First of new Mazda 2 rolls off production line

Demio

The first of the new Mazda2, or Mazda Demio as it is called in Japan has rolled off it’s production line in its Ujina Plant No.1 (U1) near Mazdas headquarters in Hiroshima, Japan. The first car to come off the line is a Demio bound for the Japanese market.

“The all-new Mazda2 is the first of Mazdas new generation products to evolve to the next stage. While the current model was intended for the domestic market, the new model has been developed into a globally competitive car. I wish to congratulate you all on your hard work, which has now successfully brought us to the start of full mass production. I am convinced that the all-new Mazda2 will capture the hearts of our customers and demonstrate to drivers the world over that, ‘Mazda vehicles look inviting to drive, are fun to drive, and make you want to drive them again. The new Mazda2 offers an exhilarating driving experience that is the soul of Zoom-Zoom and we will continue to build cars with the strong understanding that safety and environmental friendliness are a vital part of making cars fun-to-drive,” said Mazdas Executive Vice President, Robert J. Graziano.

Seriously, it might do Cycle and Carriage Bintang good to setup a CKD assembly for the Mazda2 here in Malaysia. Most of the young buyers here who typically buy a Mazda are unfamiliar with the marque, and are unsure of things like maintenance costs, build quality, and second hand value. Spending so much on the premiumly priced CBU models like the Mazda3 and Mazda6 might seem like a big risk not many want to take. Offering a cheap entry-level CKD-assembled car like the Mazda2 will offer an affordable entry into the whole Mazda experience. From there, granted that the person gets a good experience, he will move up the segments and buy another Mazda again, going to a 3, then a 6, and perhaps a CX-7.

2008 Mazda 2 Preview
More photos of the Mazda 2 1.3 and 1.5

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 3:10 pm

Well, since this Mazda2 is looks very familiar to TOYOTA Vitz or Yaris, I think if the price is lower than TOYOTA a bit for sure it will be hit model soon.

• NiceCar (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 3:23 pm

Agree that with CKD (lower price) will definitely be a good way to offer an affordable entry into the Mazda experience..

This car really nice and sure and attract youth attention!!!

• J (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 4:01 pm

Ya… should do CKD here for this model. Sure a serios competitor to Yaris, Bestari and Jazz :)

• najibest (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 4:54 pm

Mazda is currently the car that i really want, unfortunately being CBU means it's nowhere near my current budget.. i would have to say the Mazda 3 and Mazda 6 are very good cars indeed and i'm sure Mazda 2 would be the same

• EK-AIRTREK (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 4:56 pm

Nice Car!

• pokeh (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 5:19 pm

yahooo…very nice and good looking car, how about fuel budget for this car? hehe…can i buy this car with rm 50k (this prices included interest)…huhuhu…

• transformer (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 5:24 pm

I WANT MAZDA 2!!!!!

already tired seeing too many T-makes on the road!

make me felt boring! and their salesman are too snobbish!

that N-make are too slow!

Hope this CKD M-make comes sooner!

• transformer (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 5:25 pm

isn't this car going to share part from it Ford sibbling the Fiesta ?

• mr. proton (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 6:30 pm

stop dreaming guys bcoz its been a long time since c&c started talked bout ckd plant and till now there is no sign for that plan to be roll out.. so dissapointed bcoz mazda is my top list of dream car.really passion for their 2,3,6,5 and the gorgeous cx7

• williaml (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 6:50 pm

Too early to say whether it's a CBU or CKD as new Mazda2 would only build in Japan for all global market, except the version assembled in China which is target its own market. New Mazda2 will launch in Japan this summer and follow by Europe and other countries. Just imagine, if CBU from Japan Mazda2 can sell at the price below Thai made Yaris, would you buy one later?

Zoom Zoom…

• sxe10r (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 7:04 pm

Mazda 2 looks like 206 ??? the front & rear …. how much it will sell malaysia ??? Rm 70k – 80k …. no interest with it …. i think Cx7 nice for me …

• K.A.R.R (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 7:21 pm

how do u pronounce mazda demio?…is it damn you?

• Hikaru (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 7:47 pm

Definately something to consider bringing over to Malaysia. Can spoilt the small market segment of the likes of Myvi, but must be priced competitively and the only way to do it, is as Paul suggested, by CKD.

People can pay a premium or a slight premium if they want a better brand than P2. As they say you pay for what you get.

• McQueen_CARz (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 7:57 pm

50K sure I will get one… if 70~80k…. sorry la…

Anyone knows how much is the CBU and CKD? Basically, not huge different….

Sad ar…

• nizam80 (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 9:06 pm

Sadly, if its CKD, it will still not be within my budget – Perhaps it'll be bout the price of a City, i guess. Mahal woo. Love the looks of this car. To me, nowadays Mazda's design have turn out to be the most aggressive compared to their other japanese counterparts.

• KelvC (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 9:27 pm

K.A.R.R said,

May 22, 2007 @ 11:21 am

-> I think it's closer to "They-More"

——————————

To C&C out there, please price the M2 & M3 competitively. You have priced the M3 out of the "sweet spot". Despite pricing at 115k (fully loaded), the car doesn't have auto close rear mirror and steering audio controller which are (one of the many…oh, I read somewhere it should include BOSE audio too) hallmarks premium priced vehicles (even the Civic has those). I would like to live to the Zoom zoom philosophy but it's a tad out of my reach, so on behalf of many others out here, as much as we want to populate the roads with the fantastic Zoom zoom, help us to help you.

Future (prayingfully) Zoom Zoomer…….not today though.

• ragnahse (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 9:41 pm

well mazda isnt as popular as toyota in malaysia…..or honda…guess mazda should set up a mazda malaysia to really penetrate the malaysian market…dealers are not up to par..

• williaml (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 9:41 pm

BOSE system, if you buy the Mazda3 2.3L in USA or Japan then you would have that, then, if you want more features or gadgets on Mazda3, think that the price unable to sell below 115K. A CBU model from Japan gotta pay tax and duties for more than 120%, how to make price competitively, perhaps you know the answer and how come loacl assembled Civic price still above 110K?

Zoom Zoom…

• KelvC (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 11:14 pm

williaml, tricky isn't it? To have 115k without the steering audio commander (hmm.. maybe the auto rear window is a tad too high) is like a full make up without the mascara which makes it Really Fully Completely…..just sweet sweet ride (ladies, i'm just trying to make a point here, please don't ban/deny me).

As for the BOSE system, i think i'll walk into any of the BOSE distributors and install their Acoustimass speakers. :)

*Note to self: To buy 10quid iBOX, need 2k for Acoustimass 5 and another 1k (?) for an amp to drive speakers….what's my birthday date again?*

As for the Civic question, i think that's a trick question :)

• wookie00 (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 11:18 pm

yeah… wonder how much is this beauty. My wife may consider getting it… with my pocket in it of course. if in the range of 60K, proton will mati la… but in real fact it's worth less than that.

• sxe10r (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 11:47 pm

KelvC said,

May 22, 2007 @ 1:27 pm

K.A.R.R said,

May 22, 2007 @ 11:21 am

-> I think it’s closer to “They-More”

Agree wif u KelvC …. U r political guys ??

• Paul Tan on May 22, 2007 at 11:54 pm

williaml: i thought now got japan free trade agreement, no tax?

• KelvC (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 12:30 am

"sxe10r said,

May 22, 2007 @ 3:47 pm

Agree wif u KelvC …. U r political guys ??"

-> thank you for the compliment, someone once said that politics is a dirty game, so i'm staying out of it…but will exercise my citizenship rights to choose my Rep. If this future Rep of mine can't take the bullet on behalf of his people then he's not worth it.

As for the m2, william, I am gearing up for a full Zoom zoom household, m3 for mua, m2 for bini! So, am true blooded Zoomism here, not enough dough to go around….sigh, last night's Toto tak kena!

• williaml (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 12:32 am

I hope no tax or lower for models from Japan but right now this is the fact that the amount of duties are enough to buy another car. Can show you the AP document for Mazda3…

Zoom Zoom…

• bebe (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 1:20 am

Mazda has made a remarkable turn around with good designs & driving experince. Cannot really go wrong with any chosen model.. ( More than what i can say about our " baggage " in Malaysia )

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 1:22 am

I only love mazda 1 model.. the RX-8 and that's all.. If i want to buy this model, better get Myvi, more cheaper..

• KelvC (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 1:40 am

LittleFire85, once you hit your late 20s, you might not want to drive the Myvi especially when you're running up the corp ladder. You might want to exhibit that "aggressive" nature within you but Myvi might just smolder it. This is, of course, my opinion and you might have another as well.

• mystvearn (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 3:55 am

No idea on the price tag of the car yet?

• intermilan (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 5:01 am

a nice car but a bit too late as many marque already produced similar car. but better late than never. mazda should be improving against other marque initiatives.

as for C&C or others to CKD Mazda here… well …. i bet it is not even in their 5-year strategic plan.

They should know what will happen pass year 2010/NAP … NAPversion2.0 still lots of red tape and business unfriendly but kroni-friendly legislations/policy against potential CKD setup.

The ever present Malaysia neo-con don't care nuts about Auto, just money. Sigh, everything cycle-cycle same root cause. Ciao.

• armandd (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 8:23 am

the main problem with mazdas in m'sia is their 2nd hand value is very low compared to other jap makes or even continentals.

• normaluser (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 4:00 pm

The production car on the pic looks bit unsporty from its advertising pics. The gap between the wheels and the arches are so apparent! I thought all Mazda's new models have wheels which tightly snugged into the wheel arches. Or maybe the mazda2 on the pic is the low line version…

All in all, looks good, but not that inspiring and exciting as what it should be.

• williaml (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 5:55 pm

This is the 3rd generation Mazda2, a subcompact model to compete with other automakers, never been late for this model. First generation was introduced back in 1996.

The Mazda2 on picture should be the 1.3L basic version with smaller 14'rims, and there is another 1.5L sport version with different grille, aero bumper, side skirting, 15'rim and also bigger engine capacity.

At this moment, if free, just go and have a chat with used car dealers, ask them which brand/models have good resale value.

Zoom Zoom…

• johnyong5933 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 9:48 pm

erm..looks pretty impresive..very nice car..

but.. in terms of spare parts? will it be expensive? becoz mazda are not popular car in malaysia and i guess those spare parts will be hard to get and the price wouldnt be cheap… I didnt mean tat this car hv to change spare parts reguraly but just in case. for example, my friend bought an Aveo, and his rear light broken because of accident….guess wat, he had to wait for 1-2 months to get the broken light change… no spare parts, hv to order… sigh

• kei9 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 10:19 pm

nice and cute car……..but if bought here..haiz…expensive lar…

• outspoken (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 4:29 am

looking at the model, I just taught maybe proton ( and i am not trying to start bashing proton), made a strategic error by introducing neo and savvy. They might do something stylish as mazda 2 , but with 4 door and 2 door versions. Hence, they can save a lot of part costs and development (engine chassis, plastic parts, metal parts).. I do like the mazda2 sleek design, and with 4 door , it definitley have my thumbs up

• KelvC (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 6:51 pm

outspoken, i have the same personal feelings too. I felt it was a strategic error on their part to introduce the 2door Neo. I think a realignment of their stable of products would do them a good in the mid term until they start introducing another row of makes (aligning to the "earlier" product realignment):

1.0cc – Savvy (currently 1.2cc, so i think it's more or less the same market segment)

1.3cc – Iswara (or future replacement)

1.6cc – Gen2 Sedan and 4door Neo as Hothatch

1.8cc – Waja (and future replacement)

2.0cc – Perdana (or future replacement)

Clear cut and not confusing to the consumers, as for the SUVs, MPVs, etc that would be a different ballgame.

My apologies, didn't want to hijack the thread…don't banana me :)

Zoom zooming!

• nmh (Member) on May 28, 2007 at 7:27 am

wow…. better lookin than mitsu colt. hope they built 2 doors ver

• Hashim Ibrahim on May 24, 2009 at 12:31 am

It is good photo for moving cars on the road.

• Stevie on Mar 12, 2010 at 8:12 am

GOOD BLOG for adding mazda 2 heads up

• Jazzy on Apr 15, 2010 at 8:11 pm

I am getting the M2 one for myself by next month. Though very sad to be apart from my Honda Jazz after 5 years.