2009 Honda StepWGN launched in Japan

honda-stepwgn-1

An all-new fourth generation Honda StepWGN was launched in Japan last week. You can expect probably expect some units to arrive in Malaysia early next year as there is an “active” importer for the StepWGN – USF-Hicom Sdn Bhd which brings in a few Honda MPVs that Honda Malaysia does not bring in. The third generation went for RM180,000 for the 2.0 litre model when it was first announced by USF.

honda-stepwgn-3

The new Honda StepWGN is like its predecessors, a tall and boxy MPV. These bodyshapes are pretty much acquired tastes compared to sleeker-looking people movers but there are definitely advantages to the simple box – it serves its function well. A big box allows for a straight-ish and tall roofline means consistently good headroom which enhances passenger comfort. The new StepWGN seats a total of 8 in its 3 rows.

honda-stepwgn-2

With the new model, the StepWGN grows in length (4,690mm) and height (1,815mm) but the width and wheelbase of 2,855mm remains the same, leading me to believe this is a reengineering of the third generation’s platform, which was launched in 2005.

The cabin height is a pretty tall 1,395mm thanks to its high roof and low floor packaging, and the cabin feels very airy thanks to the larger windows and the massive 1,400mm by 840mm skyroof.

honda-stepwgn-4

Under the hood is the sole engine option of a 2.0 litre R20A SOHC i-VTEC engine mated to either a CVT for front wheel drive or a 5-speed auto for all-wheel drive options. This is the same engine that you can find in the Honda CR-V in Malaysia. The R20A puts out 150 PS and 193Nm of torque, which should be just about enough for a full load though you won’t be making swift progress on the roads. There used to be a 2.4 litre model with the 3rd gen but that is no longer available.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=549]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• common sensor on Oct 12, 2009 at 3:20 pm

Alphard?

• Kambing Laut on Oct 12, 2009 at 3:43 pm

Honda cannot compete prestigers elgrand and alphard.

Bad exterior.

• azrai on Oct 12, 2009 at 3:58 pm

Juara inspired honda. it will not make it appearance here.

• hafizzul on Oct 12, 2009 at 4:19 pm

Another Honda 'Al-Pha-Rit' @ HONDA AL-PARIT. Wakakak.

• George on Oct 12, 2009 at 4:39 pm

Dont really like it.Looks like a juara or a mini bus. Dashboard is nice.

• zulkharnain on Oct 12, 2009 at 4:56 pm

cuz of the brand,increase buyers. cuz of the eye, the mouth say oh no! The quality, technology and practicaly people say ok laaa….

• angie on Oct 12, 2009 at 4:59 pm

ugly ler… y stepwgn always ugly even the previous gen also ugly.. by the way, i dont agree u said honda cant compete alphard or elgrand, please check the elysion ok?

• meteoranaic on Oct 12, 2009 at 5:16 pm

i thought it was a hyundai at first glance .. nice job honda for going backwards in design …

• really boxy and unimaginative.just functional.

• theanswer on Oct 12, 2009 at 5:43 pm

the previous stepwgn also came into this country thru grey importer not offial honda.

• King Samurai on Oct 12, 2009 at 5:44 pm

Aphard or Elegrand does not falls in the same categories laa….do some research before commenting please. This model compete directly with Toyota Voxy and Nissan Serena. Who cares about the boxy 'juara-like' thingy….japs loves sumthing squarish and boxy..M'sians doesn't like boxy mpv…that's why its not for our market..LOL

• putra_rider on Oct 12, 2009 at 6:02 pm

King Samurai said,

October 12, 2009 @ 9:44 am

…Who cares about the boxy ‘juara-like’ thingy….japs loves sumthing squarish and boxy..M’sians doesn’t like boxy mpv…that’s why its not for our market..LOL

we care..becoz we know about aerodynamic and we know about design styling..hahaha

first impression Alphard..second view Vito..

very big sunroof,if accident never break ka that mirror?hehehe

• jolly_idiot on Oct 12, 2009 at 6:08 pm

Macam Alphard. Price like Exora?

• 112bz on Oct 12, 2009 at 6:15 pm

Love it. Nissan Cube and Scion xB are the best seller in Japs and US accordingly.

• touchngo on Oct 12, 2009 at 6:18 pm

comment bout boxy mpv… read carefully the line, the function of it shape. to serve better head room and space. some ppl like boxy shape. it has it own market. if not it wont be around in this country… well the choice is ur's…

• Kicap on Oct 12, 2009 at 6:38 pm

this step wagon is not to compete with alphad or elgrand lar. The price also will be diff. But your guys will said this van is not gud as alphard and elgrand. Sigh…jual mahal tak mampu beli…dah jual murah cakap komplen itu ini tak standard…very typical…yucks!!!

• Ariff on Oct 12, 2009 at 7:04 pm

prefer the 3rd gen.there are some nice bodykits that can make the 3rd gen looks very "luxurious".

• kentank91 on Oct 12, 2009 at 7:06 pm

apsal nampak sangat cam kotak…

• Anonymous on Oct 12, 2009 at 7:15 pm

The only contender for Alphard and Elgrand is Honda Elysion. Not this washing machine la.

• Just_Once on Oct 12, 2009 at 7:22 pm

I like Noah, Serena and Stepwgn. If you don't care the about people (even for children) on third row seats suffering on long journey, go for wagon-base MPV.

Or maybe you haven't get married and having children, that is why you thought wagon-base MPV is sleeker.

• Just_Once said,

October 12, 2009 @ 11:22 am

I like Noah, Serena and Stepwgn. If you don’t care the about people (even for children) on third row seats suffering on long journey, go for wagon-base MPV.

Or maybe you haven’t get married and having children, that is why you thought wagon-base MPV is sleeker.

—————————————————————-

SPOT ON…this for real family use…once u have 3-4 kidz, u'll prefer ths than those midi/mini mpv (stream/wish..etc), u'll dun care bout slick/performance/cornering when u have kidz screaming/shouting/fighting wt each other..if the mpv is not comfortable………sliding door is a plus (if u dun have kidz using baby seat/car seat..etc..u won't appreciate a sliding door esp at shopping complex tight parking…really difficult if yr mpv is those hinge door types)

• The previous Step WGN looks nicer … how about Elysion and Elysion prestige. I wonder when they gonna make a replacement model for that.

• just compete wit serena

• 4G63tDSM on Oct 12, 2009 at 8:37 pm

Boxy wagon do have its points like many pointed out. This is the case of Form follows Function.

Try getting a rear facing baby seat/basket into a car in a tight shopping mall parking lot with a regular door and you will quickly "get the point" of big, tall sliding doors. On top of that you don't need to worry about kids wacking the car beside when opening the rear doors.

• Paul Tan on Oct 12, 2009 at 8:48 pm

Another thing to point out is Honda did the whole WGN thing before FLICKR did FLICKR :P

• persona5610 on Oct 12, 2009 at 9:02 pm

3rd row is big.. n the dashboard r nice

• Brian on Oct 12, 2009 at 9:21 pm

I love boxy car!

• nice !

• King Samurai on Oct 12, 2009 at 9:26 pm

Exciting features about this vehicle that bro Paul didn't post here…

1. Equipped with blind spot mirror (inside) on the front passenger dash board to view up to 7m on left hand side front corner

2. Third row seats can tumble down and keep underneath the floor (spare tyre area)…meaning no spare tyre??

3. Active cornering headlights.

4. Eco drive indicators…same like those in the Insights..

5. Hill start assist…preventing the car to slip backward after stopping at slopes on the first gear.

just check this out http://www.honda.co.jp/STEPWGN/

• King Samurai on Oct 12, 2009 at 9:44 pm

And to make us malaysians sakit hati summore…. Japanese Govt is encouraging eco cars/low fuel consumption vehicle by giving the followings for cars registered from 1st April 2009 to 31st March 2012:

1. No tax for hybrid cars

2. Tax discount up to 75% for low fc cars (Jpn fuel consumption standards). This Stepwgn falls in this category.

3. Cash rebate if trade in and buy eco cars

So…what is our beloved G is doing in preserving the environment? Oops…wait a second..our national cars doesn't have any hybrids and the fuel consumption is kinda bad..so forget about it. Tax is good for national revenue….

• chain on Oct 12, 2009 at 10:10 pm

not the same class with alphard la..din u observe the price for the 3rd generation is juz 180 grands…even alphard recon also cost more or less the same..this is juz like a kinda more comfortable n class passenger van ..

• Rulered on Oct 12, 2009 at 11:05 pm

Stepwagon is basically a basic passenger MPV. I don't think that it was intended to compete with the other more executive large MPV such as Alphard (Elysion would probably be the direct competitor) etc. Having said that as a basic passenger MPV, it has gone a long way that some of it's 'basic' features are found in an executive MPV hence people get confused about it's intended market (kudos Honda). If you look at previous generation of stepwagon, then probably you would understand. So please don't compare it with Alphard or Elgrand. This 4th gen stepwagon seems to grow bigger, but the interior looks similar to the older styling.

• stevewy on Oct 13, 2009 at 2:14 am

still prefer Elysion and Odyssey :D

• Nutty on Oct 13, 2009 at 2:48 am

the car looks roomy. It looks interesting though.. :)

• shawal.ali on Oct 13, 2009 at 3:10 am

if OTR price is wo tax, it would eat the perodua for breakfast…quite literally

• Littlefire on Oct 13, 2009 at 3:29 am

This car is a direct competitor againts Nissan Serena in Japan. Go check out their new Nissan Serena and think about it…

Nissan Serena sales if i not mistaken is better compare to this Honda Stepwagon…

Besides that, the Serena is much more better in term of accesories and flexibility in changing the seats, bla bla bla…

http://www2.nissan.co.jp/SERENA/C25/0712/index.ht…

I wonder why in Malaysia they are selling the old generation serena for so long…

• prolever on Oct 13, 2009 at 4:40 am

although it looks boxy.. but its more spacious then wish and stream…

ya la i think HONDA JAPAN already make a marketing research…..

Japanese like boxy car or wse… but for me its a beauty from the heart…

• paris on Oct 13, 2009 at 6:13 am

HONDA MOVING TOASTER..PON! PON!…….what a shame,malaysian hate this type of design,am i right?

• tokan on Oct 13, 2009 at 6:17 am

got isofix or not?

• Feldaboys on Oct 13, 2009 at 6:18 am

aah,macam design JUara…..klw dulu orng malaysia kutuk proton x geti design kereta pasal JUara yg boxy 2,so mknenye honda pon x geti design kreta r pasal yg nieh pown boxy gak design nyer,,,,PE2 POWN,AK TTP SOKONG PROTON,

• LP560-4 on Oct 13, 2009 at 7:42 am

Pity Honda… I think they should hire a new designer now. I don't know why, but nowadays I prefer Toyota design. Sorry Honda… :(

• Ha Gnih on Oct 13, 2009 at 6:32 pm

Vellfire RULES !!!!!

• The design looks ok to me, myb bcos I like boxy car (n my neighbor owns a Nissan Cube & a Kenari, n my wife owns an Atos, so im getting used to seeing boxy cars). Somemore, Honda n other big manufacturers have a wide range of product to select from, if u dont like this, u can try the other one out. So, about this thing being boxy shouldnt be much of an issue.

And yeah, this thing serves the purpose right. Im have a fmily of my own n how i wish my car is spacious enough to fit 5 ppl with maximum comfort on long journeys.

• muddy (Member) on Oct 13, 2009 at 10:06 pm

I personally own a 2007 StepWGN and been enjoying it to bits!!

FYI, my wifey using this as her daily drives. The first cool feature is the keyless entry.

She will just keep the remote control key in d handbag and with a touch to the door handle, it unlocks and she would just start it by twisting a knob. So no messy looking for keys. And she can lock the door frm outside by pushing a sensor at d door handle. This is a cool upmarket car feature.

Then both sliding doors are powered and our friends already explained the points above.

Other features including:

– auto adjusting HID headlights

– all digital meters

– hundreds of compartments

– space for 8 adults

– slim external body size, excellent for parking

– aircond all around

– looks cool enough that makes people keep on asking about it wherever we go!

• satria_Neo on Oct 13, 2009 at 10:08 pm

really nice transport to have for a big family…dashboard design is nice…

• nuajon on Oct 14, 2009 at 4:03 am

moving keranda

• Rulered on Oct 14, 2009 at 4:39 am

Littlefire,

I share the same question with you, why the old model Serena is still around?

Answer: (maybe)

1) The latest Serena has become too 'upgraded' that it's not viable to sell in Malaysia

2) Nissan would have to strip it down to sell in ASEAN country that it's so down right insulting to the engineers and development dept.

3) Then there is Exora, why need Serena?

:-)

• zai68 on Apr 28, 2010 at 9:10 am

hey guys!

Does anyone knows, where can I find the accessories (i.e rear spoiler) for the stepwgn 2006?