GST: Honda Malaysia releases new prices – all CKD models cheaper by RM500-2,500, Odyssey pricier

2015_Honda_CR-V_2.4_4WD_facelift_Malaysia_ 062

Honda Malaysia has released its full GST price list – all locally-assembled (CKD) models and their variants are cheaper by between RM500 and RM2,500 except for the fully-imported (CBU) Odyssey, which sees an increase of RM1,008 for the EX and RM513 for the EXV.

The Odyssey is Honda Malaysia’s only CBU model – all other models are assembled in Pegoh, Melaka. The company attributes the differences in price drops to the different features and accessories in each model and variant, and says the price drops are due to savings from the implementation of GST being passed down to the consumer.

“In the automotive industry, the difference in the car prices is not as straightforward as 10% minus 6% as there are many factors involved. The main difference in the tax calculation is the difference in the taxable base for SST (Sales and Services Tax) and GST,” said Honda Malaysia MD and CEO Yoichiro Ueno.

Honda-GST-pricelist-1

“For example, the SST was based on the distributor’s value of the car and is then charged 10% tax excluding dealer margins, transportation costs, handling fee, accessories and other miscellaneous distribution costs while GST is charged based on the final selling price of the car on the road.”

And it’s not just the cars themselves – Honda Malaysia has also announced that its spare parts will now be cheaper by 3.7% on average, across all models. GST will be added to the labour charge, but the total maintenance cost is estimated to be reduced by 2-4%, depending on the model.

“We hope that the market will stabilise promptly after the introduction of GST. We will also continue to work closely with our suppliers and dealers, and monitor our finance processes to ensure the correct calculation of the GST in order to avoid under-charging or over-charging of the new GST,” Ueno said.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Luckily hold on by hrv ! Now cn get cheaper price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 30
    • Feeling wise, yes, we can save the money for buying HRV.
      In actual, reduction of RM586 divide by 84 months (7 years), monthly saving is less than RM7. lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 33
      • kzm (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:46 am

What if increase RM586? Will u say oni RM7 more no problem?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 17
      • Where is Najib's Promise? on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:50 am

Why is Honda and DRB not asking Najib to honour his promise to reduce car prices? How can reduction of 1 to 2% help Malaysians when there is a 6% GST on cost of living?

Before the election, Najib promised the rakyat that if we voted for BN, he would reduce car prices by 30%. He assured and promised every single rakyat that we could trust BN in keeping their promises and BN NEVER mungkir janji.

Now, 2 years have passed. Car prices have gone up actually. VW for example increased all their car prices by up to RM10k before the GST.

So, why Honda not asking Najib and the BN Government to honour their promise to the rakyat?

Just like the NAP, here, BN still try to play the blur game. MITI should just instruct all companies to abide by MITI regulations, after all, MITI controls all car companies and all car companies are ultimately GLC and they should abide by their masters ie the Government.

Anyway, getting back to Najib’s promise, it is high time MAA, MAI and MITI ask Najib to honour his promise to the rakyat of reducing car prices by up to 30%. Already we Malaysians are overpaying our cars by 3x the value of the car. for example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000. Here, we pay RM180,000 for a 2 airbag Toyota Camry.

How is a reduction of few hundred ringgit here help the rakyat who is already paying super high car prices and also going to bear the high cost of living with the 6% GST?

DRB Hicom which owns Honda is owned by the Government. Where is the 30% your boss Najib promised?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 313 Thumb down 29
        • I am PRO on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:57 am

drb only 34% shares in honda malaysia la nuub. get your facts right. japan owns 51%. go ask the japanese la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 81
          • goodguy on Apr 01, 2015 at 1:33 pm

When u can afford something dun nag about it. Just buy a Kancil lor. Those expensive car are for those rich and powerful ppl and in Malaysia hv a lot. So stop nagging and go find more money and buy the car when u can afford it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 55
        • correction on the fact that DRB-Hicom owns Honda. No, Honda Malaysia is just an associate company to DRB-Hicom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • I am PRO on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:41 am

hahhaha. dealer will give you less discount la. bodoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 47
      • gravatar on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:49 am

are you dealer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
        • I am PRO on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:53 am

you go ask la. if what i said not correct come back tell me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 35
          • Yes! You are 100% right! In summary, consumer will always become the loser! Those items that suppose to be cheaper after GST not really become cheaper. Those items that suppose to be GST exempted, might also be charged 6% higher.
            Calculate the impact of GST from mathematics formula is one thing. Actual scenario is another thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
          • JB_KIA on Apr 02, 2015 at 7:09 pm

what is the discount for HR-V before GST implementation?

• U r right…discount is taken down or removed

• Dear Abc:
      Not really you will get the cheaper price. For my case, the City S+ price which purchased before GST got discount 2000. After GST, Honda declared the official selling price reduced 1600. But, the discount also reduced from 2000 to 500. Means the overpaid tax claimed back from custom was “eaten” by Honda, not pay back to consumer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • Heskey on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:19 am

Janji ditepati?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 31
    • Capati Janji on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:17 am

Only 2% price reduction. Still got another 28% to go down before next general election in 3 years time.

Janji capati sendiri mau ingat lah okayy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 10
      • kzm (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:41 am

Lol..some of them already given 5-10% reduction last time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
        • 4G63T DSM on Apr 01, 2015 at 10:40 am

if you exclude cars that where CKD’ed, decontented and discounted. er…which car got 5-10% reduction???

Must have mised that.

• hoinda on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:46 pm

but gov didnt mention cbu or ckd. as long the price is cheaper

• sick&tired on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:34 am

thank you najib! all our problems are over!!!!

Unsubsidised fuel + high car tax + GST = BN Memang Baguuiii!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 55
    • xyber8x on Apr 01, 2015 at 5:37 am

Unsubsidised fuel – that why u better buy
      Hybrid or electric car . don,t complaint just search for another solution..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 74
      • You mean get out from this country? Prriffff…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 10
      • Y buy hybrid? while it rip consumer wallet in replacement price & hidden cost..BTW lousy RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • SalamGst on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:33 am

Good Idea….but wait….I thought the hybrid and electric car is expensive…???

• ilovebodohpeople on Apr 01, 2015 at 1:43 pm

bodoh… incentive for hybrid cars removed… if electric cars like tesla come kena luxury tax pulak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • lookingood on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:36 am

wonder why lower spec model can saves much more?

• whatever lah on Apr 01, 2015 at 2:56 am

less specs=less accessories, less GST born by the items

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Curious Buyer on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:41 am

Would that be the final OTR price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 31
    • xiper (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 1:00 am

if u see clearly, it is stated “New price with GST (OTR with insurance)”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
      • taboogen on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:14 am

clearly shows problem with malaysian… clearly stated but still cannot read

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • Jinggo on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:44 am

Wonder if the discount still apply or not after after new price reduction.

• yeah.. they shud apply coz they got disc that day bfore gst. city wif 2k disc if im not mistaken.. cheaper? u decide..

• takNakP1 on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:54 am

wait another half yr. it might drop more.

• arif hamdi on Apr 01, 2015 at 1:19 am

Even before they lower down the price, my father in law bought his new city 1.5v with the price of 88,000+

• Dahlia on Apr 01, 2015 at 2:23 am

Arif hamdi… that price was b4 they charged for road tax and insurance kan? If total it would be 90,814k otr (price b4 1 April).. im buying this model as well..

• wahhh, 90814k!!! that’s like RM 90, 814, 000!! even more expensive than ferrari.. just joking bro

• sy_mir on Apr 01, 2015 at 3:29 am

Although the price has been reduced, the cost of borrowing from the banks will be increased because of the GST imposed on the loan approved. Beating around the bush.. pi lencong mana pun harga naik jugak..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • Bengong.. sapo suruh mung beli keto buat loan bank. Tu riba nok royak buii. Mampus masuk nerako. Beli keto baya keh la bro..kato anok jate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 24
      • Fakir on Apr 01, 2015 at 2:37 pm

haha.. ko pegi cita riba kat org kapir diorang mana faham apa

• A very small reduction n u all ar so happy? @_@

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • Show is just the beginning on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:24 am

Its pretty much expected to decrease slightly to calm the people, question is will the price still stay the same for the next few years? pretty sure its gonna increase as time goes by with ample type of reasons.

• Ayam kampong on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:37 am

Few k only ??
    Go restaurant two times finish adi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Tauke ayam on Apr 01, 2015 at 4:51 pm

Two times are better than one. One is better than nothing.

• naik marah turun pun marah on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:08 am

nuff said

• Naik Marah, turun pun marah. People are not satisfied for a reason. Don’t be so ignorant. Its because of people like you that we are still in this shithole.

• Mathematically, it comes back to square one. They lower the list price but reduce the rebates for all models. Seems like those who got their cars before GST are still marginally better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • heybadigol (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:58 am

Thats good to know. Cheaper new cars and cheaper maintenance. But resale value of existing cars will take a slight hit as well won’t it? Win some lose some.

• Honda City V on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:03 am

I recently bought my City for RM90,814 (pre-GST). Got RM2,000 promotion discount from Honda and another RM2,000 personal discount from the salesman; total RM4000 discount.

Current price is RM89,468 (less by RM1346) but Honda promotional discount is only RM500. Assuming salesman still gives the same RM2,000 discount, the price is still more expensive by RM154.

Conclusion, nett price increase after GST, at least for the City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
    • Honda will offer again 2-4k discount for the coming festive seasons/end year clearance to attract potential buyers. So, what to worry?

Hence, it is possible to get 89468 – 4000 = 85468 for a city V now.

Simply buy the car at the right time and you will save more. Good luck potential buyers!

• harimaumalaya on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:09 am

In fact some of the car company increase their price early 2015 and now they are playing with the discount/rebate..

• mera nam on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:21 am

sukanya harga kereta turun..aku bayar insurans dan roadtax hari ini (MYEG)..antara org terawal kena GST..nasib baik kancil 2006 ncd 55% kena gst rm16…tunggulah giliran korang pulak nanti.. roadtax pun kena… hahaha sukanya.

• no to gst on Apr 01, 2015 at 1:19 pm

Sorry to disappoint u… I’ve been charged for gst since mac already

• car price reduce a bit but now bank interest increased.

• car-fans on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:48 am

Hmm… Not really got difference base on my last month – booked City price (discount : Honda give RM2.8K (no 3M tint) + Salesman Personal RMXXX).

End up 2 + 2 only !!!

• sunny on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:54 am

Thaniah hebatnya, beli mire

• tokmoh. on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:57 am

I’m kinda in the midst of choosing between Jazz E and City E.

Since City E’s reduction is bigger, the narrowing gap is favoring City E for now. But since not too urgent, I can always wait for festival or even year end discount, and decide from there.

Anyone test drove both? Can share if:

1. NVH same or different?
    2. City’s ECO button really works to reduce fc? Or too negligible?

Thanks.

• 1. mostly the same but depend on you like sedan or hatchback.
      2. ECON only recommend when traffic jam, normal road driving not smooth after on it
      only thing is Jazz do not have HFT which depend on your requirement

• tokmoh. on Apr 03, 2015 at 4:55 pm

1. Inially I just want the cheapest City, but the biggest turn off is the rear seats can’t be folded. WTF TOPKEK.

For almost the same money as City S+, can get Jazz E. Having traction control is a big incentive to consider it too. Space wise, I feel Jazz is practical enough, with ultra seat, may satisfy my need space-wise.

2. Hands free not a deal breaker, I can always get cheaper outside.

Kinda weird why ECON button not offered on Jazz when powertrain is identical. Ah well, I guess not that significant, almost gimmicky even.

Thanks

• 1. yes, the budget is an important consideration. If u r ok with hatchback, jz go to Jazz E. City E rear seat can only 60:40 folded. lower spec is not recommended, the blue illumination multimeter is awesome feature since we r ppl sitting inside the car.
          2. my city E spec only on econ when traffic jam. on the mode cause the accelerator pedal quite heavy. if u can control your pedal in green light can achieve 15km/l. (that is i always do it)

• Idris Koh on Apr 01, 2015 at 10:24 am

alhamdulilah….mari lah kita bersyukur.
    luckily post GST overall goods reduce by abit only.
    if not I will be crying for my wedding cost which I have paid before GST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • GST GST on Apr 01, 2015 at 10:31 am

They are just playing around with the numbers la… Apr cash rebates are much lower than March. They reduce car selling price but also reduce their cash rebates.

• Geng Songkok Tinggi on Apr 01, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Macai

• siti-8884 on Apr 01, 2015 at 2:30 pm

i dont want hrv because i aim for sedan. i bought honda city V at the end of february. loan approved in 3 days. just got my city in the end of march, modern steel color, high demand, no ready stock..stok susah dapat. i got price otr & insurance = 90800 and rebate 3000, so final price = 87800. got loan maybank islamic with 2.67 interest. 9 years, 939 permonth instalment. i dont want to buy cash, lembaga hasil will come looking 4 u later, just get ready 4 it. bukan tak mampu, but it’s called risk management btw. oh ya, i got reverse camera for free by SA :). as long as it install by honda, no warranty void. bought door visor + install for 60 and boot tray for 75 at depan pasar besar gombak. total damaged just 135 for now. ya, the price after gst is reduced, but SA told me no hope for getting more rebate, and no hope for decreasing of bank loan interest. i dont know, we will see. but am happy with my city now :)

• HRV-1.8s price before GST is 98k now is 98.695k, is it consider cheaper?

• The decrease of prices listed do not reflect the truth. I ordered a Honda Jazz in March, but no available car for me in the color I have chose. The rebate they offered before Apr was RM3000, whereby now they provide RM1500 rebate. With the RM1000 car price reduced now, I need to pay extra RM500 in overall. Very disappointed for the fake news about price reduced. And why should I pay more since I ordered in March with loan approved.

• Same with me …I order jazz e spec ..loan approved in March also..

• siti-8884 on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:35 pm

where u booking ur jazz? maybe it depends on SA or dealer too. because i book end of feb, my loan approved early march, and get the car end of march. still get 3k rebate. if im not mistaken, jazz stock is easier to get than city. YC, EC, and TSK..actually when u have paid for the booking, ask SA/dealer to write some remarks/note on the booking receipt how much rebate u get. it’s like a guarantee by them. if they refuse to do so, go to another honda.

• dr k2 on Apr 01, 2015 at 10:14 pm

I think i got 20% off with my beemer before gst… compared to the 2% now

• I booked city on 29 Mar 2015. I was promised with 2k rebate. But now cash rebate reduce to 500. I feel cheated and if they can’t reinstate my demand I will cancel booking. Will lodge a complaint to consumer ministry department.

• with GST and no promotion on Honda, the price is mostly the same. but 1 thing to note is the rebate can be reduce or totally no which cause the price higher.

• Chairman on Apr 03, 2015 at 3:40 am

you guys are seriously in the parliment ar?

• Among 100 of civilian ,there could be 2 or 3 of them buying honda,but definitely 100 of mouth to feed everyday + 6% gst. Annoucing 1% car price reduction cant calm us,Its like adding salt to sweeten d drink.what a jokes!

• A.T.Sylvester on Apr 04, 2015 at 12:31 pm

It is time for cars distributors / dealers of Malaysia include local cars manufacturers/vendors to pass down a portion of the the big margin profits ( Fat salaries and benefits for the Presidents/Chairmen/CEOS who are normally VIPS ) to the poor low income group who are using a big portion of their low salary to own a basic car ( segments A and B – majority on the road ) for their families.It is only fair for these group of workers ( country slaves ) to share part of our progress on the road to a high income industrialized country. Freedom of speech and freedom of benefits, wealth too we can share to move forward together as a team.

• A.T.Sylvester on Apr 04, 2015 at 1:30 pm

The big margin of profits and the salaries and benefits of Presidents / Chairmen / CEO’S ( in our case majority are VIPS and already rich citizens ) of our car industry ( our cars are among the most expensive in the world ) should pass down to our car owners of segments A and B who are low salaried citizens who spend a good portion of their salary to buy a car for their family. Car Industry products in term of body and electronic safety ( both should be 3 to 5 stars ratings ) must step up for the benefit of one of the factors to reduce road traffic accidents. Freedom of speech, share the wealth of our country together as we move forward as a team towards industrialized and high income country. Construction Companies especially for housing must share the fruit of developments to house buyers too – house are prized sky high now.

• I have waited until GST imposed. Accord 2.0 vti-L is now cheaper by RM1,600 but car dealer told me RM3,000 discount no longer offered. Somemore have to pay more for tinted… :(

• walter on Apr 08, 2015 at 1:56 pm

Disappointed government

• bodoh on Apr 09, 2015 at 11:19 am

if you people knows about the news around the world.. is not the GST that affected the car prices..
    If you notice.. all japan car price had been reduced because, supply > demand..
    Nobody there is buying stuff…so they forced to reduce price .

• hahahahaha on Apr 09, 2015 at 11:21 am

Read The News Around The World Guys,
    Is not the GST that affected the price.
    If you notice, All japanese car price had been reduced because , in Japan , Supply > Demand.
    Nobody there is buying stuff, so they force to reduce car price.