Sabah state legislative assembly member for Kuamut, Datuk Masiung Banah, has suggested that the current 200-litre Budi Diesel monthly quota be increased to 500 litres for rural areas in the state, according to a Bernama report.
“The diesel subsidy, which has been capped at 200 litres, is not enough for my constituency. A round trip from Kuamut to Kota Kinabalu takes 6-7 hours. I don’t have the exact distance in kilometres, but what is certain is that 200 litres would already be used up on a single return journey between Kuamut and Kota Kinabalu.
“That’s just one round trip, yet we are only allocated 200 litres for an entire month,” he said yesterday during the winding-up debate of the Supplementary Supply Bill 2026 at the state assembly sitting.
While Masiung acknowledged the federal government’s challenges in restructuring fuel subsidies for the rakyat, he said the implementation of the targeted diesel subsidy should take into account the different circumstances between urban and rural areas, particularly in terms of travel distance, terrain and area size.
“I appeal to the federal government; I understand that the state government has already established a monitoring committee for diesel and petrol subsidies. I urge the secretariat formed by the state government to consider this matter. I believe rural areas should have their quota increased from 200 to 500 litres,” he said. What do you think – yay or nay?

you r asking too much.. what makes that side so special
I’ll admit I wouldn’t know where that place it, but no matter how you look at it, there is no car or pickup truck that when you drive normally, even in mountainous areas, would consume 28L of fuel per hour. It can be true that 200L might not be enough for some people, but plucking an extreme case out of thin air with little actual statistics to back up the claim is… unconvincing?
Wah RM 1000k+ of subsidized fuel for private?
Essential Business and Commercial sector could refer to Malaysia’s Subsidised Diesel Control System (SKDS) and Budi Madani programs, from 900 to 5,000 liters per month, depending on the specific vehicle category?
the request is to allow your supporters to sell the fuel for some pocket money?
belalah….. sebab tu turunkan je harga 1.49 seliter…bukan nak memang pun next PRN.
Biar org lain tu 10x pening.
why stop at 500L? should have ask for 1,000L
Sabah has the highest diesel usage per capita, mainly due to rampant diesel smuggling to neighboring countries.
those thieving traitors, they want to sell subsidized diesel to Sulu and Nusantara