Luxury vehicle, property ownership to be among added criteria in determining RON95 subsidy eligibility

Ownership of property and luxury vehicles will be among the additional criteria in determining an individual’s eligibility for the RON95 petrol subsidy, reported Free Malaysia Today.

Other criteria also includes monthly income, and the government is guided by details from various data sources, said prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, who is also finance minister, in a written parliamentary reply to former prime minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob who requested an explanation on how eligible groups would be identified.

Eligibility will be determined by cross-referencing multiple data sources, including income records from the Inland Revenue Board (LHDN) and household income surveys (HIS) from the Department of Statistics Malaysia (DOSM), The Edge Malaysia reported.

In July, Anwar announced that the prices of subsidised RON 95 petrol will be reduced to RM1.99 per litre when the targeted subsidy of the fuel begins later this year. Details of the fuel subsidy rationalisation plan are to be announced in September, the prime minister stated in his speech in July.

The finance ministry said that it will work closely with the ministry of domestic trade and cost of living (KPDN) to monitor the stability of fuel prices and to protect the public’s interest once the RON95 subsidy rationalisation is enforced, according to the report.

The framework will also leverage data from PADU, the government’s socio-economic database, second finance minister Datuk Seri Amir Hamzah Azizan said earlier this month.

Only non-citizens and those with the financial means to afford unsubsidised fuel will not be eligible for the subsidy, which currently costs the government around RM19 billion a year, the finance ministry stated. The transition from a blanket subsidy to a targeted subsidy system could save the government around RM8 billion a year, the finance ministry said previously.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Pak Pisang on Aug 20, 2025 at 11:39 am

Wah this is workable ka? What if a big boss driving a X70 and living in a budget condo , but yearly fetching over 3mil income from his tyre shop?

A government servant , staying next door and owned HEV Jaecoo and Chery Omada?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
    • You clearly didnt read the article. That is why you keep complaining. Sigh.

Now, if there is loopholes, isnt a good thing?
      If not, then what is good for you?
      – No subsidy or
      – fully subsidy or
      – half subsidy

I bet you yourself dont know what you want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • Wiliu on Aug 20, 2025 at 2:29 pm

Means the government servant sohai. Low salary but still buy expensive cars.

Big boss smart investing in things that matters in life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • lama- lama kurang orang beli kereta dan rumah mahal sebab mahu enjoy subsidi…majoriti beli Perodua dan Proton..salesman tak boleh cari makan..

• Dah Menang Semua on Aug 20, 2025 at 6:39 pm

RON95 RM2.50 seliter
      No problem laa
      Topic close

• Ex VGM staff on Aug 20, 2025 at 8:28 pm

As per mentioned in the article, all data would be cross referenced to know whether someone driving a 25 years old BMW 750Li worth 10k now more or less is in the T15 category or not.

His income tax return, number of cars owned and what type, property ownership and also his EPF history.
      The people owning a Jaecoo J7 is unlikely belonging to T15 category, probably the upper part of M40.

• pqrst on Aug 20, 2025 at 12:21 pm

so everyone that owns a house wont get subsidy? fucking stupid

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 4
    • plainBS and RakyatMalaysia cry more on Aug 20, 2025 at 3:56 pm

so can we conclude that PH is a “robbing hood” government that steals from the rich and gives to the poor so it is a govt for the poor only?

• Bel Jin on Aug 22, 2025 at 4:51 pm

5 million house no subsidy. 100k yes, 250k yes, 450k yes. Only the T15 group not eligible.

• “Maha Kaya” is not your enemy on Aug 20, 2025 at 1:06 pm

“Maha Kaya” is not your enemy. They pay majority of the income tax and in return they are treated as the enemy. Why shouldn’t they enjoy some perks for all their hard work?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 8
    • nvm, their time will come. the rocket will be shoot down. the flag will fall judging frm current wind. The poor is no supporter of them and they manage pissed off the mid and high income group.

• Ollie on Aug 21, 2025 at 6:43 pm

The mentality of a third world primate that education will not solve

• So the rich businessmen with no personal income because they’re company directors and using company vehicles will still get subsidies? What?

• Lance Chau on Aug 20, 2025 at 2:01 pm

I don’t understand why still need to study, waste of resources (time and money).
    Just implement the damm thing, no subsidy for all like diesel.
    Mau tongkat sampai bila? Is time we all stand (at least try) on our own feet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Ben Yap on Aug 20, 2025 at 2:58 pm

In Malaysia, you are rewarded for being poor. if you are lazy and poor, u are also rewarded accordingly. if you work hard and get yourself out of being poor, you are tax heavily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • The reward is very small to be highlighted. One year a few thousands government aid some get a few hundreds. Can’t even buy a smart phone. Besides, you don’t drink petrol. Poor people can’t afford to own property and forver spend money on rents. And being rich is more than just hardworks. It’s also the country’s resources that allow you to have the opportunity so give back to the society. So be grateful that you are not poor and can stand on your own without free stuff.

• Genius101 on Aug 21, 2025 at 9:22 am

That is why I am the first one in the world who keeps telling everyone that if I am the President or PM, I will tax the poor and reward the hardworking geniuses that are rich who pay taxes. Rich people creates jobs and generate income. Lazy people does the opposite. Under my leadership everyone will be too scared to be poor and laziness will not even cross their mind. Hardworking but still poor may get some help in terms of knowledge and training but I no free money. Any poor able people who cannot hold a job well that comes and ask for welfare or money will get madatory 5 rotans from me.

• Komon sensei on Aug 21, 2025 at 3:11 pm

More poor people than rich people, so more vote if subsidize poor people. Tax heavy the rich, the rich will go out of the country, GDP drop, the still blame govt

• Ollie on Aug 21, 2025 at 6:44 pm

Prove your statement.

• Nurul Izzah on Aug 20, 2025 at 3:21 pm

Anwar menang rakyat senang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Plain BS on Aug 20, 2025 at 5:07 pm

Not all people living in Bangsar is rich.
    Not all people living in Abdullah Hukum is poor.
    Most rich business folks are known to put cars & properties under their company holdings or under wife name to avoid paying high income taxes already so judging by these metrics they will still qualify for RON95.

Either PH Gomen is stupid to rely on such unrealistic metric, or they purposely give jalan lubang for their rich voters to escape. Meanwhile the B40 & M40 whom cannot ‘run away’ will suffer the most.

• cry more plainbs on Aug 21, 2025 at 4:17 pm

then those companies still have to pay a variety of taxes . . so dont mix up personal and corporate taxes . and the real stupid thing is to quibble about a 100 ringgit increase in RON95 usage per month when there are bigger issues at hand.

• Lets See on Aug 22, 2025 at 1:07 am

Thanks to PH for reverting back to SST, lots of these businesses can underdeclare until zero profits but still make business. If zero profits of course they pay no corporate taxes but the owners are still rich. How come PH?

• use brain on Aug 22, 2025 at 9:49 am

audited accounts still can underdeclare to that large extent? are you implying that even the accounting firm is in cahoots which then implies that the entire economy from top to bottom is crime ridden, in that case you have a lot bigger problems with society , and if it were really so easy then whats there to stop B40 from setting up their own business and accumulate wealth?

• Karam Singh on Aug 22, 2025 at 4:57 pm

Have you heard about IRB e-invoice? No one can escape that. No more under declaration.

• Bob Mal on Aug 20, 2025 at 5:16 pm

Nice since these fella already avoiding paying Insurance or Road Tax can’t wait for the same fella to use others IC to get subsidized petrol also for their other non Super Cars.

• T20 M40 pay taxes but soon the benefits will largely be enjoy by B40 . To be fair the subsidy should be given to all in a fixed amount annually. B40 with 4 kids vs M40 with 2 kids . T20 should be entitled too as a token in recognition of their large tax contribution. B40 is just tumpang only . Be grateful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Vote Me on Aug 21, 2025 at 9:24 am

If I am PM, I will do the reverse. I will tax the poor so bad that they will be scared to be poor anymore. Honest rich people will be rewarded heavily with tax relief etc because rich people creates jobs and is good for the country’s economy.

• plainbs dont cry on Aug 22, 2025 at 12:03 pm

what you described is called meritocracy and already practiced in singapore

• YB Kinte Kunte on Aug 20, 2025 at 9:56 pm

There is no mention on year of manufacture of luxury cars.
    I own a 20 year old Camry,which can only fetch 10K.If I sell to a used car dealer,I only get 3 to 4 K.So r u gonna penalise thousands of datuk and nenek with these old junks?
    If u penalise a new Camry owner,it sounds more logical,for the latest Camry costs about 250K.
    PMX,what is mind boggling is u reduce Ron 95 by 6 sen soon,but keep punishing the so called borderline cases who happen to own an old junk BMW or merc.
    Very soon those datuk nenek in the kampongs with some inheritance and old junks will pay RM3.50 /litre for Ron 95.
    After Rafizi left,we r treated to more “shocks”.
    PMX,there is enough data already…dont keep fine tuning until 50% only enjoy subsidised Ron 95.

• If you own a BMW or Audi old models – are they considered ‘luxury car’ when the market value is much less than new Proton X-70 and Perodua Myvi? What falls under category of ‘luxury car’?

• Karam Singh on Aug 22, 2025 at 5:00 pm

Read again.

Govt will see whether he owns any other cars or bikes and what type and what value.
      Then, his tax return form.
      Then, where he lives, does he own any property and of what value.

This is as simple as YES and NO.

• Monkeys in Parliament on Aug 21, 2025 at 9:16 am

Really amazes me how people making policies have very short and narrow vision and capabilities. Imagine our roads have less and less luxyry cars, we will look like India, Indonesia and all the other poor countries. To be seen as a successful country so all big companies will come and invest is to first look classy. Having more gaya on the road and zero low class rempits zooming around is a good start. When you visit cities like Dubai, Shanghai, Tokyo, Singapore and etc, the first thing you see is a pleasant looking well planned city which means good governance. The second thing you see is how civilized and intelligent and gaya the people are that they can make a good living for themselves by driving nice cars. Only then foreign investors berani masuk all out. Why do you think countries like India, Pakistan and Bangladesh no one wants to invest. They see not much intelligence and good government planning there which in turns means ‘High Risk Investment and look elsewhere’.

• No Common Sense on Aug 21, 2025 at 9:39 am

Better limit Ron95 monthly quota quantity with subsidised price using Mykad slot at petrol pump:

Cars = 500 Litres per month
    Bikes = 100 Litres per month

Easy and simple solution for all.

• use brain on Aug 22, 2025 at 12:04 pm

must be dreaming la 500 liters. give you 200 liters should be laughing already

• Losantara on Aug 21, 2025 at 10:58 am

P1 and P2 owners get subsidise. The rest all pay rm2.5. easy

• Squid on Aug 21, 2025 at 4:15 pm

Just cut subsidy by 20% per year and be subsidy free in 5 years la. People will adjust accordingly and get used to the price.

• Negara dunia keempat on Aug 21, 2025 at 5:08 pm

Belum boleh buat keputusan lagi ke? Tahun dah nak habis ni. Just do the deng thing! Ni mcm nak buat thesis phd pula.

Yg penting pergi cari camno nak kurangkan leakages. Kalau buat btul2, dapat kurangkan perbelanjaan dan hutang negara, tak perlu risau pun pasal subsidi ni.

• FireAce on Aug 21, 2025 at 5:24 pm

All talked about eligibility but no one talking about max amount. Once implement, we will have a bunch to people waiting at the pump to swipe their IC for a fee.

I guess this is another way to help the B40 (the lazy portion of B40) to cari makan. Madani effectively created a new job class, bravo.

• Joseph Lim on Aug 21, 2025 at 9:25 pm

My thoughts exactly. I’ll bring cleaning lady to pay for my Petrol

• cry less plainbs on Aug 22, 2025 at 9:50 am

it wont be unlimited usage. assuming b40 gets a quota of 50 liters per month at 50sen discount, thats only RM25 savings monthly