Honda Jazz worldwide recall over switch defect

Coming just after Toyota’s sticky accelerator pedal recall, Honda joins the fray with a recall for its Jazz. BBC reports Honda saying that a master switch defect could cause water to enter the power window switch. potentially causing a fire. A total of 646,000 cars will be called in globally to fix this switch defect. This includes Jazz/Fit models built in Japan, China, Brazil, Thailand, Malaysia and India. The total figure also includes “27,000 City models in Asia”, the report added.

However, Honda Siel Cars India said that India will not be a part of the global vehicle recall. “There won’t be any impact on the recall in India because the Jazz that is being sold in India is a second generation vehicle, which is not a part of the global recall.” The official said the Jazz that is being recalled globally is the previous generation model.

So far, three cases of fires due to the defect have been reported – two in the US and one in South Africa. The latter, which happened in September last year, saw two-year-old Vanilla Nurse killed in Cape Town when the Jazz she was sleeping in caught fire.

No news yet from Honda Malaysia, but we will channel any official announcement as it comes our way.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Who's next??

• a two year old was sleeping alone in the car? no adult supervision? couldn't save the child on time? wow…talk about superb parenting..

• Chyyer on Jan 30, 2010 at 10:26 pm

Even Honda have problem with its design / quality departments. Maybe due to its (not so wise) move in reducing the operating costs to brave the economic downturn. Believed so with other cars manufacturers.

• tokmoh on Jan 30, 2010 at 10:27 pm

apasal la 2010 ni musim recall je……

inb4 proton bashing begins

"This includes Jazz/Fit models built in Japan, China, Brazil, Thailand, Malaysia and India."

Got Jazz CKD in Msia meh? I thought all Jazz are CBU…

• Tiadaid on Jan 30, 2010 at 10:42 pm

What model year of the Jazz & City involved? Damn Honda for being vague!

• aki_zz on Jan 30, 2010 at 10:55 pm

it says there previous generation of honda city…damn i can read!

• aki_zz on Jan 30, 2010 at 11:25 pm

oops my bad…its honda jazz…damn i'm wrong too!

• Anti-Honda Fan Boy on Jan 30, 2010 at 11:28 pm

To those Honda Fan Boys, after you bashing Toyota, so what's now? Don't be a fan boy or else people call you a nuts, idiot.

• jolly_idiot on Jan 30, 2010 at 11:53 pm

Why Proton takda recall? I guess if Proton were to re-call. All proton over the world gotta return. Haha

• ttchuien on Jan 30, 2010 at 11:53 pm

Because T & H responsible, therefore they recall.

• Cross Polo on Jan 31, 2010 at 12:16 am

ttchuien said,

January 30, 2010 @ 3:53 pm

—————————————————

Tu bukan bertanggungjawab, kalau kata Honda aku boleh kata bertanggung jawab tapi kalau kata Toyota langsung aku tak caya sebab dah banyak kali diaorang dalih semua kata sebab karpet lantai tu…. huh semua kena tipu ngan toyota pun masih lagi nak kata toyota bagus….

• shawal on Jan 31, 2010 at 12:20 am

u nvr know… GM might be behind all this… after all , they're americans..

• proton dun recal ah? that savvy recall dun kno ka? hmm done recall but not all proton have to recall what? hahahah

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 31, 2010 at 12:33 am

One model is not as much as the entire range. LOL

• staff on Jan 31, 2010 at 12:35 am

haha… the japanese are responsible?

Work with one la before you talk…

• Tiadaid on Jan 31, 2010 at 12:39 am

ttchuien said,

January 30, 2010 @ 3:53 pm

——–

Responsible? The American government forced Toyota to recall their cars after a family died in one of their cars! You call thet responsible? Wait until people died and the government ordered them to did they organize a recall.

Honda is also more of the same. Remember the City "Upgrade" back in 2006? As reported on Paul Tan
    http://paultan.org/2006/02/08/honda-city-upgrade-…

And I wasn't even informed by Honda, even though I am a City owner!

• Smallfish (Member) on Jan 31, 2010 at 12:40 am

for all hon da fans how do you feel after paying extremely high price? much better if buying pro ton yea?

• Proton should call also for the defects it had with IAFM module and steering problms.

• @jolly:

proton pernah recall juga la.

• peYno on Jan 31, 2010 at 12:58 am

perodua shold recall their disc brake and power window switching problem

• kimi_ on Jan 31, 2010 at 12:58 am

Honda- Power Of Defects !!!!

• nazri on Jan 31, 2010 at 1:00 am

"Honda saying that a master switch defect could cause water to enter the power window switch. "

amazing.. water inside power windows switch causing fire.. better do checking with my bro car..

• kimi_ on Jan 31, 2010 at 1:00 am

Luckily it is honda, so it only caught fire !!!!!

If it is our local one, sure explode like bomb !!!

• theanswer on Jan 31, 2010 at 1:48 am

haha… the japanese are responsible?

Work with one la before you talk…

haha gotta agrre with this..when the problem become too big..they'll sucicide..and let others take the burden.

• theanswer on Jan 31, 2010 at 1:49 am

peyno,

just send the car to sc and claim for warranty. done that for disc brake 2 times in 2 years!

• klguy on Jan 31, 2010 at 1:52 am

Doomsday for T & H?? Yay

• voodoo_queen on Jan 31, 2010 at 2:17 am

klguy said,

January 30, 2010 @ 5:52 pm

Doomsday for T & H?? Yay

More likes doomsday for Japan. hehe

• EchoTango23 on Jan 31, 2010 at 2:53 am

ha ha ha….worst still…this huu-haa affects Honda Malaysia….Luckily my Toyota is not affected in this part of the world! Huu-yoh!

• Mastermind on Jan 31, 2010 at 3:24 am

so far proton better lol

• Tiadaid on Jan 31, 2010 at 3:34 am

kimi_ said,

January 30, 2010 @ 5:00 pm

Luckily it is honda, so it only caught fire !!!!!

If it is our local one, sure explode like bomb !!!

——————–

Looks like you can't defend Toyota any longer and now have to resort to trolling with your nonsensical posts…

• techboy_88 on Jan 31, 2010 at 3:38 am

a rough start for japanese car makers, i see.

• Cocobear on Jan 31, 2010 at 3:48 am

I applaud the recall action by Honda. Japanese companies are very responsible and they do take actions as required. Not like others!!

• Littlefire on Jan 31, 2010 at 3:59 am

Gen.2 also caught fire a few times de… Just they never tell what is the cause…

• ezralimm on Jan 31, 2010 at 4:13 am

No Cocobear, companies freak out because once a problem is identified and is a known potential hazard, they can get their asses sued till kingdom come by anyone affected by said hazard. Say some poor guy dies from a fire caused by the switch in the future… and honda knows about it but didnt recall the cars.. And it can be proven in court… Then they are screwed big time while lawyers and plaintiffs get rich.

• ya i agree.. japanese companies are very responsible.. and i believe alot of car manufactures kept all their cars problems secret..

• proton should recall all the early badges of perdana v6 because of the gearbox problem..

• malaysia memang bole on Jan 31, 2010 at 4:54 am

first toyota,then honda,so what's next…

when the cars problem is related to death,of course they should recall

• initial R on Jan 31, 2010 at 5:08 am

Proton volunteer to recall all savvy for inspection & do replace for free, they recall coz don't want anything happen to driver before any worse happen that lead to accident & that for bearing, for other they just replace it under warranty accept the mechanic discover any major defect that lead to major accident. For Toyota, they have been force to recall most of his model when US demand them to do it… if not they will "lepas tangan" like that with lot's of technical excuse (you know lah Japan ppl)… Power window are not major defect coz not lead to major accident, gear box broken base on how u abuse the thing, car explode coz of uncertified electrical do when you install any new accessory in your beloved car… also road kill base on how reckless you drive (most ppl not admit they reckless)….

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 31, 2010 at 5:19 am

Hopefully this will become a wake up call for all Proton bashers to shut off their mouth. Any car manufacturers and their suppliers can come out defects parts.

I'm sure Proton basher will say at least those manufacturers recall their cars and not like Proton, that act slowly…. bla bla bla…

• No problem with my Proton Saga Iswara 2005, all 4 windows use manual winding……….

My headlights casing getting small hairlines all over it………ahem, rear door got water seep even after came back from warranty complaint.

But I am so lucky no sticky accelerator and sparking switches…..nope….don't feel lucky.

Gearbox also keeps whining like me. Anti-dozing mechanism?

• khun bakam on Jan 31, 2010 at 5:39 am

perodua should recall all Alzas because in the event of puncture, there's no way you can fit the punctured wheel into the spare tyre bracket – since the spare is convenient spare and thus smaller. so you would have to carry the punctured tyre on your lap!

• Though l love Honda than Toyota ()

• Though l love Honda more than Toyota (due to "boring,ugly &somewhat bland design,relatively inferior engine & tranny it offer to us,eg: unser vios altis innova-Hilux-Fortuner IMV VS US Tacoma, Tundra, Sequoia,Matrix, Sienna,Previa,Camry)compared to more standard common engines& transmissions found in Honda (or Subaru,Mitsubishi,Nissan,Mazda) BUT when it come to Recall l do believe Toyota has upper hand. They should recall JAZZ far earlier.

Kudos to Toyota BUT GM can breath better if they have better product like Hybrid VOLT. Otherwise, the Korean will be benefit from this event.

• totot112 on Jan 31, 2010 at 6:19 am

The things that we can see defects appear on the entire range or entire fleet is due to the fact of sharing parts (safe cost to develop).

The best sharing cost in development we can see is the toyota where they can have one parts shared with many different range models across their entire fleet.

Proton that hasn't do recall for the recent problematic IAFM and Right hand steering problems and rear drum brakes problem is due to not enough death or prove that can trigger it as a safety issue to do a recall. Thus they do it on a smaller scale where only customers that complain will get it rectified, no complain under the warranty period means no issue on that car sold.

Produa that hasn't do any recall same like proton. Not much regulations that able to blame on the problematic brakes that causes most accidents involving myvi. Blame it on the driver missjudgement. Myvi has problem with the power windows switch controls too, but the most common problem is the brakes.

Toyota and Honda with the recall due to law in other contries are stronger and pushes and forces manufacturer to rectifi and recall

—————————————————-

Many other car makers also will only do recall if safety issue involve and if the countries it sells to does has very strong laws that forces the manufactures to take the recall process.

Else it will be profit to the max for manufacturer with the cut cost to the max.

• totot112 on Jan 31, 2010 at 6:24 am

So advice is don't become a fan boy and be alert with your car. All cars will tend to have problems. Solving it and detecting it is one things, avoiding injuries or death is another things…

I was so amazed why those people who drives Auto car on Toyota when discovered they has stuck accelerator didn't know how to act? Why the didn't shift it to "N" and step on the brakes instead leave in in "D" while talking to the phone calling 911 (Got time to talk to emergency rescue but no time to shift it to N)?

• subhero on Jan 31, 2010 at 7:10 am

i think japanese need a war again to rebuilt their kamikaze..

whos next?.. proton?.. perodua?.. hyundai?..

• water that causes fire? wow this is a first…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 31, 2010 at 7:16 am

when they going recall the protons?

• Any recall for Myvi? The back seat is like ass warmer…

• oliver chantk on Jan 31, 2010 at 7:22 am

Why Proton never recall their cars with faulty Power Windows, Airbags, ABS, Door Handles, interior trimmings or Campro engines? I am not bashing Proton but just having a curiosity. Sounds like they're irresponsible or not customer oriented.

• kenso on Jan 31, 2010 at 7:36 am

I can foresee Hyundai and Kia dominating this year again!

• kopi-man on Jan 31, 2010 at 7:37 am

The manufacturer take the responsibility to recall the car as a social respond. My SAGA/WAJA got so many defect, and what the services guy in glenmarie said is like, "Its like that one la, Proton, what you expect"..

I am clueless…we are now totally forget those people has no responsible for the customer and bash those who take responsible for the customer.

• It's time to wake up. Japanese cars are not relaibility king.

They are same as GM, Ford, and any other mediocre brands.

• abdul qayyum on Jan 31, 2010 at 8:01 am

hahahahaha…

• mirror mirror on Jan 31, 2010 at 8:08 am

We are left with Nissan.

• Too bad for Japanese car makers, next one? Mazda? Not hope so, Toyota and Honda company's sure have their head exploded.

• Gajen on Jan 31, 2010 at 8:33 am

lol when toyota had the recall….quite a number of people were saying honda is the best,no problems etc..now they just look stupid lol

anyway there is no car maker that is perfect,recalls are important, to rectify problems/faulties..

• juniper on Jan 31, 2010 at 8:39 am

u guys really do make me laugh..toyota & honda admit they've make mistake on their own fault n still we keep on blaming proton..next time of merc oso got prob we can blame proton, airbus got prob oso blame proton..auntie char kuew teow msk masin sgt oso cn blame proton…my goodness~

• staff on Jan 31, 2010 at 8:52 am

I dont understand for those who ask proton to do a recall over power windows, interior trimming and door handles… Is these can cause death?

For ABS, AIrbag… how can you say it need to be recalled? your airbag can be tested by your own eh?

just because the BIG TOYOTA have defects and make recall then you assumed smaller company like Proton and Perodua must be having something worst than that eh?

• nabill on Jan 31, 2010 at 9:17 am

moral of the story is,get a veyron or a phantom….!

• Mufasa on Jan 31, 2010 at 9:31 am

that why i bought proton, no recall for my wira… muahaha

• no worries on Jan 31, 2010 at 9:46 am

mirror mirror said,

January 31, 2010 @ 12:08 am

We are left with Nissan.

—————————————————————

We can switch to other japs make like Mazda, Subaru, Suzuki, Mitsuoka, ???

• Charger on Jan 31, 2010 at 10:19 am

Not bad, only 3 cases and they do a recall. You don't get that from Hyundai Motor Company though, even after tonnes of similar cases being lodged.

• chaquin on Jan 31, 2010 at 10:47 am

no recall for china car??is it mean that china car is better than japan car??

• koozold on Jan 31, 2010 at 10:52 am

Or switch to H & K…i like K Forte!! :P

• Toyota never admit it is their fault.

And they still not admit it.

Toyota's claim.

First, It was a human error

2nd, It was a floor mats

Later, It was American made Pedal problem.

Again, Toyota never admit faulty products are made by them. They just blame on external suppliers.

• Ibn batutta on Jan 31, 2010 at 1:21 pm

Most of the proton car buyer today actually know their car is not reliable &someday will face some defects.. But most of them said.. "what to do this is the only car i can afford to buy".. Beside claiming they are patriotic malaysian. Once they can afford to buy.. that's it bye bye.. National car! So why proton's owner outhere didnt complaint much???

Answer : They already know before they bought!

*another sad story ignored by malaysian.. As perodua said.. "People 1st.. Quality 2nd.. Safety 3rd.. and so on.."

• Gajen on Jan 31, 2010 at 1:44 pm

no worries,

to be honest almost every car maker have recalls…no car maker is perfect…even bentleys were recalled last year or the year before…my dad had a 1999 camry then 2007 he switched to the current one.both camrys have never given any problems..he used to have a peugeot 405 and old honda accord..both gave a lot of problems..so it depends also..not necessary,mazda subaru etc wont have probs..

• p1basher on Jan 31, 2010 at 2:01 pm

that's why we support honda, recall for their customer sake. unlike proton, never recall although having tons of issues. but i must compliment proton well done in hiding. :P

• ezralimm on Jan 31, 2010 at 3:45 pm

How the hell does proton always get dragged into this?

Guys, notice that both toyota and honda only issued recalls after some sad bloke died from the defect, and it has been proven that the defect caused the death?

Not doing something about it would be very bad. LEGALLY it's called NEGLIGENCE and in a life and death scenario the potential for getting their pants SUED till kingdom come is pretty high because they know about the problem but didnt fix it.

Power windows are a different story. In Honda's and Toyota's case, people actually can die or get badly injured from the fault.

Bottom line: Fix problem or get sued in future. Corporations are out to make money, so please stop being naive. Their PR department wants everyone to believe that they are just being "nice". What bs. They are only being "nice" after it was proven those parts cause death because now they are liable for negligence and lawsuits.

• kancil elite on Jan 31, 2010 at 3:51 pm

proton..hiding behind govt..still struggling to become profitable…

any recall by them will lead them to ruin…or they can use taxpayer aka their cust money to finance it…

so for the sake of patriotism we got to lower our standard and live with the flaws of proton products…

• peYno on Jan 31, 2010 at 5:43 pm

oliver chantk said,

January 30, 2010 @ 11:22 pm

Why Proton never recall their cars with faulty Power Windows, Airbags, ABS, Door Handles, interior trimmings or Campro engines? I am not bashing Proton but just having a curiosity. Sounds like they’re irresponsible or not customer oriented.

=======

sorry to say.. but u sounds stupid..

manufacturer recall in case of any problem involve SAFETY and can cause DEATH…

Waja door handle broken oso can cause DEATH???

stupid ah beng

• oomph on Jan 31, 2010 at 6:31 pm

Knowing Toyota with their Toyota way, if no recall would mean Toyota will end up in massive litigation cases which eventually loss much more money. Thus it is better for them to recall, and get free credit from Toyota fans that they are BEING RESPONSIBLE. So naive..

• Tiadaid on Jan 31, 2010 at 7:00 pm

Seeing all the comments in here that are so pro-Toyota & pro-Honda, I can easily conclude that many Malaysians are so obsessed with badges that they're willing to overlook bad aspects of that product. Pah, so low-class the mentality.

• Hadi1975 on Jan 31, 2010 at 7:49 pm

anything that's built by human will always have defects…that's a fact…

• wajarlah on Jan 31, 2010 at 7:51 pm

Now we can see how stupid is p1 basher with their nonsense comments.

• hahaha padan muka (Member) on Jan 31, 2010 at 8:15 pm

hahahahahahaha best maaa…beli kereta mahal tp rosak…hahahahaha proton n perodua kereta murah, so no woder la kadang2 rosak…ini toyota n honda pon rosak kaa???? hahahahahahaha serve u right hahahahaha

• Could this be a political+business+American Patriotism+ Obama Protectionism+Anti Globalization(in the American small town) that force this two foreign auto giant to make their recalls within a week worldwide ? I just surprised. Having observation on how Obama try hard to defend their people money. Obviously these two vehicle safety recall that involve in US car business will strike hard on Toyota and Honda sales in US.

• Cross Polo on Jan 31, 2010 at 8:52 pm

Littlefire said,

January 30, 2010 @ 7:59 pm

Gen.2 also caught fire a few times de… Just they never tell what is the cause…

———————————————————–

Tu sebab illigal wireing lepas tukar assesori kat kedai ah beng pastu wireing bikin sesuka hati cuma tambah fuis aje yang tak leh tampung kuasa… patutnya kena buat satu kotak fius sendiri & sesuikan dengan kuasa elektrik kereta tu sendiri…. bila jadi camtu nak salahkan P1… tak selidik dulu apa jadi…. kereta lain pun pernah terbakar sebab benda bodoh nie le tapi diaorang tak kecoh pun sebab kereta diaorang branded….

• Cross Polo on Jan 31, 2010 at 8:57 pm

Produa pun ada masalah dengan break diaoang…. tak pernah pun nak recall walaupun dah banyak pemilik dia komplain… last sekali pemilik tukar sendiri dengan yang kualiti elok sikit dengan duit sendiri tapi tak pernah nak cakap kata kualiti P2 tak elok….

• Dr. Kervokian on Jan 31, 2010 at 9:00 pm

Dammit, i've been having power window problems with my Civic since I bought it last year. Had it replaced once, and tweaked like 5 times already.

• BrakeFader on Jan 31, 2010 at 9:30 pm

There is a big difference here. Knowing mistake and rectify immediately despite cost is highly respectable. Unlike some local brand knowing lots of problem but insist of selling. I am aware of a model which they sent bulletin of possible errors to all service centres before the cars hit showrooms. Its question of ethics.

• Ibn batutta said,

January 31, 2010 @ 5:21 am

Most of the proton car buyer today actually know their car is not reliable &someday will face some defects.. But most of them said.. “what to do this is the only car i can afford to buy”.. Beside claiming they are patriotic malaysian. Once they can afford to buy.. that’s it bye bye.. National car! So why proton’s owner outhere didnt complaint much???

Answer : They already know before they bought!

*another sad story ignored by malaysian.. As perodua said.. “People 1st.. Quality 2nd.. Safety 3rd.. and so on..”

———————————-

wat to complain, can i complain bout the rubber mat(not gud), aircond too cool, no tv, no gps, no usb, no bullet proof window, tank not so big, don wan steel spare tyre….i now my car…it quite gud compare with other maker..now more than a year the still gud condition..only stupidity cause the prob…saga my first car for a entry car n my goal to hav ferrari….u orang kayak can buy luxury car straight away eg hondua, toyolta…

ps: Ibn batutta can u giv me 1 complain still don know wat to complain…

• to Ibn batutta

u can drive my car to find anything to complain..i don know wat to complain

please!!!!!!!

• nabill said,

January 31, 2010 @ 1:17 am

moral of the story is,get a veyron or a phantom….!

————————————-

ya rite…do you watch youtube veyron or other supercar burn simultaneously due to high temp to ashes only engine survive the fire….moral of the story just walk (with hope no car or rempit on road)…look stupid rite..

• totot112 said,

January 30, 2010 @ 10:24 pm

So advice is don’t become a fan boy and be alert with your car. All cars will tend to have problems. Solving it and detecting it is one things, avoiding injuries or death is another things…

I was so amazed why those people who drives Auto car on Toyota when discovered they has stuck accelerator didn’t know how to act? Why the didn’t shift it to “N” and step on the brakes instead leave in in “D” while talking to the phone calling 911 (Got time to talk to emergency rescue but no time to shift it to N)?

——————–

u know bout PANIC…if people can do like u said many road accident can avoid but not in the real world..in theory can la bro or u pro driver…eg. when ur can slide on wet road wat u do..brake or reverse or control ur steering or free gear etc..in split second…

• peYno on Jan 31, 2010 at 11:41 pm

kancil elite said,

January 31, 2010 @ 7:51 am

proton..hiding behind govt..still struggling to become profitable…

any recall by them will lead them to ruin…or they can use taxpayer aka their cust money to finance it…

so for the sake of patriotism we got to lower our standard and live with the flaws of proton products…

======

then how about p2 disc brake and power window switch problem???

p2 not hiding behind govt meh???

if p2 not hiding behind G… Daihatsu oredi moved to Indonesia long2 time ago …prrrfthhh

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 31, 2010 at 11:49 pm

lol proton…if recall……might as well ask everybody send back to the factory…cos all the cars are spoilt

• Tiadaid on Jan 31, 2010 at 11:55 pm

BrakeFader said,

January 31, 2010 @ 1:30 pm

There is a big difference here. Knowing mistake and rectify immediately despite cost is highly respectable. Unlike some local brand knowing lots of problem but insist of selling. I am aware of a model which they sent bulletin of possible errors to all service centres before the cars hit showrooms. Its question of ethics.

——————-

Did you even read the articles? Toyota only recalled their cars after a family DIED in one of their runaway cars! Honda recalled their cars only after Toyota started recalling their cars, which is even worse because Honda already knew that their malfunction had killed a toddler, but they only recalled the cars AFTER the Toyota announcement! You call that ethical? In what parallel universe is that ethical?

• kimi_ on Feb 01, 2010 at 12:01 am

Tiadaid said,

Seeing all the comments in here that are so pro-Toyota & pro-Honda, I can easily conclude that many Malaysians are so obsessed with badges that they’re willing to overlook bad aspects of that product. Pah, so low-class the mentality.

—————————————————————-

This is because PITY malaysian that are suffer for 20 years of crap, poor

quality product of P1, which are under protection means these are the only

choice for middle class people while others brands are overly priced or

priced ridiculously!!!!!!!!!!!!

MIND you, Malaysia are the second highest price of cars in the WORLD after

singapore (which is small country so i understand)

• Proton sucks and they dont even recall. I AM A BASHER! MUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

• the bastard on Feb 01, 2010 at 12:55 am

All cars will have problems. It's a mahine with thousands and thousands of moving parts that bumps into each other, that needs grease and oil for lubricants, that shakes and grinds.

Sounds like sex… but What do you expect?

• Tiadaid on Feb 01, 2010 at 3:32 am

kimi_ said,

January 31, 2010 @ 4:01 pm

Tiadaid said,

Seeing all the comments in here that are so pro-Toyota & pro-Honda, I can easily conclude that many Malaysians are so obsessed with badges that they’re willing to overlook bad aspects of that product. Pah, so low-class the mentality.

—————————————————————-

———————

It has nothing to do with P1 protection and the like. Malaysians are just too badge conscious that they stop thinking rationally and are willing to overlook the shortcomings of that particular brand, as long as they can have that product. That's why when Toyota & Honda dropped the ball big time, they turn into apologists, but when Proton dropped the ball, they become the bashers extraordinaire. Not just for cars, but for all other stuff. Can't afford iPhone, go buy Chinese iPhone lookalike. Can't afford a TAG Heuer watch, go buy Petaling Street TAG Heuer…

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 01, 2010 at 3:34 am

all comment above my comment here shows how typical malaysian think

even article about honda,they also bash proton here

get a real life,bloody bashers

honda recalls all their cars because the problem is related to death

if it is only a minor problem,who cares!

• kimi_ on Feb 01, 2010 at 4:18 am

Tiadaid said,

It has nothing to do with P1 protection and the like. Malaysians are just too badge conscious that they stop thinking rationally and are willing to overlook the shortcomings of that particular brand, as long as they can have that product. That’s why when Toyota & Honda dropped the ball big time, they turn into apologists, but when Proton dropped the ball, they become the bashers extraordinaire.

—————————————————————

it is related dude. Malaysian are brand conscious because we look down to Proton because it still like a behave like a child hide behind mommy all the time. Why not let Proton survive itself and open up automobile industry, BECAUSE scared it will bancrupt in short time.

Then how long it need to be protected and why it EXIST in first place…Nation pride??? WAKE UP, this is world of business-ONLY THE STRONG WILL SURVIVE!!!

Other country also protect their automobile like japan and korea…

FINE and i dont care if PROTON is as GOOD as T&H or Hyundai and KIA…

The point is:: when you are a child, you will be protected by your parents, when you become adult, it is your turned to protect yourself and your parent. If you cant do this simple things, two words for you–FAILED AND USELESS (Proton)

• A'enz on Feb 01, 2010 at 4:23 am

who's said proton didn't do a recall? other than savvy recall with rear wheel bearing isue, there are a recall with Waja enhancement before.. Proton recall for replacing the stock 16" alloy rims because it's not suite for the car.. remember that stupid Proton bashers??

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 01, 2010 at 4:36 am

lol the proton losers are enjoying this. just because a small incident in like 200 years, they go bash like hell. probably cause they get bashed everyday as proton cars have big incidents every 5 minutes.

• oliver chantk on Feb 01, 2010 at 4:36 am

peYno are you dumb or just a buttholed idiot like a katak bawah tempurung. Let me remind you to brush up your language – EngRish if you mind.

Earlier, Honda Motor Co said it has recalled its Fit/Jazz and City and its 2nd generation City models manufactured in 2007 because of a faulty window switch. My criticism was why can't Proton do the same? And it is not cheap to replace the Waja's door handle or the Power window.

Proton knows this very well and chose not to recall as they wouldn't want to waste their money and chose to have haters which eventually turned into basher and buys Peroduas than Protons.

• kimi_ said,

January 31, 2010 @ 8:18 pm

Tiadaid said,

It has nothing to do with P1 protection and the like. Malaysians are just too badge conscious that they stop thinking rationally and are willing to overlook the shortcomings of that particular brand, as long as they can have that product. That’s why when Toyota & Honda dropped the ball big time, they turn into apologists, but when Proton dropped the ball, they become the bashers extraordinaire.

—————————————————————

it is related dude. Malaysian are brand conscious because we look down to Proton because it still like a behave like a child hide behind mommy all the time. Why not let Proton survive itself and open up automobile industry, BECAUSE scared it will bancrupt in short time.

Then how long it need to be protected and why it EXIST in first place…Nation pride??? WAKE UP, this is world of business-ONLY THE STRONG WILL SURVIVE!!!

The point is:: when you are a child, you will be protected by your parents, when you become adult, it is your turned to protect yourself and your parent. If you cant do this simple things, two words for you–FAILED AND USELESS (Proton)

—————————

but when petrol, food price increase u whining.rite..still we call it protection rite

• oliver chantk on Feb 01, 2010 at 4:49 am

We Proton bashers have every right to feel negative perceptions towards the brand as we are poorly treated as their customers by not being appreciated with their lousy after sales service and poor products, quality and attitude.

If it is not for the national interest, Proton might not exist and we will have more choices when it comes to cars but this what you get from monopoly or protection. We have no choice but to buy Protons.

No doubt the newer Protons are a slight improvements but thank god I will never have to own one!

• Tiadaid on Feb 01, 2010 at 5:10 am

oliver chantk said,

January 31, 2010 @ 8:36 pm

peYno are you dumb or just a buttholed idiot like a katak bawah tempurung. Let me remind you to brush up your language – EngRish if you mind.

Earlier, Honda Motor Co said it has recalled its Fit/Jazz and City and its 2nd generation City models manufactured in 2007 because of a faulty window switch. My criticism was why can’t Proton do the same? And it is not cheap to replace the Waja’s door handle or the Power window.

Proton knows this very well and chose not to recall as they wouldn’t want to waste their money and chose to have haters which eventually turned into basher and buys Peroduas than Protons.

—————–

For Oliver and Proton bashers alike, let me direct you to the Office of Defects & Recalls, the US agency in charge of vehicle recalls.

In their website, they stated the reasons for a recall. They are :-

a) When a motor vehicle or item of motor vehicle equipment (including tires) does not comply with a Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard.

b) When there is a safety-related defect in the vehicle or equipment.

They also gave several examples of defects that are NOT considered safety-related, therefore not liable for a recall :-

Examples of defects NOT considered safety-related:

a) Air conditioners and radios that do not operate properly.

b) Ordinary wear of equipment that has to be inspected, maintained and replaced periodically. Such equipment includes shock absorbers, batteries, brake pads and shoes, and exhaust systems.

c) Nonstructural or body panel rust.

d) Quality of paint or cosmetic blemishes.

e) Excessive oil consumption.

Now for power windows, a recall would only happen if they

a) The power window regulator could actually break the glass

b) The wiring was damaged by any part of the car and would present a fire hazard

c) The operation of the window could result in injury

So far, haven't heard about Proton's power windows causing the glass to break, or present a fire hazard in the car, or result in injury other than injured pride.

You be the judge.

For those who want more info http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/recalls/recallproces…

• kimi_ said,

January 31, 2010 @ 4:01 pm

Tiadaid said,

—————————————————————-

————————————

thats was plain lie…do u hav proof to support ur allegation bro…if no u r such penipu my friend

• Baldwin on Feb 01, 2010 at 5:16 am

IMO, all this r part of a move to topple the Japs car makers since their General Motors are dying.

Whts next?..Hyundai & Kia cars also gotta recall their fleets?

Btw, our own P1 quality has been below par with faulty, loose, sub-standard and more than a few hv caught fire all this years….anyone hear of any recalls?

• Mazda 3 MPS said,

January 31, 2010 @ 3:49 pm

lol proton…if recall……might as well ask everybody send back to the factory…cos all the cars are spoilt

————————————————-

my proton not spoilt…how u know my car..i can sue u for that allegation without basis..ur email paultan.org hav it so it easier to locate u my friend

• mkrafz on Feb 01, 2010 at 5:32 am

Come on u guys..

one side the T and H bipolar obsess

the others, malaysian carmaker enthusiast..

window, ABS, fog-lamp, back-lamp malfunction do couse death?

a brand conscious? typical malaysian thinking?

those big T and H does cause DEATH and still don't admit they were wrong.

haven u p1 and p2 BASHER, heard what the final word those pity family before they perished?

It's horrible…

only fools denied this incident.

• generalhoho on Feb 01, 2010 at 5:57 am

bodoh.. Proton got recalled their Perdana la last time..

Brainless bashers

• ezralimm on Feb 01, 2010 at 6:05 am

Oh for fvck sake people dont drag proton into this. All I can say is you should ask anyone who ACTUALLY OWNS any recent model proton AND ALSO OWNS a japanese/continental car about the proton's reliability – you will be surprised.

Bottom line: BOTH Honda and Toyota only started recalling cars AFTER PEOPLE DIED from faulty parts. They have to do so now because they really risk getting sued for millions and millions if anyone gets injured from known faulty parts.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

STOP FALLING FOR PR PROPAGANDA YOU BADGE WORSHIPING IDI0TS!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I drive a car that's freaking affected by this recall and even I dont fall for this obvious corporate PR bullsh1t.

• ezralimm on Feb 01, 2010 at 6:08 am

oliver chantk said,

January 31, 2010 @ 8:36 pm

====================

Oliver, one is a life and death matter. People get injured and can sue Honda's pants off especially if there is a loss of life. Spoilt power windows dont kill people.

Honda is only doing the recall AFTER people died ffs. You think they are being all goody-2-shoes?

• pyscho on Feb 01, 2010 at 6:53 am

peugeot n citroen also recall their cars. way to go 2010. all automakers are socially irresponsible.

• asgard on Feb 01, 2010 at 6:58 am

bad honda , bad toyota , good proton

• hahaha padan muka (Member) on Feb 01, 2010 at 7:10 am

Tiadaid was right…proton and perodua bashers actually suda malu ngan apa yg jadi…so nak counter balik, dia cakp la proton n perodua pon suck…hahahahaha best x beli kereta mahal tp still a cikai car???…hahahahahaha best kan???

• oliver chantk on Feb 01, 2010 at 7:31 am

I think it is about selling a product and be accountable with it. Why people buy National or Panasonic eventhough they're not as interesting compared to other brands? They trusted these brands like what Toyota or Honda is doing by fixing its products. We Malaysian have been taken things for granted and never voiced out our opinions on anything, be it politics or consumerism!

Note that the Honda Jazz/Fit/City recalls are regarding with its power windows.

• OneEarth on Feb 01, 2010 at 7:38 am

I am not siding Japs or Proton either as i am just a consumer. However, to be frank, i do not know why many die hard nationalist of Proton that do not even accept critics from anyone. Those who criticised on Proton due to this recall issues indeed does have rights. Dont forget that even Honda and Toyota did laughed by the world before they become today. I am too a nationalist and i do believe we need protection to make the car at the early stage. But this is too long and the mentality change to slow. We should have excelled given we have that much or resources and protection.

I driven 1.3 Proton 1993, Satria 1.3 1997 but then when i plan to upgrade further for my small business to 2.0 car, i have been just asking for a test drive but not successful for Perdana for 3 months. Worst, i have asked why Perdana is not fix with Air bag but indeed spending money on a sterling wheel as sport model. I assume that is because Proton is true until today, still do not think Malaysian that supported them as nationalist still think their lives are important. Eventually i bought a Hyundai Sonata till now. Just not to mentioned i sweared to myself not to buy a Proton after Satria given tremendous problem and the manufacturer told me that "You got no choice". For those who die heart Proton, if you hear that what will you react. Yet, i still trying to give a chance to Proton because me too is a nationalist until i just cannot take it anymore.

Finally, i just do not understand that why we still have Malaysian till today that only think recall must associate with death. The comment of when all people bash Proton for any recall news is because you also must understand many people did either support or no choice to support Proton. They have the rights to voice out. Recall is a good thing, only those do not understand as it will give long term branding for customers to trust your brand.

Finally, to be honest, when i saw Proton Exora, my tears almost out. As a nationalist, i do think finally they did something right. A real good concept and good car. It is not Proton, is the people and the mentality. And it is ours Malaysian.

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 01, 2010 at 8:17 am

i really wonder what is the uses of title

may i repeat the title

'Honda Jazz worldwide recall over switch defect'

and you all should post something related to this

you may include toyota's recall issue,but why suddenly Proton

are you all out of your mind?

bash this,bash that

get a life,moron

i'm not defending proton,but please proton is new in designing their own car

don't compare nissan,toyota,honda,etc…

please give them some time

if you all keep buying overseas product,who wanna support malaysia product

those japanese and the korean are the one who will be richer and richer,not us

please if you all really hate them,just shut up and stop buying proton.

ok,if proton can improve their quality and can reach the same level as japanese car quality and with the same price,will you all buy it

i doubt no,cause most of you all still love you bloody japanese cars

and if you all say i'm out of topic,

i'm out of topic because of those bloody bashers out there

• Jangan Tipu Sendiri on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:43 am

Jangan tipu sendiri. Proton will never same quality as Others country as long as still under protection and orang sendiri yang jadi boss. tunggu change gov baru proton dapat naik.

• Jangan Tipu Sendiri on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:44 am

sebab ada kerata langar sikit terbakar pun tak recall, org lain satu switch sudah recall

• peYno on Feb 01, 2010 at 2:24 pm

oliver chantk said,

================

and u know what.. current common problem for Myvi and p2 products is POWER WINDOW SWITCH problem… why they never recall???

prrrfthh

pity ah beng japs wannabe..

• Tiadaid on Feb 01, 2010 at 4:26 pm

OneEarth said,

January 31, 2010 @ 11:38 pm

Finally, i just do not understand that why we still have Malaysian till today that only think recall must associate with death.

—————

OneEarth, even in America they only recall car if there is a SAFETY HAZARD. If you have a malfunctioning car part that does not endanger your safety, they wouldn't recall the car.

oliver chantk said,

January 31, 2010 @ 11:31 pm

————–

Oliver, Honda's power window problem killed someone. That's why they have to recall those cars. The switch could short itself if it came in contact with a liquid and caught fire.

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 01, 2010 at 10:17 pm

jangan tipu sendiri

kau ingat tukar gov boleh tukar gov

please lah brader,ko tngok ah PEE ARE pun sekarang baru handle berapa negeri pun dah tunggang terbalik,sebaiknya biar proton urus sendiri atau biar kerajaan lepaskan diorang

lagi baik kalau diorang buat partnership dengan syarikat automotive lain,mungkin diorang boleh tolong proton dalam cara nak tingkatkan kualiti

note:i'm out of topic,i admit it.but i need to say something to this jangan tipu sendiri

CHANGE GOV,DOESNT MEAN THAT THEY CAN CHANGE PROTON

• yippi33 on Feb 01, 2010 at 10:53 pm

Jangan Tipu Sendiri said,

February 1, 2010 @ 1:43 am

Jangan tipu sendiri. Proton will never same quality as Others country as long as still under protection and orang sendiri yang jadi boss. tunggu change gov baru proton dapat naik.

You sounded like Karpal…syooh!go back to your malaysiakini blog if you want to preach your middle msia propa..shame on you!!!

• Eyesore on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:21 pm

lol… previously its quality issue…, now it's a race of who have the most recall… and the one with most recall is the beast company and one with less recall is the bad one???? ROFLMFAO….

• tokmoh on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:49 pm

OneEarth : Lol, I almost thought u're a typical proton basher in denial ie pretend to be "I'm not proton basher" but then say proton blabla power window blabla UMNO blabla in UK/US/Japan, price of Honda/BMW/Merc blabla corruption blabla AP king blabla and blabla and blablablablablabla.

Proton may not be perfect, but since DSZ (Proton MD) came in, at least we're seeing it heading to the right direction. He's an ex-Perodua guy, so that's kinda reassuring at least. It's unfortunate it was crap during TM days, but as u can see, DSZ has worked hard to win back the support it lost… and gain support from international market. I heard they're doing very nice in Thailand and Indonesia. Next: Saga BLM in India? Oh yeah :D

• OneEarth on Feb 02, 2010 at 1:43 am

Come on guys, a minor issues, just accept the critics and lets hope Proton will do well. Nothing to dispute, take it positive. Recall is definitely must not associate with death. They is no "a must" definition. What i am trying to say i that, there is not bad on critics, Proton need to do better and faster. But also must accept the fact that there is still a distance between worldclass, if you take it positively, then we will be there one day.

• kimi_ said,

January 31, 2010 @ 8:18 pm

————————————————————–

OK FINE! GOV. BOLEH TARIK BALIK PERLINDUNGAN TERHADAP P1 & P2,

DENGAN SYARAT JEPUN & KOREA PUN MESTI SANGGUP BUKA

PASARAN AUTOMOTIF NEGARA DIAORANG……LOL

• malaysia honda recal on Feb 03, 2010 at 9:05 am

What I know is the Honda Jazz is very very expensive in Malaysia. Some other near by country like Thailand and Indonesia is selling ~RM40-50k, even SG and Australia also very cheap. But in Malaysia driving a Jazz seems to be driving an expensive car on the road..

• Malaysian car no recall, Japan car got recall.

Malaysian brand is superior to Japan brand?

• Japan Used Car Exporter on Oct 29, 2010 at 3:56 pm

That’s creepy. There is a person die inside Honda Jazz? I don’t want to blame or anything but Honda should be strict with the checking of their products right? Not just them but all of the car makers. They should provide their customers this two things COMFORT and SAFETY. But I guess there are such things that cannot resist. They cannot make a perfect product if they didn’t find the problem or issues. I just hope that in the future no one will die or hurt.

• Used Cars Exporter on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:04 pm

If we are talking about the safety measures of the passengers Honda failed to do so. But this are just the example of things in life that cannot prevail. So it was like they should tight the inspection and testing of the cars before releasing it to the world in the future. I don’t have any grudge on them Honda is one of the good car maker that release many stylish and great cars. But they should be more focus in the comfortableness of their customers.

– www.sbtjapan.com

• Honda City do have lots of items that I am not satisfy;
    1. Ignition Switch was replaced during warranty and now the problem comes back, looks like it’s a manufacturer’s defect as this is the first car I have problem with ignition switch. Anyone knows if there is a recall for this?
    2. The cover for the radiator expansion tank crack when tighten and one could not see this crack. This is because the plastic will crack easily when tightening due to the heat.
    3. The Power Window Auto Switch problem where it’s replaced during warranty period and come the problem comes back
    4. Lower arm mounting problem
    5. Wheel bearing problem at only 160,000 km
    6. iDsi CVT Gearbox (having sound even after replacement during warranty) and Honda staff claim that the noise level is within specification without even using a test instrument to do the noise level test.
    There is many more to list.