Proton Satria Replacement Model Turbo

I know many of you will be excited to see this as there has been no SRM spyshot updates in a long time. These Proton Satria Replacement Model spy photos were captured by spy auto photographer Hans G. Lehmann in England going through test rounds. It’s covered with black tape. And with one look, you can see it’s turbocharged!

This is likely the GTI model. Note the lowered suspension, front lip and the side skirts. The rims are also different from the ones we saw before. No more bling bling rims. Thank goodness.

I wonder what the specifications of the engine are. A turbocharged Proton Satria Replacement Model! Woohoo!

Update: I’m looking at it now with a monitor that’s brighter than my home monitor and the intercooler looks a bit dodgy. Might be a Photoshop.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Woow….nice one, front lights look like 5-series.

Good job and thanks for the spy pics.

• aksMs on Oct 14, 2005 at 3:37 pm

The first of the day! Woohoo! =)

Paul, thats one hell of a car. Now that they are testing, I cant wait till they launch it. When do u think they will launch this GTi? 2nd quarter next year? But the side profile near the rear wheel arch kinda ugly lah. I dunno why, but P1 still lack in design department. A little bit too late I'd say. This kind of design should be sold 4 years back.

• Mark Vincent on Oct 14, 2005 at 3:37 pm

i hope they launch it soon…or else i moght end up with a kelisa…can't wait any longer

• aksMs on Oct 14, 2005 at 3:41 pm

Nevertheless, P1 did try to impress and improve. Hope this will reflect the new management, not just another gimmick.

It better be good…cause Im starting my saving today! They better be!

• albagmane on Oct 14, 2005 at 4:05 pm

unfortunately no 4 doors.. if the savvy is similar to this type of pattern.. im sure it will be hot sell in the country.. haih…

im think tat will the slogan be "Built to be Faster"? no more tougher huh?

• Mannnn… P1 already more than 20years old… by the time it started… Mitsubishi already have a lot of turbo model… I've been waiting and keep on thinking that when will P1 launch a new model with turbo engine… Finally, hope to be a reality. But, most probably it's only for Europe market… sigh… definately it's not a Campro engine right…?

• Gannima on Oct 14, 2005 at 4:25 pm

Not another sporty model, what general public want is a new 4 doors sedan.

• Pakopako on Oct 14, 2005 at 4:31 pm

I've seen the real one, lot more better than this opssss….shouldn't tell anybody about this….

• It got Waja's sidemirrors.

Flared wheelarches..nice!

Another centered exhaust tip from Proton.

• SEE FU on Oct 14, 2005 at 4:31 pm

Sure MOh!!

Turbocharged? I saw the Front bumper looks like not Mass-pro one, modify and cut one?? Maybe it was only a Paper printed with Turbocharger image and stick on the bumper. Not put cold water to POTONG arr!! Before the launching anything can be changed, I will not believe it until I see one.

I just wish to know what engine will be used on this Model, CAMPRO or Mitsu or others now? Guess anybody?

YAU MO KAU………..CHOU!!

• albagmane on Oct 14, 2005 at 4:55 pm

i agree with gannima, proton is still not kiasi!!! they don analyze the consumer demand well.. and still produces ridiculous models of vehicles! terrible!!!

• honda_driver on Oct 14, 2005 at 5:05 pm

albagmane, its supposed to have "2 doors" :) . its a satria replacement. besides, the satria has sold very well for proton in all of its configurations. If thats not consumer demand, i dont know what is.

and unfortunately for malaysians, they already have 2 relatively new 4 door cars in the waja and gen2. i dont think there will be any new 4 door models out in the near future.

• keniJI on Oct 14, 2005 at 5:22 pm

Look GOOD,

actually, u will see this model running, testing often

along SHAH ALAM expressway. SAME model!

• Wilfred on Oct 14, 2005 at 5:23 pm

front a bit like gen2

rear still has the satria smell…

with savvy-type exhaust

turbo engine????

G approve it ar???

eh….then we can oso install turbocharger…..

hmm….then probably Perodua consider install K3-VET to 2nd gen of myvi…..lol…..

wah…..wat a world it can b next year….

cant wait to see..

• Xoomie on Oct 14, 2005 at 5:28 pm

I wonder what engine is hiding under the hood. Could it be another Renault's unit. Does Renault have turbo engine? From the 1st pic, I can see the 2 dashboard bums similar to Gen2. Probably it's gonna use the one in Gen2's, I just hope they'll put a GLOVE BOX!!! and redesign the round door opener.

• aksMs on Oct 14, 2005 at 5:28 pm

Waja is suppose to be obsulete. Gen2 should be a sedan. Proton should come up with a brand new line up for SRM, for e.g SRM 4-door hatch. Then the replacement model SRM 3-door hatch, followed by the GTi's for hot hatches. Isn't that the European style, the one that Proton wants to follow?

• travis on Oct 14, 2005 at 5:38 pm

seriously the car look stunning, it just looks like an overweight staria GTi.Perhaps this car will steal some market from the hot hatches market in the UK.

But then if u suggest the SRM as a 4 door, then what gen2 is up to? Another 4 door hatchback from proton? What they seriously need is a MPV to beat avanza!

However since this is a 3rd niche hatch car from proton, what proton direction is up to? Why they still cant find develop a proper car for families, which family cars is still the biggest market in Mysia.

• When we got the first spyshots of the gen2 before they were released, they got waja steering wheels and grey interiors. Look at what we've ended up with now. By the time the satria is released, they would have chucked away the good things and leave us with a pensonic plastic fan blades for the turbo turbine! Not quite…but you know what i mean!

• Another centered exhaust ….. another renault engine ?????

beware…. :D

• SkyHigh on Oct 14, 2005 at 6:12 pm

Wat is that thing on top of the left side roof, looks like a camera or something

• Could it be a Kleemans supercharger attached with the engine? If not turbo… doubt…

• Cyrus on Oct 14, 2005 at 6:31 pm

Travis,

Mate, i think the reason Proton din come out wit any new families' car is because their technology is not good enough to build such a big car, i reckon that they need more time to develop it, perhaps later we can see the new model that replace Perdana V6 ~~ I think Proton is targeting on the youth market and lower income group right now

Back to the topic, honestly i am quite interested in this model, it is another Proton's new generation Product. Gen2 is a big and first step for Proton to come out wit their own car (no more mitsubishi imitate model), however, it failed, in terms of quality and other aspect. Savvy, the 2nd model, which has a great improvement after Proton Gen2, however, not success… but this time the problem is not the car itself, it is the competition – Myvi. Now.. the 3rd new model from Proton, 2 door hatchback, replacement for Proton Satria or GTi, as TRAVIS mention, a 2 door hatch back has a very low demand in m'sia, (Att: Honda_driver) the good sales of Satria or GTi is the past already, as a EON salesman before, honestly, no more ppl are looking for Satria… they prefer waja, gen2 the most, because consumer are looking for a more practical car. BUT ….. the buyer who prefer 2 door hatchback usually are looking for a high performance car, a sport car ~~ maybe this can explain y the new model has a turbocharge as mention by Paul in the article.

I reckon this car would be a replacement for Satria GTi, a high performance 2 door hatchback that target on the youth market or Generation Y (13-29) and lower income group, who is looking for a cheaper high performance car, and non-family group..

Guys, is it making any sense to u all??

• wow!..wow..wow…wow! it's a beauty man!

at last, an affordable turbocharged? kleemans?

• napps on Oct 14, 2005 at 7:02 pm

paul,

did u get the pics from a mag or website? can u tell which mag/website specifically?

thx!

• freebsd on Oct 14, 2005 at 7:08 pm

The launch of the SRM itself has been delayed for more than a year now. So if anyone who knows the real date when we can see this on our road, he better go buy numbers.

Anyway, nice looking hatch. Just hope the plastic trimmings are nice to touch ac much as it look.

• Flannel on Oct 14, 2005 at 7:15 pm

hi guys…

honestly for me its like a modified car, not like an original car, looks not so smooth, *sigh*…again:(

• you misspell proton with protno

• terran on Oct 14, 2005 at 7:45 pm

make it in more affordable price bracket RM40 + definitely I'll buy one later…if they include turbo tuned engine in the package definitely I'll book NOW hehe… it's a stuner cos I've been a satria fan for quite some time.

• aksMs on Oct 14, 2005 at 7:53 pm

Hopefully it could surpass the good feedbacks that the Satria GTi recieved (put the bad crit aside for once, lets focus on the achievements, here).

No matter what market segment P1 wants to put the money on, the Savvy's and Gen2's interior has to go. PERIOD! They have to come out with better quality better design and better clippers and glue.

Just take a look at the hot hatches segment in Europe. What do we have on the menu? VW Golf GTi, Renault Megane Sport, 206 GTi, Focus RS, Astra VXR etc. Does Proton realize just what they are dreaming to achieve here? They must run on 2.0 litre turbocharged and at least 200 ponies under the hood to compete with the old timers. I hope they know what they are doin.

The best of luck!

• senthil on Oct 14, 2005 at 8:09 pm

oh my god…..oh man… if that is rm 47 000…i am gonna sell my myvi and get that man….k3ve hard lar…

• nohiddenagenda on Oct 14, 2005 at 8:17 pm

one thing for sure, this does not reflect new management. TM gone just few months back.

nice car. i always admire GTi, by the time i can afford it, i'm about to get married.

Can it be Petronas engine inside… if yes, i book 1 now >:)

• it looks awesome from here but im more concerned about the build quality and interior. (savvy interior alot of plastic :-( )

im sure it will have a good engine :D + lotus handling = gg EK9!

at least 170hp lar… proton ^^

• Lantis on Oct 14, 2005 at 8:22 pm

I'm agree with others about the demand of this kind of car, 2 door hatchback. Now malaysian are prefer to get 4 doors car or sedan. Even now honda, toyota, and nissan released their new model with 4 doors…not 2 doors because they already know the malaysian taste even majority people in the world…I think this SRM market can survive in a few years…or maybe a few months. For example…Satria R3, they take a long time to fulfill its quota before release that car. I hope this SRM not like that and proton should do something and 'Dare To Change'….;D

BTW, this SRM are nice and so different with current model…GUD LUCK PROTON!

• Streamyx User on Oct 14, 2005 at 8:22 pm

oh fork DAMN GANAS WEY

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Oct 14, 2005 at 8:27 pm

what's wrong with renault engine?

it's better than another what? .

just sparepart bit mahal.. of cos when u compare it with japans sparepart.

nowaday, renault is not underdog yet.. becoming a monster later..

why?.

F1 already conquored by renault, 2nd is merz.. GTH ferrari.

so.. im not think that renault engine is bad. your mentaliti is bad.. that still thinking for the past 10years!..

macam2 lah.. letak enjin campro tak bagus.. bila masuk enjin mitsu = bila nak ada enjin sendiri la.. masuk enjin ape lagi baru boleh?

what a shame malaysian..

• nohiddenagenda on Oct 14, 2005 at 8:31 pm

Masuklah 200HP Petronas engine @-)

• ex-mivec on Oct 14, 2005 at 8:41 pm

mau ke proton kuarkan turbo nie. brani sgt dah kot. alhmdllh!

• rafreez on Oct 14, 2005 at 8:41 pm

agree with travis I am…no more 2 doors or hatchback…MPV please…try SUV also good….but this new SRM is just like satria facelift…boring

• rafreez on Oct 14, 2005 at 8:44 pm

hahaha…cool mitsu_galant_2000, I agree with you but for me as long as the engine doesnt burst in flames like tiara and not under powered…good enough, Msia highway only up to 110kmh goes up to 150kmh…TARIK LESEN OOOO….

• E-Nabill on Oct 14, 2005 at 8:45 pm

WOOOOOW!! izzit using the latest Perilli tyres…i tink its the P6000,damn expensive…check it out frm the patern thread….this car sits sooo low! i wont be surprised if its using the lotus rovers K series engin n turbo charged..or a campro turbo charged…i dont see anyting else being here…i jus tink this is a very very early prototype…i mean usally thy dont reveal the big radiator like that by cuting the bumper from the middle..maybe thy jus wanna see if its feasible….bt 10 out of 10 definatly ! can feel its gonna be a HUGE hit wen comes to showrooms…proton plz hurry up!

• Lo (bridgy) on Oct 14, 2005 at 9:15 pm

proton SRM mass production this december .

expected enough car around feb or march and get into launch .

the GT-i version is informed will be launched few months just after the launch .

• wiraone on Oct 14, 2005 at 9:43 pm

Gee.. you guys talking about customers demand etc.. etc.. well, may be it is not your demand .. but some others would probably love to have one. Proton has two saloon models to satisfy you .. the Perdana & Waja should be enough. Family hatch is actually a good market either in Malaysia or in Europe.

• Verne on Oct 14, 2005 at 9:58 pm

I love it. Makes me want one! Sexy!

I think the intercooler is fake. Looks so artificial!

• Lantis on Oct 14, 2005 at 10:38 pm

PAUL, you not put 'hyperlink' for previous articles that related with this SRM article at the bottom. Its easy to us to review again…TQ

• travis on Oct 14, 2005 at 10:39 pm

well proton is trying very hard to win the overcrowed hatchback markets in the UK. That why this hot hatch is crucial to proton success in the UK.

I have no idea what displacement is for the SRM, but what i heard frm a PE SA at glenmarie telling me that the SRM will be released with a 1.3cc engine 1st.

SRM GTi with turbo would be super yummy!!!!!

• Nowadays college student is rich enough to buy some hot rods, so since Malaysian urban population is made up of younger generation, perhaps SRM can fill in the loophole left by Honda and toyota which is not produced anymore or their price expensive. Can it compete with Naza-Peugeot 206 remain to be seen. Price it rights, couple with reliable engine and quality interior, it could win back Malaysian people.

• napps: got it from here –> http://www.mph-online.com/web/spyphotos/0015

• Great Wall Of China on Oct 14, 2005 at 11:15 pm

Ouch……..first time impressed by a Potong product..

haizz.

• cyborgx on Oct 14, 2005 at 11:26 pm

shai

it's kinda hard since 62,600 ppl already booked p2 myvi.

The SRM's headlight is not big enough to show the aggressiveness of the design. Infact it's too small to show anything. The rearlight is weird in my opinion and it could have been better.

SRM design its like the old Proton Satria. Imo,it's boring and not-so-appealing anymore. Interior wise,I hope proton will not use those type of cheap plastic-toy to manufacture the car as you seen in today's Proton Junk2 and Savvy.That's about it.

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 15, 2005 at 12:12 am

Old days the Satria is selling well, mainly because of PRICE wise not ppl like the 3 Doors design. Also ppl has no other choices at that time.

Now the situation has been changed. I believed Myvi is the best alternative compare to Satria 3 doors.

I am wondering POTONG is going to the right direction now. Only selling GTI version?? How to survive? The volume is too small and if selling above RM 100K still not possible, because only SOW HIGH or SOW LOW will buy it. Anyone Agreed?

• Apai_Mau on Oct 15, 2005 at 12:15 am

Vrrooommm……psssstttt (blowoff valve sound)…….vrooommmmm…..psssst…..here comes the SRM turbo :)

• Aris Tee on Oct 15, 2005 at 12:15 am

correct me if i'm wrong, but if i'm not mistaken that's the same front lip as the normal SRM24… :P

• Aris: It isn't even a lip, it's part of the bumper design… I must have been blind this morning. 7am. LOL!

• kanasai on Oct 15, 2005 at 12:36 am

This model will not be as hot as Myvi for sure. can proton just use a little bit of brain to produce a car that will have a strong demand among us?

• kalen_XI on Oct 15, 2005 at 12:39 am

paul…for the love of god and all that's holy in this world..

PLEASE..keep us up to date with the SRM turbo!!!i need to know when the booking period starts…i must be there 1st..i MUST!!im telling u…I MUST BE THERE!!!!hahahahha…lol

• Big Hairy Flaps on Oct 15, 2005 at 1:47 am

Just out of interest, im 100% sure these photos where not taken in the UK. Not to sure where though. Looks like France to me? The SRM has GB plates, with a GB badge on it. To drive a car in any other european country you have to have a badge to show where the car comes from. Why would it have a GB badge on it?

• The more I stare at it, the more the intercooler looks fake. LOL!

• Big Hairy Flaps on Oct 15, 2005 at 2:43 am

I agree with you. It dosnt look right in the top picture. Why would they have it on show like that? Surely it would have some sort of protection over it?

• honda_driver on Oct 15, 2005 at 2:52 am

SRM=hot hatch/hatchback. its not even in competition with the myvvi. people in general who buy the myvvi will not buy the SRM. They will also not buy any other 2 door car in the market.

people who buy 4 door honda/nissan/toyota sedans will also not buy the SRM, or civic 2dr..golf gti..etc. etc.

those are the facts. people who will buy a 2 door car will buy a 2 door car no matter what other people do or say.

a good case study is the satria R3. using an "absolete" platform thats been around for years and years. the satria gti is already at the end of its product life cycle. sales are almost zero.

R3 launches satria R3 at RM79,000. old platform, unmodified old mitsubishi engine, high price, but with enhanced driving dynamics. Minimal marketing or advertising. Car can only be booked online.

conclusion, all 150 units sold out in less than a year.

Just because you dont want a 2 door, doesnt mean everyone else doesnt want one.

• honda_driver on Oct 15, 2005 at 2:53 am

dog the wan.. these are only pics of a prototype srm undergoing testing. no where does it say it is a gti, but maybe it looks like it could be.

it also doesnt say proton will only sell a gti version.

• gegaoff on Oct 15, 2005 at 3:03 am

looks sporty, but the interior, how is it? paul, u have any pic on that? i'm worry that the interior will look the same as savvy… damm i hate that…

as dog the wan said, 2 doors car always have its own target market, and demand. usually car producer will schedule for upgrade/replacement model for their old model. so what POTONG doing now is in right direction, even we know this is a small market for 2 doors car…

yes, we demand more in sedan car, but perhaps is the quality we looking for, right? let's c POTONG can get a good reputation on this SRM for their moral, to build more quality cars in future…

but for now, emm… cheers! ^_^

• FiveElements on Oct 15, 2005 at 4:15 am

HAHAHHAHA………..TURBO-CHARGED proton…..yeah…..pls keep dreaming in a million years….

IF they really have the heads and brains to do it…….i will tattoo the PROTON LOGO on my forehead……

Another CRap!!!……SIGH…..

• zing2 on Oct 15, 2005 at 4:19 am

IT COULD ALL BE A HOAX

the world is so cruel, lets hope not (make teh headlights biggar!) :P

• Honda Driver on Oct 15, 2005 at 4:51 am

turbo!!!! hav potong send it for a crash test?

• Well why dont we look at it possitively! Maybe it might turn out to be a good car. Then it may sell well. Good luck to proton.

• aksMs on Oct 15, 2005 at 6:01 am

FiveElements: Hehe…you just couldn't be bothered by another new Proton model, eh? I don't mind to keep on dreaming and bash them at the same time as I want them to one day build a proper car for us. But everything got its limit, right? Oh well, everyone is entitled to have their own feel and opinion.

Anyway, I think this undercover SRM looks meaner and more appropriate to be in hot hatches class. Unlike the finish product SRM24, the rear-end looks too ladylike to me.

Paul, the intercooler could've been a fake. Or they just put it there as a disguise so that people might think they are testing a turbo model.

I'll buy the SRM GTi:

1) IF it's 2.0 litre engine turbo/supercharged.

2) IF it has more than 200 ponies.

3) IF it handles like an Elise (fun to drive).

4) even if they don't have electric window (less eletric/eletronic, less problem).

Other than this, like FiveElements said, is a crap. But even if they comply with the above IF's, I still wouldn't buy it if they come with the same cheap plastic and ugly interior.

(Proton, please don't let that lady to be the chief designer for the GTi's interior).

• macspeed on Oct 15, 2005 at 6:41 am

FiveElements, if they ever came out with a turbocharged SRM remeber to do your deed okays….will be fun to c a guy with a proton tatoo om his head

• Lo (bridgy) on Oct 15, 2005 at 8:44 am

the GTi version is not a turbocharged version .

no turbo-charge Proton .

• terran on Oct 15, 2005 at 11:15 am

omg guys i think I saw beige coloired dashboard…. that color sux

being a satria fan definitely I'll buy one cos I'm a satria fan.. hope they'll just stick with the name… this is one hot car!!!

• armandd on Oct 15, 2005 at 11:21 am

good job! keep updating Paul!

• didiz on Oct 15, 2005 at 4:10 pm

that one photoshop edit lah.. you all semua percaya eks.. hahahahaha…

• HighEndPcMonitor on Oct 15, 2005 at 5:14 pm

That photo i have view using my High end PC Monitor (Software control pixel and brithness), and also using the ArcSoft Photostudio software to fine tune it, it tells that the photo is actually 2 layer of graphics pasted. If i add some soften and blur part on the side of the intercoller, the picture will look like very real.

Hehe…just some hoax i think…but i would like to cross finger and hope they really do comes out a version with supercharge or turbocharge at a very fair price. If interior have a good quality finishes, it will be a saviour to the Proton's long time failure previous model.

• rskelisa on Oct 15, 2005 at 5:38 pm

dont think proton will come out with super/turbocharged…or else R3 centre will design something like what they did on their development of upgrading level (stage1/2/3)…

• eeeepull on Oct 15, 2005 at 6:31 pm

alooooo

how arrr you alll?

• guess it would be nice if it was turbocharged but from the looks of it i doubt it tht its real.

• wiraone on Oct 16, 2005 at 2:20 am

HighEndPcMonitor, AutoExpress has almost the same (but not exact) spy photos of Proton SRM under testing here in the UK. It was showing the same turbo intake taped and it mentioned in the weekly magazine saying that it might be turbocharged.

• honourMe on Oct 16, 2005 at 2:55 am

Did u notice the dash board infront steering wheel looks like a bra in that pic?

• Putra on Oct 16, 2005 at 4:16 am

Wait till new Putra 4WD turbo coming soon. It gonna ROCKS!!!!

• Louis on Oct 16, 2005 at 7:18 am

another faulty and lousy car! the design looks dated and can be traced back to the early 90s.doesnt look new to me.it reninds me of my old honda Civic (eg).i think my EG looks better seriously!what about the engine??20 years old Mitsu engine again?Lack of innovation,,does it comply with the eurp emmission regulation?doesnt need to put on the disguise.nobody will fork care it if it is a Potong.

it is so lack of character i shd say…worst thing it want to be called GTI..i can only accept Golf GTI, 206GTI…….but potong GTI…NNNNNNO!!!!

this Potong GTI must be a CRAP!

a sore to the eyes!really!!only those idiots who knows nothiing about cars will appreciate..how pathetic!!!!

ha!

• MoMoSosicko on Oct 16, 2005 at 9:14 am

Louis

honestly calling people idiots who appriciate SRM are not a building comment nor a wise one!!!

Guess your mama forgot to teach ya learn to appriciate your own balls (eventhough its small and corcky ) rather than hoping and wissing to have the same mat saleh size one…Hah! what a fool.

Even though its look abit 90s in design.. i think its not that bad all if you compare to golf nor your old civic both which the desing more likely 80s..

• Well Louis you don't have to be upset with new SRM and call other cars lover an idiot. If you don't like the design or the outmodded engines, go to other blog that hail the Golf GTI, 206 GTI.

At least Proton do something to improve.

Eh new Putra 4WD turbo, I thought it was dead.Any proof mister putra or it just a rumour.

• armandd on Oct 16, 2005 at 2:27 pm

there's nothing wrong with the design. i think it's even better than korean or some japanese makes…

• This morning… I'm still driving the 1st model Satria… the original engine already died 2 years ago… now using 4G61 engine… so far so good… no hassle… already change to sport springs and 16" rims … even better controls vs the stock… mouse sound… have to hear it every day… sigh… power windows… damn… 2 doors also have problem… better still… if have 4 doors will have more sickness to me… aircond flap all broken… wanna sell 2 years ago but nobody wants… So, I've put in one set of Mivec body kit… looks better but JPJ always scare me… going for inspection once… but actually Satria is a good car if it's has a thicker body shell and good quality plastics for the interior… I've an old Toyota too… ST150 ,1985… but I enjoy driving more on the old Toyota… even it's sedan… langgar pokok pun bumper tak jatuh… Satria langgar lubang pun bumper boleh jatuh… apa kelas la… But in future I will change the dashboard or whatever parts to original Mitsubishi… only body shell can't… If can… body shell also I wanna change… people said that Satria GTI is in a good quality compare to it's price… why don't proton use the same quality to the std Satria? sigh…

• rasco on Oct 16, 2005 at 6:12 pm

market demand? for 4 door, we have Gen2 n Savvy n Waja already. And if Add satria? OMG.. no more 2 doors sport car. or isit sumbody is envy of SRM being of 2 door n looks cool.

hehe.. anyway, whatever it is, if the turbo version is real, i'll sell off my current satria for it! I WANT ONE!! hope there'll be test drive session.

• saga 1985 on Oct 16, 2005 at 8:48 pm

the following comment is not to offend anyone but it's just a result of my research based on observation & reading of printout from proton web and magazines.

positioning itself as a sporty passenger carriage is the new brand position of Proton which is very crucially needed by proton to shake off its cheap & uninteresting image. To those who think that why not choose other design approach instead of a sporty & aggressive designs which may not be favoured by most people in malaysia (compare savvy & myvi in terms of exterior design comment) is due to the ownership of Lotus which makes it a better choice in terms of cost & convenience of acquiring technology and also the best way to change an image is to be something that you have never be before (pre-GTi period, proton was budget & old looking mitsubishi clone car, and changing to sporty appearance will leave a greater impression in mind of others). not to forget in brand management, not to ignore "the power of narrow focus". So this is my opinion on why targeting a smaller niche market and.

secondly, proton is on its way to establish a full fledge model line from supermini to medium size family car. Why not SRM be a 4-door? because we already have a Waja (compact car class), Gen.2 (sub-compact class) and also perdana (medium size family car). SRM is to be in the sub-compact class which is a 3-door version of Gen.2 (check out the shot of interior and exterior theme, it echoes the Gen.2). However, i do agree that Waja should be given a face-lift but due to the limited resource in Proton, that will not be coming soon. Same goes to PV6, no replacement soon.

Interior wise, many have been complaining bout the plastic interior. If you have a copy of the "GUTS magazine". Do check out the articles on Gen.2 and you'll understand why so much plastic is used.

I fully support Proton to set a trend in the market and not just follow what the big boys are doing. a reminder is that, there are two ways in competing, either you compete head to head or u stay away and produce something that your competitor is lacking. Currently, Proton consider its SWOT and the desired approach is the latter.

again, i am not trying to flame here but just to share my opinion as i also have the same view point as all of you before i started researching.

thanks! and all the best to proton!

• ah lim on Oct 17, 2005 at 4:10 pm

saga 1985 cayalah….

• Ah Kang on Oct 17, 2005 at 11:54 pm

why still compalint 'bout the design?…try to be different and outstanding laaa….just take a look at BMW….is their design lil' bit weird??????

• gtilover on Oct 18, 2005 at 4:01 am

O gosh!… can i place my downpayment?

Okay lah…turbocharged for less than RM 80k.

the rest who don't concur… please fcuk off.

• Sexythang on Oct 18, 2005 at 8:26 am

design seems too dated and look too much like a daewoo and the old mitsubishi platform. nevertheless its still interesting to see what the turbochargers would do even the though the car itself is not that much exciting. nice to have factory turbochargers but still if it turbocharges a lousy car its not much use.

one thing is guaranteed for sure….the golf gti will still be in a league of its own. take a ride in one of those and you'll see.

as for somebody's comment above. i dont see proton is innovating. they are just jumping into a crowded pool where there are alot more better choices around.

watever the result. i predict the results will be more or less the same. show some hope but it will definitely colapse. and we still end up subsidizing proton cars so other countries can buy it cheaper and better equipped. they might be able to improve….but they definitely cannot catch up.

I know i wont line up to buy a proton anytime soon or in the future.

• apa daaa on Oct 24, 2005 at 9:36 pm

apa dah punye PESB kat sini….pakai gen2 tapi gune minyak hitam 20w-50w……apa kes punya kedai servise…

• soya bean on Oct 25, 2005 at 11:17 am

same bloody shape and design as the old satria…so WHATS NEW??????????????????????????..the last satria sells BECOZ ITS CHEAP, AND people has little choices..

• Well done proton… love the design. Yes it looks like they do lots of testing to get it right. The number plate is from UK, the number 05 means year 2005, the GB sticker says they have been in the EU to do testing in the snow just like they did with Waja, Gen 2 and Savvy. Cheers….

• Looks COOL……….

• Tuning_Professional on Oct 29, 2005 at 8:04 am

Better turbo than never. But i'm a bit skeptical about the intercooler.

• Tuning_Professional on Oct 29, 2005 at 8:12 am

Louis. You better get the hell outta here. Insulting Proton just because of a so-called 'pathetic' prototype car. Your comments are more pathetic than an ugly scrapped and rusty car.

All prototypes does NOT look beautiful. You better wait until it was launched, then you can determine how beautiful or ugly the car is.

And one warning to you, Louis- if you reply my message with rude words, you're the one who's gonna be VERY sorry. GOODBYE!

• controller on Nov 03, 2005 at 4:40 am

ill little bit shock that proton can produce such kind of cars…im actually using a proton satria too…but that cars make me and my country (malaysia) felt soooo proud…

p/s: i bet its a 1.8 litter engine with big block….

• Tuning_Professional on Nov 07, 2005 at 9:08 pm

Dear MoMoSosicko (your name so long one), you are right. Louis is totally a f**king MORON! He says that people who knows nothing about cars would appreciate with that car, but in fact, HE was one of them. Hah! What a triple MORON! Not only that, he's also a COWARD, showing his strength by condemning Proton, another stupid way to give a comment. Just like the anti-Malaysian mitsu_galant_2000 and DODOT the BODOH punya BADUT.

What he really didn't know that the first Proton Wira models were based on the similar 90s design by Mitsubishi, the Mitsubishi Lancer GSR EVO 1. Proton made some changes to the car, just to make sure it does NOT look like the 90s design. At least they improve the car's design…

Potong GTi looks better if I chop off that Louis' head (potong) and put it on the bonnet of the car!

• Tuning_Professional on Nov 08, 2005 at 7:53 am

If you're asking me whether I would buy the Proton SRM, my answer would sound like this-

I will buy the car if:

1. Proton sell the car in GTi NA or Turbo

2. Proton offered a good looking bodykit (wide one perhaps), wide tyres and lightweight rims if the car was modded by the Proton R3.

3. Proton sell it at a reasonable price according to the specs of the car.

Note to all- If you find that what i gave here is incorrect, reply my message nicely WITHOUT using ANY negative and 'KOTOR' words. Thank You.

• cant wait to test drive the srm….

• and, beli tak beli lain cerita, yang penting test drive dulu…..

• boomer on Nov 13, 2005 at 4:21 am

SRM…nice……but not as nice as my satria gti …muak muak…still prefer the old one ..muak…

• virus on Nov 14, 2005 at 9:08 pm

cannot wait SRM R3 version :)

• Another lovely car from proton…. well done.

• mazrin on Nov 21, 2005 at 6:53 pm

No more carburetor engine system,,,, long live Proton with turbo system,,,,,,,…………… vrooommmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm -PEchihhhhhhhhhhhhhhh(Blow-off valve sound)

• burn22 on Dec 12, 2005 at 11:31 am

look nice, sporty n garang wit the intercooler!

but price wise, don't harap below 60k! turbocharge kit oledi 5 figures, mana ada 40k to 47k! maybe dalam mimpi! just hope proton will improve more if wanna compete wit other cars, especially on the quality and handling!

• Adi lotry on Dec 13, 2005 at 12:25 am

Whoaaaa!!!!!! what a beautiful car….this turbo version is better than the none turbo version…even the rims is not a bling bling….i cant wait till it launch….but for the price RM40k to Rm50k maybee in my dream la…even the old Gti version is about RM90k….so it price maybe RM100k la

• Bazzo on Dec 13, 2005 at 2:42 am

haha.. think again.. the Satria GTI Replacement model has been scraped by proton. Their answer to this was. The Satria will not make enough profits for them. Therefore as a user myself waiting to sell mine and get the new one. Im thinking of a Mitsubishi Evo now. Anyway they Satria Replacement GTI model supposingly schedule to be launched on late next year. Price around 85k, Full racing suspension, racing brake pads, Brembo brakes, turbo or supercharged, 2.0 cc, Full momo stuff and recaro seats, No air bag.

• paxter (Member) on Mar 29, 2006 at 9:36 pm

I woudnt want a turbo charge engine. Use to think it would be cool but after looking at a mate fill up 70 ringgit every 2 days in his evo 7 i rather not have a turbo engine till turbo charge comes in eletric power :D

• shiau (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 4:35 am

SRM has a great new design. Proton did let me down with it's poor quality on the few previous cars such the Waja,Gen-2 and Savvy. Waja always had some parts going loose meanwhile Gen-2 and Savvy has very bad quality interior parts. The texture of the interior is very rough and poor letting every passenger feel little comfort in journey. Hopefully the Proton SRM will be fully refined before it's release to give a better reputation to Proton after the fatal blow given by Perodua's Myvi.

ps: Hopefully the SRM comes with airbags and ABS…..

• gogocar (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 7:20 am

Don't worry Proton will introduce airbags and ABS version for Satria. Is just a mater of time or the money you willing to pay for it or not? I strongly believe Satria will have dual air-bags, ABS, leather seats, auto-ccruise and tinted in High-Line Version like Gen-2 1.6. I believe this car's price is very competative and very very attractive…..I think the price for Satria 1.3 price will fall between Gen2 1.3AT and Savvy.So what do you guys think about it? Is very afortable price for all the young people…Hope the interior colour is black. Easy to take care.

• chang (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 7:30 am

another junk car…

• Siva (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 11:22 pm

I've heard through the grapevines that the new Satria Replacement Model will be called the Proton Satria Neo. If that's true, good job Proton on keeping the Satria name.

• jme (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 2:50 am

Hi there everyone,

I need some advice. Have just put a booking fee on the Neo H-Line model. I'm now having double thoughts. Thinking of getting the Waja. Adding on, its a 4 door plus full leather interior. So do advice me on the quality for both cars. Know that previous Waja had problems with power windows, door knobs etc. Also heard that the fuel consumtion is quit high.(From a friend who uses a Waja2005(m). Maybe letting me know whats the fuel mileage. So people out there, i have till end of this week to change my booking order. Please give me some positive and negative points of view. Will much appreciate it.

Thanks.

JME