Perodua Viva Bodykit Artist’s Impression

Viva SE

Theophilus Chin works his magic with Photoshop again to tease our imagination with his concept of how a special edition kitted up Perodua Viva might look like. His Perodua Viva Special Edition was created by adding the original Daihatsu Charade’s front bumper, widening its corner vents, adding fog lights from Peugeot 207 GTi, widening the front and rear wheel fenders, adding bigger wheels and rims from the Peugeot 207 GTi, deeper side skirt, black B and C-pillars, darkened headlights surrounds, a new grille from Mazda 3, and finally doing the body up in a metallic red-ish tone.

Click the image above to view an enlarged version.

Read more about the Perodua Viva:
Perodua Viva and Perodua Myvi Loan Comparison
Perodua Myvi vs Perodua Viva – Equipment and Specs Comparison
New Perodua Viva Full Details, Photos and Price!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• w_lighter (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 7:49 am

Still ugly :p

• aesthari (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 7:51 am

The grill resembles Proton's Wau design too closely to be pretty. Foglamp's a nice touch there.

• Paul Tan on May 18, 2007 at 7:52 am

strangely, the grille is from mazda3. mazda3 has a wau grille? hehehe

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 8:11 am

Take the Myvi SE bodykit and put on it.. Sucks.. no special feeling.. should be like the new mira custom.. then i can say wow…

• HMMaster (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 8:23 am

the grill is… (shakes head) doesnt match with the viva.

• mystvearn (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 8:25 am

Grille can make it just rectangular shape?

• armandd (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 8:36 am

i think the original viva looks better, except the wheels.

• karl.shamel (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 9:03 am

dear Paul,

Is it ok for you to ask Theo to 'redesign' incoming Nissan Asian MPV, Grand Livina

to look alike the Murano or at least Qashqai, Skyline, Presage, Infiniti FX350 etc?

He must be famous after that. Thank you.

• afhstingray (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 9:35 am

looks like a hamster with the fat "cheeks" and slanty eyes hehe

• marmitecrab (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 9:53 am

I think Theophilus did an amazing job here. He could've gone overboard and overdesigned the car but he didn't. He made it look stylish and yet aggresive at the same time. I especially love the rims and tyres.

The colour is great too. Keeping in line with it's phiosophy, I'm sure.

• peYno (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 2:31 pm

it looks like.. grandma wannabe punk look…

ladylike

• normaluser (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 3:39 pm

The wheel looks like 16-17 inchers, which probably dont fit without any adjustments. Good job Teo, but i still don't like the Viva. Not a pretty design by todays standard, even in the premium form.

• azrai (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 4:24 pm

Still ugly and not adorable.

• acbc (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 4:27 pm

Daihatsu Mira (2006) halfcut found at Seremban… might as well buy it n do a transplant + conversion. Everything PnP. Looks a lot better than stock Viva…

• TheophilusChin (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 4:56 pm

These are not personal attacks of my chopping skill right? Hehehe… Freedom of speech… i like…

• Paul Tan on May 18, 2007 at 5:01 pm

Skill is definitely there, because it looks realistic.

• Infinitt (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 5:03 pm

Standard Viva nicer..this one ugly..urghh

• kinwawa (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 5:09 pm

maybe Viva is not so good looking to begin with….anyway….realistically done Theo! Good job!

• sxe10r (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 5:44 pm

Infinitt said,

May 18, 2007 @ 9:03 am

But i don't like standard one … this one new better … more sporty … but anywhere the standard front bumper design same as myvi , now the new design also copying the myvi SE ??? same artis ?? erm when P2 will sell this model ?? too fast have SE ??

• ccy (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 6:17 pm

Nice car and good idea.

The car become more sporty with nicer grill and headlamps.

But what i dislike about this car is the rear lamp is quite plain…. looks like kenari.

Existing rim is quite small, the new idea is good…but big rim on 1000cc…. doubt.

• andre128 (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 6:46 pm

NOTHING SPECIAL…

• superman (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 7:16 pm

Nice tasteful "mod" by Theo. Bumper, wheel arch extension, wheels all look like an improvement on the std car, which has a grill and too tiny wheels I hate.

Maybe a slightly lower ride height and get rid of the unsightly door visors and it would look perfect

Good job

• ahmadmckk (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 7:37 pm

Cool, but I don’t think that perodua has any plans to make a sports model

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 8:57 pm

nice kit , bt on the wrong car !

• albagmane (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 9:29 pm

u have the taste theo, by applying black on the b-pillars and black housing headlights… i love this move… i have nth to comment bout this car but do hope u can show us more of ur creative imagination on this car… cheers!

• kei9 (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 10:34 pm

yeah nice …..ive always like B and C pillars to be blackened out….looks more exquisite……but still im not liking the side profile of the car…..maybe can widened it a little? especially the doors……too much straight lines..

• tec96248 (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 11:00 pm

creative and imaginative. anyway, the grille is not really nice in my opinion. overall, an improvement to the stock viva. keep it up.

• proton GL (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 11:20 pm

this grille is tidy by theo, ori looks cheap

• khimfoh (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 2:23 am

Theo,

Hmmm..I like the Vios-like front grille.

What I don't like is the front bumper, it doesn't jive with the front grille. What you could do is to extend the grille all the way down to the bottom of the front bumper; but maintain the width of the grill as it goes down.

In addition add a horizontal black plastic molding that will cut across the middle of the grill. Something like what the Audis are doing at the moment.

• ab (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 2:59 am

we all know a viva GTi or any perodua will never happen, perodua is too busy earning money with mainstream models that they forget about sport models.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 3:06 am

In John Lennon's song… IMAGINE hehehehe… Imagine Perodua becomes a global player, imagine the next Copen is badged as a Perodua…

IMAGINE…

• tec96248 (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 3:18 am

ab said,

May 18, 2007 @ 6:59 pm

we all know a viva GTi or any perodua will never happen, perodua is too busy earning money with mainstream models that they forget about sport models.

==agree…….for the moment. it will happened but not so soon.

• granturismo (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 5:07 am

I think it will look more sporty in black. Need more chrome on the grille for more expensive look and should drop the "wau" grille design eventhough it's from Mazda 3.

Overall, it's still a amazing job by Theo!

• bpkid (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 5:24 am

ab said,

May 18, 2007 @ 6:59 pm

——————————————————————–

absolutely agree with ab's statement.

all i can do now is dreaming/imagining a supercharged viva in my head.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 7:56 am

I heard rumours they are bringing in turbocharged engine from japan to test in our local P2 cars.. i heard before is to test on the Viva.. Maybe the result is not the best and they take in the 1000cc engine.. Coz the engine is japan is 660cc turbo and malaysian ppl is always keen on CC but not on the real output of the engine… I prefer turbocharged or supercharged with smaller CC.. Already got proves that they are more FC then high CC cars..

http://www.autozine.org/0_News/Archive/2007_05/Ne…

Search for the 8 May 2007 and see it.. more Europeans company are using Downsized turbo engines, like VW 1.4 TSi, Mini/BMW/PSA 1.6T, Renault 1.2 TCE and more on their mid-line sedan.. Almost from 2.0 liter to under 1.6.

• bpkid (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 8:06 am

Imagine a 145hp 1000cc Viva…

• peYno (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 8:20 am

Pls admit this

viva is ladylike car

Japanese designed this car for ah soo and aunties..for easy riding from A to B destination…

wanna be sporty look? wanna look fierce?

Have u even seen grandma wearing blink blink dress and color her hair like a punk fesyen just becoz she want to be a garang look image..?

• darren0900 (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 6:47 pm

Good skill…

• tec96248 (Member) on May 20, 2007 at 12:11 am

#

peYno said,

May 19, 2007 @ 12:20 am

Pls admit this

viva is ladylike car

Japanese designed this car for ah soo and aunties..for easy riding from A to B destination…

wanna be sporty look? wanna look fierce?

Have u even seen grandma wearing blink blink dress and color her hair like a punk fesyen just becoz she want to be a garang look image..?

==here u r again giving nonsense. think before u talk boy. u mentioned earlier, women nowadays have more purchase power. so they might have driven bigger car and left this for u. how then? hmm……..u also driven this car back in japan, right? meaning u r like grandma, ah soo, or ah kua? ah…….still makes me laughs….hahaha. glad that i don't need laughing pill today..whahaha………..never change indeed…hahaha.

• transformer (Member) on May 20, 2007 at 4:00 pm

looks nice but expensive too mod!

Viva aren't a low cost car!

but in bolehland they considered are!

seldom would ops to bodykit mod as most buyer of Viva already spend a big sum(based on their income)

why people with higher income get a Viva ???

they'll sure get a Myvi or etc!

• nmh (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 3:13 am

saw in fifthgear on channel78 (new channel in astro) bout budget car…..this model is very worst in term of handling and comfort, they even said cannot live with it everyday….even worst than kelisa i think. But i haven't test p2 vers

• peYno (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 4:00 am

this car worst than kelisa???

if JC destroyed kelisa…

• nmh (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 6:21 am

Ride and handling only….not overall. I need 2 testdrive someday

• nmh (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 6:22 am

hope P2 eliminate the flaw

• peYno (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 6:34 am

JC destroyed kelisa not becoz of the car… but becoz of perodua..no passion, no soul only making profit

viva oso produced by perodua.. so it might has same fate like kelisa

• kei9 (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 10:14 pm

nmh said,

May 20, 2007 @ 7:13 pm

saw in fifthgear on channel78 (new channel in astro) bout budget car…..this model is very worst in term of handling and comfort, they even said cannot live with it everyday….even worst than kelisa i think. But i haven’t test p2 vers

hehehe! finally a channel thats suit us.=)

but with a condition…….xtra $..haiz….

• tec96248 (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 10:47 pm

#

peYno said,

May 20, 2007 @ 10:34 pm

JC destroyed kelisa not becoz of the car… but becoz of perodua..no passion, no soul only making profit

viva oso produced by perodua.. so it might has same fate like kelisa

==JC destroyed the particular kelisa model, dude. that model, 850 indeed not nice. watch it over again. i guess i m rite that u r poor in english. my goodness, somemore given nonsense. the photo give u some different taste. still pointless from u. hahahahaha.

• nmh (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 11:34 pm

oic…JC destroy 850 kelisa ke?…..He need 2 try 1000cc…JC might happy abit i guess

• sowhat (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 1:57 am

sxe10r said,

May 18, 2007 @ 9:44 am

Infinitt said,

May 18, 2007 @ 9:03 am

But i don’t like standard one … this one new better … more sporty … but anywhere the standard front bumper design same as myvi , now the new design also copying the myvi SE ??? same artis ?? erm when P2 will sell this model ?? too fast have SE ??

___

I think u should read the topic and the article carefully…

• evaluator.v3 (Member) on Jun 09, 2007 at 1:19 am

I've noticed a little thing about the Viva's range of engines, and here are my findings:

EF-VE

659cc

35kW/7200rpm

58Nm/4400rpm

ED-VE

847cc

39kW/6000rpm

76Nm/4000rpm

EJ-VE

989cc

45kW/6000rpm

90Nm/3600rpm

The top-of-the-range EJ-VE is inarguably a tuned version of the EJ-VE found in Myvi 1.0L, with higher power and torque. And it is also the latest generation of 1000cc engines from Daihatsu/Toyota (correct me if I'm wrong).

The 850cc ED-VE, in my opinion, is a little mixed-bag. I theorised that ED-VE's roots came from ED-DE, the reduced-displacement version of Kelisa/Kenari's 1 litre EJ-DE. Such theory came from the fact that Daihatsu does not have a 850cc engine since long ago. ED-DE was used in Kancil 850 Automatic (latest model) and Kelisa 850. Now, it is used in Viva, albeit equipped with DVVT. If my theory is correct, then ED-VE would be a slightly inferior engine since it is adapted from the older ED-DE (and thus the EJ-DE). Furthermore, according to official figures, it has fuel efficiency that is lower than the 1 litre EJ-VE (17.4km/l vs. 17.5km/l) despite having lower displacement. This would reinforce the inferiority argument as well. (Again, correct me if I’m wrong.)

The 660cc EF-VE is actually the second (or possibly third, if you count EF-VD) latest generation of non-turbo 660cc engine from Daihatsu (http://web.archive.org/web/20041119214445/http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/showroom/lineup/mira/mecha_spec/top_02_01.htm). However, compared to the Daihatsu's EF-VE, the Viva’s version has lower maximum power (35kW/7200rpm vs. 43kW/7600rpm) and torque (58Nm/4400rpm vs. 64Nm/4000rpm). My question is what modifications or compromises that Perodua engineers have made to result in less maximum power and torque ratings from the original EF-VE? Could the Viva’s EF-VE possibly be made to match Daihatsu’s EF-VE performance (through after-market modifications)? What are the tradeoffs to achieve this?

Would be very grateful if someone could shed some light on this.

• D-Heart (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 1:57 am

Guys, I think you all tried to resemble the Viva to Mira. Please… this is a total misconception. Try to observe the streameline of the Mira. It is much curvy compared to Viva. The Viva is actually a discontinued 5 door version of the Daihatsu Coure (1999-2003) model. Supprised isn't it. So DO NOT, I repeat do not try to compare Mira to Viva. They are totally two different kind of model. But the spec of Viva and Coure are the same. Well, i hope i have shed some light here.

• Unknown on May 17, 2009 at 3:11 am

Viva is a great car..exactly people that critic viva they have no car…right.

• sza75 on Nov 28, 2010 at 10:46 pm

i just buy a 850manual viva..but the engine sound is quit noisy lah…sound like an old car ..i dunno if all the viva is same problem like me.plz anyone share ur opinion