Fancy a Porsche Boxster? Get a Mazda MX-5 instead

mazda mx-5 2015

There are many things to love about a third-gen Porsche Boxster – while the Spyder is the most sought-after, the baseline Boxster is already an all-rounder that’s desirable enough on its own. The two-door coupe has a respectable 2.7 litre flat-six that does the 0-100 km/h in under six seconds, handles and brakes well, and its 1,309 kg mass means power-to-weight ratios are likewise impressive.

Still, why not get a 2016 Mazda Miata (MX-5) instead? That’s what Mazda Parts USA, the part retailer for Mazda in the US, is asking. While both carmakers are not immediate rivals, in this case it’s being made out that they are – the Mazda outfit has come up with a very clever comparison infographic to show how the Mazda MX-5 is not too far off from the base-model Porsche Boxster in terms of performance figures.

To give you a clearer picture of key items detailed, while the MX-5 has a smaller 2.0 litre in-line four SkyActiv engine when paired up against the Boxster’s 2.7 litre flat-six, it still manages the century sprint and the quarter mile run with haste, coming in at only 0.6 seconds slower than the German offering.

2015-miata-vs-boxster

The chart then compares the braking distance between the two; while the Porsche has the upper-hand, the MX-5 manages a braking distance just a tad longer (13 feet, or four metres) compared to Boxster. As for the fuel consumption figures, the chart has no issues identifying the obvious winner – the 2.0 litre MX-5, of course.

But where it may have somewhat similar figures in the technical department, a substantial difference that the MX-5 has compared to the Boxster is that the former is much more affordable. With a starting price of US$52,395 (RM200k) for the Porsche, the Mazda only costs US$24,955 (RM95k), a difference of more than US$27k (RM105k).

Towards the end, the retailer then goes on to claim, very boldly, that “the Miata has about 90% of the performance for less than 50% of the cost.” Mazda recently made an ad that showcased the MX-5 very passionately, this however, might or might not be the start of a new ad war.

In Malaysia, the Jinba Ittai roadster might be priced within the RM190k-RM210k range as hinted by Bermaz CEO Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh who told BFM 89.9 in an interview recently, as for the baseline Porsche Boxster which is presently available, it currently goes for RM470k excluding insurance.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 30, 2015 at 2:33 pm

A poor man’s Porsche?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 27
    • macroemdia on Jul 30, 2015 at 4:53 pm

In the US, I heard its caled the poor man’s sportscar.. but then again, it was never a sportscar to begin with. It’s a fun convertible… or a gay car as how they put it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
      • Same L0rrrr on Jul 30, 2015 at 6:57 pm

It is best getting the 86 rather than these either expensive or powerless models. You won’t go wrong with sushi cars, especially Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
        • can ur so called “3 series” can do 5.9sec? better taste than your lor… ah beng…haaaa

• Jay Law on Jul 30, 2015 at 10:32 pm

The 328i does 5.9 to 100km/h son

• @Jay That is in reference to the salesman claiming the Camry is 3-series. Notice the quote marks, son

• The MX5, is and always has been, a sports car, whether or not it is a convertible does not change that.
        Every single review has called it a sports car, even on wikipedia, it is referred to as the best selling 2 seater sports car for a reason. Extremely light, rwd, 2 seater, that’s a sports car in my book.

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 31, 2015 at 1:03 pm

The roadster has always been and always will be a convertible. That’s what makes it fun.

• Holofanboi on Jul 30, 2015 at 5:46 pm

Erk, i dont even dare to call it a sportscar lol. In the same vein as the brz/gt86 its more of a very personal niche car with the kind of performance figures it has.

I am realllly hoping its price around 190k over here even though i HIGHLY doubt it would happen :\

Yes, i am a poor(el cheapo) man lol.

• Pricing:
    Mazda MX-5- RM200k-250k
    Porsche Boxster – RM450k

RM per HP
    MX-5 – RM1290-1612 per HP
    Porsche – RM1698 per HP

Porsche badge – priceless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Buy Porsche badge, stick to MX-5. The badge itself is quite cheap actually :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • Thats like changing your name tag to Brad Pitt or Angelina Jolie. All you need is a pen but that’s not making you more attractive…

• I’m not a fan of heavily tuned cars and I’m a big Porsche fan but if it’s a choice between the two I’d go with the MX-5 and mod it slightly for better performance (i.e better brakes & tyres)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • shawal on Jul 30, 2015 at 2:43 pm

and not forgetting long term maintenance cost!

• cendol (Member) on Jul 30, 2015 at 2:54 pm

Why buy BMW 316i?
    Buy Proton is the same also.
    Same performance, same ultimate driving machine.
    And you will be helping Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 12
    • True that. Proton is still the drivers car. Very responsive and drives sweeeettt. Its a pity not many brands are coming out with such cars nowadays.
      Waking the dead is more exciting that driving a vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
      • bigmouthjohn on Jul 30, 2015 at 11:03 pm

Yes, especially when you’re driving the Exora with flames on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • mr1031 on Jul 30, 2015 at 5:07 pm

x bosan ke? what are you trying to prove?? sudah2 la tu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • cendolbasi on Jul 30, 2015 at 7:27 pm

Orang macam cendol tu blame others for his failure in life
        Go get axia la still new car right?

• Deus Ex on Jul 30, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Wait, why does 155HP/2313lb give a better HP:weight than 265HP/2888lb?

• because it weighs less?

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 30, 2015 at 3:35 pm

I was calculating as well and they seem to be using weight:hp rather than hp:weight. That would actually make the figures a Weight to HP ratio than what they claim it to be, but if you actually use HP:weight, you’ll end up with an unimpressive 0.0x figure. 1x.xx figures are easier to compare for the common man.

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Jul 30, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Why not get a vios TRD? Its as fast as the porsche, more practical and reliable too at less than quarter the price!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
    • DPCraft on Jul 30, 2015 at 4:31 pm

Because it’s too risky to drive.

• Captur on Jul 30, 2015 at 4:56 pm

Vios got 2 door meh?. Vios is a convertible meh? . Make apple with apple comparison la. Anyway Vios is good leh. Got roof to block bird droppings. I also Vios owner. Now wanna get Captur.

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Jul 30, 2015 at 8:36 pm

Exactly. Vios has 2 more doors and 3 more seats. Much better value anytime.

• Captur on Jul 30, 2015 at 10:23 pm

People who buy this MX-5 will not think about value. Only those poor people who can’t afford will think about it. Keep thinking then.

• Ah Lien Iriz Turbo R3 tongcar on Jul 30, 2015 at 11:15 pm

Ah Beng will recommend his Iriz what. Iriz is Lotus tuned, better than Porsche and more value when you stick in the R3 sticker. Right, Ah Beng?

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jul 30, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Paul, if my kancil can put in Turbo, i think u should upload my Kancil spec side by side compare with these 5.0 sec 0~100kmh beast, am i right? My kancil turbo is doing 5.2sec for 0~100, am i qualified?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Can I oso upload my barebones kapcai spec side by side compare? It can do 0~100 in 2.5secs. Supercar level yo!

So so, am i qualified?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Obviously (Member) on Jul 30, 2015 at 4:20 pm

…and then you take a corner at 100km/h. That’s when the roof folds down to make it a roadster, amirite?

• dodgeviper88 on Jul 30, 2015 at 3:41 pm

If that’s the case the A45 AMG is at great value at just under RM1k per hp

• W204 C63 AMG on Jul 30, 2015 at 4:57 pm

The a45 amg is still the best bang for the buck. You got to top up to a M3 to be faster than the a45.

• kereta_lembu on Jul 30, 2015 at 3:56 pm

Ticks me off each time I see the selling price of cars are so much lower in America, Europe or even Thailand. And what do we get for paying more for the cars? We get rewarded with petrol hikes with GST, rising toll costs and sub standard roads that could cause accidents and damage to the car to name a few. Oh yea, I forgot…we have our pride and joy, Proton as a reward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Yeah its a good reward. At least Im proud that we can make our own car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • applegreen on Jul 30, 2015 at 4:03 pm

sure not 5.9sec for 2.0 mazda miata? i think manual trans possible. Auto transmission could be around 7.0 at best

• W204 C63 AMG on Jul 30, 2015 at 4:51 pm

Yeah, like you have driven the Mazda.

• Ya, I agreed too.
      155HP of a NA engine in the car about 1000kg+, can achieve a 0~60mph in 5.9 seconds???
      Golf GTI with 220HP with big torque of 350Nm in a 1400kg only done 0~100km/h in 6.5 seconds…

• yeah.. 2.0 can do 5.9 seconds? i thought should be around 7 or so

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 30, 2015 at 4:25 pm

Looking at the price difference in Malaysia and keeping in mind the average Malaysian salary, the MX-5 makes even more sense compared to the Boxster, unless your wallet is so phat that when you try to put it in your pants, it rips your pockets…

However, the Boxster does behave differently from the MX-5, being a mid-engined car and it’ll probably have fancier suspension parts. Also, 0.9g vs 1.01g is quite the difference.

I’ve still got my sights on the MX-5 more than the Boxster, though. Because my wallet ain’t so phat.

• Captur on Jul 30, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Some people can’t even afford both of these cars. All become Myvi and Iriz lovers. I have to aim for a Captur instead. Wanna look younger.

• lotushandling on Jul 30, 2015 at 7:55 pm

Compare myvi and iriz?
        Handling wise iriz is lighyears above myvi

• Captur on Jul 30, 2015 at 8:39 pm

Which part of my comment suggest a comparison between Myvi and Iriz?. Both are affordable cars. Please la learn to read. Dont’ be like Ajib kor and his cronies.. being stupid.

• oldmann on Jul 31, 2015 at 8:05 am

Captur is for oldies with young hearts

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 31, 2015 at 1:05 pm

^Nothing wrong with that. We all grow old eventually.

• Deus Ex on Jul 30, 2015 at 5:02 pm

Too bad the MX’s got that god-awful 80’s-style antenna at the back though, yeesh….

• hahaha. MX-5 with 5.9s to hundred.

Manufacturer claims are 7.6s. i wonder who checks these specs.

• ben yap on Jul 30, 2015 at 4:52 pm

the sales man is like comparing a preve with a 408 turbo.

brand value already set them apart. performance itself carries not much weight.

• Captur on Jul 30, 2015 at 7:17 pm

Dude, if you haven’t driven a MX-5 before. Don’t talk. It’s not the brand that determines a good car. MX-5 is not a performance car. It’s more about the driving experience. Do you think Mazda expects this car to sell like hot cakes ?. It’s to entertain their fans. Same goes for the NSX.

• ben yap on Jul 30, 2015 at 10:39 pm

if you are not as knowledgeable and reputable as Jeremy Clarkson, you better shut up.

If you are that good, u will already be a host for top gear or fifth gear.

• Captur on Jul 31, 2015 at 5:13 pm

You mad bro?. If you got shallow knowledge don’t comment. I don’t need to be an expert to say you don’t know nothing about cars. Like that everybody in Malaysia don’t need to comment here coz no one is as knowledgable as Jeremy Clarkson.

• is like Proton trying to be BMW.

• Captur on Jul 30, 2015 at 7:22 pm

At least Mazda produces great quality cars and SUVs . Proton had lost his direction a long time ago and now only start producing some decent cars with Preve and Iriz. Big difference.

• bmwnoquality on Jul 30, 2015 at 7:57 pm

BMW where got quality? Killer takata airbags and unreliable

• Gracke on Jul 30, 2015 at 5:26 pm

Make these a choice, not a comparison! How to compare them, only figure of hp, torque, liter,…..compare on paper, actually everything not the same in realistic!!!

• kennyjay on Jul 30, 2015 at 6:06 pm

no point to argue over this.

yes, the MX5 is indeed a very very refined car, but why compare it to a Porsche? its feel like comparing an Evo with a baseline C-Class just because they are both having 4 doors.

for those who appreciate something like MX5, they will know the true value behind it. no need to compare with a Porsche to prove anything. how many Porsche owners bought one just because they love the essence, the ride or the handling instead of the badge alone?

• This marketing was meant for americans, not malaysians. We all think differently.

• albag on Jul 30, 2015 at 9:13 pm

that MX-5 reach Malaysia already RM200K plus… doesn’t sound affordable after all…

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 30, 2015 at 10:08 pm

Its ok if you look at specs when you buy a smartphone. But not when one buys a sportscar. I am sure both cars are fun to drive, but I am sure the Boxster is way more refined. Of course, if one wants a raw car, then the MX-5 would fit the bill.

But i’d be interested to see how the MX-5 compares to the Honda S660/S1000 using the same criterias.

• spock1976 (Member) on Jul 30, 2015 at 10:18 pm

Clever. For a non-Porsche fan, makes you think twice about buying one.

• Jay Law on Jul 30, 2015 at 10:37 pm

NO way the MX5 would do 5.9 seconds in the real world.

• WilsonAUTO on Jul 31, 2015 at 12:22 am

MISLEADING-
    While the calculations for HP:Weight for Mazda is correct, 155*100/(2313/2.2)=14.77

For the Porsche
    265*100/(2888/2.2)=20.19, definitely NOT 10.9(thats even worse than a 2.0 Honda Civic)

Therefore the Porsche SHOULD be WAY SUPERIOR with 20.19:1 HP to Weight ratio, the poster is very misleading. Surprised no one even felt the numbers look weird. I’m a fan of both car companies but I have to say for this particular Mazda company…its basically fraud marketing.

Trust me, I’m an engineer

• kopio kao kao on Jul 31, 2015 at 12:58 am

When come to servicing and repair…you guys know why a cheapo always win :)

• the driver on Jul 31, 2015 at 7:37 am

Not possible for a car that weighs 2,3 tonnes with 155bhp to go for the 0-60 mph (US not Europe where it is 0-62mph) in 5.9 s unless the car weighs 1.5 tonnes or less. Simple as that.

• do u even know the difference between pounds and kilograms ? go back to school kid.

• Corporal on Jul 31, 2015 at 10:02 am

Actually it is 2318 pounds not 2.3 tonnes. Gotta read it more carefully. So the Mazda MX-5 is actually 1050 kg or 1.05 tonnes.

• Welll on Jul 31, 2015 at 8:08 am

No one in the market for a porsche will consider a mazda as an alternative lah please wake up

• shawal on Jul 31, 2015 at 11:45 am

Actually on youtube matt watson did strap a supercharger onto an old mx5 and added bits to enhance d handling to handle all that power, that car then improved dramatically almost as fast as a boxter round d circuit

• is the manufacturer warranty still valid after he did those mods ?
      and did matt watson also perform the same sort of mods on a boxster and then test it ?

• Obnoxiousduck on Jul 31, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Isn’t the comparison in the chart for miata vs boxter? And not Mx-5? Or are they the same thing?

• Acrix on Jul 31, 2015 at 1:11 pm

MX-5 is marketed as Miata is the States, Japan as Mazda Roadster while here its MX-5. Different market different names like Demio is Mazda 2, Axela is Mazda 3 and Atenza is Mazda 6 in Japan market.

• Blaster88 on Aug 01, 2015 at 3:30 pm

Hmmm….if priced a RM200K, then the MX5 is certainly in an interesting price point…neither affordable and certainly not cheap….. In bolehland, the psychological tipping point is 200K…anything about that consumers would demanding better performance, luxury, horsepower, features etc. etc. More so the MX 5 would be entering German marques territory…dunno…would you buy a Mini Cooper, A class, 1 Series or stretch it to an Audi TT?

• JERRY on Oct 01, 2015 at 2:39 pm

VERY POOR….WHAT A ROOKIE. LACKS EXPERIENCE TO SAY THE LEAST.