Proton Satria Gemilang – convertible Satria Neo limo

Proton Satria Gemilang

This concept from Proton is called the Proton Satria Gemilang and it was a one-off thing that was commissioned for this year’s Merdeka celebration parade. It looks like a Proton Satria Neo, but underneath it actually lies the chassis of a Proton Waja Chancellor – in fact if you’ve seen the interior the dash and etc remains the same as a Chancellor’s.

I’m not sure where the car has gone to now in the past month after the Merdeka parade, but perhaps it will make an appearance again at the next KL International Motorshow.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 1:20 pm

it actually looks pretty good.

Too bad cabriolets dont sell well in tropical malaysia :p

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 1:48 pm

i remember oso one of the past merdeka’s.Dr M was in a old satria convertible….

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 1:49 pm

THATS COOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOLLLLL….. BETTER WITH ROOF..I THINK…WHEN IT WILL ROLL-OUT??

• ah liew (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 1:56 pm

Did they shave the door handles? i can’t see any handles. Looks like a pimp out satria. Nice rims though…..

• kerelbort (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 2:06 pm

nvr… that’s when… :P just a design showoff onli.. if it ever make it as a convertible.. might not be aim at Malaysian market. just like the satria convertible….

guess this is ACE handywork

• hyundai (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 2:07 pm

tis car looks funny coz it doesn’t hv door handle…

• tiuniasing (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 2:36 pm

Same as the old Satria convertible, Proton made one just to tunjuk muka in Merdeka Day because the car is ‘not fit to run’ on the road.

Put it this way, until today Proton is still not able to produce one production convertible. Shame on them!!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 3:00 pm

i think the question is not that proton cannot produce a convertible.. its more like, do they want to produceit? would it be feasible business wise? will it sell? is it the right car for the market? there are many questions to be answered.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 3:23 pm

Convertible do sell a lot in Europe, I think is one of those cut and paste car again… last time i heard some proton car cannot pass puspakom, due to cut and paste, but the problem is that car is new and newer been in accident… especially those special made limousine… So, if the puspakom cannot pass it? I think it should be hard to sell to public.. Coz it will limit the user. This maybe just a few limited edition, maybe sell to high profile ppl to own only..

• prometheus (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 3:39 pm

Probably not road legal.. If everybody start cutting the roof off their car, everybody will die fast la.. !st thing is that there is not going to be a place to put the seat belt. Once the car turn turtle, everyone is going to spill out..

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 3:39 pm

I highly doubt if this car is safe. If it took Peugeot and Mercedes so long to work on a safe convertible 4-door, chances of Proton getting it right during one of those usual hangat-hangat tahi ayam moments is just pathetically low. BTW, this reminds me of a coupe cabriolet Wira I saw at the PWTC motorshow about 6 years ago :) it was a nice-looking car.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 3:40 pm

utter shite, thats what i call a kereta potong

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 3:52 pm

I don’t wanna wail on Proton, but after all these years, you would think Proton would be making real good cars. Their engines suck, quality suck, designs also sux, the Gen2 at least. But they seems to be moving in the right direction with the Persona, but still a long long long way to go. Time do die and reduce import taxes. w00t!

• altimi (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 3:53 pm

I think Waja Chanchellor platform/chassis is bespoke. Not just a cut & paste job like Wira Limousine.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 3:58 pm

the idea is there, the whole concept is good, but just that the car looks weird…..

its acceptable for Merdeka celebration purpose, but if Proton wanna make a production version of convertible, can consider the old Putra, lol~

but before that, must let Teophilus Chin make a few examples first. if the feedback is negative, then tak payah lah……

• wong (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 4:22 pm

For show only…I think they just built one unit and thats it..

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 4:27 pm

Yeah, come on Theo, give us some very nice, realistic illustration of the Neo coupe convertible with cool chicks will you….

• mofo (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 5:24 pm

Guyz take a look again, It’s coupe convertible + limo..

-.-‘

• raptorclans (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 5:34 pm

skirting & lips!

• narrowband (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 5:45 pm

It’s a potong…. in every sense of the word.

A cut-out chancellor with a Neo front-end, with handle-less doors. By the way, 4-door convertibles are very rare (there are safety implications) so it’s clear that this won’t make it to production.

Fo-sho’ lah. The front wheel-arch still looks ok, but the rear wheel-arch seem to extend too far out so much that the wheels appear to be hidden wayy inside.

Nice front profile, but ugly side profile. Won’t pass safety (crash) tests, esp when it turns turtle. I doubt the car’s rigid enough.

• frossonice (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 5:46 pm

Before you guys kutuk like there’s no tomorrow, read this first,

http://azlano.wordpress.com/2007/09/03/the-proton-satria-gemilang/

Don’t just assuming things.

• mofo (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 8:27 pm

Prototype ? From the back, i can spot Waja’s boot with 3rd brake light. And what the point to produce this car. To show our pride ? Wasting money, why don’t use it to contribute into our society.

Gosh this concept/prototype (what so ever), we have Chancellor. Just remove the hood and use it. We don’t need custom make Nea convertible + limo version.

Btw it look alike Lego game for them. Next item spotted, side mirror its from WAJA.

• nmh (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 8:52 pm

American stretch limo now available in malaysia……topless!!

• nazuaf (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 9:43 pm

This car might be a good starting point for the Waja Replacement Model. After all, it is based on the Chancellor platform. The Neo front and back end looks good on a Waja body. A little tweak here and there, Proton might have a new C-Segment contender. Just my 2 cents…

• ah liew (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 9:52 pm

I think i see an intercooler inside…….

• bugbear (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 10:29 pm

looks awful with the oversize fender from d rear..

• Vengeance (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 10:50 pm

This reminds me of an episode in Top Gear, they took three different cars to make them into limos, an old alfa romeo, fiat panda and mg rover… richard hammond took the mg rover and make it into a convertible limo! I tot this idea is juz a pure joke, nvr thought of proton can take tat idea to show off like this! LOLX! Mayb they watched tat episode of Top Gear and couldnt comprehend its actually a joke?

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 11:34 pm

justa car for the event,
    simply irrelevent if talk about crash test or rigidity, top speed, handling

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 11:39 pm

#frossonice said,
    September 27, 2007 @ 5:46 pm
    Before you guys kutuk like there’s no tomorrow, read this first,
    http://azlano.wordpress.com/2007/09/03/the-proton-satria-gemilang/
    Don’t just assuming things.

++++++++++++++++++++++
    good site. Looks like one of the boys from the dev team.

The side profile of the car seems quite ok actually. Imagine a roof over that thing. A neo-like shell on a chancellor chassis can actually look pretty good. More sporty than the waja.

The car was finished in 2 months, which is quite an accomplishment for a custom project. Practice for the prototyping teams and development teams as well.

I dont think it’s a waste of money. You never know, the next sedan made by proton may share the same platform and design cues from this prototype.

=========================
    Vengeance said,
    September 27, 2007 @ 10:50 pm
    This reminds me of an episode in Top Gear, they took three different cars to make them into limos…
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Hahaha, cant beat the lamborghini that was turned into a 8 seater.

Keep in mind car companies make prototypes like this to showcase an idea. Dodge even made a USD500,000 bike (motorcycle) that was not street legal and completely awkward to ride.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 12:53 am

i dont get it…its just a driveable concept and whats a big fuss about it guys??

littlefire85,
    again u givin sum bullshit here…since when production proton cars tak lepas puspakom??if every single proton car or other production car has to go thru puspakom..then there will be no cars on the road..why u may ask..its cause the long line the have to q to check cars 1 by 1…you are a fool man…sorry to say this..go have a brain scan please…

why safety and cost being a great issue here??its a celebration man..all of us wanna c the fireworks during merdeka..it cost millions..so you gonna ask the G to use for charity is it??its to mark the birth of our country..so whats wrong doing so??its protons money…let them do what they like…if i ask you why waste tme writing here..waste your internet bill,electric bill and etc n commenting on sumthing which paul clearly stated a one off concept..so go sleep or give that money for development of the country..will you agree??no i dont think you will…so same goes to proton..its their wish…

almost 90% of concept cars dont make it into production…so all of it will be going to waste…and nothing wrong with it…but when it comes to proton..its all wrong!!great malaysian mentality on showcase here….

Vengeance said,
    September 27, 2007 @ 10:50 pm

This reminds me of an episode in Top Gear, they took three different cars to make them into limos, an old alfa romeo, fiat panda and mg rover… richard hammond took the mg rover and make it into a convertible limo! I tot this idea is juz a pure joke, nvr thought of proton can take tat idea to show off like this! LOLX! Mayb they watched tat episode of Top Gear and couldnt comprehend its actually a joke?

if you think what top gear is doing its a joke…why watch it first of all…i tawt they review cars??but they have a bunch of clowns who proof how stupid they are…and when u watch it…u will get those kinda weird tawts and relate it to proton…even mercedes have a four door convertible car concept…so what wrong proton building this one off concept car??its for the same fun which the clowns in top gear always seek…but for a different reason…

mofo said,
    September 27, 2007 @ 8:27 pm

Prototype ? From the back, i can spot Waja’s boot with 3rd brake light. And what the point to produce this car. To show our pride ? Wasting money, why don’t use it to contribute into our society.

Gosh this concept/prototype (what so ever), we have Chancellor. Just remove the hood and use it. We don’t need custom make Nea convertible + limo version.

Btw it look alike Lego game for them. Next item spotted, side mirror its from WAJA.

neo been using waja’s side mirror since the day it was sold in malaysia…

its proton’s money…let them do what the like…its not going to cost them millions…and it is contributing to the 50th celebration….i rather see the pm parade in a malaysian made car than in a rolls royce or merc….and it well stated as a one off concept car…so you dont think so deep and figuring out why the build it..the just wanna look different…you think will it be an issue if they parade the PM in a proton persona??so they needed sumthing out of the box…and that how they come up with this…they were not contesting for car beauty/ design award nor engineering awards…just for the 50th merdeka celebration…and ITS A CONTRIBUTION!!!

tiuniasing said,
    September 27, 2007 @ 2:36 pm

Same as the old Satria convertible, Proton made one just to tunjuk muka in Merdeka Day because the car is ‘not fit to run’ on the road.

Put it this way, until today Proton is still not able to produce one production convertible. Shame on them!!

shame on u for having such a nickname…and proton dont need a convertible just because…we are in a tropical weather country…rain and shine all year long…so we dont need a car for summer use..our sun is too hot anyway..many of us prefer to tint our car window..and you are asking for a big open space right above your head??hahaha..funny!!

aesthari said,
    September 27, 2007 @ 3:39 pm

I highly doubt if this car is safe. If it took Peugeot and Mercedes so long to work on a safe convertible 4-door, chances of Proton getting it right during one of those usual hangat-hangat tahi ayam moments is just pathetically low. BTW, this reminds me of a coupe cabriolet Wira I saw at the PWTC motorshow about 6 years ago it was a nice-looking car.

proton never mention they are going to put into production.and concepts dont need to be safe…so please find so other reason to bash proton..another pathetic comment maybe??

LittleFire85 said,
    September 27, 2007 @ 3:23 pm

Convertible do sell a lot in Europe, I think is one of those cut and paste car again… last time i heard some proton car cannot pass puspakom, due to cut and paste, but the problem is that car is new and newer been in accident… especially those special made limousine… So, if the puspakom cannot pass it? I think it should be hard to sell to public.. Coz it will limit the user. This maybe just a few limited edition, maybe sell to high profile ppl to own only..

no comments for this…hahahaahaa..but nice joke man..i can laugh all day long…

• infinity (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 1:37 am

Premm3377, i strongly agree with u…y the fuss?it’s not going to be mass pro..y crash test, safety and all those things come into this discussion?some even say proton should be ashamed coz not able to produce convertible…it’s not proton not able, but they dun need to produce1…come on ppl, use ur brain…sigh…

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 1:47 am

Premm3377,i supporting u man..dont get angry with tha bunch or moron who know nothing but have big mouth.it useless to talk to them

• hypermount (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 3:11 am

LOL well said Prem, we hear you…ignore those goons.

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 3:25 am

Reminds me of the time when Dr.M went on the Perdana Cabriolet

• farghmee (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 8:31 am

pergh~cool :)

aku ske kalu gen2 jd cabriolet.
    pakai utk jln2 ujung minggu je pn xpe.
    aku rs boleh je proton kua gen2 cabriolet yg basic model, mst ramai org muda cm aku nk naik punye. savvy xde bumbung pn ok gak.
    kn? kn? :)

• mynnDAWG (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 9:17 am

looks like sthng came out of Brothers shop..sigh!

• Infinitt (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 11:13 am

This time i do agree and support with u PREM. Anyway, just ignore Littlefire. Maybe he know nothing or just act as a smart man. hehe..

• gonggok (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 11:39 am

Yeah ignore Littlefire, he’s still running from the ‘Campro uses renault engine block’ claim of his in the other thread :)

It’s just a concept which carmarkers do all the time. I doubt if it took that much man-hours from the RND engineering team – busy with the new BLM and MPV.
    BTW I think the MPV will provide the new platform for the next Waja/Perdana – just like Honda shares the Odessey and Accord platform.

Shame on Proton for not producing a cabrio? Why? These same joker bashers will hentam Proton IF PROTON COMES OUT WITH A CABRIO saying Proton should concentrate on bread and butter cars.

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 11:53 am

Prem3377, go take a hike and cool down k, I just said I don’t think the car is safe; that’s not bashing, that’s an opinion. Notice I did compliment the car’s looks? Learn to differentiate between the two. And learn to control your emotions a bit while you’re at it. You sound like some overzealous keyboard-hogging emo who has too much time (like us all). You impress me though, having the energy to reply to so many comments, Proton will be happy to take you as a marketing hand anytime. Chill, you’re gonna have HBP if you’re always so hot.

• szw (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 1:32 pm

weird , hahaha !

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 1:41 pm

When will proton basher stop bashing? to be honest, i don’t think by just upgrade the quality or the design of proton cars will ever stop people from believing in proton or bash proton.

Just make car prices of all makes to be as competitive as possible. Such as City and Vios or other makes to sell below 60k which is their suppose selling price. make it a note that any CBU car will maintain the same Tax structure but any CKD cars will have little tax compare to CBU. my point is, have more car brand choices for the people at competetive pricing.

Then we will stop bash n complain on proton. don tell me about the 300k workers and family from proton cannot survive and bla bla bla… that’s purely bullshit and by right, survival is base on own effort and not at the expense of the entire country.

Currency outflow is also another mother of crap story if we buy more Hondas or Toyotas…If we want to export car, y must it be proton? can’t it be a private company who build and design cars on their own…? just don limit this to national car only but let it open to everyone la who wish to build cars…

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 2:06 pm

nice look from bare eyes…interior i dont know lah…
    btw, wish to have one of these…with purchase of EXTRA PERSONAL INSURANCE coverage at first place :)

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 2:33 pm

if one must know the interior, it is pretty the same as the chancellor aka waja.

same design all over.
    The back has 2 smoothed humps.

• transformer (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 3:40 pm

If it ever made into production then it will be another DISASTER!
    Proton Chancellor sales figure against developments, promotions,
    productions setup cost and etc. will prove this!

Does anyone ever see any datuk/datin being chaffuered around in one?
    NO! Most probably once or twice but still they enjoyed to being inside a LWB S Class or 7 Series…. Sure they’ll swap back to continental… THIS IS A FACT!

DO CHANGE WHOLE GOVERNMENT FLEET CAR INTO PROTON! AND AFTER ANOTHER 20YEARS THEN, WE’LL HAIL MALAYSIA BOLEH!

* DON’T WASTE RAKYAT MONEY JUST TO FEED IDIO-TO DEVELOPING JUNKS *

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 5:38 pm

This is not for sale……

• ab (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 5:47 pm

some sort of cheap ‘Monster Garrage Discovery Channel’ project. It too long and ugly from the side. Ps look at Andi A4 and BMW 3 series for good 4 seater cabrio porpotion. And we have’nt mention torsional rigidity yet

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 11:17 pm

@transformer
    I thought all ministers now use Perdana V6 exec for official purposes? Bt of course, when it gets ‘unofficial’, they’re back in their Merc, BMW, Jag, Rolls-Royce etc.

This Neo limo may nt get into production, bt I think the bodykits are quite cool and hv potential to be produced as optional extra for Neo. You know….just like what P2 did wit Viva to easily profit 4k++/car the easy way. Bt at least, Proton needs $$ desperately now to get back into the black…..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 12:49 am

another emotional ppl is prem3377…ive been reading ur comment…k…uve gt ur point…bt sumtimes plz dun b too emotional of wut other ppl said…this is a blog…ure free to comment of wut u want…so plz dun said other fool or etc eventho theyre making a wrong statement or knowledge and shows dat only ure smarter here…i know u drive a proton…i also gt one…but already let it go for my alfa 159…i agree n my satria serve me well bt it has certain things dat it will make u swear to dat car…mbe some of them experience something bad with thier proton….so…im nt saying dat u cannot dfend or protect proton frm d other bashers bt plz mind ur word n some of ur statement is too harsh…if sum1 wrong with thier statement like wut littlefire said…correct it n jgn nk memperkecilkan littlefire…we can share info 2gather by discuss it in peace aite…k…peace frm me…btw if ure angry wit those bashers with the empty statement…jz let it go…it is nt give u any benefit..the case of littlefire…ok..some of his statement mbe wrong…bt correct it la…jgn nk perkecilkan org lain…he also like us…still lot more to learn abt automative industry…im nt backing littlefire bt i felt dissapointing wit some of ur comment…jz rilex man…all of us here are to learn 2gather…so we can discuss it in peace n in a rite way…lastly…peace to all of u…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 1:02 am

to JULIANLEE….ure too harsh man…im nt stupid k…im an architect and ive owned a nissan murano,alfa romeo 147 and hv owed satria bt let it go 4 my alfa romeo 159…still…ive owned proton…if u want to bash proton…bashla…i dun mind bt plz dun said we who own the proton is fool…

• Prem3377 (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 2:42 am

raybrig85,

okie…what you said is acceptable..except of littefire85…that i dont agree…if he is wrong i dont mind at all…but its all total bullshit…i cant take that kinda crap…try typing proton persona in yahoo search…and one of the first website you get is paultan.org and most other forums…and when someone lets say from indonesia kinda keen with proton..and he wanna find out about proton cars..this baseless comment might change or stop him from getting a proton..then how can proton be sucessful soon??imagine some say gen2 is useless..proton can replace the car in 3 or 4 years time..and when they totally replace the model..the new model will carry some of the bad reputation even if its on par with lets say a kia or toyota..so some who is willing to give it a try might buy it..but how many of us buy a car with bad reputation??and when all this people who took a gamble and satisfied with a proton spread words..by the time..proton might be losing market sales from other manufacturers…i think you will get the point..dont throw baseless comments and spoil the reputation of proton which is already having a bad reputation…its not easy to change peoples mindset..it took japanese 60 years and it took korean 30 years plus just to make people think that they can make/produce good products…

since you said you are using an alfa..you should know this very well…alfa dont sell well here because it has had a bad reputation that the engine will catch fire all of a sudden,hard to gets parts..expensive to maintain,not reliable and etc…i bet whenever you say you drive an alfa..all this comments will come from people..even if they have never driven one..the 156 and 147 has won many awards and kinda reliable but its old bad reputation still remain..

so why must we create stories just to prove proton is the worst when they are not??why many people love to make proton look worst than its really is..quality issue is a well know issue and many have the common problem..so its nothing wrong letting the world know the truth..but a new proton which fail puspakom test,a proton engine design taken from renault…proton gen2 suddenly caught of fire while waiting in the traffic light,people used to die in proton more than any cars…made of milo tin material,and etc is all baseless or made up stories..so why must we assume all proton cars are the worst in the auto industry??a gen2 with a butt was said to be a lazy effort by the proton engineers but a some many other manufacturers has been practising this for years get so much of praise and credit for creativity..cost cutting effort and etc..so why we malaysians dont give credit when good efforts are shown but bash every single thing that proton does…even when they created a one off concept for merdeka celebration??????

i just dont get the logic behind it…and this is why blogs and forum are under threat..we cant just write whateve we feel or want..we need to be as true as possible and consider what affect our comments are to people not only here but worldwide…so we do carry a very big responsibility..you can bash..but dont bash blindly..you can suport but please dont support blindly…and people like littlefire85…please dont write!!!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 12:22 pm

ok…i agree of sum of ur comment…yup…still gt ppl think like dat abt alfa…bt theyre nt experience it…i experience it n my car still ok…bt i cant protect n angry wit them like wut u do to others bcoz i know theyre base on old bad reputation of alfa…jz i hv to say jz the car had a lot of improvement in the new gen..bt i dun care of wut they saying…as long as im hepi wit my car n shes nt giving me a problem…i really adore my car…i luv them…so…the point is…same goes to proton…proton also got a old bad reputation…but…some of the old problem still gt in thier new gen car…so…some of the ppl hv experience it…n we cant hide the truth of wut problem proton still face…it happen…credit to them coz they can reduce the problem theyre face…so…eventho u know dat proton had a lot of improvement…bt u cannot change the mentallity of sum ppl who still think proton is nt good…same goes to me…although alfa gt a lot of improvement…i cant change some of ppl which think alfa is nt good,unreliable or spare part mahal….for example abt d spare part..ya..mahal bt if u compare wit let say proton..which u gt to throw out ur money many time…if u total it still same amount u throw out ur money to alfa where u jz to throw out only once…bt i cant change their mentallity abt alfa…it is common gt bashers even if u go to merc or beemer blog or etc..still gt a lot of bashers there…i dun care u want to dfend proton bt plz dun b too emotional when giving a comment to others…they also gt their rite to comment…abt littlefire…dats between u and littlefire…n btw…4 me…the real total bullshit is JULIANLEE…finally…dun worry…4 me uve gt an acceptable comment here n go on..bt cntrol ur emo…cheers…

• schdmitz (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 6:12 pm

Waht type of car is tat?????rojak mix……y they don imitate the front of merc and the side of Jag and the rear of bemer…..dissappointed!

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 6:57 pm

i really adore my car…i luv them

>>>Raybrig85
    You are a true petrolhead!!! Be heppi for that!! What do posers noe abt Alfa? These babies are for the connoisseurs who can appreciate the true beauty of an Italian car!!

I wish, in the near future, I too can own the Alfa Romeo Spyder. Just……….magnificent……..

The problem wit the internet media is….nodoby’s accountable for what they say. So on that part, I do agree wit the gahmen that some ppl are just over the board n made slanderous lies like Proton bashers’ granpa stories. Bt oni that far, cuz I do believe while there’s lies, there’s also truths in the net. You just need to be matured.

cheers n happy motoring every1.

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 8:03 pm

so why must we create stories just to prove proton is the worst when they are not??why many people love to make proton look worst than its really is..quality issue is a well know issue and many have the common problem..so its nothing wrong letting the world know the truth..

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Hahahah, so true, ya know the golf club in sec 13 shah alam? Near it is a high end bungalow area… lots of pricey cars. I’ve seen lots of Mercs stranded by the road waiting for the tow truck.. hehehe. Apparently the highest end mercs with lots of electronics can go dead when things arent working properly. There are definitely more protons in the area where i live… yet i notice more mercs getting stuck by the road :p

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 8:06 pm

Just make car prices of all makes to be as competitive as possible. Such as City and Vios or other makes to sell below 60k which is their suppose selling price. make it a note that any CBU car will maintain the same Tax structure but any CKD cars will have little tax compare to CBU. my point is, have more car brand choices for the people at competetive pricing.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

That’s sort of what the govt is already doing. If you notice, tariffs are coming down. They wont just drop it suddenly as the used car market will collapse.

The max tax on 3L+ cars is only 165% now.

I dare say that the OTR price for most foreign sub 2L cars ON THE ROAD with INSURANCE is only about 30% more expensive than the OTR/INSURED price of the same car in Australia, that traditionally has very little tax on cars.

• trustgtr (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 5:54 pm

looks very crudely built, a cut and paste job of a waja..if this is the type of work done by local engineers..no wonder LG is hired to do most of proton’s design and platform work..we still can’t do our own engineering work..its what that counts in the auto industry..!!! proton keeps hiring text book engineers that’s why..

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 2:17 pm

ezra. thats because the benz attracts your attention more.

when a proton breaks down beside the road. most will think ‘as usual’ and wont take a mental note of it.

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 10:05 am

trustgtr said,
    September 30, 2007 @ 5:54 pm

looks very crudely built, a cut and paste job of a waja..if this is the type of work done by local engineers..no wonder LG is hired to do most of proton’s design and platform work..we still can’t do our own engineering work..its what that counts in the auto industry..!!! proton keeps hiring text book engineers that’s why..

————————————————————–

bro, read the post again.its just a concept car, not a production car. that car was just made for the Merdeka celebration only. proton never announced that they are going to produce it.

text book engineer?
    well basically in university first you got to learn by text book first.after you mas ter all the theories and practical, you get to be more innovative.then you can invent better than what you learnt before.

LG involvement?
    susah la ini macam bro..bila proton design sendiri korang kutuk, bila nak buat usahasama pun kutuk..apa lagi yang korang nak? we ourself dont just eat at one mamak stall only, some time we went to other stall as well, to “tukar selera”. give them time, then we”ll see the result.

happy motoring my beloved Malaysians..

• heavymetal (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 4:34 pm

31 august dah lama lepas,buat apa bising bising….kereta ni cuma utk show, macam kereta berhias..

• aenz81 (Member) on Sep 28, 2008 at 11:49 am

To be fairly, i’ve copy Satria Gemilang picture from “Azlano” websites and put it at my bebo account… all my “online” friend (over 1000 persons) from all over the world especially from USA is intrested with this car, all of them asking me that will this car will be exported to abroad… What just can i answered their question is.. “this just a concept car”

• Kamaldeep on Jun 09, 2009 at 9:32 pm

Did the old Satria convertable ever go into prduction? I doubt it. These are what we call prototypes. Look into Wikipedia if your brain starts to ache due to insufficient knowledge on what prototype means.

I agree most proton models are degrading but not all. Iswara & Wira are best selling models.

Someone commented that Saga sold for more than 20 years, mind it that Volvo sold it's Volvo 240 for longer than that with a little uplifting and engine upgrades (just like the Saga).

Don't kutuk2 too much lah, go wash your own backside first.

Cannot afford to buy car and want to say that you won't buy a Chancellor for RM 138k? No money to buy car and want to talk big? Making a fool of yourself!

• Mr.Viky on Jul 28, 2009 at 12:13 am

Take this easy friends, Always be proud with what we have done. Some country even don't have their own brand car. But we did.

Always support malaysian made product.

Malaysia Boleh!