Honda CR-Z, Civic Hybrid discontinued in Australia

CRZ Toyo Review- 4

The Honda CR-Z and Civic Hybrid have been axed from the company’s range in Australia, echoing a move made by Honda Europe to send the hybrid hatchback and the Insight to the chopping block almost a year ago. Honda Australia cites a major revamp of its hybrid range for the decision.

With the Honda CR-Z, Civic Hybrid as well as the Jazz Hybrid no longer on sale, it leaves the automaker with a grand total of zero eco-friendly models in the Aussie market. With that said, the firm is looking to introduce the Honda Accord Hybrid in the second quarter of 2015, followed by the NSX in 2016.

accord hybrid 01

As one of the new models to be featured under Honda’s Hybrid Sport banner from its Earth Dreams Technology portfolio, the i-MMD-based Accord Hybrid will compete against the Toyota Camry Hybrid.

Sales of the hatch have been on a steady decline in Australia over the past few years, with 370 units sold in 2012 followed by only 58 in 2013, no doubt due to a price increase. With so many Honda dealers around the world axing the Honda CR-Z, just how long can the hybrid hatch stay relevant in our market – especially when one takes into account the insane price hike it received back at the end of last year?

GALLERY: Honda Accord Plug-in Hybrid previewed at KLIMS 2013

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Honda hybrid is never full hybrid…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • with the i-dcd hybrid of the new jazz hybrid/city hybrid/accod hybrid. Yes it is full hybrid.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 28, 2015 at 3:41 pm

i-dcd had so many recalls within a year. Get a Toyota HSD better?

Why Toyota hybrids so expensive now? Thanks to Proton!

• CR-Z failed to carry CR-X legend. Just because they went sohybrid.

• Aussie will option for Tesla Model S anytime ! Full Electric with futuristic advanced technology. 0-100 in 4s flat with range of 400km.

• Hantar sini simpan dalam stor dulu.nanti ubah policy dapat tax exclusion kasi jual balik lah.guarantee laku punya

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 12:44 pm

Well, technically the new NSX is a hybrid too. A very fast one.

• TheDuh on Jan 28, 2015 at 12:50 pm

Hybrids are stupid. Full stop.

Why do people call them “eco-friendly”?
    As Jeremy Clarkson said last week, did people consider how much energy and materials went into producing the batteries and how much it would cost to dispose and recycle them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • manlet on Jan 28, 2015 at 2:52 pm

Have you ever thought of what will we use to power our vehicles if the world’s oil supply dries out? Hybrid, electric and fuel cell technologies are the steps taken to lessen dependency on fossil fuel. The world would stop working if we run out of the only energy source we depends on. Thank you for your understanding.

• You are also burning fuel and energy in producing haibrid (sorry, i couldn’t help it). Lessen dependency on fossil fuel? Unfortunately, it rounds up the same if you take in the production cycle.
        It is not steps taken to lessen dependency on fossil fuel, however i have to sohaibridly agree that it is a step taken to seek out alternative energy.
        Thank you for your comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Jan 28, 2015 at 1:01 pm

These days petrol cars engine is getting more & more efficient. Look at Mazda Skyaktiv & Korean makes, is very good FC + price is affordable. In EU, Diesel mileage is far more superior than Hybrid!! and one more thing is Honda is IMA( integrated motor assist) meaning unlike Toyota is can fully depend on battery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • cendol (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 2:03 pm

Meanwhile in Bolehland, people will pounce on hybrid cars on the first sight to save on tax.
    Example in point is Audi A6 hybrid – which already has been stopped production.
    And the S Class hybrid

• No more hybrid tax incentive la.. That one just wayang wayang, if you’re the lucky ones that bought it at that time, lucky you.

• Ah Beng hailat on Jan 28, 2015 at 11:12 pm

I am waiting to pounce on camry hybrid

• Levin on Jan 28, 2015 at 2:43 pm

Poor sales probably because no special exemptions and the fact that there are other cheaper cars sold in the OZ such as the GT86 which is making huge sales figure there. Over here, different story as the CRZ was one of the cheapest “sporty” hybrid car back then.

• Gotta agree with you.. The price difference between the GT86 & CR-Z in Malaysia is insane.. I think I speak for a fair amount of CR-Z owners that if the price for the 86 was close to the CR-Z, we would’ve ended up buying that instead.. All in all, I’ve got no regrets on the Z.. Overall it’s still a very fun car to drive..

• Discontinued or not malaysian motorists dont give a damn. This upright H brand will forever be worshiped here in bolehland. kosong specs will also sell well.