Mazda 6 global production reaches three million units

2013-Top-5-Mazda6-02

Mazda Japan has announced that total global production figures for the Mazda 6 have surpassed three million units as of the end of November 2014. The popular D-segment nameplate, also called the Mazda Atenza in Japan, has been in production for a period of 12 years and nine months.

Since the inaugural unit rolled off the production line in February 2002 at the Hofu plant, the Mazda 6 has gone on to sell in vast numbers, making it the second-fastest nameplate in the Mazda range to hit the three million mark – the first being the Mazda 3 or Axela in Japan.

The Mazda 6 made its local debut just early last year, equipped with two SkyActiv-G engine options – the 2.0 litre, direct-injection four-cylinder making 153 hp at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, and the 2.5 litre mill putting out 185 hp at 5,700 rpm and 250 Nm at 3,250 rpm.

Both engines are paired to a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission. Three variants are available, a sedan with either the 2.0 litre or the 2.5 litre engine plus a 2.5 Touring estate. Prices are RM159,455, RM189,728 and RM193,832 OTR with insurance, respectively.

A facelifted Mazda 6 was officially revealed at the 2014 Los Angeles motor show just last month and is expected to go on sale in early 2015 for the Japanese and North American market. Global sales are touted to commence not long after.

GALLERY: Mazda 6 facelift

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Ah Beng Kia on Dec 23, 2014 at 9:37 am

3,000,000 units contains the number 3. Half life 3 confirmed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
    • Maserati(Official) on Dec 23, 2014 at 3:31 pm

this car is so cheap in Malaysia. This January I am going to buy this car.

Thank you to our good Government for giving us cheap cars and cheap fuel. I hope our Government does not reduce the price of cars and the price of Petrol. It is already cheap.

To all those who are crying about car prices, do you know why you cannot afford expensive cars? Let me tell you why. It is because you are LAZY and don’t want to work hard. If you work hard, you will have the ability to afford a RM150k easily.

Stop complaining and work hard. I work hard so I am able to afford my luxurious VW. I don’t sit around complaining about car price and fuel price. Only lazy people do that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
      • Same L0rrrr on Dec 23, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Proton has long exceed the million target before Mazda.

I meant million of units sent for repair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • mello on Dec 23, 2014 at 7:24 pm

…and yet still can see a lot on road.moving

Liar please go to psychcatrist to get treatment. Lol

• Samelorrr The Sohai on Dec 23, 2014 at 7:56 pm

Same Lorrr… You cannot count to 10 …so shut up sorhai.

• old dog on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:35 pm

cronies for sure..

• Nenek Kau on Dec 24, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Maserati, VW is luxury?? Thats mean you are not there yet :)

• drzack on Dec 24, 2014 at 7:28 pm

been using passat for 9 years… definitely not that luxury… meh.. btw dont downgrade other people/ trolling.. there are always people above your paygrade..

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:25 am

Rightly so since its a fine car to own and drive and with the FL, its interior just got a lot better…

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:32 am

For K5 and Sonata, there will be 3 million units in the scrapyard by now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 16
  • Beautiful Car. An all rounder with Euro Standards. Way to go Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Ini baru “global” car, definitely sells much more than “global” Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • kkiioo on Dec 23, 2014 at 7:31 pm

Slowpoke, it’s changed to proton compact car

• So you’re saying “global” car changed to “kampung” car is it?

• kkiioo on Dec 25, 2014 at 8:51 am

So blind where you see “kampung” word there? Another sorhai please go to optometrist

• Same L0rr on Dec 25, 2014 at 1:37 pm

You’re the sohai. People said “global” car, you said “changed”. If not “kampung” then what? Proton supporters really no brain

• great achievement mazda, especially now no longer under ford. now can we have some mazdaspeed versions and bring back zoom zoom to the brand..

• JeffC on Dec 23, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Is a very nice car with EURO standard. The BEST among all the D-Segment car in Malaysia now.

• Agree, the Japs produce good D-Segment car while Proton only knows how to rebadge the Japs and called it their national car

• leade on Dec 25, 2014 at 8:54 am

Huh? At least it’s moving, and planning for new D segment under Accord platform sharing unlike other brands which sell moving coffin for decades without options.

• Yes, Proton has been selling the moving coffin called Saga for decades without safety options

• Godzilla on Dec 23, 2014 at 4:48 pm

If facelift will be launched in Japan early 2015, will we get the CBU unit here around the same time?

• RuelSpot on Dec 23, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Congratulation Mazda on this momentous milestone… The Mazda6 has reached three million units.

• Really on Dec 23, 2014 at 8:29 pm

3 million units includes ALL Mazda 6s, from the first generation to the current Mazda6 (2002-2014). Not the units sold of the current generation only. Not including 626 too.

• old dog on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:35 pm

Thats the different between WORLD market target, and Bolehland market target…