Proton Saga Cross imagined – Ativa/WR-V/Tiggo Cross-rivalling SUV part of a new Saga sub-brand?

Believe it or not, there exist rumours that Proton is planning a new Saga sub-brand, and rendering sifu Theophilus Chin has come up with a “hypothetical” Proton Saga Cross – a small SUV to take on the likes of the Perodua Ativa, Honda WR-V and Chery Tiggo Cross.

“Imagine a lineup built around this identity – Saga Persona, Saga Iriz, Saga Exora and Saga Cross,” Theo writes in the description of his YouTube video, referring respectively to conceptual sedan, hatch, MPV and SUV versions of the rakyat‘s Proton. If this really happens, Perodua’s Bezza, Axia/Myvi, Alza and Ativa will have some company, it seems.

Anyway, we think this thing looks great – angular headlamps integrated into a wide grille, Proton logo-cupping Ethereal Bow underlining the headlamps, black wheel arch mouldings, roof rails, X70-like shoulder line kink at the C pillar, full-width tail lamps and a rear diffuser-like element housing twin tailpipes.

The nation is waiting for the Saga MC3, codenamed AMA01 (because it’s the first model to be based on the new A-segment Modular Architecture). And why would you put an ’01’ there if there aren’t going to be more AMA-based cars, right? Share with us your thoughts!

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Call polis on Aug 18, 2025 at 1:53 pm

How about No.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • hurry up, the compact S70 cross can compete with Diva Ativa and WR-V

• We all know saga cross will be out sometime next year with hybrid drivetrain. So….

• SeriusLi on Aug 18, 2025 at 3:03 pm

Hangpa ni melalut la

• ALVARO MORATA on Aug 18, 2025 at 3:21 pm

Hideous

• ron 95 unsub on Aug 18, 2025 at 3:35 pm

Ya a x30 model needed, 1.5Na 4 cylinder timing chain aisin 4at, rm70k kill off the lousy ativa and overpriced wrv.

• Why stop at RM70K? Why not RM35K and kill off all P2 models? Maybe RM4K to kill of motorbikes too.

• Daddy on Aug 19, 2025 at 12:32 am

Not gearbox aisin toyota under power better cvt going back for performed and fuel saving. I already use cvt and extreme drive still good, nothing issue.

• Ljbesar on Aug 18, 2025 at 7:34 pm

Proton Swagen

• Brapus on Aug 18, 2025 at 9:12 pm

it looks like the SAIC-GM Wuling Alvez.

• Fahrids on Aug 18, 2025 at 10:17 pm

1st, saga should remain in A-segment with body sedan or hatchback
    SUV better batch with X series like X30 if under A-Segment
    Hybrid type mostly placed at E.mas there, be noticed proton and e.mas have diff sales place.
    SUV models is so crowded in Malaysia
    Please diversify other body types like C-segment MPV, A-segment EV, B-segment pickup like arena, etc…

• Anatano Kaninabo on Aug 18, 2025 at 11:53 pm

Imagine in wet dream la sound better then build your dream.

• Wonderwhy on Aug 19, 2025 at 9:29 am

CONTINUE with this rendering, coz PROTON can only dream of with such rendering…. Nothing will come out from their R&D, in the end the hicom gang will stick with OLD UGLY design, while the geely gang wil continue their money grabbing rebadge!

• alibaba on Aug 19, 2025 at 10:18 am

since can’t develop any good stuff, don’t you mind to close your company? let malaysian to use more advance vehicle?

• FrankC on Aug 19, 2025 at 1:31 pm

if comes in true hybrid not phev then can be very interesting. economy of 20+km/l from a small suv is good choice

• sroom on Aug 19, 2025 at 2:32 pm

why always post these nonsense copycat designs???
    please imagine a world without “thioksifilis”

• theo is a friend of paul on Aug 19, 2025 at 5:59 pm

maybe it’s his crony sorry i mean friend

• Kunaseelan Packianathan on Aug 20, 2025 at 7:39 am

I had a Proton and had to open Door Upholstery so many times to repair leaks Has this changed??

• new vios rm95k on Aug 20, 2025 at 4:54 pm

Persona put new x50 1.5L 4 cylinder timing chain engine without turbo + aisin 4AT gearbox as s50 lah…

• Pundek on Aug 21, 2025 at 1:25 am

Stop this nonsense la sohai.. Until it’s official, don’t daydreaming or clickbait.. are you that cheap now?