Proton Rally game based on Half Life engine

protonrally1.jpg

Here’s something amusing. A company called GameXtra has actually developed a modification for the Half Life engine called Proton Rally. For those who are in the gaming scene, you would know that the Half Life engine is very flexible. In fact, Proton Rally is likely based on the HL Rally mod.

It features Proton cars like the Waja, GEN2, and Satria Neo. You can buy new parts to soup up your car with the money you get from winning races. It’s never going to be as good as Gran Turismo though, as the Half Life engine was never meant to be used to develop racing games.

More screenshots and a video after the jump.

protonrally2.jpg

protonrally3.jpg

protonrally4.jpg

protonrally5.jpg

protonrally6.jpg

Video: Proton Rally Game

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Fairman (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 10:16 pm

Looks cool ! but i still prefer the need for speed most wanted…

• Dogster (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 10:26 pm

Give them time and they will soup up a better product :P

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 10:29 pm

ewww…the graphics suck….

still need a lot of work to do before releasing it..

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 10:49 pm

ya ,very bad graphics

• myviRS (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 11:11 pm

yucks! why should stay with the bling-bling wheels for rally? i just can't understand.. at least change the wheels to suit the road condition

• Din (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 11:27 pm

The makers of the game seem to have secured some sponsorship. I noticed Toshiba and Maybank panels on the car.

Yeah, give em some time and we will see some Protons in the next NFS.

• MyBoy (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 11:27 pm

The quality and accuracy of the Satria Neos graphics reminds me of pre-1995 computer game (racing genre).

• -IQ- (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 11:44 pm

huhu..nice..yea myboy..it's remind me about a rally game actually around 1995..featuring karamjit and his co-driver..driving a Proton Wira..it's a good rally game in that time..i think..heehe

• -IQ- (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 11:48 pm

btw..paul..where can i get this game..

• wilson (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 12:37 am

hahaha

the tyre is not round at alll

• DAN (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 2:40 am

stupid story that never finish is like taro that never end s long have this type of people that thinking is like easy way to get n easy thing . is like daddy money!!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 3:08 am

So, where to download this game?

• voyager86 (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 3:10 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UMuR7sowmyc

video…..!!

got Proton Saga (the old Saga!!!) too…….:D

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 4:05 am

Is this you call a graphic? Suck! Its like BOXY object turning left and right without know what the hell is going on. :(

All proton stylist car's image gone…..down the drain……looks like Shit. Mana boleh?

Siapa Sokong?

Mana ada orang suka main game macam ini…….

• Mike V (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 4:12 am

Noticed that you said Half Life engine … not Half Life 2 … that was like 10 years ago guys … If it used the engine from like say Flatout 2 .. that would be something …. would be nice seeing it busted to pieces … :-)

• Grey_Fox (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 4:18 am

Nice try, i can even see the twin towers in the background.

Yet, this is way way way..behind. 5-10 years behind? Just look at the games launching with PS3.

• Dogster (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 5:38 am

Opps, A very sad Game!

• Ralliace (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 5:46 am

Sad looking rally game ever! Is that the best we Malaysian can do?

By the way, anyone notice the conflicting sponsorship between Petronas and Mobil in the game? The game had Petronas signages at the start and Mobil at the end of the stage. Hahaha….

• hiuzi_eriena (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 6:12 am

Good try, a lot of space of improvement, take need for speed underground2 as benchmark, can modify all the cars, kuala lumpur view and plus all local manufacturing car, perodua, inokom, naza and not forget r3 team and the dyno test.We support u.

• wyejon (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 7:12 am

you know Paul when you mentioned the Half Life engine I was thinking of Half Life 2… this game looks very 'kuno'.

• -IQ- (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 7:36 am

huhu..i'm a gmes freak..i'll buy this one..to try game that dedicated Malaysia as a main object..huhu..go..go..chaiyokk…

• AMG (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 7:46 am

The quality as same as the NEED FOR SPEED (1993)

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 7:55 am

Need some improvement on graphics….

For those Need For Speed fans out there, just wait for the upcoming Need For Speed Carbon (Playstation, XBox and PC)

• jonjwlee (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 8:38 am

The Saga is probably the most realistic of the cars…

Notice that they used a Subaru Impreza interior for the Satria Neo.

• DtG (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 8:42 am

LAME LAME LAME LAME LAME LAME LAME!!!!

• Lexus-IS (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 10:30 am

this game really make people laughing and no standard of graphic effecttion SUCK …and somemore use all proton car really no idea ..

• craziqbal (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 10:39 am

graphics suck!..big time…still a lot of room for improvement…

• msmar_453 (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 5:27 pm

For those who really "pandai sangat" there, i know lah you all beli pirate cd PS2 games, RM 10.00 3 keping. Still want to comment r?

At least, the PROTON RALLY team shows!! you all sucks what!!

Don't be angry aa… hehehe

• ckengyo (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 6:59 pm

ziqing is here. all fwd proton suddenly become turn precise rwd. hopefully those player wont confuses by the vr & think that they really drive as good as the game in reality & cos tragedy.

• don^don (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 8:23 pm

piang, notti^dog iz way better than diz man yo!~

• whodz (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 11:38 pm

Is this game for sale? Why is this game developed,anyway? If it is to attract people to proton, it will be vice versa. Come on, Malaysian game developers are way better than that..This is like their mini project or something, or they are just play around with ancient engine like HL and then start develop this game for 1-2 months, i guess.

• andyyap (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 11:59 pm

Proton , let me tell you , my Neo is a very very good car , you really did a good job . but when i can get the Satria Neo bodykit ?

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 12:33 am

graphic is terrible. need more improvement. dont bash them ok? give them some times.

• drM (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 1:30 am

wey…i thought they said Agusta is not bussiness-syhcronous with Proton. and I am going to say the same here. GAMES and Proton is not quite synchronised. Better sell the game maker for 1 ringgit! aahahahahahha….

ps- i'm buying the game maker.. 1 ringgit….come on Proton!

• neurra (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 2:34 am

hmm.. if they can implement using the half-life source engine.. huhu.. that'd result in much better geometries..

• Jiun 88 (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 5:41 am

haha…….haha…….

Such graphics… =P

Even PS 1 games can easily beat it.

But whut the heck, looks like simple, mindless, fun to me. Perhaps it's good for a break, after playing difficult games for a while.

=P

• sloth (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 6:41 am

graphics aside, do these cars really handle like d real ones? I think dat's d most important thing for games such as this.

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 7:11 am

LOL, this game even features the Saga! I wonder if it features all Proton models or just the ones shown in the video. I noticed the cars in the game has good handling and behave like RWDs, much unlike their real life counterparts.

• jzkzlz (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 7:15 am

The graphics remember me of playing Need For Speed, using Pentium 100Mhz with Onboard 2MB Graphic Memory.. Win95….

• giyzmo (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 12:08 pm

Kudos to the team behind the development of this game, well i must admit the graphics are way behind if compared to the other racing games we have seen nowadays, i guess it all goes back to the buget of the project…good graphics, good budget…sad graphics, sad buget…gotta admit we can't expect the designers of this game to deliver top notch graphics on a very low budget, it's like saying you want to pay a hundred ringgit for a bugatti veyron!!! again good effort to the developing team, hopefully the sponsors of this game would take note and take game development seriously as it reflects on their products as well….

• shaif (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 4:07 pm

Perhaps our local game developer could seek some sponsorship from Proton or Petronas and forms some colloboration with game developer in Europe which have the technology and expertise.

A good attempt and it can boost brand image just the same as other games such as V-Rally, Sega Rally and Colin Mcrae which intoduce the brand name of Impreza, Evo, Skoda and others.

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 5:21 pm

Interior shot is of an Impreza. Anyone noticed this?

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 5:51 pm

is this game also feature "open door when talking to the rally crew"…err you know power window failure.

this crap game is really at proton quality…

p/s in real world Proton cant compete in Rally(unless one make race)…

• Whopper (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 8:00 pm

Hmm…I have to admit that the graphics of the game aren't that great but with more time and more money, I am sure that it would be a great racing simulation game.

I was suprised that even the evergreen Proton Saga was included in the game as well. But how come they didn't include the Wira, Satria GTi and the Savvy ?

When is the release of this game ? I am eagerly waiting for it.

• antaras (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 1:57 am

can i get this game a t the FREE DOWNLOAD section?

• szw (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 5:39 am

bad graphics

if da game got like nfs, dats cool.

• Ralliace (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 5:39 am

Sums up pretty much the crap Proton produces!

• xg9 (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 4:40 pm

is there a jambatan pulau pinang in the background at the circuit?

• raptorclans (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 11:10 pm

cool concept… hey, giv them a break… it's half-life engine… think CounterStrike on wheels… hehe

btw, the interior of all the cars are from Impreza?

• Mayonaise (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 1:58 am

Haha, did you guys notice that the cockpit view shows the dashboard of a Subaru Impreza?

• linkinstreet (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 9:35 pm

I just want to say that tthey should have used http://rfactor.net instead of that shitty HL game engine

• Ukayp_7 (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 12:04 pm

How To Play This Game?

• snbmf (Member) on Nov 06, 2007 at 6:51 pm

where can i download this game ?

• mievirgo on Dec 17, 2009 at 1:44 am

nak DOWNLOAD game ni kat mana

• kid_syler on Apr 20, 2010 at 2:59 pm

mcmna nk download game ni?????????????