SPYSHOTS: Next-generation Honda Accord disguised

Honda-Accord-spied---3

You’re looking at the tenth-generation Honda Accord, spotted testing for the first time. Out in the United States, the next-generation Accord test mule is spotted here wearing heavy disguise. However, drawing from the profile of its nose, the grille and front bumper treatment appears to be more upright than on the current, ninth-generation Accord.

Dimensions on the Accord aren’t expected to grow much further. In fact, it has shrunk a little in length during its transition from eighth– to ninth-generation to ease manoeuvrability. It will be built on a platform shared with the latest Honda Civic and share that car’s design language, albeit with a more upright stance.

Powertrains can be expected to be refinements of existing units in the current Accord, although the new turbocharged four-cylinder will almost certainly be included in the next Accord’s line-up (depending on markets, of course). Even with the US market’s historic preference for large-capacity engines, the V6 power plant might be discontinued for Honda’s D-segment sedan due to ever-tightening legislation. Likewise, a hybrid variant of the new Accord is a given.

As the Accord nameplate turns 40 this year, the tenth-generation Honda Accord can be expected to have its official unveiling in the second half of next year, to be released as a 2018 model-year Accord.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Asimo on Jul 19, 2016 at 11:49 am

In the meantime, Malaysia is still waiting for the 9th Generation Facelift already launched in Thailand and Indonesia. C’mon Honda Malaysia. Work faster!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jul 19, 2016 at 1:18 pm

Hahaha! Pondana Accordana getting obsolete as we speak and to date only sultan took delivery!

• Raja Celup on Jul 19, 2016 at 5:12 pm

Hello Proton please rebadge and sell it for RM100,000.

• decer on Jul 20, 2016 at 9:08 am

Alza is obselete tak laku MPV celup from your jepunis overlord. Even jepunis tamau itu MPV

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 19, 2016 at 1:37 pm

This would mean, Our fantastic Proton, sold us Perdana launched last month, a 2 generations old car.

This is how Proton has cheated Malaysians. They just sold us 15 yr old technology (if you consider per generation is 7 years)

Proton oh proton, tipu rakyat lagi ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Got 250Nm torque? If not better go for Perdana TGDi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Proton Lovers! Your next new perdana is here!just imagine different badge, lower quality interior and thats it! Yaay! Good to see that Proton has a successor to the Perdana! All new perdana, drives like the Old Accord!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • omegle on Jul 19, 2016 at 12:27 pm

wow we haven’t even gotten the facelift accord yet, chill la..

• Why does that roofline and glasshouse look like that of the Perdana’s… Seriously the way the rear door tapers off and the rear quarter glass looks like they’ve taken inspiration from the Perdana… Just a thought, don’t hate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • C. P. MOHAN on Jul 19, 2016 at 12:42 pm

There is a market for older-generation Honda Accord models called by it’s nickname PRESTIGE.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jul 19, 2016 at 1:09 pm

Don’t bother getting a new sushi.

Get a new kimchi Sonata instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • Bare Rock Mark Yeah on Jul 19, 2016 at 2:41 pm

Always looking for sushi but avoid Toyota..coz among sushi makers,Honda is most genuine and generous in making cars..they really use brain to sleek design.Not to mention reliable,durability & new techs.Instead Toyota give us outdated decades to our markets and very late coming products.Need an example? Late introduction for vios latest engine,low power & worst fuel consumption among sushis.Then altis overall lost to new civic,i don’t think the all new altis coming in 2 years time is better than new civic..(Google yourself),and price wise the most expensive among all.With the current trend of suv,Toyota still have no answer but eager to bring in mpv.So yesterday! Once Honda bring in BRV soon,those avanza consider dead.Camry? Omg weird smaller than rivals boxy design and confuse dna.Hilux selling price like nobody will care anymore.Fortuner? Sigh!! Better get from Subaru or Mitsubishi.But if u really want to get a Toyota,go migrate to USA.. Over there Toyota more afraid of consumers and completion!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • Bare Rock Mark Yeah 2 on Jul 19, 2016 at 2:42 pm

Poor those earlier buyers of Toyota..get old engine and expensive tax!!!

• MotoRoda on Jul 20, 2016 at 2:59 am

Those who buy toyota standing at middle of road now uh ? No right ? U expect Bugatti Engine for little price you pay , memang tak dapat.

• kusochon on Jul 19, 2016 at 1:21 pm

Fastback style ala-ala perdana ke? Hahaha.

• bobby on Jul 19, 2016 at 1:28 pm

son of b*tches, we haven’t even got the facelift accord yet and they talking about next generation already. hey Honda, how do you expect potential accord buyer like me feels when reading this. you better put all the good spec from US into the Malaysian release.

• Honda dun have confidence in their new car, thats why need to camo test here, camo test there , camo test until Matt Damon comes home from Mars. Unlike P2 that dun need to test Bisa.

So better buy Bisa than this Accord cuz P2 have full confidence and no need test, while Honda have no confidence thats why need to test test test.

Its the same car anyways, Honda-san. Dun need to test lah! Just launch it alredi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 30
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jul 19, 2016 at 3:04 pm

Yup, just like you, dont have confidence on yourself, dont dare reveal your real photo here, always talk east, talk west, talk C.O.C.K, syiok and then c.u.m yourself. (No girlfriend)

• Bezza on Jul 19, 2016 at 2:46 pm

Dear John, I’d like to think that you’re just being sarcastic with your remarks. But as I read through more of your comments, I realized that you could be just plain slow or idiotic, or both. Please prove me wrong. Every automaker uses camouflage unless you are just copying 100% without even trying to differentiate yourself.

• Your sarcastism senor rosak kah?
      Kahkahkah

• Albert on Jul 19, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Bezza
      Insaf John got ‘chi ngoi ching”.Ask your cantonese friends what it means.
      One day he attacks Perodua,then another week later,he whacked Proton kaw kaw n then turn his bazzoka toward me,Kunta,Periasamy ,Sam Loo.
      It is not bipolar…it is called TRIPOLAR.

• R u persoaling why P2 dun do test or
      r u persoaling why honda do test?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Sugantha krishanamathi Perumal on Jul 19, 2016 at 5:34 pm

Wah my bf buy in us m post to me. Wange wange

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jul 19, 2016 at 5:45 pm

It amazes me how people could identify it’s make and marque with such heavy cameo. Bravo…

• Paul Tan on Jul 19, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Probably because it was being tested next to this car:

http://paultan.org/2016/07/19/spyshots-next-gen-2017-honda-cr-v-caught-again/

Also the wheels and wing mirrors are easy giveaways.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 19, 2016 at 7:48 pm

Not bad looking so far. Looks like a bigger Civic. And the ratio of wheelbase to height, which favours more wheelbase than the Civic, makes it look sleeker. Even close to an Audi A6 in overall side profile.

• Better honda malaysia dont bring the 9th gen facelift just bring the 10th gen next year