Uncovered Honda Accord sedan and coupe spotted!

Uncovered Honda Accord

The boys at Jalopnik have exclusive photos of a fully undisguised Honda Accord Sedan as well as a fully undisguised Honda Accord Coupe! Following the tradition of Malaysia getting the USDM Accord as our local Accord, this will be of interest to us as it gives us a preview of what we might be able to buy sometime next year.

Check out the spyshots here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mits27 (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 11:29 pm

Look very nice especially the couple one…

• szw (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:16 am

the tail light look abit cut off compare to the previous version

• wei_tsung (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:20 am

BANZAI!! Honda!

• bmpower (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:36 am

the red coupe one is really… marvellous. :o . the front headlights make me…. horny :D

• ab (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:55 am

they've solve the rear styling, but now the front looks like the old honda civic, come on honda, it looks a decade old!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 4:14 am

Found this at LowyatNF few days ago. The coupe looks great. Not so sure about the sedan version

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 4:38 am

This is so Autobot!!!

What a long time since Prelude

• drebar (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 4:40 am

oh no! what happened to Honda? they seems to be going backwards in their design!

the cr-v is the best example… and now this accord??

it looks exactly like the new Hyundai Sonata… lolz…

and the front grill! those peeps from proton must have seen this somewhere and did the same grill for Waja facelift.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 4:45 am

Woah~ Honda's returning a favor to Hyundai Sonata !

Honda :" Thanks for giving us the greatest form of flattery by copying our tail lamps."

Hyundai :" No prob, you can have my front."

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 5:02 am

Now is japan copy koreans?!? Wah lau! Look like the new sonata a lot! But rumours say that the koreans hyundai are going come out even newer sonata then us… Louzy Malaysian G, always scare ppl to bring new cars to Malaysia coz tax..

• transformer (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 5:11 am

the sedan front can attract my attention!

fugly rear!

only the Coupe cun all round! yeah!

• transformer (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 5:12 am

hope Honda will bring in their 2.2CDI into bolehland in this model…

hopefully…

• proton GL (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 5:18 am

the latest trend in forming/designing a car body is 'knife edge'

-so this new accord is not really trendy

• armandd (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 6:16 am

are u sure that's not the sonata?

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 6:37 am

wow!!!its a killer man!!!!!!!honda is always the best!!!i really want one!!!hope price remain the same as the current one!!!

• reizan (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 8:07 am

The coupe version looks very similar to the Civic coupe version at the rear and i think it is sexy. Too bad it (coupe) will never get to Malaysia…..

• nmh (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 8:30 am

camry win this time. Its ok coz civic win over corolla

• arcana (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 10:26 am

awww quite disappointing….for an executive car, camry is still miles ahead in terms of style. looks like toyota can breath a sigh of relief if they gonna see this as their competitor.

we need more intense competition so that buyers are spoilt with not only choice, but more stuff added into cars.

• azrai (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:20 pm

No wonder the interest rate for Accord is only 1.38.Stock clearance it seems.It look nice, but quite a bit like new Sonata. Hmm..

• NiceCar (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:36 pm

as arcana said, if compare as an executive car, camry is still miles ahead in terms of style..

hopefully this accord will win the camry if compare as sport sedan, and attract the youth buyer..

• normaluser (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:56 pm

arcana, i quite don't agree with the statement. the camry has always been designed to be conservative & bulky. I don't think the camry looks sportier than the accord. Each time a new accord comes out, it always look far sportier than the camry. Camrys always look bulky, yet its elegant for towkays.

This new accord is sleek and compact. Look at the BMW-inspired C pillar (3rd pic) and flowing shoulder lines. I just wish that the 4-door version uses the same rear lights as the coupe version.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 4:38 pm

I wont compare the designs of the accord and the sonata because to me, they are both night and day. completely different.

However, at the price war, The Sonata is firing all guns. An Accord sized car for less than civic money. And with any indication, just as well built (those that read my Honda post will see what sort of nightmare we got with our 05 Accord).

Remember that the Accord is styled for the American market. People see things differently there. There is a risk of Honda getting too avantgard over styling and risk turning their targeted demographics. North America also has the Acura brand for more "aggresively" styled Hondas, so expect Honda branded cars to be a bit bland. "Bland" works great for Toyota……

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 4:40 pm

FYI. Our new camry is not the USDM version, hence it looks more sporty. US is still using the old one. Still selling in droves.

• terracottaz (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 4:58 pm

This Honda Accord will be launch on March 2008 and Honda Malaysia already signed contract with Goodyear to slap Goodyear Excellence RunOnFlat rubber on this machine.As you know Goodyear Excellence promised safety, comfort and performance.

http://www.goodyear.com.ph/excellence.html

• droll (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 7:18 pm

if i recall i read somewhere the rear light design is based on US tastes. Honda did a survey and found most people in the US prefer that sloping look in the light.

it is the same with the current accord (that has the same front lights as the previous model but some god forsaken ugly rear lights!)

• Xoomie (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 7:22 pm

Alamak, the new Accord looked like Korean designs.

I think the current Camry still looks better as it more "conti".

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 8:08 pm

Personally, i think if anything, its the koreans who are more well known for copying, and not vice-versa. I believe honda has more than enough heritage to put a claim on their own designs, although this accord looks like its taken a page out of BMW 5series design. The rear quarter glass even has a pseudo "hofmeister kink" ala BMW.

anyways.. i dont believe there is truly any such thing as a truly "original" car design. The real originals were the first cars of its type that appeared in the world. From then on, everything has been inspired by something else or another, or is just an evolution on an older design.

• mmcwei (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 11:26 pm

Paul,

will this model come to malaysia? it is totally different from the previous accord…the front look like EVO 8 or 9…the rear look like Bmw 5 series…but i'm still interesting to know more bout it…

• ynnad (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 1:19 am

hmm… if this accord is coming to m'sia… then toyota has nothing to worry about. heck they (toyota) wont even need a midlife facelift to the camry when this accord is launched. I drive an accord and cannot imagine myself in a camry… that's until the present camry was launched.

Toyota now moving away from ahpek image, but accord is going towards one.

• ynnad (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 1:22 am

looking at the coupe's front clip and the sedan's one it's quite amazing what a little groove or protrusion on the front bumper and grille makes.

• hyundai (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 6:09 am

This accord looks too bland to me… I hope to see the Euro Accord.

• Phisto (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 7:16 am

I kinda like the front. Looks very much similar with the Odyssey/Stream family look. I think it would they buyers of that category a more edgy choice other than the all-rounder Camry.

• K.A.R.R (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 9:55 pm

cant wait to see it in reality

• mankrm (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 1:20 am

i thot i saw one of these in front at klcc last monday. greg colour with twin eksoz and benz like taillights. couldnt make out the model name, some alphabets and numbers like GLXX something.. Wilayah plate very cool looking car. not familiar at all, only the honda logo infront.