BMW CNY ‘Edition’ models – more details!

I checked out Auto Bavaria Sg Besi for the CNY@BMW event today and came back with more details on the various ‘Edition’ models that BMW are selling right now. There aren’t much details about these online or from the PR agency so I took it to task myself. Find out more about the cars after the jump.

I arrived right in time for the lion dance performance, which had two lions prancing around the showroom and handing out mandarin oranges to the visitors. Lion dances are usually performed symbolically to exorcise evil spirits and to summon luck and fortune.

I didn’t get much info about the BMW 320i Lifestyle Edition from the initial PR blast e-mail. At the showroom I found out that it’s basically a regular 320i with a bundled GPS navigator. It’s not the iDrive system but a rebadged Garmin unit with SD card support installed in a holster designed to fit the 320i dashboard.

This is the BMW 320d Performance Edition. The two-tone grey stripes that run across the shoulderline of the car are the BMW Performance accent strips and there is a black front grille for a sportier look. On the inside, you get a BMW Performance Alcantara/Walkanappa leather shifter, an Alcantara BMW Performance handbrake grip, and a set of aluminium pedals and footrest.

The 320i Performance Edition is pretty much the same from the exterior – except in the showroom units case the colour of the paint. And of course the 320i gets a normal horizontal exhaust while the 320d’s exhaust points downwards.

The 523i Executive Edition has new wheels which kinda look like the alloys that were on the E60 530i before the facelift, except the V spokes have a split in the middle. I’ve used those non-split wheels on my E39 in the past. For some reason this particular car is white but in the original release it says the Executive Edition is only available in Neptune Blue metallic paintwork.

The 523i Exclusive Edition is done up in a Platinum Bronze paintwork with Chrome-plated trimming around its side windows and windscreen washer jets (on the hood). This car comes with 17 inch style 277 V-spoke alloys.

This is the most expensive ‘limited edition’ car – the E60 525i Sports Edition which is due to be replaced soon by the F10. This is available either in Carbon Black metallic or Alpine White with the M aerodynamics package, and the unit you see here is the Alpine White model. The wheels you see are the 19 inch BMW Performance wheels that BMW was showcasing on the E90 LCI.

BMW 320i Lifestyle Edition – RM 238,800
BMW 320i Performance Edition – RM 250,800
BMW 320d Performance Edition – RM 257,800
BMW 325i Performance Edition – RM 311,800
BMW 523i Executive Edition – RM 343,800
BMW 523i Exclusive Edition – RM 383,800
BMW 525i Sports Edition – RM 415,800

I’ve compared the prices of these ‘Edition’ cars with the regular models and for the E60 there is no price premium while for the E90 LCI there is an average of a RM2,000 price premium over ‘regular’ models.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=787]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=786]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Woot!

Not really exiting variants though

• Sean Lim on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:36 am

WooHoo… Gong Xi Fa Cai?

• mitlanevo on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:42 am

definitely stock clearance, but after this, we gotta see the ugly new 5-series, sigh…

• The ceremony was nice and colorful. But the cars…….*yawn*~~~

Btw, the black grille and the grey stripes on 320d looks nice though…

• shawal on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:57 am

Ive read somewhere before that beemers are difficult to maintain and few parts needs regular replacements, especially d springs and dampers..?

Izzit true…?

Is getting a pre-owned model worth it? especially now its backed with official warranties and stuffs…

Saw a german programme, they dont buying pre-owned cars… but do beemers break down easily? say… compare to mercs

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:57 am

lol the only one i like is the 525i with the new rims…better than the previous rims they offered…others….hmm not so much. bmw navi replacing garmin logo is nice touch though.

• Cocobear on Jan 25, 2010 at 8:27 am

Lelong lelong…

• MR-S Kid on Jan 25, 2010 at 8:34 am

Recently test drove the 320d m-sport.. I must say the car is AWESOME save the mild vibartion that enters the cabin during idling. other than that, it's pick up speed is especially one of the best..

pre-reg models being offered at around 230k + pretty good buy

the accent strip is just a vinyl stick on

• MR-S Kid on Jan 25, 2010 at 8:35 am

Counter girls at BMW Ipoh for the CNY event are SCRUMPTIOUS =D

• ago87 on Jan 25, 2010 at 11:20 am

3 series is getting better n better face..nice!

• mystvearn on Jan 25, 2010 at 1:25 pm

well, if you wait longer, soon bmw will offer more price cuts to the previous gen 5-series to make way for the newly launched 5 series.

• I cannot imagine this car cost more then a house. where everywhere else the cost of the house is still higher than the luxury car.

• Palie Massa Studio on Jan 25, 2010 at 5:27 pm

maybe it's took over 100 years for me to get this BMW… huhu…

• so, which part is the performance part? stickers and leathers?

• paul,

i think i can smell an identical change to the side mirror of e60..

plz correct me i was wrong paul.

i wonder the side mirror seems familiar with the f10's..huhu

• longjaafar on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:19 pm

A full tank can get the 320D 1000 km! Fill up every month?

• The Royal Academy of on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:41 pm

MR-S Kid said,

January 25, 2010 @ 12:35 am

————————

oh yes….

• at least the 525i msport has new wheels…. the normal 18 is everywhere….. 19 is a stand out from the crowd…f10……hope it looks nice if not e60 all the way…

• wow! BMW's latest CNY edition…..The "Tak Tung Chang" Version!

• From the list, the white 320d is the best.

Wishing everybody 'Happy Chinese New Year' "GONG XI FA CAI"

• MR-S KiD on Jan 25, 2010 at 10:18 pm

The Royal Academy of Proton Bashers said,

January 25, 2010 @ 11:41 am

MR-S Kid said,

January 25, 2010 @ 12:35 am

————————

oh yes….

i got the RM88 BMW lucky dip voucher =))

feeling lucky in gettin a number perhaps?? =D

oh yeah..

• MR-S KiD on Jan 25, 2010 at 10:22 pm

let's get back to the beemers .. the counter girls can wait .. for now XP

the 320d in white has the very obvious performance strip.. the strip on the black 320d looks rather 'blended' into the body

regarding the blackened kidney grilles, i'll leave for the prospective customer to decide.. Some might like it and some others, not so much

The handbrake and gearknob changes are a VERY NICE touch ..

the M-pedals and this limited edition ones not really so different IMHO

the IPOH counter girls =)) , one might be a dentistry student I might have met around subang, that day no balls to ask ..haha

• cordoba1 on Jan 25, 2010 at 10:58 pm

Anyone knows when the new 3 series will be launched??My gf wants to buy the 3 series but I told her to wait for the new 3 series and to consider the new facelift c200k I think will be out sometime this year..

• just received my 320d..damn bmw!!! already launch new version pulak…

sure my car looks older.. anyway love the car..love the the diesel smell..

…feels like 80's. anyway, heard that audi will launch the B8 a4 2.0 TSI..

they are talking about 350Nm torque, pending approval from gov (expect price around 300k)..well who cares..i love my bm..save my pocket..plus A4 are created for homo guys..well yeaa

• kayel on Jan 26, 2010 at 4:50 am

i wish to get the 530! special edition…the 19" alloy looks tempting…

• minat sangat bm nih…

• always love the bm series.. nak pakai dalam 5 years time.. lama ngat ker?? hehe

• always love bm x kesah bp bp pun series.. nak pakai in 5 years time, lambat ngat ker?? hehe

• come on…X6! nuff said!!!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 27, 2010 at 7:50 am

should have buy one bmw free one bmw promotion XD

• In Dubai, BMW 320i is about RM135k !

• YeouWei on Mar 06, 2010 at 3:01 am

When can we get cheap car like those other country??? Sigh

• YeouWei on Mar 06, 2010 at 3:03 am

When will we get cheaper car like those in other country??? Ours is still CKD somemore…..sigh

• Finally confirmed my 523i at DHS 160k in Dubai, approx equiv 144k RM. The same is model is abt RM 343k in KL. Car is CBU from Germany complete with 3 years service/repair.

• E60 M5 on Sep 17, 2010 at 7:20 pm

Paul, i noticed that second hand value for a 2005 e60 530i dropped to + – RM185K which is lower than 2005 e60 525. Why eh?