Honda wins Reader’s Digest Asia Gold Trusted Brand Award 2007

Honda Reader's Digest

Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd was presented with the Readers Digest Asia Gold Trusted Brand Award 2007 in the car category in Malaysia, during the Readers Digest Asia Trusted Brands Award ceremony held at KL Hilton recently, making Honda one of the most trusted brands in the region (not just Malaysia) out of 23 other brands who were contending for the award.

Six criterias were assessed in the awards – Trustworthiness, Credible image, Quality, Value, Understanding of Customer needs, and Innovation. The criteria were assessed by Readers’ Digest Asia readers, which has a readership number of 447,000 adults in West Malaysia alone. The the results of this Asia award were compiled from the survey forms of readers from 7 countries – Malaysia, Hong Kong, India, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan and Thailand.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• NiceCar (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 3:43 pm

hmmm.. it seem that asian prefer and trust on japanese car..

btw, did the survey also show the rank for other car brand?

• normaluser (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 3:49 pm

Any indication where do P1 & P2 stand in the Malaysian car category?

• J (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 4:30 pm

Honda vs Toyota …. who wins ?

Any real owner feedback, Toyota really good ? :)

• eantautjk (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 4:40 pm

That's not the end of the story, Paul.

There are actually three winners in Malaysia for the car category.

There's Honda, there's also Toyota and the other winner is …. .(i dont believe it)

http://www.rdasiatrustedbrands.com/2007/award/mal…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 4:43 pm

We do have an 05 Accord 2.0, and given the comparison between the Honda and the equivalant Camry 2.0 (company car) , the camry is a wooly boat but is better built.

The Accords built locally seems to suffer from the same Malaysian Quality control problem. The rear bumper and one door is misaligned, lost of brakes due to what looks like a mulfunctioning brake booster (which fixed itself after a few months), loose headlamp wiring, lost of reverse gear due to, again, loose wiring…..

Of course all fixed under warranty (with an appology from Honda Malaysia)…but for a 140k car, and all these problems in the first 3 months….???! At least it has been working ok for 2 years now ..as most of the "not so well put together" problems have been sorted out. The engineering expect of the car itself is good.

Toyota's are still better built perhaps to thier more stringent quality control measures (and that being built in Thailand may have something to do with it). Hardly ever you would hear of a toyota giving the user "problems"….let alone from shoddy assembly.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 4:56 pm

That said, would we buy another Honda. Perhaps. Maybe we were unlucky and got a lemon this time around. Previous Civic we had were trouble free.

However, got a mid-sized exec sedan, I would go for a Camry the next time around.

• kei9 (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 5:25 pm

but all in all honda n toyota r great cars.

• hondadriver (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 5:40 pm

honda, toyota and proton all won the same gold award (http://www.rdasiatrustedbrands.com/2007/award/malaysia/index.html)

• hondadriver (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 6:00 pm

The other winners in the same category as Honda (gold award) are, Toyota, and Proton.

So whatever system/methodology that nielsen media research did that won Honda and Toyota their award, also won Proton theirs.

http://www.rdasiatrustedbrands.com/2007/index2007…

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 6:12 pm

honda, PROTON, toyota………..Malaysia Bolehhhh, Proton Bolehhhhhh……….

P1 also won maaaa………P2 with Myvi n Viva is nowhere near ( hehehe…) Kenapa, tak percaya kaaa……..??? View the link below………

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 6:16 pm

honda, PROTON, toyota……….Malaysia Bolehhhhhh………..

p2, nowhere near…..

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 6:17 pm

honda, PROTON, toyota………

p2, nowhere near………..

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 6:19 pm

i try to post the website link of the results, but was blocked………..

try to rdtrustedbrands website n u can view the result………

p2, with MYVI n VIVA, try again next year, better luck next time……

• albagmane (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 8:36 pm

nice one honda… im happy tat honda gets the award… "Trustworthiness, Credible image, Quality, Value, Understanding of Customer needs, and Innovation" definitely exists in honda… the civic is a good example and their corporate social responsibility towards the environment can be seen clearly such as protecting the rhinos… congratulations honda and keep up the good job!!!

• Infinitt (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 9:39 pm

Honda, Toyota n Proton .. good job..voters also..

• xxrrxx2002 (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 12:24 am

Long live HONDA! Toyota can go and eat poo! Long live Proton! Perodua can go and eat poo!

There r 2 types of car likers in Malaysia:

1) Perodua likers (they will automatically like Toyota and hate Honda, and of course, (hate) Proton).

2) Proton likers (they will automatically like Honda and hate Toyota, and of course, (hate) Perodua).

I m none of the above. I just don't like perodua owners who thinks that they're owning a bloody Ferarri or something. Wake up please, you guys r just driving an "assembled-in-Malaysia-made-in-somewhere-else-low cost car."

At least proton is more genuine, anyways, please dont ever compare a perodua with a proton because they're incomparable! Proton is a genuine car maker which is miles ahead in terms of technology and investment. Please, your layman attitude pains me, or you've just made your limited knowledge selves look more the pitiful.

• J (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 12:55 am

Thanks to "4G63T DSM" for sharing a real-life story of Accord and Camry.

I am shocked to hear that in general Thai works is better than Msian works.

Anyone notice actually older Proton (those from 1995~2000) has better parts quality than the current Proton ?

• slippers (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 1:04 am

Is there a Malaysian Car of the Year award or some equivalent?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 7:46 am

I also did check a few Accords that I come across. Not being able to chat with the owners, I wont know if they had problems with shoddy assembly, but what I do notice that, some of them do have problems with misaligned panels.

I've been in North American Accords (2.4 and the Hybrid V6) and they are so much better built and run much quieter (possible with better sound deadening). Maybe if I didn;t have something to compare our 2.0 to, I wont be this critical, but…the truth is, our local cars are inferior.

Honda, has good products, good engineering, good management, but however, let down by our local assembly teams.

• joe203 (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 8:10 am

Hmm.. Eventhough I now own a Honda City, for my next car upgrade I will switch to Toyota, maybe Camry. Honda Malaysia's customer service is not that great. Not honest and upfront. Especially with some of City's manufacturing problems.

Take it from me guys, they make nice cars. But somehow you will tak puas hati 100% with your honda. Maybe 80% only.

• J (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 4:06 pm

Thanks 4G63T DSM + Joe …

It seems Honda was better when they were with "Kah Motors" ?

Looks like Toyota is a "sure winner" thesedays. No wonder all my friends and relatives recommend me Toyota without a need to consider other makes !