2007 Proton Waja Facelift Launched

3Q View

Proton launched the new 2007 Proton Waja Facelift this morning at it’s Center of Excellence along the KESAS Highway. Immediately noticable is the new front grille, reminiscent of the old Volkswagen/Audi grille which has since been replaced by the new large trapezoidal shield grille. The old grille style still exists on current Skoda cars. This is a much better look for the boxy Waja, and it suits the overall design well, though I don’t quite agree with the over-enthusiastic use of chrome bits. A honeycomb would have been fine. The front bonnet has also been redesigned to match the new grille.

While the Proton Waja MME Edition had no fog lamps because of the relocation of the signal lamps, for this facelift edition a new auxiliary lamp cluster which flanks the center bumper air intake has been designed to integrate both fog lamps and signal lamps. As a result, staring at the new Proton Waja facelift head-on now looks like you’re looking at the face of an eight-eyed bug monster spider thing.

The new 2007 Proton Waja Facelift is available in five new colours: metallic twilight blue, metallic iridescent white (a very nice colour already available on the Satria Neo and the Perdana V6), metallic gray, metallic brilliant red and burgundy. The interior has a two-tone black and brown trim, and the leather is of a new texture. The ICE system is a 2-din radio/CD/MP3 player with Bluetooth capability.

Prices are RM59,388.00 for the 1.6 litre Manual Transmission, and RM62,888.00 for the Automatic Transmission version. Note that with the new 2007 Proton Waja, you get ABS, and dual SRS airbags as standard, no need to opt for the high-line version!

The Proton Savvy was also facelifted for the 2007 model year. Click here to view details on the 2007 Proton Savvy Facelift.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 10:54 pm

Oh my God… Another face-lift… This should be the 2nd face-lift exercise, if I'm not mistaken… I wonder if the build quality had improved…

• riderx (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 11:00 pm

whats with the campro 1.6e? whats the meaning of the letter `e`? e for extra? lol… well..i just happy with this no-nose waja.. much better hood but.. the fog+signal lamp is ugly 4 me..they should put a new bumper design rather sticking with this old one..

• Nozzydive (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 11:00 pm

hmmm not much different but only on the front grille and 2 bumper lights.

Nth special coz even the old waja can be mod to tis look. I wud suggest tat a change at the front light to a teardrop shape tat wud look nice though. But at least it improved on the air cond for passenger to get more air.

• newblogger (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 11:06 pm

Waa…the front head dam ugly…. wat a old style design. Interior design quite nice. So the conclusion is, wouldnt buy this car coz ugly and old style outlook.

• armandd (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 11:09 pm

hmmm… looks very much like VW Bora!

• honda_driver (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 11:23 pm

it has abs and airbags as standard now, thats probably something you cant mod your previous version waja as easily.

• happymeal (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 11:24 pm

oh my goodness… it looks like a proton saga of the 80s with that grille.

too many sharp edges on that hideous oversized plastic.

hope its not as ugly as it looks in real life OTR. so next up for a facelift is the Gen.2?

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 11:25 pm

Proton still need to do some extra homework.. IMHO, Waja still looks below average, nothing to shout about…

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 11:45 pm

Thousands people asking WHY like that? Not a surprised to me.

ANyway, Its looks closed to VW now (ONLY the grille). Especially the BIG Grille without the Topmark. Maybe Proton wanna to joint VW soon Therefore now they are trying to TEST the Market.

I think the new looks is not much better than before, instead its became worst especially the Head lamps and Fogs lamps, looks CHEAP and OVER styles, JUST TOO MUCH……… The basic shape of WAJA is Square but with the Round Bumper shape at the front especially the lower skrit, Weird right?.

I think PROTON designers are Going to the WRONG way, maybe all the Good designers had moved to NAZI or else now. Currently Left those YOUNG designers with no experienced and soul to do the jobs. VERY very disappointed…..

Sigh!

• moha774 (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 11:54 pm

Just when i just start to accept the design of that thermometer brake light…now they come up with the weird looking front…it just dont blend with Black or just do away with that bling bling chrome part…interior wise..better than before..no comment

• nizam80 (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 11:56 pm

The front looks way better than the previous 'Beak' design that we've stuck with through these years. Actually, Proton should have come up with this design way back in 2000 (the time when the Waja was first launched). Anyway, i liked it. One look, and it looks like a model from Chrysler and Cadillac. Muscular.

Anyway, I think the Waja's design should be totally replaced ASAP.

• Hikaru (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 11:58 pm

I echo my fellow commentor's comments. It seems like they stuck bits on it without doing a more cohesive face lift. Too much botox it seems. The price and equipment level for proton is usually competitive but also at the expense of quality. Nice touches to the interior that should have been there when Waja was lunched in 2002. in fact the front console still looks the same. Was briefly tempted because of the price but put off after a closer look at the face lift and interior.

Kinda of reminds me of a Kia Optima now.

• xg9 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 12:06 am

LOL

• freeze (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 12:29 am

All I can say is that the Proton logo seems too large.

• stupe (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 12:31 am

by the way, proton still can't spell Leather (spelt as: leatehr) and Liter (spelt as : Litre) and the new waja comes with 1100hp!

http://opstupe.blogspot.com/2007/01/proton-waja-c…

• legacy88 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 12:44 am

Arghh…!!! The chrome destroys everything!!! This is too much! Anyway, its nice that they decided to remove the beak. Come on Proton you can do better than this.

Can you?

• freeze (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 12:45 am

E. Stands for enhanced probably. or Excellent.

New armrest…

• silverfish (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 12:48 am

OMG, those cheap, tacky, overtly chrome plastic bits that is the new grill IS HIDEOUS. It looks like a botched DIY job where someone bought that piece of plastic from Brothers or wherever and just glued that on themselves. A 10 year old can do a better redesign job than that. What the hell are they thinking?

Proton has officially the most clueless designers in the world. And the people who approved of this needs to be shot as well.

• sewell (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 12:51 am

oh…. is was not looking as good as the first WAJA anymore. is like uncle's car no more sporty anymore. WAJA should have their replacement model ! btw when is the PERDANA replacement release?

• nmh (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 12:55 am

interior improved….new seat, rear headrest, new glovebox…exterior get all new hood….but final product is ugly esp front and rear lamp

• RM (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 12:56 am

Tacky. The large upper lip of the "plasticky chrome grill" is at odds with the rest of the car. Looks like someone in Proton is trying to help its vendor with the new grill. Another "wealth creation" activity by Proton blokes .Just chuck out the old from the thousands of unsold Waja's and have the new one in at Proton's expense. No effort went into this design.

• n0oB (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 1:05 am

Sorry 2 say but the facelift looks more like a botched-up nose job..nice interior though..love those leather seats..wonder if quality has improved?

• ilmondo (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 1:15 am

hmm.. dis reminds me of china market vw golf n bora. dunno wat 2 say. juz hoping u 2 insert some charms u put into designing PV6 n satria GTI. miss those charms a lot. interior looks good tho. seats look bigger than old 1s.. but is ther both aluminium n wood inserts on d inside? hmm.. where class meets sportiness? hope it sells well tho..

• Dogster (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 1:23 am

UGLY FRONT GRILL!!!!!!!! YUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• ilmondo (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 1:24 am

hmm.. remove d chrome. raise d bonnet line a little.. n curve it down 2 d nose a little bit.. fog lamps + signals and rear lamps juz dont quite suit dis car as its more of a small exec + family rather than sport saloon. bumper intake n grille dont seem 2 match.. i feel..

too many corporate indentities tho.. wau design 4 savvy n gen2.. n subtle waja nose.. but interior looks much better.. proton boleh!

rumours said tat ther wil b 2 new proton models dis yr.. dont tell me dis is 1 of them!!

proton boleh!!

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 1:37 am

yup, no question about it, the front grill is ugly, but the good news is, now you can find a decent grill to fit on the front without having to cut off part of the front hood. The interior looks to me a bit pleasent change, but not a upgrade though.

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 1:40 am

V nose is a strong part of WAJA-ness, …..now slash it make it goes like just another ordinary pick up truck grille,

• sQew (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 1:43 am

Once again, i don't understand why they don't understand people needs and thought. This front grille uhh damn ugly. I notice that the front bonnet has changed to suit with the front bumper. What they need to do is only few things,the front grille, front bumper and rear lights ( dont understand why they designed the UFO kinda design).

Improve please PROTON, people expecting something acceptable.

• Xoomie (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 1:56 am

I noticed there's a bit of a gap between the hood and the bumper. Or is it not closed properly?

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 1:56 am

Fugly

• wookie00 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 2:17 am

ya agree.. fugly. still… a wajunk

• Paul Tan on Jan 20, 2007 at 2:25 am

xoomie: thats only for one photo… it wasnt closed properly

• stephen_ksf (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 2:26 am

yup…fugly wajunk….

agree wif u paul, y din they use the honeycomb gril like the savvy

• avanza (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 2:31 am

What the hell is Proton doing?

First, they changed the engine to Campro and modified the dashboard.

Then, just 3 months later (I think so) they changed the front and tail lights.

Now just barely 6 months later, they changed the bumber and grill.

Couldn't they just put all these together in one release and make a bigger bang out of it! Now people are all confused as to what the 'new' Waja really looks like.

Really, really dumb people at Proton!

• albagmane (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 2:49 am

disgusting design… tats wat i can describe the car…

proton, its been 7 years now… after 3 more years, the car is a decade old… don u think this is a poor and lousy strategy to facelift the car at this time? normally a car should be lasted for 5 years, then a new design, new chasis will be born… but u still using the same old chasis and design (a little damn bit of facelift)… izit tat u lack of cost to produce new car chasis? its terrible…

proton – malaysia's shame… not malaysia's pride…

• Cire (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 2:50 am

Personally, the interior looks kinda nice with two tone color effects.

Although the dash looks dated, the overall color scheme managed to pull off the "defect".

The big piece of chrome at the bonnet looks a bit over-killed. And the spot lights without the garnish to match the air intake grill ,looked like a last minute add-on detail. Functionality of the lights remains to be proven.

The WAJA word on the back of the car is not such of a good idea. It makes the rear looked cluttered. The thermometer tail lights is already a handful plus the Campro 1.6SE stickers etc..why need the WAJA word further?

Do not know why all Msian cars comes with a side window visor? Probably another gimmick to earn some extra cash.

The addition of such visors actually affect the aerodynamic of the car (* not that it matters to the WAJA), and the blackened visors does not blends in well with a fairer colored car.

anyways, the bottom line is, have the quality of the car improved?

• edwindudley2003 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 2:54 am

yea the front really SUCKS!!!!…looks like more like the saga already!!! ..speechless….

• kendo (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 3:06 am

for 63K,

now u can get NAZA peogeout 206,

what is u PICK?

• kl55 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 3:08 am

wtf. . . proton u faster close or change management la. .

u r wasting our tax. . . aiyoh. . . . sell so expensive give those fugly thing to us

• kl55 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 3:10 am

63K~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~!!??

SO PRICY~~CHI XIN~~~~~~~~~~~~~

• carenthusiast (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 3:26 am

Ugly front look for the Waja but nicer front look for the Savvy…

• kendo (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 3:33 am

buang LOKANG.

• ICER (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 4:07 am

Is it Proton Saga?

Hmm… Have Proton Saga feel ….!

How come Proton go back to pass liao …!

Bad design… How come outside people can modify Waja so nice.. however the Proton Company "profresional" designer so bad…?

• andylkw2004 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 4:09 am

haha.. i agreed..

what is this.. all the designer at proton blind kah???

hahhaa

• intermilan (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 4:19 am

if 63k, better get naza 206 la..

• almattitude_v1 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 5:01 am

Heeey! The grille, i dono why, maybe juz me la, but the grille reminds me of VW Passat… Maybe its a sign!

• chun (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 5:08 am

Looking at the front, the first thing I thought was "Cadillac." Not VW.

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 5:12 am

proton bashers.. rejoice!!!!!!! bash bash bash!!.. omg.. seriously.. why did they decide to give the waja a mustache.. ?? might as well make it look like Hitler. Dont they have consultants regarding the design? Give it to any normal consumer and they convulse and vomit all over their self.. =). thats what i noticed from the recent comments posted..

• transformer (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 5:30 am

that too much already!!! YUKSSSSS!!!!!

i think the WAJA will still continue to facelift many-many times…

just like SAGA and WIRA…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 5:47 am

Overall I think its a good move for the waja. Std airbags, better plastics. The front grille looks like the old Nissan 120Y (I think this is the model) but it needs time to get used to. Nice cluster lights. So basicly the MME version is now allround in this version. Hate this, but the MME then.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 5:53 am

Seriously, solely based on pictures, the interior looks decent but the exterior, especially the front, who r u kiddin? P1.

Better "ta pau" let VW takes over, just look at the new camry, why toyota people so good in desgining the camry whereas p1 people can't? afterall p1 and toyota people has 2 eyes, 2 ears, 1 mouth, etc..right?

• w_lighter (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 6:06 am

OMG…. it actually look worst. !!

The chrome make it look cheap oni…. yer~~~

• mattyboy (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 6:30 am

Why, oh why, oh why have the insisted on keeping the BROWN leather?!?!

If there was one way to make the whole cabin look a whole lot classier it was to go with black leather – maybe it is just my European tastes though as mst cars here in Asia seem to choice beige or brown over black – such a shame!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 7:16 am

W A J A – What A Junk Auto

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 7:18 am

At least now have airbag and ABS as standard – long overdue but not too late for this safety feature as standard!

• h2k (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 7:18 am

oh my god…wat the heck did they thinking…its so ugly…reminds me of some boxy car from 1970-1980s era…china's car design is getting better…disappointing

• feez98 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 7:35 am

well, ok lar… love the front & back arm rest and the new front lamp.. thats all…

• demio121 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 8:21 am

I think Proton sud do sumthing abt the headlight and rear light design. The new addition inside is a nice touch. the higher arm-rest (+ 2 stage box) and rear arm rest dus hv been in Waja when launch years ago but its better late den never.

• aesthari (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 8:55 am

Looks even uglier after face-lift, it's like the design has taken a step backwards. Anyway, it's good that Proton is giving buyers more value for that money, airbags, ABS and all.

• RacingCELL (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 9:12 am

Sigh…

WAJA is getting uglier…for its exterior.

i think the original 1 has the best exterior!

Sad to see its exterior 'evolution'…

• cosmohybrid (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 9:12 am

another stock clearance exercise… proton boleh!!!

• offroader manix (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 9:14 am

WTF………………….No wonder it's going to close shop !

Who is the designer ? Some technical school boys…and who pass the project ?

Again sports version…..got anything simplier for a every day family car or not ? ……..MATILAH CEPAT buang masa………….

• offroader manix (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 9:18 am

Ok….at least they are doing something for the rakyat…..airbags and ABS looks good for the car…but the design…aiyoh…….use some imagination lah……

If the imagination turns out to be like this……..wipe out the whole team lah….

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 9:21 am

Facelift to back before, facelift to front now. Mitsu engine before, Campro engine now. Acceptable before, acceptable now. It's a ordinary Waja.

It's good for the nice interior upgraded, Proton focus on the safety this time with airbags as standard. Better quality interior and better features than before. This is acceptable effort from Proton. Yeah, they don't can be like Civic and Corolla, but they are trying. Keep trying.

But, the exterior. It's just a few changes. Why dont put in the bodykit as standard? Proton should learn what their rival did. Isn't they don't learn about marketing in automotive? For this front perspective, what can i say? It's very very average. Maybe for the old man market. No praise for this.

To be honest, i rather like MME bodykit than this facelift and the Chancellor interior also. So on the drive by wire 1.8 transplant.

The result, our 'average' potential customer will like this, not me. But i accept

this as facelifted Waja. At least they are have variant at Proton showrooms.

For the future, please don't be like this again, Waja is inside of very competitive tough market now. If don't, the Waja will turn to liquid. Good luck.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 12:03 pm

the front looks either like a cheap china car,or one of those rebadged renaults and VWs found in eastern Europe…!

design ok la bt y use so much chrome on the front..?

bt the interior feels very nice , the seats are beter shaped,and leather almost everywher…the interior stil feels very spacios comapre to othr new models…..actually sounds like a good deal ….

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 1:12 pm

Oh my lord…..Thank goodness I still have my 2003 Proton Waja. That thing looks like Star Jones on steroids.

• StingRayINC (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 2:24 pm

One word for that kind of exterior design, "lousy"……but the interior is quite ok lar……they really need to be more creative than this, didn't put much effort in it……sigh,

• mits27 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 6:17 pm

On man, the front grill looks ugly, the waja looks very old man…

• mits27 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 6:27 pm

By the way, the rear light is ugly too, why just use some regular design with cool LED light, the only things I like is airbag and abs standard. Who design this front grill? He or she really less of common sense, I think there will be more people can desgn better than THIS!!!

• acbc (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 6:37 pm

Yucks!

Front is ugly. Dashboard is crap. Handbrake handle is cheap. Rear crop circle tail lights again? 2 thumbs DOWN!

• rodimus (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 7:12 pm

First at all it's nice to c that proton cars r making changes, but change is one thing, good looking or not is another things. 20 over year in our M'sia market still can't design a good looking n quality cars n dun mention about export…. I just dun understand proton being so many year in the market can't they designed something more nice nor just keep on buying desgned from the "Mits", what the hack is their what so R3 design department doing?! In the end I just wanna said it's if it wasn't "P" we all will still enjoying cheaper n better quatity imported car….. T_T

• WIRA (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 7:30 pm

EEEEEEEEhhhh! Encik Ali, cancel my waja order! Please cancel! U can keep the deposit! I dun wan liao…better stick with my WIRA!……eeee…ugly! China design look!

• motorhead (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 7:35 pm

As a performance driver, i am not interested with facelifts only.

• ilmondo (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 7:47 pm

y not put new savvy grille on waja nose?

• AMG (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 8:09 pm

Wlao……….. Most ugly waja ever……. the big grill just look like copy from the VW

and the logo so big!!!!????

• maxtek (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 8:23 pm

HAHAHAHA…. You know, I just CAN'T STOP laughing when I first saw this pic… I mistook it for the Volkswagen Passat! XD And I thought you placed the wrong title for it Paul! XD

For those who don't know what a Passat looks like:

http://www.volkswagen.com.my/home.html

Look under Models, then Passat… XD

• akram (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 8:26 pm

Oh no! it's getting ugly more and more! duh! the only waja face lift i like is the MME R3 zerokit bodykit. Duh! Who is the designer anyway?

• monomania (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 9:05 pm

oh i bet the Proton design team still livin in a 80's think tank room flippin through old magazine and VCR with a TV has no remote….

for the past 20 years, none of a Proton designers stood out and proud of being in charge of designing a Proton car.. none of us can recognise a Proton designer name, so who cares about it this time anyway :)

my 5 years old cousin brothers draws a better car…

• carenthusiast (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 9:08 pm

but i would say that the best design car from Proton is still Satria Neo. It looks very sporty.

• kenfresh (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 9:52 pm

I will never understand.

I cannot imagine the designers gather and give the thumb up to this new front. After so many years of observation, I can only say that Malaysian design sense is both poor and lack of innovation.

For every release, Malaysians have to "learn to like" designs from the very first proton saga right till today, 20 odd years ahead, the new proton waja facelift. The only commendable design is so far the Satria Neo.

Some may argue that these cars sell, but frankly can the general malaysians afford anything else?

I'll take forever with this. But bottomline is, the new waja front is plain old, ugly and uninspiring. It's a facelift that doesnt evoke any emotion, in fact makes me feel like getting the last batches of the old waja before they get sold out.

Just my two sens.

K

• chanel (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 11:19 pm

it seems the designer have no more cues….I still like the first batch design….

the recent facelift version was really a joke….funny thermometer break light…funny front grille….& most of all, they trying to intergrated the sporty sport & signal light design in the bumper, previously they use projecter sport light, now it just a normal reflector light….did you all notcie the glove box? now there is no-lock anymore….

interior (1) +exterior (-1) = 0.

conclusion: better don't facelift….just my thought!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 11:27 pm

dont blame designers la , thy can design wat thy like,in the end of the day,the managment have to decide if the design is nice enough to enter production….i jus wonder , since the front looks like an VW passat , is this an indication or a hint that VW wil be the partner??

• dawgHause (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 3:23 am

WTF?

its worse than before, and I thought the chinese designed the ugliest car in the world. This is worse.

I have seen more beautiful vomit than this.

• transformer (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 4:14 am

wow… this thread is quite a hits!

so many crowds here!!!

P1 are u listening ?

or u still a baby under bolehland G ???

ITS TIME TO WAKEUP!

WELCOME TO THE REAL WORLD!

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 4:51 am

don look down on chinese car design, haven't any of u seen the brilliance? it was once posted in this blog, check it out, dude. and to compare the new waja (change car in hokkien) to vw passat is a disgrace to the latter. once again, p1 plz choose the partner the general public want not what the shareholder wants, it is the general public whom is to buy yr car, it's not yr shareholders, so the choice is simple, VW. and plz, no more second skoda, seat…just let p1 disappear for good, give us VW made in malaysia.

• bot_tech (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 7:55 am

enough said…PROTON IS DEAD!!

can't wait for international company to get 'in'

PROTON..

from top level to operator need to be restructure…for good deed..

lousy vendor can go away…

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 5:59 pm

PROTON WAJA MME EDITION IS THE BEST LOOKING OF ALL SEs.

THIS SO CALLED FACE LIFT IS A JOKE. FACELIFT's THAT VEERED OFF FROM FAMILY LOOKS (Proton claim this when they launch Waja) IS PLAIN IDIOTIC.

THANK YOU AND BYE BYE PROTON. :)

• Stan (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 8:52 pm

I'm truly disapointed with Proton. Even after all these years, i still don't understand how they think? Are they so dumb or stupid?

Look at the price of savvy? compared it against MyVi… its the same.. so why the pricing is almost the same? On year savvy sales last year is equal to 1 month MyVi sales. Doesn't they know that? Its just too silly..!!! Even they all keep saying savvy and MyVi are not in the same class of vehichle and MyVi is like a mini MPV, still if a mini MPV is cheaper then a smaller savvy, u think people would buy which one? Lets face the facts, i think proton think we all malaysians are plain stupid and bodoh. That why they still want to cheat all of us. When proton first started with Saga, i was so proud, but so far over the years, all their actions seems to only try cheat our money and trying to kill of of us immedietly by giving us a sub-standard car. Im happy they improve the safety of the savvy yet, i can't justify it interm of the pricing set.

• chris (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 9:51 pm

Fugly head lamp and tail light ala thermometer o.o

• narrowband (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 11:59 pm

OMGWTF

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 2:16 am

i jus went to PE showroom n say it..somehow the waja front doesnt look so bad wen u see it in real…i tink the pics are abit diff….bt the interior quality is alot beter….very nice place to be….the savvy looks alot cleaner and neater….

• Charles (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 5:22 am

I just see the new savvy n waja face lifting design, for my personal view , savvy have a better looking, but for waja the front grill really worst than before, is good that proton decide to change the "beak" design, but i think proton should make a more standard way, too much chrome at the front make the car look like cheap china design. one more thing is about the logo, the current logo is way too much color, in order to make it more standard prestige/elegant look like honda or toyota or other car manufacturer, proton better use the chrome tiger logo that same as the logo in proton website now. Becoz current logo is too big and doesn't match the car at all, try to imagine the steering wheel logo change to the chrome tiger, the car will look more class than ever.

• ericleo (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 5:46 am

Disappointing…. I tought it is nice as I saw it far yesterday when I passed showrom…. What an ugly design???? Please la. I think the designerhas no more idea just cut and paste from the old model…. Or there is no more designer in PROTON???? I am wondering y this could happen to PROTON? I think Better they joint venture with other big company and dun waste our tax again…. Sigh…..

• ericleo (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 5:50 am

What an ugly design again…. Is it there is no more designer in PROTON? Please dun waste our tax… Sigh…..

• Charles (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 5:55 am

the new look of waja is worst than b4, i think if the logo on the car can change to simple plain chrome tiger lke the one in the proton official website, the car will look more class and elegant. current logo look very low standard, proton like to do too complicated thing , juz like the grille, too complicated, they don understand the beauty of simplicity, imagine the waja steering wheel cover with the very class simple chrome tiger head… nice!..and the same thing also have to be done on the front grille with less chrome or maybe honey comb front grille with little tiger head ..it will look more standard….like savvy although the face lifted throw away the beak idea, but the logo of proton still spoiling everything, it maybe don use the logo but juz the savvr word at the top of the right hand side there wil be better looking.

• hush (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 6:04 am

i think this facelift look way better than the pre-facelift version. but i think they have overdo the front grille. i think it will look better without that chromed metal, above the badge. other than that, i think it juz look okay.

• AmSouth (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 5:24 pm

Dam…. it looks like we are still in 1980s…….

• waimak (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 5:32 pm

The center box takes the design of the old Toyota Corolla SE I think. Overall, not bad. I support Proton for the initiative on the improvement.

• motberg (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 5:58 pm

I am so glad I didn't buy a Waja… was thinking abt it 3 months back. Really damn happy I got a Vios instead. It cots more but I think in the long run I make back on the fuel savings and hassle free motoring. Plus, the Waja looks really, really, really weird now. 'nuff said.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 6:14 pm

Asia's answer to BMW, now improved. Basically its an updated version of a crappy car. Would be a smarter choice to get a 2nd hand Vios/City.

• Ricc (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 6:44 pm

Everything isnt favoring this new Wwaja.. except.. it cost only 62K.. :-)

• ChipS (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 7:24 pm

If Savvy could get some favorable improvements, why can't Waja do the same. Maybe the design team for Savvy should swap places with the Waja design team for a term then maybe we have something we can appreciate for the Waja model.

Another things is that I seriously do not think that there is another car manufacturer which has come out with so many facelifted versions of the same model of car other than Proton. Does this mean the design team at Proton listens to the marketing team and then consults the boss and then produce a facelift model ? Or maybe…. the other way round. "Are these facelifted versions selling the car ?" Maybe someone ought to put these statistics under a microscope.

Anyways, there're some improvements and movements. Not all are good neither bad. Just keep it going Proton.

• cureorcurse (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 8:04 pm

Just like VW Bora http://www.meinekarre.de/cars/VW_BORA_AudiA3extra…

• kuntakinte (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 10:17 pm

Proton is making a statement with this upgrade

"Volkswagon, WE NEED YOU !!!"

• Paul Tan on Jan 22, 2007 at 10:38 pm

ChipS: on the contrary, i have to correct you there. go count how many times our current nissan sentra has been facelifted?

• mschai (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 10:55 pm

It's ugly. I urge Proton not to launch any new model to save us from eyesore. VW, we need your to turn Proton to Neutron….

• stupe (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 11:07 pm

seriously, is the 2 tone effort inside the car a cost cutting measure? noticed that the PV6 inerior is just simply ugly with clashes of colours?!

• McPadey (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 11:22 pm

MUHAHAHAHAHAHAHA !!!!…..

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 12:03 am

the most noticeable, the front grille. the rear is on the light. i think proton overdoing the grille. and so much chrome, don't know if the design team think this is the best the can come out with

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 12:45 am

nowdays car grille is bumper integrated, -even waja siblings ,g2 neo did

—-cant do it????— actually its been exercised on mme waja for example.

—-?——–

• mynnDAWG (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 12:50 am

so far..this must be the worst looking waja ever!…

R3 waja was superb…why go back to 80s cab/taxi retro look la???

• goingberserk (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 1:16 am

This is ridiculous ! As long stupid AFTA still in place,more craps such as this from the harebrained protong will emerge. As long the protection mechanisim is in place, for ordinary folks , we can only drool at other models ! What the F !

• matmoto_5125 (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 3:59 am

yucks..

agree with u paul, "like looking 2 da 8-eyed bug!"

haha..

• pirate (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 5:21 am

While the renewed Savvy is a good effort, this facelifted-again Waja is going the way of the Nissan Cefiro or Sentra in Bolehland…

Time for a REAL model replacement Proton! A rebadged-VW or Peugeot perhaps? Like the over-used cliche, only time will tell…

• z350 (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 7:48 am

the new facelift look very much like china made Alado (A160)??? hmm…can't really complain too much, afterall it is still the cheapest sedan as compare to others :(

• matmoto_5125 (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 3:58 pm

guys,which is better in look? the previous @ the new one?

juz asking :p

• shaif (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 4:31 pm

The chrome just look good at the images from the proton's gallery, but in real life and with some color, it just looks cheap.

Perhaps its time for Proton to assign best designer either from the Japs or Italy. Or Proton can setup their design base on the europe like the Hyundai or other korean carmaker that intend to upgrade their car looks and give premium feeling about it.

Proton could also make a design car contest as this forum show that some forummer have other say or idea of what the car should look like. It can be serious contest as more creative idea generated from LKW,UiTM, UTM and other IPTA's. I'm sure our young designer could come out with some interesting design.

As for paultan bloggers, the contest will measure the final outcome of what some people want this and that. Let see how many people know how to design car…heh!

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 4:42 pm

But if u compare with Toyota Belta, this Waja is much better……..

Belta ( which got the praised from most forumers ) is junkier overall…….

• raverus (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 5:53 pm

OMG….bravo…malaysia….

• ilmondo (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 11:50 pm

hmm.. since ppl are more favourable of new savvy design.. y not some1 do a photoshop chop on it.. savvy nose on waja's.. wit chromed logo.. n better looking fog lamps.. more stylish front bumper 2 suit its grille.. more elegant steering wit chromed tiger.. juz like peugeot's chromed lion.. get rid of d c*ck like rear lamps oso.. maybe shape remains but bmw+merc type?? hehe.. 1st gen waja used 2 hav small logo on d triangle piece on rear door.. i think it looks fine.. smaller gear knobs 4 auto n i think manual stick looks fine but a lil too thin.. steering wheel looks quite cheap wit d aluminium like thing on its 'northern hemisphere'..

car makers always practice 2 improve safety on newer facelifts.. like citroen c5 tat was tested on euroncap. hope proton do so..

• ilmondo (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 11:59 pm

hmm.. savvy new grille seems more favourable.. y not do a photoshop chop on it.. savvy grille on waja's nose.. sharper headlamps.. foglights.. more stylish front bumper to suit restyle grille.. new rear lamp replacing d c*ck like rear lamp.. 1st gen rear lamp is find.. y not try peugeot + bmw + merc lamp?? hehe.. steering wheel looks cheap wit its aluminium like northern hemisphere.. side profile looks nicest n most consistent on a waja but i'm sure its getting boring throughout d yrs.. maybe a more daring side skirts or door handles.. i'm sure quite number of us miss theophilus chin's (hope i spell it right) photoshop. hmm.. n other talents also.. maybe shuld share some photoshop chops ere also.. like www.carspyshots.net.

other car makers usually improve cars quality, drivability, safety, economy upon new facelifts.. versions.. hope proton pratice this too..

• ilmondo (Member) on Jan 24, 2007 at 12:01 am

unable to add comments on dis.. hmm.. was juz tryin 2 ask sum1 2 do photoshop chop on waja.. but said was duplicated..

• hush (Member) on Jan 24, 2007 at 1:33 am

i think its time for proton to replace its existing waja with probably a brand new waja… no point facelifting it… the existing flaw is still there… hate the overall shape… very angular… no smooth curves…

• BabyJess (Member) on Jan 24, 2007 at 3:18 am

hohoho… lucky I just bought the waja campro 2006 H.Line… everything are same, only the front cover and sport light are different. Somemore get the discount for RM3500. Minumum 5 years no need to change car, no hassle in 5 years because got warranty… hohoho… But one think good on this new car, you can modify it by taking out the logo and the chrome and just but a new chrome which similar to a net then it will look very much sporty or or you can also cover up the hole empty place so it will look like alfa romeo . Anyway I'm a designer, copy my idea if you want to buy this car because it look really OLD like 80's century robotic car…

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jan 25, 2007 at 11:35 pm

Passat wannabe. Can they just stuff the blinkers on the main cluster so that you can get a proper aftermarket spotlights on?

That's me only gripe. Overall, I always knew its more Continental styled than Japanese. It was based on the Charisma but a whole lot better coz its not a fastback like Charisma was.

They actually did redo the whole leather thing didn't they. Coz the original one was ugly and sagged like a beached whale after a year.

Looks ok when you have dark colors. Not so good on brighter ones. Wonder if they sorted out the dip in torque at mid range yet? Or the Variable Intake thingy?

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 26, 2007 at 3:47 am

http://www.carpoint.com.au/used-car/PROTON/WAJA/V…

waja 2003 australian

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 26, 2007 at 3:50 am

http://www.carpoint.com.au/used-car/PROTON/WAJA/V…

2003 waja cf x (australian)

• timo (Member) on Jan 26, 2007 at 12:13 pm

Proton did it again..was expecting some advancement but looks like its back to the "old days"..P1 is definately gonna lose out if it continues to go on like this..Forget abt the performance,quality of the car when thy cant even get the design right..Not appealing at all..

• tandas_awam (Member) on Jan 26, 2007 at 8:34 pm

errr… what does waja stand for W – what A – a J – junk A – art of work buy avanza is better so you can go for cuti2 malaysia n 1more thing 63K? National Car? huh… common guys use you brain maaaaaa

• aquatallica (Member) on Jan 28, 2007 at 12:12 am

hmmm 3 times the facelift….after i bought my waja campro last year…don't get me wrong here, i like Malaysia made cars and support proton or whatever you guys called yourself but too much facelift less than a year and a half…that's mean you guys are running out ideas for a new one. you guys might consider resign or get a new job and let others who have the ability and creativity take over not "political nowhere to go nonsence" take place…replace the old and bring in the new one.

Needles to eyes and bullet through my heart…

aquatallica

• Infinitt (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 5:49 pm

Not so bad. I like it compare with old design.

• waimak (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 11:35 pm

Yes, Proton should only use chrome for its logo. chrome!

• Kel32 (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 6:56 pm

The Proton logo look like Thundercat. Proton should make the logo simple like Perodua, Honda, Toyota and etc.

• x-men9999 (Member) on Feb 23, 2007 at 5:41 am

The Proton WAJA MME Edition R3 was awesome,now another new facelift…?

Wow..!Proton full of surprise.Now I have to think 7x before I decide to get a new waja….: )

• jumper (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 2:05 am

Im not sure if the proton management is simply ignorance, this type of design CANOT SELL!!!, funny and ugly looking boxy looking machine, no matter how much they did the facelift, it will not attact many buyers…REDESIGN THE WHOLE BODY SHAPE!!!…get some award winning designer and come up with some family sporty shape..both ways the young and those families would loves it..obviously those who are involve in the deciding the shape has a poor taste..if you guys are still deaming, Dream onnn…u will never improve the sales…

• cal1633 (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 8:58 am

NO..wrong wrong wrong! to me, it just look like proton saga! very not well proportioned indeed! previous brugandy waja campro still the best looking!

• jazz1011 (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 6:29 pm

First the rear lamp design – now the front grille design.

It just doesn't blend in. Call me conservative but I still prefer the 1st generation Waja design – minus the "crop-circle" rear lamp design.

Interior wise, it is somewhat an improvement. Looks more neat with plenty of add-ons to play around.

At least with the integration of ABS and Bluetooth capabilities, it might still attract buyers.

Cheers!

• BW (Member) on Apr 11, 2007 at 1:08 am

Yucks… Not nice one… The old waja front grill looks nice but dunno why they go and change to this type…. Looks cheap…

• ejal. on Nov 03, 2009 at 6:08 am

almost all commenter here are Malaysian…apa da…u all as the Malaysian n menumpang here,u need to give super duper support for our National car…not negative comments….diz is for proton to improve their quality…if u guys always give negative sights,how could proton want to improve tthe quality of theirs…for example,this facelift waja still look tough n macho…so,what??…if still wanna give negative comments n always compare to internattional cars,u juz go there n bermastautin di sana…coz Malaysia won't keep viruses in their industries…especially car industry…chow!

• Proton waja on Nov 15, 2009 at 5:19 am

Malaysian cars always looks Cheap…This is called Malaysia Boleh..syok sendiri always..

• Proton waja on Nov 15, 2009 at 5:33 am

this is not called negative comment…comment is preciouse…if real changes are being changed!!! we as a good citizen of mlaysia …we must not telling lies..SPEAK OUT THE TRUTH!!!! Hurray…. Btw, alot of talented designer in malaysia…why protonand produa still no improving??? still always copycat this car and that car…what a shame… :"( i just wonder why malaysia cars always the same taste..change a little it then proudly promote to market said what what limited addition…..the problem still there…just like the cancer.. If malaysia dare to produce and manufatured everthing by itself, but not import the engine from mitsubishi neither the design from Lotus company..then i would saying that "Malaysia Truly Boleh" Already… Think abt it proton and produa… Be Creative & Innovative..

• ejal. on Nov 15, 2009 at 6:50 am

not only proton n perodua copycat other cars..sometimes international car also copycat others n change a bit on their models..such as Toyota Camry 2008 and 2009…they change the tail lamp n bodykit..n then the price is different…about Lotus,Proton already "buy" them to improve the quality n handling (of course)….Proton n Lotus already a tough partnership…Mitsubishi???…alaaa….Mitsubishi also take proton chassis n use the chassis on New Mitsubishi Lancer w/o Proton know it..

Proton still new in automotive development..give them chance to improve their quality n design…don't give such a bash like a trash..ur bash is useless…plus,designing n improving the quality is not easy as ABC,123 or alif ba ta…they have expert engineer then new comers…ofcourse we want to see other talented Malaysian show their talent but how far they can go????….think about it…bashers are not engineers…