New Toyota Vios expected in 4th quarter this year

New Toyota Vios

A report in The Edge Daily on UMW’s rising share prices carries some information on when we can expect to see the new Toyota Vios in Malaysia. The report says the new Toyota Vios is expected in 4Q07, which should be anytime between October 2007 to December 2007. Read more about the new Toyota Vios in the related posts below:

New Toyota Vios launched in Thailand
Toyota Belta on test in Thailand as Toyota Vios
UMW Toyota plans to price new baseline Toyota Vios at under RM70,000
2006 Toyota Belta (JDM name for Toyota Vios)
Toyota Human Touch advertisement featuring Toyota Belta/Vios

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nmh (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 2:10 am

Huh….still center meter position….:(

• acbc (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 2:40 am

Fugly!

• w_lighter (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 3:20 am

Even on a fugly scale this car still rank 10 out of 10… damn hideous … *vomit*

• angelo2689 (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 6:08 am

the previous vios looks better, this one,…………….(vomit)

• TAK (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 6:52 am

At saudi, they called it YARIS, saw that for past 6 months

• DrBrain (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 8:16 am

I’m still waiting for this new Vios before I decide whether I should get New Vios or Latio Sport. Not sure how spacious is new Vios compare to Latio Sport.

• kington (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 8:37 am

It look elegant.. trying to maintain the toyota famil llok.. look at how it resembles the Camry. Compared to the previous one, this one’s less sporty… i still like the current one.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 8:47 am

sometime the Vios wanna change new looks …. no like P1 … one model can sell how many year … ?? this call ketinggalan zaman … last week i go miri … saw the new vios looks nice but ( brunei no plat ) …. the most shock is when i saw a Toyota Rush !! the body looks higher n same size like Rav4 II !! sorry out of topic …

• NiceCar (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 9:00 am

its look good for me.. look forward for this coming model..
    it will be great if the price lower compare to current vios!!

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 9:14 am

It also known as Toyota Yaris Sedan in some other countries and have been in the market quite sometime. There are 3 variants. The J, E and G. The current model looks more like Ah Beng styling but this one looks cute. Err… however, with proper bodykits and lower the car might look nice too. Seen it before.

However, personally I don’t really like the center meter position even though Toyota claims it is better as part of the safety features. What do you think?

• peteleongmyy (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 9:23 am

kanasai ai nei

• silv3r (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 9:27 am

rear lamp like waja…haha..LOL..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 9:32 am

Well i saw the real car before.. It just longer the body for more space for the rear passenger.. Then engine, gearbox everything the same.. Just the bodykit not same..

• aj3377 (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 9:34 am

Saw this car in bangkok on april this year… the price is only 50,000 baht….

• McPadey (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 10:17 am

I saw it in JB, it’s UGLY than the previous model….i thought City were ugly…
    but this…..ermmm…..

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 10:20 am

aj377:

50,000.00 THB = 5,696.039 MYR???

Are you sure?

No way it’s that cheap.

You know what they should really bring in?? The Corolla hatchback. It’s been selling in the UK for quite some time now and I reckon it would sell pretty well here due to it’s compact and sporty nature.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 10:24 am

I think he forget to put another 0, Anywayz this car really cheap, only cost about RM50k between for G spec man! And their Vois also got turbo version! Why in our country got no new turbo cars selling!

• szw (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 10:31 am

haha !

• Infinitt (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 10:56 am

Agreed with some ppl, city better than this..i ll buy city for my 3rd car instead this. Dugong looks like.

• Infinitt (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 10:58 am

I mean dugong’s baby..

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 11:24 am

I’ll go for this one instead of the City though, I think it looks kewl, like some kinda baby elephant with small trunk and ears :p

• aj3377 (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 12:02 pm

aj377:

50,000.00 THB = 5,696.039 MYR???

Are you sure?

No way it’s that cheap.

You know what they should really bring in?? The Corolla hatchback. It’s been selling in the UK for quite some time now and I reckon it would sell pretty well here due to it’s compact and sporty nature.

• kingglim (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 12:24 pm

Agree the current Vios looks sportier and better. Tis one the front looks futuristic and cartoonist, but the back got the uncle Waja look…design cue not consistent. Will definitely need some make-up (body kit & spoiler) to reprofile the look. But tis one will be roomier…something most ppl complain bout current Vios. The centre-located panel display still turns me off…tis one I dun understand why Toyota ignores customers feedbacks.

Anyhow, at RM60k-70k price range, tis one will add the tombstone for Potong. Quickly sell yor Waja ASAP.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 2:02 pm

looks like a deformed pig nose….horrible to look at….curent one nicer bt interior is way too small

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 2:36 pm

Perhaps many people will complaint about the look. Do you guys know that the front bonnet and the one piece grille and bumper really design with the purpose to meet the latest EuroNCAP requirements? It is really pedestrian friendly design. If you know what I mean.

Have you notice why the grille have been stretched far to the top? It actually give more support to the pedestrian if accident happened. Anyway, it doesn’t mean it will always and 100% safe the pedestrian and never hurt the pedestrian if this car hit the pedestrian.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 2:58 pm

It was natural to compare City and Vios before deciding which to buy coz they are competing almost at par. Most people who selected Vios said that it’s because the City looked sort of like a bug. And the irony is the new Vios looks even more like a bug!!! Hahaahaa!!!

I wonder if Toyota has taken a page out of City’s design for a more spacious interior, the main reason why I didn’t like the Vios.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 4:39 pm

unicorn
    i agree with u,
    just wonder how ferrari or lambo could be pedestrian friendly,

• yeikloen (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 6:26 pm

I am not sure but I think I saw this car being use in the 24 TV series cant really remember which episode? Did anyone see it?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 6:47 pm

I tot Nissan latio is Vios real contender.. Even Honda City sales sucks in Singapore, no fight at all..

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 8:02 pm

To proton.GL..

Thanks and I’m telling the truth. By the way, I don’t think sport cars will have pedestrian friendly in mind. NCAP don’t care about that too. The sport car manufacturers want the car to be light weight, fast, big engines capacity, high tech and yes safety for driver and 1 passenger beside only.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 8:48 pm

Toyota has a thing about sharing platform sharing design, which they look on overall looks. If it looks good on one, it may look good on others. Want to save cost. But resulting an ugly car. Just because they can make a hiluxfortunerInnova? does not mean you should take YARIS concecpt and take it to vios, altis corrolla etc.

• Addict (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 8:50 pm

Well, The new Vios already launched in Brunei few months ago, and I agree with you all that it looks ugly especially the rear part. Yupe it look like a sedan-version of Toyota Yaris. Still prefer the first version of Vios.

• king (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 12:01 am

superfugly…..i thot yaris was fugly but this one takes the cake.

• kitman (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 12:22 am

haha ……this new vios looks like

THE PARROT FISH

yuks! the current one looks better. this one looks like a toy car

• Din (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 2:09 am

yeah, for one, I agree that the NEW VIOS in the above picture is ugly.

however, if the NEW VIOS comes in the right colour+rear spoiler+ USDM aerokit (skirtings), it will look superb.

pay attention to the red yaris sedan in the follwoing video yah…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=os5UWwmXT5E

• AboutJane (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 8:17 am

buruk..dah jadi cam mak dugong pulak.

• wong (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 1:44 pm

doesnt look like THE TOYOTA to me,reminds me one of the jurassic park dinosaurs the one that crawls..

• wong (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 5:48 pm

japanese technology but not Made in Japan..anymore if im not mistaken,maybe a budget version,if its cheap than its okay

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 6:27 pm

They should have considered Scion tC or a 4dr version of it. Its bland but not horrifying like this Yaris. Well somebody had to pay for the old tools and dies.

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 8:09 pm

don’t simply bash the centre meter… it has it’s own advantages.. you’ll understand more if u own one (vios), tak payah explain banyak2… i oredi have one for my wife, i won’t think twice to buy this new vios for my own use, if the price is good…. from what i can see, the new vios maximise the interior space, that’s why it has a bulky look…. anywy… ADA DUIT BELI LA, TAKDE DUIT TAK PAYAH CAKAP BANYAK.. like or not, that is SUBJECTIVE!. Got it?

• wong (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 8:23 pm

Like does’nt mean buy, dont like does,nt mean dont buy,if my wife like it i dont mine buying,my old e36 is still okay

• wong (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 8:33 pm

but it still look funny..

• king (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 11:07 am

The Unicons said

However, personally I don’t really like the center meter position even though Toyota claims it is better as part of the safety features. What do you think

centre meter is a must have cost cutting measure for budget toyotas lar. so that it is easy and cheap to convert to left hand drive models or vice versa for differents world markets. if they claim its better for safety then why never implement on any of their lexus IS,GS or LS models? or even camry…?

really hate centre meters, try driving at 150km/h or above and look at your speedo. or better still if they implement center meter for lexus IS-F. can drive at 250km/h and look at your speedo……guarantee you’ll end up in the ditch.

• vv (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 4:34 pm

hi,
    nice to hear Msia going to sell new vios soon.
    NO OFFEND TO OLD VIOS OWNER, wish useful info for those new vios buyer.
    here to share my personnal views about the new vios.
    got my 2007vios few months back (SG plate).

What i like:
    a scale down version of JDM Camry, better legs & head room, 9cm longer & 5cm wider wheelbase vs old vios, almost roomier as Altis. retractable windows mirror with signal light, flat rear floorbase.

What I dun like:
    noisy engine.

SG’s model doesn’t come with keyless ignition, but in Thailand.
    Wish available in Msia.

• hotwheels (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 12:30 pm

just went to a toyota showroom yesterday. they stopped taking orders for the current vios. so u can guess why.

got some info, except one important thing – the price. from what i heard it could go UP, up to 8-10% over the current price, which i think is a bit steep for a compact sedan like a vios. the dealer wont commit any prices, but im surprised to see the price hike rumor, cos earlier on it was speculated u can get one (probably a 1.3) for less than 70k.

i almost paid the 3k booking fee, but decided to hold on to my money till the actual prices come out. i was a bit put off that the dealer said the 1.5 could cost upwards of 90k, probably as much as 95, or even 100. at that price i can go shopping elsewhere.

• fuza (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 12:19 pm

i just received my vios last week..they still selling lah!! i think mine (will be old vios) is better looking compare to the new one. just my opinion!!

• leongylun (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 12:09 am

according to a piece of news, the new vios would probably sell under RM70k in malaysia..is that true?? but pls dun take my dual airbags and ABS, EBDetc…UMW pls verify this

• carzy (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 10:57 am

Any news about the price yet? I called a Toyota dealer and they say the new Vios will be less than RM90k. That’s really quite pricey man. But apparently booking will be open real soon. Sometime next week perhaps.

• hotwheels (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 4:14 pm

crazy,

take the dealers comments with a grain of salt. ive been to 3 dealers, the first said naik 8%, so 92k, 2nd dealer said dunno price but will refund my 3k deposit(im sure they will try everything not to let go the deposit later) and the 3rd dealer said even the G model will cost less than 80k cos of (supposedly) some new tax breaks or NAP. same guy even said the basic model might go under 70k.
    the dealers i went to was shah alam, taipan USJ and bangsar.

im too confused so i’ll just wait for the official toyota prices.