Nissan Bluebird Sylphy gets minor updates

Nissan Bluebird Sylphy Facelift

Nissan gave the Bluebird Sylphy (called just the Nissan Sylphy here in Malaysia) a minor update in May this year. No changes under the hood, just some aesthetics changes. The front headlamps now feature amber-coloured signal indicators.

Nissan Bluebird Sylphy Facelift

The interior now gets a new design digital climate control and the instrument panel meter faces have also been changed from the previous white version to a new black coloured version. Look after the jump for a full gallery of the updated car. No news so far as to when Tan Chong will be facelifting the Sylphy here in Malaysia.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=411]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cam.shaft on Aug 03, 2009 at 4:57 am

the selphy is a good car…FC is really good and the CVT gearbox is mated brilliantly. i jus can't get used to the front =/

cam.shaft

• P2_permanent_basher on Aug 03, 2009 at 5:18 am

is this all the changes? nothing else?

• Caddilac Wong on Aug 03, 2009 at 5:25 am

I prefer the facelift of China's Sylphy…

• but it looks weird…

• Paul Tan on Aug 03, 2009 at 5:31 am

The Chinese model gets more changes, like new rear lamps etc. http://www.chinacarforums.com/forum/showthread.ph…

• Draco on Aug 03, 2009 at 5:39 am

Dear Paul,

I believe, it's better if you to put picture comparison (side by side) in future posting. More easy for your reader to spot the changes immediately. It's just my opinion.

Anyway, any news about Nissan Latio Sport? Upgrade the drum brake to brake disc? They should do that.

• hensemguy on Aug 03, 2009 at 5:42 am

I just drove sylphy three days ago. Comparing to mazda3 (little bit unfair coz my Mazda3 is 1.6), Sylphy is better except for suspension. It's little bit hard when jumping on the trunk road with small holes.

The driving experience with sylphy is enjoyable, as the engine is smooth and the cabin is sooo big.

• atmh3993 on Aug 03, 2009 at 6:23 am

Hopefully yhr FL model will add in rear disc brake…:D

• kimi_ on Aug 03, 2009 at 6:26 am

the new rims sucks!!!

• hvannees on Aug 03, 2009 at 6:38 am

ummm.. chinacarforums.. why i cant find europstar? hehe..

anyway i prefer malaysian sylphy rear lamp.

• ugly wif no soul and wif torsion beam

• Fadzly Supporter on Aug 03, 2009 at 8:15 am

Dear Draco,

Mr Paul is not that free to cater all your weird request. He set up a site for you to view for free. Go to Jabatan Kebajikan for charity.

• MoveJJE on Aug 03, 2009 at 6:27 pm

Draco,

As what i can say, there is no news to update drum brake to disc brake.

Basically, latio, g.livina sharing same chassis floor. quite similar with slyphy.

Small changes means big changes for all models.

cheers

• demio121 on Aug 03, 2009 at 7:14 pm

Sylphy should be selling like hot cake but sumhow its not. Not exactly blockbuster spec but given the price this is good value. I think its down to the bland image Sylphy project. Its not exactly exciting inside/outside.

Nissan should consider changing the steering wheel design. Kinda remind me of the old days Saga. A piece of donut that you press in the middle to make some sound and nothing more.

• draco on Aug 03, 2009 at 7:47 pm

Hey guys,

Below is Nissan Latio – Nismo Version, spotted in Brunei.

1. http://exdrifterz.blogspot.com/2008/12/nissan-lat…
    2. http://bruneicompacttuner.blogspot.com/2009/02/ni…

• Baron on Aug 03, 2009 at 7:50 pm

Nice looking car.China's sylphy more to ah beng design..

• roti naan1 on Aug 03, 2009 at 8:35 pm

the steering wheel is rather boring…for the price of that car.

Even proton's one looks better

• still ugly…

• Singapore latio get the digital climate control and Malaysian latio here get the Manual climate control…Tan Chong really know how to squeeze us "Malaysian"…

• old timers on Aug 03, 2009 at 8:58 pm

pemanduan sylphy mmg mantap, selesa dan senyap….sesuai utk keluarga bahagia…

• Toothless Zombie on Aug 03, 2009 at 11:50 pm

Well, I can see the reason why we don't see this model here in Australia.

• helmi on Aug 04, 2009 at 1:00 am

Tested drive the Sylphy, really comfort drive, spacious, quiet, the handling is fantastic and soft. The pick-up also very good. Overall it is a very good car. But sadly not many on the road. Maybe most Malaysian like me don't like the design. No audio control button on steering wheel. The speedometer panel really looks old fashion, no illuminate or optitron light or something like that because it's normal today for that class of car.

• yeah, the sylphy is a good car, too bad the brand is not as strong as toyota or honda, and it looks boring to most people. oh well, the facelift should probably come in the next year or year after.

i like to answer people's question about the horns on the headlamps of the sylphy. its there for the driver to gauge the distance of the front of the car, not aerodynamics, not aesthetics.

• Leseid Obrut on Aug 04, 2009 at 8:12 am

Nissan Syphilis

• Daryl on Aug 04, 2009 at 11:45 pm

minor update???? is it happen to Malaysia version? i just saw it yesterday, seem like the digital climate control never exist!!!!!! please correct me if i am wrong, thank you.

• Mobileblog on Aug 05, 2009 at 3:37 am

This Car is really nice, really good looking and the most important is that it is eco-friendly. The CO2 emissions are increasing much, and the big usage of automobiles last years, means that it will not stop increasing. We should reduce it, with such cars, like this. I hope that car builders will pay more attention to the earth and will care about it much more.

Really Thank you for allowing me to write down this.

• roti naan1 on Aug 05, 2009 at 11:59 pm

heheheh…the seat looks like fat boy's bum…

• HI! Any one of you who can tell me where can I get the DVD/GPS monitor as I intend to fix the OEM unit, not the after market one.

• HI! Anybody can tell me where to get the DVD/GPS monitor asI would like yo have the OEM unit fixed into my sylphy. Thanks

• d bhola on Jun 01, 2010 at 11:11 am

how do u know when d sports mode is on

• Chandra seharan on Jun 23, 2010 at 2:33 pm

Good news i just ordered a sylphy , actually my wife like it at first sight for confort , for me it does’nt match , I got no choice to love my wife I got to love her new sylphy.
    Peace for ever , perhaps the new version Sylphy will give better liking

• aizan on May 27, 2013 at 2:44 am

i have nissan slyphy 2007,sorry to say have lots of problems :(( dont buy it please..

• tapan on Jul 19, 2013 at 7:47 pm

i just purchased one (2006) , i cant figure out how to activate the sports mode , any ideas?