UK market Proton GEN2 now with black interior

GEN2 Black Interior

If you’re from the UK and decide to purchase a Proton GEN2, and you’re not a fan of cream interiors especially, you’ll be glad to know that the UK market Proton GEN2 has been mildly revised to offer a new alloy wheel design as well as a black interior. Click on the image to enlarge it. A photo of the new alloy wheels are available after the jump, but the photo is not very useful because it is a panning shot showing the wheels spinning. What you can tell is it is a 5-spoke design, probably the one spotted on the GEN2 facelift spyshot recently.

GEN2 Alloy

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• longdongsilver (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 2:49 pm

If you look carefully, the shape and beige colour are reminiscent of … KNIGHT RIDER seats!

• NiceCar (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 3:27 pm

The look is not bad, but dunno how the quality..

that the most important thing!!!

• demio121 (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 4:40 pm

Proton in Malaysia have started to roll out Gen2 with black interior and new color outside. 2 weeks back i happen to accompany a friend to PE showroom and there is a brand new Gen2 with something called Indiana Grey and black interior. One thing for sure, the black interior make the cabin look not so cheap.

• ab (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 4:53 pm

there's too much wrong with this car that a different wheel and interrior colour won't fix it

• joe203 (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 4:54 pm

Still no glovebox!

• ganz (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 4:58 pm

nice… if only gen2 is a malaysian car.. :)

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 6:11 pm

The rims look so cheap compare to the last generation… Maybe they are trying to push the old stock by giving free black interior and new sport rims.. just like the Waja doing now.. I think the CPS is coming fast.. Maybe during the merdeka day celebration roll out..

• aesthari (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 7:10 pm

Nice touch, but the car still sucks.

• sxe10r (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 7:13 pm

Gen2 with black interior ?? useless … la …. malaysia car the UK ppl never like it …. u can c what they saying about the P1 in Top Gear ?? such a xuxk cars….. the waja also only rank 3 star only in car crash test … the ford fiesta k car also can get 4 star rank … P1 u choose wrong market in UK …. gen2 only sell UK6k ++only ?? damn carb car … y the malaysia can't get this quality with that expensive price Rm50k ++ !? Malaysia citizen not a people ah !! P1 u r xxxx ….. y the export wira with 4G91 !!! & also have ABS / Air Bag ?? the body also harder then local make !!?? P1 Fxxx

• proton GL (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 7:23 pm

au add

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z_2nmi319LU&mo…

• nizam80 (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 8:51 pm

I've always preferred a GEN2 with black interior, and i'm sure the upcoming CPS facelift will have one…. plus a glovebox.

• kei9 (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 10:23 pm

nizam80 r u really sure?

• KelvC (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 11:02 pm

sxe10r, perhaps for my education could you clarify:

Gen2 with black interior ?? useless … la …. malaysia car the UK ppl never like it ….

-> I'm not sure what this means, does this means a car made from Malaysia is bad or is it the fact that it's a Malaysian brand therefore it is bad?

u can c what they saying about the P1 in Top Gear ??

-> I think you have to double check what May actually said about the Gen2. Hint: It's the fittings.

the waja also only rank 3 star only in car crash test …

-> totally agreed, the "Impian y2002" 3 star obtained is with dual front and side airbags. http://www.euroncap.com/tests/proton_impian_2002/… So, what you going to do about it? For starters perhaps why not write to the minister and mp and, as citizen and primary road stakeholders, demand them to draw up "The Rights For Road Safety Standards". Maybe it is true afterall, Malaysian life are indeed cheap…except for some elitist.

P1 u choose wrong market in UK …. gen2 only sell UK6k ++only ??

-> I think this is subjective, if sales is good then it's a good market, if the sales is bad, then..it's bad. But if they repriced it as dirt cheap (cheaper than the possible cost price) as how one specific Far Eastern countries did in UK and MY (not sure about other countries too), then "hey presto!" it's a right market until uncle Blair decides to slap some corrective taxes in. On further checks http://www.proton.co.uk/ the Gen2 £8,995 OTR which is RM60127.97 (at today's forex rate RM6.6846/£1, once upon a time ago it used to be RM7+/£1, I would know because I had to pay for my external fees and exams). Gen2 OTR last time I checked was RM55k OTR. As you can see, added features have its added cost.

Malaysia citizen not a people ah !!

-> I think rightly so, firstly because no one bother to REALLY express their concerns with their elected Representative, apart from demonstrating for toll and fuel hikes nothing else really capture the imagination of the people. Most of us murmur on the web and around the kopitiams. The previous generation had their say in the past (through the ballot box), so my question is this, Have you registered yourself for the next election? Time is ticking, the next GE could be right after Syawal, which is before the CNY and most importantly before the big April dateline. Talk about registering about to exercise our rights, most of my peers would say

(1) Why bother, what’s gonna change?

(2) Where to register ah? Post office? Wah, so much work!

(3) Aiyo, if they trace me how? Will I loose my job?

(4) Politics is dirty, don’t want to get involved. See no evil, hear no evil.

(5) Yes we need change! But no other choice available.

the body also harder then local make !!??

-> Business wise, I think this is not feasible to stamp the same car make with different metal sheets (with better durability) because you’ll loose out economies of scale. If this is the case, might as well standardize the metal sheets (for export and local market) with the durable version, increase economies of scale.

• sxe10r (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 11:28 pm

KelvC said,

May 22, 2007 @ 3:02 pm

sxe10r, perhaps for my education could you clarify:

nice clarify thx …..

• KL-ATR (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 11:43 pm

Honestly, on the very day I learned that Proton actually created cars with thicker metal, better fittings and safety features just for UK, I decided that I will NEVER BUY a Proton. Malaysian Company but sell better cars to UK??? So, Malaysians are second class? At the mean time, many are so proud of Proton. Perhaps they don't know that they're paying more than those in UK but getting cheaper cars. Local Malaysians PAY MORE so that those in UK GET BETTER CARS!

Sorry lah, Proton. You won't cheat me of my hard earned money!

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 12:06 am

enough of this crap la , talk abt wat the topic is abt….its abt a facelifted gen2…NOTHING ELSE!

PE Showroom already hav this black interior i saw already,bt fabric seats not leather…the the seats are alot more cushioned than the previous one,means wen u sit,u sink in abit more….maybe its a way for rear passengers to hav abit more headroom…..i tink thy have promotion now,rm49k for full spec gen2….abs,airbag n leather….really good bargain…test drive the car thn coment..no more friend mother father sis said this n that….im driving it for two ys now…stil like new,performs like a dream…!

• nizam80 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 12:13 am

kei9 said,

May 22, 2007 @ 2:23 pm

"nizam80 r u really sure?"

Yes, i'm 90% sure.

• Raphael (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 12:31 am

Honestly, I've had a 2004 manual Gen2 for 2 years and I also drive a 2005 Volvo S40.

Of course the Volvo is a better car (as it should be, costing almost 4x what the G2 costs)

I'l drive the Volvo over the Gen2 during the week when I have to brave traffic jams and the crazy road manners in KL.

But when I want to have a fun drive, I drive the Gen2. It is not a bad car and is definitly an quality improvement over past Protons. (I've had two satrias including a GTi for 2 years)

It's still not what it should be but its a positive step forward.

• KL-ATR (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 12:32 am

e-nabilll, so a face lifted gen2 is enough to satisfy you to plonk your hard earned money while the fact remains that UK get better protons at cheaper price?

• KelvC (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 1:17 am

KL-ATR said, Re: May 22, 2007 @ 4:32 pm

KL-ATR, i think you should substantiate your claims because it's hard to make sense to a lay person like me. While I agree with the better trimmings and the safety portion, but better metal? Do you know just to use better metal sheets to stamp the body work just for the export market is many times more expensive to justify the cost and the selling price no matter who going to sponsor the cost (Malaysian buyers).

The only way this could worked is for this new durable metal stamped car for export market to capture/gain market share and then shortly after for Malaysia market too. If my imaginative ideas of mine allows me, this late product revision for the Malaysian market could be due to existing inventories in the Malaysian stockyard. If they couldn't export the existing stock to "3rd world countries" therefore Malaysia ends up having to absorb the excesses.

As for the cheaper price, please refer to the earlier comment. While it was true once upon a time, Proton did indeed adopted price penetration strategy (see Marketing Pricing Strategy), it is not sustainable in the long run therefore it has been stopped as evidently shown in the Proton UK website. The only good reason why Penetrative Pricing strategy was initially adopted (so did Kia, Hyundai, Honda and many other marques) was to grab market share in the shortest time possible, with new found buyers and market share, they thought they could build on the market share within a time frame but alas build they did not. While many other brands (not necessary car brands alone) have adopted this strategy, some have paid off handsomely and some did not and this Proton did not managed to achieve. If someone asked me whether this is blatantly the wrong strategy to go into, I would say high risk high pay off. The initial plan was right, but it is not sustainable be over time.

As of why we’re not getting airbags and ABS as standards? Just go for the H-Line and leave that for someone else to debate.

• gonggok (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 1:19 am

The same lie again and again…

Export Proton get better steel…lower price bla,bla bla…

Not true. The Gen-2s for export are the same as local except for the ECU with local cars modified to work with CAPTOR anti theft systems.

Expensive compared to UK Gen-2? UK gen-2s can hit GBR 10K++ which counts for RM 70k++..

• bebe (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 1:25 am

Proton ?? NO COMMENTS……. VERY TIRED ALREADY. NEVER GOING TO BUY THEIR PRODUCTS COZ I AM ALREADY PAYING THIER LOSSES THRU MY TAXES!! SO BU…..OFF

• tec96248 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 1:43 am

KL-ATR said,

May 22, 2007 @ 4:32 pm

==hahaha……..proton use the same thickness of metal for all their car either for local or export. just that the paint works, antirust, primer, quality control and etc for export model only. why different? different environment, climate etc overthere.

==u said cheaper overthere. of course if u r working overthere earning GBP2000 per month, what is GBP10000 a car. tell u, if u were there, u don't wanna look at this car, shown above the photo. look at the renault megane! fu-yoh…….hahahaha. somemore no glovebox…….to me, forget it.

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 2:03 am

KL-ATR,

y wd I giv nuts abt wats been offered in da uk?? its like wat ur talking abt is so not related,u can go uk n migrate their n get a gen2 jus to satisfy ur idea…its noting to do with being 1st or 2nd class citizens….its abt wat u get for ur buck…ur happy thn buy it bcos it makes sence.if nt thn don't buy it…uk hav different competition ,diff tax structures,almost everything is diff,so wen u compare,like comparing apples n suicidE bombers in

iraq!! …I'm sory bt personally ur claim makes no sence at all.not even an atom…u like u buy,don't like thn don't buy…very simple…now back to da topic…

• tokmoh (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 2:39 am

Ooo….no more Lamborghini Diablo-like rims (which even BMW Z4 also had)? I actually liked that, it's a copycat of the Italian's supercar rims, bt it looks good, and you can say "Even a Lamborghini's rims look like ones in my car".

Bt hey, for an exchange, they did make the interior look less Barbie doll's house-like, so I guess that's a pretty fair trade. Pretty sad they still couldn't provide a proper glove box, so u can't hide anything precious like a Smart Tag safely (bt then again, it's recommended u carry it wit u when u wanna get out of the car). I guess it doesn't rly matter to me cuz I always believed in nt leaving anything precious in the glove box, n that small tray can fit in a small tissue box properly, or some snacks. Bt I suppose to convince the customers, a glove box is necessary, so…..I can't rly comment much more than that :P

They hvn't changed the radio's layout, they shud make it more like the one in Neo, or rather, fit in the ones exactly used in Neo. What's wit Blaupunkt? They can save more by providing a single radio design for two models, so why not do that?

• ICER (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 3:37 am

Proton build good look part for UK… but not malaysia …

Mean Proton for Foreign Country nor Malaysian…

• mystvearn (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 3:57 am

cause in UK they give ultra deals which over here they cannot do. Like free dual controls for gen2, 1pound deposit. Just to capture market.

• kevyeoh (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 4:56 am

cool… glad to know that this black interior is being offered in malaysia as well…

really pinning some hope on the new gen 2 sedan…hopefully it will be a good car…

i'm still keeping my options open to get my replacement car for my wira… but of course proton is the last option… :) cause my experience with wira…so so la…engine quite reliable but the accesories like power window break down, roof rusty…

• tokmoh (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 4:59 am

What for give dual control here? That's for driving schools oni, so no need to capture driving school's market here, cuz edi monopolised by Kancil.

Now Proton give free 1st 3 months free installments, bt I seriously dun recommend Proton to do so. Knowing Msians, they'll soon realise it's costlier to maintain a car, eventually, they won't give a dam n let their cars kene tarik. That's why u see banks now wanna become stricter, cuz there's so many irresponsible car owners who just wan the car, bt cannot afford to maintain.

Jadi mat rempit je la…..like in the local drift mvi trailer "Lain kali kalau xde duit, jadi mat rempit je lah!!"

• Aril (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 5:25 am

Dont fight here. This topic is for discuss on the topic. Agree with KelvC. My opinion is, if wanted UK spec, then buy H- LINE. Or no money then buy M- LIne which introduce in UK called Medium Spec.

Hey malaysian PPL, think first before talk or what ever you do and blame local product. Dont talk..talk..talk then do nothing.. Balik- balik dok kedai kopi!!! Or CyberCafe playing games.

• Aril (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 5:31 am

Tokmoh said,

May 22, 2007 @ 8:59 pm

What for give dual control here? That’s for driving schools oni, so no need to capture driving school’s market here, cuz edi monopolised by Kancil.

———————————————————————————————————————

Thats is market strategies. But i think its for UK market. rite?.

for some reason, if we can buy 100% UK spec, Then i think it should be around Rm70k. Thats y even both countries proton introduce H-Line, but local will a bit less around RM 55955 M/T. Why?…..For malaysian used off course. Then u can found some accesories will deduct from that car such as side Airbag, control…ect!!

• Aril (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 5:36 am

Of course this black interior will definitely differ for local. If go to Showroom, i think its not 100% leather……But for me, as long as the car got airbag and ABS…it worth to buy.

Like waja campro….Proton manage to make those safety equipment as STD at Rm 59388.00 M/T. Nice and worth!!!

• chenyl (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 5:49 am

I just wan to talk abt selling better products oversea that topic. Take it that u own company and going to sell a product oversea and to UK. Will u ship a thing with better quality or no quality products.

• tokmoh (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 5:54 am

@Aril

Exactly, mayb they wanna capture the market in UK, so the offer dual control, arguing they're nt providing it here is as silly as a guy arguing why we cannot wear lipstick in a car (like what happened to James May,ahahah). Bt here in Msia….em……

• armandd (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 8:29 am

looks upmarket

• Tommy Peters (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 3:52 pm

Does anyone know the name of the Malaysian who has the Gen-2 design on his portfolio. I was told he's no longer with Proton.

• sxe10r (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 4:23 pm

KL-ATR said,

May 22, 2007 @ 3:43 pm

Honestly, on the very day I learned that Proton actually created cars with thicker metal, better fittings and safety features just for UK, I decided that I will NEVER BUY a Proton. Malaysian Company but sell better cars to UK??? So, Malaysians are second class? At the mean time, many are so proud of Proton. Perhaps they don’t know that they’re paying more than those in UK but getting cheaper cars. Local Malaysians PAY MORE so that those in UK GET BETTER CARS!

Sorry lah, Proton. You won’t cheat me of my hard earned money!

Agree With u KL-ATR , i buy my wira since 2004 Dec … in Rm26k … damn until 2007 now … only can sell Rm15-13k damn carb car … really like a toys …. it really take my hard earned money …. T.T … i regreat y didn't save money n but the new myvi … really regreat with proton … and the FC …

• hondadriver (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 7:10 pm

KL-ATR, where did you 100% conclusively find out that proton makes cars with different metal thickness for different markets? I would really love to know that.

to be honest, my opinion is, i think you are giving proton too much credit la.

you think they actually bother to manufacture cars with different "skin" thickness for different markets? can you imagine the logistics nightmare involved?

you have to line up all types of sheet metal with different thicknesses at the right time to go thru the stamping machine, and after that, you have to coordinate 2 sets of the same part with different thicknesses to ensure they get to the right car being assembled for the UK and Malaysian market… etc. etc. when you're assembling maybe 300 cars for malaysia for that day, and have to assemble another 40 for the uk… that makes it one massive jig saw puzzle..

same goes for painting, same paint, same coatings..etc. i dont think they will stop their entire line for "40" cars to reconfigure their entire painting process.

so i'm guessing same as well.

besides, the weight of the UK spec car, is exactly the same as the MY spec car. so unless they put ballast in the MY spec car, i'm guessing they have the same skin thickness.

what i do know is, japan does do that for its cars. especially the "ASIAN" only models, a good example is the vios. they run a chassis with less steel than those in other markets. which explains why the vios only weighs 980+kg. thats even lighter than a 1.6 wira. and there are no aluminum or titanium parts in the vios thats for sure. even honda does it for the city.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 7:53 pm

Well… i heard that a lot of people buy P1 cars in other country is not for normal drive.. Since it is consider as cheap cars… They normally modified it with bling bling.. and turbo it… A lot of Australians are doing it.. most of them swap the mitsubishi Engine in it.. So P1 think their car is great? Err.. doubtfull.. Only for those modifiers i think yes.. Cheap car, budjet low and easy to modified.. I think they even say P1 better provide only the frame of the car for sell.. more cheaper to do it.. LoL..

• johnyong5933 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 9:53 pm

what i say…

change the engines la.. campro sucks, no fuel savings,no durablity,no pick-up,no speed… waja 4G18p will toast campro like chicken!

than the shape… mcm designer x bersekolah… not practical at all..its sucks too.

Gen2 sucks, campro sucks too!

• kei9 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 10:13 pm

ooohhhh……is that it…

• tec96248 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 11:22 pm

hondadriver said,

May 23, 2007 @ 11:10 am

==hahaha…………ur explanation is wrong. know why? u will know if u happen to see the proton production in shah alam. which not include Gen2 and Savvy. by the way, it goes the same in Tanjung Malim.

• tec96248 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 11:25 pm

johnyong5933 said,

May 23, 2007 @ 1:53 pm

==hahahaha…………change the engine won't solve ur problem, dude. learn more and know is not the engine to change. ahhahahaha.

• tec96248 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 11:29 pm

actually this car is good handling in downhill and connering. just that the interior doesn't meet the taste for most car drivers. whatever colours is not ergonomic for the drivers, not much comfort for the passengers.

• neo2 (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 1:50 am

nah …. as long as there is excessive import duty imposed on imported car, not going to buy any P1 car. like a guy always says in this forum:

ONLY THE BUYING STOPS, THE SUCKING STOPS!

why P1 still producing car when it keeps on stocking them up?

hmmm …. what is the logic behides it? i guess only when Bolehland has no more land for P1 to keep their failure car, may b will dump it into sea?

typical GLC managed by politicians …. sigh …

• Tommy Peters (Member) on May 26, 2007 at 3:33 am

Paul, any news about Proton debuting a 'sedan' version of the Neo in 2-3 months?

• kei9 (Member) on May 26, 2007 at 6:22 am

TP…..ur interested in buyin' it ha?

• Tommy Peters (Member) on May 26, 2007 at 3:57 pm

kei9, as a matter of fact I am, but the current 2 door version, once the CPS-VIM is launched. Give me your views bro. Plus factors for me. Original shell design, drives like a slab (thank Lotus – ask the Australian rally fraternity), almost no suspension and sound-proofing, faulty windows, throaty engine, no head room (auntie-proof) at the back, old school door seals, relatively rare on road, sold by an outfit with battered shares and of course, the centralised muffler.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 4:13 am

Wow.. at least got some Australian prove that our P1 car still faulty in overseas… But maybe their warranty can help you reclaim ur broken parts.. I tot P1cars all are given 5 years warranty now right? So take ur car and let them repair for you.. after 5 years sell or just scrap it.. Louzy P1, haven improve his quality yet..

• kei9 (Member) on May 28, 2007 at 5:49 am

some ppls working for the p1's R&D team………..listen to TP!

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 4:54 pm

Lucky the Gov. didn't make it 'wajib' to buy a P1 car. The word is excessively used in public universities

• ruganhaur (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 5:29 pm

I think PROTON should review and reconsider about making it's great move by doing that..The PROTON should understand that the products they've manufactured are not as same as the value of buy. The PROTON have to do more of it's own R&D to be a great cars manufacturer.