Perodua Nautica: official name for new Perodua SUV

Perodua Nautica 4WD

UPDATE: Perodua Nautica 4WD – Click the link for launch images and specifications of the Perodua Nautica 4WD!

Perodua has officially unveiled the name of the new Perodua SUV: the Perodua Nautica 4WD. Shown above is Theophilus Chin’s artist impression of the little SUV which is based on the short wheelbase Daihatsu Terios. The long wheelbase version is also on sale in our local market in the form of the Toyota Rush.

The new Perodua Nautica 4WD will be a CBU import from Japan with Perodua badging and styling, though since the car will be a low volume unit there should not be any major changes with the design other than a minor grille change, as it would not be cost effective to do any major restyling with so little units expected to be sold.

Bookings are open from May 10th 2008 onwards. Also released are some official minor specs on the car – a 1.5 litre DVVT engine (likely the 3SZ-VE in the Avanza and Rush) and a 4WD drivetrain, unlike the Toyota Rush’s 2WD drivetrain. It comes in automatic transmission only and has two colour variant – Medallion Grey or Majestic Black.

Perodua will definitely get some flack for bringing in a fully imported CBU unit instead of doing the normal “national car manufacturer” thing and making it here.

Covered up Perodua Nautica 4WD spotted being transported on trailers
New Perodua MPV coming in September 2009

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 24, 2008 at 8:33 pm

The looks look abit old

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Apr 24, 2008 at 8:38 pm

NaughtyCar?

• ENZO (Member) on Apr 24, 2008 at 8:43 pm

weird name & hard to remembered.
    what is the car’s name again? erm……………….i forgot……..

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 24, 2008 at 8:51 pm

hmmm? the name seems to be related with sea navigations~ correct me if im wrong.
    lol

• albagmane (Member) on Apr 24, 2008 at 8:55 pm

CBU sounds nice… at least quality assurance is there… but still have to wait the launch n see…

• narrowband (Member) on Apr 24, 2008 at 9:14 pm

What’s that pair of Myvi eyes doing at the front… lol.

• amad_a (Member) on Apr 24, 2008 at 9:28 pm

can it still be considered as national car even though it’s CBU? hmm…

• johnson wong (Member) on Apr 24, 2008 at 9:36 pm

why the fork is the stupid myvi head in the kembara?? fog light also same only…. the designer’s brain for wat??

• shenzutong (Member) on Apr 24, 2008 at 10:11 pm

How much does this fellow cost? Will it be more expensive than the ‘Toyota No Big Rush’ which is overly priced? Hopefully this is cheaper. Paul, any hint?

• xenith (Member) on Apr 24, 2008 at 10:43 pm

Why Nautica…

• White Jack (Member) on Apr 24, 2008 at 10:49 pm

So Perodua should give free Nautica T-shirt for those who book and buy this Nautica ?? :)

Anyway, what’s the point of bringing in this model since it is a mirror of RUSH which is lower price ?

Unless this Nautica has much better quality and people want the 4WD so much.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Apr 24, 2008 at 11:34 pm

Paul, I hope you can speak the truth and reveal to readers here that the so called “Long Wheel Base” Rush sold by Toyota here, is actually a rebodied Avanza with everything the same except selling at a RM20k premium to maximise their profits.

It’s impossible you don’t know this or hadn’t suspected this. I guess that’s so much so for your “Raves and Rants of the Automobile Industry”

Your integrity is somewhat rather disappointing compared to how you rise to fame earlier on.

Give us facts and insights, rather than kissing asses of all manufacturers.

Paul Tan says: sorry to have disappointed you. i haven’t test driven the rush yet, so it is not fair to say that as a) there may be some changes to how the car drives and feels, or b) there MAY NOT be any changes and it is just a reskin for them to earn RM20k more. but i have put in my previous launch story that the rush is based on the avanza platform.

actually it’s kind of obvious that everything from Toyota is a rebodied version of each other with only a few common platforms to pick from. something like what Volkswagen is doing as well.

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Apr 24, 2008 at 11:38 pm

hmm… looks ugly…..sorry :(

• ob8 (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 12:06 am

cbu produa car? ‘phuket-thailand’. obviously, national car status should only be given to p1.

• Peanuts (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 12:09 am

ingolstadt said,

April 24, 2008 @ 11:34 pm

Paul, I hope you can speak the truth and reveal to readers here that the so called “Long Wheel Base” Rush sold by Toyota here, is actually a rebodied Avanza with everything the same except selling at a RM20k premium to maximise their profits.

It’s impossible you don’t know this or hadn’t suspected this. I guess that’s so much so for your “Raves and Rants of the Automobile Industry”

Your integrity is somewhat rather disappointing compared to how you rise to fame earlier on.

===================

If you weren’t as ignorant as you are now, you would perhaps check previous posts and noticed that Paul DID say that the Rush is based on an adapted Avanza platform. Paul has been as fair and neutral as possible in his reviews, whether local or foreign cars.

http://paultan.org/archives/2008/01/29/new-7-seater-toyota-rush-suv-launched-in-malaysia/

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 12:14 am

Guys, this is a photoshop-ed Rush by Theophilus Chin. There have been a few images in lowyat of the Nautica, and I can say it’ll be 99% just like T’s Rush.

• jansej (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 12:18 am

expect a logo change, cheap grille, malaysian rims thats all.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 12:35 am

another overpriced car i think

• csv (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 1:26 am

i am abit dissapointed here.

because i dont think many people will want to fork out like what 90k plus? for a CBU toyota rush rebadged as a Perodua. even though it may be technically superior to the toyota rush available currently.

the brand is not powerful enough. i do not know what perodua is marketing or planning here.

but i am sure if it did pull the toyota rush short wheelbase here, rebadged it and redisgned it as the new Kembara, it would defintely sell better. minor styling here and there. like the hot cake MyVi.

1.5/1.3 liter. 2wd. you know. abs 2 airbag standard.

but hey, let’s wait and see.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 2:43 am

its up to the malaysian public not to respond n put their money into sting like dis….like a day light robery…i know VW do the same ting specially their Golf platform that are shared on many models from audi,seat,skoda n so on….but u wont notice …thy all have diferent body styles …diferent designs….this one is a cheat man….

i dont know who in their right mind will accept sting like this…..

this is a mockery…

pretty insulting to us consumers…..

• jx (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 3:48 am

This Nautica seems to be quite cute. But i think it is REALLY too expensive. Not practical for people who want a reasonably cheap SUV.

On a side note, Paul really gives us the most honest and truthful reviews. In my opinion he is the BEST!

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 5:13 am

Damn, I think this car will be priced near to the Rush’s. Through some other links, I can notice this ‘Naughtycar’ has less specs than Rush. Eg. no chrome door handle, no chrome door mirror. no SUV-bodykit, no door visor, 5-spoke alloy rims compared to Rush’s 7, single-din CD player compared to Rush 1.5s’s double-din and a darker plastic upholstery. Strangely, the Perodua designers chose blue interior trim matching the silver and black interior.
    So, this car doesn’t look handsome to me anymore.

• azrai (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 7:05 am

Now even Chery’s car will be more Malaysian than this Nautica. Even the Kias. Maybe Perodua projected a low volume of sales thus it is not economical enough to CKDed it. What can I say is; “Rebadged technology transfer”.

• the stik (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 7:35 am

it should be perodua Gothika.. price over 90k.. good.. tk ler bersepah atas jalan..

• normaluser (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 8:08 am

Perodua has strayed away from the original objective of its establishment: to offer affordable people’s car to the masses. At RM80K plus, its not affordable at all to the people.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 8:21 am

hey…some of u ppl…plz dun talk abt the price….abt the low volume la…n plz dun say paul didnt give a honest n truthful review…

all of these already been said by paul in his previous post…so…mind ur word n plz check the previous post before u give a comment…all of that hd been said by paul in previous post…so…dun talk abt price tag….cbu or ckd…why ckd…jz plz check the previous post…already stated…ok…peace…

btw…this is jz a photoshop edited…so…jz wait n see wat perodua gt when launch this car…mabe better than rush…

• abtm (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 8:36 am

just an old Toyota Rav4 built supercheap budget

• jaygan (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 8:47 am

Same engine again ?

Then it will be the same high rpm (more than 3000) at 100km/hr and thus not fuel efficient.

• I my (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 8:57 am

Nautica ….. sound like a submarine to me. Nautilus???

For for more cheap car…for the time been I don’t think so, as long the G keeping the current NAP. & car will sure getting more & more expensive every year.

• farghmee (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 9:14 am

Nautica = Naughtycar = No-T-ka ? :p

es ist langweilig.

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 9:16 am

CBU Perodua ???? Get out of here.

Bet it is similar to toyota rush if not identical

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 9:16 am

CBU Perodua ???? Get out of here.

Bet it is similar to toyota rush if not identical

• zk9 (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 9:17 am

ingolstadt said,

April 24, 2008 @ 11:34 pm …Paul, I hope you can speak the truth and reveal to readers here that the so called “Long Wheel Base” Rush sold by Toyota here, is actually a rebodied Avanza with everything the same except selling at a RM20k premium to maximise their profits….”

I thought the Avanza is a ladder-on-frame body, and the Rush and Nautica are monocoques. Volvo S60 and Mazda6 are different cars with different tastes despite being made from the same platform, so do Sylphy, Livina and Latio, etc

Real judgment on Rush and Nautica can only be made after those cars are driven. Anyone can have the right to speculate, but to base one’s integrity solely because of mere speculations instead of factual judgments is kind of childish ;P

• fazrul_johnny (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 9:22 am

My guess is this car will be priced in the same group as Waja…which means cheaper than Rush. Nautica is a shorter wheelbase than Rush but a 4wd and badged as Perodua car.

Plus there’s no sense for Perodua to diverse from its current objective as a low cost car manufacturer. on the other hand, this car may be used as a market tester for Perodua to see if it can enter into higher market class.

• kjryth (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 9:27 am

hmm for a 1.5l Japan CBU P2 Noti ka? priced at rm105k (estimated) and comparing with a 1.6l, 6 airbags CBU VW Cross polo at rm 110k otr, i’ll go for the CrossPolo any time.. go read
    http://paultan.org/archives/2007/06/04/volkswagen-crosspolo-16-with-6-airbags-at-rm124888/

• hamster (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 9:34 am

might b a good choice…

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 9:38 am

I can see why they’re releasing this as a P2, to prolly get some tax exemption for it being a “national car”. But this is not fair, the Gov should at least a rule stating that a certain percentage of the car has to be locally manufactured to be eligble for the relief, unless they already have that.

Also, Im wondering if P2 still does some work on the car when it arrives here, making it kinda like a CBU/CKD hybrid, if there ever was one. I say this because it has P2 badges, different grills and even the steering seems to be a P2 sources one.

On a side note, I wonder how much more will it cost if they had released it under the Toyota banner. rm7k-10k?

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 9:45 am

ingolstadt, you can actually choose NOT to come here, if…

1. Paul’s integrity is somewhat rather disappointing compared to how he was rise to fame earlier on.

2. This place isn’t giving YOU (don’t be generous and speak on everyone’s behalf) facts and insights.

3. You believe Paul kisses asses of all manufacturers, except yours.

Lastly, if you are so knowledgeable, ingolstad, why not YOU yourself, go gather all your research, and web-links, so YOU can speak the truth and reveal to readers here if the UMW Toyota Rush is actually a rebodied Avanza with a RM20k premium to maximise their profits. Better depend or rely on yourself than others isn’t it?

• bobdbilder (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 10:29 am

Peeps

Don’t shoot the messenger. As much as Paul has his views stated so has Ingolstadt. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that. Let it rest. Chill.

As to P2. They are sending out Early Warning signals that they are not what they are used to be. They belong to the Japs now. Its just not the right time to officially say it.

Don’t blame the high price of Nautica on NAP coz they choose to import from Japan. Remember AFTA reduces duties on ASEAN manufactured cars and parts. Therefore, RUSH should be lower than it is. But they choose not to. The (possible) unit profit is higher on the Toyota badge than the Japan P2.

• carfanz (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 10:39 am

OMG CBU from JAPAN…da price gona sore high…PAY FOR THE QUALITY

• kjryth (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 10:55 am

ingolstadt?? hmm after got bashed in the forum, now u r creating some predictive mess here eh???

• chee89 (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 11:08 am

well, made in Japan actually still means made in China. Cause the workers in those factories in Japan are still Chinese workers from China. no much difference.

I think quality wise not much is going to change. Honestly, i think its going to be lousier. Perodua might be using Price-Quality Relationship pricing, putting it at a high price making people think its good because it has 4WD and that it’s made in Japan, but maybe its just the same thing. Just with 4WD.

With a Perodua Badge, Toyota can have tax exemption and build a greater profit margin. Perodua is just letting Toyota use their badge so that they think Perodua can reach out to our local customers. Obviously because P2’s brand name now more reliable than P1.

just my thoughts

• alpha0201 (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 11:30 am

“The new Rush is a 7-seater monocoque SUV based on an adapted Toyota Avanza platform, and is powered by a 1.5 liter VVT-i engine called the 3SZ-VE, installed longtitudinally in the Rush’s engine bay. It drives the two rear wheels. The 3SZ-VE produces 109 PS at 6,000rpm and 141Nm of torque at 4,400rpm.”

ingolstadt, go & slap your own mouth. Paul Tan has clearly stated that the Rush is based on adapted Avanza platform in his previous post. Use the “Search” function next time before you run your mouth here with your biased statement!

• Roti Naan (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 11:32 am

The sale jingle for this car shold be:

How do you feel today?
    I feel like NAUGHTY

CAR

• kjryth (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 11:33 am

yo bob builder, the high price of this Nautica is totally TOYOTA’s greed translated purely… if Mitsubishi can sell its Lancer 2.0 GT at rm120k and VW can sell their CrossPolo 1.6 at RM110k, it’s oni logical tht Toyota is super super greedy……..

• kjryth (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 11:35 am

ehehhe, today i noti ka u noti?

• king (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 11:55 am

as expected…the dirty bast**ds at perodua…i mean toyodua are show ing their true colours now. next we will see toyodua vios, toyodua altis and toyodua camry.

what a filthy company using dirty methods and claim that they are local manufacturer just to save on taxes and scam the public of a big fat profit from the savings in taxes.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 12:20 pm

will this affect the sales of Rush?

• Max88 (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 12:49 pm

This is a lady SUV or for some girlie-men. The only off-road experience for this SUV is when climbing some road curbs/ dividers.

• I my (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 1:07 pm

For the car maker they want to sale more cars aka profit, End user want cheap & good cars. But in the centre….. a”big” stone is blocking it, so can we take away that stone??

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 1:34 pm

i thought that only P1 got blind bashed every now & then.. now Paul too? LOL

Paul Tan says: er, well, bashing me is allowed here… so can improve :) i get what ingolstadt is saying, and i am sure there are many silent ones that are of the same opinion as him, they want me to be more opinionated, and that is not a bad thing.

• DtG (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 2:23 pm

har, this car got no floormat ah? i thought i heard someone say this perodua no tikar…

• mockviper (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 2:29 pm

its a Daihatsu Be-Go, not Toyota Rush :P and in Malaysia, Daihatsu Be-Go means Perodua Notycar. to make it sounds better, they call it Nautica. They just rebadge, noty Perodua.

• bmpower (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 2:47 pm

Nautica = Sailing.
    so this is not a car.. it’s a boat.
    you can ‘drive’ it at Klang river, good… there’s no toll there. :D

Let post mortem.
    1st, they sold Rush at very high price.
    then they sold this nautica or what ever bee goo.. at half price.

so.. people will bought because it was already cheap from the Rush!

but sadly.. i didn’t know how many of toyota fan don’t see there’s already almost Whoooaaa! 25K increased price from the ‘harga patut’.

BTW.. Kembara, as previous model .. and might this too.. is not ‘REAL 4WD’
    it’s AT-4WD. I mean, All Time 4 Wheel Drive! No double gear, no 2WD mode.. just all time 4wd. Ask nearby foremen to know what’s the bad thing about it… ;)

Toyota is really ‘Toyol’ta!

• jeffsandhu (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 3:00 pm

i’ve seen and driven the car already… overall it feels good…
    but might be abit pricey…
    and on cosmetic wise, the girll is not like the one in the picture, it still remains the same as the rush.. the only that i noticed was the signal lights was attached together with the side mirror (same like myvi)… and the one i drove did not have the PU colour tone bumper, it was in black…

• tec96248 (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 3:01 pm

why there’s bunch of fools commenting on unnecessary things on the car manufacturers as well as taxes, nap, cbu or ckd? pointless anyway since the car prices and car are not yet official launch. so many still not yet grown up….hahahaha…boring. is the smartness of car manufacturers to sell and make profit a lot, their employees need salary increment and bonuses too. so what’s the problem? are u going to buy it? or u can choose not to buy and stop condemning with nonsenses.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 3:21 pm

I reserve my comments until I see this car in metal. By the way, pity you la Paul.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 3:34 pm

By the way Theo, I think what you have commented on Ingol…whatever…is an eye-opener to him. Hahahahaha

• ravedoggie (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 4:57 pm

still duno da price yet?? CBU frm japan.?? -.-” confused~~

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 4:57 pm

..never kissed anyone’s ass, never gonna. Coolest guy? Paul is definitely the only one here. This car uncool, worth waiting for the Proton MPV…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 5:32 pm

tec96248,

this is afterall a blog on the auto industry, and not specifically on products alone. so anything to do with the nap, taxes, cbu ckd..etc. is all fair game. some of the bashings here might be crude, but they make a lot of sense if you sift through it all.

sure.. every company wants to make money, and pay their staff well. but to do it unethically, or by some weird abuse of the system, thats not very right either.

• mct (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 8:15 pm

avanza is not the ladder frame car la
    unlike the innova
    u can c the different by seeing the rear wheel ,beside the innova rear wheel
    u can see a thick bar ,but it is not present on avanza

• Roti Naan (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 8:18 pm

got any picture of the naughty-car backside? sure can use some spanking becoz it’s so naugthy..

• ah liew (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 8:57 pm

Those who bought Toyota Rush will be hearthbroken while the new Kembara will be all over town like myvi….. can’t distinguish whether it’s a Toyota or Kembara Naughty kah…. haha!

• shenzutong (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 9:26 pm

Besides Afta, I believed our Gouman has also signed a Pact with Japan (not sure about the effective date), so all cars imported from there should be priced the same like those made in SEA. Anyway, if the Guoman can make us enjoy fair car prices like in USA, then we will be lucky to own some nice cars. What to do, can’t help lah for now.

• topgunthang (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 9:34 pm

nobodyatuk said,

April 25, 2008 @ 4:57 pm

..never kissed anyone’s ass, never gonna. Coolest guy? Paul is definitely the only one here. This car uncool, worth waiting for the Proton MPV…

—————————–

how does it taste?

• noactiontalkonly (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 9:48 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    April 25, 2008 @ 5:32 pm

sure.. every company wants to make money, and pay their staff well. but to do it unethically, or by some weird abuse of the system, thats not very right either.
    —————————————————————-What do you mean that p2 abused the system? everybody knows this ‘nutty-car’ is CBU from Japan. If p2 somehow manage to fool the G people and get this car to be categorized as national car, then pity to all of us because our G is so stupid!

• topgunthang (Member) on Apr 25, 2008 at 10:09 pm

i think its because of proton and peroduo’s appaling performance that other manufacturers can still afford to charge high prices. espcially toyota.

they understand that even with the price advantage proton has on toyota products they know they can still compete and make a killing. they understand proton will not be able to make a good product at any price and know that you will come knocking at thier door for an (default) alternative no matter how good or bad (or expensive) it is.

only way is to introduce more competition. this car maybe indirectly from toyota/daihatsu. but its a good change. let them all come in and compete to bring prices to where they should be.

if this car is overpriced. let toyota/peroduo know its overpriced so they will rethink thier approach next time.

• claxxion (Member) on Apr 26, 2008 at 12:11 am

Why peroduas must be so dull? Grey? Black? Macam photostat colours only..
    It doesnt make any sense to buy a perodua at 80k. Toyota’s interior quality is rubbish. Might as well top up another 10k to get its sibbling Rush with 7 seaters right?

• I my (Member) on Apr 26, 2008 at 11:02 am

yaloh… why here we cannot see colorful small cars… orange, yellow, purple & etc. off cause no a yellow camry for me lah…

• Tracks (Member) on Apr 26, 2008 at 11:12 am

Too many people commenting either without reading or looking at the pictures closely. The picture is an artist impression only and people are complaining it looks as if it was the actual looks of the product. Then there are some who complained about the Toyota Rush being a bascally rebodied Avanza, which I agree, but bashing here saying it was not mentioned or implied is not accpetable since it was commented in the previous discussion for the Toyota Rush. Please read through the proevious related article. It helps.

I pity those who regularly read all related article and comments as they have to screen through these nonsense.

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 26, 2008 at 5:18 pm

Tracks stole my line. DAMN!!!

Since the photoshop-ed image is too complicated for Msian minds to comprehend, Paul, it’s better for you to just display a spyshot image of the covered Nautica snapped by The Stik IIANM.

• bien335 (Member) on Apr 26, 2008 at 7:59 pm

naughtycar

very hamsap

• bobdbilder (Member) on Apr 26, 2008 at 11:33 pm

You know what? I think this model is a bit late. If it came in when Toyota still was selling RAV4 both RUSH and Nautica would be a scene stealer. Imagine three levels of option for the basically the same big hit thing. But then again, RAV4 came in through the grey market didn’t it? I’m not sure.

• mytouch (Member) on Apr 27, 2008 at 7:49 am

ingolstadt said,
    April 24, 2008 @ 11:34 pm

Another stupid morone try to show his “talent” here. Hey Dude.next time,log in more to Paultan to read & appreciate his hard work,dont just going around trash people without any concrete reason. Instead of blaming others,why dont you ask yourself,why you so stupid…??

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Apr 27, 2008 at 10:20 am

bobdbilder said,
    April 26, 2008 @ 11:33 pm
    ”You know what? I think this model is a bit late…”

Dear bobdbilder, i think Malaysian automotive industry always late, not particularly on this model only. When others have been producing MPV for more than 10 years ago, Malaysia (Both P1 & P2) only manage to come out with theirs only by next year.

When others have come up with their glorious innovations of functional engines, drive train technologies, global standard of safety features, contemporary, futuristic and impressive design, Malaysians still have to compromise and sacrifice with the like of mediocre cars offered by their national car manufacturers.

Anyway, as the saying goes, better late than never. At least the auto industry in the country now is moving somewhere forward. (Just like the country’s political state of affair..hehe)

By the way, please don’t defame Ingolstadt. As i can see it, he just tried to express his sincere thought and feeling as a vivid reader of Paultan’s blog. And Paul is handsomely cool with that too. So everybody just stay back and be cool ok.

• gqcraze (Member) on Apr 28, 2008 at 1:19 am

If it is anything similar to the current generation Daihatsu Terios in Sg, I’m quite happy to buy it, drove one in Sg. The only diff btwn the Rush and Terios are mostly cosmetics, but the Terios in Sg are EU spec, left-mounted indicator stalk and 3-point seatbelts all round incl centre rear seat, Rush does not have 3-point seatbelt for centre rear passenger, Rush has foot brake vs Terios’ handbrake. Anyway, I’m quite disappointed to hear that the Nautica is above the RM70k mark, was seriously planning to book one for my folks, but guess need to wait and see… Oh and I am surprised that the Rush is a 7-seater in Msia, isn’t it a little tight width-wise?

Anyone has any ideas if the Suzuki SX4 (Hatch) is onsale in Msia? How much? Also a nice car for S$54k, but am sure it won’t be at that price point in Msia, considering how much a basic spec Mazda 3 is being sold at RM110k!!! Siaw!

• pOckeTbOcoR (Member) on Apr 28, 2008 at 10:19 am

DtG said,
    April 25, 2008 @ 2:23 pm

har, this car got no floormat ah? i thought i heard someone say this perodua no tikar…

————————————–

kah100x
    bro, among all the jokes above, urs was the funniest
    i cant stop laughing till now
    haha100x

• Auto_crat (Member) on Apr 28, 2008 at 10:41 am

Nautica is a name suitable for a boat. Well, just replace the Kembara.

• tec96248 (Member) on Apr 28, 2008 at 8:24 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop,

but this is about the car or product alone in here. afterall don’t see much the comment the works by the artist. fair? don’t know really.

‘but to do it unethically, or by some weird abuse of the system, thats not very right either.’ this we don’t know yet, the tax amount and price not yet known. but then they have told this is a cbu unit anyway with perodua bagde only. they might because of the japan/malaysia trade agreement that’s why Lancer is good deal also. so upto now we can speculate much.

• heavymetal (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 4:30 am

Paul Tan says: er, well, bashing me is allowed here… so can improve i get what ingolstadt is saying, and i am sure there are many silent ones that are of the same opinion as him, they want me to be more opinionated, and that is not a bad thing
    =========================================
    cooool!!!

• JaeJun (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 2:43 pm

I wonder when Perodua can totally replace Proton as i really like Perodua more than proton base on the Services and Design.

Hope to see Perodua can come out with a new Sedan Car

• syedv6 (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 11:44 am

90-95k for nautica…very mahalllo..for such a car… full time 4wd + 1.5cc + auto gear = manyak makan minyak punyer loo!!!!!!!!

• xxrrxx2002 (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 2:28 pm

Nausicaa of the Valley of Wind … sounds so much like it. lol. Perodua’s greedy, flesh eating, bone spitting, or shall I say, money eating, bone eating, spit nothing machine has been mobilized. The greedy executives and shareholders of Perodua finally gave in to the alluring world of big-quick-bucks and I-don’t-give-a-sh*t to the rest of the dumb*ss, oh-so-naive Malaysians.

• car_lose (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 12:55 am

i`m looking for the nautica on the road.

• NauticaOwnerWannabe on Jun 19, 2009 at 6:15 am

Come on this car is in my budget and 4 mother fucking wheel drive!!!! IS THE BEST CAR!!! IT IS NAUGHTY and can get down and dirty!!! STOP COMPLAINING THIS CAR IF U DON'T LIKE IT JACK OFF!!!!