Team Proton R3 has scored a 1-2 finish at the recently concluded, final leg of the 2014 Malaysian Super Series – taking top honours in the Malaysian Touring Car class. In first place is the No.12 Suprima S R3 followed behind by the No.11 Prevé R3 race cars.

The final round of the series was held at the Sepang International Circuit on November 2, which saw the team claim its best result of the year. Throughout the entire duration of the race, two well-executed pit stops plus flawless coordination of the team ensured the victory.

Piloting the No.12 Suprima S R3 car were James Veerapen and Tengku Ezan, who managed to record a total race time of one hour, a minute and thirty-five seconds – with a fastest lap time of two minutes and thirty-seven seconds. The No.11 Prevé R3, driven by Syafiq Ali, clocked a total race time of one hour, one minute and fifty-seven seconds.

From left to right: Syafiq Ali, Tengku Ali, James Veerapen, Mark Darwin and Fitra Eri

Rounding off the final step on the podium was the No.19 Satria Neo of Team Sakura of Tedco Racing – driven by Mark Darwin and Fitra Eri. The team emerged as the champions of 2014 with the No.19 Satria Neo, marking the fourth consecutive time a Proton Satria Neo has won the overall championship.

Besides being there at the unveiling of the Suprima S R3 Malaysian Super Series Touring Car early this year, we had the opportunity to ride in the mean machine at Sepang, and even featured it in this year’s Driven Web Series, with racing legend Karamjit Singh at the helm, no less.