Ingress wins contracts for new Proton model in 2012

Ingress wins contracts for new Proton model in 2012While the news on Proton’s new Proton Inspira model is still hot off the press, Proton is already busy preparing the final stages of its next generation Proton Persona, referred to so far by the Proton management as the “Persona R”. R in this case stands for Replacement.

We may be looking at the Persona R being launched somewhere in early to mid 2012 based on a filing by Proton parts supplier Ingress Corporation Berhad to Bursa Malaysia. Ingress reported that it received a Letter of Intents from Proton for the supply of two parts for a new project – Roof Drip Mouldings and Door Sash. Supply for both parts are for 5 years and are supposed to commence in Q4 of it’s financial year ending 31st January 2012, which means somewhere from November 2011 to January 2012.

There are a lot of exciting things coming up from Proton and their engineering resources must be quite stretched – the Persona R, the Campro Turbo engine (along with the Exora Turbo to debut next year), a revision to the normally aspirated Campro engines, matching their engines with new family of transmissions (Punch for CVT automatic and Getrag for manual), the Saga facelift, and preparing to put the Proton EMAS into production.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Gajen on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:11 am

i really want to see the persona r…giugaro and proton..=)

• Johnny on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:04 am

italian designed supercars are gorgeous but most common cars design by italians are not quite as good ie. suzuki sx4, matrix. Really hope the persona r will be good thou.

• Jack N on Oct 23, 2010 at 10:38 pm

dude, they say it looks very European… sleek and sporty.
        hope proton’s ppl dah bertaubat and improve the quality first before nak jadi buaya again to the vendors… and vendors pulak give a good quality product if the buaya dah jadi manusia.. hahaha

• zimba on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:13 am

oh babe.. 2012 will be really interesting.. It seem that Proton want to make it to the climax right before the end of the world. gogo~^^

• Ash Menon on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:49 am

Well, got many people say “the day that I consider buying a Proton will be the day the world ends.” Maybe betul pulak.

• Nerddy on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:45 pm

hahaha….

Do you really thing Dec, 2012 is the end of the world…?
      It could be the mayan just out of simbol….

p/s: sorry for the off topic stuff…

• ali bin abu ahmad on Oct 18, 2010 at 4:11 pm

they are just joking anyway.

I like Ash’s post!

• Nerddy on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:30 am

there a news on yahoo! about it….
        http://news.yahoo.com/s/livescience/20101019/sc_livescience/endoftheearthpostponed

• wa~ All becoming CVT.. and Getrag for manual~! Getrag= dual clutch transmission~.
    wa~ + turbo engine.. Proton is going the sporty route.

• Salamander on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:18 am

Yes be aggressive Proton!

• hongleongbank on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:18 am

good work..keep it up!

• picture please….

• donadoni on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:32 am

interesting year ahead. can we fast forward already?lol

• SHADUP LA on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:38 am

2012 is coming

• Astronauts on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:31 am

the basic quality still an issue,
    already think to produce R version, good proton, thumbs up.

wonder how many percent out there will go back to proton, if switch out from proton made. somemore R version. Proton no longer target on low budget group

• Prismo on Oct 18, 2010 at 6:44 am

If u willing to pay more, u will get the quality… want cheap, go for china vehicle..

• They target low budget group with Proton EMAS.

• RunnerUp on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:48 am

R version? R in this case is for Replacement, not Type-R punye R laa…

• joeyzizul on Oct 18, 2010 at 8:05 am

R = Replacement…not Racing

• Bro,

Persona R is referring to persona Replacement model not “R” as in “racing” . Next time do some reading first before bashing. It makes u look stupid

• ‘R’ in this context could mean ‘Replacement’

• syam cook on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:44 pm

R is for replacement la dude.. not racing. read first la before posting. haiyoo… chup chup chup…(geleng kepala)

• kimi_ on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:35 am

It is too late Proton….In 2012, you should build space ship instead…

because it is END OF THE WORLD–2012!

• did u know its freemason propaganda…no one know the end of the world…

• Muserella on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:28 pm

pengaruh television..

• Firdaus Abdullah on Oct 18, 2010 at 4:39 pm

you watch too much movie la…wierdo!

• 2012, end of world…nehhh….but maybe we will have a new “RULER”…the new world order..prepare ur self…

• Tiadaid on Oct 18, 2010 at 8:00 pm

Why? Since the last election was in 2008, the term stands for 5 years…shouldn’t it be 2013, if it occurs at all?

• shawal on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:25 am

we’ll see first if the INSPIRA is an indication of good things to come, after all , it is based on a tried and tested model sold worldwide , what could go wrong?

• Mike/Liverpool on Oct 18, 2010 at 5:35 am

Very good News Paul
    I wish Proton well & i hope we see a lot of cutting edge stuff. If Proton want to be well in the UK again (They started well but faded) they must understand that value for money MUST go hand in hand with cheap running costs.

The Gen 2 is a nice looking car but it has a high CO2 output engine & we are taxed here in the UK on CO2. Most other car manufacters are going for 3 cyinder small cc Turbo engines………i hope Proton follow suit.
    Cheers
    Mike/Liverpool Uk

• the new Proton engine will be a 1.6L 4-cylinder turbo. kinda like the Peugeot 1.6 THP engine

• NickL on Oct 19, 2010 at 3:01 pm

Nooo no 3 cylinder engine please, I don’t like the feel of some 3 cylinder engines out there.

Anyway 4 cylinder small cc turbo should be better and easier to design. 1.6 4 cylinder turbo would be great! Cant wait

• dickybird on Oct 19, 2010 at 12:42 pm

i hope you are an evertonian coz proton is going down just like liverpool! lol!

• Thinktwice on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:55 am

Wouldn’t it be wise to have higher displacement engines in their range? Or is it the trend these days by global manufacturers to scale down because everybody wants to jump onto the green-tech bandwagon? Somehow or rather, I feel something is amiss in the proton’s car and engine line-up – like a real competitor to Camry and Accord, or mini and mid-sized SUVs in the form of CRV and Rush. Anybody care to comment? Paul? Proton? Anyone?

• bobdbilder on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:31 pm

What is so wise about having bigger displacement engines? It sucks more oil and blows more gas. Be part of the solution dude. Read up. Be aware.

• Azahari on Oct 18, 2010 at 4:12 pm

In mass production cars, manufacturers nowadays go for more torque engines rather than more hp engines, so they start to manufacture small turbo diesel engines that produce higher torque at very low rpm.

This is because most cars nowadays spend their lifetime in a traffic jams. Most of the powers from the engine is used to move the weight of the car (inertia) for only few meters away for most of the times. So it is more practical to have small turbo engine that able to produce higher torque. Big engine is heavy and not environmental friendly. It is just not practical anymore. Some days in the future, people may even laugh at you when you drive big engine car (like those driving Hummer). Please correct me if I am wrong.

I hope Proton have a plan how to produce this state of the art turbo diesel engine because I am going to look for one too!

• Paul, is it Proton’s financial year end? because if i’m not mistaken, proton financial year end is 31 March, not 31 Jan. Or maybe it shud be Ingress’s?

• klaka seram on Oct 19, 2010 at 5:10 pm

the FYE referred to Ingress’s. If read properly, the statement is taken from Ingress’s filing to Bursa

• DonkeyKong on Oct 18, 2010 at 8:53 am

Sounds like Proton’s next generation Persona will really have excellent technology and quality.. Punch CVT! This should be the V-belt Variomatic CVT based on DAF’s unit, that’s used by Audi as their Multitronic transmission range.

As for the manual Getrag, I don’t think it’s a dual-clutch. It’s a regular manual tranny, but possibly a 6-speed version?

• Johnny on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:49 am

Forgive me for being pessimistic, but proton is yet to prove itself of being generous in giving tech and goodies. Even the basic airbag is a big fuss for them to provide especially for domestic products.

• MoFaz on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:19 pm

compare to what..? to me waja have more & better features than Vios… vios is only comparable to Saga.. hehehe.

• Comic on Oct 18, 2010 at 4:54 pm

Hehehe, comedian :)

• dickybird on Oct 19, 2010 at 12:45 pm

well mofazzy, this is what happens when you start to believe in the lies you put out. you look silly. lol!

• MoFaz on Oct 19, 2010 at 10:18 pm

well, dicky. if it’s just me, i would receive more thumbs down rather than up, right?
            I don’t have to list down all the features Waja Vs Vios here. many people agree, only you and bashers alike are still in the state of denial. always thinking that foreign product better.

• awg1031 on Oct 18, 2010 at 8:56 am

hoooo..i will finish paying my car in 2 years time..should wait and see how this persona comes out to be.hehe..hopefully i can afford it.

• Azli Umar on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:58 pm

Congrats! good to know there are still people like u completing the entire original repayment schedule.

• FAReast on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:15 am

Is this “Persona R” is a sport model like the civic type R?

• CopyCat on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:20 am

same people..same quality issue

• mufasa on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:25 am

i still waiting P1 to enter big market outside there…india?

• the juke on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:26 am

woohooo go go proton!

• izack04 on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:28 am

Why they need to make out the persona sedan a R car…..such as EK9
    it should start with satria neo turbo campro with cps….then it will get the bulu roma berdiri…..with persona characteristic such as bodyroll, weight, power to hp ratio….it will not compete with other R spec car…..get the sluggish below 3.5k RPM out an after that put the meter dial on the panel FLAT until 8k RPM…..after that then it can start with persona….oh well, anyway should do…..persona R or neo R its not my decision…just making out my head clear….

• MoFaz on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:04 am

why people always assume ‘R’ is for racing? can’t get Type R out of your mind eh? well, even Type R is discontinued! R in Persona R is “Replacement”.. not racing!
      please read carefully next time, and make sure you understand the topic ya! if in SPM, you’ll fail terribly.

• ichi24 on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:08 am

typical, typical malaysian mentality

bash first, talk the next second, think the next hundreds years

you know Paul has been writing that “R” in the context means “Replacement”?

this show how dumb malaysian can be

no wonder korean can go on even further today even though Hyundai once the crappiest car in USA back then

• Remember you are also a Malaysian then. And the mentality is same as those hardcore T& H fans!

• wat mofaz said is true..R is for replacement..DSZ also said it..paul also said..my lowly knowledge know it is replacement..don read this article only read other articles bout persona R…u should read n understand wat paul article all bout…

• layman on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:13 pm

have u heard the word REPLACEMENT?
      the R here is for that ok?

• wazza on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:41 pm

R = replacement. what the point making the meter dial up to 8k rpm?

• syam cook on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:46 pm

r is for replacement la dude.. baca betoi2 la..

• Muserella on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:32 pm

asal huruf R je racing.. plus not everybody want to race lor. Already forgot the 10.10.10 accident?

• kerelbort on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:33 am

somebody mistaken R for sport type like honda type R instead of R for replacement only ma…. :P
    better make it clear or later ppl misunderstood it.. :P
    persona R might just be a persona Replacement.. not Racing :D

• izack04 on Oct 18, 2010 at 12:11 pm

OOOO…no racing DNA …..just “R”eplacement……
      My bad….

• zimba on Oct 18, 2010 at 12:14 pm

in other words.. Persona R is a whole new model.

• R for revise.. n persona R for replacement..but I’m still wonder possibly about the engine to put for persona r…

• Lightning McQueen on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:55 pm

any body can use R maaaaa…
      Like SE, some call it special edition some call it standard edition….

Anyway Ingress better test the weathering and heat cycle test properly, otherwise the R will stands for Persona Roof Moulding Rosak…….

Good Luck Ingress….

• honda.. R is racing
      proton.. R is replacement….

• PROTON GO!!!
    by 2012, Persona R,
    by 2015, Persona R + A.R.T Technology (better than hybrid)

There are sooo many development in PROTON R&D,
    The Inspira profit will be channelled to those R&D.

• good news from proton…thats pretty fast to have a replacement for the persona IMO.

they should replace the savvy 1st.

what about perodua R&D?

myvi SE-R —> replacement of new bodykit/ replacement of new paint job color.

• Tiadaid on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:55 pm

DSZ is making Proton stick to a 5 year replacement schedule. No more (hopefully) models sold for 20+ years like the old days.

• We need a lot more people like DSZ at Proton.
          Don’t bow to those bloody cheap vendors.
          Go for Quality and Customer Service.

• hero86 on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:33 pm

yeah.. we can see how DSZ change P1 totally and see how they create a phenomenon just to introduce a new model.. however, need to push over the quality.. still have problem.. don ever look down this matter..

• I wish DSZ could stay in Proton forever..

• savvy x balik modal lagi…huhuhuh that’s why saga still need facelift but gen2 already balik modal… neo?? long way to go for replacement…

• breaker84 on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:00 am

this “R” version of persona…
    is it Type R one????

• aiyoo..read before comment….”next generation Proton Persona, referred to so far by the Proton management as the “Persona R”. R in this case stands for Replacement.”..

• Tiadaid on Oct 18, 2010 at 12:13 pm

R as in “REPLACEMENT”

• Soup69 on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:31 pm

Dude read the post R is Replacement not Racing!!!!!

• Lightning McQueen on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:51 pm

R for Persona R means Replacement Maaaa
      Honda Type R, R means = Rabak… Consume fuel like drinking water….

• i think Type-R is for Ragut. coz it ragut your wallet for money to fill more petrol lol.

• bobdbilder on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:18 pm

People never learn…

• Sharkox on Oct 19, 2010 at 12:21 pm

Bro..please, don’t make yourself like this…please listen to other commentors advice; READ 1st, COMMENT later

• proton is recently do some acceleration, catching with technology. good

• to realise that some people here jump straight towards the comment, makes me sick.

R is for Replacement.
    Not Racing.

Proton uses R3 for Racing.

• that y i has suggest paul to make mandatory to read the article first than giv comment or bash as many as we all can….

• aku rasa on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:42 am

YEAYYYY!!!

• gonggok on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:22 am

The italian designed Persona replacement is in full swing development for it’s 2012 launch. People who have seen the clay models says it looks really good.

• MoFaz on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:16 pm

ehh..? where can i see the model?

• ahmet on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:04 pm

yeah dude…..there is really WOW factor for this Persona R model..that one i can guarantee you..the best design from proton i think..

• Izhar on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:29 am

so far so good…proton still improving….
    proton need to read all the comment in paultan….
    so they maybe will think the customer desire…and match with their budget per car…

• apooo samy on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:44 am

PERSONA R if not mistaken the car design by lambo designer….maybe can find from the net….

• Now this is what I call national car maker!! Man.. I’ve been waiting for years till this day to see progress. Well Done. Keep up the Good Work and please deliver quality products.

• JohnDeep on Oct 18, 2010 at 12:19 pm

Dear bloggers,

Kindly read the full news before writing your comment …

“While the news on Proton’s new Proton Inspira model is still hot off the press, Proton is already busy preparing the final stages of its next generation Proton Persona, referred to so far by the Proton management as the “Persona R”. R in this case stands for Replacement.”

• loveit on Oct 18, 2010 at 12:51 pm

I’m looking forward for the new model in 2012 (though many say its the end of our time)…I hope by that year proton change my mind and finally bought its model..

• Rizal on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:05 pm

Long live proton!

• somesay on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:10 pm

as it stated in the first paragraph, R for replacement..

Persona R = Persona Replacement

not Racing or a sportier version of the car whatsoever.

don’t cha read the article?

• Insider on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:12 pm

Proton’s New Global Small Car Project will be Proton Pandora.

• wazza on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:39 pm

Good to see proton is improving. i would not mind to get a proton next time. their current newest persona is good, except the aircond is quite loud inside cabin, compare to my nissan and honda. would be nice if proton can improve it.

• nabill on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:41 pm

i wish proton goes for double clutch boxes rather than CVT….the way cvt works and feels is just plain weird , very hard to get used to it….

• Hopefully, being a public-listed company, Ingress would stand up to its reputation and provide Proton with high quality parts and not some shaddy loose parts Proton used to get…with this, Ingress wins, Proton wins, customers also win….

• drMpower on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:03 pm

i believe the excitement is back at proton, and i thought the vibes are more or less the same encouraging as it was back in 1980s when it first set up shop. many people at that time were excite and eager to see whats what with proton. of course they were proud that finally we were making and selling cars.

these interesting news that keep coming out of shah alam show that proton is going places. and with najib announcing that wawasan 2020 is reachable target, i personally wish that all protection upon proton to be phased out, little by little, in the years we are going to 2020.

and in 2020 i would like to have a zero protection policy upon proton

• Just In Time on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:35 pm

Interesting…..

2012 eh?

• i think proton should ditch the ‘R’ in persona as it’s already confusing some people here hahaha.

nanti keluar, some people will think that this is the ‘Type R’ performance car at a resonable price hahaha

• the production model will NOT have the ‘R’ name. it’s just a prototype codename laa.

think twice before posting la.

• tarak nama on Oct 18, 2010 at 5:51 pm

R – for Romen

• tunomura on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:28 pm

“R” is for Razak..it’s Najib father what…haiya

• The Unicons on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:53 pm

5 year contract to supply those parts. So if Persona R launches on mid 2012, it will be replaced sometime end of 2017 and the latest 2018?

Perdana replacement = 2011
    Arena = 2011
    2nd generation Persona = 2012
    Emas = 2012
    3rd generation Saga = 2013
    2nd generation Exora MPV = 2014

Satria Neo? Heheh…

• any pics of persona replacement?

• elite on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:00 pm

proton just run the assembly line and non skilled labour force

• elite on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:02 pm

everything outsourced except the assembly line and non skilled labour force

• quattro on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:22 pm

bagaimana pula dengan segmen lain. takkan proton nak buat kereta saja. buatlah pulak SUV yg murah dan affordable utk rakyat yg tak mampu nak merasa honda CRV ataupun Hilux.

• Jimmy on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:26 pm

I want to win contract by my competency, not by friendship. Competency means ability to build durable things, which fit well with other components so that there is no kok kok ke sound within two weeks of a brand new car like Waja.

• Cowabunga! on Oct 19, 2010 at 10:35 pm

putting the eMAS into productions?…for who?…
    ..and what happened to the Detroit venture?..all silent?..Thought they had a Persona running electric?.

and now they are hoping to do hybrid?…

seriously Proton…get ur act together on what you are strategically planning to do.
    IF the investment is small, don’t start straying into all direction. We don’t have the capability to spawn various projects like Honda and Toyota…..

• MoFaz on Oct 20, 2010 at 1:43 am

the detroit venture is NOT proton’s project. it’s so happen that detroit electric using proton & lotus cars for their ‘prototypes’

• aduss on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:46 pm

senjak 2008 aku dengr pasal ni skrg bru nak setup untuk production?.. so savvy stop production, mcm ner pasal savvy R lak? hope savvy R batter then next gen-myvi…

• ribut on Oct 22, 2010 at 5:48 pm

aku rasa Emas akan ganti segment savvy dengan enjin saiz kecil (bukan hybrid)..
      dan savvy dengarnya masih dapat permintaan tinggi dari Thai

• Victor999 on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:51 pm

Keep up the good work Proton Malaysia. Gradually you will develop a competitive market category against the foreign vehicle. 1 Malaysia :)

• Annuar on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:25 am

Ingress?
    Top 3 problematic vendor at Proton and Perodua for 2009 and 2010. Also Top3 biggest downtime at Proton’s and Perodua production line. You can ask Proton’s and Perodua’s QC for details.

Ingress should focus more on resources to give quality parts to Proton. Strictly follow control plans and PFMEA. Otherwise, its Proton who will get bad names. Thats why Ingress only get 2 parts for PersonaR out from hundreds of parts given to another vendor A*******. Dont you think why only 2 parts out of hundreds of parts for body assy?

Please lah to Top management Ingress, move your ass to genba at your production lines instead of at golf site… and please dont ask Proton to fund your Dies and Jigs like last time during Exora..

• is it true? if top 3 problematic vendor, why still give contract?? SPRM, come here.. somebody take rasuah..

• Babe..
      komen pakai data-bukan belasah.
      Ingress dah improve-air bawah jambatan”lamo dah berlalu”.
      zaman masalah 2008 – 1st yr pelancaran”semua vendor pun masalah”.
      09 ~ 11 jauh cemerlang.
      welcome n C-all Proton XTVT INGRESS Score A.
      sobab itu dapat new project.
      **alhamdulillah.

• good ‘punch line’ Imst….