Honda Civic 1.8S-L launched – new variant blends 1.8-litre economy with 2.0-litre luxuries

There’s a new variant of the 8th generation Honda Civic in town – the Civic 1.8S-L, which sits between the 1.8S and the 2.0S. Think of it as the Civic equivalent of the Accord 2.0 VTi-L; you can opt for the smaller engine and get some of the big engined car’s luxuries.

The 1.8S-L is priced at RM119,980 (OTR with insurance), which is RM5,000 more costly than the 1.8S. For that premium, you get cruise control, audio and cruise buttons on the steering wheel, door mirrors with side signals, a sliver panel surrounding the meter, chrome outer door handles and leather seats.

All these kit were previously only available on the 2.0S, which costs RM130,980. Things like 17-inch alloys, blue ambient lighting, shift paddles and side airbags remain exclusive to the 2.0-litre car. With this new variant, Honda Malaysia has targeted a 750-unit monthly sales target for the Civic, with 30% of buyers expected to opt for the 1.8S-L.

Pictures after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1332]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• 1.8sl got the 17 inch rim as well?

• worth it?no?yes?

• definitely not!

• The upgrade items are practical and useful and 5k price hike is well justified. But the problems with current civic is its ride quality, very intrusive road noise, below average sound insulation quality, bumpy and less supportive seats need to be seriously improved in subsequent production.

• Apernie on Jul 17, 2010 at 2:45 am

Yeah agreed…bad sound insulation…plus steering feel not as good as City’s..weird…

• Exactly, i brought one coz of the look and now i’m regret… On top of what you mention, mine comes with mismatch plastic trim, tok tok sound on my front suspension in less than 6 month, missing 2 screw behind the steering wheel, two finger gaps between plastic and metal at the bottom of 2 rear doors… i’m really sad with the money i pay..

• nagypt on Oct 08, 2010 at 12:41 am

actually…i’m looking 4 civic as my 2nd car..i’m at langkawi…tax free maa…so..any body can give me recommended..which one is better??// 1.8 @ 2.0…i’m looking at the brouser…1.8 more economic than 2.0…but….i’m prefer 2.0 due to electric power stering assist..(EPS). so now..during promotion by honda…i have to make decision whether 1.8 @2.0…please guide me..thanks..

• Clement on Jul 17, 2010 at 2:53 am

One more.. I got weird “tak tak” sound with i’m cornering, sound will amplify and to faster tune if the cornering is going uphill.. like those at Genting Highland.. Sounds like the body work or chassis problem, Sent back more than 4 times but no result.. haih… Any sifu here can help ?!?!
          Thank you..

• Soundproof Sifu on Aug 12, 2010 at 8:46 pm

Guys, the “tok tok or tak tak” sound occurred from the front suspension can be fixed.
            The sound is happened to be due to assembly defect of suspension spring and absorber. Ask the honda mechanic to re-assembly the front suspension spring and absober. This problem also happened to my civic 2.0 after a month drive. I went to 3 different honda workshop to complain and do the fix. Finally, the mechanic from the third workshop found out that the suspension spring is offset from the original setting. after re-assembly the parts. It is already 2.5 years I have never heard any “tok tok” sound after the fixed. Hope this would help…. be frank not all mechanic know how to fix this problem, most of them going to tell u ” this is common problem to civic, and is normal.”

• SunGoku on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:35 pm

actually.. i agreed with you.

• this is quite unexpected. although it gives buyers of the civic more choices but essentially just divides up the same pie into more pieces.

• Darren Looi on Jul 15, 2010 at 5:47 pm

So these are all signs that the Civic is nearing its life cycle. So a new model should be out within the next 18 months?

• Blurking on Jul 17, 2010 at 2:05 pm

I went to the show room and they say the new one is coming out next year. But not sure how it looks like

• aku noob on Jul 15, 2010 at 5:53 pm

civic 2.0s mahal sgt laa…at least civic 1.8sl still mampu dimiliki…

• theanswer on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:20 pm

not much diff from 1.8. a bit expensive from lancer gt..but check the safety spec.

• leonardo on Jul 21, 2010 at 8:25 am

I think they are feeling the heat from the facelifted Lancer 2.0L. The Civic has the brand and looks, but poor NVH and R&H is a letdown.

• potong1 on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:28 pm

10 ribu extra pun tak mampu, jangan beli la.

• Tiadaid on Jul 15, 2010 at 5:54 pm

Might as well replace the 1.8S with this in my opinion. The difference in price, when taken into account the loan period is minuscule

• yes.. its about less than RM 100 per month on a 9 year loan for the 2.0s over this model. No point la.

• if you need 9 years loan on this premium car, you seriously need to plan your financial states.

• irwan on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:58 am

It’s not about 9 years or 3 years. It’s about how you can use your money better. If you can make the 500 saving each month and make it grow more than 10% each year, why you would use that to save on interest which is just 3-4% per year?

You could equally saying “if you need any loan on this premium car, you seriously need to plan your financial states.”

• they still have plenty of ex-stock :P

• vtec200k on Jul 15, 2010 at 5:59 pm

soon . . . civic will roll out the 9th gen . . . this move is similarly done after accord 2.0vti-L . . . seems like honda doing premium stuff on lower range engines fulfill new demand . . . luxury items but reduce in fuel consumption and road tax as well . . .

• Dr. Kervokian on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:00 pm

Do they have the foldable back seat that the 2.0 has?

That would be awesome. the rest are just not so practical frills

• I never like this version of civic…. something wrong with the whole thing.. the dashboard in particular…

• civic_lc on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:02 pm

i waiting a long time for heard any news about 1.8s.. at last honda announce new upgrade for 1.8.. but the different between 2.0 only a little cost.. i think i will upgrade to 2.0s or waiting next for the new civic.. maybe 2011 or 2012..

• if there is new civic coming up, there will be no longer available new type R from Japan. Only Europe. Yet, civic is about styling with aggressive look and is a machine to race. But isn’t it Honda is heading for Eco mode? So even if there is a new civic, the meaning behind of it will no longer available. No point isn’t it? Just a 2 cent comment for those Honda fan’s who looking for sporty.

• KCivic on Jul 18, 2010 at 1:20 am

for price diff 10k, get the 2.0. Engine performance totally different. I am an advocate for 2L for anyone considering 1.8. The engine more high revving and responsive. Step on thr pedal rpm shoots up to 6000 rpm within 10 seconds, no joke. The floating feeling on highway solved thru rear spoiler stabilising the behind at 200km/hr. I think the 17” rims makes loots of diff with michelin sport tyres. It never feels draggy when step on acclrator, u hear vtec kick in, engine nice crispy revving sound, like a snake hissing sound, hold on to your steering, your michelin tyres grab the road, sticking its fat rubber and grip on tarmac, and off u go. Believe me, its that good and fun!! The 1.8s can never do that… My wife drives the 1.8s. The 1.8 will not deliver that cos the engine somehow is different. No expert here.. I swear by the 2L in comparison..

• Jhchee on Aug 07, 2010 at 8:37 am

So, u justify the extra 15,000 based on performance. How about the fuel consumption difference?

Thx.

• geronimo on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:08 pm

I prefer if they add split folding seat as oppose to cruise control or eye-candy.

• pororo on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:40 am

honestly speaking….. how often you use the folding back seat? as for me, throughout my 8 years ownership of my ex-car I think i’ve only fold it once…..

cruise control on the other hand was very handy whenever I was on the highway…

cheers….

• MalaysiaBoleh on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:09 pm

Better pay another 11K installments for the 2.0S then…

• Ronaldo on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:10 pm

only 3 photo?? please show us more

• Think the next Civic 2.0S should be at least 165hp…

• Johnny on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:27 pm

I thought Honda will bring in Civic 1.6 model and price is slightly higher than City 1.5 ivtec.

• LMAO.. u joking rite…Btw u got me thinking about it when new pug’s 508 will be powered with a 1.6 prince engine. Might just be the same. Turbo charged VTEC? lol

• No wonder i saw a truck load of civics on kesas just now, with the extra S-L on the 1.8. Thanks for the coverage, Jacob

• tokmoh on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:34 pm

Took them long enough to figure out that there are people who wants the 1.8L but with better specs especially leather seats. Hell, it’s about time!!

Blue ambient lighting? Which lighting?

• Seriously on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:46 am

a lil blue LED blub at the top shining down towards the gear knob… that’s about it :/

• tokmoh on Jul 16, 2010 at 6:24 pm

lol, I never noticed it on my fren’s FD2 2.0 pre-fl. I suppose it first appeared in fl models onwards :/

• Honda Civic on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:46 pm

This is what i said the ultimate car.Honda is the best!!

• Typical Honda salesman

• Winston Lee on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:58 pm

Honda sales are down-turn worldwide.

• Steven on Jul 16, 2010 at 1:02 pm

Please check your facts before you post your comment. Who said Honda sales are on the downward trend worldwide? On the contrary, Honda sales worldwide this year have increaseed more than 30% compared to 2009. Please don’t belittle Honda especially if you don’t own a Honda car and especially if you only drive a Proton or Perodua. Honda The Power Of Dreams. I own two Honda cars.

• If Honda is the best, it would have been sold in RR/Bentley price…

• Honda Owner on Jul 16, 2010 at 2:41 pm

If Honda is the best, it would have been sold in RR/Bentley price…

What a joke!

• omahabojan on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:47 pm

Not bad at all

• White Jack on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:04 pm

I think this is a very good move for Honda to make the 1.8 to the L version. How about a CRV 2.0L soon ? CRV will be very much better with leather seat (L) and HID light.

• Stupid Rela Killed Tiger on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:12 pm

Haha got to know abt this last few weeks already. Was just asking the salesperson abt the Civic & City and they told us abt 1.8SL. Sparkle Grey should the popular choice though. Just saw a Euro-version of Honda Civic with a tag ‘S-type’ along the LDP SS2 bearing the no. plate WUB with 2 digit no. So cool if can park both side by side and compare. I wonder how much is Naza charging for that model.

• UK Spec Civic is more expensive than accord in msia , near to accord 3.5 liter price

• UK Civic type R cost RM around 350K depends on what year and of coz so called unregistered “used car”.

• seksek on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:03 pm

means no more hybrid civic can sell in here????

• abcde12345 on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:18 pm

announcement to everybody
    new civic will launch by 2011!!!
    hoorayyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!
    has been confirm already
    dont ask me where i get this info

• got money to buy?

• x-vios on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:28 am

why can’t we ask? why the hush-hush? gonna detain you under ISA?

• Steven on Jul 16, 2010 at 1:04 pm

Really? 9th gen Honda Civic will be launched next year? This is great news. I am waiting patiently for it to be launched here.

• suppose adding paddle shift inside.

• Desmond on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:19 am

Yes, that is the first thing that came across my mind as well… It would be very lovely if it comes with paddle shifter… :(

• honda on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:09 pm

straight away buy 2.0s no money don buy…

• I wonder when will the next generation civic be coming out. Any spy shots ? Rumors seems to prove that it is more towards the downside.

• Winston Lee on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:46 pm

Just forget about this 1.8 L Civic with very expensive price with so little features.Those who want to buy Mitsubishi Lancer with 1.8 L Mivec engine, Proton will launch the rebadging Lancer GT in this quarter end of this year.The price is surely below RM80K. So, what do you think.

• car-geek on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:57 pm

still no USB ports for charging or audio input?

• scooter on Jul 16, 2010 at 8:58 am

my fren juz bought a new 1.8 civic, not sure S or SL, it equipped with USB=D

• trav_da_man on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:00 pm

This is odd, honda introduce a new variant for a 4 year old popular model which might be replaced by next year. I felt Honda should remain this popular model for another 2 years.

• any benefit for you if they prolong this model for 2 years?

• trav_da_man on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:33 pm

I may expect the next generation civic will be duller to drive with torsion beam and a possible honda inspire lookalike!

• seancorr on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:06 pm

None on the new gen civic since honda will be delaying its new launch by another year

• coolguru on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:28 pm

aiyah… all these add-ons with higher cost is to defend – on spec – with Hyundai Sonata. Like it or not, people may say different segment, different cost, engine, bla bla…
    many buyers just go for the specs of what they can see first, not what they can feel next.

Example, look good first with the accessories! Engine big or small, later stage.

• cybermaster98 on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:03 am

This is just a last ditch effort by Honda to push off the remaining Civic models before the new Civic model comes out next year.

• but the civic is already the best seller in the c-segment category of cars since the day it was launched.

they should have brought in the 1.6 like in singapore…that would have been a great success.

• I am totally disagree with you. Civic is not the best seller in the c-segment nor since it was launched.

I must say this, Honda is heading for Eco mode (world-wide), so if people who want really want sporty machine, look for another alternative at the moment.

Who knows, Honda might will come back with sports car when their financial is stable in the future, just like Toyota did that too.

Good luck everyone, happy motoring.

• where did you get your facts from? I’m talking about malaysia man…

• BSLee on Jul 16, 2010 at 7:14 pm

Yes, this Honda civic is not the best;– Car feel light and floating on highway; poor cabin insulation etc. Equipment level may attractive to some but overall driving experience is the most important to most drivers.

• Jason on Jul 16, 2010 at 8:57 am

What is the main reason caused Honda to give more equipment lists to the Civic?

Is the GM Cruze?
    Is the Sonata launched recently?

Civic 1.8S-L is now really worthy for money and it beats Altis!

• 47ronin on Jul 17, 2010 at 1:21 am

IMHO, judging by the price list at RM119K, is it possible Civic is competing with Sylphy Luxury Navi?

Well, off course in term of exterior, Civic is still looking good for years to come.

• hewyk on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:23 am

what do you guys think about mitsubshi’s response with their Lancer EX? http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com.my/showroom-lancer-ex-overview.php Is this going to be the platform for the Waja Replacement by Proton? If so will Mit be able to sell any of these babies? Nice one by Honda though with this 1.8LS intro.

• Peter on Jul 16, 2010 at 1:47 pm

Yes, that is the platform for Waja replacement by Proton . Looks like the new Waja are facing tough compeition…But i expect new waja are going to be cheaper than this babe….Else, i guess they might not sell….

• Civic EK on Jul 16, 2010 at 2:49 pm

cant wait for next civic! :D

• xavier lert on Jul 16, 2010 at 3:01 pm

who want my FD2 ????

• BeemerFreak on Jul 16, 2010 at 3:44 pm

WHy still no paddle shift? 1.8L in thailand and singapore has paddle shift…..

• http://www.honda.com.my/civic/detail/majorequipment/

see here….

• KCivic on Jul 18, 2010 at 1:24 am

also use only VPower Racing, hell lots of difference compared to any Rons for any car out there! Continuation of my earlier reply to one of the contributors up there.

• KKMart on Jul 18, 2010 at 6:30 pm

I love honda civic,overalla nice car.only proton drives will say tht its ugly ;)

• spiller on Jul 19, 2010 at 12:59 pm

I was having a hard time choosing between Peugeot 308 THP and Civic 1.8/2.0.
    308 is very fun to drive with lots of safety features and gadgets.
    I like Civic exterior though, but 1.8 is low on specs, while 2.0 is a bit expensive (as of Honda website now = 16K more than 1.8, NOT 11K).

When this 1.8SL model announced I am happy coz I got to drop 2.0 from my list. I’m not travelling outstation much, and does not require top-end engine for my daily city commute. 2.0 road tax obviously higher, monthly inst. will be a concern with high interest rate now, and on top of that the fuel consumption, bla bla bla considered.

In the end I made booking on Sat for 1.8SL. Not to say 308 is not good, in fact I actually love 308 driving experience and interior more, but because it’s a hatch so the rear roomspace is pretty small & tight, for a family car. Addtionally I still not convinced that the 308 will be easy to maintain, esp turbo engine for sure I will floor it at every chance :P

All in all I had good experience with the Honda salesman, he was aggresive but not pushy, way better than Toyota salesman. He got me 3.1% rate also. w00t. There are plenty of bodykit options available, so I’ll try to make mine like type R hehe. I know la, pretentious right? But the bodykit is so damn nice!

Oh BTW, if you waiting next Civic model, you’ll probably looking at Q3 2011 earliest, and then probably Q4 2011 or Q1 2012 on the road. So if you can wait good la, if cannot I don’t see why 1.8SL shouldn’t be considered if you looking for C-segment ;)

• 3.1% is fr hw many yrs n with which bank?

• spiller on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:07 pm

Mine is 6 years with EON bank. I believe you can still negotiate 3.1 for 5 years if your requirement is good.

• how long for new booking got to wait (1.8SL)???

• Dude, I’m just like u. I was thinking between the peugeot and the S-L, but lastly i took the S-L. Just got mine on 21/8/2010. Eventhough my wife’s Honda City i-Dsi has more space and the rear seat is more comfortable, this Civic does has that exclusive feel to it. Mine u that the civic rear seat has that wira/persona feel to it (the seat is low), but interm of driving, u do feel the boldness of the car. got it with interest 3.09% for 9 years. The 2.0 consume to much petrol, so I took the 1.8 instead for the leather seat. But its a shame that they didnt put in the paddle shift aswell. I heard the new civic will only be launch in 2012, dont know true or not…

• Maserati on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:47 pm

I think those ppl who gotta think so hard between civic 1.8 sl which cost RM 119k and civic 2.0 which cost RM 130k, simply cant afford the car.Cause its just a RM 11k difference.If that also you all think so hard,obviously you cant afford it lah..

So just go for some cheaper alternative which cost below RM 100k

• john doe on Jul 22, 2010 at 9:55 am

its not about can afford or not….its just the price is way too high for a 6 yr old model whose specs is put to shame by the koreans and GM, only reason for japs to survive is resale….if any policy comes to standardize resale values, it will be the end of the low spec, dino age japs….

• yep, i guess this is true. just think of resale value of peugeot as high as honda’s. i would definitely buy the peugeot 308 turbo. but , what to do????

• spiller on Jul 22, 2010 at 10:59 am

I think those ppl who judge ppl based on RM11k without knowing the reasons behind, simply has no common sense and does not value the meaning of respect in life.

Unless u are driving a real Maserati or a RM300k car, then i can always say the same thing to u: there are always cars which are RM11k more expensive than yours.

• Brad Spit on Jul 24, 2010 at 11:36 am

Bad move. All marketting gimmick. Poor owners of 2.0’s coz Honda M’sia blur the lines between the 2 variants. So now, the new 1.8SL owner can laugh at 2.0’s coz those leather seats, side mirror signal indicators & cruise control are no longer exclusive. 1.8SL=2.0 wannabe!

• well, i bought the 1.8 SL not because of i wanna be a 2.0. its just that the 2.0 consume much higher petrol than the 1.8, hence i bought the 1.8 SL instead which has almost all that is in a 2.0 except for the paddle shift (which i am confident not many would use it) and a few other things that is just not that important whether having it or not. i always prefer a car lower than 2 liter as 2 liter means higher fuel consumption. if wanna buy a car, buy a car between 1.5 to 1.8 litre. 1.3 and 2.0 above really are fuel eaters.

• maddy on Jul 28, 2010 at 1:54 pm

what is the general comment of the users of Honda civic…1.8S-L and 2.0

is it worth it? do u all recommend or no

• well, i bought the 1.8 SL not because of i wanna be a 2.0. its just that the 2.0 consume much higher petrol than the 1.8, hence i bought the 1.8 SL instead which has almost all that is in a 2.0 except for the paddle shift (which i am confident not many would use it) and a few other things that is just not that important whether having it or not. i always prefer a car lower than 2 liter as 2 liter means higher fuel consumption. if wanna buy a car, buy a car between 1.5 to 1.8 litre. 1.3 and 2.0 above really are fuel eaters.

• Tom Kerus on Jul 29, 2010 at 5:46 pm

Stupid CIVIC…worthless and useless!!!!!!!!!!

• Tyler Durden on Jul 30, 2010 at 11:46 am

Tom Kerus, you’re so damn ignorant. Brainless literally.

The obvious winner in C-segment yet it is useless and worthless according to you.

• I am confused and interested to know which should I buy…Forte2.0l or Civic 2.0l or Altis 2.0l? are there anyone can give me some advices. My main concern is always fuel consumption and reliabilities. Hope to hear soon.

• if its fuel, than dont go for 2 ltres car, they consume a lot. go for 1.5, 1.6, 1.8.

• one of d best car i ever had…cant wait d next power of dreams

• i’m still considering Civic 1.8SL, Altis 1.8G and Sylphy 2.0 luxury
    dunno which one to get.

fuel consumption, definately sylphy better than civic, dunno abt altis

civic 1.8SL- sporty look, nice. have all d safety features-VSA,TRC,ABS,BA,EBD. was told ivtec engine is better. it’s said ivtec=dual vvti engine
    but a bit noisy on the road.

Altis 1.8G- CBU!!!! business look, simple and nice dashboard. have all d safety features too-VSA,TRC,ABS,BA,EBD. oni have single vvti engine. no leather seats

sylphy2.0 luxury- classy, high status look, but very apek look at the same time.
    very smooth and quiet driving. but once any problem w d absorbers or cvt gearbox, it’s going to cost a bomb. no VSA & TRC

anyone can add more comments reg these 3 cars? thanks!

• Altis looks apek. Sylphy looks classy & refined, actually. Honda looks good now, why worry what it will look like in 2012? If you like how it looks now, just take it.

Performance wise, Sylphy will be smoother and, again, more refined. Seems to be designed that way. Personally, i enjoy the raw-er power of my Civic. Depends on which car makes you feel the way you want to feel behind the wheels of a car.

Don’t worry about the CVT, cos that’s what gives the Sylply its smoothness, if you like the way it feels, then drive it.

P.s. Don’t forget to look at the safety ratings.

• Thank you SH for your comments. I am booking civic soon. I feel the sporty design of the car has attracted me a lot. Despite of price, and some minor noise problem, I still Honda is still best.
    I will comment more once I am driving it. I need to wait for 2months after my bookings. Do anyone there has any idea, the difference impact between 16inch and 17inch rims on 1.8L Civic performance and fuel consumption? Thank you

• my 1.8sl comes with 16 inch. i think its ok. why change when its not broke. any way, the bigger the rim, the bigger the tyre, the more expensive it will become when you have to change it when its bald. i’ll stick with the 16.

• waiting for my civic 2.0 loan be approved ;) once approved, hello honda.

i was not an avid fan of honda. when at first i wanted to purchase a vehicle,my range was 2.0 litre cars, i was thinking of getting a lancer (then proton’s just gonna re-market it), altis is off my taste, forte (i’m so scared of unusually having a korean car,unknown service expenses,most friends or kopi experts know more about protons and japan cars- to receive advice),then i came across civic,it looked pretty nice on the exterior(but new model maybe comming out in one or two years time)

but what made me decide on the civic was only due to the safety features,and nice view from behind :p

• Roy, u r welcome! just my 2 cents.
    btw, if u really like sporty look, had u look at mazda 3? i cant get my mind off it’s exterior design :p, but not so keen of it’s interior design lo.

• Hi SH, Mazda 3 still not my favorite. As you know, resale value is not that good too. Do you think 1.8L or 2.0L better for civic? I mean fuel consumption. Many people said the fuel consumption for 2.0L is high due to performance. Is it true? Tell me, my fren.

• Roy, at d moment, resale value for mazda 3 is not good. but my instinct says that it will improve in future, may not be as goos as T,H or N. mazda was not really much in msia market b4 this. but now, it’s coming back (that’s what i heard) so iguess, once there’s good market and demand for it, it’s resale value will sure be better than now.

i dunno much abt cars and it’s engine, but i personally feels 1.8L is good enuff for civic, no need to go for 2.0L. moreover, 1.8SL’s features is almost as good as 2.0L (except for the engine performance la)
    fuel consumption :-
    2.0L = 11.63km/litre
    1.8L = 14.09km/litre

seriously, if i were to choose between 2.0L civic and mazda3 2.0L, i’ll definately go for mazda 3. :p … but in my case now, i’m not choosing between these 2 la.

• anyone know d differences of VSA & TRC in civic comnpared to Altis?
    i was told by civic’s SA that civic’s is superior. is that true?

• new honda owner on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:00 am

new civic in 2012…confirm

• can u share the model?? izit like a bigger city?? then will prefer this design i think… ^^

• SH, Thank you. I have booked civic 1.8SL. waiting time 2 months. I trust i am making correct decision. I felt too, 1.8 is already sufficient due to its power and further more, with our Malaysian speed limit you can’t go high too.
    Fuel is expected to low comparing to 2.0L. In addition, it is comparable with Altis.

Now doing some survey for sport rim 17″ and body kit. Do you have any recommendation at nothern side?

Thank you

• congratulation Roy.. finally u made the decision! ^^
      do u test drive b4 u booking???
      actually i m still wonder honda accord or civic, coz the price just not big diff but the spacious is really make me ^O^..
      so, can u share ur opinion on this?? TQ

• between the accord n civic, the accord is more spacious. Between the civic n the city, the city is far more spacious. i know this cause i own a civic 1.8 while my wife owns a city, a fren of mind owns an accord. if space is what u want than accord is the one.

• thanks eli, never tot tat city will more spacious than civic….^^

• city has a leg room under the rear seat, civic does not. city’s rear seat is higher so you dont feel like u are squatting. but in term of sporty and classy, surely its the civic. so there are always pros and cons to it.

• hi, some friends was telling about forte performance. have u test drive 4te? Price is cheaper but the performance is good…what is your comments. Anyway, mine is civic and spacious is just nice and good.

• I have this cliche about kia, if i were to choose between a kia and his brother hyundai, i would take hyundai. I also heard a few bad rumour on kia product. hence never look into that car. but the price is really really affordable. and another thing, the logo ‘NA…’ put on the car just ……… . but if you have a little more money to spend on a car, better buy an H or T.

• conclusion is’t civic still the best choice for the time being?? ^^

• yep… i agree. there are always pros and cons to all things. you just cant have them all,,,,, except maybe if you like european cars such as peugeot 308 turbo, where to me has all the jii bits that i want in a car, but still there are cons to it such as only one place to test it or (service it?), that is in bangsar. if i were to live in KL for the rest of my life, i’ll buy the car, but im not from KL so better buy something that is classy and can be service anywhere in Malaysia.

• Hi there, just got a brochure for altis new 1.8 and 2.0. Using new engine DOHC 7 speed with new facelift front and back with more fuel saving and comfortability promised. Now I am a little confused? Launching in September 28th in Penang. But however, or course, design CIVIC menang.
    What are your comments?

Thank you

• do you have the website that shows that brochure. i heard the news aswell before this from a toyota salesman about the 7 speed altis, but i niche it as i already set my mind on the civic. any way, my father drives a camry, hence i just want a brand differ from my father’s, hence come the Honda.

• what a diff between 5 speed and 7 speed?? as i remember last time city was 7 speed too but alot problems then replace by 5 speed? so, any idea on this?

• i heard a comment made on the new Hyundai Sonata 6 speed, its where the car always tends to shift gear to 5th and 4th when climbing. so i dont know whether that can be said as a problem if you have so many gear ratio. anyway, if you like things to have many, such as gear u want it to have 6,7, or 8 etc than go for it. but i never heard a 4 gear car brings problem to other old cars.

• Suddenly got come opinion on, since effort on civic, y not go for CRV…==”
    i m driving sedan car now.. so my friend suggest me for suv car now if change, can feel something different in between… headache @@
    can someone give comment on CRV?? like the fuel consumption and so on.. thanks..

• this is more on question of taste. if you really prefer an suv, then go for it. mind you the price aswell.

• Tyler Durden on Sep 02, 2010 at 12:45 pm

Altis’ 7-speed is a CVT box whereas our Civics have proper 5-speed Automatic boxes.

• may i know what does CVT box means and what does it differ with the Honda’s automatic box?

• Maddy on Sep 02, 2010 at 1:05 pm

but they sd the 7 speed altis….is very ecomonical

• Again it depends on taste and your budget. if you like the altis’ look, then go for it. as for me, as long as altis stays with the design it has now, i would still stay with honda no matter how many gear it has. if you reeally want economy, dont but a 1.8 ltre car, better go for really economical car such as vios or city as they are 1.6 ltre.

• Road Thunder on Sep 30, 2010 at 8:24 am

Vios and City are 1.5 litre, not 1.6 litre. check your facts first before posting

• You are right. I am thinking a lot about making decision. I compared the design, engine reliability, market status and etc before going for HOndA. Just love the design…anyway, I go for 1.8SL which I believe is enough for person like me who do not really drive very fast daily.

I have identified 17″ sport rim. I was trying to get original 17″ from someone but unavail. Is there anyone wanted to sell their new set? Contact me.

And for body kit, I got offer of RM1580. It is modulo brand which cost RM5K via Honda co.
    Anyone has any contact for me on this bodykit in Penang?

have a nice evening…

• if you have test drive it n feel comfortable with civic then buy it. I usually would try the comfortness of the rear seat first but civic isnt the best. but i bought it in the end. and the boot is a little small while the rear seat cant be opened to put in more luggage, differ from the 2.0 s.other than that, its just magnifique. put on a mugen spoiler would make the car looks like a really bad boy (bought it for RM500 – really expensive). next would be the front lip, maybe after saving some money after raya.

• bough my spoiler for 600 ;( but is there really a difference between original spoilers and half made imported ones?

• i think not. its just the brand that makes it more xpensive. AB, I thought mine was already xpensive? Thanks for making me feel good to myself for paying RM500 for a ciplak mugen spoiler (cause before this I thought u can get it for just half the price). mine was coloured urban titanium just like my car, and there was no flaws at all. hence the ciplak ones are ok.

• no problem, but mine was recommended by the salesperson,white coloured mugen spoiler.does your 2.0 make a hissing sound sometimes(rarely occurs)? at the first 5 minutes of driving

• no hissing sound that i heard of for the time being.

• funnybone on Sep 03, 2010 at 10:50 am

Hi guys, I’m planning to get a car and definitely will be a Honda. Been looking at this Civic 1.8s & sl. In general, are there any major issues concerning this car rather than maybe those rattling sounds and all. I just wanna make sure I can start the car every morn without prob, drive to work and back and the fuel consumption is not too massive (heard 1.8 civic kinda similar like a wira 1.5)……….

• i bought one. cant comment much, just that in term of luggage space is too small and u cant lay down the rear seat to accomodate big item. other than that, muaahhh!!! but if you got time, go check the new altis. im a honda fan (my wife n father in law drives honda cars) so, i dont really mind if toyota gives out all sort of gadget for their cars, ill stick with honda. fuel about 14 km/l (look at how you drive it, in the city a lot more consumption)

• I found ABS mugen bodykit for RM1450. The price include paint and installation. Is it cheap? Can some comment me? How to see if the material is really ABS?
    Thank you bro.

• Tyler Durden on Sep 13, 2010 at 10:09 am

where did you get the Mugen kit from? mind sharing..?

• Tyler Durden on Sep 13, 2010 at 2:51 pm

Guys,

the fuel consumption on my Civic is currently 19cents/km.

is this normal?

Thanks, TD.

• what litre is your engine, mine is 2.0, and now does around 25 cents/km

• TD,

body kit from KL but buying from accessories shop in Penang. I feel it is good deal but definitely I can assure whether this is genuine or not. According to shop owner, this slight thinner than the ori. Anyway, still ok. Paint will be excellent, accding to him.

Let’s see. By the way, I checked and found SOHC is new engine (since 2006) comparing to DOHC. Some civic owners told me, to go ahead with 1.8SL since you have both performance and fuel efficient for this car.

So as usual, confuse but I feel, it is a good advices from them.

• Tyler Durden on Sep 20, 2010 at 5:14 pm

huh?

• Tyler Durden on Sep 21, 2010 at 4:09 pm

anyone has $/km info?

• samkhairul on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:39 am

i bought a new civic and install the door step which has blue lighting as well for RM300..huhu..so far so good and the 1.8S-L is economical than my kia spectra….but considering it is still new and will upgrade to mugen bodykit after the warranty expires…mine is grey and i waited 1 week due to previous customer loan rejected..huhu….2 days loan approval and out on 8 sept 2010….love my honda….

• just wanna know as i too wanted to install the door step thing, is it really light (meaning when u open the door, it lights up?). does anybody knoow whether this thing can be install elsewhere than at honda with minimal cost (not rm300.00).

• recently ive check the honda website. out of curiosity, can anybody tell me why is it that a 2.0 civic can only go for 11+ km per litre while a 2.0 accord can go for 17 km per litre. both a 2.0 car, the civic is smaller than the accord, but the accord is more fuel efficient…. hmmmm why ah?

• Hi,

this is because Accord 2.0L is using SOHC engine comparing Civic 2.0L which is using DOHC engine. Single Overhead Camshaft designed for fuel efficient and performance.

By the way, someone can tell me where to install this blue light in cheaper rate…which shop and state?

• yes,single cam on accord, and Raw Power on Civic 2.0,’because of the twin-cam. however i received certain comments that the pickup on the accord is not as good as the civic when going uphill

• ooooo i didnt know SOHC is more efficient than DOHC…. wow,,, got new knowledge today.. thanks. but then again, why is it the difference in fuel usage of the 1.8 civic n the 2.0 civic is not that far between the both (stated in website: 2.0 10+ km/litre (DOHC)while 1.8 14+ km/litre (SOHC)). and does this mean SOHC is better than DOHC?

yeah … anybody can please tell where to get the door step blue light thing at cheaper price… im in melaka… so anybody knows?

• any news on new civic?

• has anybody tried the new corolla altis 7 speed? any comments?

• jojoba on Oct 11, 2010 at 10:49 am

yaaa.. alot of good comments leh… like fuel saving… even 2.0v, coz oledi tested drive, and woth buy with 130k for 2.0v full spec, it outlook like mini camry… if willing to buy camry can wait for 7 speed camry later.. but for sure price will raise again..

• its just the look that doesnt realy please me. but for the price…. hmmmm…. its really really good. then again, i still prefer my civic 1.8 S-L.

• jojoba on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:32 pm

civic hybrid reduce it’s price nx year…. izit worth to own it then?

• Tyler Durden on Nov 08, 2010 at 10:03 pm

guys,

My 1.8S-L is running at 18 cents/km (40/60 highway/urban).

14 cents 100% highway.

what about you?

-TD

• mine about 11.5 km/l.

• Tyler Durden on Nov 18, 2010 at 4:32 pm

RON95?
        What’s your mileage eli?

-TD

• mine now around 17,000 in just 6 months. been travelling back n forth ptjaya to melaka every weekend. any way, do you know what FD means? Civic FD.

• Hey Tyler,

Hows your civic so far? just curious to know since im planning to get one as well..

• i have one stupid question that has been bugging me since i bought the civic, what does ‘fd’ means whenever you guys states about the civic?

• Chipmunk on Nov 19, 2010 at 3:30 pm

Hi All,

I am in the same dilemma like most. Deciding on a Civic 1.8 SL, Altis 1.8G(A), Cruze 1.8L or our country produced…Ispira. (Note…I am intend to use the car for city driving to & fro office in KL CBD, not into fast driving :) as well)

I have yet to test drive any, but have view most at the show rrom. My instinct tells me Civic would be the right choice….any views? However, I understand the existing Civic model would be discontinue with the new model schedule to be release in 2011. http://automobiles.honda.com/civic-sedan/price.aspx. I have asked one Honda Sales personnel and he has denied. Could someone advise please.

I have read some of the comments above and noted some of you encounter “noises” within the first few month. In view of this, is it still worth buying?

Just wanted to share some infomation with you guys:-

1) A 8 years old Wira 1.5 GTI (A) currently consume RM0.12/km; and

2) The financing package for Civic at the moment is at 2.68%

Hope to hear from you guys.

• Albert BS Lim on Nov 22, 2010 at 2:04 am

The 2.68% interest rate is only for 1.8S. I have booked Civic 1.8SL and the rate is 2.89%.

• Albert BS Lim on Nov 22, 2010 at 2:05 am

Is it worth it to buy new car at the year-end with following benefit?
    a) RM1,500 discount for Civic
    b) Trade-in car get better price now than next year

Any comment?

• Tyler Durden on Nov 22, 2010 at 10:02 am

Very much depend on how much higher you could fetch for your trade-in.

The discount could go up another 300 (RM1800).

Plus, how long’s the waiting list? Interest rate for the variant you intend to buy?

-TD

• Albert BS Lim on Nov 23, 2010 at 12:33 am

Waiting period is about 10 days. Easy to get car at year-end.

Interest rate is 2.89%.

• Kvinlim on Dec 22, 2010 at 9:02 am

No point buying year end car, civic lost about 6-7k a year, together with ur higher trade in car, u still lose out. I got discount also for 2011 car, almost same with the 2010 car

• Tyler Durden on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:52 am

What’s the discount for 2011 stocks?

TD

• joghoskb on Dec 30, 2011 at 4:50 pm

just got and drive new 1.8sl civic auto for 2 months. But there are some things that really dissatified me;
    1) noise from the tyres/road
    2) noise from the car body due to heavy rain, small stones etc
    3) no sound when you lock/unlock the car with remote
    4) alarm not triggered if you open the boots
    5) hard to determine the aircond buttons without see them
    6) fuel pedal is lay on the floor. sometimes accidentally press it when you get inside the car.
    7) the side sensors (located at rear bumper) are confusing coz it similar with rear sensor
    8) you can’t fold the rear seats (only 2.0 model can)
    9) the radio can’t display the station name
    10) need to adjust the front seat quite high so the the speedometer will not hindered by the steering
    11) the ‘feedback’ from the engine when you press the fuel pedal is not very smooth and responsive (maybe to make the fuel consumption lower)
    12) you can’t even see the front bonet from the inside. hard to estimate the distance especially when you want to park the car. need to be more cautious or practice regularly

No matter what, i think the view and design (exterior especially) is very fabulous and its ‘HONDA’ brand are the main factors why many people like it

• haha.. yeap.. Honda Civic is bullshit… i regreted too buying one.. haih…