Honda announces Advanced VTEC engine (AVTEC)

avtecenginehead.jpg

Honda has announced it’s next generation VTEC engine, the Advanced VTEC engine (AVTEC) which will make it’s debut in a production car within the next three years. Honda’s new Advanced VTEC (AVTEC) engine combines continuously variable valve lift and timing control with the continuously variable phase control of valve timing to achieve a good combination of better performance, fuel economy, and lower emissions. This is an improvement over the i-VTEC system which has preset changeover settings in valve lift – the new AVTEC system can adjust the valve lift continuously. There is also a variable-length intake manifold to improve intake airflow.

avtec_small.jpgThe Advanced VTEC (AVTEC) system allows optimum control over intake valve lift and phase in response to driving conditions for a significant increase in torque across the engine rev range. Under low and medium loads, the valves are set to have low lift and early closure – this reduces pumping losses and subsequently improves fuel economy.

The new AVTEC system will allow for a 13% improvement in fuel economy over the current i-VTEC range of engines. The 13% figure was obtained comparing the current K24A 2.4 litre i-VTEC engine with a new 2.4 litre AVTEC equivalent. Emissions are compliant with US LEV2-ULEV standards and Japanese Low-Emission Vehicles standards with levels 75% lower than 2005 standards.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 10:24 am

The civic just has the new 1.8 i-vtec engine, the new AVTEC already come out… Honda, you did it again, no wonder it is "The power of dream" !!!

Compare to proton, their technology is way way behind….(shake head)

• i'm run (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 11:01 am

Way to go Honda..!!!

Wonder what happen to Proton's real CAMPRO engine..? Still doing 'research and development'… Oh its Proton, of course la..

• geforce (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 11:05 am

Nice engine. Campro engine? I think the research project is dead. No news from Proton at all.

• geforce (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 11:07 am

Vtec=> i-Vtec=> A-Vtec=> Super-Vtec!!

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 12:28 pm

Keep up the good work, Honda !!!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 3:33 pm

good job frm honda…

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 3:49 pm

Someone is comparing Diamond and Glass here, how can you do that? Noway…

Honda RND in Engine has a very long history starting from KAPCAI to F1 race, but Proton? Still learning how to assemble a quality car. Macam mana boleh buat perbandingan? Tak mungkin kan….

Siapa Sokong?

Proton CEO sokong….

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 4:01 pm

I think Honda's Next step from Advanced-VTEC should be FCV and Electric Vehicle. That's the best and Real Clean Zero Emission Engine. In fact, Honda already made announcement on 25th of Sept 2006 that, the FCX-Concept model will be mass-produced in Year 2008.

Read this -> http://www.fuelcelltoday.com/FuelCellToday/Indust…

or http://www.greencarcongress.com/2006/09/honda_sho…

• waimak (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 4:29 pm

It is always pleasing to hear this kind of breakthrough. So which Honda model is using AVTEC?

• Khairy bin Tengku Ma (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 4:45 pm

That's what I was saying "Honda, The Power of Wet Dream". It's getting hot. It shows the true Japanese Spirit.Comparison: Japanese Engineering (Jaguh Antarabangsa) Vs Malaysian Engineering (Jaguh Kampung). Bina Jambatan MRR2, retak kononnya, Don't compare it with our local Proton, the Malaysian Spirit. Finally, it's back to square one, Proton reveals how "backward" we are. Samalah, rakyat Jepun kerja keras tidak kurang daripada 12 jam, rakyat Malaysia, jam belum 5:30pm, berpusu-pusu bertolak, I am sorry saya pun rakyat Malaysia. Jepun main spirit "Samurai", "Bushido", kita nie bangga dengan spirit "Malaysia Boleh". Entahlah boleh sampai mana? Kita mesti mencontohi teladan baik Jepun, kerja kuat, semangat kuat, satu hari nanti Proton mesti boleh menyaingi pembuat kereta antarabangsa.

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 4:49 pm

wow! vtec has really come a long way. now AVTEC mebbe later we can expect SVTEC (like all those fighter video game ranking systems)! these engines are already numbering in the 2-digit millions and still oh-so-reliable. CAMPRO CPS mana???

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 5:07 pm

wah still enjoying the pleasure of k20a …now already coming new engine…I suggest Honda is doing the normal thing but the blood sucking PROTON IS NOT EVEN UP TO WHAT THEY SUPPOSE TO DO.

p/s PROTON BORN STUPID

• Hikaru (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 5:09 pm

Is this something similar to the Porsche's variocam where the lift is continuous as oppose to the normal Vtec which only change cam at a certain rev?

If so, Porsche has been using this techonology since the 996 (correct me if they used it an earlier) and is possible more highly tuned than the Honda which is aimed more at everyday vehicle. if Honda creates a highly tuned one, wouldn't it be more like a Porsche?

• Zgriffin (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 5:14 pm

Better combustion timing, better fuel consumption. What a music to our ears in this high fuel pricing era. I guess that VTEC nowadays had move itself for not only being badge by consumer as racing engine, but to an environmental friendly engine as well…

• bobdbilder (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 6:05 pm

Hmm, no hydrocarbon fuelled engine is environmental friendly. In the next 3 years, the Germans would have the Turboed Superharger on a Polo with higher compression ratio or a more powerful SEAT TDI. Emission stds to meet the crucial Euro stds. So the Japs are basing their emission on a country that didn't sign the Kyoto protocol. Great.

• v0ices (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 6:07 pm

Either you guys don't know economy… or just plain ignorant. How can you compare Proton with Honda.

Imagine this, someone started a retail business.. let's say 20 years ago. And you, just started 1 year ago. The guy who started 20 years ago (if all goes well) would probably have branches and start expanding and doing innovative things. While you which start 1 year ago will take time to reach there. OR alternatively, you can dump a whole lot of money into your business to catch up.

Now here comes the part of where the hell to get that money? Sales are not entirely good. RnD will become slow. Unless you get a major player to back you, it will be damn hard to catch up. Every piece of technology takes time and money. The faster you want to go, the more money you have to put in.

With limited resources, there's only certain speed you can go on.

• izham (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 6:15 pm

I agree with voices, well guys give proton a go.. supportlah sikit..

Anyway, I doubted the power of the latest engine over the previous simplay plain VTEC. On a few test, DC5 K20C were a few times being outrunned by the EK9 B16B.

I doubted the claim on the fuel consumption as well. It's really hard to get even 12km per liter in town driving with the latest civic's K20 engine compared to my moderately modded B16A4 in my EK.

Well, these news is definitely refreshing. We know what technology to use in the future, especially with the raging petrol price.

• drM (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 6:36 pm

no! no! no! i dont care about the name. i dont care about the numbers of silinder it got. i dont care about the saiz. i dont care at all the numbers whatso ever. Just gimme the output power it got and how much petrol I need to pay for a 100km dashing! long live Honda! cheerrs!

• Ricc (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 6:46 pm

To v0ice,

I wonder who's the plain ignorant 1.. Our G did everything to protect proton (i.e : high tax for non-local car) to boost proton sales. Proton have the money to do better RnD, ended up? Piece of junk.. All low and lousy quality parts.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 7:00 pm

Every country in the world. Every country protects its own industries. If you go to Changi airport in Singapore, they have 1 ipod nano next to 7 different Creative's. When a tourist ask about the ipod, the salesman says the muVo is better.

The Doha initiative of the WTO Globalization planned stalled and is in limbo coz neither the EU nor the US would concede on each other's agricultural sector. Agriculture! We are not talking about Boeing's vs Airbuses. We are talking about veggies! Why? Coz its heavily subsidised.

If the big guys protect their own interest, WHY oh WHY can't we? Don't anybody tell me a German radish is better than an American Genetically Enhanced ones.

• v0ices (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 7:08 pm

Ricc,

Yes, the high tax for non-local car was to protect Proton, but what made you think that from that tax imposed, Proton had money? All pre-Waja models, for every car sold, Proton had to pay a substantial amount to Mitsubishi, til they pulled out. Why do you think Proton sold Wira for so long?

I am not a pro-Proton person. I own a 4 yr old Proton AND a 15 yr old Honda. I know the diff in quality. But before we go bashing up and down, we should look at the facts. And for once, think if we were in their shoes, what would we do? It's always easy to find fault of others, but when we are in their place… would we have done the same?

• pirate (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 7:13 pm

Sounds very promising indeed…

A-VTEC for all new 8th gen Accord in 2008?

• nutsaboutcars (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 7:22 pm

c'mon guys… we can't compare honda's achievements with p1… definitely not apple-to-apple here… they've been doing it for quite some time, as opposed to p1's 20yrs of quality-issue… i agree that in 20yrs, one should already show some significant progress, though in p1's case, they're noticeably very slow in running things… sigh…

then again, remember the previous post where everybody was praising savvy for being the base-model(?) of one china-brand that's getting some help from toyota? yep… the metallic green car…

don't really see how p1 can be level with the other global makes in 2yrs time… i suppose they'd utilize lotus to do this…

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 7:28 pm

VTEC vs VVTI… mana lagi terror??.. anybody knows?? anybody can give comparison??

ps: my new vios half tank more than 300km oredi.. still testing (urban drive)

• chris_the_germ (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 9:53 pm

If you ever blow the cylinder head gasket on an engine like that… is it still possible to repair that? Seems very difficult with such a complex cylinder head…

• rexis (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 10:52 pm

hmm, I heard that VTEC engine are more willing to rev compare to a VVTi, but thats heard only, never driven one… Myvi considered VVTi or not?

Honda making a good progress here, although the advertisement effect is bigger.

P1 ahh? Neo looks good ahh, gen2 looks good also ahh, only interior plastic, and engine… can move lor.

• Whopper (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 12:17 am

Typical comments from most Malaysians. Everything has to be correlated to Proton. This posting is about Honda's AVTEC lah, not Proton, not faulty power windows and not CAMPRO. If some of you got nothing else better to comment, then do yourself a favour and to others to keep your nonsense comments to yourself.

"The new AVTEC system will allow for a 13% improvement in fuel economy over the current i-VTEC range of engines"

Well that's a good improvement. But wondering whether it can be translated in real world traffic conditions like the dreaded Federal Highway and Jln Tun Razak?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 1:18 am

v0ices said, "Either you guys don’t know economy… or just plain ignorant. How can you compare Proton with Honda."

"I am not a pro-Proton person. I own a 4 yr old Proton AND a 15 yr old Honda. I know the diff in quality. But before we go bashing up and down, we should look at the facts. And for once, think if we were in their shoes, what would we do? It’s always easy to find fault of others, but when we are in their place… would we have done the same?"

Below is my previous post, hope you read the fact and find out who really don't know economy: –

Joe Ooi said,

September 14, 2006 @ 12:07 pm

What most of the comments complaint/disagree are as follow: –

P1 adopt very bad biz model as below: –

1. Local market – selling at relatively high price but with low specs car – that is the root of local consumer “dianak-tirikan”.

2. Export Market – selling at relatively low price but with high specs car – that is also the root of consumer perception that P1 subsidize export market by squeeze local consumer? Means suck local RM to dump at oversea for every car export.

Currently, most of P1 car is “expensive” yet make the owner live so “cheap” on the road.

The above bad biz shall discard and P1 shall act “patriotic” as responsible corporate citizen, protect local consumer and take care of people welfare including built safe car so that less probability of people will die on the road in the event of accident.

So, good biz for P1 are:

1. Local market – sell at relatively lowest price with best specs car.

2. Export market – sell at relatively competitive price with high specs car in its class.

This shall be the case so that the more car export by P1, then it will make more money to bring back USD, GBP, Yen, Yuen, Dinar, Rupiah, Aus D, Sing D, etc, etc, to enrich Bolehland.

No one including you are ignorant – the real culprit is P1 and the funniest is also P1 – big joker in Bolehland ……….

———————————–

Ricc said, September 26, 2006 @ 10:46 am

To v0ice,

"I wonder who’s the plain ignorant 1.. Our G did everything to protect proton (i.e : high tax for non-local car) to boost proton sales. Proton have the money to do better RnD, ended up? Piece of junk.. All low and lousy quality parts."

So the "VERDICT" is P1 is the plain ignorant and vOice, you "voice" out inappropriate statement………

If P1 want to be world class player, then it should be benchmarking against the world best players like Toyota, Honda, Mercs, VW, etc, etc, ……. if think this as not make an "apple-to-apple" comparison – then better close shop!

It is "not wrong" as far as we make "benchmarking" on whatever endeavor carried out by any party so as we can assess how good are they in the market!

——————————–

Whopper said, Well that’s a good improvement. But wondering whether it can be translated in real world traffic conditions like the dreaded Federal Highway and Jln Tun Razak?

Joe Ooi – I believed this saving of 13% is compare to exisitng engine and it should be under similar road condition, either super smooth highway at top speed or as you mentioned the crawling at super jam Federal Highway. If two car with i-VTEC and AVTEC engine run at the same road condition (jam or not jam), AVTEC shall have saving of 13% fuel!

• Hikaru (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 1:36 am

I think all those who compare proton with any other manufacturer should be forgiven to think so for the simple reason that it is suppose to be our national pride. But how proud can we be when clearly the cars that come out are below par? How proud can we be when others have move on to AVtec and yet our campro still doesn't have variable valve timing?

Another reason is that we all can't deny that Proton is our national car and we want to be proud of it, warts and all.

Whilst i am not suggesting that Proton doesn't need to buckle up (and indeed a thorough restructuring is needed to succeed, and cheekly if I may suggest a partnership?) the bottom line is we are all Malaysian and Proton is a Malaysian car. Comments and criticism are only for the better and the recipient should take it objectively and not resort to patriotism to sell products. If indeed that is the case, it would be very sad day for Malaysians.

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 3:53 am

Realistically speaking, which car would get the engine first? I'm thinking next gen civic, or next gen high end version city. Not sure accord will get this AVTEC thing.

• transformer (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 4:15 am

AVTEC ? another new name ?

Just don't know what would be the different between Honda AVTEC with Nissan CVTC or maybe Toyota VVTL-i or maybe Toyota DUAL VVT-i ?

Nissan have 1.6l CVTC Sunny in S'pore (http://www.nissan.com.sg/lookfor/sunny/sunny_spec.cfm). Which is similar to our Sentra but in M'sia got VTC only. Nevertheless In M'sia TanChong is offering Serena and X-Trail that c/w CVTC engine (http://www.nissan.com.my/vehicles/serena/specifications.html).

As for Toyota, all we had is VVT-i engine.

In Japan, other than VVT-i, Toyota is offering VVTL-i(Variable Valve Timing and Lift-intelligent) and BEAMS(Breakthrough Engine with Advanced Mechanism System) engine. (http://toyota.jp/corollarunx/dynamism/engin/index.html)

Click the link to find out more….

Dear, Paul

Any comment on this ?

• armandd (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 4:26 am

why do u guys must mention proton in every post? i'm sick of this. please dont 'hijack' every post and compare everything with proton…

• armandd (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 4:31 am

no matter how much u bash, proton will NEVER improve, live with it… don't bash anymore..

• Isamu (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 4:34 am

Paul,

Is this AVTEC engine the same one as the i-VTEC-i which combined the conventional i-VTEC with GDI technology?

• nissan130Y (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 4:45 am

i always admire Honda with their non-stop imporvement. Proton can never improve unless they take out those brainless people who in the end use 'our money' to cover things…… and get excited all by themselve.

i will never buy a proton!!!

• szw (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 5:01 am

take all dis VTEC crap away lar.

its still an engine.

got win any award ?

c'mon, BMW hav da same technology but they jz keep quiet about it oni.

so wats da big deal of having a new VTEC.

summore BMW engines's are award winning engine.

• yytellmey (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 6:11 am

13% fuel economy is consider alot better

nice job Honda

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 6:14 am

aayyooo…still gt proton here…wutever it is…centula proton…

• messiah (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 6:52 am

lotus also got this technologic call avt (active valve train)

been testing on road on end of 2006

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 7:16 am

better work on thier turbo engines. the trend now is torque down low to save more fuel. even though honda engines are gems. but compared to vvtiL wouldnt be much different except honda squeezes more power out of their engines. toyota engines are also exceptionally good.

porsche's engines in my book are of course better. very reliable.

the new type r civic seems like a dissapointment. but cant wait to see the reviews.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 9:02 am

y r we comparing proton with this n that la…get a life…comparing a freakin' apple and a freakin' carrot! …

it seems this avtec is more marketing than 'real' advanced vtec…thats y it concentrates by focusing on 'improved fuel economy' rather than more power or torque…so for those current ivetec users…ur not losing anyting..jus the badge probably…

• Khairy bin Tengku Ma (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 5:06 pm

"Hikaru said,

September 26, 2006 @ 5:36 pm

I think all those who compare proton with any other manufacturer should be forgiven to think so for the simple reason that it is suppose to be our national pride. But how proud can we be when clearly the cars that come out are below par? How proud can we be when others have move on to AVtec and yet our campro still doesn’t have variable valve timing?

Another reason is that we all can’t deny that Proton is our national car and we want to be proud of it, warts and all.

Whilst i am not suggesting that Proton doesn’t need to buckle up (and indeed a thorough restructuring is needed to succeed, and cheekly if I may suggest a partnership?) the bottom line is we are all Malaysian and Proton is a Malaysian car. Comments and criticism are only for the better and the recipient should take it objectively and not resort to patriotism to sell products. If indeed that is the case, it would be very sad day for Malaysians."

This is the most expensive proud the Malaysians have ever paid. We pay money to buy the junk, we pay our lives to die on the roads, we did everything to protect our very fragile pieces of junk metal. I am sorry but I just can't help it. Only will I be proud one day if Proton is on the par with the global car makers. Just like our national football team, the day they longed to step into the pitch of stadium for World Cup. It will never happens, at least for the rest of my life. I am a Malaysian, with a simplistic Malaysian attitude. Credit is given where it's due. I am sorry.

• v0ices (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 5:48 pm

Joe Ooi,

You are right, Proton did adopt a wrong strategy. Then again, if you want to blame, the biggest culprit here would be the government. They are the one that implement the high tax rate which practically brought up the whole car prices. Also, if you want to talk more about strategy, the agreement with mitsu was a mistake. A very wrong placed strategy that made proton where it is now. Technology transference/sharing was slow (non-existence even) and for each car proton sold, a substantial amount is gone to Mitsu. That is why 20 yr old technology car is still being sold!

But what's done is done. At current moment with current circumstances I believe Proton is doing a good thing by improving it's quality and standard with its new cars. If you disagree, I have nothing to say.

It's always good to benchmark with leaders in the industry. BUT before you do that, you must look at where you stand. Proton can't even play with those in it's class yet (the Koreans) and you are asking to aim for the world class leaders? It's practically suicide. I don't have the exact figure but I won't be surprised if the volume of sales of Honda vs Proton is more than 10x and that's what counts. Volume brings down car prices, parts and increases money for R&D. No volume, no money.

Realistically, the only way I see things changing now… Proton needs a big major player to backup.

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 6:32 pm

I think ar.. we need a special forum just for proton…

• Hikaru (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 7:32 pm

Khairy bin Tengku Mahaleel said,

"This is the most expensive proud the Malaysians have ever paid. We pay money to buy the junk, we pay our lives to die on the roads, we did everything to protect our very fragile pieces of junk metal. I am sorry but I just can’t help it. Only will I be proud one day if Proton is on the par with the global car makers. Just like our national football team, the day they longed to step into the pitch of stadium for World Cup. It will never happens, at least for the rest of my life. I am a Malaysian, with a simplistic Malaysian attitude. Credit is given where it’s due. I am sorry."

Please do not get me wrong when i try to substantiate why people can be proud of Proton. In fact I thoroughly share your sentiment hence my questions posed on the standard of the car and the engine whilst i try to be as positive as possible with my comments on Proton. Maybe Pride is the better word?

But in my opinion, there is always a glimmer of hope (that I am not clinging to) which is the partnership with a global conglomerate, the big boys. My example in question, Skoda, a Czech brand but now owned by Audi, is doing well and has even reached our shores with decent cars. Whilst I understand that my example has not produced class leading cars like BMW or Mercedes or the likes, atleast my suggestion can lead to better product and ultimately benefits the consumer or something that can raise its head against global car makers. A more realistic view perhaps? If Mr Khairy is suggesting to set the bar that Proton would be on par with BMW or Mercedes, leading a certain class, then i am afraid I also share your sentiments on Proton.

• intakemanifold (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 9:42 pm

how about the MIVEC engines ? mivec and vtec are same?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 2:02 am

vOices & Hikaru – Yes, the jargon for Proton survival is only 2 options – partnership with big boys in auto industry and/or become contract assembler. Don't talk about quality improvement, develop new models,etc, etc just a waste of resources. Proton does not have "Quantity" in this auto industry which need to have 2 Q – Quality and Quantity to compete in global market.

I still remembered back to approx 10 year ago, when Proton want to built it Tg Malim plant, P1 (Datok Salleh Sulong) mentioned that this plant implementation is to achieve world class player, but now the sad reality is it is according to Proton, under capacity by 40%. Current Tg Malim plant capacity is around 300K. If we look at P1 website, Gen-2 sold around 30K units in 2005 and Savvy around 7K unit. Therefore, actual under capacity is more than 80%? Perhaps they lump Shah Alam and Tg Malim output together to arrive at 40%!

• happymeal (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 4:41 am

variable valve lift…. wah.. not bad eh.. means u wont have that preset '4200rpm VTEC-kick-in' phrase anymore. mana-mana pun boleh kick in vtec :p

it sounds like they just reprogrammed the VTEC so that it locks and unlocks the high lift cams more often thats all. must get WongKN from TOVA to write it up, his write up on the L15 city vtec is really good.

http://asia.vtec.net/Engines/K20Z/index.html he just wrote some good stuff on the 8g civic engines… read on …rather than to compare proton n honda :)

• king (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 9:14 am

nice article happymeal…..it goes to show that vtec is more advanced and better than vvti.

• honda_driver (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 7:14 pm

This is one of the most ignorant comments I've ever seen here in a long time

"we pay our lives to die on the roads, we did everything to protect our very fragile pieces of junk metal."

so i suppose if you drive any other make of car, you are guranteed to walk away even if a 747 landed on your head?

• happymeal (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 4:15 am

king.. not my article. i just share the informational stuff around…

VTEC more advanced n better than VVTi? eehh… u first gotta understand wat is VTEC n vvti… ones a cam CHANGER , the other is a cam PHASER.

if we talk apple-to-apple comparison, then it would be i-vtec (the kseries stuff) and VVTLi engine. notice the L, meaning the vvti mechanism has a valve lift adjustment as well. i dont know which is better, but i tihnk VVTLi came out first, in the celica engine/ lotus exige. and read somewhere its tuned by yamaha.

http://www.autozine.org/technical_school/engine/v…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 11:28 pm

honda_driver said,

1. “we pay our lives to die on the roads, we did everything to protect our very fragile pieces of junk metal.”

2. "so i suppose if you drive any other make of car, you are guranteed to walk away even if a 747 landed on your head?"

—————

Your statement is equally ignorant if not most freaking. If you are in the opinion that other statement is inappropriate, then it doesn't mean you have right to response it with equally wrong approach? In mathematic, – – = + but in doing thing or give opinion, 2 wrongs doesn't make it right. You may just aggravate the situation…………. If let me to comment on both 1 & 2, I am more agree with 1st statement as it is with certain basis (maybe "weak"), but in no way I can find any logic or good reasoning for 2nd statement.

• waimak (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 11:34 pm

We were once told that Jazz replacement will be made by 2007. So is a new model being developed in relation to this engine as well as the replacement? Anybody?

• joekwong1 (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 7:29 am

It's great wif honda's VTEC but for the latest engine sucks…their lifter is only works for a while and also cuts very fast…when wanted to modd the car got to pay out hell of a money…just for a engine managment can cost u more than 5k…parts hell of expensive….

• matmoto_5125 (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 5:01 am

org len ada engine lg hebat tak bising pun…honda=sucks..always show off mcm ayam btelur sbiji riuh sekampung…

• blackfox (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 5:44 pm

can i make post?

• honda just a jaguh kampung in japan..cheap plastic interior city & civic..only suits PEOPLE WHO LIKE PLASTIC/PVC/POLY ETC., mitsubihi & nissan gtr..they're intelligently created the world class brand..Honda..uweeeksss!!!!

• Now 2012…still no sign of AVTEC on honda production car.

• danwat1234 on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:35 am

Earth Dreams engines from Honda might have it but probably not. At least they are adding an ‘atkinson lower lobe’ thing for the valves so it can function like an atkinson cycle engine when engine load is low.

• Me as a car enthusias aspecialy Honda.for a while if you compare Euro cars and Korean car already more than 1 step at the front.Japanese car like Honda and Toyota is far behind in term of specification,design and also engine is far behind compare than euro cars,VW win engine of year for 3 year and now ford engine called it Ecoboost just awarded engine of the year.Like VW and Ford also other euro car is already use Double cluch gear box but Japanese car still proud with they CVT.interm of technologies Double cluch is more advance.I dont know what japanese think about they cars.becarefull if all japanese car maker still in dream,you will loose out.

• chris Raycraft on Feb 26, 2015 at 6:47 pm

it is 2015 and I have heard nothing about this Advanced vtec, is it not happening anymore?

• Is this engine out on the market yet?? Which Honda car is this engine installed in??