Free rear center belts for 2003-2005 Honda City

Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Road Safety Department of Malaysia to support the government’s move for safer cars in Malaysia.

The Road Safety Department recently pushed for car manufacturers to install rear seatbelts on cars that did not have them for free, and Honda is the first non-national make to do so.

According to Honda Malaysia’s CEO Atsushi Fujimoto, there are 25,480 units of the Honda City sold between 2003 to 2005 that do not have rear center seat belts.

Free installation of belts for the affected cars will begin in October 2008 and all costs will be born by Honda Malaysia. It will be done in batches and owners will be informed on when they can come in to install their belts.

UPDATE: All Honda Citys do have 2 rear seatbelts at the rear. This exercise is to install a 5th seat belt for the middle seat.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Bebelon (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 7:22 am

What? Honda City got no rear seatbelts? what’s a joke?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 7:35 am

HMSB’s procurement department decided to not have rear seatbelts to save cost when they learnt that it was not required by law.

• altimi (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 8:29 am

Even my 15 year old Iswara pun got rear seatbelt……what a lame excuses la HOnda…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 8:34 am

this is called, skirting the regulations.. at least they’re fixing the belts for free for all cars. initially, perodua were charging their customers for it.

• altimi (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 8:37 am

If Proton sure people whack kow-kow……

• droll (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 8:58 am

give them a break. it may be a lame excuse but they could have chosen to keep quiet about things and leave the owners alone.

something is better than nothing.

• carsut (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:16 am

huhu..what a shame (really shame), 2005 honda city sill dont have a rear seat belts..

• altimi (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:27 am

To Honda, saving 300 ringgit is more important than putiing rear seatbelt…..

• ganz (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:29 am

hahahahah.. it true.. if proton don’t install rear seat belt.. everybody will bash kaw-kaw.. kekekke

what about kancil 660? do they install rear seat belt? :D

• ignas (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 10:00 am

simple ma..proton got backing from the G and everything is localized, what else could go wrong? thats why ppl have high expectations from it. if proton does not deliver, of course consumers felt robbed and will bash it till the max. cos they are ‘cornered’ to buy it.

but at least honda, a foreign company admits it and put in efforts to fix it for free. its really highly admirable.

• ikttan (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 10:20 am

I think the report isn’t actually accurate. What I believe is that they are talking about the middle 5th seat-belt which the City does not have. The City has 4 seat-belts in total but did away with the middle one. Not sure about others, but mine had 4 and mine is a 2004 model.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 10:53 am

Procurement works with QCD as a religion. Hence, if the law at the time says only driver and front passenger require seatbelts, then so be it. ADR/NZ and European requirements say all 5 passengers need ELR belts. Rear centre cannot cannot be the 2-point lap belt. Hence cars like the first batch of Honda Jazz VTEC (huge rear spoiler version) and 206 have ELR for all 5 occupants.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 11:00 am

ignas “but at least honda, a foreign company admits it and put in efforts to fix it for free. its really highly admirable.”

you statement seems to say that proton did not install rear seatbelts for their cars..? is that true?

• weejin (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 11:02 am

My wife’s honda city June 2005 (pre-facelift) have 2 3-point rear seat belts. It doesn’t have the center rear seat belt, however.

May I know whether this campaign applies to my wife’s City? i.e. fixing the third rear seat belt? Then it will be very good!

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 11:15 am

if other company didnot put the rear seatbelt, they will say “its ok.. cost cutting.. they install it for free then ma…”

if proton do the same, these kind of people will say “what the f**k are they thinking? useless car manufacturer!!!”

good lord please save us….

• MyviKiller (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 11:26 am

If Proton sure kena teruk-teruk.

• paraquat (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 11:40 am

Just want to point out that Honda City does come with 2 3-point rear seat belts. What is missing is the centre 2-point rear seatbelt.

• chery (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:14 pm

they juz don’t have rear CENTER seat belt, i remember my aunt RM27k Saga LMST also dun have!

• ignas (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:20 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop, nope, i didnt mean it that way. i apologise for being off topic if that is what you want from me. what i meant was, when they realized its a mistake they made, they admit it, fix it, even better for free. unlike proton, no matter how many gazillion times u bring it to their service center when ‘small’ problem arise…. lots of ‘drama’….. ok perhaps im just one of the many unlucky ones.

• weejin (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:30 pm

I just watched RTM2 mandarin news, this news is reported too. According to the CEO of Honda Malaysia (Japanese Guy speaking not so good English), the free rear seat belt will only be the center rear seat belt. As I pointed out earlier, in my wife’s City, there were already 2 3-point rear seat belt.

The campaign will start in October 08.

• ganz (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:38 pm

story of drame is actually exaggerate to much.. every car manufacture play drame also laa.. the worst still come to Proton kekekek

but.. don’t tell me if u drive honda they entertain every of ur comments..

• ignas (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:40 pm

o btw, i also didnt mean tat proton does not recall their cars. let me rephrase again my first comment why ppl bash proton not less likely to foreign company….nah lazy to go thru that again….

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:43 pm

no problem ignas.. just wanted to understand what you meant.

my bimmer also the same as your proton la..haha.. hence my nick.. (B)anyak (M)asuk (W)orkshop..

actually.. my mums city also had problems.. with the brakes..the discs keep on warping(problem still persisting), and the CVT box died.. my bro-in-laws new vios bumper fell off after hitting a pothole… my conclusion.. everybody has problems.. same goes with lotus, (L)ots (O)f (T)rouble, (U)sually (S)erious. but i was lucky with my wira last time.. no problems at all except for power windows..

as for protons, they also have the issue of some models with no centre belt, iswara and gen2.. but they’ve already announced they will fix it all for free a few months back.. i believe they were the 1st to announce it.

• n8cky (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:49 pm

at least honda did not keep this to themselves..

lol, my 12yo Satria pun ada rear seat belt..

• Paul Tan on Aug 26, 2008 at 1:41 pm

After checking with Honda, it is confirmed that all affected Honda City do have rear seatbelts, its just missing the belt for the middle passenger.

• n8cky (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 2:00 pm

lol, I think Paul better rectify it on the title. Or they’ll bash Honda like nothing.

• car_craze (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 4:25 pm

Guys – i think you are missing the point here. If the car is designed as 5 seaters, then it must have 5 seat belts, not 4. Unless some people at Honda cannot count, then it become intentional, due to some cost savings, as it was not required by law then.
    But if you ask if it was ‘ethical’ for a big car company like Honda (or any car company for that matter) then it becomes another topic for discussion. In Europe or US they would not dare to ignore such issues becasue they risk being sued if there are injuries in accidents and seatbelts were not sufficiently provided. In Malaysia we are less concerned by such things and some car manufacturers cut coners when it comes to occupant and even pedestrian safety.
    On the flip side, people with large families and who cannot afford an MPV will have great difficulties when it comes to holidays and Balek Kampung time.

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 4:56 pm

good guys..lets make this into a very clever and proper discussion. people who just came to do some sort of blindless bashing are not welcome here, right?

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 4:58 pm

who sits in the middle?

• bmpower (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 7:29 pm

now where is Toyota?

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 11:09 pm

here mainly ppl play with proton lotus handling and honda VTEC engine

toyota are not qualified to discuss :P

• henrywoon (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 4:10 pm

Is it going to be 2 point or 3 point safety belt? If Honda thinks back of this botched attempt, they should be smart to install a 3 point belt.

• ebrahim on Apr 29, 2010 at 11:51 pm

hello i want email of center office Honda company in japan for contact . can you send for me ?
    thank you