ETCM: Nissan Sylphy coming in Q2 2008

Nissan Sylphy
Picture by Dr Long – click to enlarge.

Edaran Tan Chong Motor Sdn Bhd has officially announced that the Nissan Sylphy will be launched sometime in Q2 2008. Members of the media were given a sneak preview today at Edaran Tan Chong Motor’s Serendah assembly plant in Hulu Selangor.

The Serendah assembly plant was built at an investment of RM230 million and employs 624 people. Serendah capacity is currently at 1,440 units a month with a single shift. By September 2008, a second shift will be up, increasing total capacity to 2,400 units. It assembles the Nissan Latio sedan and hatchback, the Nissan Grand Livina and soon, the Nissan Sylphy.

The Nissan Sylphy is known as the Nissan Bluebird Sylphy in other countries. It is available in both 1.5 litre and 2.0 litre variants, and Malaysia will likely get the 2.0 litre variant, powered by the MR20DE engine. This is evident from the 2.0 CVTC badge on the preview car’s boot lid. The 1.5 litre model would not fit into the current Nissan line-up. Nissan aims to sell between 200 to 500 units of the new Nissan Sylphy per month when launched.

The 2.0 litre engine produces 133 PS at 5,200rpm and 191Nm of torque at 4,400rpm, with 90% of the torque, or about 172Nm available from 2,000rpm onwards. This is the tuning most commonly installed in Sylphys around the world. Other variants of the MR20DE like the one found in the Nissan Qashqai produces 140hp at 5,100rpm and 193Nm of torque.

Read the linked related posts below to see spyshots of the Nissan Sylphy on test, as well as other articles about the Sylphy. Look after the jump for more live preview images of the Sylphy.

2006 Nissan Bluebird Sylphy photos and specifications
Nissan Bluebird Sylphy spotted in Malaysia
Taped up Nissan Bluebird Sylphy spotted again!

Nissan Sylphy
click to enlarge

Nissan Sylphy
click to enlarge

Nissan Sylphy
click to enlarge

Nissan Sylphy
click to enlarge

Nissan Sylphy
click to enlarge

Nissan Sylphy
click to enlarge

Nissan Sylphy
click to enlarge

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• local (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 7:38 pm

one thing i wanna says…so ugly..huhuhu

• mct (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 7:47 pm

paul
    this sylphy got cvt tranmission or not ?
    or just simply a cut cost model which had 4 speed auto only

• naikmotoje (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 7:50 pm

sport rim so small… tak padan dengan kereta…

• Paul Tan on Mar 21, 2008 at 7:53 pm

Unfortunately, specs were not revealed at the preview.

• ENZO (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 7:54 pm

yeah, rim too small, +2 inch will be better .

• abtm (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 8:13 pm

with all the wierd name that Nissan’s giving their cars such as Dualis, Qashqai, and for removing the Skyline name from the GT-R they should just call this the Nissan Ugly, because that’s what i think of its looks….and 133PS on a 2.0? my dad once had a CR-V with that sort of power output- over 10 years ago!

• xenith (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 9:40 pm

So ugly…

• hyundai (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 9:51 pm

This car is tonnes better than the ugly+money-cheating Altis!
    Hope that we will get CVT and a right price…

• transformer (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 9:55 pm

those tiny wheels had to go! reminds me of bear in circus riding a small kids bicycle…

dissapointed when Livina 1.6 doesn’t comes with CVTC as Latio 1.6 get it!

• scudz (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 9:56 pm

The front has the looks of a senior citizen, while the rear tries to look young… Whoa FUGLY!!!

• almattitude_v1 (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 10:21 pm

Is the first picture in Malaysia? Coz I see Carlos Ghosn… He is here for the Khazanah Global Lecture, and Renault will be launching four new models tomorrow(contacted you about that Paul) so maybe he is here for that too…

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 10:25 pm

Korea cars look better than this. Not sure if they will need a second shift for that

• banana88 (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 10:33 pm

Well, nothing much special with the design. I think Latio has a better look, hopefully the specs is good else…….

• farmcow (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 10:35 pm

at least its not a cheat like new altis

• jaygan (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 10:56 pm

American look. Need time to get used to.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 11:32 pm

Yeah ok, small cute cars that are easy to park for the lower income group, but the mid to high bracket would probably not go for this.

I remember the Bluebird SSS was never a car a man would be shy of driving. The times they are a changing…

• mct (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 12:14 am

this car same like latio
    have a very spacious cabin

• king (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 1:57 am

farmcow said,
    March 21, 2008 @ 10:35 pm

at least its not a cheat like new altis

_____

i agree… but can’t confirm until nissan confirms the specs and price.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 6:38 am

the wheels…….. look, er, “cute” la and I’m sure Nissan can do better job putting better looking rim, right? or was nissan thinking that once their cars are out from their showroom, most owners will change rims to after market ones….so can save money and trouble

• azrai (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 7:27 am

For sure, we cannot afford it.

• kakilubuk (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 7:45 am

Wow!! Buruknyeeeeeee!!!

• RX7RIDER (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 8:43 am

the rear most like camry and accord
    old design~

• White Jack (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 9:21 am

The back wheel is DRUM brake !

But, price is expected around RM110K, so that’s reasonable :)

• AH SOH (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 9:21 am

Looks like the grown up version of current sentra, nothing exciting!

• RX7RIDER (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 9:35 am

normal~macam camry dgn accord

• tommy73 (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 10:22 am

God, wake me up…..zzzz……

• alyy (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 1:00 pm

This car doesn’t have a “hand-brake”. Some more it got a “clutch” next to the brake paddle.

Certainly not suitable for those driver use to drive a manual car.

• mct (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 5:21 pm

foot brake is at a high position la
    if u didnot pull your leg high enough
    u won’t touch the paddel
    many new car use this design already
    if our latio did not have manual trans i believe
    we would aso have the foot brake too just like other country latio

• swong (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 6:47 pm

Tell you all the truth – I have been in this model (NIssan Bluebird) when i was in Taipei, Taiwan 5 years ago. Shame to Tan Chong – can’t they just bring in up-to-date models.

• swong (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 6:49 pm

I actually got onto the Taxi in Taipei, Taiwan where they are using this model as budget taxi. Now you can hardly see this model in Taipei anymore. This model has become junk already.

• sxe10r (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 9:21 pm

very flick design ~ y Edaran Tan Chong Motor Sdn Bhd import this model … y not the new frontier ??

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 9:30 pm

front = 100% Nissan

rear = the designer has done some copy cat job

rather spend my money on the nice looking + good performance + trusted reliability Sentra or the not-so-nice Latio……

• chaku/maru (Member) on Mar 23, 2008 at 3:56 am

yuck………..argh pain in the eyes

• badsoulfly (Member) on Mar 23, 2008 at 10:17 am

sylphy in singapore can get in 1.5L or 2.0L…maybe this model in pictures come with 1.5 specs and because of that it look so horrible with small rims package… i think 2.0L will coming with rims 16 or 17 inches…

• sxe10r (Member) on Mar 23, 2008 at 2:53 pm

Latio small size with 1.6/1.8 ~ this bluebird big size come with 1.5cc /2.0 >> ?? 1.5TDI or 1.5 VVL ?

• szw (Member) on Mar 23, 2008 at 11:20 pm

wif dat looks , i don think it will sell well , i don really like it .
    it looks like an old man’s car…

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 23, 2008 at 11:35 pm

swong said,

March 22, 2008 @ 6:49 pm

I actually got onto the Taxi in Taipei, Taiwan where they are using this model as budget taxi. Now you can hardly see this model in Taipei anymore. This model has become junk already.

————————————
    when a model has become junk. just sell it in malaysia. as demonstrated by proton, junk cars can sell in malaysia. no joke.

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 4:44 pm

The headlamps try to become like Merc CLS. Keyword: TRY…………

• Kit (Member) on Apr 07, 2008 at 12:24 am

My friends from singapore told me this car’s suspension kinda soft… Is it good ?? or bad… you know the condition of road in malaysia….. so “nice”…..

• csv (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 1:32 am

guess what people.

it’s coming with not just CVT, BUT X-CVT.

gear ratios are listed from 2.369 to final drive of 0.369.

i went for the product training.

2.0 liter model available only in 2 trims. comfort and luxury.

difference between them is seat material and mp3 player.

comes with auto headlights!!!

1 liter 16km. 100-110km at only 2000 rpm!

• grezer29 on Jul 08, 2009 at 4:55 am

there WILL be a market for this make – what with the low % by ETCM finance and reasonably good FC for a 2.0. Not revolutionary – again, junks in Malaysia sell if priced well…

I personally think it looks like UGLY!

• Car in Bangladesh on May 05, 2011 at 6:53 pm

My dream car, bit of high price in our country.