Proton Inspira 2.0P gets 17″ wheels and bodykit

Proton has updated the top of the line Proton Inspira 2.0P model. It now wears wheels that are upped an inch in size wrapped with 215/50R17 tyres, and it also comes standard with a bodykit. The larger wheels and kit should be enough to visually differentiate it from the 2.0E model that was launched over a month ago.

Other than the wheels and the bodykit, other differentiators between the 2.0P and 2.0E include leather versus fabric door trim and seats, and different audio head unitt where you get a touch screen GPS for the 2.0P, and a normal MP3 CD player for the 2.0E. Proton does bundle a portable navigator with the 2.0E though, so all 2.0 liter models have some form of GPS. All other niceties like auto headlamps and rain sensors are available on both models.

The new Proton Inspira 2.0P is priced at RM92,450 OTR for solid colours, and RM92,900 OTR for metallic colours, an average premium of about RM6k over the 2.0E model.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• bugger on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:50 pm

Nice Mitsu designed car with ugly bodykit & rims

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 31
    • theanswer on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:55 pm

except for evo x design..actually i prefer inspira design compared to lancer gt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
      • But wonder why so many people modify their inspira to Lancer GT.

• PROdigy on Jul 18, 2012 at 3:47 pm

That’s the problem to a car manufacturer who just want to make money but not concern on their image….
          Any one wants to down grade their Lancer GT to Inspira?? Any one????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
        • what do you mean by downgrade?

• toyotathenvwnow on Jul 27, 2012 at 3:32 pm

maybe because they secretly dreaming of owning Lancer GT??

• They modify inspira to look more like evo 10, not lancer GT.

• Inspira & Vios Owner on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:38 pm

To be honest the overall quality of my Jan 2011 Inspira 2.0P (1st batch) is very much better compared to my Sep 2009 Vios 1.5G (TRD). Now only my wife drives the Vios coz I prefer the Inspira which is also more fun to drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
        • PROdigy on Jul 18, 2012 at 3:38 pm

of course bro!!! Proton copy the entire Mitsubishi technology…. should thanks to Mitsubishi NOT Proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 32
        • PROdigy, true. The same cannot be said to Preve. Until now still plague with problems at the factory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • not proton? it’s proton rnh ma

• @amoi
          no, not at the factory as the number of preve is increasing on the road everyday

• dreaming of maserati on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:38 am

surely man! the vios is just the same quality as saga SE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
        • 6Jahaman on Sep 24, 2012 at 4:13 pm

Agree wiyh you. Got my 2.0P recently. Now already nearly 4K mileage. Compared to my wife vios G, yes, vios is easier to drive but inspira is a lot more fun. At 140km/h I feel something floaty with vios, with this 2.0P, 180 km/h still not feeling anything. Drove a civic before, same character. Nor regret buying Inspira. Let the bashers be themselves, because they don’t have one.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
          • Namja on Jan 08, 2014 at 1:10 pm

I bought inspira 2.0P september 2012, now already reach 50K km. So far no problem, in excellent condition except the tire sounded strange may be because been punctured by 5 inches bolt.

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:56 pm

They should give 18 inch indeed. 17 does not give much different. But wait! What tyres are they using? Conti CC5?

• theanswer on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:53 pm

no need too big la. 18 might be too thin..less comfort.

• ExContinetntalTyreUser on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:31 am

dun ever use continental tyre..
      it cracks easily on malaysian road. then it burst and cause total lost. blame sime darby as a manufacturer.

• currentcontinentaltyreuser on Jul 18, 2012 at 9:01 am

how come the tyre crack easily… are u use it for drift? actually, after several tires I’ve been used before… IMHO.. this is the best for me in terms of comfort and less tyre noise.

• koochai on Jul 18, 2012 at 9:29 am

i read somewhere on the net : continental malaysia (SD) does not produce tyre for passenger cars. correct me if i’m wrong.

• Metroboy2 on Jul 18, 2012 at 11:13 am

continental do produce passenger car tyre but thats from their factory up north not in PJ. Anyway sime darby has sold their shares in continental. Now their on their own

• driverfortheboss on Jul 18, 2012 at 2:00 pm

crack easily?? never happen to me except the age of the tyre exceed 2 years of usage… i have used Continental, Michelin Curtis, Hankook and Falken… I like Continental for the comfort and handling. Hankook for sport handling. others are just to replace during emergency.

• merepek on Jul 18, 2012 at 4:29 pm

haha u buy cheap conti of coz problem..
        want to buy have to buy conti made in german or czech republic..

buy Conti Sports Contact 2… 3.. or 5…

MAKE sure its made in EU!
        fabulous…!

• FxxxGxxx on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:24 am

Continental MX5.. it’s quite a gud perform tyre..

• merepek on Jul 18, 2012 at 4:30 pm

lousy tire…
        CS3 or CS5.. excellence driving experience..

if on slight budget go on good year asym 2 (make sure its made in GERMAN)…

• ernie on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:49 pm

its conti mc5 bro.performance tyres.

• what to do on Jul 20, 2012 at 1:17 pm

u dont know what performance is..
        try Conti sports contact 3 or 5..
        that is performance..

of good year F1 asym 2…

or michelin pilot sports 3…

others are… rubbish

• tamak la lu brother!

• chan kam nam on Jul 19, 2012 at 9:00 am

based on pattern, looks like Conti Max Contact and not CC5.

• sorham on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:16 pm

U can see from the pic its Conti MAX contact….

• Azydy on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:22 pm

haha.. regular design.. not unique.. piirah.. proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
  • nebula87 on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:22 pm

17inches macam bukan 17inches….>.<

• of course on big arches, civic put 17″ also not obvious, but only realize after your body gets painful

• Bloody expensive for a local car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • DArkerMarker on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:25 pm

hahahaha…some Myvi cars are ruuning around in 18 inches wheel…..

So what is the hoohaa, Proton??

• BalanceD on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:30 pm

Ask those Myvi drivers how they drive, then you would know. Running on super low profile tires is a PITA!!

• theanswer on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:54 pm

real butthurt…cant imagine the comfort level in those 17/18 myvi.

• lol even kancil can do 17″ rims, wait till you do the corner and the rest you will know

• Metroboy2 on Jul 18, 2012 at 11:15 am

does it comes as a standard package? stupiak statement

• slowpoke

• rosdi on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:30 pm

Nice sport rim design.

• ckk125 on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:32 pm

slowpoke

• It is a sign that the Inspira is becoming more Proton than Lancer with more local content parts. I won’t be surprised they’re working on a facelift or put their own headlamps or tail lamps and some interior consoles. Proton rims sucks, the metal they use is so soft and will bend because of our lousy roads!

• Josh Ling on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:56 am

when proton decided to rebadge lancer as inspira -> cannot, proton should come up with its own cars and not rebadge. inspira is still a lancer, no, we should be able to produce a true malaysian car; now when proton decided to introduce more local parts and design into inspira -> cannot, it is too proton! we want less “proton” in inspira……

• in a nutshell all proton doing is wrong, nothing is correct. if other brands, it’s all right, nothing is wrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • damn true. Hope malaysian will appreciate proton more.

• humble bee on Jan 06, 2013 at 1:58 pm

guys jus dun simply bash proton….i m using a persona….i bought it coz of budget constraint…but it realy caught me by surprise…better than vios dugong….seriously…i m not saying dat proton is the best but they have improved….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
          • how would you know persona is better than vios? since you have budget constraints you surely havent had a vios before right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
      • Rebadged OK on Jul 28, 2012 at 8:41 am

The way to get more sales for Potong is rebadged not only mitsubishi cars …. Exora should be terminated and replaced with cloned Honda Stream, Saga BLM/FX should be terminated and replaced with cloned Honda City and the mid-size car (Perdana of stone ages … fortunately terminated) could be replaced with a Toyota Camry Clone. In this way, Potong not only able to revive themselves but do all of us a big favor … we can have best of Jap technologies at a “cheaper” asking price! So Potong no need to fork-up (taxpayers money to build another dugong like “Prayer” at RM570 millions … for what?)the dough …

• any news about the new alza with integrated gps?

• Nic Cheong on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:59 pm

Why not ESP/VSC?

• retard on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:08 am

so expensive from kilang kereta rakyat.
    totally daylight robber.

• braderG on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:52 am

why no price increment on this one? 17″ bling bling wheel+rubber is no cheap wor!!sumore got bodykit! sumbody must have problem with their calculation evaluation here right?

• Ponorogo on Jul 18, 2012 at 1:03 am

Yeay…more bodykits!!!!….thanks Proton~

• mokmeng on Jul 18, 2012 at 2:13 am

hmm…nothing impressive..but at least much better than previous sport rims..previous rims very fugly..

• Audi Owner on Jul 18, 2012 at 3:45 am

In Taiwan this model is call Lancer IO and Lancer Fortis.They come with ABS + EBD,ASC,Tire pressure monitoring system,full-color multi-information LCD display,folding power side-view mirrors,7 air bags,HID headlamps directional, projector into the windshield of information on the instrumentation.So Proton is short selling us with older model or left over stocks.

• Jimmy on Jul 18, 2012 at 6:23 am

This is how car distributors increase car prices. No need to reduce car taxes if they are supergreedy and you know to whom I am referring.

• Mario Gomez on Jul 18, 2012 at 7:03 am

Rather choose Mitsu Lancer 2.0GT

• handling and nvh wise isnpira wins hands down

• go choose, proton don’t care.

• Yeah, but you’ll be outperformed with the 1.8 Manual Inspira. Sorry to break this sad news to you but Lancer GT is only available in CVT and manual is better than CVT anytime. Furthermore, the Lancer GT suffers from CVT overheat if it is driven at a high speed for prolonged period of time. Meanwhile, Inspira 1.8 Manual does not suffer these kind of problems because it does not use CVT. The Inspira 1.8 Manual will give a better acceleration compared to the Lancer GT. So, for RM78k, you get a car that offers more fun, better acceleration, faster and a transmission that will not suffer overheating problems. Still have some doubts about the Inspira? Well, if you do, then I’ve got nothing else to say.

Note : Please don’t say things like that Lancer GT is cheaper than Inspira if the Lancer GT is not taxed like how it is now. But since the tax here has not yet been lowered, then please keep in mind that Lancer is still the more expensive alternative. That is the reality of living in this country.

• Albert on Jul 18, 2012 at 8:15 am

With the Inspira price. You may have 2 option Vios TRD spec or City. What vios and city have have with the money you buy?

• FxxxGxxx on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:28 am

had less headache.. have more time (annual leave) with family instead of dating at Proton Service Center.. a honest comment from Persona Elegance owner..

• Question on Jul 18, 2012 at 11:32 am

How sure you are that Vios and City no problem?

• FxxxGxxx on Jul 18, 2012 at 8:21 pm

im sure because im the one who maintaining City year 2009 for my wife.. my persona is year 2010.. yet, my persona love service center a lot more than my wife’s city.. her city only complain rattling noise ONCE.. others just normal mileage service.. my persona?? prfff.. no space to list all out here.. with those poor attendance at service center.. even some little door rattling noise, they ask me leave my car whole day.. morning 8am send there, 3pm i passed by to see, they still unable to track the noise.. now, everytime the noise come out, i need to open my power window down and up, then it will gone like an hour maybe.. on some uneven road, it will come back for u.. is that, QC??

• phuity on Jul 19, 2012 at 1:55 am

@FxxxGxxx
          one red in thousands white
          cannot generalise it to all proton cars

• ernie on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:52 pm

oh yes fxxxgxxx. i have dated the mutiara service center almost 15 times in 2 years man. is that a record? persona m-line.

• that’s not the answer, he asked about vios and city, not your car

• The question is Inspira. Why persona come to the picture? Every car has its own problem. Event you drive BMW also got problem. Is just that You can’t afford to feel only. If you can afford, you will know and lagi sakit hati. Because you are paying for more than 200k.

• CFE_needed on Jul 18, 2012 at 8:27 pm

lols.. same goes to my persona 2008.. the problem never stop, sell it or accept it.. dat’s all I could say towards Proton’s car. Dun expect those monkeys in SC solve problem for you. Complain about single noise, soon they open up will become more noisy.. Traded my persona for a used Latio, so far so good!

• FxxxGXxx on Jul 19, 2012 at 2:22 am

Actually Persona feel more stable/comfort than 2009 City when high speed (150 km/h above)… but braking power is simply not enough.. interior smaller than City (sit in City once and u will know what I mean, especially the low setting of seat, worst of all is the small, low, flat, straight up, hard rock feel back seats) But my Persona elegance still look so nice to me (T.Black).. Put aside those funny problem, it’s a nice A to B point car for marketing person like me.. hehes.. fuel economy is good but a bit underpowered when pick up..

• FxxxGXxx on Jul 19, 2012 at 2:25 am

Refer to Persona back seat.. (especially the low setting of seat, worst of all is the small, low, flat, straight up, hard rock feel back seats)

• Fredo on Jul 18, 2012 at 8:26 am

come on guys! Proton is no longer “kereta rakyat”…. its now no more under Khazanah. So, it should not represent everybody in this country anymore….its totally business, nothing personal

• Then why are the protection mechanism still in place?

Shouldn’t it be an open & free enterprise then?

Protecting the new crony who bought over?

It’s not business, it’s politics & cronyism.

• So that crony can make $ , MITI, Umno rent seekers, ministers, ex pm, bmw, merc & car makers can make more money from the heavily taxed rakyat.

• Albert on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:01 am

Agree with you. If Proton able to offer better or higher spec than other maker. I would consider Proton. They do business, we select the Best for our investment. Simple as that.

• The picture where 4 suitcase can fit into the boot is misleading. The height of the boot is low due to full size tyres and a horizontal bar which sticks out from the top. No way, the suitcase can fit in in standing position. The Lancer is slightly better off because it has compact tyres instead. I drive a Lancer.

• Answer on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:08 am

Fyi…Inspira alr change to compact tire.

• ckk125 on Jul 18, 2012 at 1:51 pm

overseas u have to add money for full size spare tyre.

http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com.au/assets/pdfs/Brochure/MIT4213_Lancer_4pp_Accessories_LR.pdf

inspira owner here

• Josh Ling on Jul 18, 2012 at 2:48 pm

fyi, proton had changed their full size spare tyre to compact size one. so no, the photo is not misleading, because the boot size is bigger now. i saw it myself physically.

• fraz006 on Jul 18, 2012 at 8:56 pm

yeay! slowpoke!

• Leonardo on Jul 18, 2012 at 9:12 am

@ Poor MARU – I bet you don’t know most of the sports rims used by a majority of cars sold in Malaysia, including some continentals, are either made by JRD/Bright Rims (same company) YHI, Enkei Rawang, BRM and a few other small companies. If you are using a sports rim, chances are that it will be locally made, made in Thailand or made in Taiwan!

• PROdigy on Jul 18, 2012 at 9:20 am

Is a sign showing this car is not selling well in the market…. of course lah!!! can’t even export and sell in other countries!!!!

• Chow 1 on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:06 am

It’s a fine car to drive. But I don’t like the ugly exhaust part exposed at the back, looks very dirty and not class.

• tunguuu on Jul 18, 2012 at 11:14 am

agreed..even the CPS neo has this exhaust part hanging low at the back..so unfinished look.

• Kevin on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:14 am

i think proton really have to work on it Quality and Sefty Standard, no more Abang Adak Supplier.

Recently i when to Proton Showroom, and i said i friend bough you persona 2 week ago, but have alot of problem on WINDOWS & LOCK, and the saleman said do u know persona have 3000 part ? i said if that case i understand how u answer to you quality! SAID NO TO PROTON! Proton = Bed Quality!

imagine other use less or do not use 3000 Part for a Car ???

Funny Answer!

• FAISAL on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:38 pm

Pergi terus Service Centre. Tanya Salesman buat apa. Diorang semua brand kereta diorang jual.Tapi bab enjin bukan semua tau. Kalau nak puas hati pergi terus ke Hq Servis centre. Complain kat sana

• what the hell is bed quality

• Embun on Jul 18, 2012 at 5:09 pm

Are you using google translate?

• teacher on Jul 18, 2012 at 5:53 pm

Kevin.!..oh my english!!

• cloudye on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:04 am

oh my, look at your english. Terrible. No wonder the salesman talk to you like that. He low his standard just for you.

• PROdigy on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:55 am

Proton is wasting their time on this car…..

• aravind on Jul 18, 2012 at 11:25 am

92k is too much for a local car and moreover proton did not spend money on R&D on the car. THey are gonna keep selling this car for the next 7 years i suppose like how they did with wira, perdana and saga. In the past 26 years the quality kept degrading.

• Answer on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:09 pm

The entire engine parts is Made in Japan. If you buy Honda or Toyota Engine is local part and thailand part only. You choose.

• matlimmutu on Jul 18, 2012 at 5:21 pm

u r wrong, proton did spend money on r&d of this car. u go n drive lancer n drive inspira. both hv pros n cons but i prefer inspira ride n handling.

• aravind on Jul 20, 2012 at 8:28 am

yes i have. no doubt about it. the handling is much better from the lancer but 92k is still pretty expensive for malaysians.

• emily on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:03 pm

So the real problem is you can’t afford this car

• hey dude…. if you can;t afford, dont talk bad about this good car please. Last time, perdana used to sell for over 100 K and imagine the value of that same 100k back then compared to the same amount in the current time. Therefore, Inspira selling for 92k = expensive should be out of the question here. If you just cant affford this car, just dont talk bad about it, period!

• benzema on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:12 am

yes it didnt involve with deep r&d. but havent u heard royalty and custom taxes?

• keluangman on Jul 18, 2012 at 11:41 am

Too expensive cannot afford so not interested…amount of f**ks given = 0

• you do give a f**k. if your amount of f**k given is 0, you would’nt comment to this entry.

• i noticed that the pictures posted here r mixed with the previous 16 inches rim..

the new colour shade looks good on this car. should introduce da same colour for preve.. dunno why but proton colour selections r not bad.

they should put in more grey-shades selections n include pearl shades.. then only ppl got more choices besides making da car looks better..

• Josh Ling on Jul 18, 2012 at 3:01 pm

i agree on the new colours look better on inspira part. i have seen an elegant brown colour inspira, looking really good in real world. indiana grey not so sure yet, but it does look promising.

• matlimmutu on Jul 18, 2012 at 11:57 am

proton inspira: nicer than lancer.

• * …proton colour selections r bad….

• Expatriate VN on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:20 pm

Another round of freak this-and-that edition! This is the worst and best they can do?

• Josh Ling on Jul 18, 2012 at 3:05 pm

ehm….this is a proper model in the entire range of inspira, not this-and-that edition. 2.0P existed from the first day inspira was launched. it’s the flagship model of the entire range, if you haven’t noticed.

• vvtil on Jul 18, 2012 at 4:34 pm

tell that to other car makers, they do just the same

• merepek on Jul 18, 2012 at 1:07 pm

mmmm beli pun nanti rosak.. typical.. :)

• odi 1.8m on Jul 18, 2012 at 1:18 pm

inspira..hurm,nice..smart guy get it.value for money.all there for executive level like me.

• YeapyEvo on Jul 18, 2012 at 1:59 pm

Proton plz come out with a Inspira 2.0 J version:
    1)No need GPS
    2)Manual
    3)No need rain sensor, auto headlamp
    4)Put a 15″ steel rim, I will go upgrade myself to GYEF1A2
    5)Better quality leather seat
    6)Price at 80k

• Wak Jaw on Jul 18, 2012 at 2:12 pm

since day one, they are having difficulty to chose and design a Wheels. all design HANCURRR accept R3 edition. R3 design wheel or bodykit more awesome. Mybe R3 not purely under Proton (I think). Hope Proton will improved in designing bodykit and Wheel to look more sporty and motorsports driven.

• Metroboy2 on Jul 18, 2012 at 4:28 pm

if you want class, it comes with a price. Thats why R3 version will cost an arm and leg.

• Zakry on Jul 18, 2012 at 6:05 pm

Agree with metroboy.. inspira is meant as a family sedan and not meant for racing.. that’s why we have ah beng to rely on those stuff.. I’m an inspira owner myself and I have never had an issue with the day since Day 1 since Jan 2011 except that it is so much fun to drive.

• benzema on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:19 am

*except – grammar nazi

• we all need ESP for inspira, safety come first :)

• fraz006 on Jul 18, 2012 at 9:04 pm

pic 1,2,3 is the previousvariant,right.
    inspira is for people who dont mid their frens say: lancer gt 10x lagi lawa, rim kcik nak mampos, sebulan konfirm rosak, enjin campro la patut lembab (haha, ada…), design proton buruk luar dan dalam.

forget what others say. we know what we are buying and what actually we are getting/driving.

• Inpira2.0E on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:16 am

Preve cannot make money then U-Turn to Up-Grade Inspira… Great initiative by PROTON… drive one to my home ASAP…

• Inpira2.0E on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:18 am

Inspira better than Honda Civic and Toyota Altis…!!!

• I driven Civic and inspira before. Inspira compare with Civic: Both spec have it’s own pro and cont. However, you pay additional RM30k to RM40k for H Logo. That’s what I can say.

Corolla Altis? I think the spec is cheaper than Civic and Inspira, yet you pay additional RM20k to RM40k for T Logo. I think Corolla SEG is much more better than Altis. (I owned Corolla AE111 before).

• Inspira2.0E on Jul 31, 2012 at 9:02 pm

I want to Proton this afternoon… Haven’t see any costumers asked for Proton cars, even Preve… Only my self look around Inspira 2.0P/E… Its look great for my eyes… I know the price is much higher than it should be… What else can we do… Then grape one… keluar after raya… not too hurry… I am happy with Inspira compare to old Altis 1.8. :)

• RimauHitam on Aug 14, 2012 at 2:07 pm

Once u bought inspira notmuc to mod to lancer @ evo-x, as some p-pal done to wira and waja -lancer @ vo.
    But interested to me is I can get the 1.8 manual one.
    Does anyone know/sure that cvt will give hot to gearbox for long journey?

• Mr Rao on Sep 11, 2012 at 7:24 pm

Agreed Inspira 2.0 much better then Altis. The only drawback in Inspra compare to Altis is the “P” branding….otherwise Inspira is the superb car to drive around.

• Proton on Sep 20, 2012 at 8:19 am

Anyway, proton is producing lancer for Mitsu here for their export market.. I dunno whats the fuss everyone here that hates Proton.. Why dont you all just leave the country since u all dislike malaysia

• ahmadza on Oct 07, 2012 at 10:09 am

mine 2011 2.OP- of cos.proton reduce so many part due tag line value for money..however this car performance totally superb..with lotus handling..its fun rides..but when they become local parts..u all ready known..they should improved coating/painting, its really cheap…

• DurianGuy on Oct 07, 2012 at 8:46 pm

Appreciate advice. I hv a budget of RM100k. Short listed Inspira vs Chevrolet Cruze. Which one give better value for money? How is Chevrolet Service center compare to Proton in terms of responsiveness and professionalism? Last question – resale value comparison on both the car? Thks guys & gals!

• Proton on Oct 12, 2012 at 1:17 am

DurianGuy, go for Inspira..it is still the lancer engine n uses their gearbox transmission. Chevy might not have a good resale value as compared.

Don’t worry bout those fellows who talk about copycats or whatsoever, those are idiots. Why don’t they complaint about myvi, it uses daihatsu parts as well.. Cop perodua.

Many of the luxurious cars like Merc, certain models which are CKD uses our local vendors to supply them.. For eg dashboard or leather seat..

Yea you may wanna take out the proton badge n put in a Mitsubishi logo, what’s the prob… It’s all Mitsubishi inside… As I always say, they r people who dislikes their own country, can’t help it.. There will be some ass wipe who does not support or like their own country,,, why complaint? Migrate to elsewhere rather than wasting time condemning malaysia.

• Rowsely on Oct 28, 2012 at 3:14 pm

I have my own Inspira 2.0E since July’12 and have no problem whit this car so far.
    Handling… it much better than H brand(my wife Accord). Sometime she took my car whitout permission ..lol ! It has powerful engine and good suspension (same as what T camry offer, but except T has electric streering). Breaking system with ABS/ EDB system also good. Fuel usage also acceptable about 17cent/km.
    Overall.. I give 8.5 of 10 stars for this car. Value for money !!

• SHU WONG on Nov 16, 2012 at 7:27 pm

Overall i am satisfied with the car from performance to handling.Except the material and interior specs.
    Well, i got complete ori Mitsu Mivec engine and transmission, and mine is a 4B10 manual, what else shall i complain about, i got the car design i love, with affordable price and most of all, it is the only manual available for this model:)

• well, previously i drove volvo s40 and 6x changing a new gearbox!, overheating and etc. My wife drove altis ,also got a gearbox problem. So both us changed to Inspira. Me 1.8 and my wife 2.0. No headache anymore, fun to drive and less fuel consumption since i travel 100km per day to work. Congrat proton :)

• betul..betul…proton inspira is very good car. What else you want? Auto light, auto wiper…last time beli honda civic 1.8vtec 2008…harga mahal but nothing special (tiada auto light/auto wiper)..only sit and drive…bosan..harap meter digital je nampak cool..

• Fardee Ibrahim on Dec 16, 2012 at 4:18 pm

Jangan la nk kutuk Proton..
    Mai kt Australia…
    Die org amik model Chevrolet tuka jadi Holden kononnya Australian car…
    Dapat la Holden Caprive (Chevrolet Captive), Holden Cruze (Chevrolet Cruze)… Kdg2 Opel pn Holden…
    So, at least Malaysia we have our own product k- Saga BLM, Waja, Gen2, Persona, Preve…
    Aku bangga ke tgk Proton kt sini..

• Hi, I own a Inspira 1.8E. I owned it for a year now and i agree with the other owners here that i have never experienced any problems or faults with the car. I don’t understand ppl complaning that Inspira is a copy of Lancer? Isn’t that a good thing? Price is much much cheaper then the Lancer..its about 40k cheaper than a Lancer GT and your getting the same engine, gearbox & interior..don’t complain about the rims are ugly..if u dont like it..just change them..theres tons of wheel shop in malaysia. What i can say is..best value of money..good car..no regrets buying INSPIRA

• Abu Mohammed on Dec 21, 2012 at 6:35 pm

Went to test drive Preve but ended up purchasing the Inspira. Surely Inspira is in a class of it’s own. Couldn’t care much about all the negative comments about Inspira or Proton, I love my Proton Inspira! Even my father loved it after taking the car for a spin!

• bosxx2 on Dec 29, 2012 at 8:23 am

Inspira 2.0 vs inspira 1.8 manual. Which one perform better n faster?

• of course manual perform better, cos you can control the gear shift/ratio@rpm. Unless you can master the use of paddle shifter. From the offical spec, manual version has higher hp.

• arcsz on Jan 17, 2013 at 3:00 pm

my inspira is superb..been using it for a year now..and got a new 18″ japan shoes…yawww…
    no underpower issue at all xD

• 2.0P indianna grey driver on Jan 20, 2013 at 10:03 am

Mine is 2012 2.0p inspira. Just clock in 10k milage so far the car is superb. No problem. The premium really give premium feeling so if you have extra budget do opt for premium. I did compare with non premium inspira at car club. As a woman driver do appreciate the reverse camera. No regret buying this car :)

• Mine is a 1st batch 2.0P. Great handling and fun to drive. No problem thus far. Piece of advise to other 2.0P owner, make sure your insurance coverage on wind screen are sufficient. I changed my one last 2 mths due to crack at kesas sercvice centre – the cost was RM2700.00 inclusive of workmanship! (i have only insure it for RM1000.)

• SHU WONG on Apr 10, 2013 at 6:52 pm

One thing which is not good being an inspira owner…hands begin to be itchy…mind begin with many mod ideas…this car has plenty room for MOD…from bodykit to accessories to performance parts. Love this car design since 2007..and now love it even more…that aggressive look makes me happy driving it all time.