Interview with BMW 1-Series Product Manager

BMW 1-Series Coupe

BMW Web TV interviews Falko Radomski, Product Manager for the BMW 1-Series, about the new BMW 1-Series Coupe at the 2007 Frankfurt Motor Show. Anyway, good news – for those who are curious you’ll be able to read about how the 135i drives here on this site sometime in November.

Video: Interview with BMW 1-Series Coupe Product Manager

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 4:12 am

Cool

• altimi (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 6:20 am

Wow!!!

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 6:28 am

Paul, you get to test drive it? Cool!! Twin turbo with 306hp? Sheesh! I wish I could get my hands on that wheel! From the size of it, it looks like it’s just about the same size of our Proton Putra, yes? Some people said, the ride and handling in 1 series are rubbish. If that is true, hope BMW has improve on this one.

• narrowband (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 8:24 am

I heard the 1 Series (hatcback) is one of the most well-balanced car (~50:50 weight) on the road, which should give it good handling. I don’t know how far it’s true. Anyway, I’m looking forward to seeing the 1-Series coupe here in Malaysia. And also what German tuning house AC Schnitzer can do with it.

• Paul Tan on Sep 28, 2007 at 9:43 am

aksMs: no, someone else is driving and writing for me. anyway, the 1 series handles really well typical of a bmw and the ride is bearable.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 9:54 am

Proton should do something EXACTLY like this. Why fight the world with mass market cars, when you can go niche and be the king of niche?

• szw (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 1:30 pm

whos dat guy ?

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 2:24 pm

Yes, it is about the same size with the Putra. I have seen it close up a few days ago, parked right next to me at Sainsbury. The same colour with this one, with grey leather interior. The dash panel is pretty much similar to the 4 doors 1-series. Nice car for a lady executive.

• nmh (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 3:13 pm

Sadly its a lot heavier than putra and weirdly slightly heavier than 3 series

• transformer (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 3:37 pm

mummies going to drive this hotrod!

• syanas (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 8:39 pm

i fell in love with this car when i 1st saw it in autocar mag

• Ralliace (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 10:25 pm

It may weigh a lot more than the Putra but its surely more powerful. Power to weight ratio would matter here.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 10:52 pm

putra is stupid, this is awesome, like the old m3

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 12:56 am

i dun think dis car is awesome…mbe awesome in term of driving xperience n technology…bt nt it dsg…still one of the beemer failure…okla…jz compare audi tt with bmw z4 coupe…bmw is slightly better in term of tech n driving exp…bt…d dsg…audi tt far better than z4 coupe…so…i will choose a car wit a good dsg…still dissapointing wit the beemer…i do like beemer bt now starting to hate it…they still adv. in technology bt outdated in dsg…if they ggd in dsging car…theyre perfect…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 12:55 pm

not a nice car….. SERIOUSLY…..

• bobdbilder (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 8:45 am

BMW trying to win back the diehard fans of the old M3. The Z4 M would be its cabrio brethren (no auto, plain manual; I like). Just came back from Germany. In terms of sheer volume, it could never beat VW’s (incl Audi). Its the Gugenheim design thing again. The Germans feels its too detached. But does Munich care? Not when its getting lots of American greenbacks.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 8:19 pm

#
    JULIANLEE2 said,

September 28, 2007 @ 10:52 pm

putra is stupid, this is awesome, like the old m3

____________________________________________________________________________

haha..i think this boy was hit by proton car.that why until now this boy compare all the car to proton even not logic just want to show proton have bad quality.i felt pity for this boy.