Perodua Myvi Specifications and Price

Here’s what I gathered about the new Perodua Myvi. Since the media test drive, alot of things speculated about the Perodua Myvi has been answered by the team at Perodua themselves.

Engine

The 1 litre Myvi which is the Perodua Myvi 1.0SR will be using the EJ-VE 1 litre 3 cylinder DOHC engine, an upgraded version of the EJ-DE 1 litre 3 cylinder DOHC found in the Kenari/Kelisa. When I say upgraded, I mean it comes with DVVT variable valve timing. This EJ-VE DVVT engine is also found in export models of the Perodua Kelisa intended for the UK market.

As a comparison, the 1.3 Toyota Passo/Daihatsu Boon uses the same K3-VE as our 1.3 Perodua Myvi but the 1.0 Toyota Passo/Daihatsu Boon uses the 1KR-FE 1.0 engine with variable valve timing instead of the EJ-VE that our 1.0 Perodua Myvi has. This is probably an updated 1 litre engine design as compared to the EJ series that we’re still using.

The 1.3 litre Myvi, available in 4 trim levels (1.3SX, 1.3EZ, 1.3SXi, 1.3EZi) is using the K3-VE engine found in the Kembara DVVT, which has variable valve timing. I suspect YRV Turbo halfcuts with the K3-VET in them will be even more popular now :P

Power output for the 1 litre EJ-VE is 56hp and the 1.3 litre K3-VE produces 85hp. As a Comparison, the Honda Jazz 1.5 VTEC produces 110hp and the Jazz 1.5 i-DSI produces 87hp too. So you can see, the variable valve timing feature on the K3-VE really makes it comparable to 1.5 litre engines not equipped with any form of variable valve timing.

Transmission/Gearbox

There are manual and automatic transmission available. The manual is a 5-speed while the auto is a 4-speed with overdrive. This should help with the highway cruising fuel consumption.

Specifications/Trim Levels

There are four models available. The prices shown are including insurance.

Model Specs Price
Myvi 1.0SR 1.0, Manual RM41,200
Myvi 1.3SX 1.3, Manual RM44,755/RM45,300
Myvi 1.3EZ 1.3, Auto RM47,781/RM48,300
Myvi 1.3SXi 1.3, Manual, Dual Airbags, ABS RM47,781/RM48,300
Myvi 1.3EZi 1.3, Auto, Dual Airbags, ABS RM50,781/RM51,300

Looks like the price for the 1.3SXi and the 1.3EZ is the same. If you could only afford that much and not the 1.3EZi, would you choose an automatic transmission or the dual airbags and ABS? :P

The 1.3 cars are available in all seven colours but the 1.0 is only available in black, gold and silver. All the 1.3 versions have 14 inch alloy rims while the 1.0 only has steel rims. Looks like the 1.0SR is the ultra-budget version of the Myvi.

Quality Control Standards

QC, or rather the lack of QC is the problem plaguing Malaysian car manufacturers. Perodua is definitely much better than Proton in terms of quality control. And with recently being commissioned to manufacture the Toyota Avanza for Toyota, it’s factory’s QC had been beefed up so that it matches Toyota’s standards. Defect rates are currently at 0.2, which means 2 defects per 10 cars. This is a huge improvement from the rate of 2 to 2.5 per car 10 years ago.

So here you go, everyone’s questions about the prices and the models available answered! Before I end this post, let me leave you with some spyshots.

The one on the left is the 1.3EZi or one of the 1.3 models I presume and the one on the right is the 1.0SX. You can see the exterior differences for the two models. The higher spec Myvi has foglamps on the bumper but the 1.0 model does not. The 1.0 model also has wheelcaps covering the ugly steel rims but the 1.3 model has proper alloy wheels. Oh yes, check out the side mirrors for the Myvi, they have signal lamps on them. Kind of cool :P Yes, yes, I’m easily amused okay!

In case you’ve missed out on all the available colours of the Perodua Myvi, you can check out my post Perodua Myvi Colours – The Myvi Rainbow!

Other related Perodua Myvi posts:
Perodua Myvi
Perodua Myvi TRD Bodykit
Perodua Myvi Logo and Test Drive
Perodua Myvi Launch
Perodua Myvi Colours – The Myvi Rainbow
Perodua Myvi Specifications and Price
Perodua Myvi Interior
Perodua Myvi Engine Bay
Perodua Myvi Technical Datasheet
Perodua Myvi Photos From The Showroom
Perodua Myvi Forum
Converting your Perodua Myvi to a turbo?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• thquah on May 20, 2005 at 5:33 pm

Very interesting info, thanks man.

• toinky on May 20, 2005 at 7:24 pm

Hey Paul,

Your site is very informative. May I use MyVi images and post it in my blog? I can't wait to book MyVi. yeah, I know, thousands of ppl hv booked but I dun really mind getting the car late as long as i'll get it. hehehe. *hmm so what colour should i choose? decision..decision*

• toinky on May 20, 2005 at 7:52 pm

on 2nd tought, nemind, i'll just link your page in my blog. :D

• toinky: thanks :D

• yeah.. i like it! i love it!… i'm going to pursuade my mum to buy MyVi for me!

Thanks for ur info.

• Paul: just a little explanation on smaller displacement engines with variable valve timing being "equal" to larger displacements engines –

The 1.3 will only match the 1.5 maybe in top speed.

A lot of people focus too much on horsepower instead of torque. Very generally. torque is actually the one that gives you acceleration. Horsepower gives you your top speed.

I don't have the numbers, but the 1.5 being a diesel, should have much better torque, and the torque will also kick in at lower rpms, than the 1.3 petrol with DVVT. ie, much better acceleration, althouth not necessarily higher top speed.

As they say, the rule is, "There is no replacement for displacement" when it comes to normally aspirated engines. (Only forced induction will be another story.)

Unfortunately, all the marketers decided to focus on horsepower to sell their cars. In addition, marketers often quote horsepower at the CRANK, not at the WHEELS.

For eg, Hondas loses a whopping 20-30% of the power along the drivetrain (transmission etc). My 1995 Prelude VTEC was advertised at 190 hp, but when dyno-ed, only shows 165 hp at the wheels. BMWs are better, I think only 10-20% loss.

So, even when leaving out vehicles weights, transmission gear ratios and aerodynamics, hp figures are still not an indicator of real performance.

• mohd shakir on May 21, 2005 at 1:49 am

comel gila yooo.bila ada di pasaran,dan saya hendak boking sebuah

• Front like avanza, back like getz. Hm..Quite nice

• CH: Don't worry, I know all that, including a diesel engine's characteristics. :) But I made that comparison because both the Honda 1.5 and the Perodua 1.3 are petrol engines.

The Jazz 1.5 is not a diesel in case you've mistaken i-DSI to stand for Diesel or something like that. i-DSI = Dual and Sequential Ignition, basically something like Alfa's Twin Spark.

• IS VERY NICE . I LIKE IT .

• about time malaysian drive quality cars at affordable price. well done perodua. I am going to the showroom to put my deposit now.

• James on May 22, 2005 at 2:19 am

Its really a cool car mate, never expected perodua can launched such a sporty look car for such exciting price. I would say worth buying a car with latest engine techology

• Megan on May 22, 2005 at 3:29 am

Guess this model is the best model i ever seen from Perodua. However, just afraid that first batch is not very good. Remember Proton Waja? There got lots of problem for the first bath cars.

• ah, I see, yes I did mistake it for being diesel. I was thinking too much of how BMW and VW has diesel versions of their cars. Come think of it, Honda does not have a single diesel engine.

• CH: Actually Honda has a diesel engine. It's the 2.2 i-CTDi engine. 140PS power and 340Nm torque. It's common rail injection, turbocharged. It was introduced back in 2003, and it's used in a diesel version of the European Honda Accord.

Before this, there were Hondas with diesel engines but they used Isuzu's diesel engines and not their own.

I've blogged about this here.

• Ha ha! There you go.

I guess it's inevitable with the European's demand for diesel engines.

There are absolutely no such popularity in the US though. The only successful diesel engines were VW's 1.8 turbo diesel.

• Yeah. I've noticed the Europeans love diesels. I wonder why?

• nice article, one minor correction is that 0.2% is 2 cars in 100 and not 2 cars in 10.

I like your website design too! nice and clean no bs graphics! cool!

• jack lim on May 23, 2005 at 10:49 pm

i think this car is very expensive, with 1.3 ver cost arrount RM44K dam expensive better choose to buy proton wira, more bigger size. i think inside perodua coruptions a lots that why the cost of the car so expensive

• Ah Beng on May 24, 2005 at 7:02 am

minor error 0.2% means 2 cars in 1000 cars.. ehhe

• those numbers were quoted by perodua. perhaps they count per 10 cars or something.

• Steven Chuah on May 24, 2005 at 7:48 am

The Perodua Myvi looks nice and stylish. I think it is the best looking Perodua model so far. I hope the boot space is about the size of Proton Iswara sedan;s boot. If I were to buy the MYvi, I will buy the 1.3EZ. The price is reasonable. Perodua cars are better than Proton!

• javin on May 24, 2005 at 10:15 pm

Hi Paul,

Great to have 'autolligence guy' like you. Thanks! Myvi looks chic and i'm torn between Swift and it. Can the left airbag be deactivated by means of on/off button or need to be sent back to factory? For the sake of child!

• Well, i think for the 1.3 is quite EXPENSIVE leh.. coz u can almost get Kia Picanto !! which is imported one …

people rather buy picanto instead of Myvi in that case.

Will the price be reduced? hehe :)

• cool man!!the exterior is amazing but the interior design need to improve a bit >

• afisah on May 26, 2005 at 12:14 am

this new car really smart… especially the black one..the price is affordable..

• Jonahdiary on May 26, 2005 at 4:30 am

You mean Perodua's car 0.2 dpu? i don't think so…because even in Toyota still striving for 0.3 dpu. You mean Perodua better than Toyota?

• barry on May 26, 2005 at 5:31 am

boleh tahan ma, maybe i,m thinking of buy on price is o.k

• This is my first time visit ur site, Paul.

Thats great n u done a good job, tx.

• This is the 1st time i visit here. Is the very useful page.. Thank alot..

So, if you have chance to choose the MyVi and foreign car which is same class, which one will be your 1st consider??

• Bridge on May 26, 2005 at 6:53 pm

Great website Paul. All considered, which would you go for – Picanto or Myvi?

• sylkhannaz on May 26, 2005 at 6:57 pm

hey man i just bumped into ur website and i think ur site is cool man! Enough info and stuff's woot for u!!!:P

• jude quah on May 26, 2005 at 7:36 pm

its just worth buying for this kind of price thus c/w with a 87hp engine and even more interesting features like the front dynamic face with millenium cosmetic design with seven colors…..giving varieties of choices for more option,caters for the young and elderly people,good petrol consumption and with a minimal yearly renewal for road tax and insurance with that kind of power.

• MyVi is the old generation of Vitz,

see the new generation at

http://toyota.jp/vitz/exterior/bodycolor/index.ht…

• Roses on May 26, 2005 at 9:20 pm

Very very impulsive car. Combination of Ignis & Gertz n pricing considered fair.Sporty and cute. Gonna book 1.

• legenda on May 26, 2005 at 10:48 pm

ok…ngammm………

• Heizal on May 26, 2005 at 11:54 pm

Daim, this car is nice! now i'm sure I have made the right choice. I have booked the MyVi 1.3EZ today and hope will recieve it before the end of June. Thanks man. If you don't mind I would like to put your site in my blog so that my budz can see how interesting your site is and what you have done with it.

• Jonahdiary on May 27, 2005 at 8:41 am

btw, dengar ura ura by insider, toyota vitz may assembled in malaysia…but don't know when lah…anyway impossible this year.

• kalau tunggu lama-lama nanti vitz pun tua jugak…jual mahal-mahal orang pun tak mau maa!

• razzi rahman on May 27, 2005 at 6:48 pm

Thanks for the information on myvi and I already booked a 1.3EZ (black) yesterday. Hopefully the car will be delivered in three months time. The car is much better than other national cars in almost all aspects. No wonder all perodua branches are stormed by the public to get the real taste of the car. I think I have made the right decision. Any comments??

• Razzi..if u read n believe the more positive reviews on this car than u should have made a good choice…leave some space for some shortcomings as common in other cars too…will know sooner or later…jangan dengar cerita orang saja coz they can be very wrong too…u definately have help the local auto-ind and u can be proud of that…all the best to u and all MYvi owners…

• pak kadok on May 28, 2005 at 3:02 am

wahahhaha.. myvi

• sim aik yew on May 28, 2005 at 5:17 am

never buy car when they r just launch ! advanza owner now must b very disapppointed now coz its cant go up canada hill in miri with 5 sitter adv 50kg only,

• sim aik yew on May 28, 2005 at 5:23 am

advanza exchange for myvi anyone ?

• is it true Avanza ada problem naik bukit…bukit tu terlalu tinggi kot…kalau MYvi with 5 people in boleh macamana, ah?…jangan Pro2 naik harga sudahlah!

• i am kind of short of money, but at same time wants fuel injection, just wonder if anyone has experience with converting iswara from carburator to fuel injection. or it is not worthy in the first place..

• kadir on May 29, 2005 at 7:51 pm

TQ 4 the info paul. i seen myvi but i think i'll wait 4 another year b4 decide to buy. Let the dusts settle down first.

• Matt: he ripped off my posts, and unfortunately i can’t do anything about it.

• Paul, I think you should take a look at this site
    http://www.webkl.net/modules.php?name=News&fi…

Unless you're the contributor to webkl.net, I find an uncanny resemblance.

• I hate ppl that rip off without sighting…….they should burn in hell…

• jamal on May 31, 2005 at 7:16 am

hei paul nampak kereta ini amat popular kalau member komen dengan honda jazz harga berpa pulak

tapi ikut hp lebih kurang saja

• mr. soong on Jun 13, 2005 at 12:09 am

may i know …. the price of the daihatsu sirion body-kit ? please reply to my email address…. thanks….

• im looking for 3 units of myvi, but i cant found a good offer. so im asking some1 els to giv me a good offer. my e-add: [email protected]

• chervolet nabira is lousy car in my drivind experience ,i hust less 1 year having jaming petrol went driving consistence speed,since may until now haven solved poor service from hicomobil and minsin workshop.Don"t buy any chervolet car we will give trouble sama as me .

• tommi on Jul 20, 2005 at 8:12 pm

I like the 1.3EZi ( BLACK ) so i already book . Thanks for ur infomation

• madamat on Jul 21, 2005 at 4:42 pm

Congrats Tommy…our sense of beauty is similar..I lke black cars too (especially Myvi)…now drive a black Honda Civic of tghe late 80's…looking into the prospect of getting a black !.3 EZi too but want to wait just a little…just to be sure that there's no major problems with this new car…so, just continue to provide inputs to this site, okay…

• faeizil on Jul 24, 2005 at 2:34 am

myvi is my next gurlfrenz hihihihih

• woooo.

sejak kete produa di perkenalkan MYVI the best.

so kasi angkat satu ler…

• Ashes on Aug 06, 2005 at 2:53 pm

HK said,

May 26, 2005 @ 1:15 pm

MyVi is the old generation of Vitz,

see the new generation at

http://toyota.jp/vitz/exterior/bodycolor/index.ht…

wat do u mean old generation of vitz? do u know myvi is based on the newly developed Toyota Passo n Daihatsu Sirion? Its a new car mate, get ur facts right. i dont think that toyota would take their own old car and juz change its name n sell it again.

• abang pauzan on Aug 12, 2005 at 6:10 pm

My daughter have booked from dealers at kuching sarawak,myvi auto,green color, but until now she have not get her car and the dealers cannot determined when actually they can receive the car……so my family really need a car to survive in Kuching,as we have sold the old Kancil inorder to get myvi….pls can somebody from your side help us…..urgent!!!!!!!

• i already on booked 21st may MYVI (sxi black) but i haven't received till today.

as per their delear said , i'll received my dream car 3 month from booking dated

• HwaQC on Aug 25, 2005 at 4:37 pm

…buyers need to be stern with dealers…they just wantb to make sales…and will promise you anything…see how many complaints we have read about it and there is nothing about speedy deliveries…ask the sales people and they will probably give and answer you and I can guess…because there is nothing we can do but wait…they will always take us for a ride..think, we buyers have no right ooo…buyers with this problem should get together…maybe TV3 people can bring up the matter…ey have been doing very commendable reporting highlighting problems and putting irresponsible people in hot soup…just an idea…bark at the site onlynot enough ma…

• rohaizad on Aug 27, 2005 at 4:50 am

Hi all,

New info which I dpt today when signing my MYVI agreement.All Perodua price naik on 1st September ….rm1.5k+++ depends to model.Nasib baik MYVI I hari Selasa next week blh OTR…..MERDEKA>>>>.Any suggestion for MYVI owners club yet?????Send me info. if there's one.Any ideas where can I get bodykit for MYVI in Malacca….????

• Nathan on Oct 05, 2005 at 1:17 am

myvi looks great and sporty but pitty the interest rate 55k 3.75% compared to EOn cars as low as 2.7% , Why better buy avanza int is 3.3% 55k the size is big.Most people only see the price is 45k – 50k but forget to realise the total cost.

• Nathan on Oct 05, 2005 at 1:22 am

They should reduce the int rate so that medium income people can effort to buy this car. 3.75% percent is not fair compared to Eon

• necroman on Oct 05, 2005 at 6:23 pm

somebody help me……..

wanna hv a myvi @ kenari?

what's better……………..?

• apple on Nov 23, 2005 at 11:58 pm

i booked myvi end of july'05. the salesman promise me the car i will get within 4 month.but now he said only feb 2006 have the car.

i'm very disappointed and productivity of perodua very slow.

too bad.

• rodrick on Nov 24, 2005 at 5:39 am

my uncle booked the orange colour myvi,EZI,full spec on 3rd of may, salesman told him that he'll receive his car within 3 months… but he havent receive it yet… but my sister and i booked a red myvi red,EZI,full spec last month, and im going to get the car by next week… any idea? my car has arrived, and now just waiting for the plate number thinggy… :P~~~~ WWEEEE~~~~~~ :D HAPPY DRIVING MYVI~~~

anyway~~~ im from Sarawak, Kuching! :D nice to meet you all!!

• I already booked MyVi auto at produa in Miri, the one without airbag and spoiler. Expected I will get it early or mid of Dec. Unfortunately my wife had bought another car. I have no idea what to do with my booking money. any suggestion/idea?

• anida ismail on Dec 07, 2005 at 11:38 pm

what else can i say…VERY CUTE…I love it….one day it's will be mine

• danny on Jan 07, 2006 at 12:50 am

woo.. thats really very nice for trd bodykit. is t hat available in malaysia? if have where can i buy that thing? and how much the prrice?

• car_lose (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 8:33 am

cam kenal je reka bentuk kete nie

• how about price myvi se automatic??

• price myvi se auto?

• kacang on Sep 19, 2010 at 5:13 pm

Paul, myvi 1.0 adew power x.. agak2 lepas kew naik bukit genting.. ahakssss

• kecik on Feb 11, 2011 at 7:02 pm

betol ker myvi 2011 1.5 akan dikeluarkan.??