Malaysia’s Budget 2026 is set to be tabled by finance minister and prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim in the Dewan Rakyat at 4pm today. As always, paultan.org will monitor his speech for anything automotive- and transport-related, and report on them live here.
With the big thing done (Budi Madani RON 95) and generally running well, we expect the government to focus on other matters. Will it categorically confirm that fully-imported (CBU) EVs will no longer be tax-free come 2026? We’re now not even at half of the country’s target to have 10,000 EV chargers by end-2025; will this target be revised?
Updates on the status of OMV/402, which may affect locally-assembled (CKD) car prices? Upgrades to highways such as the East-West Highway (particularly the Gerik-Jeli stretch) are also expected. Tune in later to find out.
Officially, the Madani government’s fourth budget and the first under the 13th Malaysia Plan (RMK13) aims to continue supporting the people without increasing national debt, strengthen the economy, safeguard the people’s welfare, raise the floor of living standards, raise the ceiling of national growth, and reinforce Malaysia’s sustainable and inclusive foundations.

EV tax exemption should carried on
Disappointing budget. He should step down as he clearly has failed with so many missteps, backtracks, and uturns.
not enough Tangkat given in budget, so b40 merajuk
Revised customized tax incentives as part of solution to reduce traffic congestion for all cars (excluding hybrid and ev, importance of green environment)
Got one downvote your comment where didn’t have enough of knowledge, unfortunately
EV tax holiday continue
If the EV tax holiday ends the price of CBU EVs will more than double overnight and the bottom will fall out of the EV market. Only Proton will have affordable EVs to sell. Let’s see if the Madani government sayang Proton or sayang rakyat.
budget 2026, let me guess
– billion ringgit bailout for failed businesses Felda, TH, Boustead, LCS, Sapura kencana
– more funding for uitm uuim mara
– more funding for fake khazanah investment schemes which lost millions of ringgit by FashionValet, Kidzania and others
– more funding for jais mais jakim
Full support bumi in milik siapa . Tak suka sila keluar
keep on telling lies. you want to seize their asset right?
forgot to add 100 millionm donation to hamaz and TalesPines, the funding money comes from extra 10% alcohol tax
If the aim is to reduce petrol usage. Should encourage all kind of PHEV with at least 100km range running solely on EV battery.
PHEV wont save you a liter of petrol because most owners never plugin their cars. dont believe me u go to t20 neighbourgood the neighbours have PHEV volve merc bmw yet none of them ever charge their cars.