Nissan Townpod EV – Leaf technology in new segments

Nissan has revealed the Townpod EV at the Paris Motorshow, which looks very much like an electric Cube. The Townpod is said to cater to all manner of situations, be it the nuclear family off for a long weekend or the weekly visit to the supermarket.

Utilizing the same technology found in the Nissan Leaf, the car’s charging point is found on its nose. The showcar in Paris is covered in Stratosphere White paint, with electric blue hints visible behind the door handles, number plates, spokes of the alloy wheels and within the headlamp pods. The van will feature suicide doors as well.

Inside functions such as climate control and media playback are accessed with two centrally digital screens. The top screen provides information such as car speed, battery status, remaining range and navigation system, while the bottom touch screen provides controls for nav systems, audio system and allows users to perform system checks.

Other interesting features include a thing called the “Puck”, which is a rubber ball, with a wide groove cut into it. It is said to be able to accommodate drink holders and mobile phones. Easing loading issues, the Van’s boot features an interesting design, with doors hinged to either side of the back. The addition of a hatch-like sun roof, directly above the cargo area, allows Nissan Townpod to carry taller objects.

A picture gallery is available after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1594]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Katak on Oct 04, 2010 at 10:14 pm

That’s a really fugly toad of a car ^^

• orlis on May 12, 2011 at 3:34 am

I love ugly cars! Why? Cause they make me look good when I slither out of them! : ))

• I almost puke looking at this toad car…nissan should sack the exterior designer although the technology inside is top notch

• g-mey on Oct 04, 2010 at 10:20 pm

coollll !!!!

• Trinity on Oct 04, 2010 at 10:30 pm

I love the hatch-like sun roof concept for carrying taller objects.

• the next star of Disney/Pixar Cars 2 is already here, since it already has a mouth.

design aside, this is one cool concept.

• wowoooowwwwww on Oct 04, 2010 at 10:40 pm

beautiful…
    welcome to the future look…

• At first galance, I thaught this is a Nissan Toadpod.

• Ash Menon on Oct 05, 2010 at 12:07 am

Does part of the futuristic technology allow that air intake opening at the bottom move like a mouth to swear at other drivers when you press the horn? Or maybe can slide-out a keyboard to type the message you want to blast? If so, I’m totally buying one. Otherwise, I’m sure it’s a very good car, but I’ll stay away from the toadpod.

• this is like the most complete ‘face’ a car has ever had… eyes, nose, mouth, heck it even has freckles!

• toyoot on Oct 05, 2010 at 12:35 am

this one for my daughter…

• shawal on Oct 05, 2010 at 12:43 am

Face is inspired by Pixar’s ‘Cars’ i guess….

• bystander on Oct 06, 2010 at 6:21 pm

it can’t be, in tt movie cars r mimicking human’s fascia! this one…….more like ninja turtle lah!

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Oct 05, 2010 at 3:24 am

wow

i hope those eyes wont turn bright red glow

and summon the aliens to attack earthlings

• PakAbu on Oct 05, 2010 at 10:28 am

I don’t mind driving this car….. just for the LOOK that I’ll get from people. :lol: :lol: :lol:

• Hargatinggi on Oct 05, 2010 at 10:36 am

The rest of the car is ok….But the front is really funny looking. People maybe look at u & wonder if to laugh or not to laugh…..^^ Amusing really……

• i dont see the reason for putting the charging port at the front. that is the most vulnerable location.

• it’s different the least

• lkf0512 on Oct 05, 2010 at 11:18 am

Bob the builder…can we build this…
    Bob the builder…yes we can!!!

• altimate on Oct 05, 2010 at 1:01 pm

Very nice.. love the looks.. Nissan has been daring with the designs these days.
    The success of Leaf will determine the success of the rest of EV models from Nissan.

Beautiful or ugly, it’s what other people tell you it is.. have your own taste and drive the car you like not what other ppl say about your car.

• jisus on Oct 05, 2010 at 3:29 pm

nissan is my fav jap car brand now, beautiful design!

• wheelsonthebus on Oct 05, 2010 at 9:26 pm

simple, practical, lovely looking… when all doors open, it’s transforming!

• The Ugliest car in the world title officially goes to ……Nissan Toadpod!