Honda Civic now available in Tafetta White

Honda Civic Tafetta White

The Honda Civic is now available in Tafetta White, making it the third model in the Honda Malaysia line-up to offer the new colour. Both the 1.8 litre and 2.0 litre models will get the new colour. Tafetta White Civics are expected to be quite high in demand, accounting for 30% of projected 600 units sales per month.

“After conducting research and analyzing customer feedback, coupled with the positive response from the introduction of the colour for Honda Accord and Honda CR-V, we decided to incorporate the Taffeta White in the Honda Civic 1.8L and 2.0L as well,” said Honda Malaysia’s new CEO Toru Takahashi.

Mr Takahashi also revealed that the two CBU Civic models – the Honda Civic Hybrid and the Honda Civic Type R – have surpassed over 200 units each in Malaysia. The Type R is currently sold out for the moment and it’s not known when the next batch will come in. The last unit was sold by Honda Global Amity in Seri Kembangan.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hurrah!! my fav colour

• persona5610 on Oct 19, 2009 at 11:25 pm

wonder how it will look. Got any sample TAN?

• kimi_ on Oct 19, 2009 at 11:25 pm

I prefer black….

• Paul Tan on Oct 19, 2009 at 11:28 pm

the image is in the story?

• tkaira on Oct 19, 2009 at 11:36 pm

wow the type r is sold…then again its quite common on our roads…but i havent come accross the hybrid…anyone seen one??

• persona5610 on Oct 19, 2009 at 11:37 pm

yup i know but i want to see more

• Gasket on Oct 19, 2009 at 11:40 pm

After 4 years now just decided new colour?

• lazyf on Oct 19, 2009 at 11:45 pm

Tafetta White – solid or metallic?

Sorry for the question…hehehe

• Tscks on Oct 19, 2009 at 11:45 pm

when is Civic new model coming out?

• ago87 on Oct 19, 2009 at 11:49 pm

Prefer Pearl White better..

• Minardi Magnum on Oct 20, 2009 at 12:05 am

tkaira said,

October 19, 2009 @ 3:36 pm

wow the type r is sold…then again its quite common on our roads…but i havent come accross the hybrid…anyone seen one??

—-

Yeah, Civic Hybrid was cucuked by CucukMan…haha..

yeah, i love civic because can show off to my colleague.. hehe

• this white will become yellow like myvi??

• awg1031 on Oct 20, 2009 at 12:21 am

extra cost like toyota pearl white??

• ttchuien on Oct 20, 2009 at 12:24 am

yes, in penang one of the dealer got Civic Hybrid in the showroom..

• flopsy on Oct 20, 2009 at 12:30 am

how much it will cost? anyone.?

• lmst said,

October 19, 2009 @ 4:07 pm

this white will become yellow like myvi??

Become yellow? lol

Myvi have an "Ivory white" colour which isn't exactly white, it's cream.

BTW, I like Tafetta White. It's so sleek.

• How about 1.8 & 2.0 wif champion white instead of tafetta white….

• sayapdewa on Oct 20, 2009 at 12:44 am

sorry off topic,

anyone heard news bout new honda city also will come out with Tafetta White?

• Championship White is exclusive to Type R only so you not get it on FD1 and FD2

• sayapdewa on Oct 20, 2009 at 12:58 am

eventhough civic type r 200 unit sold, but the owner must be frustrated to get ron97 nor v-power maybe…its so hard to find it..

• Honda Malaysia now can laughing all the way to the bank as they hardly need to discount their lineups unlike many brands, even Toyota included.

Until their cars demand in diminishing trend they'll never equip their car with better value i.e darker interior, pedal shifter and auto cruise for 1.8 (like SG Honda).

By the way, tafeta white is decent color especially with aforementioned equipments as the owner can make it their Civic closer to Type R-ish look.

• gesundheit on Oct 20, 2009 at 1:40 am

Paul,

Are we going to get the 2010 Honda Civic or is that for the US market only?

http://automobiles.honda.com/civic-sedan/

• racerx111 on Oct 20, 2009 at 1:53 am

I inquired about one couple months back but there has been no news from the sales person so far, apparently I'm not good to own one. :P

• Lancerlot on Oct 20, 2009 at 1:55 am

White Lancer GT rule!

• tamaki on Oct 20, 2009 at 2:36 am

next gen civic eager coming soon, after four years put new colour on 'obsolete' bang-for-buck tat lame. popo

• tamaki on Oct 20, 2009 at 2:58 am

next gen civic eager coming soon, after four years put new colour on 'obsolete' bang-for-buck tat lame. popo
    Oops…forgot to say great post! Looking forward to your next one.

• Tq for the mention! :)

• Paul Tan on Oct 20, 2009 at 4:27 am

The US honda civic is essentially the same car with different styling for front and rear.

• kelvin on Oct 20, 2009 at 4:38 am

sayapdewa said,

October 19, 2009 @ 4:44 pm

sorry off topic,

anyone heard news bout new honda city also will come out with Tafetta White?

Well, YES, there will be white colour City starting from Jan 2010. MY uncle just booked one white colour City.

• good for those who wan to mod to look like FD2R.but championship white got a special aura

• Kelvin .. would you like to share which dealer is promising the White Color City for Jan 2010? ….

• binarumah.com on Oct 20, 2009 at 5:48 am

Great move Honda Malaysia!!! I like the white paint very much=)

• Malu tp Mau on Oct 20, 2009 at 7:12 am

guys, would like to hear some opinion on mod(exterior + seat) on civic white to look a like type -R…is it worth? fyi, i will get my whity next month (as per SA)..thanks…

• Afezi on Oct 20, 2009 at 9:29 am

still considering..is worth buying now..

or wait for NAP..rumors price going down..

just like both colors black / white..

• azrai on Oct 20, 2009 at 4:16 pm

No price down after AFTA or new NAP. The G will surely up their sales tax and excise tax to overcome 0% import duty. So the car will become much higher price. no need to hope. It's in this last 2 months we should take the oppurtunity to grab new car. they try to clear stock with so much offer.

• White Jack on Oct 20, 2009 at 4:32 pm

Strange that Honda never specified clearly Tafeta White is a SOLID WHITE color ? It is not metallic white (or pearl white).

If from other makes, solid white option is RM1K to RM2K cheaper.

Honda CKD is about the same price level as CBU cars in the same league, I wonder how NAP works :)

• John Klang on Oct 20, 2009 at 8:07 pm

Tafeta white in ok if it is not raining . like this time of the year it will look like shit.

if you don't take care.

• gesundheit on Oct 20, 2009 at 9:58 pm

Still on the topic of car colour, but for a different model.

Will Habanero Red be available for Honda City like in our neighbouring countries?

• mystvearn on Oct 21, 2009 at 1:03 am

Nice colour. Not sure why it was not brought in sooner. Still one hard colour to maintain.

• King Samurai on Oct 21, 2009 at 1:32 am

Gasket said,

October 19, 2009 @ 3:40 pm

After 4 years now just decided new colour?

_________________________________________________________________________________

They (HM) spent 3 years undecided whether to have white color in their car line-up…reason being, the factory management in Melaka being too skeptical about mixing the Tafetta White in their paint workshop and to spending extra penny for new color scheme though the product planning people in PJ was pushing hard due to market demand. Until Toyota successfully selling their white Camrys and Vios then only they realized..i did heard rumors that the project was only become reality in 2009 after the 'cocky' Jappo factory boss went back to Japan…

• White is cool nowadays…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 21, 2009 at 5:58 am

good. no need repaint to make civic look like type-r

• sayapdewa on Oct 21, 2009 at 12:59 pm

if the car price increase next year, means we need to grab one. no matter it is black or white! owwww!!!

• Mazda 3 MPS said,

good. no need repaint to make civic look like type-r

>>Go and buy type r la….

whatever it is this is japanese plastic….ugly….slow….eyaks!!!!

• Malu tp Mau on Oct 21, 2009 at 10:08 pm

is it worth to change seat from 1.8 type to Type R seat type? or just change it to 2.0 Seat Type?

Where the best place in Selangor for doing this modification?

cheers..

• mahal weii on Oct 22, 2009 at 7:02 am

whatever colour or model..majority of us will not be able to afford it..I mean, can you afford RM2k/month for it? NAP, AFTA or whatever alphabet soup there is..we always lose. Can afford, buy. Cannot, pictures suffice.

• wow!!!last time i buy don have white le!!! only 1 week then have white liao!!!!!

• msteam on Oct 24, 2009 at 10:54 pm

if 1.8 interior and the acc same with 2.0s,then price about 120k,must many ppl like

• msteam on Oct 24, 2009 at 10:55 pm

same with taiwan like tht,can give custermer more choice

• norizan on Oct 24, 2009 at 11:11 pm

first time in our life, decided to choose car in white colour.fall in love at the first sight of this particular car!amazing!wil get my new car by next week..anxiously waiting after 6 years of CRV..

• norizan yusof on Oct 24, 2009 at 11:13 pm

need to change the fabric seats to leather any particular shop u may recommend?….

• norizan yusof on Oct 25, 2009 at 3:31 am

fall in love at the first sight of it… white means …….first time v use white waiting for it next week after 6 years of CRV…..

• There's quite a number of white civics spotted on the road already! :)

Btw, Honda Global Amity has the Civic Hybrid in the showroom and in stock!

http://www.globalamitysdnbhd.com