Perodua man for Proton CEO?

Proton Holdings Bhd may appoint Syed Zainal Abidin Mohamed Tahir as the new chief executive officer of the company, replacing former CEO Tengku Mahaleel Ariff.

Zainal Abidin is currently the deputy managing director of Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional Bhd. (Perodua) and one of the four executive directors of Perodua Auto Corporation, the 49%-owned manufacturing arm of Perusahaan Otomobil Kedua Sdn Bhd (Perodua) and whose other shareholders are Daihatsu Motor Co Ltd (41%) and Mitsui & Co Ltd (10%).

Zainal Abidin used to work in Proton’s manufacturing division during the group’s early years of operation. He later joined Malaysian Trucks and Bus Sdn. Bhd, rised through the ranks to become CEO and moved on the Perodua to become it’s head of production.

Perodua officials said they’ve heard the rumours, but they are not at liberty to comment. Proton officials could not be contacted.

Source: The Edge Daily, Yahoo Finance

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SEE FU on Nov 22, 2005 at 10:17 pm

Now see P1 really wants to learn from P2!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! :P

• Homer Simpson on Nov 22, 2005 at 10:30 pm

I think Syed Zainal Abidin Mohamed Tahir will fail as the new Proton CEO. He wouldn't get the co-operation and the politics in Proton is intense! Poor guy!

• repsol on Nov 22, 2005 at 10:53 pm

p1 need VW CEO instead of ex-P1 people,.. then we r talking about

daring to change,..

• KhakoMan on Nov 22, 2005 at 10:54 pm

Agree with repsol

• Wilfred on Nov 22, 2005 at 11:18 pm

no matter who they getting…

if the board don wan to change their attitude…

nothing can be change….

even syed zainal abidin cant save them….

jz like some player cant do well in a team….but excel after move to other team

• aksMs on Nov 22, 2005 at 11:28 pm

SEE FU: Don't be like that la. If Proton appoint a CEO from Modenas, how? Then Proton wants to learn to make kapchai pulak ka? Hehehe. Maybe there are something good Proton can learn from Perodua. Who knows?

If Syed Zainal is the person, his success is yet to be seen. Besides this is just rumours. And no one is confirming it. I'm sure Pak Lah will appoint his people regardless of the announcement from the Board of Director.

• fariq on Nov 22, 2005 at 11:46 pm

It is difficult to grow as a car manufacturer if there is too much politics involved on the business side. Proton could have achieved more in its 20 year existance if its focus was clear. There has been too many shake-ups and restructuring that led to proton having to pick up its pieces again and again every now and then. Proton 'the company' had destroyed the capacity and the capability of proton 'the car' to become a major global player. Tun Dr. Mahathir had a good vision when he wanted to develop a national car project but the short-sightedness of SOME of the people behind proton stunted its potential. Proton has a big responsibility to Malaysian and Malaysia, as it represents the pride of the nation. If the parasites within proton have a specific agenda to achieve some personal gains, they should be removed and tried as it can be considered as dishonouring the country.

Nowadays, we can only hope that Proton would buck up and get back on track to what it was envisioned

• thinkerr on Nov 22, 2005 at 11:54 pm

fariq, I just have to agree with you. Just look at our GLCs and you will see why they are not doing well. MAS is one good example. Far too many corruptions….

• ottoman on Nov 22, 2005 at 11:56 pm

poor Proton,nak pilih CEO pun problem.why dont they just hire Jaguar/Volvo/A.Martin boss instead of UMNO-putra people?? and they MUST change the Chief head of design,just hire foreigner.. dont be so kolot dont want foreigner.. this is business,if manage by UMNO-putra and then failed,all the rakyat going to blame the G. so weird laa our government.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Nov 23, 2005 at 12:02 am

Speaking about bucking up. There are a few bucking-down's in Proton already.

1. The various facelifts of the Saga.

2. Wira SE?

3. Perdana also had 2 facelifts. Making it a 3rd Gen if you were buy one now.

4. Chancellor? – =.=" Give up la..

• eRis-Aeir4s on Nov 23, 2005 at 12:22 am

Hurray… p1 finally got some1 to de rescue. We shall look further then. by de way… Toyota in connection to Daihatsu, Daihatsu in connection to P2. Hey things r gettin funny now..

• DeCosby on Nov 23, 2005 at 12:23 am

What happen now?

• Marmitecrab on Nov 23, 2005 at 12:26 am

I foresee much difficulty if a foreign CEO was hired. Proton is not just a car manufacturer but a national concern. The goings-on in Proton is even discussed and debated in parliament from time to time.

A foreign CEO would find the politics and culture difficult to manage, much less attempt to turn the company around. Unless he is someone like Carlos Ghosn of Nissan who was considered an outsider but is now hailed as a hero in Japan (he even has a manga comic dedicated to him).

A local would be better suited to the post but as we all know, there are two types: the first being a figurehead or puppet who merely does the bidding of certain people and the other is the master and commander who leads with vision and doesn't determination.

Hopefully, the right one is selected. Personnally, I don't care. As long as the products are of good quality and design and the aftersales service improves, it doesn't matter who is in charge. As for now, Proton will have one less customer.

• SEE FU on Nov 23, 2005 at 1:35 am

Anyone out there knows how much time to full test a CEO leadership?

TUNGGU maharLIOA takes about 9 years to proof his weakness and Kick out by management. Now This ZANOL BABBIDIN…..guess how long?? I will give hime 2 years MAX!!! No results pergi cuci Longkang!!! :)

YAU MOU GAU…CHOR!!! if take another 5 to 6 years POTONG will TAPAU lor!!

• pycazu on Nov 23, 2005 at 2:00 am

Hey SEE FU, watch your words! Be funny is good but not insulting, or else u'll get another round of bashing again, Still remember…

Back to the topic, PROTON have too many cronies and corruptions underneath. Previous audit revealed that PROTON pro-long loan the cars to major car journalists. Definitely there are more behind… The new CEO must find out all the truths about this company before it can get on the track.

This guy having much experience working with Toyota showing a good trend. Let's hope the talk between Proton and VW is a fruitful deal, and see how well he can manage it. Cheeeeeeersss….!!!

• zongtwi a.k.a. speed on Nov 23, 2005 at 2:14 am

See Fu, I agree with you, 2 years should be enough to see wether or not any new CEO is doing his job or not. The new Lotus CEO has been on the job for about 11 months now, and already there are alot of new changes that he's implemented. Now Lotus has direction and a business plan to move forward. Although things are still not going quite to plan, but at the very least Lotus is moving forward. But within those two years, we should give him all the support he needs and give him a chance to prove himself. Not just bash every single thing he does.

I agree with Mr. Crabbie, the right person needs to be apointed. Not a puppet, but a real leader with bags of experience. Whoever is apointed, I really hope they get the right one.

• Should give foreigner a chance, afterall couldn't find a good "local" one.

Then form up a good "local mgmt team" for assisting and advising.

• E-nabill on Nov 23, 2005 at 2:30 am

hes gonna make p1 a toyota car assembler like p2 rather than a manufacturer….jus diff badge..wat a shame..we dowant him!

• Initial D on Nov 23, 2005 at 2:33 am

i think b4 new ceo is appointed, somebody very powerful in proton or G should wipe out the corruption, politics and others…….when everything is clean and shiny, then taaaaddaaaaaa…new CEO's coming to town!!!!! wow!

• Baja Potong on Nov 23, 2005 at 3:11 am

tiuuu appointing another CEO who makan sambal belacan will not work daa

• narrowband on Nov 23, 2005 at 3:15 am

I see this as a good sign. Good for proton, good for the country.

Having a foreigner leading Proton, as some commentors suggested, is not really wise, i think.

You won't know what sorta agenda a foreigner may have on our 'beloved' national pride (although the pride is no longer there for most people).

Perodua man for Proton, I say AYE!

• @ bong on Nov 23, 2005 at 3:40 am

at least some changes has been made. let's wait and see lo

• gegaoff on Nov 23, 2005 at 3:55 am

if he can do it, then POTONG got hope. but of coz VW should get into.

but i guess whether POTONG can sucess is depend how much interruption from Govt. the less the better.

cheers…

• Handsfree on Nov 23, 2005 at 4:04 am

Never hear about this guy b4.. anyway.. since Proton hired him.. let give him to full suport but with time frame.. (2 yr or 3 yrs??)

Let see…..

• sinleong on Nov 23, 2005 at 5:44 am

I think see fu's favourite catchphrase is "Yao Mou Kau Chor" :D

• supporter1 on Nov 23, 2005 at 7:08 am

ooppss…. then the tanjung malim plant from protoncity will become peroduacity soon lorr….. what a surprise……

PERODUA SAGA

PERODUA ISWARA

PERODUA WIRA

PERODUA SATRIA

PERODUA WAJA

PERODUA GEN2

PERODUA PERDANA

PERODUA CHANCELLOR 2.0 V6

• one up for proton.

can i have my proton Evo X for like 90K now LOL.

• cbljkkj on Nov 23, 2005 at 12:19 pm

E-Nabill,

Most Proton cars came from Mitsubishi. So it would be rhetorical to say that "IF" Perodua were to "take" over, they would "rebadge". Nearly 80%-90% of Proton cars came from the layouts of Mitsu cars.

Those who want to criticize this Perodua and ex-Proton shareholder should revise their words. They should not judge him when they do not even know about his performance capabilities. It's like throwing bricks at innocent people.

I think all they are mad about is the headline and what is suggests. Most of us did not ridicule Tengku Mahaleel so they just based on opinion should not ridicule this person even when he hasn't even done anything wrong. Shame on you people. You make me sick.

• i think the position for proton ceo should be given to who seem clever enought in this forum and let we see if he can perform… he he h e.. who want to be ceo standup!

• SEE FU on Nov 23, 2005 at 4:24 pm

I don't care HE/SHE or BUMI/NON-BUMI or Malaysian or non-Malaysian as long as POTONG can perform well in the next TWO years. I would say GREAT job!! …..like Nissan as an example from LOST to WIN!!! what a Legendary Tales!!

Chinese always said: Don't care it's a BLACK cat or WHITE cat……those can catch the RATS are called GOOD CAT. Meow…Meow….Meow!!!

We want a GOOD CAT!!!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!! :P

• ah LIM on Nov 23, 2005 at 5:41 pm

i hate u see fu…… i don't agree with u see fu….. i want my father to become the new proton CEO……..

HATE U A LOT………

• biggie on Nov 23, 2005 at 5:44 pm

this just proving that nearly all top managers in M'sia auto industry do come from Proton even most of the vendors is ex-proton.

The've achieve what the govt. wants, now its time to close shop.

• eMalaysian on Nov 23, 2005 at 5:46 pm

Come on guys …..

Can any one of you here do a better job?

• SEE FU on Nov 23, 2005 at 6:23 pm

ah LIM arr!!

Did I said your father cannot be CEO of POTONG?

BTW, Why your Father is Qualify to be POTONG CEO Lei???

WISH to know your Father more, tell us WHAT kind of "BARPOW" means POWER your's father got!!

Tell us more about ah LIM's father……Where can??? How can?? When can?? Why can?? Plss…..

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!! If you don'T tell us….then Eat your banana lah!! YAK CIUUuuuuu first…..ah LIM

• ah LIM on Nov 23, 2005 at 7:13 pm

hate u see fu……..

i dont agree all your ideas and your word " yau mou gau….."

always condemn others…….

never proud to B malaysian…… go aply others citizenship la ……

HATE U SO MUCH…… FOR U malaysia TAK boleh…… u boleh BLAH la……

ank haprak sapa nie……

• EDDIE FANS on Nov 23, 2005 at 7:58 pm

HE LOOKS LIKE TERRORIST!!!

• ah lim,

can you tell me

what to proud to b malaysian?

why proud to b malaysian?

how to proud to b malaysian?

• SEE FU on Nov 23, 2005 at 8:12 pm

Sometimes I get exhausted to talk to a WOOD!!!

Chinese said: "MANG ZAIK" meant….. KERAS KEPALA or BATU KEPALA or STONE or ROCKs or WOODY…..can understand arr!!??

YAU MOU GAU…CHOR!!! ah LIM you better go to see a doctor lah, YOur brain got VIRUS already!!! Do you need my helps anyway?? I know few PHYCOlogist Doctor who had proven good skills and….can give you 50% discount for coz…just PITY…..sad of you!! Call this no. 03-4444-554 Cepat!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!! :P Hate me? What had I did wrongly!!?? Mistery!! ah lim again YAK Ciuuuuuu……lah!

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Nov 23, 2005 at 8:20 pm

Perodua officials said they’ve heard the rumours, but they are not at liberty to comment. Proton officials could not be contacted.

Rumours laa.. not confirmed yet.

i tot Modenas CEO is better than other laa.. you know why? .

because modenas sales still good and hot cakes.. various model, good design etc..

see Modenas Kristar and Elite for example.. and truly designed by malaysian but maybe we still can say hidden thingy unseen?) ..

do big different between motorbike n car?.. i dun think that's big dif.. it's all about management.

MAS oso has been forced (?) to learn from Tony Fernandez n Pahamin Rajab of Asia.. (in yesterday parliement debate : 22 Nov 2005)

Why dont proton oso learn from modenas? (NOT! P2 is not truely malaysian now.. and i still stand for that.. because most know p2 owned by the Toyota. it's about Japan Management = Like japan ways.. aiyah.. my friend(S) as small as operator to few manager and IT related were working in UMW Toyota's – subsidiarys factory at Sec. 15 Shah Alam lah.. almost kerja letih nak mampus.. but that's normal japanese way – they strict in all the matter).

But modenas.. Motor Dan ENjin oso.. yeah.. we know that to build small motorcycle is not hard as Car engine lah.. but the way they go .. we havent see any bad track of mdenass yet..

Tony Fernandez oso can be the CEO of proton maa? it's little bout G's, must bumi lah.. must bla bla.. yeah.. hell political matter. that's big problem.. To Proton is to be business.. it's must the only way.. sigh..

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Nov 23, 2005 at 8:23 pm

miss type.. Tony and Pahamin of AIR ASIA..

(yeah.. we know.. still different by the Services n MANUFACTURER .. but the way is not only about Product.. it's about Management..

Good management gonna make Good Thing.. bad Management = Bad all the way..

• keniji on Nov 23, 2005 at 8:46 pm

whoever,

whatever,

bring back the normalPRICE of car here,

stop ripping Us off!

enough!

• SEE FU on Nov 23, 2005 at 9:38 pm

Mitsu …2000 arr!!

I agreed with your statement Good management is important!

But, You've forgotten one more important FACTOR, which is CORRUPTION and CRONISM.

If these two VIRUS still exist and not clean in POTONG, no matter how GOOD the Planning and management skills they have finally MATI juga!! Don't you agreed??

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! Again…ah LIM YAK Ciuuuuuuu…..lah!! Makam awak punya Pisang lah!!

• benunited on Nov 23, 2005 at 11:03 pm

hey see fuu..stop la, hv a pity for ah lim, maybe now he's crying like hell & alredi told his papa & surely u'll got kicked by his papa maa…huahuahuahua wei ahlim go tell ur papa now…hahahaha run see fuu, ruunnnn for your asssss……:P

• Marmitecrab on Nov 24, 2005 at 1:02 am

Modenas is very similar to Proton in that they receive a lot of protection from the government. A lot of motorbikes 250cc and above has been limited or stopped entirely from being imported as a form of protecting Modenas.

• yhtan on Nov 24, 2005 at 1:44 am

Ya..modenas did get a lot of protection from government,but their quality is good,not like potong….(sigh..potong again)

Do u guys think that potong CEO is elected by shareholder?

i dun think so,mostly the election will connect to government,thats why goverment must not interfere this anymore,let potong be independent.

• gegaoff on Nov 24, 2005 at 5:50 am

let VW come in lah. faster!!!

ah lim ah, u want your father go to be POTONG CEO? go ahead lah. also good move. so POTONG may be can close shop faster. or ur papa can help us to bring back the car price to lower and lower…. yeah!!!

CID, are u malaysian? if no go to hell. if yess, go to other country lo. be proud to be other country's citizen lo.

no one want u be here lah.

cheers to u ah…

• It's not going to make any difference who's the next CEO. Can they produce something WORLD CLASS ? or they can kiss goodbye to the international car makers who is 20 years in front in technology

The question is CAN THEY PROOF FOR THE FINAL TIME. Will success prevail or the opposite ?

Only GOD knows !

• ah LIM on Nov 24, 2005 at 4:03 pm

hate u seafood… opps SEE FU……..

proud to be malaysian…….

i dont know Y people dont like to B malaysian….. blah la woiiii…….

• siren on Nov 24, 2005 at 7:33 pm

this board is degenerating into flamewars lar

• EDDIE FANS on Nov 24, 2005 at 8:01 pm

AH LIM & SEE FU ARE BANNED HERE START FROM TODAY!!!

BOTH ALL U , PLS GO TO SEE DOCTOR!!! STILL KIDS HUH, WANT ME TO GIVE U CANDY TO U KIDS?

• Hope he can do a better job. However regardless of who's going to be on the top, its going to be a tough job which will get harder as AFTA comes into play.

• Wah lau eh SEE FU…ah lim like kena ur MOU YING KIOK ~~~~~ why he hate u when his father want to be POTONG CEO neh? were u his father's LOVE ENEMY last time???? You aint that OLD dont u SEE FU!

YAO MAO GAU L*N CHOR SEE FU!!!! SHOW US SOME BANANA PUNCH!!! :P

• damion on Nov 24, 2005 at 9:14 pm

could be a good move…

if speculations are true…

but then, it'll all depend on the G to provide all the necesarry "probabilities" for it to fail again…

when can they learn that business and politics cannot co-exist?

IMHO, the board of directors of Proton should be major shareholders with interests to develop the company with a sole vision, THE COMPANY in mind..

not how much money that'll profit from signing certain deals with certain suppliers…

and i don't get it.. is this a kid's discussion?

because calling names here and there ain't a mature thing to do..

• outta on Nov 24, 2005 at 9:36 pm

it's sad that this forum has become a "unmatured chat" rather than a good discussion. calling names, and the use of very "unpopular" words show total disregard and disrespect to others.

• can we stop feeding the troll

• SEE FU on Nov 24, 2005 at 10:14 pm

abu arr!!

I don't eat OLD GRASS one lah, ah LIM father where got POWER to fight with me. I think you GAU CHOR Liao!

Anyway, I'm still don't understand WHY this dude Hate me lei?? Maybe belum makan UBAT atau tengah mabuk kah? Kalau macam itu, Jangan On-line lah kacau saja!!

YAU MOU GAU…CHOR!! Ooi….eddie dude, do you wanna me to call you SIEW PENG? Orang Dewasa CAKAp, budak ini apa pun tak tahu pun mahu campur tangan pula!!! Awak ini jaga sikit okay!! Kalau mahu cakap ….cakap ah LIM saja lah cukup. Mengapa BAKAR saya punya newspaper pula?? mahu cari pasal kah?

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!

• ah LIM on Nov 24, 2005 at 10:40 pm

hate u seefood…….

u always kutuk others people punya opinions……… no manners…… don't know how to respect people……

semua org mau marah…. eddie dude N abu also kena kutuk……

hate u seefood…… gobact to see laaaa

SSSSSEEEEOWWWW

• SEE FU on Nov 24, 2005 at 11:30 pm

Err?? Maybe Zanol Babbidin is ah Lim father, I guess?? Therefore his want him to be POTONG ceO. mmm…..interesting!!

SOrry lah saya panggil you punya Bapa cuci longkang!! Okaylah modify sikit kalau dalam masa 2 tahun pun tak ada GOOD improvement, suruh Bapa awak Cuci lantai lah. Version ini Okay?? Sedap??

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!! Orang mabuk pun boleh On-line!?? Canggihnya!! Kasihannya….. (T-T)

• HOI! Are you guys ok? Stop talking rubbish here. It reflects poorly on your intellectual capacity. I will not moderate anything, you can talk whatever you guys want, but just think whether your messages are steering the discussion into any beneficial direction.

• iamamonkeysoareyou on Nov 24, 2005 at 11:41 pm

Cant believe Dr M claims he does (or does not) know the Perodua CEO. what rubbish!!!
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/1…

Rubbish I tell you. RUBBISH!!!!

• ah LIM on Nov 24, 2005 at 11:51 pm

zanol babbidin? my father? cuci longkang? opps………

hate u seafood…..

• EDDIE FANS!! good 1…pls remember to gip SEE FU a Banana as he LOVES banana!! ah lim i dunno…perhaps pacifier would suits him kakakakakaka :P

be cool ~~~ its only a blog~~

• i'm wondering whether is Carlos Ghosn (the CEO of Nissan) is up for hiring or not? i bet he would turn around Proton like he did on Nissan.

what do u think?

• SEE FU on Nov 25, 2005 at 12:19 am

Okay Paul, I give you face!

I will Ignored these dude comment!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! Paul, this dude really SIEW PENG!!!

• Corntol on Nov 25, 2005 at 1:03 am

taken from thestar

Dr Mahathir was asked to comment on speculation that Perodua Auto Corporation Sdn Bhd deputy managing director Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir would be appointed Proton CEO to fill the position vacanted by Tengku Tan Sri Mahaleel Tengku Ariff.

“Maybe I know him (Syed Zainal Abidin), but I don’t know him by name,” Dr Mahathir said after receiving sponsorship from various corporations for the inaugural Perdana Global Peace Forum 2005 next month.

—————————————————————

if the reporter write in the paper just as what Dr. M said, then it is the words from his mouth, maybe true, nobody knows. so who know if he's lying? for me, sometimes i just say like that if being asked whether i still remember a guy when his name suddenly appear in daily chat with my colleague…. sometimes we can easily remember someone face but hard to remember his name……

• liaozzz PAUL tul*nzzz liao. Well he got the point there la..this is blog not our "par-lia"-ment which consists alot of paria ppl shouting and smacking others for nothing. SEE FU…i tout ur 'old fire' has reduced alotzz??? now i knows kids can 'light' u up wuahahahaha

YAO MOU GAO CHOR!!!!!!!!

• iamamonkeysoareyou on Nov 25, 2005 at 1:56 am

Proton needs someone who is not politically aligned to run it. Politics and business do not mix. I have said before, car manufacturing is a business. Not some "toy" to be included into someone's "toy box" and used as a ego booster to the country. "National car" status or not, it is a business, to make money, not fill "someone's" coffers.

Come on Proton. "Do the right thing!" (quote from Russel Peters)

• The only way to save P1, is to produce nice looking, wel built interior cars, then government subsidy citizens in buying the cars, no road tax, no insurance payment (insured but subsidized by government) and the cars get free fuel. Then no single cent of Ringgit would go flowing to overseas. :D

• improvement that the thing we 1 to see n value for money to b equal, not to talk crab to there own world.

prove it then we talk !.

• SEE FU on Nov 25, 2005 at 3:29 am

If you have time, try to read this article. I just pick it from somewhere.

Summary: POTONG should listen to customers and solve the problems. Don't just say Biasalah it is POTONG. or no problems lah boss!

Read this, absurd but true.

This is a real story that happened between a customer of General Motors and its Customer-Care Executive . Pls read on…..

A complaint was received by the Pontiac Division of General Motors:

'This is the second time I have written to you, and I don't blame you for not answering me, because I sounded crazy, but it is a fact that we have a tradition in our family of Ice-Cream for dessert after dinner each night, but the kind of ice cream varies so, every night, after we've eaten,

the whole family votes on which kind of ice cream we should have and I drive down to the store to get it.

It's also a fact that I recently purchased a new Pontiac and since then my trips to the store have created a problem…..You see, every time I buy a vanilla ice-cream, when I start back from the store my car won't start. If I get any other kind of ice cream, the car starts just fine.

I want you to know I'm serious about this question, no matter how silly it sounds "What is there about a Pontiac that makes it not start when I get vanilla ice cream, and easy to start whenever I get any other kind?"

The Pontiac President was understandably sceptical about the letter, but sent an Engineer to check it out anyway. The latter was surprised to be greeted by a successful, obviously well educated man in a fine neighbourhood.

He had arranged to meet the man just after dinner time, so the two hopped into the car and drove to the ice cream store. It was vanilla ice cream that night and, sure enough, after they came back to the car, it wouldn't start.

The Engineer returned for three more nights. The first night, they got chocolate. The car started. The second night, he got strawberry. The car started. The third night he ordered vanilla. The car failed to start.

Now the engineer, being a logical man, refused to believe that this man's car was allergic to vanilla ice cream. He arranged, therefore, to continue his visits for as long as it took to solve the problem.

And toward this end he began to take notes: He jotted down all sorts of data: time of day, type of gas uses, time to drive back and forth etc.

In a short time, he had a clue: the man took less time to buy vanilla than any other flavour. Why? The answer was in the layout of the store.

Vanilla, being the most popular flavour, was in a separate case at the front of the store for quick pickup. All the other flavours were kept in the back of the store at a different counter where it took considerably longer to check out the flavour.

Now, the question for the Engineer was why the car couldn't start when it took less time. Eureka- Time was now the problem – not the vanilla ice cream!!!!

The engineer quickly came up with the answer: "vapour lock". It was happening every night; but the extra time taken to get the other flavours allowed the engine to cool down sufficiently to start.

When the man got vanilla, the engine was still too hot for the vapour lock to dissipate.

Remember :

Even crazy looking problems are sometimes real and all problems seem to be simple only when we find the solution , with cool thinking. Don't just say it is "IMPOSSIBLE" without putting a sincere effort….Observe the word "IMPOSSIBLE" carefully…. Looking closer you will see, "I'MPOSSIBLE"…What really matters is your attitude and your perception.

YAU MOU GAU…CHOR!! A bit looooo……ng lah!!

• Initial D on Nov 25, 2005 at 3:46 am

now tat's a new story.

• potong-oriented on Nov 25, 2005 at 4:44 am

sapot our local man..if we use that makan beefstik or salad one,then its not our nation pride anymore..just ask assistance would be better than use other foreign CEO..why waste money?just wait n see proton moved out from the current state..

• gegaoff on Nov 25, 2005 at 4:49 am

SEE FU!!! i LOVE U ah!!!

u just give me a good example of what call customer support.

and the engineer, god the damm well that he have the logic and 'heart' to find the truth.

and of coz also that driver, becoz he report the case even it sounds crazy, and truly he want to find out the truth too. not only POTONG that need to learn from here, but everyone of us over here. learn well.

cheers… and this time, cheers with a good meaning. yeah!!

• pycazu on Nov 25, 2005 at 6:00 am

OK, fine… these comments came back on track.

The Star news today:

————————————————————–
    http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/20…

A total of 56,696 cars were sold In October, up a hefty 29% from 43,914 in the same month a year ago, spurred by low interest rates and new model launches, the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) said in a statement yesterday.

Sales also improved 12.5% month-on-month from 50,391 units in September, largely driven by national passenger cars.

Last month, national carmakers Proton Holdings Bhd and Perusahaan Otomobil Kedua Sdn Bhd (Perodua) collectively sold 39,442 units, or 30.3% more cars , than they did in October 2004.

Foreign makers, however, saw sales growth in October slowing to 26.4% to 17,254 units, from a growth of 36.2% to 18,740 units the month before.

————————————————————

While Nanyang reported today that P2 come very close to P1 liao. It's less than 5% market share battle. P1 sales down from 34.8 to 28.8ï¼…, while P2 grew sharply this month by 10.5ï¼… to 25.3ï¼… overall.

Forecast of 2007 market share for P1 have been scaled down from 22.6ï¼… to 21.9ï¼…. Economic analysts estimated that P1 will be overtook by P2 by Y2007.

Read here for more about M'sia automotive scenario…
    http://www.nanyang.com/index.php?ch=7&pg=12&a…

ohhh…. What a disaster to P1!! Once reigning 44% market share by early 90'an have been bowed down to less than 1/2 of it. Some more currently still much of protections exist!!! What a shame shame shame….!!!

• It's a shame to Proton, not Malaysians. A country that can differentiate between pride, patriotism and reality very well, is UK.

Why?

They sold:

1. Tower Bridge (commonly thought as London Bridge)

2. Rover (And BMW sold it for 10 pounds)

3. Rolls Royce

4. Bentley

5. Aston Martin

6. Mini (BCC)

7. Lotus (lololololol)

8. Even the Millenium Dome !!

If we can have the same attitude towards business, our country will flourish!!

• ah LIM on Nov 25, 2005 at 4:51 pm

it is easy to condemn people…. but we never know what the problem they facing….. i said my father to be the new CEO because….. i hope that the poton will close it bussiness…… or control by others eg MAT SALLEH……. i know that my father( cuci longkang said by SEE FU) do not have talent to manage big company…..

so it will help the process to close the bussiness…….

after that we can afford to buy VW, pontiac, taurus or the WALD will open it factory in malaysia…… people in this blog(some of them) just know how to KUTUK….. they never know what the main problem or the word…. eg poton will buy VW MPV platform. poton is buying the VW platform coz they will create not only one car but more than that mayb 4 type of car from the platform……

see fuu always KUTUK others, he pretend that he know everything and act that he is SUPERMAN……( org gile pakai seluar dalam warna merah kat luar)… sedap2 mulut bapak dia je…….

PAUL update your blog la…….

• pycazu on Nov 25, 2005 at 6:41 pm

Hey dude, didn't u read warning from Paul? Just cut-off your nonsense plus meaningless accusations. We are not welcomed those making here a quarrel party or personal attack!! Somemore requesting others to update the blog, think who made up the mess.

Just wanna share some news here:…

Proton set to launch its latest in Doha (Wednesday, 23 November, 2005)

Malaysian auto-maker Proton, in association with local dealers Doha Motors, launches in Qatar today the Proton Gen.2, the company’s first model to be fitted with the homegrown 1.6 Campro engine.

The car, a 1.6-litre, five-door hatchback is available in two specification levels – the basic GL and the more luxurious GLX, and will be priced between QR43,000 and QR48,000.

http://www.gulf-times.com/site/topics/article.asp…

It's not a news anymore that M'sian buying expensive national car here. Guess how much QR48K to RM? It's just cost us RM49K++ only! The price for a latest launched 1.3L Gen2.

What I gonna stress here is we have to bear the cost coz it's impossible to achieve economic of scale for car just sell in M'sia. At least 500K must be sold to achieve it. That's why Proton have to seek to export it to other countries. But what u can see is how cruel the outside world is, that's not messy and u must face those big car makers in the world and challenge with them in term of price, quality blah blah… If Proton failed it we're the biggest losers!

However Proton still can be the pride for M'sian if it choosing the right path. Merger and Cooperation is the key of survival in the industry. It's not a matter of losing face or patriorism. If Proton choosing a rightful and strictful implementer for its future undertaking, then maybe we can see the truly changed P1. These problems underneath have to be cured first.

It's not a matter of closing P1, coz it won't happen and we hope not to. It's uneasy to layoff a 20-years developed companies involved so much investment, manpower, effort etc…. See how P1 can be trasformed and being utilise to really make M'sia here as a car hub for ASEAN countries and even to ASIA!!!

• naBEH on Nov 26, 2005 at 2:09 am

a waste of Tax payer money… The G always rob from the people and finance you all know who la!!

• QUOTE = ah LIM said,

November 25, 2005 @ 8:51 am

it is easy to condemn people…. but we never know what the problem they facing….. i said my father to be the new CEO because….. i hope that the poton will close it bussiness…… or control by others eg MAT SALLEH……. i know that my father( cuci longkang said by SEE FU) do not have talent to manage big company…..

so it will help the process to close the bussiness…….

after that we can afford to buy VW, pontiac, taurus or the WALD will open it factory in malaysia…… people in this blog(some of them) just know how to KUTUK….. they never know what the main problem or the word…. eg poton will buy VW MPV platform. poton is buying the VW platform coz they will create not only one car but more than that mayb 4 type of car from the platform……

see fuu always KUTUK others, he pretend that he know everything and act that he is SUPERMAN……( org gile pakai seluar dalam warna merah kat luar)… sedap2 mulut bapak dia je…….

PAUL update your blog la…….

/QUOTE

And you know more. I didn't get anything from ur post, info, insight or whatsoever. Stop posting, go read. Those who write well reads alot at the first place. And do you know why SEE FU's nick is SEE FU? Cos he is not the average ah LIM you see everywhere. :)

• 4JB1T on Nov 26, 2005 at 10:46 pm

had the pleasure working under him before he went to Perodua. that was during the recent recession in 97-98. in that hard time, when automotive industries struggling with the poor sales and everything, he did managed to steer our company out of the fog. and that is something amazing considering our company is still new.

still remember his likes to jog around the plant almost every evening after work, saying hi to everybody he met. you don't see much that kind of CEO around, eh..?

• Proton share some Renault expertise in making the TRM a.k.a. Savvy previuosly known as Sassy. Based from Clio. So, our people like Japanese cars a lot due to fuel economy and spare parts fair price compared to continental cars. Do anyone suggest to Proton working and teaming up with Renault under Nissan? I think its a good move. VW just want to make her present in ASEAN. Proton just kena guna je nanti, habis madu sepah dibuang. Shift the future. I like to see Proton improve a lot. Alrready we've seen a Putra version of Skyline. :-) Technical ground. This is good, collaboration between those two parties. Last but not least. Please Proton. Do a market survey first. Perodua is pioneering in this. Naza is the second. They do call the owner and surveying. Feedback, feedback.

• any CEO obeys the invisible hand, nothing will change

• muthu on Nov 28, 2005 at 8:42 pm

aiiyoyo…. byk kasian sama itu ah LIM….

• ah LIM on Nov 28, 2005 at 8:52 pm

tq muthu

• william on Nov 12, 2009 at 6:30 pm

Myvi auto car 7 month old got porblem O/D off start blinking after traveling 40 km power dip thank you please help?