Puspakom-compliant”.

“There is no such thing as a Puspakom standard for window tint. We follow the specifications set by the road transport department (JPJ) and apply them consistently during inspections,” he said in a statement.

Mahmood added that Puspakom condemned the use of its name to justify failed inspections or to suggest the existence of separate standards. He explained that failed inspections were usually the result of the combined visible light transmission (VLT) of the car’s glass and the tint film not meeting JPJ’s requirements.

He also noted that some vehicles already come with factory-fitted tinted glass, which does affect VLT levels even before any film is applied. As such, even if a tint film is JPJ-compliant on clear glass, the car may still fail an inspection when this is layered on top of factory-tinted windows.

As per current JPJ regulations, permissible VLT levels up to 70% for the front windscreen, 50% for the front side windows and no restrictions for the rear windows or rear windscreen.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• hey mahmood. obviously it means they feel the tint will pass when jpj check at the road but will fail when puspakom check. now why do they feel there a difference.. that is for you to explain

• Ruslan Bahari on Jul 10, 2025 at 7:55 am

It is not obvious. If you read the report, he admits that the film by itself may meet the regulations set, but when applied to a glass panel (which always has a natural tint), it will cause the reading to fall below the VLT levels set by JPJ.

• Sabri on Jul 09, 2025 at 12:01 pm

Cos need bagi suit kopi to both jpj and puspakom. This means jpj kaodim puspakom belum.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • For rear windscreen dark tinted is very stupid regulation , like our front is van or truck can’t see another car in front ,any emergency brake can’t see the third brake light another front car , the purpose last time add third brake light is for behind car one or 2 car can see , This A. Loke as YB mistake or wrong judgment.

• Big Thief on Jul 09, 2025 at 3:36 pm

Totally agree. The rear side window too

• Who hasn’t Noticed It on Jul 09, 2025 at 7:58 pm

Nowadays it’s trending to spot plenty of cars with bubble wrapped rear windscreen tint film LOLOLOLO

• Well as everyone already said it its a monopoly company so everything can also be under them just like how the lorries clear for action kan?

• the tinted it self complied..but once attached to the vehicle, the VLT will combine with existing glazzing VLT hence fail with puspakom

• Ongtk on Jul 09, 2025 at 5:51 pm

Not surprising at all. My CX-5, after engine replacement, required me to remove my front windscreen tint to pass Puspakom inspection. The tint came with the car, so how could this happen when it could pass the original inspection for registration when new?

• call me by your name on Jul 09, 2025 at 7:14 pm

new car inspection check for chassis number only

• Guardian aka Mannings on Jul 09, 2025 at 8:04 pm

Windscreen windows tint film aging degradation turns opaque similar to phone screen protection film

• Raja Kamarul on Jul 10, 2025 at 7:53 am

If the runner told you to remove the film, you cannot blame Puspakom. But first, registering a new car doesn’t need a Puspakom inspection unless it is a CBU, or a commercial registration. So there was no “pass” to speak of.

Secondly, if the inspector asked to remove the film, you can decline. If it fails the inspection you just need to leave, remove the film, pay again and come back for a re inspection.

• nak gelap2 kenapa? buat projek ka?