VIDEO: Proton Suprima S Launch Livestream

The day is here – the launch of Proton’s latest car, which we believe is called the Proton Suprima S based on spy photos that we saw earlier this week. We’re expecting the livestream to begin at about 10am.

After the launch ceremony, we’ll take you through a walk-around of the car and we also have some interviews with Proton management scheduled, so stay tuned and we hope you enjoy the show.

Live coverage services by Creature Communications Sdn Bhd

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• OMG! What happen to preve’s ass? Got kicked?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 90
    • kadajawa on Aug 17, 2013 at 7:48 am

I will buy Suprima if given Life Time warranty entire car parts + Life time forever free service (parts & labour)….

Only then it’s worth buying and no more pening kepala…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 64
      • sonyman on Aug 17, 2013 at 9:20 am

not correct either friend. Even with warranty and life time free spare parts. Unless you live next to proton service center, i think you probably be spending your time there most of you life owning a proton car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 97
        • What is this? on Aug 17, 2013 at 10:41 am

Is this a primary school choir? What kind of launching is this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
          • Ah Beng on Aug 17, 2013 at 3:00 pm

This should be renamed to Proton Durex. Suprima leave for banana replacement. Like to agree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
        • That is why it comes with free motorbike ma. If rosak got backup vehicle

• kadajawasengal on Aug 17, 2013 at 9:23 am

sengal!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • gkl83 on Aug 17, 2013 at 10:45 am

Thought is 5 years warranty only as stated in Suprima brochure?

• Ninja Siam on Aug 17, 2013 at 10:54 am

okay..try buy ex5 with life time warranty…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • Please furbish us with a fact of which car maker gives a lifetime warranty. If you can’t do so, with all due respect, shut your mouth & do a better job next time, boy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • kadajawi on Aug 17, 2013 at 5:00 pm

+1 for Proton Durex
        5 years protection for “leakage”
        Safety first mah

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 17, 2013 at 9:23 am

Proton is a low class car for people who have their hands tied and are “forced” to buy. If people have their hands untied ie freedom to buy anything without government protecting Proton, nobody will buy the trash Proton produces. Other countries in Asia, our neighbours, Thailand and Indonesia, you can buy an Altis or a Civic for the price of a low down Waja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 78
      • To compare:

1. Europe Country, Salary Ratio to Car Price.
        2k + vs 10k-20k car price.

2. malaysia.
        2k+ salary vs 60k – 120k car price.

3. AND YET.
        Goverment taxation so much on car!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 5
        • mastermind on Aug 17, 2013 at 11:00 am

One more there (EUROPE) are more transparent…..
          kiss on public naked on public n many more…the can do it broooo…..hahah…
          but I LOVE MALAYSIA MORE THAN U….

LET’s BUY PROTON hahaha…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 11
        • Living in Malaysia on Aug 17, 2013 at 12:22 pm

You haven’t considered ownership costs. It makes a big difference…

• nobody want to force you to buy. it’s our own money want to buy what car u like. if u dont like just simply dont but. as for my self, i really dont like vios..even the new one..so i bought city for my daughter. i myself just drives preve although i can buy >100k cars. why so bother? pity on you…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 11
      • Syazwan shah on Aug 17, 2013 at 10:49 am

Really? My hands arent tied and i bought a saga blm se 3 years ago out of choice.. And unlike what u idiot kiasus claim, my car never had any problems, including power window.. Its how u take care of your car that matters, like i care for mine.. Also, if u like to compare prices with other country then by all means, leave and stay there so u can enjoy all those cars at cheap prices.. Its people like u who never understood patriotism..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 33
        • agree

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
        • odd job worker on Aug 17, 2013 at 3:29 pm

you are no different from people who ask us to leave Malaysia when we speak out on crime or corruption.
          What sort of logic is this?
          I am patriotic but is this how country repays us? by charging us premium for supporting national car. Please don’t forget the original aim for national car is to help malaysians. How is it helping Malaysians when excise duty still being charged on local car with local parts and subsidies?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
        • kadajawi on Aug 17, 2013 at 5:07 pm

Patriotism by supporting proton? You are paying to crony bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
        • just accept the fact…proton is overprice…if not bcoz of tax ppls wil choose toyota honda or others…proton’s quality is juzt sucks, i noe evry brand will have problem bt proton is just too much, just look at majority preve problem…most of the ppl critic is bcoz they used proton before and they noe the prob…and 1 more thg is proton’s campro fuel comsumption is vry bad,ur saga’s 1.3 consume even more fuel thn vios 1.5…and please when goverment not doing it right, we rakyat shud comment bt not act like macai asking ppls shift out the country, u dun hv tat right as dis is not ur father’s country..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
        • Your statement just shows your low IQ level….pity!!

• OMG…Luckily my Preve sedan is look nicer than this ugly Suprima…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • yellow bean on Aug 17, 2013 at 2:00 am

waliau….. so suspense ka? anti climax oredi.hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 67
  • Proton is unveiling an underwear brand called Suprima? What happen to the management after i left? *Facepalm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 25
  • Front row seat, thanks Paultan!!

http://cache.blippitt.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/Popcorn-02-Stephen-Colbert.gif

• Ah Beng on Aug 17, 2013 at 4:57 am

Is Proton executive wearing Suprima underwear or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 44
  • Proton Salesman on Aug 17, 2013 at 5:00 am

Wear the new Suprima and have 5 years warranty against leakage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 20
  • kadajawa on Aug 17, 2013 at 7:50 am

To increase sales against Vios, Proton should give free 1-year supply of Suprima seluar dalam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 22
  • Matno on Aug 17, 2013 at 8:10 am

i beg your pardon?

proton suprima s? once again, suprima? why suprima? why it’s called suprima? sorry proton, but that name was so derived from indonesian words.

i rest my case. period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 19
  • I want suprima size xl…… got it…. s too small for me….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
    • Ninja Siam on Aug 17, 2013 at 11:00 am

can’t wait to upload video of ‘spender’ car winning to ‘non spender’ car..ready to ‘makan asap’…?!!
      keh..keh..keh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • Shame_Loo on Aug 17, 2013 at 9:09 am

Let’s not make proton supporter disappointed. Buy suprima, free KY n Durex 1 Dozen…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
    • looks like shame loo got some experience :-)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 2
    • Otak pr0n pegi tgk pr0ntube sana, sigh.

Btw kudos to Paultan & Co. Keep it up guys ;)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
  • Just bloody launch it already. Its not a brand new model. IT IS JUST PREVE in a hatchback variant.

Plus, i see one of you commented on lifetime warranty of parts? You tell me, which car manufacturer is stupid enough to give you that kinda deal. I want to buy from them too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 44
  • I lol how the mind level of proton bashing here right now, u even have free time and even bother to write a shyt right now, dont u have something else to do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • Why i always got the video ended…. Is it just me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Nyata kelompok mana yang sangat kuat menyindir..samada tak nak lihat orang maju kehadapan atau nak lihat kejatuhan supaya mereka “supreme”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • silvia13 on Aug 17, 2013 at 10:26 am

Read all comment by fan of proton look like their still like proton and want to buy it but no money.
    Forget to compare with luxury car again please focus on
    What proton to give to customer with minimum price..
    If all of you look back to the overall model price by all oem only few unit still below rm100k.
    But in segment c like suprima s with excellent speed and handling the price is below 80k…
    So try to get it first before you give scrap comment in profesional blog like this…your comment will impact to the paultan popularity because of no info only give kindgarden level of comment always.
    Go to edar today get it info and give comment again in this blog…better than u just give comment without know the true story…tq

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 11
    • agree with you. some ppl comments just base on perception. comments without try it first. the is a comment up there said it just a preve but hey, i’ve read all the technical spec( the confidential one). there are a lot of differences between sedan and HB.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 5
    • Scooby on Aug 17, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Finally… Brilliant comment from matured man… Agree with u bro.

• jbond on Aug 17, 2013 at 12:33 pm

proton sucks when it come to QC ! that the part i hate the most ! Technology wise already up-to-date, but never care about quality & after sales service ! that never been their top priority ! stupid ass hole ! ambil duit but never deliver up to expectation !!!

• P Sucks on Aug 17, 2013 at 3:32 pm

Like it, Buy la….guarantee you suffer later….kereta buruk with lousy quality….ah beng ah beng saje( tau nak smoke orang saje…bodoh!

• angry bird2 on Aug 18, 2013 at 11:16 pm

Are u the salesman @ proton? Im sure yr sales will drop.

• Man….. the launching is soo LAME.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
  • Anyway, i’d prefer Proton over Perodua anytime. At least they did a much better job in quality and built over this few years. Yes, they suck years ago but that IS HISTORY AND BURIED.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 5
  • Of course this is me comparing with the local makes. If its me given the choice, i’d go with imports for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
    • for me, i’m not going to bluntly waste my money to buy more expensive car if the spec and features are almost the same. better keep those extra money for other profitable investment

• Redart on Aug 17, 2013 at 11:05 am

Whatever said and done, a car is basically a means of transportation to their destination from point A to point B. What one buys it is best left to their own logic & reasoning in arriving to the decisions. But my 2 cents worth is this, being a Preve CFE owner myself since last couple of months, am indeed utterly surprised that am getting so much value in comparison to other makes.

• Mann Bell on Aug 17, 2013 at 11:17 am

at 88, tun is still the man!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • 20 years old on Aug 17, 2013 at 11:34 am

Hatchback preve…design?? Urm…not that bad but not that eye- catching…but i thought they said that the interior is redesigned for better quality than preve..maybe slightly better..engine of course cfe, one of the fastest 0-100 km/h in its class..but fuel consumption, well, lets see…wait for paultan test drive report…

• better u test by yourself. u’ll feel it b ur own..jangan jadi pemalas..semua nak harap org lain buat..pastu baca..pastu komen..

• sonyman on Aug 17, 2013 at 11:36 am

i still miss DSZ presentation, This fellow bloody boring presentation. He also very nervous. Can listen to his breathing and speaking not in sync.

I also can present better.

Sooozzzzzzz…. Boring presentation. What lah.

• Price still a bit steep. Should be a bit lower.

• damn!!!! really fully loaded! great value for money in term of spec and features. i wonder how the R3 version will perform..niceeee

• thanks paultan! great livestream!!!

• Screw Proton EDAR!!! on Aug 17, 2013 at 12:21 pm

as mas as you complain…proton edar which owns by who..u know who r them… they purposely make claim to replace spare parts and at the same time they r telling proton sucks…they might have agenda to criticize malaysian products. i can even record proton edar’s techinician (mcm la technician sgt) say that “APA LA PETRONAS ENGINE, PETRONAS MINYAK PUN X BAGUZ” AND yet he’s making profit by replacing parts early than scedule at the same time criticize PROTON. COME ON!!!!

• cant wait to see this car smoke the vios and city and also myvi…for all the basher go to hell

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 2
  • vince on Aug 17, 2013 at 12:43 pm

still using the same gear stick, look cheap like year 1990 gear stick

• Do u all notice that the child-lock right rear failed on them ? On/Off also on….that’s why 4th person stuck for a while!!

ex-CIA agent

• Felltosleep on Aug 17, 2013 at 1:35 pm

This is by far, the most boring launch I have ever seen……

• muammarhafiz on Aug 17, 2013 at 1:37 pm

Proud of Proton !
    Malaysia Boleh !

this is indeed a nice car, great in so many aspect especially safety and quality.

• djhead on Aug 17, 2013 at 1:38 pm

they should have name it Proton Sup Rimau

• Ex Proton Dog Forever Proton Basher Now on Aug 17, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Teruk la launching event ni. This is what happens when you are a not-so-good company trying to sell a new not-so-great car. If I am a kampung boy COO with limited vocabulary, I would not get near the mic let alone present a new product to Malaysia/the world. People would not take your word for $#i7 bro. 5 stars my a$$. Get someone influential to represent the model to attract people to listen laaa…hadoiii…this is not the way to trick people to buy a proton. Proton please spend some money to recruit “verygood” & “verynice” people, u pay peanuts you get monkey COOs.

• Ex Proton Dog Forever Proton Basher Now on Aug 17, 2013 at 2:34 pm

Bale…if you do buy this car, cant WAIT to see you WAITING for rectifications in a Proton SVC CTR. You wanna see vios, city, myvi get smoked? I bet the vios, city, myvi owners doesnt mind that. They have peace of mind on their purchased vehicles. On the other hand, i bet what they want to see is how long your car can smoke others before some smoke coming out from your own…haha

• Dato' Lukman on Aug 17, 2013 at 3:25 pm

Ekceli…ekceli…ekceli

• Marvin on Aug 17, 2013 at 3:31 pm

Two best statements in this launch:
    “Proton is not a producer of cheap and low quality cars..”
    “6 airbags, not available in other cars in its class… (i was thinking, really?)…. of its same price range”… where price comes into equation, you guys win for sure la… no need to compare anything else..

• Kesper on Aug 17, 2013 at 4:11 pm

I’m really not so sure why Proton is so proud that their products are cheaper.

• Ah Beng on Aug 17, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Got free underwear or not?

• afroromeo on Aug 17, 2013 at 5:51 pm

cheap car + expensive fuel (no subsudy) vs higher car price + cheap fuel (with subsidy) : which one is better?

• pxp154 on Aug 17, 2013 at 6:00 pm

Proton’s next White Elephant! yahoOo!!!
    can join savvy, tiara, juara as well…LOL

p/s: preve/suprima….10years too late! ppl move on to jap/korean cars for tht price range! pfftttt

• Hisham Othman COO on Aug 17, 2013 at 10:58 pm

“U wan bigger trunk space, go and buy lori…”

*Awkward silence*

Not the best thing to say to convince people to buy right. Such an a$$ la u. Some more expecting people to clap. Maaaade.

• gooleng on Aug 18, 2013 at 12:37 am

You want bigger trunk space, go and buy lorry !!
    OMG. Can’t stop laughing. So low standard presentation…

Still I’m proud to be Malaysian.

• Ex Proton Dog Forever Proton Basher Now on Aug 18, 2013 at 2:55 pm

Check out this website: 17 Things You Didn’t Know About Proton Cars.

Well here are my 17 slaps-to-the-face for Proton:

1) How many cars are there in North & South Poles? Why would you spend so much money to bring cars to be tested in N&S Poles? Nak lawan air cond kau yang sejuk gile tu dengan iklim N&S Poles ke? Please use that money to invest in your supply chain networks for them to increase their product quality. Cuba buat scheme for vendor development program. Bagi some capital to them. Tak ramai pun anak Malaysia drive kereta proton dekat north & south poles tu. Balik Malaysia cepat, banyak suis rosak kat sini! *SLAP*

2) Proton’s Tanjung Malim plant in one of the Discovery Channel’s segments, was called as the “most advanced modern car plant”. My question: At what utilization rate does Tg. Malim now operates at? Why operate in both locations, Tg. Malim and Hicom? Shut one $#i7 down and save your OPEX la. *SLAP*

3) Proton is the only ASEAN car maker to pass Australian ANCAP with full 5-star rating? Yeah yeah. Quite good. OK la. Boleh jual. Tapi. hehe. If you want to sell safety, jangan la suruh orang Australia assess kereta kita. Suruh la orang Eropah (Euro NCAP). Alang2 nak guna nama mat salleh, cari la mat salleh yang betul. *SLAP*

4) Currently, there are Proton car owners in 25 different countries in the world. <— Yes I agree. But how many of them are happy with the product? How many of them would recommend to their grandchildren to buy a Proton? Sebab tu kita nampak banyak orang tua dekat Malaysia drive Mercedes. It was well known back in those years that Mercedes produced awesome shiznit. Orang boleh beli proton sebab cuba try, tapi orang tak sanggup cuba try 2 kali. Tunggu la zaman anak-cucu kita, semua toleh pandang Audi dengan BMW. Mercedes pun dah jarang nampak. Buat la homework, publish dekat public. Mcm URL atas ni. *SLAP*

5) Malas ah komen pasal Egypt. Membazir masa je.

6) Miss Universe Australia 2013 is the ambassador of Proton. Haaaaaaaaaaaaa now we are talking. Masalah nye nobody escalated this info to the public. I understand la bukan semua masyarakat di Malaysia yang boleh terima model bikini pakai seksi2, tapi use it for some events to attract different type of customers from different type of backgrounds. Jangan la suruh model tu datang promote kereta dekat Kelantan bohhhh. Use adverts that could impact people psychologically, alaaa u know what I'm saying. Korang run bisnes jual kereta, bukan bisnes mintak sedekah. Come onnnnn. *SLAP*

7) In July 2013, Proton clocked the fastest time in history for a “Malaysian Touring Car Class” (MTC) race car, overtaking Mazda, Toyota & Ford with a time of under 2:39 minutes. <—- Awesome shiznit. Tapi banyak orang tak tau. Spend la duit utk banyakkan TV commercial. Include info macam ni. Ini asyik spend untuk makannnnn meetinggggg je.

8) Proton is the only team to win 7 awards championships in a year at the Asia Pacific Rally Championship. <—- Superb! ini boleh jual. Tapi tak cukup hype lagi. *SLAP 2 kali* – sebab tak slap atas tadi. hehe.

9) Oh. Topik polis. Polis malaysia bagus. hehehe.

10) Jaga Lotus tu baik2, cantik2, baru boleh jual nama Lotus tu. *SLAP*

11) Proton is the only Muslim country manufacturer, and the only 'full-fledged' manufacturer in South East Asia that designs, develops and manufactures their own cars. <— Ni yang lemah ni. Ye la saya nak support, tapi end-up saya yang jaga kereta, bukan kereta yang jaga saya. Susah la bang macam ni. Saya dah ade duit nak beli ni. Tapi issshhh. Susah la bang. Last last Myvi jugak saya beli. Elok je kereta tu. *SLAP*

12) Malas lah nak komen pasal tax. Bab ni complicated la. *SLAP*

13) Proton is the only team to win both first and second place in the Sepang 1000km Endurance Race 2012. <— again, siapa yang tahu pasal ni selain orang yang baca ProtonCom? Public tak tauuu. Tak kenal, tak cinta. *SLAP*

14) Hot press forming. Betul la german technology. Tapi german's technology tahun berapa bang? Saya belajar dulu memang ade dalam buku materials engineering. Buku tu written and publish dah lama dah bang. *SLAP*

15) Proton's Turbo engine of 205 NM torque can accelerate from 0-100kmh in less than 10 seconds. Nice! Hebat! Tak banyak anak Malaysia boleh buat kereta laju2 camni. Eh silap, sebenarnye banyak. Workshop pokok ceri melambak boleh buat kereta kita bagi laju. Tapi laju je la bang. Makan minyak macam ikan bernafas dalam air, maknenye takde la efficient mana engine tu. *SLAP*

16) Proton and Honda. Good move. Bravo. Siapa punya idea ni? Saya shake hand, salam, peluk, cium semua. You are the people that saved the company. Not the brand. Dont get me wrong. The brand requires more work to be done. *SLAP jugak sebab geram*

17) Drift King ke Drift Prince ke …he is the drift king la. Bagi la dia buat show banyak sikit. Anak muda Malaysia yang beli kereta proton. Anak muda Malaysia perlukan idol. Daripada bagi kat mat salleh si Ken Block tu, baik naikkan Tengku Djan. Bukan susah. Beli GoPro banyak2, edit, upload Youtube. Make sure lagu sedap la bang.

My 0.02 cents.

• P fans on Aug 18, 2013 at 3:15 pm

I remembered not long ago a contest called “nama siapa hebat” was launched! so i entered the contest, the requirement is to name the new hatchback in 5 words in MALAY. and now u name it SUPRIMA S, how is that 5 words, i guess who don’t have to give out this SUPRIMA S since u used none of the contestant’s suggested name. Brilliant. You guys are good at using the leeway. Look at Saga SV, remove items walah cheaper car! look at preve higher quality walah the price! look at Suprima S walah smaller boot more exp than preve WALAH! i drive proton i support proton but please stop eating us. BTW have anyone heard about airbag injuries? to me air bag is useful only if ur car frame is good enough, and this car has no ancap 5 star rating, belum buat! mind u that is australian version of preve, local version, no ancap rating…

• stupidjoe on Aug 18, 2013 at 7:58 pm

haha..pity of u..that comp for new proton car (globar car) not for this SUPRIMA…and one more thing..preve got 4 air bag or 6 air bag?dont be stupid la kawan…this car got 5 ancap…kesian la u..bodoh bertingkat2

• Omar BMY on Aug 18, 2013 at 3:16 pm

Hi All! I’m Singaporean and like to think we are a very practical lot…in search of value.
    I started using driving a proton Iswara some years back. Since then I have been driving Proton all the way – from Iswara, Waja, Gen2, Persona and currently the Exora (CPS).

I honestly find Proton delivers sufficiently good value despite market perception. I can, as an owner, see the evolutionary progress in terms of general quality. Sad that our land scarcity neccesitates high car ownership cost.
    I will gladly buy another Proton anytime… especially when seeing my friends with more established makes face similar and more expensive problems with their Japanese and continental cars.

• azteks on Aug 18, 2013 at 5:42 pm

….and still when their compare wit others car maker like F, P, n M they got all wrong wether the price nor the picture dat have shown (exp F maker) i.e. for P maker they shown 308 Griffe pic with 308 Turbo company price and so on…

• audio on Aug 18, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Got the chance to testdrive the car today. Dang! this car is superbbbb!!~..

• PRICE TOO HIGH…ENUFF SAID..

• after test drive for my comments:
    – horse power is around 130hp but drive like persona or preve.
    RM80k not worth better choose persona or preve.

• Kong Kek Kuat on Aug 19, 2013 at 2:43 pm

seriously.
    The interior is farkin UGLY

• Kamilnutcase on Aug 22, 2013 at 1:42 pm

for those who have large amount of money, go buy better car. for those who doesnt we are left with few options. so be it…