Turbocharged Proton Exora to debut next year, facelift version of an existing model to be launched this year

Turbocharged Proton Exora to debut next year, facelift version of an existing model to be launched this yearIt has been widely reported previously that Proton will be introducing a turbocharged engine sometime next year and the Exora would be the first vehicle to run the engine. Proton has reiterated it’s intentions yet again. The company has confirmed to Bernama that it will debut the force-inducted engine with the Exora MPV next year.

Speaking to reporters after the company’s annual general meeting, group managing director Datuk Syed Zainal said, “The engine will support Proton’s future products in relation to extending enhanced performance, emissions and quality standards.’ He also added that the performance of the engine would be equivalent to a 2.0 litre engine.

He did not reveal further details about the engine, but we can expect it to be based on the 1.6 Campro, with or without CPS. Syed Zainal also mentioned that Proton will launch a facelift version of an existing model before end of the year. This could well be the Saga facelift, as we have recently spotted a taped-up version near Bukit Jelutong. As reported previously, the new Proton Waja will be introduced this year as well. Based on the Mitsubishi Lancer, the new model would carry a slightly higher price tag as it will be offered with better performance and features.

He also spoke about Proton’s involvement in the hybrid and electric vehicles arena. “Proton has started on the development of the hybrid and electric vehicles which are currently being subjected to performance evaluation, testing and safety assessment,” were his exact words. The company has already showcased the Saga EV in Indonesia and we have also seen the Exora Hybrid demonstrator vehicle.

Proton also expects to better it’s export figures compared to the last fiscal year as interest in China, Thailand and Indonesia is growing. The company’s chairman Datuk Seri Mohd Nadzmi Mohd Salleh also went on to confirm that Proton has no intention to off-load Lotus at the moment. “We have no intention to dispose of Lotus at this point in time. By having Lotus within the group we will have better benefit,” he assured.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Great! Welcome to the era of 1Malaysia OEM Turbo Charged Engines!

• DonkeyKong on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:16 pm

Hope the turbocharged engines are being paired with their new Getrag manual gearboxes, or ZF/Aisin/Jatco CVT “auto” transmission! Proton has improved a lot in terms of chassis and platform quality, it’s time for them to beef up their powertrain quality and features!

• littlefire on Sep 24, 2010 at 8:40 am

For my opinion, P1 should beef up their safety first. As without safety standart nowadays, is hard to penetrade foreign countries.. If not mistaken Euro & US market already want to set up a rule that at least ESP + ABS + 2 air-bags is a must to sell in their countries.

But now even P1 & P2 dont have ESP standart on their cars. With ESP it is proven to reduce accident. (Somemore our country is 1 of the most accident countries)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electronic_stability_control

“According to IIHS and NHTSA, one-third of fatal accidents could have been prevented by the technology”

How many lifes can be save, if one-third of fatal accident can be avoided?

If talk about cost, With ABS already in, ESC cost a further US$111 * 3.1 = RM344.10 can save one-third of accident already! Except the manufacturer want to charge more for profit…

Regulation:
        The European Parliament has also called for the accelerated introduction of ESC.[62] The European Commission has confirmed a proposal for the mandatory introduction of ESC on all new cars and commercial vehicle models sold in the EU from 2012, with all new cars being equipped by 2014

The Australian Government announced on 23 June 2009 that ESC would be compulsory from 1 November 2011 for all new passenger vehicles sold in Australia, and for all new vehicles from November 2013

Malaysia when? 2020 and beyond?

• alldisc on Sep 24, 2010 at 10:40 am

lets reserve ESP for the higher end proton models. IMO proton should focus more on markets that they can easily penetrate and sell. Proton had tried to established a market in UK for the past 21 years and I must say, it did not do very well there. at first it went well because its competitors were Lada, Skoda and Seat (all budget cars) but time has changed. Skoda and Seat almost went to bankruptcy and salvaged by VW.

Proton’s attempt to introduce Impian, Savvy, Gen2 and Gen2 Sedan failed to create any good impression for the english man. the models simply cannot compete with Ford Fiesta/Focus, VW Polo/Golf, Vauxhall Corsa/Astra even Peugoet’s 207/308 Renault’s Clio/Megane combo.

Proton cars failed when it comes to overall safety aspect (including pedestrian and having ISOFIX child seat anchor), refinement, build quality, user friendly, fuel consumption and carbon emission level. It also lacking in terms of security protection (example dead locks and VIN stamped below windscreen) and really good hatchback with diesel engines (european are crazy with hatchbacks & 6 speed diesel powertrain)

so, i suggest it would be better if proton can focus on selling cars in very big asia market like India (same RHD, 1.1 billion people), Thailand (60 million ppl) and Indonesia (220 million ppl) rather than attempting to compete against automotive giants in a very competetive areas like europe.

• littlefire on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:08 am

The main reason Is not about penetrade market, but is about ESP that can reduce fatality due to accident and also the seriousness of the G to implement safety & environment standart in our country.

• temp0 on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:34 am

do you think M’sian drivers are very keen about safety & environment?
            most important is the price and fuel milage….

• stephen on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:03 pm

safety cannot be forgotten just due to $…. you design a car that is not safe … in the end people will stop buying it too. Nowadays not all consumer is buta buta trying to get a car that’s cheap. They also looking into other aspect and safety is definitely one of them. Moreover such technology only cost a lot when first introduced….it will get cheaper and cheaper as more maker adapt the system since most of the electronics can be sourced from a few maker…with a bigger volume they can utilize their capacity at production better and hence lowering the price.

It is bad to just claim Malaysia isn’t keen about safety and environment then proton don’t have to introduce or find a way to put them in…then how to compete globally when everyone can easily put them in? if proton always have to be the last in the league to adapt something compare other car maker…how are they going to fight with the others?

• Habib on Sep 25, 2010 at 12:25 pm

Yeah…. I agree with DonkeyKong for Proton to focus more on dev market like India or China by providing cheap models with less option & also high end variants with full safety option. So potential buyers with low budget will be entice by the cheaper model & vice versa for the full spec safety model version.

• still malaysian driver don wan to use seat-belt, don giv signal when overtaking, driver like crazy..etc…. 20 airbag or ASH (automatic sent hospital) cant safe life

• alldisc on Sep 25, 2010 at 9:11 am

that is correct KZM. we all know proton cars are expensive to manufacture because they dont have the volume so instead of making proton cars more expensive by having ESP system, its a whole lot better for them to make normal passenger cars for and to market it in a country where regulations are not as strict as the EU.

• stephen on Sep 29, 2010 at 6:56 pm

those who don’t use seat belt…etc etc…that’s an attitude problem. Proton cannot think this being logic to remove it…..

not all malaysian don’t use those stuff…. unless you have did a banci on every motorist and confirm this.

similar case…many driver in this planet still don’t use handsfree…does this mean all handsfree maker for cellphone can stop producing their product?

• kiddd on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:52 pm

Good news, we’ll waiting for that.. Thank Proton.

• 3008_bought on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:45 pm

pls put one into satria neo, pls pls pls, and i might support you :)

• MoFaz on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:28 pm

this is just a rumour.. nobody ever clarify on this yet:
        proton might rebadge another Mitsu model, most probably is Colt as Satria replacement. this is due to the fact that Satria sales is ‘low in volume’ and the development cost could be spent to develop more ‘worthy’ model instead. for example: Saga is 4000 unit per month, while Neo is just 300 unit.
        but this could also bring the era of Satria GTi back to Proton :)

• 3008_bought on Sep 24, 2010 at 6:56 am

colt is viva kind of car. which is rubbish. it only needs a 1 liter engine, nothing more.

and colt ralliart is ugly. Satria neo is so handsome.

• alldisc on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:02 am

automotive companies make cars to sell, and if doesnt sell they cannot recover all expenses involve in R&D. and what is the point of business then?

I must say proton was was a little inefficient when they create waja, gen2 and satria neo using completely different components for the entire car when they know their volume is small.

they should have done the same way during the 90s where wira sedan, aeroback, putra and satria shares a lot of similarities and parts including suspension, brakes, front panel and even dashboard.

sorry, a bit off topic. he he he

• neo derive from gen2 platform. same with pesona..many of their part r same

• MoFaz on Sep 25, 2010 at 2:38 am

well, it was 2 years ago, while Proton still in talk with VW and Mitsu regarding possible partnership. During that time, it was rumoured that Proton might take Lancer or Colt to be rebadged.

http://www.themotorreport.com.au/14294/mitsubishi-and-proton-to-extend-partnership

and now it’s already confirmed that Proton take Lancer, probably because Waja need to be replaced sooner than Satria (Neo is already being developed to replace Satria at that time).But it is still possible that Neo is to be replaced with a rebadge model due to small/ niche market.

• GTi cannot be use anymore it has been copyright by one car maker…..in their agreement only persona/ezora/lancer involve in rebadge n together produce new car platform

• wow!
    its time to change the exora with the new one!
    haha

• Kimmy on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:54 pm

Boleh lawan 3.5 v6 estima ?

• DonkeyKong on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:14 pm

Harga, sure boleh lawan dan tewas Estima sampai dapat hidu bau ekzos saja. Performance wise, of course not.

• Tekno on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:05 pm

3500 – 1600 = 1900. You do the calculation.

• Citroen DS3 on Sep 24, 2010 at 4:14 pm

really!?

• ek eleh estima kacang jer nak potong
      sekali neo turbo ngaum kat belakang terus tepi
      then ada hati nak kejar , ingt bole pintas pakai max speed konon,
      tengok2 terkentut3 nak kejar dari belakang lepas 3 corner
      letak la esp ke traction control ke apa ke jadah ke, apa yg terpekik kat belakang control la konon advanced sgt, takat berani bawak 250kmh , jgn harap la
      piiirrahhh, haha

• VWfan on Sep 25, 2010 at 8:42 am

bmw cornering sucks compare to persona and neo!

• alldisc on Sep 25, 2010 at 9:13 am

as far as i remember, no one has received so many thumbs down for his reply. Kimmy is a champion with a 228. yet.

• ya.. Turbo Exora…
    come to papa…

Datuk,
    make sure the price is affortable ok..
    if >90k then sudah la.. better go for Innova.
    Malaysian is having high hope on you.
    all the best.

• fasgen on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:46 pm

90k? too much.. 80k dah lah..

• Toyott on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:50 am

Innova????? you kidding right,, exora alot better than innova..

• alldisc on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:36 pm

innova 2.0, exora – turbo 1.6 (possible)

innova VVTI, exora CPS

innova timing chain drive DOHC, exora timing belt drive DOHC

innova 3 yrs 100K warranty from toyota, exora 2 yrs 50K warranty from proton

innova transmission auto or manual, exora tranny also auto or manual

innova can seat 8, exora 7. 1 more person naik bas.

• Toyott on Sep 24, 2010 at 7:08 pm

haha,, oke..

Exora= modern monoque chasis

Innova= 80’s ladder chassis (used in old suv’s)

hrmm…..

• innova lg krg power weight ratio to exora, jd exora lagi bagus
          tu belum exora turbo lg tu
          klu turbo nanti mmg tinggal la livina, citra, dan apa2 ke jadah mpv lain la yg ada haha

• muddy on Sep 25, 2010 at 1:24 am

Exora 3 years 100,000 km. Kuat kencing maaa

• Ash Menon on Sep 26, 2010 at 12:31 am

“1 more person naik bas”

I love this.

• NiZAR on Sep 26, 2010 at 11:15 pm

why not comparing ExORa to ViVa? 7:4.. ViVa = 3 more person naik bas

• jl@ipl on Sep 27, 2010 at 1:18 pm

Innova ride and handling? Compare to Exora, a joke!!!

• yeay!

• raixa on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:02 pm

No more re badge, just pure proton intell.

• now is time n trend of rebadge..many if not all do rebadge u just name it

• evoskylancer on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:04 pm

possible turbocharged Waja Lancer in the future…nice!

• Zing! on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:11 pm

superb

• dongrik on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:16 pm

More more!! Jan? Feb?

• alibaba on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:16 pm

Waaah! I can see long long line in the future of owners claiming for turbo failure and complaining of high fuel consumption! Expected SC reply…’Bang, tentu fail lah, u selalu kasi tekan MAX POWER…’

• acerman on Sep 23, 2010 at 8:14 pm

I don’t think they will implemate a High-end turbo to this car. Maybe a turbo-charged .

• DonkeyKong on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:27 am

Existing bolt-on turbo setups on Campro 1.6 engines in Malaysia are kicking out roughly 180 bhp at 0.7 bar boost. Since the Campro turbo engine produces power in the range of 2-liter engines, it is reasonable to assume that it would be between 145 bhp to 155 bhp. If the torque and bhp increase scales linearly with boost pressure, then we’re looking at a stock turbo setup that pushes out 0.3-0.4 bars of pressure. At this low boost pressure, you can go full throttle all day and not get worried about busted internals, although the cooling side of things should be well-taken care of as well.

• Tekno on Sep 24, 2010 at 9:48 am

I think its only soft turbo like whats in lot of Volvo cars. Shudnt have much problem in terms of reliability.

• FAReast on Sep 24, 2010 at 8:13 pm

i hope proton engineer can emulate what volkswagen engineer done to the golf 1.4 TSI and polo 1.2 TSI. power + economical feul consumption.
        dont just put in turbo blindly for just the sake of having turbo!
        mati la if feul consumption naik.

• Habib on Sep 25, 2010 at 12:41 pm

It’s good for Proton to follow VW foot steps for the TSI engines, but that step would take a HUGE investment. Proton does not have deep pocket like VW

• borres on Sep 26, 2010 at 8:22 am

fyi.. the name of the engine is cfe (campro fuel efficient)

• waja2000 on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:17 pm

Proton please provide 6 Airbag + ASC in New Waja2 …..
    and make a chrome logo in Steering … not like a stamp logo

• aduss on Sep 23, 2010 at 7:11 pm

setuju.. hodus la stamp logo, patut kekal kan logo berwarna gak..
      note.. plzz pakai seat belt.. kalau ada100 airbag tapi tak pasang seat belt tak guna.. ingat tak acdent jambatan pulau pinang.. sampai tercampak dlm laut.. huhuhu

• Mata2 on Sep 24, 2010 at 9:15 am

Betul tu, saya tambah sikit… Berapa ramai orang mati dalam kereta yang ada airbag! Yang penting traction control dan brake system, elak dari berlakunya skidding yang selalunya penyebab accident. Gunakan Volvo sebagai contoh terbaik untuk perbaiki safety.

• jl@ipl on Sep 27, 2010 at 1:21 pm

100% agree. Volvo had a team that rush to accident site to investigate the accident and come out with ideas how to prevent/minimize it. Saw the documentary on this last year.

Proton should do the same, maybe not all, but at least part of it.

Exora, good luck on your new engine. I look forward to own one.

• not possible what … stamp logo is out on the spy shot … no way there would have a chrome one !

• luriazidnaffa on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:18 pm

could saga is the facelift model?

• campro on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:19 pm

VW 1.4 TSI turbocharged 160ps….
    Alfa Romeo 1.4 turbocharged 155ps…
    Proton 1.6 Campro turbocharged how much ps???

• aduss on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:57 pm

yer la.. saper2 yg tau story la.. campro n/a 110bhp, cps 125hp.. campro cps r3 145bhp.. campro t?…

• Should be a lot of P/S: Kenot work.. (joking)

I am looking at around 165ps, but 300Nm torque. Hope they trade the horses for more torque. Pros will know why. I dun need xplain.

• Mike~ on Sep 23, 2010 at 8:49 pm

1.6L producing 300Nm is possible but it will need a huge turbine and this will lead to another serious problem which is turbo lag..

twin turbo will solve the problem and produce 300Nm that you wish for but twin turbo system is expensive to build..

i rather want a decent 145-155hp and 220Nm with smooth delivery and helps with fuel consumption..

OR, release 2 versions of the turbocharged engine, one for normal family-oriented cars and another for high performance oriented cars like Satria Neo and Gen2..

• Mata2 on Sep 24, 2010 at 9:20 am

155hp, 220Nm, I like it Mike! Grandis has 165hp 217Nm but to drag 1.6 ton load. Wow tepi2 Grandis, Exora nak potong ni.

BTW I owned a Grandis, rasa malu pulak.

• Mike~ on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:26 pm

the figures, though make sense and is possible but are just simply my own imagination lah..haha..dun take it too serious..lol

in terms of look, i prefer your lovely Grandis to be honest. Grandis sets the benchmark for styling among MPVs..It’s handsome!!

*maybe u can consider dropping its 2.4 MIVEC engine and replace with the Exora’s turbocharged..haha*

• I drive my Mazda3 and from my way back to KL from Terengganu I gave way 2 times to Exora – first at LPT and second at Karak after the tunnel (steep downhill).

I drove at around 140kmh.. and I think it’s already fast for that highway but these 2 Exora (being an MPV) seems to be much faster (could be above 150kmh) and the car also seems to be stable… (or the driver tak takut mati!)..

with this turbo, I foresee we will see more exora main potong2 at federal road…

anyway.. for me Exora is a well built MPV eventhough I don’t own one…
            all the way proton exora!

• Mike~ on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:31 pm

woah, guys, thanks for all the ‘thumbs up’ and thank god i get no ‘thumbs down’..haha..thanks!

• CPS Terburai on Nov 03, 2010 at 4:08 pm

Mr Mike…..

Setahu saya dah ada dua model Exora satu warna hitam dan satu warna putih yang dah di turbokan….. yang lain tak pasti…..

Kedua2 kereta ni menghasilkan lebih kurang 150whp – 160whp dengan bost 0.6 sahaja…….

Dan kedua kereta ni boleh mencecah kelajuan 200++ berani dgn tidak jer…

Kelajuan atas dyno pun mencecah 219km/h (bacaan dari monitor sbb meter cuma 180km/h) dan padel minyak masih banyak lagi….

cuma tak berani untuk ditekan kerana berkemungkinan tayar yang digunakan tudak tahan kepada kelajuan yang tinggi (takut meletup jer)….

Jadi mungkin kereta yg memotong tu ada siput di dalam bonetnya…. he he he….

Tahniah org malaysia…. tersangat kreatif….

• DonkeyKong on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:30 am

Not likely to kick out 300Nm of torque. They’ll have to use a tough gearbox to handle that amount of torque then. That’s more than what a stock 4G93T pushes out. Excellent mainstream auto gearboxes for medium-capacity cars (up to 2 liters) can typically handle up to 240Nm-250Nm safely. I think Proton would rather go for a trade-off between power & torque outputs, reliability, driveability and component cost.

• Kancil_Redbull on Sep 24, 2010 at 7:42 am

Thumbs up to Mike~ and DonkeyKong for the inputs. It is great to read technical and educational feedbacks; very useful for a layman like myself. Wish we can have more feedbacks like both.

• Mike~ on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:31 pm

thanks and no probs.. :)

my comment is nothing much other than a string of logical and sensible figures..haha

• Tengokje.. on Sep 24, 2010 at 9:14 am

Thanks for sharing the info, Mikey & DonkeyKong.

• Ahmad on Sep 24, 2010 at 4:28 pm

Well, I guess that’s the reason why Proton is replacing the gearbox using either 5 Speed CVT or 6 speed manual Getrac due to increase torque. The present Mitsu tranny is limited to around 240NM.. just my guess.

• i 2nd u, for a mini mpv,torque are much more important than hp…but i tiptronic gearbox for a change to auto tranny is much appreciated ^^

• Jesse James on Sep 23, 2010 at 7:14 pm

I think it’s around 140hp (~30% increment).

• DonkeyKong on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:31 am

Easily achievable at 0.3 bar boost and revised charge-air density ECU maps. Plus, there will be no necessity for forged internals or any other additional measures, and engine reliability will still remain intact.

• VWfan on Sep 25, 2010 at 8:57 am

145hp, confirm!

• omaha on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:22 pm

“dispose of Lotus” ? Are you sure it’s a wise thing to do? Didn’t you ‘use’ Lotus technology for your car? Ungrateful!

• boss coffee on Sep 23, 2010 at 7:17 pm

Stewpid, read that he said he had no intention to dispose of Lotus.

• since when the say want to dispose lotus?

• err, the post above clearly stated ‘no intention to dispose’.

• MoFaz on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:53 pm

you’re the one who misread the sentences… try read it again. here, let me save your time:

“The company’s chairman Datuk Seri Mohd Nadzmi Mohd Salleh also went on to confirm that Proton has no intention to off-load Lotus at the moment. “We have no intention to dispose of Lotus at this point in time. By having Lotus within the group we will have better benefit,” he assured.”

• JoeGti on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:56 pm

What the heck DSZ,Lotus never in black since proton take over them
        Stop feeding high salary British

We urged RHB islamic to give loan to them since no british bank dare to loan their money to LE

• Zing! on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:25 pm

so turbo campro with euro 5 regulation? that great

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:26 pm

make sure the turbo is reliable then i’m all for it

• DonkeyKong on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:33 am

As long as the turbos are being sourced from reliable manufacturers like Garret, IHI, BorgWarner, etc. there should be no worries. I think there were rumors previously that they were using BorgWarner turbines for the initial test units? Don’t quite remember the details..

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 26, 2010 at 8:11 pm

sorry, what i meant is as long as the engine is still reliable even after adding a turbo then i’m all for it.

• aduss on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:30 pm

to paul, cerita pasal proton aluminum engine block, ada dapat story tak? ker kabar angin jer? kalau tau kongsi2 la plzzz…

• MoFaz on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:59 pm

yang aku tau, dan yg dah confirm aluminium engine block is Lotus range extender engine, untuk kereta hybrid… yg lain tu, entahlah. tapi mmg proton tgh work on campro replacement. campro akan ditamatkan perkhidmatannya pada 2013.

• DonkeyKong on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:38 am

Time for them to finally go for Delphi-Packard’s cam phasing retrofit that could have been implemented on the 4G18 and the Campro in the first place. Then we can basically have a similar block and head, but probably implement modular piston sleeves to vary the displacement easily instead of using different crankshafts like how it has been since the 4G1x days, and have dual continuously variable cam timing control on both intake and exhaust cams (whether Delphi-Packard’s system or Siemens-VDO’s will do just fine). In addition to that, the IAFM/VIM variable geometry intake can be carried over. Coil-on-plug technology is current enough, as is the location of catalytic converters close to the exhaust outlets for better efficiency. From the looks of it, giving the Campro a new lease of life is within reach with Proton’s existing experience, expertise and component suppliers.

• zafedz on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:31 pm

Hopefully come together with sunroof…

• mfahd_88 on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:37 pm

next model-exora turbo
    future model-exora hybrid

conclusion:to many engine versions of exora..

• only 3 version..not many

exora standard
      exora turbo
      exora hybrid-maybe

• Mike~ on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:37 pm

i dun see any problem with the varieties of Exora..that gives more choices to everyone and people can choose what they want..go for the turbo if u wan performance, get the hybrid if what u care is fuel consumption..what’s wrong with this?..nothing~in fact, it help boosts sales~

this is just like what BMM or M.Benz do with their cars..they offer a great variety of engine choices for their customers..

• callenish on Sep 26, 2010 at 1:11 pm

just search how many version of toyota wish or mitsu lancer available at japan, you’ll be surprised

• drMpower on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:40 pm

this is a great news however, the dependency upon the only engine Campro must be look into. of course they would say Campro engine is designed for force-induction addition, but the need for new engine(s) is crucial for proton to go forward

this force induction practice may provide short term solution, variable cc capacity engines would show the world that proton is capable to produce cars that will sell very well

i am talking about small cc as well as big cc capacity engine. if they got the new engines coming out, i pretty sure it is easier to produce new models. cost may pose a major hurdle, but what they have been doing with platform sharing practice is a good solution

kudos to pak syed team. now leap forward.

• amirad on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:43 pm

Me want this turbocharger in me gen2 cps. Then can play with Vios TRD sportivo and City iVTEC. Can?

• no need. gen2 cps ady can beat vios trd sportivo or city ivtec.

• vios trd has nothing to do with performance , only make up
        and yes gen2 cps can beat both of them

• 4agze on Sep 24, 2010 at 8:39 am

dude, my friend gen2 campro standard can go almost 200km/j ‘cucuk’ fairlady in highway..

• Facebook_User on Sep 24, 2010 at 3:56 pm

1.5 single cam 120 hp jadah apa nk compare mcmtu.x best pun bawak city anyway.noisy tp jimat la minyak

• Charmed on Sep 23, 2010 at 8:16 pm

u r asking wether ur Gen 2 CPS can tapau city iv tech and vios? hahahaha can tapauy them easily…my neo CPS even can tapau Civic 2.0 FD2 after few mods

• bobdbilder on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:52 pm

All you need is around RM5-7K for Port and Polish and a slightly bigger cam, new air filter, a tuned length exhaust, drop 1/2in off the height, some lite 15in wheels (low unsprung) and you’re good. All local engineered good stuff. A MANUAL car does helps maintain driving in the torque range. Cheap and Good AND lasts, done mine in well over 150k. Will outrun those nasty bodykits in CVT slush box anytime.

• JoeGti on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:58 pm

Share with me dude detail of mod

• Kevin on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:14 am

Ya.

and my satria/kancil with 2liter mivec turbo boosting to 2 bar pressure generating 400 hp, can tapao ferrari. So im more terror than ferrari?

Dude. grow up man. Try not to compare mod cars with stock cars. And this talk of tapaoing ppl, is that guy even interested in “playing” with u?

He could be driving his kids to school, got harassed by a modded gen2, and decided to be more mature to look after the safety of his kids.

Grow up!!!

• y? are you a TRD vios driver? or City driver? no mean to irritate, but stock gen2 cps can tapau the Vios and City, the civic FD, i cant be so sure, if its true, than the CPS should have gone some modifications la, its 1.6 compared to 2.0

• even my modded l2 kancil can tapau my lecturer honda city when we race to cameron highland :D

• oomph on Sep 24, 2010 at 8:29 pm

you can tapau FD2 anytime when FD2 is not interested to play.

• amirad on Sep 27, 2010 at 5:26 pm

Actually when I say play with TRD sportivo n iVTEC, I mean keep pace with them, not tapau or smoked them. Very entertaining reading all these responses. Those who are into cars, acknowledge the power n handling of gen2 cps (within its class).

• farghmee on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:09 pm

apa tu TV TRD Sportivo (suspension setup) & HC (std)?

tukar suspension je dh heboh. lepas tukar pn kalah ngn std stock PG2. funny :P

• bro,if ur gen2 can’t eat 1.5 civic and dugong vios for breakfast~~-meaning u dun have driving license

• Tongek on Sep 24, 2010 at 7:52 pm

Ko ni tak reti bawak keta agaknya. Kalau tak reti bawak keta, tak payah bawak la. Takkan la ko punya Gen2 CPS tak boleh main dengan Vios TRD & City pulak? Sedangkan kawan aku punya Persona IAFM standard yg berat tu boleh kencingkan Vios TRD & City, takkan ko punya campro yang ada CPS tak boleh kencingkan Vios TRD & City? Itu Persona IAFM, yang sorang lagi aku naik Gen2 CPS setakat nak main & nak kencingkan Vios TRD standard tu tak susah mana pun. Tapi jangan sesekali nak banding dengan enjin siri B Vtec Honda (B16A, B16B) pulak. Itu dah enjin performance. Campro cuma boleh main & lawan enjin N/A standard yang bukan jenis performance jer. Ko tu yang tak tau cara guna enjin campro. Walaupun campro lemah pada RPM rendah, tapi kalau dah dapat RPM tinggi dengan cepat baru datang power dia. Ko kena belajor cara macamana nak masuk gear, nak accelerate enjin campro.

• callenish on Sep 26, 2010 at 1:14 pm

with proton handling, city and vios is nothing, even campro aifm can play with city and vios TRD…

a have a vios, a have a persona and i’ve tested a city.. proton just need to improve the quality

• Scania360 on Oct 03, 2010 at 4:56 pm

TRUE!!
        with PROTON superb handling..
        IAFM or CPS just to kick Vios..
        tested already..

• Mike/Liverpool on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:47 pm

Sales for Proton here are very slow, the problem is we are taxed on CO2 output & the Cam-pro produces a lot. A small Turbo is good news, lets hope a face lifted Gen 2 with better seats & trim helps….
    Mike

• flyinghigh on Sep 23, 2010 at 7:58 pm

maybe theyll give the turbo engine in the future…but seats..dont think so..i got a new gen2 cps last month. cornering the car can hold but me cannot hold bloody leather seat.

• Proton CPS models aren’t available in the UK, is that right?

• Mike/Liverpool on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:45 pm

Not sure, trouble is our banking systerm has been loaning out cash to people who can’t pay it back. Thus they “buy” BMW etc……………..once apon a time Proton sold 22,000 cars here………now only 50 ish a month.

Once the British go bankupt (very soon) they be forced to buy with their own money. What Proton need to do is:-

Light reskin of Gen2
        Small turbo Cam-pro (was talk of a 1200 cc 3 pot turbo engine)
        imrpove build of the car
        Improve the interor
        Sort the NASTY seats & steering wheel out.

Ps I wonder if they export the Waja with Cam-pro Turbo?
        Mike/Liverpool uk

• 3008_bought on Sep 24, 2010 at 7:01 am

lad, you’re in uk, go get a renault megane r26, or golf gti, forget about this proton.

• go and get other than proton cars IF it can ride and handle as good as proton

• great engine and hope overall quality also come together….

• redline on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:50 pm

Am waiting for the 1.6 TDI version…. or the locally assembled VW Touran?

• keretakura on Sep 23, 2010 at 7:22 pm

Hmm…looks like BLM facelift is in the pipeline, apart from the Waja-Lancer. This has been mentioned by DSZ previously.

As for the turbo’ed Exora, this is crucial as this engine would make-or-break Proton’s fortune. They’d better do-it-right-first-time with it. Not only forced induction would provide additional HP, but also to provide a more efficient powerplant (at a low road tax rate, of course!). So, if the output’s equivalent to a 2.0 engine….140HP?

Whatever it is; PROTON, PLEASE DON’T SCREW UP THIS TIME ALRIGHT!

• camry vvti engine 2.0 is only 147ps. while the accord sohc i-vtec is 156ps.
    http://www.toyota.com.my/camry/specs-and-price/
    http://www.honda.com.my/accord/about/

so… Exora 1.6 CPS turbocharge should be around 150ps?

• nabill on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:24 pm

mpv no one cares about horsepower , all we need is pulling power , and that comes from Torque NOT Horsepower , lets NOT get obssessed with how many HP , on a rough estimate , 200nm of torque should be more than enough for the exora , bt a turbocharged 1.6 usually makes more than 200nm…lets wait and see

• gtmaniac on Sep 24, 2010 at 8:10 am

I agree with you.

As an owner, what we need is the low-end power for better acceleration in traffic, with or without 7 people on board. I will not feel confortable to rev the engine past 5-6k rpm everytime – like now.

When the word ‘turbo’ or ‘turbocharged’ is uttered, the first thing that come to mind of many people – especially youngsters – always a high-end performance cars that make 300+ hp.. doesn’t matter if it have only 1.6 engine! Think volvos & saab, guys.

• Mike~ on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:41 pm

u rev ur engine to 5000 or 6000rpm just to get it moving at the traffic??..what have u got in ur car??..a whale?

• Ahmad on Sep 24, 2010 at 4:39 pm

Yela…5k-6k rev to move from standstill?….are you for sure?

• at traffic light noone wants speed, sumtimes got police there, if want to do some charity just push the pedal and you bump another car, or if you go straight to the front it’s stil not worth it because you will see the same cars behind you at the next traffic lights

• GOOD I LOVE PROTON
    make sure the engine wont burst.

• Ha Gnih on Sep 23, 2010 at 7:50 pm

Another facelift ? Hmmmmmmm

• MoFaz on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:06 pm

what do you mean by another facelift? this is the first ever facelift for Saga..
      maybe you mistaken this post was about Myvi?

• SukaTgkOrg on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:13 am

or may be he just confused with SAGA SE… err is SE considered facelift?

• flyinghigh on Sep 23, 2010 at 7:56 pm

cps engine wit turbo in exora ka….that means in one year persona get cps kot. then gen2 can give the turbo ma. naik balik gen 2 sales… proton dun have moni to develope new car….then that new waja can fit the new engine can..or not?

• POLICY on Sep 23, 2010 at 8:26 pm

the facelift will be red + white color..
    jut like the bajet taxi in KL..
    as announced by Nazri few moths ago

• The Loner on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:02 pm

The ultimate weapon to conquer UK and its European Emission Standards?

• Neutral on Sep 24, 2010 at 9:17 am

too early to dream yet bro, both Ps still need a lot of home works to do !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• hello guys..i don’t know if this was right or not..my brother work at proton as tester (actually i don’t what to called it..he test the prototype model)..2 months ago he test the new turbo engine in current Gen-2 (good idea..nobody notice it..haha)after 10000km-25000km..he found out the engine was leaking around the head gasket..and this was happen 2-3 times maybe the pressure was too high?..the engine must go into production end of this year but because of some reliability problem..proton postpone the plan..anyone knows this?.. =)

• same here my cousin also said the same problem…he also test driver for proton

• shiro on Sep 24, 2010 at 4:37 am

of kos.. its called product testing… based on Proton current awareness to customer complain, wants and trust, i’m sure that this problem will be corrected before they launch the final product to the customer.. otherwise, back to square one…

Keep it up Proton… ur on the right track… don’t mess it up this time…

• MoFaz on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:12 pm

wow.. tested for 25,000 km already?.. that’s more than my 1-year worth of mileage. it’s good that proton did test the engine extensively. thanks for the info :)

• james on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:05 pm

It’s normal to have such problem as they are still under development..it’s 2 month ago and off course proton will try to rectify it (or maybe solve the problem as MD had already confirmed the release of this engine). It’s normal for all manufacturer in the world, only u don’t know bcos ur cousin only work with Proton..haha

• CopyCat on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:08 pm

reliability is important…I hope campro engine not TUR’BOCOR’

• that is why we call it testing or test drive or trials or prototype. guess how much edison tried before he got it right.

and if proton really got it right, isnt it a plus for us?

• DonkeyKong on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:44 am

Yes, looks like the gasket and stock head bolts aren’t holding up. A simple re-spec’cing of the necessary components from Proton’s component suppliers should solve this problem.

• haidir on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:14 am

i dot think gasket or bolt is the problem. by what i hav countered from peoples who mod na engine with aftermarket turbo (of course over boost) the head engine was just got bended or terangkat.

• You guys are talking about the prototypes. My current camtakprocps in my gene2 had similar problem at around 30k mileage. Water went inside the engine. Overheating they say. But no trace of overheating was ever found. Water/coolant still in the radiator. So where water come from? I say they better solve the problem in their current line of products before venturing into another unknown.

Protong Sampah is still no realiable. Period.

• wait….
        i thougt before this you said that you drive a persona.
        now a gen2?

• Tiadaid on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:11 am

The guy is a master at changing his story. Take everything he says with a huge grain of salt!

• Mike~ on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:45 pm

perhaps he’s a professional basher hired by some other car company that tries to crush Proton. :)

• Seriously you guys never read my comment before. I’ve been lurking in Paultan for the past 5 years. Go back to my previous postings, I did listed cars that that I owned last time.

Currently in the list:-
          Tak TerPersona IAFM
          Gene2 CacingPanaS
          MitsuGrandis

and others (previously).

• Mike~ on Sep 24, 2010 at 4:01 pm

1. Frankly speaking, i seriously never read or come across your comment(s).

2. Who cares whether u’ve been lurking or even sleepwalking in paultan.org for the past 5 years?? Or did u mean we have to agree with whatever you said just because you’ve been visiting this website longer than us?..

3. I think we wouldn’t wanna go back to your previous comments. I’m pretty sure they are as unconstructive as this comment.

And, i dun get ur lame gag by saying CacingPanaS..Btw, i’m pretty sure the ONLY ‘thumb down’ we got for our comments was voted by you. :)

• Prismo on Sep 24, 2010 at 4:15 pm

and if i’m mistaken SY0H, u previously owned a waja before Persona.. how many car do u have? period…

• Prismo on Sep 24, 2010 at 4:18 pm

previously u said u owned a waja before persona..

• Rinnegan on Sep 24, 2010 at 7:48 pm

to SY0H:

You see Mr. SY0H, thats what happen when you can’t remember your own cooked-up story. Sooner or later you are bound to get busted (kantoi). Now, any other I-had-a-bad-experience-with-a-Proton that you want to create?

• my campro already 50k mileage,have no problem at all. the most important part is to change the cam cover seal every 20k. my other friends oso has gen2 that mileage more than 150k, oso no prob. maybe the way u maintain the car is wrong or sent it to the wrong shop for service

• callenish on Sep 26, 2010 at 1:25 pm

even paul itself already iritated with this guy, so don’t bother to know what you drive or how good you are as a story maker

• after this, add more features on ur car..every time a new proton came out, i can expect the same thing on the dashboard..aircond, and cd player..and a few light buttons..come onla.even exora also the same..

• what do you expect on the dashboard?fridge?
      aircond and cd player are the basic stuffs on dashboard, other OEM also same what.

• i know what he want.

a coffee maker. right?
      when you feel sleepy during driving you just push one button and wallahhh…
      a cup of coffee come out magically from your dashboard.

• Mike~ on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:46 pm

perhaps he wants nothing on the dash…just a huge piece of plain plasctic..hehe

• 3008_bought on Sep 25, 2010 at 1:24 am

hey, seriously, can have coffee maker option? i’m a coffee lover, a cuppa coffee helps during long hour balik kampung :) or in genting….or….go happy in bukit genting, lol. msia boleh!!

• cant wait to hear the blow off sound from exora hehehe .. dah mula dah org nak compare dgn kete laen …. huh thumb up proton ekekek

• ka_one2000 on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:26 pm

Noob here, is it a must for a turbo to have blow-off sound?

• mr_3m_wancer on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:45 am

i think only soft turbo..smaller turbine than TD04..

So can keep on dreaming of hearing loud blow off sound lol

• DonkeyKong on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:45 am

Blow-off valves hurt performance for light pressure turbo setups. More likely to have a recirculating blow-off valve rather than an atmospheric-dump blow-off valve.

• no way u can hear blow offs..even evo’s oem are using blow in~~if u still want blow off,come to my shop can change to td05 and put blow off..later ur car overboost can always call MAA hahahaha funny guy la u

• mirhays on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:34 pm

thought australia market would have turbocharged exora this year…
    see this…http://www.themotorreport.com.au/50155/proton-australia-announces-new-pricing-for-local-range-savvy-and-jumbuck-in-runout

• Cars 100 on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:46 pm

Good news from Proton! Look like Proton has put more and more effort for the TURBO-ENGINE and also the HYBIRD. Good luck to u!

BTW,

I am still waiting for SAGA facelift and 2nd generation of WAJA.

Hope that Proton can take back the 1st position in sales marketing start from next year onwards!

• quattro on Sep 24, 2010 at 8:59 am

Dear Proton > pls make sound insulation of saga facelift as good as myvi SE

• i never drive myvi se before but i had drove alza couple of time.
        in my opinion sound insulation in saga are better than alza.

just my 2 cent

• Mike~ on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:48 pm

Alza is well known for its ‘excellent’ wind noise at the A pillar upon 60km/h..

• 3008_bought on Sep 25, 2010 at 12:51 am

compare MPV with a tiny sedan. you are funny.

i think my tricycle is damn stable too. no knocking, no vibrate. brake is good. hhahahahhahahahahah

• elite on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:25 pm

how soon proton will rollout turbo engine or whatever technology is depend on lotus.

• harris saga on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:36 pm

if the price is right….I’ll order one..hope it will not over 80 k….

• haha..exora standard almost rm 75k..
      of course exora TC will above rm 80k..
      just wait n see..

• Jimmy on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:46 pm

How is the feedback from existing users of Exoras? Any power windows problems? Door handles dah patah(like the old waja)? Kokok ke sounds? Central lock ok kah? ……………………
    Has Proton really improve in quality? Please tell us.
    BTW just curious, as I don’t need/have to buy Proton nor Perodua, both are about the same standard, just that people always think Perodua better.

• after 1 year, no problems encountered yet. proton quality have improved a lot from last time.

• proton buat apa pun salah. tambah turbo pun bising kata fc tinggi la maintenance la apa bala. klua pun belum. guna pun belum. kereta luar negara buat benda yg sama semua pakat tabik. org mcm ni patut buang dlm laut je.

• inderaloka on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:54 pm

I eagerly waiting for the launching of the Proton Waja replacement model…

• BeemerFreak on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:20 pm

They should be looking at around what the 308 turbo prince engine is doing, 1.6L 140bhp, 240Nm torque. That in a Satrio Neo with a 6 speed manual would be good. Hope they change the interior design too. Make it look like what Kia did to the Forte… Sporty…

• Salamander on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:53 pm

Turbocharges is not as easy as you think. The only company that achieve engine downsizing via turbo in my opinion is VW (TSi Engine).

Turbo has lag. In order for the Torque and Horsepower to kick in, it will take time thus compromising the response. Take for example TSi engine, at low RPM the engineer implement a supercharger and turbocharger combination. Therefor I dont think a bolt on turbo will do much.

I hope Proton can come out with a solution to increase the horsepower and torque without compromising much of the response.

• lag is A problem for track car. a lil’ bit of lag won’t hurt on road car,some ppl didn’t even notice it

• callenish on Sep 26, 2010 at 1:32 pm

a lag for a road car is good actually… an average driver will not over accelerate but instead the power comes in just right a the time where the driver need it.

i really don’t care about the the horsepower if it is a MPV, but i want to see what is the torque reading and how fast to gain the max torque…

you won’t be driving a MPV at 180km/h if you value your family…

• Sambal Belacan on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:17 am

Exora Turbo yang aku anggarkan datang dengan spec berikut:1600c.c Campro low-blow turbo engine,155hp/6000rpm dan 22.5kgm/1800-3800rpm, Mitsubishi Invect iii CVT gearbox with 6 virtual gear,16 inch alloy wheel,Fc slighly 3% higher than non turbo Exora with 60 kg heavier compared to the previous Exora. 0 to 96km/h in 11.2 second. Top-speed is 185km/h.Lain spec lebih kurang sama dengan Exora H-line. Price start at RM 88,998.Come with 3 year /100000kmwarranty. No 3+2 year warranty compare to Exora biasa.

• gtmaniac on Sep 24, 2010 at 8:16 am

Those are very reasonable figures.. unlike some people expecting 400hp from a 1.6 engine!

• BadBET on Sep 24, 2010 at 3:23 pm

Honda RA168-E ( the 1988 Mclaren F1 engine) is just 1500cc V6 can achieve 750HP, so it is reasonable to ‘expecting’ campro CPS with 400HP. But for sure proton wouldn’t create monster like that for EXORA. those uncle will pee in their pan driving such an MPV.

• 3008_bought on Sep 25, 2010 at 12:47 am

those 1.5 750hp F1 engine can tahan how many lap? 100?

and your family mpv expect tahan how many km? 200,000 km? 100,000km?

F1 engine rebuilt how many times after lapping? go google.

they get smart engineer to maintain the F1 engine, and you go pokok cheerie foreman, you wan 400HP from 1.6 engine? Sleep earlier tonite.

• BadBET on Sep 30, 2010 at 2:40 pm

I didn’t say it should be done, I only said it “it is reasonable to expect” a small cc engine with high HP. And if you read carefully, i also said that proton wont create such engine for exora. ok, i translate so you can understand – saya fikir tak mungkin Proton akan buat enjin berkuasa melampau tinggi untuk Exora. I just feel weird to be bash for nothing. :p

• nice one bro, hope it came true

• JasJos on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:24 am

I hope ppl don’t go racing in their exora just because it has a snail in it.

• mr_3m_wancer on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:44 am

It is normal for Turbo Charged cars to have leakage everywhere after few thousand KM’s. But to leak after 2-3k km’s is a bit worrying…just as i suspected as this is the first time Proton came out with a TC engine…

Even the branded TC’ed cars like Subaru, Mitsubishi, Toyota will experience leaking after hardcore usage + not proper maintainance. Mind you that it is a B*T*H to maintain a TC’ed engine. Regular oil change and coolant is a MUST and other things. Knowing our M’sian attitude, definitely will not maintain the engine properly then complaint here and there saying that Proton sucks or what ever…

Proton should come out with a big disclaimer that PROPER MAINTAINANCE for Campro Turbo is a MUST! Knock some sense to our ‘brainless’ malaysian before they decide to buy the TC’ed Exora..

• very very good idea bro,the mentality that turboed car are not reliable is because of this king of ppl.. mine never had any prob btw,

• VWfan on Sep 25, 2010 at 10:20 am

malaysian mentality will never change unless something big happen…dunno when will it be..

• callenish on Sep 26, 2010 at 1:35 pm

malaysian are re-active rather then pro-active

• The existing camtakpro engines is already a fuel guzzler, then they created another fuel guzzling monster. Even taukey minyak think twice to buy one.

• ikat perut on Sep 24, 2010 at 7:39 am

pas ni mst byk exora masuk Merdeka Millenium Endurance :)

• Cucukman on Sep 24, 2010 at 7:51 am

Just Imagine ~ Turbocharged Proton Persona….HA HA HA…

• azrai on Sep 24, 2010 at 7:58 am

Should be more careful on engine durabilty due to turbo induction.

• Jaybond on Sep 24, 2010 at 8:37 am

Turbo lag should not be a big problem, provided Proton used the more high tech turbocharger design plus moderate boost level, which is a norm in many European cars these days.

• Better put inside Proton Arena Turbo and in NZ with the annual playboy parade can’t wait to show off the topless girls on top on Arena bed waving to the crowds with Arena Turbo engine revving!

• subhero on Sep 24, 2010 at 9:32 am

any mystery pics abt proton turbo system?

• sranua on Sep 24, 2010 at 9:55 am

Taukey minyak mana standard pakai proton bro..diorang main Evo, Bimmer and Merc…
    Anyway..good luck to proton and hopefully they will expedite the release of new waja and saga facelift….Exora Turbo should be more practical on long distance journey.

• i have no problem on my Campro enjin in my first gen waja campro…already clocked 75000 km…already sell my waja …engin still in tip top condition…no leaking…no overheat…no weird sound…no vibration …

maintenance on engine oil , radiator coolant ,gearbox according to schedule…sometime force the engine on Lebuhraya Timur Barat…sometime..pull till 6k rpm on highway on 3rd gear…no problem..

as long as you maintain those fluid…you will be in safe side…
    and of course…on long distance travel…i will stop for about 1 hour to let everything cool a bit..after 4 hour journey.hehehheheheh

• acerman on Sep 24, 2010 at 10:21 am

That is the main thing when u own a car. Make sure U maintain the service schedule. I’d had a car for five years, still looks good and feels good. After a few days I trade-it-in, one lucky person bought it.
      U can revvs ur car as u wish, but maintaining it properly is a must too.

• Not-Soul-Uncle on Sep 24, 2010 at 10:14 am

again….some young cikus missed the point of the turbocharged family MPV by miles.

TURBO is like b**b to the hot blooded cikus, the bigger the better. The turbo for family MPV is actually like an adequate size b**b, it squeezes the last drop of juice out from the source and to feed the family, not for young cikus’ pleasure.

Comparing who has higher HP is just like how young cikus comparing the length of their p*n*ses. You can do some mods to increase the HP or the length of p*n*s, but it all boils down to reliability and durability. Do all the mods you like, and get your finger-cross for not breaking down in LDP crawl, or, another terms, premature ejaculation.

• xavier lert on Sep 24, 2010 at 10:48 am

confirm saga facelifted…i’m sure u’ll like it….

• it’s exora

• saga facelift oredy under trial…will launch out probably end of this year (december)…saga facelift will have bigger headlamp and also different tail lamp…mass pro on november..

• Nizam80 on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:10 am

For this engine, Proton will not be using gearboxes from Mitsubishi anymore, am I right?

• Mike~ on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:58 pm

this is what the MD said in the interview with Berita Harian..future Proton cars with feature CVTs from Getrag. Let’s hope it’s true. I’m looking forward to these new sweet goodies from Proton.

• Nizam80 on Sep 24, 2010 at 2:52 pm

Nice if it is true. I’m not a fan of the current Mitsubishi-sourced auto transmissions. I’m not saying they are no good. To me they get the job done… but I wish they were much smoother. I think most of you get what I mean.

• Mata2 on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:21 am

Don’t expect much, 150hp 6000rpm, 220Nm at 2000 – 3500rpm is very good already for this 1.5 ton mpv. The torque range is very improtant for fuel consumption saving and pick up. A soft turbo is good already to achieve these figures.

• Mike~ on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:00 pm

i would rather want the max hp achieved at 5800rpm and the torque can extend from 2000-4000rpm..the graph will be nicer and it will help in both acceleration and fuel consumption.

• i dunno whether its true or not, the campro cfe output is 155hp 240nm, 6mt gearbox getrag, cvt from punch motive.(i think there will be a paddle shifter for cvt using lotus simulation gearchange)

• waja2000 on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:30 pm

nice figure ……
      but if go to punch motive website, there latest CVT Gearbox VT3(VT2+) maximum can support for the Torque only 210nm.

• Nizam80 on Sep 24, 2010 at 2:56 pm

That’s a lot of torque! Hope it’s true. Imagine putting that in the Neo…. hehe

Any plans for Proton to put a 1.3 Campro Turbo version?

• and turbo is supplied by borg wagner plus 32bit easyu by conti-siemens ag.

• it also has valve timing and direct injection too. i think so :-)

• stephen on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:06 pm

go make a 4door Satria Neo…put this rumour turbo charge engine in….then it can compete with 308 THP and Golf GTI :)

• Wahahahhaa… my Gen2 (or new Gen3) will get Turbo Campro CPS 2011… this will smoke all those under RM100K car…

• I doubt that, fuel guzzling behavior and overheating issue will hit you first right on the pocket (and pride if you’re a fanboy). Prepare some budget for top overhaul. If you’re lucky, the least of your problem is a turbo car with a powerless window.

• tokan on Sep 25, 2010 at 12:08 am

-fuel guzzling??cvt can overcome that problem.read more la…adoyai

-overheating??wahhh…ko ni ahli nujum ke?

-powerless window??ko ni x abis2 la ngn power window.pity you.

• hello factory turbo charged engine must have been tested many times , summore it’s usually a soft turbo one, many cars now are turbo charged ones and no such problems, powerless window ? no such things la sudah basi, lol

• Paejal on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:14 pm

Proton will always be a proton!

• gen2lama on Sep 24, 2010 at 2:42 pm

mitsu wont alway be mitsu…sekejap mitsu, sekeja lagi proton….heheheh

• apooo samy on Sep 24, 2010 at 2:35 pm

new wajalancer with mivec 1.8 and 2.0 price within 7+K to 8+k….Exora Premium 7+k….Exora Turbo CPS maybe 80-95k…sure punyaaa…

• who say a mpv will usually more expensive compare to a sedan? Innova cheaper then altis… grand livina cheaper than sentra.. avanza cheaper than vios..

• abzaja on Sep 24, 2010 at 2:47 pm

wow…
    looks like they are better than I thought…its surprise me that they can surf the internet and throw comments. Before this I think they just an expert in throwing crap at other people. Surely entertaining

• lovely_malaysian on Sep 24, 2010 at 3:28 pm

Good News..hope exora would become like ford s-max..best in everything..definitely waiting for this..

• heehee on Sep 25, 2010 at 12:16 am

Haiz. Exora is MPV la. So powerful engine look like twin turbocharge will make the car overturn only. Lotus also cannot tune if engine so powerful with this kind of body. ..

• rosdi on Sep 24, 2010 at 4:12 pm

Give me twincharged engine!! Supercharger and Turbocharger combined!

• Citroen DS3 on Sep 24, 2010 at 4:16 pm

i hope this will paved the way back for a performance based hatchback or coupe…

• GOOD PACKAGE! IT WILL SELL WELL. PROTON BOLEH (sikit)

• rossi46 on Sep 24, 2010 at 4:35 pm

great…turbo charged wt low down power ala VW small turbo engine…very2 usable

• kayel on Sep 24, 2010 at 6:09 pm

amazingly! this thread invite more comments than new launch altis….

• Proton isn’t actual…..
    They put a 2.0 liter cps engine is better than 1.6 turbo engine……..
    if they put a 1.6 turbo charge engine into a neo is better because it was a Super Mini but exora is a mpv…….
    If Proton “really” want to put a turbo engine into exora…….use 2.0 engine…not 1.6…….

• oomph on Sep 24, 2010 at 7:46 pm

2.0 turbo campro would make expensice Altis owner jealous!

• other maker even use 1.4 plus turbo…wats wrong with 1.6 turbo

• Peugeot 3008 is a crossover aka mpv/suv and it is powered by 1.6 THP Princeton engine and it is yummy! Nobody says that it should be powered by 2.0 NA engine….

• hey bro~ it’s more practical to make 1.6 turbo..more power with less fuel consumption. plus save cost in creating 2.0 engine.

• CPS Terburai on Nov 03, 2010 at 3:50 pm

Boss….

Jgn salah faham.. 1.6 cc roadtax dia murah boss…. dgn turbo… tak lagi jadi under power…..

Dgn bost 0.6 jer pun dah boleh dapat 161whp… apa lagi yg diperlukan untuk mengerakkan MPV proton tu.. dah cukup lah tu…..

Tak kan nak MPV pickup nak melekat kat kusyen….. kang anak kat row no 2 melayang gi row no 3….

Apa2 pun tahniah proton…………

• Gapodios on Sep 24, 2010 at 8:04 pm

My friend plan to get new basic spec Exora, take off the engine and change with 4g93T turbo tiptronic box, its berbaloi or not and what JPJ says. The project in progress.

• extract from jpj

Syarat-syarat yang perlu dipatuhi ketika membuat pertukaran enjin:

1. Penukaran hendaklah mengikut peraturan-peraturan yang diisytiharkan di dalam Kaedah-Kaedah Kenderaan Bermotor (Pembinaan & Penggunaan)1959 L.N. 170/1959.
      2. Keadaan struktur keseluruhan kenderaan hendaklah baik terutamanya pada bahagian rangka casis (chassis frame).
      3. Tiada pengubahan struktur dilakukan pada ‘front cross member’, ‘steering linkage’ dan ‘steering box’.
      4. Tiada pengubahsuaian pada ‘base engine mounting’ dan tiada kimpalan pada struktur tambahan ‘engine mounting’.
      5. Tidak melebihi enjin berkeupayaaan 2000cc untuk kenderaan model proton selain proton perdana.
      6. Pelepasan asap kenderaan tersebut mestilah tidak melebihi 50% ‘opacity’. (Bagi enjin diesel sahaja).
      7. Lulus pengujian tahap kecekapan sistem brek di lorong pemeriksaan.

• Senarai buatan-buatan yang dikategorikan sebagai sama (klon)

PROTON a) MITSUBISHI
        b) RENAULT (SAVY,WAJA 1.8)
        c) CITROEN ( TIARA)
        * penukaran enjin hendaklah dari model enjin yang sama varience dengan PROTON.Sebarang pengubahsuaian “Engine Mounting” adalah tidak dibenarkan sama sekali.
        PERODUA DAIHATSU / TOYOTA
        FORD MAZDA
        PEUGOT CITROEN
        HICOM ISUZU

• The Unicons on Sep 24, 2010 at 10:01 pm

Today’s newspaper reported that Proton Waja replacement model will be launched in November 2010. Additional for that, in Paul’s blog, Syed Zainal also mentioned that Proton will launch a facelift version of an existing model before end of the year… Saga.

Back to the today’s newpaper, Proton is planning to launch two replacement models in 2011. What could it be? Proton Perdana? Proton Arena? or Proton Persona?

Personally, I’m looking for third generation Proton Satria. Hahaha…. 2013? Please…

• Maybe some pics could TURBO CHARGED your appetite

http://funtastickodesign.files.wordpress.com/2010/09/imag0715.jpg

http://funtastickodesign.files.wordpress.com/2010/09/imag0713.jpg

http://funtastickodesign.files.wordpress.com/2010/09/imag0716.jpg

• BorgWerner turbos! wooooooot xD

• VWfan on Sep 25, 2010 at 10:34 am

gambar cam familiar jer…ofis kat proton ke ni?

• pomen_gtr on Sep 27, 2010 at 4:57 pm

fullamak..borg warner tuh…

-and electronic boost actuator..(wastegate n BOV)..means lag are history guys….

after seeing this….i bet this engine would behave just like normal N/A engine in term of throttle responsd…and sure with better power n torque…

• BTW guys, most likely this is the real pic of the new Waja

http://funtastickodesign.files.wordpress.com/2010/09/waja-lancer-1.jpg

http://funtastickodesign.files.wordpress.com/2010/09/10082010905.jpg

http://funtastickodesign.files.wordpress.com/2010/09/waja-lancer-2.jpg

• Habib on Sep 25, 2010 at 3:17 pm

Thank you mim for the pictures. This P1 Lancer version still looks great.
      I heard that this P1 lancer is higher spec than MMC Lancer
      Is this true???

• MoFaz on Sep 25, 2010 at 11:09 pm

the rest of the specs could be the same. but, does “handling by Lotus” means anything to you?

• Habib on Sep 26, 2010 at 10:06 am

Yeah MoFaz….Lotus handling is gooood…..
          But higher spec based on handling alone doesn’t justify it’ll be more expensive.
          Tho I agree if it is considered higher spec than MMC due to Lotus Handling.
          Anyway this is just speculation for us, we’ll just wait for the car’s launch to know.

• Habib on Sep 25, 2010 at 3:35 pm

Im in Thai right now.
    Thai people said to me that Proton models is getting popularity here in Thailand, due to its low price.
    Thais liked the Savvy due to cheapest if compare to other competitor for daily commute to work. (Competitor; Nissan March is much more expensive)
    Neo is much liked by Thai women (That is strange)
    Persona CNG for its cheap fuel
    -I’ve run into 3 or 4 Exoras in Pattaya

& also there’s a new taxi company using only proton cars!

PROUD TO BE MALAYSIAN

• stephen on Sep 25, 2010 at 11:37 pm

bye bye gen2 lor :) donno….always feel Satrio Neo look better but it just limited in sales for being a 3 door hatch back…not a 5 door

• DreamOnDreamer on Sep 26, 2010 at 7:37 am

whatever it is..a PROTON is still a PROTON.

Put in whatever u want, RE-BADGE, turbo engine etc

Damaged been done,

Raayat with money wont buy PROTON…

It is up to PROTON Mgt on how to improve ur damaged image..

Go Figure!

• Habib on Sep 26, 2010 at 1:12 pm

I believe Syed Zainal & gang is trying very hard to reverse the rakyat perception toward Proton cars with better quality and compete internationally.
      One fact that I know is Proton is “stealing” QC engineers from P****** for this

• ehem.. even BMW has 2 recently recalled!
        first was the power steering.. whey.. think again… it’s only power steering and still bring a problem.. then now got power brake problem recalling 200000 cars for bmw…
        we all know everybody do mistake. not excepting the Pro.

• jl@ipl on Sep 27, 2010 at 1:42 pm

So, you never did any damage in your whole life?

• Tiadaid on Sep 27, 2010 at 4:46 pm

Other carmakers have damaged their reputations before, not the very least Mr. Big Boss of Malaysian non-national car maker Toyota and their second-in-command Honda. Why Malaysians still buy Toyota & Honda then?

• Scania360 on Oct 03, 2010 at 5:03 pm

becoz some Malaysia are stupid..hahha..
        just brand put aside.. nothing..
        TOYOTA has put serius problem to their ‘luxury’ model in USA
        that was not because of accr-.pedal stucking at the carpet..not simply seen by our eye..but a major problems related to microprocessor interface..
        this was at engineering design level..poor design quality..
        lead to DEATH..why Maysian still buy Toyota? because the stupidness
        blindness proud to other makers..

if this happen to PROTON..i think PROTON will need to close its kilang laa..

• cazrun on Sep 27, 2010 at 3:18 pm

nice.. xsabar nk tggu.. :)

• initial power figure for this cfe turbo is 150hp n 200nm. but it is still not the final figure. dunno whether they use the vt3 cvt from punch or the newly co develop one.if they use vt3, they have to limit it to 200nm since vt3 only can take 215nm max. but it is not a problem for getrag 6mt which can take up to 400nm. actually gen2 eve hybrid demonstrator car already use punch cvt.

• Dear Habib,

Juat to clarify, u mean in thailand ppl said, “Persona CNG for its cheap fuel”… r u referring to as fuel economy car???

• mind your speed on Dec 07, 2010 at 4:51 pm

Keep at speed limit ( I HATE all those speeding, highway at 110km/h – obey that). If everyone obey speed limit, fatal accident can reduce 90%.
    Why debating engine technology and horse power? Even a 660cc kancil can do 110km/h in highway. Can go up genting too, just a bit sluggish, but that’s safe.
    FC should not be issue too. High FC is NOTHING compared to car depreciation. Forget that 100k car and buy a 50k car. you have extra 50k in hand for fuel. High FC ? nah…
    My main concern are 1) safety 2) reliability 3)comfort. Shoot me if i m wrong

• SushiburgerX on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:35 am

Agree absolutety!!! As long as the car is not too sluggish when over taking, then it’s fine. I don’t know why some people so proud to own kapchai car like VIOS and City…..Pay RM90k for miserable 1.5cc small car which is only slightly better than a Saga BLM.

Konon fuel efficient blah….re-sale value blah…..if you take 80k loan (dep 10k) at 3% interest for 7 years..total you pay is RM 106,800.00. If you sell the car 4 years later at 60K (4 years old Honda city around this price if u search mudah.my),…you have lost RM 46,8000.

Buy Saga is what…RM40k?? Take 30K loan(dep 10k) at 3.5% for 7 years…total is RM 37,350….if you sell the car 4 years later at RM20k….you have only lost only RM17,350….

So which car has better resell value?? :x

• livefat.net on Nov 27, 2012 at 5:37 pm

I usually do not leave a comment, however after reading a few of the
    remarks here Turbocharged Proton Exora to debut next year,
    facelift version of an existing model to be launched this year.

I actually do have 2 questions for you if you tend not
    to mind. Could it be only me or does it appear
    like a few of these comments appear as if they are left by brain dead folks?
    :-P And, if you are posting on additional social sites, I would like
    to follow you. Would you post a list of all of all your social community sites like your twitter feed,
    Facebook page or linkedin profile?