New Proton prototype mule spotted – what could it be?

I feel like we’re in an Episode of X-Files or something here. From these new photos sent in by reader KK Chen it is pretty much confirmed – the Exora that wasn’t really an Exora that we checked out earlier yesterday wasn’t an effect of a ‘squashed’ image. It’s something completely different. Here you can see both a real Exora and the mysterious new prototype vehicle with a mix of Exora sheetmetal covering it side by side.

And here’s a closer look at the mysterious new prototype. Is this the upcoming Persona replacement model built on a variant of the Exora platform (and disguised with Exora sheetmetal) with a multi-link suspension instead of the Exora’s torsion beam?

The Exora’s platform is definitely capable of that, in fact it was one of the features touted during the Exora’s technical briefing when it was first launched. Or is this a completely different vehicle? Whatever it is, this is NOT some kind of ‘Exora coupe’, the Exora sheetmetal and headlamps etc are likely just a disguise.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1347]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• madman on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:42 am

It looks more like a Triton Lite from the side view..Arena’s replacement?

• hampeh on Jul 20, 2010 at 4:31 am

true…i agree with u…arena replacement…

• Vincent on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:10 am

hahha, Arena.. so far P1 managed to sell how many unit of Arena?

Is the qty hit 10K unit?

• keyboard.rosak on Jul 21, 2010 at 8:17 am

FTI, Arena aka Jumbuck is very popular in Australia.

• rimbun on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:45 pm

it’s confirm over than 10k unit were sell all over the world, but sorry i can tell the exect number..
            above picture was not for arena replacement
            but arena replacemnt still under proposal
            and not focusing for local market..
            major sales arena/jumbuck model was sold outside m’sia…
            very economy model for light pick-up

• ericten on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:59 am

i dont think so..the window line is quite high for something like an arena..

• MyDear on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:47 am

using multi-link suspension .. so i think it is not arena replacement ..

• afkar on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:59 pm

yeah..and the extended roof to the rear looks rather acceptable..

• arena is a failed project la’…proton wont do a replacement for arena…

• APX….

• looks like exora midget, is it only for the midgets?
      ******FUGLY******

• proton.me on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:51 pm

maybe Arena replacement.. why everyone cannot accept it? arena@jumbuck got many follower at australia.. please look onto other market too.. maybe we dont want it, but other country need it

• komen on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:23 pm

maybe its Alzora :-)

• carena on Jul 21, 2010 at 4:32 pm

its Exo-za la :-)

• JUARA replacemnt?

• These pictures really looks out of proportion. Previous post looks awesome, now it just looks plain ugly.

• DonkeyKong on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:35 am

It’s not that the proportions are out. Instead, it’s obvious that they tacked on chopped-up and resectioned Exora body panels onto the vehicles to disguise the actual features. The actual vehicles definitely won’t have that disproportionate look with broken contours.

• qozh moreno on Jul 22, 2010 at 1:41 am

agreed… is a chop exora use as a mule for a new model perhaps…

• I think this might be the new Perdana. This might be a sedan cause the back looks fake.

• hampeh on Jul 20, 2010 at 4:33 am

new perdana gonna be large like camry….coz new waja have a size like lancer gt….

• theanswer on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:06 pm

agree..my dad has been using perdana more than 5 years..but today all my siblings grow up already..kinda tight inside..so i prefer to drive the perdana rather than seat behind.

• noname on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:11 pm

for your information. they new waja will be smaller than the existing waja

• org biasa on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:29 pm

no laa…new waja is based on lancer gt…of cos la bigger than waja…i think ur informartion wrong laa….my info come from proton R&D staff…that car was already made n undergo some durability tests now…hahahaha :-D cool proton!!!!

• iooiio on Jul 21, 2010 at 3:21 pm

no.. new waja is based on the old waja with just a few update.. lancer is a different project with 1.8 and 2.0 cc.. new persona will be totally different chassis.. new proton exora might be using turbo engine..

• Exora platform not large enough for Perdana?

• Seriously on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:49 am

I doubt so… unless they plan to have the Perdana as a MPV now.

• if they are using exora’s platform, it make sense to be perdana. it is not economical to venture into cladina range at the moment for Proton.

• mufasa on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:55 am

ooo…bukan distortion aa…memang diorg potong and test rupanya,,..
    Happy testing to proton team

• shokubeni on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:02 am

rear side is lowered and widened…

• ericmaxman on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:06 am

confirms that the previous one was correct

• Chyan on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:09 am

It’s a new car. Damn this is exciting. Proton sure knows how to eff our eyes with their genius camos.

• Chyan on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:06 am

Anyways, I’ve done some zippy chops to uncover the tapes. Here’s what I found.

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff304/keishin9/new-proton-mule-5CS9-DEBUNK.jpg

Uncanny resemblance to Honda Odyssey.

Well. Picture source is crappy. So…

• Seriously on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:55 am

the backglass is a lil low don’t you think…

• Chyan on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:01 pm

Yeah. But I was just debuniking how it’ll look if it’s a wagon-cum MPV

• nighttrain on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:11 pm

can u turn it into a sedan?

• Chyan on Jul 21, 2010 at 2:01 pm

That’s gonna be hard. Since This isn’t actually a sedan even if the back portion is cut off. Prolly a wagon, truck at most.

• takin on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:12 am

so what could it be ?

• hampeh on Jul 20, 2010 at 4:33 am

new proton arena…

• New proton “caldina”. Hehehe…

• alldisc on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:08 am

proton arena would be a pick-up, rite?

could it be an SUV? the intention of replacing torsion beam with mutli-link suspension may hide a potential that it is a 4WD.

BMW X6 wannabe, perhaps?

• Asking for a sliding door with Exora and other big MPV’s.
    Hope Proton will hear this.
    And standard safety equipment for all models.

• then the basher has a point to bash proton..sliding door = van rite…for my no problem la

• On the other notes, they want to replace a persona-sedan model with wagon one?

• grandis on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:18 am

maybe EXORA station-wagon (5 seater)…

• nabill on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:21 am

looks like a touring version of new waja/lancer or persona????….looks very sleek…bt very confusing when u think of wat the product lineup is….

oh proton , ur getting good at making ppl guess…!

• bogaboga on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:24 am

a completely new model wout any news? proton was getting good in making suprise (this cant be the new waja, isnt it? shaped more like a mini mpv- caldina anyone?)

looking forward on kl auto show :D

• Tiadaid on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:13 am

There’s no such thing as a mini-MPV. Whether you realize it or not, the Caldina’s a WAGON!

• alldisc on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:09 am

i doubt proton will ever want to display its prototype as hint to future coming models.

• if this is gonna be another type of exora, i think i can briefly imagine how is the shape’s like… and honestly speaking, from what i imagined, it doesn’t look nice BUT i hope my imagination is wrong

• AripSon on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:47 am

cool.
    maybe they want to do something like honda odyssey. with low profile roof line.
    this is good for proton for end of year KLIM. they should make it as a 2011 model.
    but proton, pls put the turbo on your campro. it is due time!

• ghvictor on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:15 am

maybe a new proton SUV? I know they plan to launch one sooner or later.

• norshamhadi on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:19 am

Proton sure knows how to cover up their cars really well! When they were testing Exora chassis, they were using a Toyota Wish body and now this? Judging from the look of the rims and the size of the rims, I think they’re testing the chassis for the upcoming Waja Replacement Model/Perdana Replacement Model which is based on the Lancer GT platform. Or is it a Caldina version of Proton?

Hmmm. Kudos Proton!

• kecy82afr on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:44 am

Hopefully this will be the “little surprise” from Proton during KLIM ’10. I’m looking forward to the outcome of this project.

• DonkeyKong on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:45 am

Or, Proton’s coming out with a Caldina-type sporty station wagon..

• mystvearn on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:54 am

Very clever of Proton or whoever is making that. Put a dummy exora at the back so people would think its anothe Exora.

Shorter Exora wheelbase…Juara 2? Slightly rectangular and not square. Also, why would persona be that tall? Makes little sense.

• nebula87 on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:55 am

I know wat’s that model proton going 2 launch…

Exora chassis based PROTON ARENA..or Proton Jumbuck..

those metals covering the side are giving u confusion..
    Overall will looks like pickup truck, but for proton, they launch pickup car..XD
    targeting sales in Thailand and Australia..maybe…

OR maybe a SUV based which looks like BMW X5..SUV coupe style..

• apeman on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:10 am

ahaa! that could be it. coz i thought P1 target for global market.

• Hallelujah on Jul 20, 2010 at 4:17 am

the dimension look alike to lotus APX.
    if there’s a sideview of this picture, it will give a clearer idea on the model.
    anyway until its fully revealed, we only can guess.
    new lineup definitely better.

• hampeh on Jul 20, 2010 at 4:31 am

i think, it is ARENA replacement model laa..pickup truck style seme like triton or hilux…

• someone on Jul 20, 2010 at 4:32 am

seems like a cardina-ish to me…

• a caldina wannabe?….

• shawal on Jul 20, 2010 at 5:19 am

Its a spaceship for 2012!

• Faceless Void on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:02 am

Pick Up????

• shazzmania on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:11 am

possible arena replacement

• kamitake on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:55 am

using exora as the based-body..
    lowered and widened…
    a bit near to be like Toyota Caldina..

p/s : hope Proton read this.. why do proton love to make red rear lamp smaller than signal and reverse lamp..? example on Proton Waja CPS (very small rear red lamp).. Exora (rear signal lamp is bigger).. Persona Elegence (Rear red lamp kinda small)

• learner on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:13 am

yup, big car small lamp, small car big lamp. weird! look at savvy, got 4 red lamps each really hugh.

• Wira, Brake lamp is very big and signal lamp is very small.. quite dangerous bcos we hardly can see the signal indicator when it turned on..

Using LED, as long it’s very bright is ok..

• Wagon, most probably.

• thomas on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:06 am

one’s joy comes to naught? better not…

• learner on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:21 am

last time p1 have announced to used exora platform for other model including commerical vehicle such as van and pickup. this could be the model?

• kingsley on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:22 am

i think mayb i would be a exora wit odyssey look…

• kingsley on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:23 am

i think mayb it would be a exora wit odyssey look…hehe

• don’t compare with Odyssey or any other MPV’s.. maybe it was just coincidence…. please accept a new brilliant ideas from Proton itself…

• learner on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:24 am

oh, ya i donno if this is coincident or what, in the one of picture got one pickup at the right lane, overtaking or part of convoy? p1 one to sell lowered pickup for thai? less possible but no harm guessing.

• that pickup truck was overtaking the convoy… you know how fast those pickups are usually driven on the highway right? :)

• drMpower on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:30 am

quite intriguing

the roof goes completely downward at second window pillar. from an angle it looks like botched design. the windows and the doors are completely weird.

but then they can always redesign the doors with lower lines to compensate the already low windows.

the front end also, i would imagine, will be not exora face. oh. very very nice.

ps-dont forget the terbo nah?

• turbo la, apa terbo.

• drMpower on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:17 am

oh yah. terbo. tebo. tubo. turbo. doesnt matter

most important is.. more ooommmpphhh

• at the back you mean like MINI Cooper Clubman??? because from the back of the car seems weird. hahah… just guessing.. ;)

• “turbo? we thought 1.6 campro standard all malaysians love very much? see the sales, like pisang goreng cecah kicap pedas. now you don’t like aa? we don’t have any plans to produce a turbo charged Campro. You guys can turbo charge it yourselves laa..” a P1 engineer said.

• p1 engineer does not know his boss statement ker? everyone in paultan know proton doing turbo campro on exora even covered on tv3 last time…… or u just make story here bro

• Eyesore on Jul 21, 2010 at 9:27 am

obviously he’s just making story lor…. everyone at proton know abt the turbo engine since it has been broadcasted to the whole country…. other option:

1- He’s just making story
        2- The so called p1 engineer he talked about is not even a proton employee
        3- the engineer is just playing with him…

either way… he’s just making himself look stupid by saying that..

• freddie_mercury on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:36 am

Why people keep saying it is a replacement for perdana, arena or even SUV? Come on people, from the pics you know that it is a MPV.

• Black Dog on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:56 am

Fred, many ‘sin kar lan’ here. I reckon it’s more towards a Wish look-alike.

Impossible to be Arena bcos the acceptance is so low Proton would have dump the idea completely. My second bet is, if the rear disguise is taken off, it might even be a Honda Jazz type mini MPV! Paul

• exora just launch, another MPV? where is the economics of that?

• apexg2 on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:37 am

1 more question…y the exora itself use that plate number?so, this true exora will oso different with other exora….just guessing…

the mystery one is quit nice…..i just thinking, maybe this is the killing model of alza in future…just imagine, p2 sure make new alza or alza SE….guessing the shape like the SE Myvi….than in that time, this model will out..haha….sure headache people want to buy….from far, this car looks like exora coupe.hehe….very nice job p1….hope this model will out with choices of turbo….

• gonggok on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:43 am

Hmm… not likely a ARENA replacement. A few posters noted the the rear suspension isn’t torsion bar anymore. If it is a replacement for the ARENA they would keep the Exora suspension to maximise the loading bay size.

My hunch would be the next gen Guigario designed Persona. The main things the RnD boys are working on (based on Proton’s own leaks) are the Global Small Car (EMAS) and the Persona (due in 2012).

• Seriously on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:04 am

why would it be the next gen Persona? that high car you see is a mini-MPV of some sort and the Persona is a saloon car.

• Artz3 on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:18 am

Well there is rumors/insider info back then, that the new Persona would used the Exora chassis as a mule. It’s also reported that Proton will stop using Mitsu gearbox and start using Getrag 6-speed manual unit and a ZF sourced CVT gearbox. Truth in that, only Proton knew.

• which insider r truly telling the truth…seem all insider given diff info to their respective fren

• scottloeb on Jul 21, 2010 at 9:58 am

I second that! But the Getrag might be shelved due to cost (thats what I heard). Oh well, still long way to go.

• BruceLee on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:48 am

This is actually proton’s upcoming suv/crossover, based on exora. It is not a sedan, and definitely not the Persona replacement. The final product may sport diiferent front appearance, with some changes be made to differentiate it from exora, like new grill, new bumper, etc.

It will be powered with proton’s new turbocharged engine, from the Phoenix project

• Seriously on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:06 am

“It will be powered with proton’s new turbocharged engine, from the Phoenix project”
      That is a very bold statement.

• drMpower on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:18 am

hahahah…very very bold ~

this guy works for proton?

even if he does, thats very bold. keh keh

• farghmee on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:55 am

new suv?
      2wd, 4wd or 2-4wd?

yeah..i call this as good news.
      new class in proton to join with cr-v, vitara.

• quattro on Jul 25, 2010 at 11:50 pm

this is kinda proton hilux or proton fortuner version / mitsui pajero sport > if this true ,good job proton > boleh pakai model toyota lexus….haha

• hyder4109 on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:00 am

dont judge a book by its cover hehehehe…

• hyder4109 on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:00 am

dont judge a book by its cover hehehehe… what duplicate?

• Azimat Hong Kong on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:05 am

what i can assure you guys is….that is not a Persona Replacement…

• ericten on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:09 am

It looks Caldina-ish

• mitsubishi grandis,proton version?

• freeze on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:12 am

They spent money making custom doors just to fool the public?

• ka_one2000 on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:13 am

looks like SUV/Sport wagon … maybe proton’s version of Lotus APX?

• no matter what, the picture show this vehicle with a word from my mind “weird”
    lets wait and see for the real image from proton…

hopefully not as weird as it is. :p

• littlefire on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:15 am

Anyway my past experience will tell me that this car like wagon are hard to sell in Malaysia if it has only 5 seater.. How many cars like wagon are selling nowadays? Except in Europe which is famous as they can put more stuff behind & better weight distribution (some wagon)..

• Tiadaid on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:29 am

Don’t say it’s a wagon. Say it’s a mini-MPV, since people are buying Caldinas and Alzas without realizing that they’re basically wagons!

• ReactiX on Jul 20, 2010 at 5:06 pm

alza is simply not a wagon, but caldina is..

• hvannees on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:30 pm

caldina only have 5 seat. but alza sevennnnnnnn…..
          haha… anyway this new baby proton rock!!!!!!!!

• learner on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:44 pm

alza is different, you can call it what ever you one, remember the slogan? car one moment MPV the next. combining car+MPV simply is wagon-steins

• saki77 on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:36 pm

Alza ia a MPV wannabe..hence, a wagon…..hehehe…..peace Alza owners….means no harm….

• waklanproton on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:10 am

caldina not so bad what selling here?
      why not proton make one? with turbo!
      wachhaa!!

• 4G63tDSM on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:28 am

Are you serious?

There are plenty of wagons. Caldinas sold pretty well…even at that inflated price.
      The AD Resort sold very well. Volvo wagons sold very well.

I would buy a 5 seat wagon if there was more to choose from…the only one now available is the Chevy and the unfortunately out of budget Volvos

Proton should have launched the Wira wagon (since Mitsu already had that bodystyle) instead of the Arena. It would have definately done better.

All the compact MPVs with 4 swing out doors by definition are still considered wagons…only people here like to call them MPVs. To me, an MPV has always been a Multipurpose VAN…. ie. seats 7+, sliding doors….

In maly overseas markets, You can choose between a 5 seat “wagon” or a 7 seat “MPV” (case in point the current Rondo – which in fact the 3rd row are “optional extras”, even the Santa Fe, and old Mercedes and Volvo wagons)

• ReactiX on Jul 20, 2010 at 5:11 pm

wagon is always a 5 seater unlike MPV. go and check at wiki for wagon, estate, etc. all have 5 seat plus higher roof at the back that the purpose is for storage (or animal seat) and is theoretically the storage is the same compartment as the passenger. no separable boot storage.

• littlefire on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:17 pm

Well, i cant agree that AD resort is a lot on the roads, but the problem is that the amout of selling compare to sedan are always lower & now even new AD are not brough into Malaysia already due to lower sales… Volvo V series cars is a hit in most european countries, but here not as much as those S series cars.. Hope Proton can prove that Wagon like cars can sell in Malaysia.. But 1 thing i for sure is that this car will not be cheap if it is with turbo.. Remember that new Waja Lancer is coming with it’s price tag rumoured around RM80k.. So with turbo, how much they want to sell?

• waklanproton on Jul 21, 2010 at 2:58 pm

if they use campro+turbo the car should be around 70-80k.
          that i think .
          emm…

• dickybird on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:17 pm

i love wagons or estates! Livina is a wagon! avanza, innovas they are mpvs.

• wiki term on wagon

A station wagon is a passenger car body style similar in terms of passengers to the sedan/saloon style but incorporating a full-size back cargo compartment (that can be further extended for a third passenger row in some cases) accessible via a fifth door (liftgate or tailgate) instead of the standard sedan trunk slot.

• proton.me on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:11 pm

aiyyooo… caldina is MPV laa.. everyday i see lot of caldina on the road.. how can you say wagon was not so famous?? do some research before talking..

• nichkhun on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:15 am

LOUIS ????

• azrai on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:19 am

i really think this is a mule platform sharing with Exora new model. So yes it is a mule. The weight is the same but the final face will be different. The Exora ‘penyet’ just a modified to suit the new model criteria. Maybe it is an engine test for the new Persona upcoming for 2012.

• nazdzmie on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:24 am

yes, wagon type!!!

• azamreeves on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:30 am

look like competitor to caldina

• hvannees on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:35 am

well i dont think this is arena replacement because arena only have two doors. this will be proton new caldina. hopefully.

• S.Neo on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:38 am

Proton “Cardina” !!!!! lol i do think the shape do look similar to Cardina thou…..

• Confirm, that “squash mpv” looks like my Mitsubishi Grandis. Another courtesy of Proton to rebadge Mitsubishi cars while in the same time insulting its other siblings for doing the same thing. Call it hypocrite or idiocy. Ludah ke langit kena muka sendiri!

• Tiadaid on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:11 am

You work for Proton is it to confirm it’s a Grandis?

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:19 am

great!! you can make a “factual” speculation just based on 1 picture.. a total genius, thats who you are… the country are so proud to have this kind of people here..

• learner on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:48 pm

is he/she millionnaire after world cup? because he/she looks so good at telling thing that people still guessing.

• ReactiX on Jul 20, 2010 at 5:13 pm

typical bizi-basher

• ilikeproton on Jul 21, 2010 at 10:35 am

ke..ludah tu terkena dkt lu…

• Eyesore on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:38 pm

Not only he’s a bad n baseless basher.. now also claimed he owned a grandis…. i lost count how many cars he claimed he owned last time =p

• nazri on Jul 23, 2010 at 12:18 am

i think everytime post about proton he claim he has bla.. bla.. bla.. cars.. rich boy

• autojohndoe on Jul 24, 2010 at 8:39 am

hahaha…

true…

last time, he said, he had a waja, which is problematic and give him headache…

then, he bought a persona… which he also said, problematic… and saying, his salary allowed him to buy Proton cars…

suddenly, he has a Grandis!!! wow.. that about 3 fold of proton car price…

surely a freakin liar…

• bryan.jones on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:41 am

Paul, i’ve told those ppl here. it’s a sedan in disguise by Exora body. Stevie Wonder also can spot it. the proportion completely ridiculous to be a MPV or CLS-wannabe. it’s no doubt new sedan.

Paul, do u have wheelbase comparison between the mule with real exora??

• alvinthv on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:41 am

This car look like Malaysia caldina, from the behind only…

• i want another car... on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:44 am

i love it! exora CC! hahaha. it’s definitely intriguing and downright interesting. i just hope it looks better with all those covers taken off…

• sotong on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:45 am

its look like crossover… its seem like tyre spare hanger at rear bonnet..

• alldisc on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:16 am

yeah, a cross between MPV and SUV. coupe SUV for the luxury segment.

• something like toyota caldina turbo?

• Jaybond on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:49 am

Could be an SUV/crossover. But then, the tyres are too small for a crossover.

• alldisc on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:18 am

disguise is important during prototypes reliability testings. if put big tyres of course people know its an SUV.

• kereta juga mpv…cam alza…hehehe…

• fan_cheong on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:54 am

It looks like Mitsubishi Grandis. Cross reference the pictures with the Mitsubishi Motors website.

Looks like Proton is launching another larger MPV. This one is very interesting.

• beatnik on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:57 am

so ‘potong’ is really doing a potong job here.. hehehe.. nicely done to disguise the real car from public.. let the guessing game begin.. it could be a new perdana inside.

• linear_system on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:59 am

definitely not arena replacement seems it is widened and lowered.if they want to make arena,they dont have to lowered the roofline..

• sixtythree on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:07 am

Proton just realized the Exora is too tall to compete with other likes i.e Stream n Wish, so they decided to chop off the roof a bit to make it low and sleek….ekekeke

• Way the go Proton.
    Good Luck

• MyCarMyLife on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:12 am

Why getting excited over nothing? Limited Editions , Anniversary Edition , Last Edition,
    and what not.
    Look at Honda ,and others going to churn out semi electric and fully vehicles vehicles in 2012 and thats not too far away .
    Poor My car buyers are you going to sign your life away 9 years financing and regret ?

• WAPALE on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:16 am

may i
    errr..SUV mayb?

• Seems to be same class vehicle with Wish, but the back seems to be too low……wonder how is the interior space height for the back.

• akupunya on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:18 am

1. Firstly, I want to congrate the proton team bcz you hv given a big question to the people who always involve in auto news.

2. Guys, this is absolutelty not an exora replacement. exora is a new model, how can the proton want to replace it. even, proton claims that exora is the best mpv that they have built.

3. This is not an engine test or test mule bcz from the camouflaged, it is a new car model. it is not a caldina, a wish or whatever.

4.This is a new model from proton where it used sharing platform from exora. This is definitely not a sedan or even an arena /jumback replacement model.

5.I think this a copy of caldina. It is a SPORT WAGON car. will used 1.6 cps turbo, with sport spec like the satria lotus like high spec braking system disc, bucket seat, etc.

6. There are only two row seats and the back one is empty for luggage.

7. However, to the proton team. If you set this car to production, please make it look like a sporty wagon car. no more childish dashboard, old fashion steering, bad look headlamps and the bodoh plastic finishing.

8. again for proton, don’t really care to reduce the price with junkies finishing. the people will buy ur car only if they think that car is superb. no matter how much the need to pay.

• resonance on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:28 pm

Must have a 5 speed auto gearbox at least!!!

• proton.me on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:24 pm

yess.. i also dont matter too pay more if the car is better..
      few condition if they (proton) want to sell a 100k price car..

1. no more bodoh-plastic finishing
      2. better quality car(no more broken power window like my friend perdana, must open the door to pay use TnG)
      3. higher engine capacity – 1.8 or 2.0..
      4. all car must have ABS and SRS airbag (since proton do class like base,medium and high. base dont have ABS but medium and premium have ABS)
      5. bigger rims(malaysian love big rims)

cannot think more, can anyone add what suitable??

• Kyrol on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:52 am

i think this one is a new proton suv based on exora platform.
      i’ve heard that the proton msx project is still under going…..
      and yet i’ve heard this new model is more likely lexus rx….

• gooddaymate! on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:19 am

look like ute, penetrate the aussie market as proton s16 done handsomely

• Si-Fu on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:22 am

This is not a suv/crossover vehicle as we currently don’t have anything like dat planned. This is a mule for a new model. The rear end is ‘different’ because the new model’s rear end is different! The engine for this is also ‘different’. Basically, we use this mule to test the powertrain capability, weight and chasis parts!

Cheers!

• saki77 on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:42 pm

Tengkiu….

• ribut on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:07 pm

haha.. si-fu ciplak!
      tok sah caya nih…

• sifu is back! yeah! do tell more ya

• rajaiskandarshah on Jul 21, 2010 at 9:13 am

aye aye sifu
      1. the picture is mule for testing new engine (hopefully new transmission as well)
      2. ignore the rear end in the picture (but maybe the front end and mid-body are real ?)
      3. not suv/crossover (haiyaa… was hoping it was the apx), so it could be a sedan / wagon / mpv / pick-up or whatever

• yup rite.. this is just the mule car.. don’t bother the outside look because it will be 100% diff with the actual design. this mule car just for testing the powertrain with the chassis that have a same weight of the actual design… peace!

• Tengokaje.. on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:25 am

Long time didn’t hear from si-fu. any other news from P1 that can be shared with us.

Salam..

• ribut on Jul 22, 2010 at 3:58 pm

Paul,
      can u verified this nick name “Si-Fu” and “si-fu” is the same person ?
      I’ve been google your blog and I realized that the “original” si-fu is “si-fu”, not “Si-Fu”
      We don’t want to get wrong point of view from the clone….

• jaguarXJ on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:26 am

it does look like a pick up truck,if you throw away the boot and the tapes :D
    ,based on my opinion la.

• will be ..just like CALDINA

• keong on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:33 am

In view of the recent news about the upcoming Persona replacement, this is probably it. They’ve just covered up the sedan to look like an MPV. Here’s a crude Photoshop to show it can be a sedan:

http://www.imgplace.com/viewimg13/8624/31protoncity.jpg

Lol just ‘shopped on the first pic I could find which matched the angle.

• hauzi302 on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:34 am

Don’t understand why pple keep comment that this is an upcoming Proton Caldina

I don’t think Proton is that stupid to “mould” a Caldina-type car, instead by just these pics make most of the pple here stupid enough to believe that it’s a “Prodina”, and this is really what Proton expect you stupid people will react to.

• beatnik on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:20 pm

that’s what i commented. proton use the mock-up body to disguise the actual vehicle underneath.. but i got all thumbs down for my comment. you all tak pandai baca ke?

• abzaja on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:39 pm

IMO its not that reason you get thumbs down, maybe the word ‘potong’ you’ve used have mocked the P1 supporters.

• dickybird on Jul 21, 2010 at 5:20 pm

coz u know, proton fanboys are abit thin-skinned, comment abit, criticise abit will AMOK 1. lol!

• Peanuts on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:36 am

Somehow, it looks like a pick up truck tho. That’s just my opinion.

• lencongan on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:46 am

wait..
    4 door neO?

• The Unicons on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:00 am

More sportier Exora. Currently the Exora looks more like Totoya Innova. Boxy type at rear. This prototype looks more like Honda Stream RSZ? Hahaha…

You can see from B pillar the roof section has been lowered down till the end. Anyway, this is just a prototype, the end product could be totally different.

Cheers

• mohd hafizzul dorifuto on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:01 am

ambo tengok Exora dah patah pinggang…5 seater kot. Mace Caldina…

• ray_jay on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:04 am

I think we all can agree we need Theophilus Chin expertise here!

SuperTheo to the drawing board! : D

• learner on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:07 am

since p1 is about to introduce the turbo version of exora, hopefully it will be slightly different look than current exora and thus i hopping this will be the turbo exora.

• lompard on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:12 am

so out of shape…..

• hazri99 on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:14 am

i think that is the proton suv.. or new waja..
    http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=Youngman-Europestar-Lotus-L5&image=03.jpg

• Swagelok on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:15 am

an insider told me.. New Persona will be using Exora Platform.

• previous article someone said his insider said its exora and today other insider said persona……does it mean both insider cheat the person who sent the articles? i bet another insider will said it waja to commenter in this blog..

• bryan.jones on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:03 pm

“my insider” said that this will be the new Iswara Aeroback :D

hahaha.. funny la when some ppl here use the word “insider” to stress their idea.

• proton.me on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:29 pm

or maybe both people just talk and say they have insider but it cheat.. who know?? if like that i also can say i have a insider, and this is new gen-2..
      hahaha..

• acerman on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:27 am

This car looks like…
    a) a wagon, but the whole design doesn’t reflects a wagon type car with flat/even roofline like the AD RESORT
    b) SUV crossover, but front looks like a sedan.
    c) small size MPV, but the rear is low
    d) a SUV, but its too low with small size tyres

my guess it may be in the same category as Caldina. AND whats the EXORA doing at the back there following? What are they testing on now for the Exora. They already had 3 variants of EXORA. This is a “FRINGE” file case, very mysterious.
    This time I guess, Proton is REALLY giving us the CHILLS!

• barium on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:41 am

looks like a twin-cab pickup to me.

• too wasted developing this new model. proton is lack of small mpv segment. why cant they consider the segment?

• V70T5 on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:49 am

i hope this will be a wagon!

• CALVINT78 on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:55 am

It’s look like a wagon imho, perharps, caldina version.

• gtr blogger on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:01 am

A wagon or something?

• karudina oonaa on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:01 am

It’s really obvious that proton are cutting the back portion from Exora, lowered it, weld it to caldina chasis and side member (the doors really similiar to caldina) and put the front of the exora as well… my guess is that they’re planning a new model or exora variant of sport mpv/wagon…put in the turbo, walla!! they should do this kind of activity more…copying is a good thing as long as you can kaizen (improve) from what you copy, not making it lousier.

• trav_da_man on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:03 am

Is proton seriously developing the APX prototype from Lotus? Will this be a new family wagon?

Man this is interesting.

• hukaka on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:05 am

maybe it’s a SUV.

• BMALOI on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:08 am

Its design looks much better than exora when it is finished. I am really doubt that in will be showed in KLIM unless they really want to push it for production.

• it can be shown in klim…as future model or another concept whatever ..who knows rite..just like emas

• I think it looks a bit like the Lotus APX design concept (2006) in terms of platform and proportion. Hey, maybe its just me. Just have a look here: http://www.autoblog.com/2006/02/24/lotus-apx-concept-unveiled/

• Proton should come with better design. For Malaysian people, quality or not come with nomber 3 or 4. Yang penting cantik mata memandang. Look at myvi. People still buy although handling is worse. Don’t care tiru macam grandis ke ape ke….those bashers nak kasi jahanam our industry.

• redfueler on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:15 am

new car in new segment..nice work

• firza on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:17 am

i think they let us compare this new model to an Exora after the first picture release………how exciting………very2 promising……..this can sell…..definitely……

• azrai on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:26 am

Check previous link on persona R http://paultan.org/2009/04/16/proton-exora-platform-to-spawn-new-models/

• Eric G on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:27 am

cmon la proton, if you are going to build a ‘caldina’ in your own version, why didnt they just build one in the first place?

• sorry, I don’t understand what you are talking about…

• we still don’t know yet..it could be sedan..next exora..it could be anything..u can see it clearly..it masked all around..remember..it base on Exora platform..just wait and see..btw..i like the way car maker masked their tested car..very mysterious..hehe..

• ilikeproton on Jul 21, 2010 at 10:33 am

wah..tak paham la..apa lu cakap..idea lu lagi bagus ka?

• Seriously on Jul 22, 2010 at 9:05 am

hahahahaha! your comment made my day! *thumbs down to you* :D

• Nutty Dad on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:37 am

In hindsight, that ‘s a real flattened Exora…….Look like a midway house between an MPV and sedan/hatchback.
    LOL…now it bring us back to the Alza slogan…..
    or it’s a reaction from the criticism of the fat end of Exora haha…
    At least it’s more interesting than the Persona & Savvy revision :)

• wet1575 on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:37 am

maybe pesona hatchback..???

• Aaron Isaac on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:46 am

myvi killer?

• proton caldina….pergghhh

• Comrade on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:05 pm

Very interesting. It seems to be a ‘sleeker’ version of the Exora.. can’t tell from the pics if the wheelbase is the same as the Exora’s but the roofline’s definitely lower. Let’s assume its weight is lighter than the Exora and this could mean a new car that has a reasonably good power-to-weight ratio if it uses the 1.6 litre Campro CPS engine. I don’t race cars, but I’d still like to have at least a 1.8 litre engine for a car of this size. Can’t wait to see how this one turns out!

• noriyuki abe on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:09 pm

maybe 1st station wagon proton

• Proton ‘WISH’… or…

Proton ‘Stream’…

• Jaybond on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:26 pm

It’s a premium, stylish MPV. Enough said :)

• This should be proton’s upcoming SUV

• mnazri.tan on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:28 pm

I said Paul knew what is Proton doing with this…Anyway Paul seems pretty close with Proton, and heck how he ever find out about this picture ? And he seem always manage to spot every time proton doing some test, so he claimed this picture was send to him by someone else.

But if he know, then he must be working closely with Proton to create the buzz but in the same time needed to remain silent…Tight Lip…In exchange, he will be among the first who able to reveal the final product….

Yes, i figure out a conspiracy….muhahahah….

Anyhow, this really stir a hype…everybody seem jumping upside down with excitement…very minimal negative comment…So Proton, or Paul please tell this to Proton…we are putting lots of hope…dont make it a lost hope….

All the best Proton, perhaps time to upgrade my Gen2…hehehe

• Paul Tan on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:10 pm

Hahaha I wish. A group of journalists already saw a clay model of a certain car last week but we were left out.

• saki77 on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:49 pm

kesiann…hehe… :P

• ray_jay on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:21 pm

Heheheh… or it could be that they reserved it so that it (Proton) can shows you the actual thing! : D

• mnazri.tan on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:16 am

ya ka Paul….must be the confidentiality agreement…wakakakakak….
          But Paul…really what you think of it? Really a new car?

• ismet on Jul 21, 2010 at 8:41 am

ahaaa! then i know what model is it..gotcha paul!!

• jl@ipl on Jul 21, 2010 at 3:56 pm

Well,

I don’t know what car it is and I prefer to wait and see rather than speculate.

But then, surely, Proton put a lot of effort to disguise it. It must be ‘big’. And, I hope, no insider ‘leaks’ them to public (Shame on you, really!). Just let the public crack their brain, pull their hairs, whatever.

Anyway, we all know that Proton will introduce 3 new models, Waja Replacement, Persona Replacement and Turbocharged Exora. So, this test mule definitely one of those. End of story, ta-ta!

• acerman on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:45 pm

A Fringe case.

• nolan on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:29 pm

it seems that Proton will launch an Exora Merdeka Edition soon….trust me dude…

• Its just another Exora with a revised behind OK. I don’t understand all the excitement.

Same 1.6 Campro 4 Speed AT – Malaysia’s Favourite!

Other prototypes to get you guys even more excited teruja!

Exora J (Juara replacement model) – shorter wheel base, added height with 1.2L Renault engine
    Exora 1Malaysia – Merdeka edition
    Exora PS (pickup truck version – single cab)
    Exora PD (pickup truck version – double cab)
    Exora Coupe (two door version)
    Exora Chancellor (2.0L V6 longer wheel base)
    Exora Neo (hot 2 door turbo charged hatch for the young at heart)
    Exora Emas (hybrid based on original platform)
    Exora PS Emas(pickup truck single cab hybrid)
    Exora PD Emas (pickup truck double cab hybrid)
    Exora Coupe Emas (two door hybrid)
    Exora Chancellor Emas (longer wheel base hybrid)
    Exora Neo Emas (hot hatch for the environmentalists)

• orang_malaysia on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:47 pm

I don’t think P1 will follow the way P2 sell their cars.
      If , and I mean IF P1 still want to do , sure P1 will be bashed kaw-kaw

• p2 follow toyta way, toyota design the car anyway. P2 rebatch only. hahaha, p1 not relevant

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 23, 2010 at 9:39 am

you tak ada kerja ke? imaginasi tinggi sangat… kesian..

• Proton volvo V50 wannabe?

• New Hyundai Fan on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:58 pm

More like Nissan Grand Livina which has lower height. So, it should be MPV type,right?

• animous on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:48 am

I believe thats their intention, to confuse us whether its a car or its a MPV.
      The car use multilink suspension at the back, so by refering to http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/4108/exoraplatformlarge.jpg,

it is probably a car.

• kaiser on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:05 pm

The roofline looks suspiciously like the Lotus APX concept. They really did a great job of masking the back. It can be a sedan, wagon, or a crossover.

• kurikuri on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:05 pm

every topic related to proton will get big number of response..

deep in our hearts, we love proton rite?

• exlive3 on Jul 21, 2010 at 9:04 am

we really do..hahahahh

• animous on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:46 am

yes, at least I do.

• me too… despite countless cosmetic problems with the older models, the newer ones look and feel more solid now and rarely u see proton cars breaking down at road sides rite and they still got the best handling ever, thumbs up for that ;)

• pls pls pls. have an engine power upgrade for this. very sick and tired of 1.6…

• like old dog huh… zZz…

• world trend now 1.0, 1.3 and 1.5 or in that range that r very efficient n powerful

• dickybird on Jul 21, 2010 at 5:18 pm

campro 1.6 is neither efficient or powerful if not why so many ppl asking out loud for an engine upgrade. even my livina some argue a smaller car has a 1.8L engine. as seen in the world engine awards, the trend is ACTUALLY towards small displacement force inducted engine that is turbo or supercharged.

• freeze on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:17 pm

This trully a kereta potong, sure fail Puspakom.

Can’t you see the butt is fitted downward? The fuel filler flap is not leveled, and the reflections on the quarter panel is not leveled with the front.

Next time should rear end this mule vehicles then when he stops you can see what car it is.

• raybrig85 on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:50 pm

dude..just wait till the final product la..still early to comment about those detail

• its a damn CAMOUFLAGED TEST MULE lah you stupid. also, test mules/prototypes don’t need to pass puspakom.

• freeze on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:32 pm

Dear dumbass, isn’t the whole idea behind compulsory Puspakom checks to get rid of unworthy vehicles aka potong cars.

So why is this cut n weld unit on the road?

If it is a sedan, why must they waste time n money trying to fool the people with this disguise. Who give’s a damn if its a sedan? How would your life have changed if the mule above was in sedan form. Would the end product be of better value? Would it be better built? NO! It’s a Proton.

Built with the cheapest materials, produced by the lowest bidders. Sold to uneducated people for high prices. These uneducated people then complain that their salary is too low, when they take 9 year loans to pay for garbage. What they fail to realise is that after 9 years they have to start all over again for the next garbage – those are the rare lucky ones, since most Protons start failing after 3 years. Or the occupants in the vehicle dies in a minor crash.

This is what Proton does with tax payers’ money – cut pieces from different vehicles and join them up and put the unsafe vehicles on the road. I bet 80% of yall don’t even pay taxes. <RM2500 hahahaha. Lowlifes and their Potong. 9 year loan to pay for trash.

• scottloeb on Jul 21, 2010 at 10:15 am

Clearly you know nuts about car development. No VTA – No registration. Thats why they running on trade plates. It might be a tank develop for MinDef, who knows?

• molala on Jul 21, 2010 at 10:52 am

Please read/think before you speak man. This is just mule/test vehicle. Faham?
          Stop calling people d*****s, when you acting like one.

• animous on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:45 am

Proton is our pride. Do you know only a few country develop their own car?
          We want to know what they are developing. they produce good looking car and reliable engine and its affordable, at least for me.

Developing a car is not like building lego. We need to test many thing. Thats why they are on the road. However, they will put camouflage so that people dont know what car is it. They are keen enough to allow us to take picture and even give comparison to the current car lineup (exora), to give us a clue.

• Eyesore on Jul 21, 2010 at 1:29 pm

sometimes u just need to leave ignorant person alone in their world. it is really pointless to reason with them… it’s like talking to the wall…

he obviously has no idea whatsoever about development process of a car and what is needed / required by regulations….

looking down or generalised ppl who use proton cars as poor already show what kind of person he is…. no need to reason or respond to his inability to think correctly and respect other ppl…

his ignorance will lead him to his own downfall… sooner or later…

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 23, 2010 at 9:43 am

bro, orang pandai macam ini orang kita jangan follow, kalau kita follow sure one we’ll be like him….

• autojohndoe on Jul 24, 2010 at 9:03 am

haha…

you are talking about yourself isnt it?

• linear_system on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:20 pm

do u know its a test car?do u know whether it was testing the engine or suspension or anything else?how can u judge with only the taped up car on a photo??please dont comment like this again in future..

• if it’s not a wagon like alza, it must be an suv like apx

• Joe Cole on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:26 pm

WHO CARES..!!!!!!

• then why bother to give a comment…. zZz….

• scottloeb on Jul 21, 2010 at 10:16 am

It seems that you do. Anyway Good Luck for the coming season under Woy Hodgson!

• ExoraNice on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:27 pm

The 2.0 Turbo version

• mehhh on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:31 pm

EXORA penyett kott

• Ma[X] on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:39 pm

It is a mule car for Iguana project. Heard it somewhere in the internet

• cancerman on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:01 pm

Every time at any post of the regarding proton car here at paultan must be fast big respond from ppl. Everyone is really interested with proton development.

• Now everyone making assumptions regarding this pictures.. So what if you guys are wrong? Maybe this is the upcoming Proton Persona replacement. I’m saying this because we already have our new pride MPV which is Proton Exora and its still NEW in the market. Do you think this is Proton Exora replacement? Think again, what about our dealers here? Do you think about them? If the buyers know this is upcoming MPV’s, for what reason ‘rakyat’ going to buy the previous Exora if they knew this picture is upcoming Exora replacement? Then Proton will announce to all their dealers to make a clearance of their stock because Proton going to lunch new Exora. Bankrupt laa our dealer.. I don’t think so.. My evaluation; maybe this is the PROJECT PHOENIX.. Who know’s right?

• u are right bro, only idiots will talk about Exora replacement.

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:34 pm

Macam kereta kat Thailand aje aku tengok.

• bartowski on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:42 pm

it’s look like chery eastar?

• budleee on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:44 pm

an exora cross tourer??

like those bmw x6, honda accord cross tourer cars…

even in its mule form… its kinda cool looking

• White Jack on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:45 pm

Guys,
    internal news from my friend working in Proton Development division saying that this new Proton (still no name yet) Prototype is for preparing to appear in the upcoming KL Motoshow 2010. So just stay tuned !

• Just nice for a coffin…

• huiyoo on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:56 pm

i think this is new proton class. might be station wagon. who knows

• Wow any proton related news will make hundreds of comment! Exora turbo, Persona R ~ so much opinion, but I agree more to one who suggest it might be Proton APX, I make some cutout from original image and put side by side with Proton APX ~ what would you think? here is the image

http://img837.imageshack.us/img837/1084/compare.jpg

• takin on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:37 pm

i agree with u..
      somehow it looks so called the apx
      but diff is..the back profile..
      maybe proton wants to make it diff than the apx concept ones..
      i love this unidentified proton! huhu

• dr.sd on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:41 pm

perbandingan yg bagus! good job…ketara perbezaan diantara kedua2 model nihh’ soon p1 will lunching this model..tunggu ja laaa’

• rajaiskandarshah on Jul 20, 2010 at 5:31 pm

thanks for the image. with the low roof (it will not be a 7 seater), with the alloy rims (it will not be a proton arena replacement nor a suv). the rear end is a dummy as it is not aligned with the front and middle body. will be really nice if it is like the apx. if it really is like the apx, then no need to do the waja lancer lah …

• apexg2 on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:05 pm

i think this is Emas for mass produce project but still use exora body as they are testing the persona chasis…the body itself not yet discovered…haha….

• ZOLITAR on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:16 pm

I agree with the guy that says it looks like the Lotus APX Crossover. =D I hope it is cuz that car was shiny. Please keep the interior that APX had.

• carmaxspeed.blogspot.com on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:25 pm

the front shape look like murano……proton suv maybe?

• Seriously on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:37 pm

Proton just got very interesting… you have the hype now, but please don’t be a huge dissapointing buzzkill when the real thing comes out!

• kerelbort on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:42 pm

alza rival? caldina quite famous among ppl but some stepback because lack of spare parts. maybe proton want to fill this gap?
    5+2 seat configuration maybe. but Proton s hould not market it as 7 seater. if lot later ppl who dont understand 5+2 will bash on how uncomfortable it is to seat at the +2 site.

• Arena replacement

• techboy_88 on Jul 20, 2010 at 4:35 pm

Made-in-Malaysia stationwagon? Hmm….

• WAPALE on Jul 20, 2010 at 4:42 pm

i wanna give a code name..ermm EXORA APX mayb;)

• azrai on Jul 20, 2010 at 4:57 pm

Just a reminder http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/4108/exoraplatformlarge.jpg

• oh… light commercial? hmmm… still doesnt look it tho… the roofline really looks like the APX…

• No_name on Jul 20, 2010 at 5:22 pm

This look like a Mazda to me!

• palan on Jul 20, 2010 at 5:24 pm

it’s persona replacement…definitely not another mpv or new suv..it was disguised under exora’s skin to cheat the public hehe…gooood

• should be a commercial vehicle. using exora platform, they are moving in the right way, reduce cost and more models to offer.

• Swagelok on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:01 pm

another info from insider..

Persona replacement. Engine 1.6 turbo. 155HP with 240NM torque.

• littlefire on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:18 pm

Anyway, Proton until now still cannot utilize it manufacturing line… see this link…

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/business/article/rising-sales-push-2010-vehicle-output-except-for-proton/

• kampung boy on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:22 pm

Could be proton wagon…a very popular kind of transport with Malaysians but nowadays mostly served only by the Germans.

Maybe Proton should name it Gen2/Waja Shooting Brake…with turbos, 18″ wheels, brembos, skirtings…baru la gempak sikit!

• pacifictuna on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:51 pm

i reckon it might be the replacement for the long forgotten Proton Arena/Jumbuck. what i see from the picture is that everything behind the B pillar looks suspiciously flimsy. i might be wrong.

but i do agree with mystvearn. this is partly for publicity since there’s an exora following. again i might be wrong cause proton might simply be taking data from similar platform on a same running condition…. btw, never seen such enthusiasm in a proton spyshot. more than 200 comment in a day!

• org biasa on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:34 pm

kalo harga sampai 100k ko nak bli ker???

• Anonymous on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:42 pm

Proton, good marketing strategy. I think you nailed to create excitement and trigger interest towards the audience. This will definitely capture the yuppies market whom considering for low roofline MPV. Goodluck, btw, I’m anxiously waiting for Persona R and Emas!

• Mozilla Chrome on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:28 pm

Hey Paul,

what do u think this car will be? An SUV or Crossover?? ==”

(.Im asking Paul the octopus)..

• tokmoh on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:17 pm

HEIL PAUL!!!

I wonder if Paul can do more… put 4 boxes with snack: 1 with “Proton SUV”, 1 with “Proton Exora turbo”, 1 with “Proton Arena R” and 1 with “Proton Persona R”

I dare to bet the one Paul picks is the mule above :D

• MoFaz on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:21 pm

that paul already retired from making any prediction :)

• DK BOSS on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:45 pm

It looks like a subcompact, midsize MPV wagon ….Proton trying their luck to enter the Toyota Wish & Caldina market as it is very popular in bolehland but if they can put in their junk style of designing and cps campro engine with option for turbo, cheap plastic and horrible parts inside, keep the cost down and price it just around the persona level….then you have Proton Junk ..NEW MPV !! Very sure its gonna be a junk and a coffin car when it comes out …looks on the other hand might be good, but same old Proton…… quality, performance and safety will suck big time and again dozens of our rakyat will burn their money for another junk. Of coz if Proton proves me wrong this time then maybe …just maybe might be a glimmer of hope for Proton to survive but am almost certain its gonna be a huge disappointment. So let’s wait for KLIMS 2010 !!

• saki77 on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:55 pm

Proton dont owe u anything….hehe

• prolever on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:55 pm

are u know anything about automotive…. i think you need to read more about that … dont put finger into something that you dont know…”:CLEVER”!!

• acerman on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:12 pm

Good predictions. Can u predict how much salary I have in a month? Foolish statements from a third world boyish man.

• biG looser of 2010…stUPid basher…who are u proton to prove…u are just a IDIoT jacK-ass talking crap..

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 23, 2010 at 9:54 am

guys, just see his name, DK Boss.. (Donkey Kong BOSS).. then we can wonder why he made such a wonderfool comments…

• Neutral on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:49 pm

Hmm nampaknya bukan Mitsubishi Grandis tapi interesting! Proton tengah buat wagon kah? menarik juga tu sebab local car belum ada wagon type.

• New Proton’s SUV or Pick-up car to replace ARENA…? But it is a good news also!!!!

• ViosUser on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:07 pm

But very sad lah reading Proton news for today

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/business/article/rising-sales-push-2010-vehicle-output-except-for-proton/

• Proton is bad for health. Seriously!

• the headline is misleading…

in the report, what Aishah was saying was that all other manufacturer was producing above production capacity except Proton, which has 50% excess capacity.
      Capacity does not translate to production volume.

Shah Alam plant has roughly 250k annual production capacity. Tanjung malim was designed for 1 million annual capacity, but currently at 150k annual production capacity.
      in comparison: honda melaka production capacity is only 20k per year.

proton at 50% capacity = (250+150)/2 = 200k per year.
      honda at 200% capacity = 40k per year.

• Tiadaid on Jul 22, 2010 at 7:23 am

Exactly! The article’s comparing apples with oranges again. Two plants versus one of coursela look like low capacity!

• please lah!! proton have 2 factory, if they use 1 factory they should be able to combined and increase the productions…

“”Aishah also revealed that a UMW Toyota Motor subsidiary, Assembly Services, was operating at 215 per cent production capacity, Honda at 202 per cent, Tan Chong Motors at 143 per cent, “”

what is is the percentage? you have factoryu churning more output than designed?? becareful with quality…

• ppl loves to give thumb down!!!

• Paul Chhabra on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:31 pm

I think Its An Exora Station Wagon Model …. Great Progress , By The Way Is Proton About to Replace The Perdana Model ………… It has Been Very Long since They’ve Come Up With A New Model ….

• Seriously on Jul 22, 2010 at 8:56 am

why do you have all your words starting with a capital letter?

• think on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:32 pm

looks misterious…we can’t guess anything…as this prototype carries multiple possibilites..
    1)a suv as it looks taller than a exora
    2)a pickup truck as the rear part looks so
    3)or a special version to the exora line up such as the long wheelbase perdana v6

but the car looks more like an suv with mpv carrying capabilities……..

• COOL!
    proton exorena, the arena replacement.

• zafedz on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:44 pm

last time they using toyota wish body & chasis to build the exora…
    this time they using exora body & chasis to build………………??

• bryan.jones on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:05 pm

“my insider” said this is the new Proton Iswara Aeroback :D

• Apamacam on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:12 pm

Finally , proton apx SUV is here . a car worth waiting for till KLIMS2010 !
    book your tickets & start your countdown now. I’m loving it !!

• zaid_savoc on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:16 pm

dengar2 proton indonesia nk launching model baru 1 ogos nie…
    so rasenyer sblm launching sane sure proton wat pelancaran di malaysia..
    kete nie kot yg proton nk launching..

• Babelon on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:35 pm

looks like proton wagon..

• Nakal on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:36 pm

whatever people said-good or bad, truth or rumors – this is the ‘true’ automotive R&D.

• khairul on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:04 pm

I think this will be the new Proton Arena replacement mode because I heard diorg nak keluar new model of Proton Arena.Kereta Arena not a fail project because it laku at Australia.Only in Malaysia it x laku

• laku di australia…but how many models really sells there…Malaysia is a back bone market for proton…we a subsiding for foreign market coz proton in foreign world is cheaper than local market…if arena sold 5000 unit at australia and sold less than 10000 in local market…u cant says Arena laku!!

• Tiadaid on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:28 pm

Itu MO biasa semua company kete pe. Toyota, Honda, KIA semuanya buat macam tu nak dapatkan market share. Plus jgn lupa dari segi tax. Ingat Proton tak kena tax ke jual kereta kat Malaysia? Jgnlah compare dengan Saudi Arabia yang xde tax, memangla!

• waja2006 on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:27 pm

ii think just like Mit RVR like design

• autojohndoe on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:47 pm

the hundreds comments shows that, the readers are trying to show they know cars and proton better than others…

hoho…

BTW, why cant just think of good possibility out of this?

Maybe it will become a model that will boost proton image again…

• SedusaX4 on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:12 am

I think maybe its the Waja Replacement Model Hatchback version? Since Waja replacement is around the corner, this could be the hatchback version

• lan090 on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:17 am

I think they just want to test the drag force on the car which might produce some input to the persona replacement model.

See the lower part part at the back. It resembles the sedan rather than MPV.

• azwan nbs on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:27 am

juling arr nak bace….

• The heavily camo must be a sedan— not Mitsu sourced-Waja but Persona MK2. We can see the disproportionate rear design very unlikely to suggest the sport wagon.

• nie proton ambik keta toyota caldina pastu ubahsuai, korang semua stuju ke dgn pandangan aku

• the king on Jul 21, 2010 at 1:18 am

It’s arena replacement…

• maybe it’s a SUV.

• Freddo on Jul 21, 2010 at 7:23 am

Hi guys! IT’S PHOENIX TURBOCHARGED. 1.8 AND 2.0 – 6 SPEED. GO PROTON!!!!!!!!!!!!

• YB. Ir.Prof.Tan Sri.Dato'.Dr.Sr.Ar. Ali Bin Abu on Jul 21, 2010 at 7:43 am

Pheonix Project on the road?

• Pak Abu on Jul 21, 2010 at 10:25 am

My son, don’t need to use all the titles lah.
      Keep that for …..

:mrgreen:

• anak2 kita on Jul 21, 2010 at 4:34 pm

embarassing u ka Pak Abu…haha
        he must be a child…plaase dont mind..

actually this pic was taken a long time ago i thought when exora on testing
        but we not aware of the car..but suddenly this old photo come again…some
        ppl say if there a no third row exora it maybe be the new persona in preparing
        ppl say not mine

• makan makan on Jul 21, 2010 at 1:46 pm

YB. Ir…you miss one more award..’Sir’-award by Pupua New Guinea king. hi2

• Wan Malaysia on Jul 21, 2010 at 9:01 am

Wagon look…or another people say “Kereta juga MPV” etc

• azlanaziz on Jul 21, 2010 at 9:17 am

does it some sort of marketing hype? previously we got some spyshot photo of this so called-new exora. people keep saying that the photo were skewed resulting incorrect proportion. then it come out at paultan, then the proton team reading it, “haiyaa… it’s a new model la, not exora… why r u so blind?… now u go out again with that thing, this time, bring exora follow at the back, so people can make comparison, go around the highway until u see someone is taking pictures…” just to create the awareness that a new exiting model coming so people who had alza in their mind can hold n wait for this model before making decision.

• ray_jay on Jul 21, 2010 at 9:55 am

Have you consider working with the CIA? I think there’s a vacancy there. Or worse case scenario… u can always apply for gossip reporter.

• I think azlanaziz is right. Actually Proton got no new model but this is just a ruse to create impression of one and hold back potential buyers from commiting on other brands/models. Not a bad idea. Perodua should now go dress up an old kancil and have the Alza following it as they both drive up and down NSE.

• Seriously on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:38 am

huh? why would Proton create a false hype? In the end it’ll just look bad on them if they dont have anything and potential buyers would go away from Proton. That i can almost assure is not the case.

• ZOLITAR on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:47 am

That’s just silly because they’re going to end up preventing sales of their own brand if people are “waiting for something new”. Secondly, if there’s nothing new coming out (which there is) but let’s assume there isn’t and it was all a ruse…it would end badly for Proton and trust in the company would fall. No company would risk their reputation like that just to stop a few hundred or thousand sales of a certain product by their rival company.

• lol…

• ilikeproton on Jul 21, 2010 at 10:51 am

itu namanya bisnes

• PerdanaV6 on Jul 21, 2010 at 10:20 am

Th the New Perdana

• this is going to compete with audi rs6..

• hauzitupi come-on… , proton dont make sthing stupid yet

• molala on Jul 21, 2010 at 10:57 am

Whatever it is just hope it comes with new engine and gearbox.

• this new proton is based on toyota caldina… my friend on R&D told that they “potong” 1 caldina & developed the new proton based on it… but cannot 100% follow la… because can get summons maa…

• mnazri.tan on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:19 am

timing coincide with this article though

SHAH ALAM, July 15 — Proton Holdings Bhd expects to launch a new sedan model before the end of this year to replace the Waja.

Group managing director Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir said production of the new model would be undertaken at its plant in Shah Alam.

“All the preparations have been done. We hope to launch it in the last quarter of this year,” he told reporters after launching the improved Exora model here today.

“We are working with other original equipment manufacturers,” he said.

According to market talks, the new model will display a copy of version Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT but use the engine with a capacity of slightly smaller 1.8-litre.

It is believed that the Mitsubishi feature in Proton is the result of development engineering cooperation between Proton and Mitsubishi Motors Corporation, which is also a shareholder.

• yup…someone has spotted the lancer came out from proton factory..Mitsubishi has found that they cant match Honda civic hot selling model..so..they let proton assemble it with low cost..so it can sell at low price and sell more..maybe..haha

• wrong..
      Mitshubishi no longer a shareholder… exited long time ago…

http://www.proton.com/about_proton/investor_relations/shareholdings_statistics.php

p/s some American pension plan also bought Proton shares..

• mnazri.tan on Jul 22, 2010 at 3:57 pm

wei….they end it long ago, the re do it again after VW exit daa…the news is in this blog somewhere..find yourself…hehehhe

• wrong!.

Mitsu collaboration YES..
          Mitsu shareholding.. NO..

as I had put up there, the annual list of shareholders does not have “mitsubishi” in it.

• sukasukiproton on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:28 am

bgus2, tiap2 tahun kluar 2 model baru
    pasni jenuh ar nak memilih kete ape nk beli

• Jimmy on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:52 am

From the shape, it looks like something similar to BMW X6 or Harrier; the tracks seem wider than Exora. The sideview doesn’t look like Exora (after B-pillar). If Proton can produce an SUV at RM90 000 (top spec) …..

• disguise a sedan as a mpv/suv/wagon or all of it. but arent they a bit overboard on the rear?

probably a dead give away if anyone sees that. and have it moving together with exora…

• gangully on Jul 21, 2010 at 1:16 pm

Any of you remember how Proton was testing the 1.6 campro on the toyota wish before the Exora was launch? perhaps this is in fact Proton testing their new drivetrain and engine on another jap car just to see if it works well enough…

maybe used this particular jap car because chassis/platform have similar characteristics to their waja replacement model…

food for thought…

• animous on Jul 24, 2010 at 2:15 am

then no need to disguise until it is too obvious and mysterious.

Similar case to those who mod their engine, if they dont want to mess up with authorithy, (in this case paparazzi) they just make their car look as standard as possible.

• frank on Jul 21, 2010 at 2:03 pm

This is the dupilcate version or toyata caldina.

• Tommy on Jul 21, 2010 at 2:40 pm

The shape reminds me of APX…Dont you remember? And come on. When did proton made up some disguised cars and never let it out of the factory? that is a bull.

• DK BOSS on Jul 21, 2010 at 3:15 pm

Proton Scorpene MPV …tagline Proton guarantee our new MPV will stay afloat without sinking :) Maintenance Free upon delivery :p

Read this article about Proton people …..

• Tiadaid on Jul 21, 2010 at 6:10 pm

Know why Proton output is low? It’s spread over two factories! Whereas every other assemblers have only 1 factory. That’s a very simple equation yet nobody realize it?

• Eyesore on Jul 22, 2010 at 8:42 am

Typical of basher or malaysia generally… just looking at one particular spot rather than the whole picture…. sigh…

• Any more pics of this mule to share? Can’t wait to uncover the secret behind…

• tell me why on Jul 21, 2010 at 3:23 pm

design like new nissan grand livina??hope proton can sell cheaper, n plzz dont cheat us again…

• anak2 kita on Jul 21, 2010 at 4:39 pm

erm..maybe this exora la…unveil this 1st with phoenix engine then if
    their sales are encouraging in AUS then br jual kt sini plak normal normal exora with turbo…

just my centlah

• looks like a photoshop joke :D

• Maybe Exora hybrid… the shape just look like Toyota Prius..or maybe next generation of Proton MPV..hmmm…

• Tommy on Jul 21, 2010 at 6:50 pm

It is not ugly, but its weird… hmm.. it looks like Exora Cross? or Exora country edition? because, the profile looks a little bit high… and try to imagine, with the Cross bodykit, it will look awesome… it does look wide though…

• maybe a turbo 1.6 campro or 1.8 or 2.0 mitsubishi engine….with CVT gearbox

• subhero on Jul 21, 2010 at 8:28 pm

dear all paultan readers,

i just confirmed by my cousin who work to proton R&D. that model is the persona tyre R. bring us to the campro turbo.
    this model will develope start on this oktober 2010. at Tg.Malim plant.

this model cutting goes to something like caldina. then for those are waiting for the caldina but cannot afford, you , i should wait for this.

and i will wait for this..

welldone proton..

• subhero on Jul 21, 2010 at 8:50 pm

my cousin said persona type R. but i think its more going to exora turbo. i think exora turbo its more correct.

and this is what we call mystery. but the others is confirmed.

i cant wait for this..

• misteriiii on Jul 22, 2010 at 6:17 am

pls help to ask ur cousin, i really wanna know if
      persona R = persona replacement 2012???
      or persona R is another type of model?

• subhero on Jul 22, 2010 at 7:35 pm

my cousin said persona R. i dont think so its gonna be type R

• i think Persona R is a new model..not persona replacement..Its too early to replace persona..A few month ago proton just introduce persona elegance..

But, to proton, please dont use ‘type R’..This is exclusive for Honda only..all those basher will hentam kaw-kaw la if proton use word ‘type R’ for the new model..

Just my 2.22cent

• haishh.. they never call it type R bro.. they just call the project the Persona R and the letter R is for Replacement bro.. and one thing, persona is a same design with the gen2 just addng the length so it is already almost 6 years… so they decide to make new one la..

• haishh.. they never call it type R bro.. they just call the project name with the Persona R and the letter R is for Replacement bro.. and one thing, persona is a same design with the gen2 just addng the length so it is already almost 6 years… so they decide to make new one la..

• who's dat gal on Jul 22, 2010 at 10:14 pm

hehe..persona R means persona replacement..not model type R :)

• volvo got type R what..

• ur kazen is dead meat coz bocor company secret….

• Lady CarCar on Jul 21, 2010 at 9:06 pm

Persona Wagon. haha. the rear design is rather weird but the front looks nice ! like it !

• Could be a station wagon like alza that has a bigger third row seats.

• Eh, Alza ni kereta apa sebenarnya? Ada cakap MPV, ada cakap Mini-MPV, ada cakap Wagon, ada yang cakap kereta yang boleh transform jadi MPV.

• motorist on Jul 24, 2010 at 2:10 am

ikut theme dia laa bro , car a moment, mpv the next.. kalau wagon, mcm caldina.. caldina fit dgn 5 org jaa, x lbh.. org yg x membaca mcm tu laa..kalau malas sgt nk mencari, ni haa link kalau nk tau caldina tu apa.. aku tlng cari lg..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Caldina

alza tu mcm mitsubishi colt plus.. ni kelas baru dlm dunia kereta dimana ianya kereta dlm bentuk MPV, dgn kemudahan menjadi mpv bila diperlukan..

kepada mereka2 tu, tlng laa baca.. jgn tau ckp jaa.. dr sini kita blh tgk berapa ramai org malaysia yg membaca..

• I spotted this car last month at road behind Proton Hicom… The rear roof line a bit sleeker.. the third row glass a bit small but the car itself wider and bolder than current exora… Overall very sporty at a glance.. during my observation there no disguised and this car a bit lowered compared to exora as you can see in the first picture.. very unlucky that i;m driving alone and didn’t managed to take a snapshot… way to go proton!

• Comrade on Jul 22, 2010 at 12:54 pm

Lucky guy! I’m thinking of getting an Alza to replace my present car, but I think I’ll wait for this ‘new Proton’ to come out so that I can make a comparison.

• Wakaka on Jul 21, 2010 at 9:55 pm

is a coffin car, kereta org mayat…..lagi satu babi design! tak guna

• LOOsEr!! and lagi satu kenyataan dr stupid basher….

• biarkanlah dia.. diakan lagu tema utk piala dunia 2010.. mana dia tahu apa2 pasal keta..

• anak dato'kk on Jul 22, 2010 at 8:37 am

This comment not from a plain stupid, but really2 stupid basher. Ada lg rakyat 1Msia yg berfikiran mcm ni, hmmm……..what a pity…

• hahaha…im laughing out loud when reading your comment.

you can’t be mad when a crazy person talk bad about you.
      you laugh…

• waklanproton on Jul 24, 2010 at 10:20 am

bingai…

• racerx111 on Jul 21, 2010 at 9:58 pm

Knowing that proton likes to milk every ounce out of everything, wouldnt surprise me if its an exora sedan. lol.

• aizect on Jul 21, 2010 at 10:12 pm

yes…dats true…i once interviewed a mechanical engineer from proton…the new waja totally looks like a lancer gt…but it will only being produced in limited like satria neo…due to its low demand (predictions)…and the engine are powered up to 2.0liter…but is it a campro?…i do not know…the est. price for b-line are about rm60K…

• waimak on Jul 21, 2010 at 10:52 pm

People, think. Which model is due for replacement in proton’s stable???? Arena, Gen2, Neo or Perdana…????? These are the answers!!

• more like a proton otuksi (odessey)

• quadlights on Jul 22, 2010 at 1:21 am

look at the muffler, u know it is a turbo….

• Kapultek on Jul 22, 2010 at 1:28 am

got tips from proton…this is proton turbocharger

• kanda on Jul 22, 2010 at 8:53 am

This “baby” will fight with caldina & honda odyssey.. Hihihi…

• Well, whatever they do, no matter what it will be, I just hope that it using something from the so called Phoenix Project.

• swifty on Jul 22, 2010 at 9:57 am

All these conflicting insider info is meant to confuse us to keep the web of mystery spinning on.

• Caldina type of car.

• Proton sport wagon?

• zaid_savoc on Jul 22, 2010 at 2:55 pm

member aku kt tjg malim gtaw Persona R tu persona hybrid means yg nie maybe lain model..

• Arghhh, I want to give my tips from my “insider” too. This is actually “LORI BALAK” replacement model. Codename “Proton Refrigerator”. Yes, you guess it correctly, Proton Juara’s siblings. Its actually rectangular shape. Powered by Campro 660cc.

• subhero on Jul 22, 2010 at 8:01 pm

i dont know y this people born at malaysian land..

• Tommy on Jul 23, 2010 at 12:47 am

it is just me or everyone else too, forget to laugh to you joke? heh. this is not your playground syoh, syoh3… go away basher..

• dickybird on Jul 23, 2010 at 10:58 am

nope, u just totally dont have a sense of humour like most thinskinned proton fanboys. now go take your anti-amok medicine.

• Peter on Jul 22, 2010 at 3:18 pm

IMO, this prototype is actually a pick-up…

Very similar styling which i can find…

Like wad some bros had said, this might be the Arena replacement.

Note: Arena is based on Wira. Thus it makes sense if Proton based on Exora which is actually the extended chassis of Gen 2/ Persona .

• r u sure? exora is new bigger chasis not extended persona chasis

• Proud2BMalaysian on Jul 22, 2010 at 3:25 pm

I hope it’s a Caldineo, with turbo of course..

• subhero on Jul 22, 2010 at 7:49 pm

haiyo.. proton are going booking their own coffin if put name caldineo.

• mfahd on Jul 22, 2010 at 3:27 pm

myb this new car is proton’s new stratergy in combating alza

• Norman on Jul 22, 2010 at 7:12 pm

Peter,The Exora chassis is totally new not based on Persona nor Gen2.Hopes you understand

Syoh,Pardon me for saying this but its aint nice to post unconstructive comments which contain hatred,biased and sick joke just because you dont like Proton.Hope you know and cheers.

PS:I;m not a Proton salesman nor representative.Just a pure Singaporean used to drive Japanese,Korean,Continental and currently driving Malaysian made cars.

• meaning you getting poorer? joking. joking.

joke aside, your knowledge about proton are better than some of our own “countrymen”.

• amatt on Jul 22, 2010 at 7:35 pm

i assume that proton gonna make a station wagon base on the exora platform.

• subhero on Jul 22, 2010 at 7:58 pm

my cousin who work for proton R&D said the mystery model is gonna be PERSONA R. sorry for the mistakes.

this mystery model mybe brings us to the (CAMPRO CPS TURBO)

wargh fell proud of u proton…..

anyway i just get the pictures 3 diffrent capture about our new waja replacement.
    its coming to see us with 1.8L & 2.0L.

mr paul, are u intrested to have this pics?

• u send it to this email [email protected]. me and my friends waiting for ur email with the photos

• as what i know, there is no CAMPRO CPS TURBO. If i’m not mistaken, Proton only turbocharge the normal Campro engine.

• neither the IAFM nor the CPS will be used in the turbo engine. the turbo engine is supposedly to have CVVT on its intakes. Proton already said this in a newspaper.

• motorist on Jul 24, 2010 at 2:02 am

can i have the pic pliz??

• Jeremie on Jul 22, 2010 at 8:20 pm

Here’s my opinion. I dont think its a wagon, sedan or pickup (arena). By the way it looks and the cover-up, It might very well be a big 5-door hatchback like the Merc B class, Renault Scenic and Mitsubishi Colt Plus, the type of car, which does look like a MPV but can only seat 5. This will certainly overcome the GEN 2 drawback which is limited headroom for the rear passenger.

• tiadaid on Jul 23, 2010 at 6:46 am

Does look like an MPV but can seat only 5? What you’re describing is basically a WAGON!

• Maybe a new Persona Type R Turbo with wagon body?

• very sporty design. me like!

good job Proton!

• PatGoh on Jul 23, 2010 at 9:46 am

I think ti is a huge mpv model which can be sited 10 person . be cos proton still dont have it yet. exora too narrow at the back sit………

• then go for nissan vanette lor.. wish, innova, avanza, alza also narrow at the back sit lor…

• caldina wanabe myb… :D

• New Hyundai Fan on Jul 23, 2010 at 10:14 am

Hi Subhero, is the waja replacement same as Lancer? Please post the pictures for us to see la.

• facebook.com/protonlotusiast on Jul 23, 2010 at 12:13 pm

i like the R of persona R =)

• kikilala on Jul 23, 2010 at 12:44 pm

another source i hear.. proton will produce new vechile look like exora, but use campro turbo..

• nyzars on Jul 23, 2010 at 5:17 pm

This trial run for new model PERSONA R that will lauch early year of 2012. As a proton vendor we already have all the information due this new model and improvement for new campro iafm turbo 1.6L upgrade. for more info please dont hesitate to ask me.
    Thanks

• Nakal on Jul 23, 2010 at 7:03 pm

Dear nyzars a.k.a proton vendor

If the info given by u is rite, so you’re just too brave to be summoned by proton.
      all the info is strictly confidential dude.

Good luck.

• animous on Jul 24, 2010 at 2:20 am

Why so many people claim they got insider? Plus some who boldly claim it was a certain car or something.

• subhero on Jul 24, 2010 at 5:14 pm

u can share the info to mr paul. so that paul can share with all of us.. that one more better..

• how many variants that they have for persona r? i heard the gearbox combo will be 6mt from getrag and cvt from punch(aka ZF), is it true? how much the hp and torque for campro CFE and IAFM+? does iafm+ has cvvt also as the turbo? Does they use direct injection for the new engine?

• maybe this is why PROTON buy 2 toyota wish back then when they are try to come up with exora…now we know what happen to that 2 toyota wish..hehehe :)

• did u guys remember about the test mule, toyota wish that proton used for producing exora before??? i think this has something related to that wish…. perhaps proton want to produce a compact mpv like wish…. coz this prototype does look like wish in shape….

• animous on Jul 24, 2010 at 2:21 am

The use of multilink suspension at the back instead of torsion beam take up some space so normally mpv will not use it. The best bet would be a car. but I can be wrong.

• INSIDER on Jul 24, 2010 at 5:36 am

its a complete SUV in passenger area.
    but the rear part (cargo area) still in “halfcut” from exora.
    and front (headlamp) look like “halfcut” from gen2.

so u if the rear design change to :
    -a cargo bed, u can get a Triton Lite = Arena replacement
    -a hatchback, u can get a BMW X6 = Perdana replacement.

old Arena sold badly , bcoz of design look like 80’s pick up = datsun single cab.
    are u going to buy it, if it look like proton’s “triton Lite”?

perdana also outdated bcoz now was SUV years.
    are want to buy camry/accord if u can get proton’s “harrier/murano”?
    why u buy perdana if u can get toyota camry for just 20K more.

• subhero on Jul 24, 2010 at 5:15 pm

paul, ive send the pics of waja replacement to ur email.. hurry up .. all your readers cant wait to see it..

• antu raya on Jul 24, 2010 at 5:33 pm

it will new model, but the design will look like exora..

• See Dunsheng Bryan on Jul 25, 2010 at 1:47 am

Or could be a Proton Perdana replacement? If so, then it would be either keeping the Perdana nameplate or something else. Proton Panettiere, perhaps?

• psychoblade on Jul 25, 2010 at 3:11 pm

something like toyota wish or honda stream?

• Whatever it is, It will inherit the same Power Windows DNA and other Tin Milo quality issues from its predecessor (or should I say, dowgrade from a rebadge imports)? Haha.

• Nice car !! ….proton now to create the new model for MPV ..

• Kapunek on Jul 26, 2010 at 5:53 pm

Bodoh!!! Bodoh!!!! Bodoh!!!!

Design teruk macam babi!! Engineer Proton memang otak keldai, bodoh sangat. Semua tak boleh buat. Konon nak buat enjin campro..aahhh campro taik je semua tu. Bukannya power pun. Campro ni makan asap jer dengan enjin lain, bukannya pickup, lemah, langsung lembab macam siput.

Orang bongok je yang kata campro ni bagus. Inikan enjin reject dari Lotus yang Proton ambik. Lotus dah buang sebab enjin macam sial pastu Proton beli. Kemudian dakwa campro ni Proton sendiri buat. Taik arr semua ni. Enjin reject pun nak dibangga-banggakan. Bodoh!!!

Semua body kereta Proton macam tin susu. Senang je nak kemek. Kualiti plastik kat dashboard teruk sangat. Macam plastik mainan budak2 yang buatan China tu. Pintu kalau nak tutup kena hempas kuat-kuat baru boleh tutup rapat. Bodoh betul engineer Proton. Kereta luar negara semua tutup pintu slow je, bunyi pun sedap, mantap. Tengok la macam pintu Perodua Myvi, Alza. Tutup slow je dah rapat,bunyi pun mantap. Proton? Bodoh!! Buat pintu pun tak reti.

Korang tak payahlah beli semua kereta Proton ni. Mengarut jer. Model baru konon, nak buat kereta wagon macam Toyota Caldina konon. Taik ar semua tu. Proton ni semua bodoh dari Pengerusi dia, Pengarah Urusan dia, semua pekerja2, R&D, engineer sampai la budak2 hingusan bodoh yang jadi tukang pasang & jadi Quality Control. Semua otak keldai, akal lembu. Orang yang beli pun sama.

Mampus Proton!! Mampus Proton!!! Mampus Proton!!!

• tokan on Jul 26, 2010 at 10:22 pm

ko tu dah pandai sangat ke?

• bodoh cam hang la….stupid bull

• a very rude person..pathetic..

• dickybird on Jul 27, 2010 at 10:29 am

wow! amok betul this anti-proton fanboy. as much as i hate proton, no need to behave like that those amok proton fanboys bah. chill bro!

• I support you Kapunek! Muahahaha,

• walter Culas on Aug 01, 2010 at 3:13 pm

This stupid Kapunek should not live at Malaysia. Go la Japan or German…

• Scania360 on Aug 04, 2010 at 1:21 am

insane!!!…leave it him alone..
      kesian2 org mental problem nih..

• aku rasa kapunek ni lembu otak keldai la..! ckp main sembur je.. dia dah try bwk new generation of proton ke? ada? tak adil la kalau stakat komen.. tapi tak mencuba atau mengkaji sedlm2nya.. ko try la bwk honda city or toyota vios.. pas tu ko bwk proton persona.. kalau ko tak te persona.. aku rasa ko dtg datang dari planet haiwan kurang cerdik la..

kapunek ni aku rasa baru pulang dari hutan kot.. tak pernah tahu pekembangan proton langsung..

proton dah menang mcm2 award utk saga, pesona dan exora.. ape lagi yg tak puas hati? nak dapat kereta free dari proton kot?

• gua xnk ckp lebey2.. cuma gua nk gtaw, lu laa bodo.. tnjuk mentaliti tahap biawak..

aku ada wat kajian pasal pengguna2 kereta kt malaysia.. apasal kereta proton byk rosak?? pasal masing2 guna mcm biawak.. kete bru, tutup pintu main hempas kuat2.. camna x jahanam.. pastu pulak, bila nk speed nk potong2, bt kasar mcm kete tu racing tuned.. sbb apa diorg bt cm tu, sbb keta proton murah.. buatan malaysia.. cuba bg BMW, Audi atau lain2 bkn buatan malaysia.. pergghhhh… jaga.. tutup pintu pun slow jee. kalau x rapat pun tarik gak bg rapat, x hempas2.. ye la.. German made, Japan made katakan.. jaga lah..

• Kereta macam tin milo sudah diberi kepada Perodua sejak Waja. Tengok saja pintu dan bumbung Viva. Campro memang dibuat oleh Proton,sebab saya kenal mereka semasa berada di UK dengan dibantu selepas buat prototip oleh Lotus dan mungkin Ricardo. Well done Proton.

• Bawa bersabar, bro… nak kutuk pun berlapik ckt, mmg p1 buat keta mcm hampeh tp gov lindung dia, keta import mahal, keta dia murah, p2 pula kecil ketanya…nak x nak, yg x mampu pki keta besar tpaksalah pki p1……

• Nice Car. Proud of Proton a real Malaysian car manufacturer.

• Mcm caldina pun ada.. tapi smaller window.. apa kereta ini.. exora kena potong bumbung kot..

• My friend who work in R&D Department at Proton said this one not SUV from Proton. This is New Nissan X-Trail. Belakang tu Exora cuma kebetulan jer….

• Proton Head of Engineering on Jul 28, 2010 at 3:17 am

i hereby confirm that the pic had been edited. any further info pls refer to proton pr

• Proton RnD staff on Jul 28, 2010 at 3:29 pm

These spy shots show the new model being developed by proton, indeed. However, everything is kept secret at the moment that both Proton Head of Engineering and the PR Dept have no knowledge of this project.

Bear in mind that the Proton Engineering Dept is not involved in the development of new model, thus they know nuts about our works.

I am sorry I cant elaborate more guys, though I know you all are very curious about our work. You all will have to wait and see …..

• waklanproton on Jul 28, 2010 at 3:34 pm

http://www.facebook.com/protonfans
    exora president!
    cun wooo…..

• proton presiden on Jul 30, 2010 at 2:48 pm

aiyoo you guys…think why cut bumbung exora..look like wish..and covered up everywhere think!!! to mislead us! they are testing the new Perdana replacement model!! Remember proton mention exora platform will be the base for the new Perdana!!! … in order to test road handling, weight distriubution..maybe aerodynamics (i dunno) they cut the roof make it slight lighter..put in testing gizmos..and test on the roads…its the new proton perdana…luxury..gomen model hehe..proton primo….el presidente…perdana ..but RnD proton..make the design ur own xmo amik cue merc-s-class..bm- audi…one word tho…think italian!….Maserati Quattroporte!!!….oooo sure all drool…2litre hybrid twin turbo biodiesel..woochiiimama!!!

• luv proton on Jul 30, 2010 at 6:58 pm

hopefully the engine will be 2.0 and above…at least 1.8….please PROTON..

• Proton RnD staff on Jul 31, 2010 at 5:24 pm

Sorry… we dont have 1.8 or 2.0 engine. But our soon to be launched turbocharged engine will have output power and torque equivalent to those of 2.0 engine.

Unlike campro, the new engine will have strong torque at low end… drivability will be very much improved especially for big cars like exora.

Wait and see….

• pomen_gtr on Aug 02, 2010 at 8:22 am

dato’ syed zainal already said…

there’s no 2.0liter engine from proton….but in order to get bigger power…proton will use campro 1.6-T (for the sake of ecology green like ford ecoboost philosophy)

• zimmer on Aug 04, 2010 at 7:54 pm

DIORANG NI TAK SENANG DGN KEJAYAAN ANAK MALAYSIA.
    SYABAS TO D.S.Z
    HOPE ONE DAY PROTON WILL SET THE STANDARD.

• zukifo on Aug 07, 2010 at 6:24 am

guys, start saving for the upcoming “proton Caldina”

• sabira on Aug 25, 2010 at 10:01 am

This is a new suv or crossover made by proton for the youngman and proton will buy back for us

• Proton MSX aka Lotus APX
    Guys,search for it.

• pulutkuning on Sep 03, 2010 at 8:40 am

I guess proton is following the market.. to come-up replacement model with crossover type car.. bigger size than sedan but look like an SUV

• Amirul on Sep 05, 2010 at 3:33 pm

mybe them want make a car like Toyota Wish . .

• Virosh on Sep 12, 2010 at 3:44 pm

I think its an SUV. Proton have been planning to make one.

• fendetto on Sep 27, 2010 at 5:54 pm

spot this car .. the prototype and waja replacement at cyberjaya ( lim kok wing ) the prototype super fast cant kejar.. the waja just a test drive ( corner ) ill guess pull the steering to left n right like crazy man akakaka

• mnazri.tan on Dec 28, 2011 at 2:20 pm

we havent figure out this yet….Paul…do u have any idea