Perodua organises mass circumcision event for 50 boys

A constant stream of news flows past us everyday, from the mouth watering to the bizarre, and here’s one that jumped out to catch attention. Perodua recently organised and sponsored a majlis berkhatan beramai-ramai (mass circumcision ceremony) for boys in the Kampung Sg Choh area. P2 is headquartered in Sg Choh, north of Rawang.

Organised by Badan Agama Islam Perodua (BAIP) together with Masjid Nurul Islamiah Sg Choh and Hospital Selayang, the mass circumcision ceremony, timed to fit in the year end school holidays, saw the participation of 50 boys ranging from six to 12 years old.

Among the brave kiddos were sons of Perodua staff and students from schools around the Sg Choh area. BAIP Chairman Tuan Haji Noor Hashiman Sulaiman officiated the event.

The Myvi maker sponsored RM80 of the RM150 cost for each boy. A majlis Aqiqah was also held, with seven Perodua staff combining funds to sponsor a cow. Perodua chipped in with RM3,000.

Here’s to a speedy recovery for the 50 lads in sarongs!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Myvi Circumcision Edition.

• Seriously on Dec 14, 2011 at 6:59 pm

sausage fest…

• syok artis on Dec 14, 2011 at 7:01 pm

cerita paling best

• Part of growing up for muslim boys. Like ant bite only…..

• kevin lee on Dec 14, 2011 at 7:42 pm

why proton dont want to sponsor potong? :D but perodua does that.

• Protong does not bersunat okay. They like it “ori”. Kekekekeke.

• asgard on Dec 14, 2011 at 7:45 pm

perodua should also sponsor for p2 buyer

• Sudah Potong? Dont call P1, call Perodua. You’re surely got potong.

• Ha Gnih on Dec 14, 2011 at 8:12 pm

I seriously couldn’t relate an auto car maker with foreskin slicing galore. Hmmmmm…..

• speedracer on Dec 14, 2011 at 8:13 pm

hahaha…circumcision..most memorable memory this one! mana boleh lupa kesannya kekal sampai mati…!

• drMpower on Dec 14, 2011 at 8:17 pm

so what the chinese boys will be getting then?
    indian boys?
    those east malaysian boys?

what about girls?

see what retard our companies?
    social service
    no make money why do la?

*sarcasm alert*

• FYI circumcision are not for Malays only.. just saying.. here in UK there are many people want to do it.. due to the fact it is more hygienic.. well you cant target multiple group of people in one charity event can you?

• Your company? Do you even have stake share from P2? What does YOUR real company gives to Malaysian? Pls read articles about P2 giving charities and donations to help fellow Malaysians. Yet, you write social service = no profit? Are you running loan shark service? If P2 haven’t give you anything for free yet and critics P2 for it, that means you are well fed and in terms modern society point of view you are being ungrateful for what you have gotten till now. I do giggle of some of the post from our fellow reader here, but your word is on another level of schmuckness!!

• SeriuossSAM on Dec 14, 2011 at 8:45 pm

when they grow up
    they’ll be P2 Basher

speedy recovery boys

• policeman on Dec 14, 2011 at 8:47 pm

Now I know what they use to make their leather seats.

• a cut above the rest….

• a cut above the rest

• DavidB on Dec 14, 2011 at 10:31 pm

A really WTF piece of news… did their Corp Comm/PR send u a press release? lol…

• seriously? p2 is so pathetic until need to resort to such publicity stunts!

• what does a carmaker got to do with circumcision anyway? The money be better off donated to charity bodies.

• what part of charity you dont understand?? this is charity…

• LatukBandar on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:30 am

charity should be free from religion and politics. like those for disabled, or pets or drug re-habitation… etc.

• Circumcision for muslims only, NOT!!!! You should look at it as a promotion to healthier lifestyle and hygienic practice among young children, not as an act of pro religion while disrespecting other people’s beliefs! YOU, got circumcised?

• Seriously on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:52 pm

As much as I do not want to see this as a religious matter, I believe for this single event it is. As you can read it states “Organised by Badan Agama Islam Perodua (BAIP) together with Masjid Nurul Islamiah Sg Choh”.

If we were to take this as a “promotion to healthier lifestyle and hygienic practice among young children” then unfortunately i believe they fell short to hit a wide audience.

• there is nothing racial or religion here. Between shelters for single mothers/orphanage/old folks home VS so-called mass circumcision, which is more worthy of the pennies? I think any sensible human would have a clear answer.

• GTR 2.0 on Dec 14, 2011 at 11:55 pm

I do think that all of us know what the charity mean. But do they need to publicize it? Macam tak ikhlas je…. And don’t think this type of news suit this type of blog. Just my 2 cents. Peace!!

• as usual lah! on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:06 am

i used do circumcision like you, then i took arrow in the knee~

• Someone on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:06 am

Buy a Perodua for charity. Part of the profit will proceed to charity for… boys circumcision??

• Forrrestcat on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:27 am

U guys blind…see who buy the most myvis and vivas…perodua is targeting demography in is PR exercize..just like garnier and many shampoo ads now geaturing women in tudung…

• since its a small donation and kinda of small ceremony i believe the “ketua kampung/penghulu” surely knows how to write a letter to P2 asking for a little fund..

Its just rm80 per person and rm3k for a cow maaa.. Considered small but yet its for charity and a good cause one.. If you are really into coperate world.. People/client will ask a freaking donation for their golf tournament.. What you guyz think of that?

• whitesmileman on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:00 am

Rather than mass circumcision, how about mass safety standards for the tin can they call cars. How about ESP and airbags to prevent mass decapitation?

• bla bla on Dec 15, 2011 at 3:08 am

now perodua come with new seat material ……recycle forskin…LOL

• jul2305 on Dec 15, 2011 at 8:22 am

Was a permit needed to have this event done? All the names of those involve, names of parents, IC’s, race, religion, activities, location. Will there be any “hanky panky’ paranoid things going on????

• albag on Dec 15, 2011 at 8:39 am

50 p2 cars will be limited edition with foreskin attached on steering wheels… nice one p2!

• oligopoli on Dec 15, 2011 at 8:56 am

as small the donation seems, as big as the value of the donation goes. good CSR.

• Mohd Hafiz Yusof (@_hafiz) on Dec 15, 2011 at 9:18 am

Part of thier CSR exercise. Nothing much to slam them on

• Eyesore on Dec 15, 2011 at 9:31 am

LOL..Even this one made it to ur column Paul?

BTW if I’m not mistaken, Proton have been doing this for long time already .. every year i think… mostly for the staff’s childrens… But they never make a big fuss about it… LOL..

Well when u want publicity everything counts isn’t it… But be aware there’s a very thin line between IKHLAS and TAK IKHLAS…. =p

• Fluid on Dec 15, 2011 at 10:42 am

Thats a lot of 4 skin lying around…

• ben yap on Dec 15, 2011 at 11:14 am

Christmas is around the corner. will P2 sponsor charity events for churches?

i doubt….

• samsam on Dec 15, 2011 at 11:57 am

paultan should add another category Funny

December 14, 2011 at 6:09 pm By Danny Tan
    Filed Under
    Cars, Local News, Malaysian Makes, Perodua, +Funny

• MenWithoutForeskinIsGay on Dec 15, 2011 at 6:19 pm

Cut alway the gland too,I like cut men.

• Medic on Dec 16, 2011 at 11:10 am

Just stick it in the air con fan blade at the front of the car..