New Kembara Replacement Perodua SUV spotted!

New Perodua SUV

A reader who wishes only to be identified as “The Stik” has sent in these photos of what is obviously the new Perodua SUV to be launched sometime in May 2008, replacing the Perodua Kembara. This trailer carrying a few covered up cars was spotted on Sunday on the Federal Highway. The new Perodua will have a 1.5 litre engine and 4WD.

The new SUV will likely get a new name even though it replaces the Kembara in its product range, and will also be the vehicle that launches Perodua’s new branding, as mentioned by Perodua MD Syed Hafiz in an interview with The Edge earlier.

From these photos, we can confirm that the new Kembara replacement Perodua SUV will be based on the Toyota Rush/Daihatsu Terios. No other detail is revealed other than the alloy wheel design which looks like a 5-spoke design as opposed to the Toyota Rush’s 6-spoke design.

Unlike all of Perodua’s current vehicles which are locally assembled, the new Perodua SUV will be fully imported from Japan and will positioned higher than its Indonesian-import Toyota Rush sibling in terms of pricing.

View a few more snaps after the jump.

New Perodua MPV coming in September 2009

New Perodua SUV

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express a mix of opinions about the new Perodua Kembara replacement, with many questioning its high price of nearly RM100K for a 1.5L 4WD SUV, which seems expensive compared to similar models like the Toyota Rush. There is skepticism about why Perodua is importing this model fully from Japan rather than assembling locally, and doubts if the price reflects Japanese quality or just profit strategies. Some comments speculate the vehicle will be a rebadged, Japanese-import model similar to the Daihatsu Terios or Toyota Rush, expecting it to be smaller and more premium. A few comments wish for a more affordable, local-assembled version, while others see the high price as a disservice to budget-conscious consumers. Overall, reactions are skeptical and critical of the pricing and strategy behind the new SUV.

• xstan (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 5:07 pm

Ah…??? Nothing to see.

For sure its gonna launch anytime soon. For sure its not gonna be cheap.

• ... (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 5:14 pm

The launch of the new kembara is not long now. The new perodua MPV will be launched by end 2009. The base model which is a Toyota will be launched in Japan 2nd half 2008

• namiabeeR1 (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 5:15 pm

look small..

• wacko (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 5:17 pm

For pre-release catalogue on the new kembara replacement just click here>>> http://www.daihatsu.com/catalogue/terios/long/features/index.html

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 5:27 pm

“Unlike all of Perodua’s current vehicles which are locally assembled, the new Perodua SUV will be fully imported from Japan and will positioned higher than its Indonesian-import Toyota Rush sibling in terms of pricing.”

–> more expensive than Rush?

• Paul Tan on Apr 02, 2008 at 5:32 pm

Syed Hafiz said so… refer to article below:

http://paultan.org/archives/2008/03/24/new-perodua-mpv-coming-in-september-2009/

• baldwin (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 5:33 pm

hmm..shape pretty much the same.

all shld stay close to paultan for updates!

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 5:42 pm

wow.. thanks Paul, i missed that article.. Gosh, must be around 100k then.. for a 1.5l small SUV.. hmmmm, is that wise?

btw, how’s Rush doing? selling well??

• ThienWu (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 6:03 pm

paul.. why don’t u just lift up that blue cover….:D sikit sini… sikit sana.. like BLM also la…

• carfanz (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 6:14 pm

it will be da same design as TOYOTA RUSH…go for dis…bet it have 4WD rather none in TOYOTA RUSH

• raybrig85 (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 6:15 pm

small??i think its big…

• Roti Naan (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 6:16 pm

anybody here got x-ray vision to see thru the blue shroud?

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 6:25 pm

it’s small… same as Rush (mentioned earlier by carfanz)

• w_lighter (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 6:42 pm

How come ur sure thats a produa?? SInce we cant see any logo. Did the stik follow it back to p2 factory?

• Paul Tan on Apr 02, 2008 at 6:46 pm

Because a Perodua Technical Support Rusa van was tailing the trailer I guess? You can see in the last photo.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 6:47 pm

LOL.. :)

1 thing for sure, the SUV was carried with a Perodua trailer & follows by a Perodua Technical Support van… & news that a Perodua Suv will be launch soon…

• King Samurai (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 7:10 pm

This Terios/Kembara must be the study unit brought from Japan before mass import. I heard from Perodua sales people the price will be higher than Rush. Main reason is this car is from Japan.. and 4wd…’japan premiumness’ must be translated to higher price setting…

• drgn86 (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 7:19 pm

Imported from Japan? Wow, this has 4WD and is it the shorter wheelbase version (non 7 seater)? But the only thing is the price and the badge….Disappointing…. How can a Perodua vehicle be more expensive than a Toyota? Somemore got Perodua badging….

• fastcx (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 7:39 pm

hmm if its fulltime 4×4 will b abit not flexible…n now perodua doing what naza do? import n rebadge? not even 40% local content?

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 8:02 pm

Me thinks this car is targeted at the middle-high income range population. Like the RAV4, plus it’s not a high volume vehicle. Honestly, you don’t see as many Kembaras on the road as normal cars of the same price range.

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 8:10 pm

wacko said,

April 2, 2008 @ 5:17 pm

For pre-release catalogue on the new kembara replacement just click here>>> http://www.daihatsu.com/catalogue/terios/long/features/index.html
    —————————————————————–

Dude, y do they have a on/off switch for the passenger airbag? It doesn’t make sense….

Paul Tan says: This is so that you can put a kid in a baby chair in the front passenger seat. Refer to this link:

http://www.childcarseats.org.uk/choosing/airbags.htm

• The Unicons (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 8:56 pm

I’m wondering why import the car instead and not locally assemble. Fully import means higher price. Is this because Perodua factory doesn’t have more advance machineries to produce this model?

At first, it was known second car manufacturer in Malaysia after Proton, which was actually rebadge and car assemble just like Proton last time – before the Waja. Now, Perodua just a car importer? Proton already become the REAL CAR MANUFACTURER and in this new Perodua SUV, seems like Perodua is going backward.

Those who wants to get cheaper car from Perodua seems to be very disappointed.

• My50Cents (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 9:47 pm

The Unicons said,

April 2, 2008 @ 8:56 pm

I’m wondering why import the car instead and not locally assemble. Fully import means higher price. Is this because Perodua factory doesn’t have more advance machineries to produce this model?
    …..
    Proton already become the REAL CAR MANUFACTURER and in this new Perodua SUV, seems like Perodua is going backward.

Those who wants to get cheaper car from Perodua seems to be very disappointed.

==============================================

Perodua which learns from Daihatsu/Toyota obviously capable of cutting waste/increase efficiency/increase quality etc. and thus reducing cost. Im sure Perodua must have done PNL (Profit n Loss) or some sort of analysis weather they should assemble or import CBU.

1st u have to consider they already said that its not going to be big volume thus pulling human resources/RnD toolings/machineries maintainence/etc would be a waste of time/cost/efficiency of the factory/etc

Unlike P1 which has Main Factory/MVF/Tanjung Malim, P2 only based in Rawang currently still busy making Myvi’s/Viva’s/etc. P2 may not be able to accomodate a low volume New Kembara, its a waste/muda.

P2 also focusing on newer models to come which im sure they are targeting for higher volume. Thus assembling New Kembara again would be a waste of limited human resource. I dont think both P1 and P2 has a lot of engineers to spare compared to other big players. We,Malaysian car manufacturer, still a toddler compared to them.

Hence, i dont think P2 is going backwards. They are doing what they analysed best for the company and market. Who knows, maybe local assembly may be more expensive or slightly lower quality????.

Just my 50 cents

• bmpower (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 10:34 pm

My50Cents said,
    April 2, 2008 @ 9:47 pm
    Hence, i dont think P2 is going backwards.
    —-

yes you are..
    p2 now is a PROXY to transfer money more and more again from malaysia to japan. Ok.. they leave 30% for UMW.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 10:55 pm

At least NAZA builds them here and pay local people. Just pay license fee to Koreans. Who would thought NAZA being more Malaysian than P2? How about P2 rebranding to drop the DUA from its name. Coz its bloody NOT a national car company. It doesn’t want to expand it’s plant. It doesn’t want to employ more locals. All they want is to get more profits. Given them the chance, they get foreigners working in Rawang.

Go ahead pay RM 100K for a 1.5l, 4WD that will never see mud. See where that money goes to.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 11:03 pm

Why Perodua doesn’t produce the car by itself?
    I think the answer is pretty easy. SUV segment in Malaysia is lacking of economy of scale. Further, we are talking about the sales target of mere 300 units per month here!!
    With simple math, that would yield to approximately 3600 units a year. Dude, even Myvi or New Saga’s average sales in just a month is more than that.
    In Malaysia, sedans reign.

Why it might be more expensive than the elongated Toyota Rush?
    Build-up and performance quality.
    Have you guys seen the interior of UMW Toyota Rush? Then you should compare with Daihatsu Bego’s.
    http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/showroom/lineup/be-go/index.htm
    http://paultan.org/archives/2008/01/29/new-7-seater-toyota-rush-suv-launched-in-malaysia/

Paul, please mark this word…’Nautica’ !!

• edwindudley2003 (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 11:09 pm

perodua is really in an up-beat mood …firing probably it’s last round of salvos at proton…we’ll see what proton’s up-coming mpv has to shoot ?..it better be worth the wait.

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 11:19 pm

Rubbish. I bet Perodua’s new re-branding plan is to further Toyota-fy themselves, expecting the Malaysian market to look at them more as the “Malaysian car with Japanese quality and engineering.” More like zero engineering to me.

After the success of Myvi (of which it is said 1 in every 5 car sold last year is a Myvi) and Viva, instead of taking their own next step to prove their worthiness as a player in the automotive world, they’d cower back into their comfort zone and play the “Let’s rely on our brand power to keep making profit. Anything happen, don’t worry, just re-badge a Toyota/Daihatsu and people will buy.” That is so cheap, they’re only concerned about taking care of their own back without harboring a greater ambition to give back to the community that gave them a plate of rice to eat, a house to live in and a chance for their kids to study overseas.

Proton may not be making as much profit as Perodua, but they’d still give out scholarships, they’d help the flood victims, and they provide the cars for our ministers to enable them to do their duties. They’d also develop their own design (Banzai Azlano-sama~~!!), build their own engine with the help of Lotus even if they’re occasionally borrowing some stuffs from Mitsubishi, Renault and Citroen, this could mean that they’re opening opportunities for our local talents to strut their stuffs, so Proton is answering the call for there to be more local platforms to prevent brain drain of our talented young guns to the foreigners all the time. Besides, as in the Savvy case, using Renault engine may be a good decision, my friends who own them are satisfied that they can have a fun-driving car that’s also very fuel-efficient.

Oh sure, there will be hits and misses, and yes, boo at them when they’re hundreds of millions in losses, but that means they DARE TO FAIL their way to SUCCESS. Any successful people can tell you that making mistake is a part of learning process, so instead of giving up and just let the Germans to take over, they’d rather take their own path to success. I too, was initially hurt to hear it was the Proton management that decided to call off the deal, but today, I can see through what they’re looking at. A new world that’s full of exciting challenges, so bring it on!! Pierce your drill across the heaven, surpass the impossible, and tell those passionless carmakers, “JUST WHO THE HELL DO YOU THINK WE ARE?!?!”

The Kembara serves little purpose than to show that the owner dreams of being the urban safari adventurer, burns excessive fuel for all the wrong reasons. And it’s bloody expensive. Perodua is just disappointing. It’s no wonder Jeremy Clarkson prefer to destroy the Kelisa than the Savvy, it really is, a fridge on 4 wheels built not by a man who wanted to make a great car, but by a corporation that simply wanted to make money. Only.

PS: I guess this is the after-effect of watching Tengen Toppa Gurren-Lagann, most pwnage 2007 anime. Yeah, Proton, don’t believe in yourself, believe in ME, who believes in YOU!!

• bobdbilder (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 12:00 am

I’ve got a theory. Just a theory. If Pero@#$ brings it in, and rebadge this s#!+e will they be able to circumvent the (current) AP requirement? Or will they be using the Japan-Malaysia FTA loophole? Apparently Rush is in due to AFTA. So they are exploiting these two avenues?

They don’t pay tax like every other importer does (oops sorry its excise isn’t it?). They don’t pay local labour. They just need to pay off to fat ar$@ UMW b*gger$.
    It would make sense paying that extra bucks for a full CKD or CBU from Japan. But what if we pay that money and they are not taxed on it? More profits eh? We assume its taxed and punters pay for it. But what if it wasn’t as mentioned above?

That’s a double whammy in my books.

• Siva (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 12:36 am

Black interior.

http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/1018/image190cj5.jpg
    http://img376.imageshack.us/img376/9110/image192gd1.jpg
    http://img516.imageshack.us/img516/6210/image191gg9.jpg

• IsaacVky (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 12:46 am

Wow bloody old design dashboard and ugly P2 Steering.
    I would laugh to whoever sohai that buy this useless car.

• cyful (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 4:11 am

I think perodua had so-so tought in selling new kembara since toyota already bringing in Rush. Both roughly will have same design but different price. In term of branding, most probably Toyota will be much more expensive. If the new kembara is hotter than Rush, maybe Perodua will produce in house.

• naikmotoje (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 6:51 am

hi all..
    firstly i think this SUV so expensive if p2 put the
    price 100k++

and then izzit really based on terios??

• azrai (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 7:26 am

I think they already make a marketing studies and since the low sales volume of this new Kembara they decide they don’t have to assembled it here in Malaysia, just CBUed it directly from Japan. this is business strategy. Anyhow, the same steering wheel with MyVi and Viva? Come on Perodua, this is a slightly over RM100k SUV. Now it looks like a new Vitara is a great bargain. And yes, it doesn’t help our local talent engineer and designer as well an impact to economy if it is develop in our shore.

• abtm (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 7:40 am

4WD pointless

• the stik (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 7:42 am

new info i just got from my resources in perodua (aku ni da cam spy baba plak).. the replacement kembara will be named PERODUA NAUTICA, 1.5litre, 5 seater. all time 4wd.. price lebey kurang rm90k++.. actually he said its a 5seater rush.. i dunno laa, they said like dat so i tell u all laaa..

• sxe10r (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 8:28 am

nth special … already announce this one is fully import … wat will hope for … like the RUSH …

• faizulamin (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 8:33 am

i just found something!
    this rush/bego/kembara’s face (headlight +front grill)
    looks a bit similar with my savvy!
    ya la!
    2 round lamp below, 1 signal light above!
    hehehe.. =p

• epal10 (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 8:34 am

Why perodua must fully import this kembara replacement? I am afraid those daihatsu/toyota preassure perodua to do that.

One more thing..if fully import from japan, it means kembara replacement must have complete spec like japan..right kan??

• sxe10r (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 8:49 am

the only local make 4×4 also become import … the price also skyhigh price … y don’t p2 just close down change the name to daihatsu ?? … P2 SXXX …

• Bebelon (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 8:50 am

i wondering how perodua rebrand itself. personally, i think perodua will rebrand itself more closer to daihatsu? since perodua and daihatsu using the oval shape logo. and about the price for this kembara RM90k is worthless! and this model is really really old already. if i not mistaken, this model has been launched in Japan 4 years ago. perodua just import the warehouse stock into malaysia maybe newer terios is coming to japan.

• Mb_321 (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 8:54 am

Hopefully one day, P2 will able to manufacture and sell their own model under Daihatsu for the least or Perhaps Toyota. If not for global, SEA pun ok..!

• farghmee (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 9:25 am

offtopic

so working at proton is much “lively”er rather than “old stock model-rebadger” perodua?
    i’ll bet if i want to be an automotive engineer, i’ll be happy working with proton.

no offense, frankly speaking.

• bahari (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 9:44 am

Paul, I have a question for you.

If Perodua use the same chasis like rush for it snew Kembara replc, why did Toyota dare to sell the same model in Malaysia?
    Perodua and toyota got win2 situation or just to refresh our auto market?
    i tak nampak apa tujuan berfaedah dua model yang sama dibekalkan dari dua pengeluar yang berlainan.
    Dan nampak sgt, Perodua yang akan untung.
    macam Naza Bestari vs ori Peugoet 306.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 9:56 am

Wah tokmoh, gerun aku tengok semangat Proton ni.. anyway, if Perodua execs in here can answer this, why even consider to sell product at low volumes, on purpose?

Perodua should be making vehicles for the masses. If you need to sell low volume machines, sell premium executive cars, or something that ppl dont need, such as that idiotic drop top daihatsu, can’t remember the name right now, not small SUVs. Small SUVs serves a certain purpose. Hell, I was so excited to get the new Kembara for the ladang, but the new pricing policy dampens my enthusiasm…

• weewitt (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 10:00 am

there goes my future SUV..i cant even imagine of driving it, since the price is SBT=sucks big time!..i dunno wat option do i hv now for cheaper SUV.. :(

• King Samurai (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 10:03 am

Aiya…berapa kali mau cakap aa..Perodua is a direct subdiary of Daihatsu maa.. and Daihatsu belongs to Toyota. Since few years back Daihatsu already increased their majority stake in Perodua. That’s why rebranding is needed. Eventually Perodua will make its way to become more Japanese and make their way out of national car maker status…2010 will be the year of change when WTO kicks in. Now every player in the industry is gearing up for it.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 10:13 am

Why wait? Drop the whole thing now la…. go back to Toyota/Daihatsu (Todai..haha) stop being Malaysian already.. then us Malaysians wont have to argue about pricing anymore.. Unless you assemble in Indon and sell it here as CBU..

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 10:20 am

If it is more expensive then I don’t get it. Perodua should be all about budget models. If anything, they should have branded the current LWB Rush as Perodua, and this shorter sibling as a “premium” model Toyota, kinda like how they do it with the Yaris or Honda does with the Jazz. Weird.

• mockviper (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 10:42 am

they want to follow other country like in indonesia, both daihatsu and toyota sell twin cars with different badge. but its a wrong move in msia, p2 vs toyota? rm90k 5 seater (P) vs rm85k 7 seater (T)
    and now i know why the cabin design and quality on rush is a lil low compared to this new kembara.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 11:43 am

just curious about the price….

• raybrig85 (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 12:17 pm

tokmoh..

the video dat ure watching jeremy hit kelisa..da lapuk..time tu pn savvy x kuar lg…jz make a correction..peace..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 12:27 pm

wow..its kinda hot here..yup..it is xpensive…but mabe perodua had a reason y they import it n sell it with dat kind of price..

for me…new kembara or rush..i think i will go for kembara…build quality mabe better than rush…imported frm japan??definitely…mabe its good…jz wait n c…mabe it is worth wit dat kind of prize…

• the stik (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 1:21 pm

yaa laaa agree wit u raybrig.. kalo tkde duit jgn aa beli kn? heh

• fastcx (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 2:53 pm

mayb their rebranding means they wan2 depart from image of building cheap car? they wan2 rebrand perodua image to b premium car maker, but not old cheap shit…

too bad, now they become car assembler+rebadger+import(bonus)=perodua…now v c y toyota bring in rush with lower quality…so to make perodua looks more premium? too bad, malaysian will still buy it cz thats wat perodua want ppl to believe, they r malaysian toyota

• freeze (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 2:55 pm

From those 3 linked images posted by siva…

If that is A Perodua steering wheel, does that mean its not really CBU? They have to change the airbag as well right?
    Or is it made in Japan, specially for perodua?

Perodua playing mind games with Proton?

MPV or SUV? 5 seat or 7 seat?

If its at RM90K, I think it could go against RAV4 or Xtrail, although just 1.5, but its CBU Japan. Ah…don’t worry, Perodua knows what they are doing, they’re not stupid. Probably got fat profit margin.

or to kill Proton MPV before its even born…

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 2:57 pm

i c.. xde duit jgn beli ke?

old kembara how much? $50k-60k is it? why can’t be price around that? coz ‘new’ model & CBU? i think if around $70k-80k should be enuff?

.. or maybe no profit?

• freeze (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 3:05 pm

ok, its SUV and 5 seater, missed that earlier.

Anyway I bet this model will not be a failure…

• mukhri88 (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 3:08 pm

Govt wont say anything ke? This issue beats the purpose of establishing Perodua. To sell small, cheap cars.

It’s not whether you have money or not, it’s about making cars for the rakyat. Cars that people need, not want. If you ask me what I want, I’ll say AM DB9. If Perodua can’t do that, what the f##k, man…

• mukhri88 (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 3:20 pm

Haha make repilca DB9, drop a Turbo Campro CPS can pull 175hp jadi ar.. like Chinese manufacturers :)

• mukhri88 (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 3:22 pm

Maybe they’ll introduce the 1.3 4WD later at RM60,000

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 3:31 pm

1 thing puzzle me.. why Perodua want to badge a 5seater ‘Toyota/Daihatsu’ SUV & sell it much more expensive than a 7 seater Toyota badge SUV (Rush)?? as a layman, my thought should be the other way aroud? why not P2 rebadge that 2WD Rush & leave the much more expensive,higher quality,4WD, shorter version to Toyota? it make sense..

1)cheaper,lower quality,value for money = P2
    2)more expensive, higher quality,better spec = Toyota

or maybe they really want to do what fastcx said…

“mayb their rebranding means they wan2 depart from image of building cheap car? they wan2 rebrand perodua image to b premium car maker, but not old cheap shit…”

but then again, a re-badge CBU with higher quality, what’s so great about that? unless they want to con atuk2 kat kampung.. LOL :)

• the stik (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 3:47 pm

kereta utk rakyat? hehehehe.. u want all things free eh? udah ler tu, rilex² sudaahhh… mai sechawan ~

• mr42 (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 4:31 pm

Hi…

Like what osh-kosh said, that is the same thing that keep puzzling me too…

Why does Perodua wanted to rebadge a 5 seater Toyota SUV and then try to sell it more expensive than a 7 seater Toyota Rush??

Rebranding?

I really think it is much better option if P2 just rebadge the Rush from Indonesia: and sell the 4WD, shorter version, CBU’ed from Japan, maybe with a higher quality equpiment as a Toyota…

• fyzal (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 4:41 pm

it is PERODUA NAUTICA 1.5L
    will be launching next month (May 2008)
    price is almost RM100k

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 4:48 pm

fyzal said,
    April 3, 2008 @ 4:41 pm

it is PERODUA NAUTICA 1.5L
    will be launching next month (May 2008)
    price is almost RM100k

—————————-

already informed by others earlier la bro… why not P2 just round up to RM100k.. “Jimat & Senang Kira” :)

• mukhri88 (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 5:05 pm

Woi bila plak aku kata free… cheap bro, not free but then if dowant to make cheap cars anymore, say so ar.. toksah sibuk2 argue about prices. Everyone argues about price cos Perodua supposed to make cheap cars. Bila pulak aku mintak free.. Nescafe tarik kurang manis satu.. yamseng!

• topgunthang (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 5:25 pm

i think its a good move by perodua. even though it wont sell as much. i beleive toyota’s brand power will save the crap product that comes out of indonesia. but perodua’s brand cant.

so in the end you still need to see both cars in flesh and reviewed to decide whether its worth it. if the quality is there i would pay for it.
    my only reservation is that 1.5litre engine on a awd on a small suv whether its enough.

• epal10 (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 6:08 pm

yeah…RM100k for 1.5litre engine and awd..now most of malaysian cannot affort to buy suv even small suv from P2..

• mano (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 7:02 pm

P2’s new kembara’s pricing wise will surely push ppl away
    why la nearly rm100k
    viva = rm35-40k (0.8-1.0cc)
    myvi = rm40-50k (1.0-1.3cc)
    so ‘nautica’ aka kembara shld be around rm60-70k

anyway why the name nautica la????the car can become a boat is it??

• juanbeibei (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 7:11 pm

hi all, based from the linked photos, it looks ok n nice.. interior slightly old (in my eyes, it looked like the new incoming proton model said to be perdana’s dashboard).. but imho, the size doesnt fit the price.. its quite small just like the current kembara.. 60-70K more or less will be ok but not as high as 90K and above.. haha.. just giving some opinions..^^

• wong (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 7:44 pm

Wait for it to hit the showrooms,just look-look and touch-touch ask some question as though very interested,and of course I won’t buy it,because no need to….

• fastcx (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 7:53 pm

topgunthang also give a good point, toyota rather use indon made rush as toyota,n jap rush as p2’s…toyota name can save the rush, as toyota knows malaysian dun bother, as long as its toyota slap on the front grill…sad case for malaysian…toyota is full of accountant

• hetfield85 (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 8:05 pm

The new kembara will be a short wheelbase version of toyota rush rite ?

• szw (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 9:14 pm

not gonna even consider 1

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 10:42 pm

raybrig85 said,

April 3, 2008 @ 12:17 pm

tokmoh..

the video dat ure watching jeremy hit kelisa..da lapuk..time tu pn savvy x kuar lg…jz make a correction..peace..

>>>>>

Yea, it was from his 2005 DVD “Heaven and hell”, and I’m not really sure too whether Savvy is already in UK for Clarkson to say “turn off the screen, I dun wanna look at it.” But think about it: Savvy has something that’s interesting enough to catch their attention (My first Lotus tagline), and aside from it’s unusual exterior, they couldn’t be bothered to talk about it!! That, to me, is much, much better than being labeled as a car that’s built by accountants, more so by Clarkson. He’s a very influential guy, love it or hate him, but that facts stay true enough for ppl to make online petition for him to contest as the next British PM.

Until recently, Clarkson does bash Perodua, in Times column (where he writes weekly Sunday review), I remember in his version of “Car of the Year 2007”, he wrote abt slow drivers, citing a woman who’d drive abt 10mph in London and said “It’s always a Perodua, isn’t it?” or something close enough.

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 11:18 pm

So the Kembara is probably going to be named Nautica? What, so that every Kembara owner gets freebie from Nautica activewear? View their products here:
    www.nautica.com

Regarding the 10mph in London, read the news here:
    http://www.reuters.com/article/oddlyEnoughNews/idUSL0463081120080104?feedType=RSS&feedName=oddlyEnoughNews

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 11:35 pm

ill on produa now
    i never like their cars
    tis CBU make me wan to puke
    100k for 1.5L
    dump old design model with even higher price?
    岂有此理~~

• king (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 1:52 am

bobdbilder said,
    April 2, 2008 @ 10:55 pm

At least NAZA builds them here and pay local people. Just pay license fee to Koreans. Who would thought NAZA being more Malaysian than P2? How about P2 rebranding to drop the DUA from its name

___

yeah…better rebrand P2 to T2 (toyodua) …blardy lying company getting special benefits of a local manufacturer but sucking all the profits abroad

• king (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 1:59 am

IsaacVky said,
    April 3, 2008 @ 12:46 am

Wow bloody old design dashboard and ugly P2 Steering.
    I would laugh to whoever sohai that buy this useless car.

___

me too…

• king (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 2:06 am

epal10 said,
    April 3, 2008 @ 8:34 am

Why perodua must fully import this kembara replacement? I am afraid those daihatsu/toyota preassure perodua to do that.

___

aiyoh…fully import must pay for AP…but since it will be rebadge as beruktua…so it will be exempted from excise duty. but beruktua will charge you the full price including the duty all lump together in 1 price…so that they they can get a ultra fat profit to feed the blood sucking UMW bosses and their cronies…geddit?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 8:02 am

tokmoh..

savvy is not in uk market by dat time…jeremy not bashing or kutuk like hell at perodua only…he done it to proton too…so be fair tokmoh…ur statement jz shows dat he only bashing perodua only…its not fair

” But think about it: Savvy has something that’s interesting enough to catch their attention (My first Lotus tagline), and aside from it’s unusual exterior, they couldn’t be bothered to talk about it!!

haha..dun dream on…most of p1 and p2 car has been label by british journalist for sure as a car are not recommended and avoid to buy in their country…and jz look at the verdict they gave to our p1 n p2 car…the highest is 3/5…mostly 2/5 or 1/5…and the sad thing…savvy the car u praise..jz gt 1/5 star in their standard…even fifth gear..who also tested savvy in their comparison test segment…and savvy won..yup..dats good…BUT…jz surf to their website…they labeled the savvy is one of the car are not recommended to buy…to be fair enough in my statement…same goes to perodua…not recommended and avoid…

and 1 thing…kelisa,kenari is the only perodua car on sale right now in uk market which is we can call it as an outdated car in their standard..so…its not fair if u want to compare it with the savvy with a new tech etc…myvi is not in uk market coz daihatsu oredi sell their sirion/boon in uk..think abt it tokmoh..

so…p1 n p2 hv to do sumting to hv a trust frm other journalist especially the british…ok..peace n cheers…sori out of topic..hehe

• the stik (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 8:20 am

yalaaa bukan free.. just talking² bro.. i wonder also why on earth it’ll be called nautica.. merujuk kamus mini inggeris-melayu keluaran fajar bakti sdn bhd aku ni – nautica bermaksud berkenaan dgn perkapalan dan pelayaran.. ekk?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 8:38 am

mabe we can use it as boat oso…dats y they call it nautica..hehehehehe..jk

• mukhri88 (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 9:25 am

Saya tau! They wont be calling it an SUV but ATV. All-Terrain, for land, water and even air, can spread wings and fly away to Japan. Haha water based name for land car…

But the Japs have even wierder names for their cars, idiotic even. Altis(nama dapur) la, Rush(terkejar-kejar) la, Vios la etc..yamseng!

• the stik (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 9:32 am

then just continue what perodua already use b4 this laa.. sblm ni kancil, kelisa, rusa, kenari, kembara… so y dun just name it perodua kelicap? or kumbang? or flower horn? or perodua jelajah? or maybe they got viva n myvi, so y dun use perodua mykad? or myluv? or my sechawan ~ hehehehe.. joking in the morning..

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 9:38 am

topgunthang said,
    April 3, 2008 @ 5:25 pm

i think its a good move by perodua. even though it wont sell as much. i beleive toyota’s brand power will save the crap product that comes out of indonesia. but perodua’s brand cant.
    ———————————-

i was thinking about that also… but, if P2 re-badge & sell that 7seater Rush then they should probably can sell a lot cheaper with a good profit right? Toyota Rush price start around $85k, if i’m correct then P2 can sell it much more cheaper coz of is ‘manufacturer’ status here.. that make $70k-80k price bracket is a reasonable price for re-badge P2 Rush (if happen in the 1st place loh)…

i can’t think of any 7seater small SUV being sold here except Rush, that make Rush even better choice for budget family who’s looking for a 7seater.. as Naza Citra around that price if not mistaken ($70k-80k) maybe P2 can capture some of the MPV customers… wait a minute, now naza (P3) would be pissed off with Perodua (P2).. this can’t be happening.. right… hmmm…

anyway, frankly speaking how many do u think will buy a much more expensive P2 (5 seater,higher quality) rather than a Toyota (7seater,low quality).. hey, it’s a Toyota badge & can carry more people versus a P2 badge that can carry less.. the ‘same’ SUV except for the long/short version 4WD/2WD with a diff trim quality.. which make me thinking, why on earth P2 want to sell a product which doubly will sell well with that price? or just to add another lineup in ‘their’ models?

bottomline is, i don’t think Nautica will sell well (yes, it’s a low volume product but my feelings say it would be sell less than P2 expected).. i could be wrong but it’s just what i think :)

• car_craze (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 6:46 pm

Hey I thought ‘Nautica’ is the name of an expensive watch! Hope they don’t get sued for using the same name. We all know that the SUV is rebadged, but at least find an original name! (Cost down ka?)

• king (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 7:48 pm

the stik said,
    April 4, 2008 @ 8:20 am

yalaaa bukan free.. just talking² bro.. i wonder also why on earth it’ll be called nautica.. merujuk kamus mini inggeris-melayu keluaran fajar bakti sdn bhd aku ni – nautica bermaksud berkenaan dgn perkapalan dan pelayaran.. ekk?

_____

maybe the car’s handling is like a boat/sampan during corners? with super body-roll.

• topgunthang (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 8:23 pm

osh kosh.
    yea maybe the ‘perodua rush’ can sell alot better. either way, its not looking too good for perodua at the moment even if the quality of the indo product does not holds out to an acceptable level. things might be more interesting if perodua could bring the daihatsu it in at the same price as the rush. they need another ‘myvi’ where its priced right and still looks good. the nautica only fulfills one of these criterias. a 1.8 litre engine would help

i think toyota just wants to punish the malaysian government for not opening up the car market for fair competition. and award the profit to indonesia.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Apr 05, 2008 at 2:18 am

This product placement is a bunch of crap. I bet you the guy who choose the product, placing and pricing is a total loser. Must be one-man-show decision. You know, it’s the; ‘I’m the boss and I know what’s right’ syndrome. They probably throw piles of stats on him and he still says no. Then he has this board of directors who are yes-men who are shit scared of this man to tell him his wrong.

Aiya sounds like Pak Lah. :-)

• SY0H (Member) on Apr 24, 2008 at 3:39 pm

Asalamualaikum/Hello,

Long time no see forumers, the last time I was in PaulTan.Org, I was bashing Proton Cars. Well, they deserve it, I’m not gonna take back my words, thanks to us critics, Proton is doing “a little bit” better, for now (grinning). Well, ever since the last election I have become more liberal (just like our dear Pak Lah) to understand that what matters most is the consumer’s demand for the best quality and cheaper price for vehicles. I mean in India, the famous TaTa car producer is a good example of a people-oriented-company, heck they’ve produced the world’s cheapest car which cause less that RM5k targeted to the lower income group!!!! My Yamaha LC 135 Motorcycle is far more expensive than that. I can’t understand why our local car manufacturer are so “Tamak” (greedy) to reduce the car pricing. Please make at least ABS (Anti-Lock Braking System) and Air Bags as standard issues for all new local cars. If not, I hope our new elected MPs (you know who) could bring up this matter in the parliament. That’s why we elected you in the first place. “No minum2 kopi” except lunch hour! Back to business, Perodua, why in the f*** you’re selling a RM100K very small 4-wheel-drive SUV (same goes to Proton many years ago when they sell Perdana at a very high price, with a mini-fishing pond at the spare tyre compartment, whenever rain water leaks in)? Business + a little bit of safety concern can bring your brand a long way my dear Perodua and Proton. Please see it thru. Thank you.