Nissan Sylphy 2.0 Initial Details and Pricing

Nissan Sylphy

Edaran Tan Chong Motor has unveiled initial details on the Nissan Sylphy that it will be launching soon on their website. I will list them here for your convenience. Showrooms are now taking bookings for the car.

The Nissan Sylphy will only feature one engine variant, which is the MR20DE engine. The 2.0 litre engine is a long stroke engine with variable valve timing producing 133 PS at 5,200rpm and 191Nm of torque at 4,400rpm. Power will go to the front wheels via an XTRONIC CVT transmission featuring gear ratios from 2.349 to 0.394.

The car’s suspension design uses an independent MacPherson strut setup with stabilizer at the front, and a torsion beam at the rear, presumably to improve boot space, which totals up to 504 litres. The car has ventilated disc brakes at the front and drum brakes at the rear, with ABS, EBD and Brake Assist. The power steering system is of the electric type as opposed to a hydraulic system. Fuel tank size is 52 litres, and Nissan claims the car can travel 16km on 1 litre of fuel as tested under Japan’s 10-15 test mode.

The Nissan Sylphy’s 2700mm wheelbase is the equal to the Honda Civic’s which means impressive cabin space is highly likely. The Sylphy and the Civic have the longest wheelbase measurements among the C-segment sedans in Malaysia, with the Hyundai Elantra coming in second at 2641mm.

Safety features for the Nissan Sylphy include dual SRS airbags, driver double pre-tensioner seatbelt, front passenger single pre-tensioner seatbelt, an active head restraint, and ABS brakes. The car has a decent equipment list including an automatic headlamps which turn on when it is dark, headlamp aim control from within the cabin, fog lamps, speed-sensitive wipers, a single CD audio player with 4 door speakers and 2 front tweeters, a glass printed audio antenna, electrically adjustable and foldable wing mirrors, a foot-operated parking brake, and UV-cut windshield glass.

The interior is done up in sand beige with cherry wood trim, and the steering is wrapped with leather, with an anti-microbacterial coating. For the standard Comfort Package, the seats and door panels are wrapped with Masumi fabric, while the Luxury package upgrades these to combination leather. The Luxury package also adds a 6-CD audio player with Mp3 support, and full V-Kool tinting.

6 colour options are available: Tungsten Silver, Cecil Blue, Sapphire Black, Chardonnay Gold, Brilliant White and Twilight Grey. The following is an initial price list which could change (even the specifications above could change) when the car is finally launched:

West Malaysia
Nissan Sylphy 2.0 Comfort Package – RM113,000
Nissan Sylphy 2.0 Luxury Package – RM117,000

East Malaysia
Nissan Sylphy 2.0 Comfort Package – RM116,000
Nissan Sylphy 2.0 Luxury Package – RM120,000

Langkawi and Labuan
Nissan Sylphy 2.0 Comfort Package – RM76,000
Nissan Sylphy 2.0 Luxury Package – RM80,000

More images after the jump.

Nissan Sylphy

VIDEO: Nissan Sylphy TVC 1

VIDEO: Nissan Sylphy TVC 2

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• brutus (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 5:52 am

Tan Chong! Why still drum brakes for the rear wheels??

• azrai (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 7:09 am

I see this yesterday in Tan Chong wepage. Pity on them, try to price the car not wisely.

• normaluser (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 7:52 am

The dark woodtrim color is nice, but the interior is drab looking. The black on top & beige bottom scheme looks weird. The steering is directly taken from the Latio while the speedometer looks similiar to the Sentra’s.

I see that TCM is desperate to sell this car alongside the Civic. Despite the price is within the same range of Civic & Altis 1.8, its still lacks the latter’s equipments & charisma. I expect standard MP3, steering control buttons & gated gearshift for a car at this price range.. Just my first impression & opinion.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 8:10 am

saw this car in china.. the strange thing is, it looks quite small in real life.. about the same size as the outgoing sentra. even the silhouette looks like a sentra.

from the exterior, it certainly shows promise though, and looks modern and current, but the interior looks really old fashioned to me.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 8:56 am

*yawn* morning2 make me sleepy already…..

• arch747 (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 9:01 am

what?! no audio control on the steering for a RM 117,000 piece of car??

• jolly_idiot (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 9:19 am

another uncle car on the road. I wonder if this equipped with Aerokit, how well it’ll improve the look? Any youngster out there may interested in buying the Slyphy? RM117K, I may rather go for Altis,Civic or mabbe the long waited Lancer. More stylish and up class.

• tikus (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 9:20 am

Really Maximun Profit for Tan Chong to use drum brake.Change to disc brake lar!!

• fastcx (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 9:36 am

come on! dnt start the drum brake vs disk brake again! its been discussed long time ago!

if u guys dnt mind reading, read wat paul wrote! the feature at that price is not even ur honda civic n toyota corolla altis can match! typical bashers -.-” either u guys don’t know how to read or blinds..u guys r incredible!

• TheophilusChin (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 9:40 am

as a Nissan fan, sadly I must agree with most that the pricing is a bit ambitious. Even if it comes with quite decent amount of accessories. True, drum brakes for this size and price?

That pricing, it would have worked if the Sylphy was launched here 2 years ago, which the rest of the world did get their new Sylphy.

You see, now you already have brand new Altis (though only 1.8), proven Civic 2.0, Lancer 2.0 (also newer than Sylphy), along with Mazda 3 too. Then only Tan Chong brings in a new model, unheard of by Malaysians, that’s already reaching it’s mid-life cycle.

But… look at Nissan Malaysia for one thing, Tan Chong IS a non-Bumiputera company. It’s hard for them to get any paperwork done properly PERIOD! I’m sure it’s not their preference to bring in models this late. Being who they are, a non-Bumiputera company, they get ZERO AP.

So you now know why the CBU Nissan Micra/March and Teana/Cefiro are so aching-ly expensive in Malaysia. Tan Chong’s choice? More like the whole automotive discrimination/conspiracy.

Back to topic… Yes the Sylphy is a nice car, but two years late to the party, and a price not encouraging sales.

• tOrqueMonst3R (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 10:42 am

bluebird? say that in hokkien..

• adil2008 (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 10:56 am

The Design is look good, worth for the money for 2.0, only 1 competitor in market is Hyundai Sonata 2.0, the current Sonata in Malaysia is the old version of Sonata, the latest Sonata interior have totally change, look much elegance, same like new Accord.
    Disc brak or drum brake, most important is can break and stop, EDB will assist the brake when neccessary.
    Navara is huge, i saw the car in thailand, is so famous in thailand, TOP 4X4 in thailand is ISUZU-D Max, TOYOTA-Hilux, NISSAN-Navara, MITSUBISHI-Triton and FORN, CHEVROLET, MAZDA is not so famous in Thailand, Malaysia is TOYOTA-Hilux, MITSUBISHI-Triton, ISUZU-D Max, Ford Ranger & Mazda-BT50 (discontinued) by the berjaya group.

• abtm (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 11:21 am

interior is for apek taste, ppl who buy this car are usually 30-40 i’d say, so why not make it black? the seats will get dirty in a month

• kenfresh (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 11:32 am

If there was a competition to design the MOST BORING looking car this will definitely get FIRST PRIZE.

Obviously Nissan cannot keep up with the trend.

* Nissan designer cleaning office found a 1992 sketching of a car design draft, OH GOODIE LET’S LAUNCH THIS!*

• redwings (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 11:43 am

My opinion, is something different…different people different taste… civic n altis are everywhere…for a 2.0liter car with sub rm120k, I still think is fine..

Consumers got many choices to get segment C with 2.0liter engine.. Can’t wait to see the test drive results..

Paul, please get all around those segment C 2.0liter car for comparison…Saw the article in NST about Mazda3, Civic and Ford Focus previous…but need more details in term of handling, comfort level, car full specification…

• Roti Naan (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 12:01 pm

wah, got Comfort and Luxury package from this model.

Er, is there an ECONOMY package??

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 12:40 pm

this is the replacement of Sentra or what?

not bad, but rear part similar to Altis, yuckzzzz!!!

but if to bring down Toyota from the stable top position, Nissan (plus Honda and Mitsubishi) must do much better….

• nmh (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 1:01 pm

torsion beam…….uwekk

• B1u3Be@m (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 1:10 pm

This car is suppose to replace Nissan Sentra right?

• IsaacVky (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 1:24 pm

nmh said,

May 30, 2008 @ 1:01 pm

They have got Renault backing up, european torsion beam is not the chicken torsion beam you found on local japanese cost cutting vehicle.
    Savvy got its torsion beam from Renault too.

Renault Clio and Toyota Vios, which handling ride better. I think you already know the answer.

• waja_fr3ak (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 3:03 pm

omg…100k++ still usin drum for da rear…sounds silly…TCm try’g 2 make huge profit by tiz ccar seems…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 3:26 pm

although mechanically, and from a braking point of view, drum brakes in the rear for this type of car doesnt really make a difference. the point is, at that price, whether is works or not, I think consumers would feel a lot better about the car if there was discs in the back.

• Redskins (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 3:54 pm

Personally, i still prefer the old (current) Sentra. Despite the sluggish engine, the look-department is excellent.

• h2k (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 4:02 pm

torsion beam & drum brakes at the back for >RM100k car competing with other 2.0 cars…come on TCM….so kedekut….i dont thk it will sell well…doesnt look nice at all…though rear lamp look like lexus :P

• ingolstadt (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 4:42 pm

Civic wins another battle before it’s being fought.

Nissan, Toyota really putting alot of effort to make sure Civic rules in this segment.

Yawn~~

• gajen (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 5:16 pm

i prefer civic then altis then maybe focus then lancer or this hehe

• ScoobyPower (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 6:16 pm

Lancer and Civic still the best….
    Shu …shu …slyphy !!!

• mystvearn (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 9:40 pm

Problem is this car is launching quite late in Malaysia. Thats all. Looks outdated. People who don’t mind the looks, want big space would not mind going for this car. The last time I saw those kind of central air vents were on a pickup truck…

• ncm6151 (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 9:43 pm

wa so expensive!!!rear drum brake,small sport rim,out dated design,133ps engine and relatively heavy kerb weight.i think TCM not sincerely in devoloping car market in malaysia.how can this type of car fight with Altis, Civic, Lancer and even Elantra.TCM just bring this car for fun.they only focus on indon made Livina.

• ncm6151 (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 9:47 pm

TCM never bring in a good car after the sentra.so disappointed….

• tOrqueMonst3R (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 11:08 pm

headlamps looks like porsche 911.

• csv (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 11:45 pm

oh please, will everyone stop bashing and start being impartial.

look at the equipment and pricing level we get here. 113k for a 2 liter car, that has auto headlight, aiming control, footbrake and better interior. engine is also CVT gearbox.

compare that to the top of the line 1.8 altis that cost 118k for 1.8 liter and still runs on conventional 4 speed gear. and common on the road. do you think the altis can fight the sylphy, pricing and equipment wise??!

which would you prefer. Drum brake is drum brake, it might lose a little, but there’s edb,abs and BA to support it.

and ask yourself, when’s the last time Nissan has failed in reliability? huh? huh?

as for the civic, well, the looks are on different spectrum. but people who has a larger family would defintely go for the sylphy with its bigger interior and family friendly features while the civic would appeal to the sportier people.

so don’t bash anyhow and think through wisely first.

• csv (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 11:47 pm

and look at the torque figures. 191nm for a 2liter engine, you dont get that from honda or toyota.

horsepower is the potential of the car’s engine, torque is how much of that power you get to the wheels. you use torque daily, you use horsepower when going on high speed….

• sunny_10 (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 11:55 pm

West Malaysia
    Nissan Sylphy 2.0 Comfort Package – RM113,000
    Nissan Sylphy 2.0 Luxury Package – RM117,000

East Malaysia
    Nissan Sylphy 2.0 Comfort Package – RM116,000
    Nissan Sylphy 2.0 Luxury Package – RM120,000

Langkawi and Labuan
    Nissan Sylphy 2.0 Comfort Package – RM76,000 Nissan Sylphy 2.0 Luxury Package – RM80,000

For West Malaysia: Sale & Excise Duties and Taxes = RM37,000

So we give away a P Saga to buy this car. But then, it is beautiful car indeed.

Could we request the gov to be transparent and make the car dealers specify and itemize the Sale & Excise Duties and Taxes on all price list. We remember back in the good old days even advertisements in newspapers must quote the price which we seldom see.

• mokkf82 (Member) on May 31, 2008 at 12:32 am

Performance wise, the car is consider a fine car. Yeah it might make u yawn in the early morning with one look at the back. But we all know that Nissan car is a well and easy maintain car.
    Have u guys really ever saw one Nissan broke down in the middle of the road? I’m not a typical Nissan supporter. But i will buy this car if I’m old enough to have kids of my own.

• osh_kosh (Member) on May 31, 2008 at 1:23 am

csv said,

May 30, 2008 @ 11:47 pm

and look at the torque figures. 191nm for a 2liter engine, you dont get that from honda or toyota.

———————

what about Mitsu Lancer? i believe a slightly more expensive Mitsu win both in term of Hp & torque…

honestly, this car targeted a different kind of buyer… same as Sonata but diff from Civic/Lancer/Altis… long story cut sort, uncle’s car :)

• n8cky (Member) on May 31, 2008 at 1:34 am

B1u3Be@m said,

May 30, 2008 @ 1:10 pm

This car is suppose to replace Nissan Sentra right?
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Blue Bird?

• n8cky (Member) on May 31, 2008 at 1:51 am

Independent Torsion?I don’t know..My Altis too, using Torsion, comfortable..
    Drum?..omg~I tot it is 110k+?
    Or at least ventalited/ solid disc? What happens if hydro-planing at GohTong?
    Kinda Kiam siap Tan Chong,don’t let me saw top manager in sentul fish head again..zzz

• n8cky (Member) on May 31, 2008 at 2:00 am

I tot sentra was replaced by Latio?
    The Sylphy is to replace Bluebird?
    Instead of Altis, I would say the rear looks more like Elantra.
    The front looks like 911,zzz…So those basher who bashed new Saga like Mer-c,shut up.
    Price wise..abit wiser compared to Altis, at least TCM learned from Mits Lancer..but don’t learn the worst part..waiting list.
    gotta get back my booking fee from Mit, Paul, any idea?

• ys (Member) on May 31, 2008 at 12:18 pm

dont really like the outlook of this car.. maybe not my type.
    Price.. 110+k for 2.0 liter .. seems fair enough.
    but TC need to work hard in order to attract its buyer..
    i still prefer Lancer compare civic and this.

• IsaacVky (Member) on May 31, 2008 at 1:05 pm

n8cky said,

May 31, 2008 @ 1:51 am

Torsion beam, a non independent suspension setup, is no way to be more comfortable than a independent suspension setup. Toyota had the absorbers damping so soft that you’re actually floating on the highway.

Hydro-planning is about the tire not drum ..

Actually drum is more efficient than a disc brake.
    Good low temperature operating.
    It provide more braking power and that’s why modern disc brake need servo but the old car with drums front and rear doesn’t need servo. The piston(wheel cylinder) for a drum brake is sooo much smaller than a caliper piston.
    The cons of drum, its not ventilated, water & heat is difficult to release
    But since its use on the rear wheel, doesn’t make much difference.

• Johnny (Member) on May 31, 2008 at 2:30 pm

Nissan Sylphy worth to get it. Why?

Sylphy’s XTRONIC CVT :
    XTRONIC CVT (Continuously Variable Transmission) shifts through a near-infinite number of gear ratios to keep the engine in its most efficient rpm range, allowing you to enjoy optimal fuel economy and power without any shift shock. Transmission featuring gear ratios from 2.349 to 0.394. None of Altis (0.7) and CIVIC (0.5) have this lowest ratio. Else from Slyphy, Nissan’s MURANO, Teana, Dualis(Qashqai) and March already have this feature as well. Enjoy your Test Drive… Kelvin Lim : 012-4121225
    Video Clip: http://youtube.com/watch?v=clqfe8cs1_E

Sylphy’s MR20DE Engine:
    A straight-4 all-aluminum automobile engines with variable valve timing co-developed by Renault and Nissan. Else as mention above Torque and RPM. This MR20DE also have Compact Balance Shaft feature as well. This technology also applicable for CEFIRO, hope can recall back. It significantly reduces noise and vibration, giving an exceptionally quiet, comfortable drive.
    This Slyphy is world’s Cleanest gasoline-fueled vechicle, reducing exhause emissions.

http://www.jsme.or.jp/English/images/awardsn2101.jpg
    http://www.nissan-global.com/EN/DOCUMENT/PDF/ENVIRONMENT/TECHNOLOGY/en_engine_ura.pdf

Safety: 6 STAR JNCAP:
    One of the higher Safety car in the market.
    http://www.nasva.go.jp/mamoru/english/2007/type/17_bluebirdsylphy.html

Worth to get Nissan Slyphy.

• osh_kosh (Member) on May 31, 2008 at 6:18 pm

hmm… & u r a Nissan SA??

want to know something, what is the advantages of Slyphy CVT compare to Lancer CVT?

Paul Tan says: Both Nissan and Mitsubishi uses CVT transmissions from Jatco. Please refer to this page:

http://www.jatco.co.jp/ENGLISH/PRODUCTS/cvt.html

Look at the JFF011E. Both the Sylphy and Lancer (listed as Galant Fortis on that page as that is the Japanese market name) uses the same gearbox, probably with some technical changes here and there.

Nissan spun off its transmission division into a new company which ended up as JATCO. Mitsubishi did the same with their transmission division, and JATCO bought over Mitsubishi’s transmission company in 2003.

• Johnny (Member) on May 31, 2008 at 6:40 pm

I’m not a Nissan SA.
    Just a normal End User like other. Had been more than one year survey varies of car currently in Malaysia market where, can meet my minimum spec. and within my affordable level. I like Sylphy as I did deep understanding about this car as I share above.

Can you share with me, your finding about Lancer’s CVT? As I know Transmission itself had stepper motor to control the CVT’s speed.

• osh_kosh (Member) on May 31, 2008 at 6:59 pm

eh… answer by Paul already… thanks

i.c… i though u r one of Nissan SA (coz of the contact number) :)

• king (Member) on May 31, 2008 at 7:43 pm

i think this sylphy has got a better total package than the altis 1.8 anytime. So if this is overpriced, then the altis is a mega rip off.

• hyundai (Member) on May 31, 2008 at 9:53 pm

The major selling point of the Sylphy is the superb accomodating space, best material used (most soft plastics), best boot space, best fuel economy, best sound proof and road comfort that blended with european feeling. So maybe it won’t be a very popular car because most Malaysian don’t know how to appreciate the car and they care the exterior more than the the self-quality of the car. So only time can prove that Sylphy is really a very serious contender. At this price, i can only say that it is the most valuable japanese car in this market. And i don’t think that this car can draw attention of most youngster so only those people with family will be attracted by this car

• szw (Member) on Jun 01, 2008 at 12:25 am

2.0 l market jz got interesting…

• GrandMarquis (Member) on Jun 07, 2008 at 8:08 pm

Can TC bring in the new Altima please….

• minami83 (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 12:04 am

umm..hi, just wanna confirm something, i heard that tc euro cars in berkeley, klang is offering 1.88% interest rate, can someone plz tell me this is true??

• ruzaini on Jun 16, 2009 at 4:47 pm

i'm in delemma seriously speaking on whether to upgrade my old hondacity to this highly recommended family friendly slyphy or to opt for the vigorous futuristic civic. the engine seems imperesive for sylphy with the allu kind of thing…but i cannot resist to turn my head esp when i saw fully well-tune civic at the conner of my eyes…garrhhh…

• fauzi on Oct 29, 2009 at 8:53 am

helo bro.. test drive la…. for me anything is different.. so maximum satisfaction is buy one toyota, one honda, one nissan and one mutsibishi.. or more…

If the price is too expensive for you.. then dont buy la.. buy kancil instead…

dont talk too much la… spend lor….

please comment this vehicle in a proper engineering manner… to design a car is not like how much you can type here…!! or how good is your blaming skill!!….

we have to think wise… dont simply say or else we misjudge…. wuteva it is i would agree tat diff ppl have diff taste .. same with cars stupid!!!

ok im overacting and too sarcastic i guess… cheer up ur life… work smart and you will be the best… of course more income… so you can buy more cars tho….

ha ha ha!!!

• DADIPENANG on Oct 31, 2009 at 8:56 pm

i just book a black slyphy two week ago. it's a very smooth car[90% torque available at 2000rpm], safe for family[6 star rating], good FC[CVT] as well. overall the package was good, 1.99% interest, great discount provider

& free gift. The interior is classic, but very nice if match with leather seat.

• benkwanky on Dec 17, 2009 at 9:17 am

DADIPENANG… what free gift the S.A. give you?

• Ackiyl Shihabdeen on Jan 31, 2010 at 5:02 am

Hello

I just want to know if the Sylphy comes with a mudguard.

My new Sylphy has not got one.

Is it available to buy at Nissan Dealerships?

Thank You for your kind feedback.

• oretnell willock on Jun 26, 2010 at 9:02 am

i want to know were can i buy BODY KIT for nissan silphy thank you i am wating for your reply