Proton Inspira: Value adding and providing good value

The soon to be launched Proton Inspira has generated so much opinion from so many people, and it’s not just a topic of discussion at the mamak shops, but in the Dewan Rakyat as well. You might have read about outspoken Kinabatangan MP Datuk Bung Moktar Radin blasting the national car company for not developing its own car, going as far as calling for Proton to be closed down for embarrassing the nation. Is that fair?

While I myself have questioned Proton for “going full circle” (first Proton was a Lancer, latest Proton is a Lancer) early in the day, the rationale behind why the Inspira is based on a Lancer makes perfect sense. Proton has always defended the call, maintaining that it’s a “very strategic business decision” that’s win-win for both Proton and Mitsubishi.

At a recent media briefing, Proton’s management reiterated that it made little financial sense to build a car in this segment from scratch, as the small volume won’t help it recoup the investment. It takes about RM600-700 million to do so, while a OEM collaboration (as Proton MD Datuk Syed Zainal prefers to call it over “rebadging”) takes up just RM250 million. The process also just took 17 months compared to a full two years if Proton would have worked solo. Not worth it for a projected 1,600 units per month, they say.

We concur. Proton is a small company and its resources can be better used for other purposes, like developing core models such as the Persona replacement model, which is in the pipeline. “We are not the only ones in the world to do this (OEM collaboration),” said Datuk Syed Zainal, pointing us to PSA Peugeot Citroen using the Mitsubishi Outlander for their SUVs as example. “Having said that, we will not forget why Proton was set up,” assured the boss, who wants to make it clear that this is not the end of homegrown products. However, Proton will not be swayed by the detractors, and is set to continue this trend of collaborating with other OEMs for its non core models.

Proton’s MD also revealed plans to produce and export the Inspira as a Mitsubishi, pretty much like what Perodua does for Daihatsu in Indonesia with the Myvi. But unlike that deal, the Proton built Lancer will most probably use Lancer styling. In order to seal this contract assembly deal, Proton is gunning to achieve a quality threshold that will pass the Mitsubishi audit, and this effort to prove themselves will be good for Inspira owners. There are four MMC quality officers on the Inspira production line at present, and Proton has hired several retired MMC personnel to assist them as well.

If you’ve read our earlier preview drive report, you’d know that the Inspira feels very different to drive compared to the Lancer, mainly due to the retuned suspension settings by Proton. And according to Syammin Noori Arifin, the lead ride and handling engineer for the Inspira, Proton will push for this setting in the Lancer that it will built, if the deal goes through.

He’s happy with what the 15-man team achieved, but admitted that they had a good base to work on. Proton calls what it has done to the Lancer “value adding”. Read about the changes here.

How different does the Inspira feel on the move? Very. The ride comfort over rough roads is improved (Lancer ride is good for such big wheels), not just because of the higher profile rubber, but the spot on damping. Pushing it to the max was a confidence inspiring affair; while the suspension has more travel and is much softer than the Lancer’s, body movements in fast cornering is controlled and allows one to “lean” on the car’s limits with relative confidence.

The body moves around quite a bit, but this is intentional as Proton wanted a fluid ride that “breathes” like the best from Europe instead of a firm setup. I reckon that the Lancer will probably have the edge in absolute grip, but the Inspira better relays how much it has in reserve. Proton also worked to rein in the Lancer’s tail at the limits, going for oneness between the front and rear ends. Not sure if things will be the same if a customer fits bigger wheels – Proton hasn’t started testing this set of dampers on 17/18-inch wheels yet.

I only tried the 1.8 manual (the fastest variant of the three), and found NVH levels to be noticeably lower than the Lancer. The narrower tyres with a less aggressive pattern, the more isolated ride and the absence of the CVT are among the reasons for this, I reckon. Although eager, this 4B series of engines aren’t the smoothest in town, but a self shifter (very light clutch, slightly sticky into fourth gear on our tester) improves the experience.

The “Lotus Ride & Handling” tag isn’t the only badge to not appear for the Inspira (it’s a Proton effort after all), but Proton will replace the familiar High-Line, Base-Line naming format too. In comes Standard, Executive and Premium variant codes as replacement.

We hear that the Prime Minister himself will unveil the Inspira at Proton’s COE facility on the 10th of November, so stay tuned. Earlier this week, Proton announced that 1,100 names are already in their order books.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mystvearn on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:11 am

On another note, can I assume that by publishing this article the launch date is very very soon? Can spoil it:P?

• Paul Tan on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:17 am

In our story: “We hear that the Prime Minister himself will unveil the Inspira at Proton’s COE facility on the 10th of November”

• mosar on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:33 am

thats sounds about right..the only thing now is the full review of the production model and the actual accessories coming with the models…the latest reviews still seems like a teaser, 1.8 manual this time..perhaps 1.8 auto after this & 2.0 premium later on sometimes nearer to 10th Nov perhaps ;)

• that’s not suprising me.. every new car will be unveiled by PM

• Ash Menon on Oct 31, 2010 at 10:01 am

I don’t see why the PM is getting involved in this launch. After all, it’s a non-core model, and not exactly “kebanggaan 1Malaysia”, right? Even our own politicians can blast it, it’s not like we’ve got the nation behind this car.

But if it helps the car get some publicity, I guess why not…

• Paul Tan on Oct 31, 2010 at 10:49 am

I quoted the comment for the launch date… I don’t think who launches it has any impact :)

• bryan jones on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:37 am

Bung is a joke!!

• he alwiz like that wat..hehehe

• donno on Nov 01, 2010 at 9:01 am

He is a disgrace to the sabahan people who voted him… What did he do in return? Talk rubbish in parliment and get a new artiste wife!

• MoFaz on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:24 am

maybe he want to launch the car instead of PM?

• Tengokje.. on Nov 01, 2010 at 3:09 pm

As a MP he should do some research and reading about automotive world.

Salam…

• have you all been to parliament?
            every mp has netbook on their desks
            can surf internet when they want
            he supposes to know more about auto world
            netbooks are there if not for surfing then for what ?
            only for micrsft word ah?

• Black Dog on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:32 pm

Paul, the Inspira at the back with the black strip looks lovely. Which model is That?

• i am lucky on Nov 08, 2010 at 11:50 pm

I spotted an Inspira delivery truck at Putra Height 10 minutes ago. Guess i am the lucky 1. View it first before you all (I mean a mass production car, not some patch-up lancer-inspira like above)

• i am lucky on Nov 09, 2010 at 12:00 am

Back portion of car seem almost (90%) same as lancer (I am a car amateur lover, dint really dig into this). Just with “Inspira” labeling & horrible p1 logo replacing the original 1. (I personally think that p1 logo designer have no imagination at all) The rest i cannot really see it very clear coz its midnight d now.

• kenzai on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:18 am

I hope so….

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 01, 2010 at 4:36 pm

Next model launch by P1:
      Keta Mayat – rebadge of Grandis.
      Elingkup – rebadge of Evo X
      Paceri Nenas – rebadge Pajero
      The Infamous Juara – The Infamous T-Box (never learn from mistake)….

Lingkup P1 Lingkup !!!!!!
      Open NAP Open !!!!

• orido on Nov 01, 2010 at 5:06 pm

bro, tak mampu nak beli Inspira cakap jela.. pakai jela Kancil 660 ko tu sampai runtuh enjin. :)

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:02 am

Kat porch rumah ada 360 sebijik, Evo X sebijik, Neo sebijik, Viva sebijik……

Im not anti-malaysian product, i know P1, P2, etc. in and out, and i know they are not capable of bringing it from nothing to something !!!!

They have no aspiration except Naza but Naza approach is different!!!! Some more it is a private family business, he can sack anybody who is not align with company’s vision. Whereas, lain company semua makan gaji maaaa…..takdak vision.

• learner on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:45 am

then why don’t you start your own car company? see if you got vision and will not be bashed by consumer…..

• neonda on Nov 04, 2010 at 10:33 am

i also can say i got Reventon, LP, DB9, Enzo in my garage..but word is just a word nowadays..wake up man..hahaa

• gud job proton….
    still collecting the money to buy the inspira…
    wait for me…….he3…

• haha dont worry, proton will uses the next 20 yrs to pruduce inspira.like saga.so u still have a lot of time to save your money!

• knoxx on Oct 31, 2010 at 10:38 pm

you wrong!! after this all proton cars is 5 years roll recycle after produce

• hope can get inspira next 20 years at price 27K for new car… way to go proton…

• fortefan on Nov 01, 2010 at 2:34 pm

i thought next year you will pass away peacefully….still want to wait 20 years??

• mr paultan is the inspira 2.0 using 17 inch or 18 inch

• subhero on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:38 am

16″ for all variant.

• whocares on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:44 am

waja, sorry to turn of your excitement as this inspira isn’t fitted with 17 nor 18″ wheel. Yet, its fitted with a compliant and progressive handling tyre – 205/65 R16 Continental Comfort Contact CC5. This tyre is specially developed by Proton R&H and Conti.

• no 17″ / 18″ wheel so what the big deal
        even HONDA ACORD only 16″ maaaa only wider with 215
        what say you?

• learner on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:49 am

very true, wanna really big rim to satisfied your desire? just install 20″ rims without tyres!

• kaz ran on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:27 am

nice job proton.. keep faith with the plan.. malaysian people will always support u..
    n i wonder.. which one i want to buy.. saga facelift or inspira…. eheheh.. both i like.. :)

• Please do not speak on my behalf. All my Malaysian friends do not support Proton.

• but some say proton embarrassment to malaysian..im not embarrass bout proton, some say malaysian angry when using their tax money but i don angry n i can list all basher use “malaysian” that ridicule proton

• _xXx_ on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:52 am

yeah, count me out please…..

• JohnDeep on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:00 pm

Who care you and your friends, Proton will not close shop because of you.

• lightning mcqueen on Oct 31, 2010 at 3:48 pm

yeah,
          and proton didn’t came to your doorstep to beg money for producing the cars…
          tax payer money all being used for the road care, hospital etc…
          in the annual budget there is not mentioned jabatan proton or perodua….
          Those who think they pay enough tax to support proton can use ur ea form to get free down payment laa…

• Madboy on Oct 31, 2010 at 7:48 pm

are u sure about ‘tax payer’s money being used for the road care, hospital etc…?

• mu koya on Nov 03, 2010 at 8:17 pm

yup.dat right..proton not closed up because of you,,!!!
            Support malaysia product !!!

• who cares about you and your friends?

• for now
      for city driving more than long journey = saga
      for long journey more than city driving = inspira/exora
      somewhere between both = persona

• tanpaul on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:31 am

good article paul..im getting an inspira myself..

• tokmoh on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:31 am

Eh bigfoot, go get an MBA first before u wanna talk business sense. You think you talk like a hero for the bashers, they gonna vote for you?

As for mitsu, is the deal for them to rebadge Persona and Exora still on?

• S.Roma on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:10 am

As for mitsu, is the deal for them to rebadge Persona and Exora still on

————————————————————————————————————-

Still valid lor…

• wolfsburg on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:32 am

I just feel that Proton is very short-sighted as they only care about the 1600-a-month domestic figure but not setting a much higher target for domestic and export market… If they only concern about domestic then of course it is a rational choice but then domestic market can’t really do much for Proton as we don’t really have the quantity… The Inspira projects seems to show that Proton has forgotten about the export market… Being a rebadged car, I believe they will get quite some limitation set by Mitsubishi and therefore further reducing their export figure… Just as a comparison, Hyundai Avante sold 20k every month in China alone…

• MoFaz on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:48 am

loh.. be realistic man. you’re comparing the sales here with the biggest market in the world? Malaysia only sold 500,000 cars last year, and china sold 26 times more than that. even if Hyundai sold 20k of Avante every month, it’s just 2% of total market share. Hyundai currently hold 7% of china market share, and they have to operate 3 manufacturing plants in china to achieve that. it’s pretty much clear, in order to sell your car in china, you have to build ckd plants or at least have joint-venture with local chinese company. like proton-youngman venture. China import less than 1mil cars last year, mostly are luxury cars. Proton don’t have luxury model. perhaps it could be different once Lotus ‘transformation’ program is up and running. Lotus no longer concentrating on track cars but now aiming to steal Ferrari & Porsche market share in luxury vehicles.
      As for Inspira, yes.. they only aim 1600 units monthly for domestic market. but if you read the article properly, you would noticed that Proton is also trying to get a deal to produce Lancer for Mitsubishi and exporting it.

• wolfsburg on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:50 am

Youngman also sell Persona and Gen2 in China and guess how many car they delivered in September? Less than 2k… lolz…
        The problem is Proton is very slow in expanding their foreign market… How many new market did they manage to get into in 2010?
        In BRIC they only manage a very small portion in China and their product launching was so slow that many people has forgotten about them… Moreover they are using a different brand instead of Proton so in fact nobody in China know Proton… They got zero presence in Russia, India and Brazil…
        Of course I noticed that Proton is trying to get a deal to export Inspira but then if they have such plan then why they want to give themselves 1600-a-month figure? You should also notice that Proton is having so much excess production capacity and they are just wasting their resources. They are just not fast enough in expanding their exporting exercise. Just go and see how many China car company are selling in Russia and Brazil even though their domestic market is so HUGE…
        If they are going to wait for EMAS and Persona R which are about one year away from now, they will lose even more chance… They really should start expanding their market first before trying to penetrate into their market…
        In my opinion Saga is a very high potential product for China and India as small sedan are doing very well there(Think Chevy Sail)… However two years after the launching of New Saga and a facelift is coming soon, Saga only exported very tiny numbers of Saga to Singapore and Australia.
        My whole point is that when you are re-badging others car, your presence will be limited by the true owner… Just like the Inspira case where Proton are not allowed to touch the ECU at all…

• boyxinan on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:50 pm

thats why I ask why proton not joint venture early with volkswagen.. if not proton will par with SKODA and SEAT. isn’t proton management not think enough before maked decision, now they joint with mitsubishi.. they said it rational things to do, so before this (with volkswagen) they not think rationaly? very sad of you proton..

I want to proud, but proton ‘fraud’ people..

• MoFaz on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:52 pm

you’re correct in saying that proton is slow in expanding, they’re not ready, but slowly getting there. youngman core business is buses and trucks, and only recently they venture into car manufacturing. the current situation is similar to what happened in 1980s between mitsu & proton, famously known as rebadge. which means, youngman get to use proton’s design and engineering works, and they can brand the car whatever they like. what proton gain from this venture? they get to export some parts and engines. and what proton lost? possibly nothing, except that they couldn’t use the sales figure as proton’s exports.

China and US are the biggest market (more than 20mil cars per year, combined). but sadly, proton need to invest heavily in those countries just to be there (setup factories, hire us/china workers, buy parts from us/china vendors, etc….). Proton simply don’t have the capital yet. and, to compete with hundreds of brands and models there is not an easy task. rebadging is the least they could do for now because to export the cars directly from Malaysia is even more challenging. only luxury models could get through.

“China’s quality inspection agency has halted the import of several models made by French carmaker Renault, citing what it called ‘serious safety risks’ and failure to meet technical standards. The General Administration of Quality Supervision Inspection and Quarantine said that ‘in recent import inspections, we have repeatedly found batches of passenger vehicles made by the French Renault which do not conform with our country’s mandatory standards and relevant technical regulations, and there are serious safety risks.”

i really doubted this news. everybody knows that china cars are the real ‘safety risk’ and would have the worst performance if the test conducted on all models in china. so, why the double standard for import cars?

So, what proton should focus now is to produce and export directly from Malaysia, expand to the countries which are more ‘open’, like asean (AFTA), India, Australia, New Zealand and Arab countries.

• wolfsburg on Nov 01, 2010 at 3:47 pm

Re-badge means people won’t know you at all and your brand value is zero in China… Mitsubishi was a totally different story as it used to be a popular brand even before Proton re-badge their car… So you can see that no one in China will know Proton and if one day Youngman dump Proton away and Proton will have to start all over again… Just like how Guangzhou Motors dump Peugeot in the 80’s and they have to find another new partner which is DongFeng Motors and now their market share in China is so pathetic… But then at least Guangzhou were using Peugeot’s brand, which is again totally different from Proton-Youngman…
            India is a great place for Proton but then Proton seems to be waiting for their 1-yr-to-go EMAS and there is no news at all about their partnership in India… If they really want to expand their export market they can already start exporting Savvy to India… You can see how hot is their small hatch market now… Australia/NZ/Arab will be quite difficult for Proton… Koreans are very aggressive there and their price is so cheap making Proton so uncompetitive… Can you imagine that Waja is more expensive than Avante in Arab? Then who is going to buy a Waja?
            And if you are talking about Asean when are they going to start exporting to Vietnam and Philippine? Taiwanese brand Luxgen is less than one year old and their sales have surpass 1k in Vietnam…

• Peter on Oct 31, 2010 at 8:20 pm

Have to agree with wolfsburg with some of his pointers.

IMO, current Persona, Exora and also Saga would probably able to sell in India and of course China.

If Proton really wants to do well, i would suggest they go International. Their presence in International would help to raise its bar to compete with other competitors like Toyota for example. With competition, Proton would be more eager to fight and remain competitive other than just competing with Perodua in domestic market sales.

Even with countries like Thailand, Singapore, Australia, China and even UK. The export sales are quite disappointing. :(

Malaysia Boleh, Proton Boleh!!1

• wolfsburg on Nov 01, 2010 at 3:36 pm

As a fact one of the biggest challenge for Proton is their cost… Firstly they don’t really have the economy of scale to make car cheap and secondly malaysia’s labour are not cheap… As a result Proton’s pricing is so uncompetitive compared to Koreans… Just look at Australia even though their S16 is so cheap but not much people really care about it because they can easily get an equivalent Korean which is better specced and better teched than Proton… And you can forget about the UK when people put Gen2 and Cee’d or i30 side by side…

• fried tape play on Nov 01, 2010 at 12:04 am

agreed about that saga point, that model really have international potential.
          my opinion,in international automotive market, you should have a very huge of money. With only shah alam n gurun plant..its a joke if u want to take international market. Proton just really not ready for this stuff ( or maybe 20 years from now), so the best way is to scoup max local profit and get the quality in the same level with mitsu and others player. Proton is still in learning curve, so they have to do this in order to get the things right, and then they can starts to gunning for india/russian market. and china? tough call, too late.Unless government give 500million just for the purpose (hey bung! this is for u)

nice move for proton, you guys just need to support n let them do their job.

• gurun plant?.

• wolfsburg on Nov 01, 2010 at 3:51 pm

But if you want to talk about production facilities, Tanjung Malim can have a maximum of 1million car production annually, this figure is big enough for them to export to many countries… But in fact how many cars did they manage to produce now? They are using less than 20% of their maximum production and they are wasting their resources…

• Izhar on Nov 01, 2010 at 4:00 pm

MODENAS????

• Protong Owner on Oct 31, 2010 at 4:42 pm

then why Proton still taking the R&D fund from Gov, and why there is NAP to protect a re-badge car manufacturer, and torturing the rakyat. The report shows Car debt is one of the family burden.

• Vincent on Nov 01, 2010 at 9:22 am

If P1 can get contract manufacturing license to assemby Mit car for Asean, it will definary help P1 to ensure no negative financial result…

Of course, if we would to move 25 years back, no one will agreed that P1 or even the national car project should be existed….we can survive as a work bench to assembry car like what in 1980…

What ever is gone is gone, we cannot turn it back… we have to move forward and shall agreed that Lancer rebadge is more business sense than to develop our own..

We wish o see the Lotus DNA in this lancer and tell the world that Malaysian can also do a good job….We don’t to see our car been knot by the “pukima” in the international car show program…

• wolfsburg on Nov 01, 2010 at 3:54 pm

But the problem is Mitsubishi is having their own problem as well… Their worldwide market share has been dropping significantly over the year and they don’t even fully utilize their own manufacturing facilities so it is unlikely that Mitsubishi will do so.. VW also walked away from Proton and asked Hicom to assemble their cars…

• They do concern about export market, very much indeed. But not waja they gonna bring, it’s persona R and Emas concepts instead. Thats y they are focusing their resources in developing these two cars. Being a small player in global car industry, they have to start from lower level as an intro before they are capable technologically and financially to reach wider segments. That’s much rational and long-sighted vision i reckon compared to straight jump into D-segment mid luxury car.

• wolfsburg on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:55 am

Inspira is a C-segment car and this is the segment that is so important in the world… The best selling car in the world are mostly in this segment such as Corolla, Golf, Avante, Civic… I really don’t understand how could Proton caterorise Inspira into a non-core model… If today they rebadge a Colt / ASX then i can understand because small cars/SUV are too expensive to develope and they don’t have such big number compared to sedan but now they are re-badging a core-model and i don’t see anybody doing that in the real world…

• I understand your point, the fact is just that proton at present regards persona and saga as its core models. But i’m also baffled why up until now proton didn’t introduce the new saga to main export markets as their entry level sedan. That’s just gonna be their opportunity cost wasted away. Meanwhile, they have chosen to develop persona R, so financial constraint derived from hullabaloo of previous management prevent them from developing other midsize sedan. It’s gonna be a matter of do or die for proton’s persona R, so it will be just wise to fully focus on one sedan model instead of two. Proton position this new Inspira just as replacement for their waja fleet while at the same time to try to snatch some portion of share in mid luxury sedan now dominated by T&H. The proposed export plan as lancer is just some bonus to OEM deal since both Proton and Mitsu can both foresee the potential of their resources working out together. But Mitsu sure sceptical about newly lotus suspension tuned lancer eating into their own plain lancer thats why it is just ‘plan’ at this stage.

• fort minor on Nov 01, 2010 at 9:33 am

Inspira is a C-segment car and this is the segment that is so important in the world<–yeah..but not in malaysia due to the price segment…chill a bit bro..lets wait for the Persona R. Have a little faith in DSZ. cheers!! :)

• halo…that’s china..just to remind you china’s population is 50 times more

• wolfsburg on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:13 pm

Then how come they manage to deliver less than 2k Persona+Gen2 (CKD in China) in a country with 50 times more population than us? lolz…

• MoFaz on Oct 31, 2010 at 3:04 pm

and you think china is small country?
          youngman only have 30 dealers, and mostly in suburbs. they’re expanding their current network to tier 1 and tier 2 cities as we speak. the sales volume would be higher if they managed to distribute it to the whole china.
          youngman already have a manufacturing plant to produce 400,000 cars per year. sadly, the car is not proton’s export. but positively, proton would still earning from this venture by providing engineering and design works, as well from exports of engines and several other components.

• wolfsburg on Nov 01, 2010 at 4:01 pm

I thought they already have 49 dealers?
            I agree that their network is a problem but there is also many other problem which they never improve.. Their product launching schedule is so slow and their product is very uncompetitive… China people no longer living with just 2airbags+ABS as Malaysian… They can simply get the cars with a lot more features at cheaper price… Moreover the 3-star CNCAP rating for Persona is also a negative impact for them…

• aduss on Nov 01, 2010 at 7:47 pm

pasaran kereta di cina boleh cecah 8 juta setahun… so you still think china is small country?

• NoEyeSee on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:27 am

I agree with you wolfsburg, its what I think since I 1st known its just the minor change over the original Mitsubishi Lancer, in other word its almost can be say its “COPY”. for me if really need to save some development cost, they should at least change the interior look n exterior look, the rest of the part such as all the component or part in engine compartment n etc using same part as original supplier that should be OK for me, at least it will look fresh when the buyer buy the car, in this case what if after ppl buy the car then spend few thousand to change back the bumper and logo to mitsubishi, during that time where the PROTON name go? ppl some more will feel more proud like they driving RM100k over of mitsubishi car. this is what ppl did on naza bestari. why naza rebadge other brand car not much ppl complained, but why when proton did it so many ppl complained ? this is bcoz all the while naza is telling ppl they doing rebadge, but proton always say they are the best of wat wat, they have wat wat technology n etc, ( I still remenber someone say waja is the asian BMW ) but now end up ! COPY ~

• hero86 on Oct 31, 2010 at 9:35 am

waja is asian what? thats the first time i heard.. or maybe only u who heard it.. he3.. i don see why we need to compare with BMW which is i think a thousand light years a head of P1.. but, what i know is P1 is doing well under DSZ.. they are making progress.. thats is the most important..

well, if we talk about naza.. i just know one thing.. they rebagde with no quality issues (at this time la).. they just pasang siap jek n i don see many people buy naza compare to P1.. but P1 still having problem with quality control (believe me, i own one.. just minor one la..).. but, mark my word.. if ever P1 do success and making a world class car, they will still be look hampeh bcos our people will never like it.. nop.. bcos, they like branded cars..

• yeah..i still remembered when i read one of the automotive magazine. Proton ex-ceo said waja is asian BMW. i cannot comment that but maybe it was refered to ride and handling and that time. And since 10 year until today, not many people complaint waja handling except it power windows and assemble quality.

• boyxinan on Oct 31, 2010 at 3:03 pm

To be honest to Proton ex-CEO, BMW technology is 25 years ahead to American car, American car is 10 years ahead to Malaysian cars, so calculate from that, German engineering are 35 years ahead compare to Malaysian technology.. thats why volkwagen bettle still can be seen in our road until now.. 35 years ahead brother.. don’t you proton people see that? want to compare with BMW, just in your head only..

• blaze on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:54 am

to be honest with you, BMW is light years ahead of Honda or Toyota as well

• _xXx_ on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:56 am

Yeah, Waja is Asian AND it’s also Asian’s answer to BMW…..

• Joseph on Oct 31, 2010 at 8:13 pm

what did you drink before you typed? Asian BMW lol.
            Have you even driven or own a BMW? lol.

• Joseph on Oct 31, 2010 at 8:46 pm

Well I guess with the launch of Inspira indicates that Proton is ready to compete head on, mano-a-mano with the big boys. DSZ, do the honor by asking the government to remove the 300% imported car tax.

Talk is cheap Proton-fanboys,
            DSZ was deflecting and very defensive during in last week BFM Hot Seat about Proton’s preferential treatment. Wow DSZ, you play politics well and soon will enjoy perks like Idris Jala, a minister post. Menteri Proton.

Proton, what a joke!

• _xXx_ on Nov 01, 2010 at 9:57 am

Joseph, I guess you were born not too long ago. “Asian’s answer to BMW” – I didn’t say this, some big F from Protong did.

• Tiadaid on Nov 01, 2010 at 8:13 pm

http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm

Joseph, you bang without information, and that makes you stupid. No longer are cars taxed to 300%, maximum is 145% as stated in the link above.

Bashers, what a joke!

• squall_shinoda on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:31 pm

At least Proton rebadges the Lancer ethically through deals with Mitsubishi. At least that kind of copying is much more honourable than Chinese carmakers who simply copy the designs from famous carmakers and treat them as their own design without paying even a single cent to the carmakers that they’ve copied.

• OPPsss.only 300 Milion…my bad… still a lots

• Jimmy on Oct 31, 2010 at 4:17 pm

I regret seeing a lot of emotional bashing, or bashing for fun.
        I was once angry about Proton for the faults in their product many years ago. Now I have already passed through that stage. If you ask me whether I hate Proton or I am angry with them or not, glad to say, I am NOT at all.
        I hope they will improve. There are still a lot of other people, who cannot afford the overpriced T & H, that need to buy Proton (if Proton never improve, a lot of them will be forced to buy Perodua which, like T & H, is also very overpriced and quality is just so so). If we cannot change the big picture, then just hope that Proton will improve to benefit them. Don’t just bash blindly, better give constructive advice, or point out the weak points of their products; don’t create stories.
        If you don’t change you mind, you will live UNHAPPILY for the rest of your life because everyday you will see a lot of Proton cars.
        BTW, depending on the pre-launch response, will the tentative price need to be revisited?
        Hope everything about this Inspira is good from the very beginning, this is a great chance to improve brand image.
        There is nothing wrong about rebadging cars. Proton MAY have their very REAL reasons, sometimes there are things that cannot be known to the public, I guess.

• KARMA on Nov 01, 2010 at 9:49 am

While Perodua launch rebadge Myvi, Viva or Alza, i remember how some people bash Perodua as a copycat.

Hmm… not my surprise they bash back Proton?

More worst this Inspira have the same lamp and interior as their predecessor.

• think on Nov 01, 2010 at 10:34 am

I agreed with your comment. But hopefully the proton will produce a good report card in few years time. T&H is overpriced because the school teacher (government) already given the proton (local student) 20 marks ahead as baseline compare to T&H (foreign student). So this is not T&H fault but it is the teacher’s problem.

The proton at least should make their sales & service center more efficient as this will seal up the inefficiency of the production line. But unfortunately, they got number one (from behind) for the S&C score 2010. Some reader think other car producer is doing better because they are rich, this I can’t accepty totally.

I don’t know proton is doing the right move by rebadging because now the move may seems ‘reasonable’ but overtime the rebadge car will soon become the main product of car in proton company if we rationalise the rebadging practice. I’ll call this as a first step towards ‘indirect silence’ takeover of the proton by the other car maker. The proton eventually is the ‘car dealer’ of the other car maker. In the mouth we can deny it but in our heart, it is no more proton anymore.

How many years the government still able to ‘sponsor’ the proton? If the proton is still losing money for another 20 years time. I would think what Bong Mokhtar said was true. My impression is the government is more concern about the ‘face’ of having a car maker company rather that the true survival of it.

Put it in a simple example. If you are the owner of the proton and it has been losing money for many years. Unless you are super-rich and you can continue pumping money in it or if you are not that rich, why should we maintain a non-profitable company?

As a malaysian, we can’t change what government and proton is thinking. Only market force will change their mind. Ours thinking/opinion here is not important just like the anti-mega tower in the facebook, I would think despite the number is reaching one million, the government will still building it. All we can do is hoping only.

• James on Nov 01, 2010 at 12:14 pm

My take is, they want to shed the bad image of Waja, by replacing it with Inspira. This also buys time for Proton to develop 1.8 & 2.0 engines. Once this image issue of Waja has been buried, Proton could have a fresh start for this segment.

• fantausy on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:36 am

I think with this price and engine displacement, it will hit the city and vios market by providing good value product.

• MoFaz on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:58 am

what does “1100 bookings n 10 days” tell you? Inspira is already hitting Vios and City.
      hopefully Proton could keep the momentum.

• hope thats not the wheels they gonna use coz its FUGLY, after more than 20 years its back to where they started. So r we gonna get some other mitsu model OEM?

How about triton or pajero OEM…

• MoFaz on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:06 am

market size for Triton and Pajero are much smaller than Inspira. it’s not worth for Proton even to rebadge it. Unless Proton do CKD for Mitsu and export it.
      but it’s also weird for a car manufacturer to do CKD for another car manufacturer.

• oomph on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:47 pm

yes..i second that. i want cheap reliable SUV.

• Ex_Proton_Admire on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:50 am

salute Bung Mokhtar…if proton still wanna copycat, please copy the car which are not in Malaysian market…Please laa dont compare with Peugoet coz they done it not in Malaysia(high tax). it is unfair to Lancer Owners who are now trapped in the cekik darah tax…Yeaahh, win win situation both for Proton & Mitsubishi but keep in mind that they abandon their loyal customers….We will see next coming year if they keep doing like this..I’m now declare to be Ex Proton Admire

• mycare on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:01 am

apa pulak marah proton. Marah la Mitsubishi kerana setuju proton rebadge lancer.. apa ar hihihihi.. :p

• tanpaul on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:15 am

bro mazda 2 and ford fiesta same platform..both car are in malaysia..launcehd almost at the same time as well..go study more before comment

• Ex_Proton_Admire on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:23 am

Bro, U are comparing the non local vs non local bro (same tax paid, diff only in accessories), of course same laa bro…Please la understand my statement before comment bro…no heart feelin bro…

• goproton on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:38 am

aiyor but they dont look 90% similar ma….if proton do something to the headlight or rear light sure no one will bash…

• goproton on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:42 am

and the interior of both diff too…..that’s the point why ppl bash…get it?
        anyway congrat lo you bought inspira but dont butthurt ppl bash la…

• Clone on Oct 31, 2010 at 6:57 am

They r not perfect clone unlike this..

• lancer mafia on Oct 31, 2010 at 6:59 am

bro, mazda 2 and ford fiesta same platform. tapi design lain2. interior pun lain2. go study more before comment.

• macspeed on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:24 am

u mean ex proton admirer?? u forgot the ‘r’ or your english simply sucks?
      go n learn proper communications before talking about business…

come on, u think companies like Toyota or Hondo r doing social service by having a fat margin in profits and blaming it on the TAX? enough already bout tax.

And copycats r china car makers… go n google. those r copycats. this is rebagding something being done everywhere.

And tell me, u think Mitsu cares bout loyal customers? how many customers they have? compared to Toyota n Honda? they rather make more money by doing this collaboration with Proton.

• boyxinan on Oct 31, 2010 at 3:14 pm

toyota are the highest sales ranking in japan.. meaning that car are less problem than other japan branded according to japanese people. see attach

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Automotive_industry_in_Japan

less problem mean less social service, even mitsu_shi way way drop to ranking 7, lucky number seven I think.. so volume shows everything macspeed.

• Ex_Proton_Admire on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:59 am

We all already knew that Proton has credits in term of tax for non-local car. So please use wisely. Now Proton letting down a lot of people here. Many has lost faith on Proton. I believe a few people who buy Inspira just want to take advantage of the tax waived and actually they are admiring Mitsubishi design so much, not Proton…i bet they straight away change the logo to Mitsu once they have it (They are smart, right?)…Proton does not need smart customers like that…Proton need a loyal customers who love Proton Originality Design and proud to own one…This are the mentality which Proton need to change or else PROTON IS ALWAYS BEHIND..

• hero86 on Oct 31, 2010 at 9:39 am

no need la.. nowadays, people will always change design.. ever see saga BLM transform to subaru???

• VWfan on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:09 pm

hahaha…i saw that before, lots of it…i dont know where they get the idea of transforming blm to impreza…i was shocked when i saw it first time, i thought it a now model, but then, the butt shows everything…its a saga! malaysian always being creative in this field…..huhuhu

• DonkeyKong on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:31 pm

As well as Myvi owners changing their bodyparts to Daihatsu Boon or Toyota Passo. And Toyota owners rebadging their Altis and Camry to Lexus.

• no really dude inspira buyers are mostly previous waja owners so they have been using the car for more than 10 years….and the car had a good run but its time to change…you get me with the latest tech better engine…my car now 400K km d i need change a lot of stuff so i wanted the inspira since its predecessor of the waja….plus i love my waja yes i had that stupid power window problem and door handle…the rest is all wear and tear…i fixed my power window by changing its entire layout to metal because the ori were plastic. Inspira is only a place holder while they busy develop the c segment cars…because rebadging is easier to cover cost for c+ or d- segment…because not many people buy c+ or d- segment cars….hence their low sales target…..because you spend 700mill and your sales cannot cover the 700mill than proton DSZ gets screwed…so 250 mill still cukup cukup only…but proton wants the knowledge of mitsu and their tech their Quality and everything…Just because they say rebadge don’t start flaming…Its Just Simple Its Just Business…

• bonceng on Oct 31, 2010 at 7:09 pm

waja, this inspirate not waja replacement..syed zainal already mention earlier in paultan post..go read it..

• haha the MD wants you to believe what he says but actually waja is a lancer platform when the first waja was launched i was there…but since the previous MD messed up the car they came out with inspira or else it would be waja second generation which is WAJA 2….

• “haha the MD wants you to believe what he says but actually waja is a lancer platform when the first waja was launched i was there…”

whatever you think
            waja 2 or not waja 2, it’s still a c segment car

• watever on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:28 am

this is business yo! It’s all about the money. For ur sake I hope ur not a businessman

• Peugeot 407 was imported by C&C b4, sell at RM 170k, now by NAZA, 130k.

• Assad on Nov 01, 2010 at 1:27 am

Just because you owned a Mitsu, it reflects you are a pure supporter. It’s the frustration that you are trying to unleash!

Kia and Naza do the same. Peugeot and Naza do the same. Why it doesn’t bother you?

• the cd player look like 10 years ago 1 :(

• MoFaz on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:49 am

and no USB?…. shooot…

• go and get fm modulator (mp3 player), rm30 only,
        can browse from folder to folder
        has remote control , equaliser thingy summore

• MoFaz on Oct 31, 2010 at 3:14 pm

and how many devices use power from the cigarette adapter? GPS, handphone charger, and now add fm modulator… can only use 1 at a time. huhuhu.

• haha..why need to add another china gadget… proton should put usb already la.

• TallPan on Nov 01, 2010 at 10:50 am

u selling FM modulators is it? like that 20 years from now u can still use your FM modulator :)
          agree with Fai and MoFaz and Imst… ALL NEW CARS from 2010 onwards should come with USB audio! :D

• at least it is not a cassette player and it comes with bluetooth. My Civic 2.0 don’t even have bluetooth…

• 10 years ago got bluetooth ka? come on la weiii. don’t be so childish in ur comment!

• _xXx_ on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:01 pm

BE GRATEFUL! The car comes with AIR CONDITONER, NOT FAN.

• if u forgot the current civic was intro in 2006 not 10 yrs ago? don be so careless in ur comment

• 10 years ago sure don’t have bluetooth… but my Civic 2.0 is the 2005 – 2010 model, face-lift edition. The same Civic in other countries comes with bluetooth.

Don’t be childish in ur comment, research more before u simply bang people.

• udasalleh on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:55 am

there’s an auxiliary input. use it.

• kimi fan on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:57 am

paul, will you going to have another details test drive on each model ? i’m curious on this 4B series engine. its new to me

• aduss on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:21 am

good job Paul Tan.. u will open somebody eye, kadang2 nk kutuk senang.. sebab orang akan hanya tengok titik hitam yang kecil pada sebuah kertas putih yang besar,, proton sudah ambil iktibar dari kes savvy dan satria neo,, none core product yg tidak muntungkan, dari segi r&d sampai la kepada production line.. walau pun kedua2 nyer memang mantap, mana silap aku pun tak tau.. bg saya pasaran proton sangat2 kecil dan terlalu slow.. hope proton terus maju kehadapan.. dan pindah ke tanjung malim cepat2 yer.. jangan la membazir, tm 2 tanah sendiri yg begitu besar.. gunakan la sebaik2 nyer…. tq..

• dondon on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:29 am

good move by proton…bad move by lancer owner…mitsubishi lancer price will dropped significantly after launch the inspirah…

i believe, lancer owners hate much of this inspirah….

• PakAbu on Oct 31, 2010 at 8:45 am

I think, from the article nonetheless, Mitsubishi is aiming beyond Malaysian shore. Asean and beyond. But they need low cost manufacturing base. If Proton can put together a Mitsubishi approved quality Lancer, at lower cost than CBU from Japan, it’s good thing for them.

It’s business after all. It’s always is.

• GreenEco on Oct 31, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Mitsubishi is already exporting Thai made Lancer, Pajero Sport, Space Wagon and Triton to ASEAN and beyond. Triton is exported to over 140 countries. They just celebrated the 2 million car produced

• raymee12 on Oct 31, 2010 at 9:12 am

Agreed. That’s what happen to Kia Carnival when they launched Naza Ria.

• JohnDeep on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:19 pm

Actually others also the same, CBU merc, BM and their CKD, big price difference.

• If a C-segment model is not going to be a core model for Proton, what is the puurpose of being a car manufacturer? Is Proton a small car specialist like Suzuki or Daihatsu? No. Is it a SUV specialist like Ssangyong? No.

What is Proton then?

Using PSA-Mitsubishi collaboration to justify this rip-off of the Lancer is hitting below the belt. PSA is not strong in its SUVs, therefore necessitating a tie-up with a company that is (Mitsubishi). Fair go.

Is Proton not strong in sedans – C-segment sedans in particular? Surely nobody is going to say that the Persona is B-segment and the Saga is an A-segment car? Fact is, the Persona is C-segment and Saga is B-segment. So Proton is saying that it can’t even have the resources to build a C-segment model. To me, that is shameful.

Let me remind all the reason for Proton’s existence – to develop Malaysia’s capability in building a car from scratch. It appears that all motoring journos in Malaysia have conveniently forgotten that.

Of course, fans are going to say that the Inspira is a bigger car with bigger engines. Hey, the world has moved on. A C-segment sedan 20 years ago is not going to be the same size as one today.

• what are you talking about
      inspira is BIG enough to be C segment car
      then persona which is bigger or similar than most B segment cars but with much cheaper price than most B segment car like vios, city, you never get into those cars don’t you?
      rebadging is a marketing strategy, later mitsu will rebadge exora, so is that shameful too? go and and bash them too

• I suggest you read my comment again. I am saying that both the Inspira AND the Persona can qualify to be C-segment models so what the hell is Proton going on about when they say that they prefer to focus on the Persona replacement model because it is a “core model” whereas the Inspira being a “C-segment car” is not?

On one hand, Proton says they do not have the financial capability to build a C-segment car and on the other hand, they are making a Persona replacement model. Do all Proton fans here seriously believe that the Persona is a B-segment model like the Vios and City?

I tell you, the only reason why people here are supporting what Proton is doing is because they can get a Lancer at a lower price. Nothing else. I too would get excited if I could get a VW Golf TSI at a lower price.

Why would Mitsubishi allow Proton to rebadge the Lancer? Because Mitsubishi is on the verge of closing shop, being one of the weakest Japanese car marques. They would do anything for some funds.

And yes, Mitsubishi rebadging the Exora (if that ever happens!) is also shameful for Mitsubishi. I will bash them when that happens.

• squall_shinoda on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:13 pm

That one is due to the lessons learnt from the Waja. Waja was originally developed as a C-segment car placed above the Wira and below the Perdana. However, it turned out that Waja’s main competitors are major B-segment cars like the Honda City and Toyota Vios, as many C-segment brands are moving to larger displacement engines and more advanced gadgets. During the early years under the Mahaleel era, the Waja was plagued with poor quality issues. It was not until the DSZ’s era that the Waja started to use the Campro engines, followed by Campro CPS engines in 2008. However, the sales of Waja dipped a lot after the introduction of Proton Persona; even the CPS engines didn’t help much.

So that should be the main reason why Proton chooses to rebadge the Lancer GT as the Inspira. I think that’s a hard yet wise decision by the top bosses of Proton, as they have no choice but to follow the market trend. It will be useless if Proton spends hundreds of millions of ringgit developing models that may end up being unprofitable. Anyway, I always believe that one day Proton will use their own-designed model as the replacement of Inspira in the future, if the Inspira enjoys huge sales success.

• This is a fair comment. Proton has to spend its money wisely.

I just don’t agree with some commenters here who blindly shoot statements that do not make any sense.

Proton has to also stop taking us Malaysians as fools.

I still remember that days when Naza came out with the Bestari and the Ria. All of Proton’s fans kept condemning Naza for “rebadging”. Isn’t this what the Inspira is? A Lancer rebadged? Hypocrites!

• maximus on Oct 31, 2010 at 8:06 pm

Proton’s sole existance is to make cars from scratch. The very reason it exists. Hmmm….maybe, maybe not. Proton is after all a business and will be run like so. Maybe certain quaters of the populace (and championed by an MP) seems to think that having 1 (one) model after 25 years in existance, based on another make’s platform is courting sacrilage.
      Maybe they would like proton to die a natural death after developing all sorts of vehicles which will be whacked by these same people anyway, and at the end of the day proclaimed this entity had perished into matrydom.
      And then some smart fella gonna start to blame the other fella who started the whole thing…sigh

• Whynot on Oct 31, 2010 at 8:54 pm

This is the first time proton goes back into venture with Mitsubishi again. It may be a big laughing story by the Japanese, the Korean, the Chinese of China and the worst of all the Jewish of American. We know that for century, Proton establishment is to show that Malaysia have the technology to show the world that we can complete with the international and is a pride of Wawasan 2020 to be a fully developed country. We have now know that we have failed, due to having proton, the general Malaysian will have to pay not only high taxes for imported cars but value for our own proton car is not worthy as of it quality as in comparison and loses from mismanaged mangers from the previous administration. The Juara, Tiara and even Savvy is a sad and ugly in design and losses in millions spent on R&D.
      Unless Proton is willing to listen to bashing as I suppose, from view of general Malaysian as if it should because proton definitely owe them. Then they will design the proper car at different segment in all the range and not to crash with own segment. In my opinion, Proton must not think that Malaysian in general are loyal buyers any more. As most are one bitten twice shy. My suggestion is that as more younger generation are growing up, automobile in the near future must be futuristic in design. I do see a lot of concept car in the internet and international showcase. Proton do not have anymore time with his resources as the management is getting tough to see more profit rather that long term commitment. I suggest that proton must start ahead visualizing technology at least 10 to 20 years ahead to get back on track to what our formal PM once visioned a long-long 20 year vision in your 10 more years to go. Malaysian-tak-kira 1Malaysia, Melayu, Cina, India dan berbagai-bagai dalam Malaysia, semua satu Keluarge besar pasti boleh!

• We had 3 Protons & 1 Perodua in the family back in the 90’s. Wira, Waja, Iswara & Kancil. Today, 2 Toyotas & 2 Hondas. Camry, Vios, CRV & Civic. This goes to show 1 thing. Everyone started from a Proton but eventually graduate to choose other better options, like Japs.

• the best proton yet…..from mitsubishi

• Poborsky on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:51 am

Wah same item less 26k still u guys wanna complain the rim is small?

Take the rm26k and go mod your car. Change rim & tires. Change racing seat.
    Put performance part.

Now your rm120k inspira is better than teh stock rm120k Lancer GT

• Nah~ Inspira still 1.8L compare to Lancer GT is 2.0L… so Inspira still lose at straight line… top speed confirm lose~

• Salamander on Oct 31, 2010 at 6:41 pm

Inspira come with both 1.8 and 2.0 liter model. Please read first.

• stewpid on Oct 31, 2010 at 7:05 pm

at genting road sure the Lancer GT 2.0 will loose berkampung2..even with the 1.8

• linear_system on Oct 31, 2010 at 9:20 pm

inspira also got the 2.0L one…dont u know?

• there is inspira 2.0L buy that 1 la

• Got 2.0 wat….

• you all have misjudged what actually he want to say.

what he intend to say is mitsubishi logo is more aerodynamic than proton logo, thus it have higher speed on straight line. lol….

• yeah right, a few minutes on 200km/h and the Lancer’s speedometer display starts nagging about overheating on the CVT gearbox (common Lancer CVT issue), and after that the speed drops. lol.

Inspira’s Proton-redesigned/improved CVT cooling FTW. and suddenly there’s a sharp corner after the straight, the Lancer sees a chance to beat it, but the Lancer still lose to the Inspira.

Lotus handling FTW. looooooooooooool :D :D

• Tiadaid on Nov 01, 2010 at 8:16 pm

And then those who changed bumpers to Lancer bumpers get CVT overheat warning light blame Proton to kingdom come….

• yes it is just an imagination
          still early to say what will happen but it’s not nonsense at all
          lotus handling is not a joke

• lancer_admirer on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:52 pm

I believe the overheating warning is when you are running above 200kmh for a period of time…and even then its probably a good feature to have…as it’s actually a warning to protect the car rather than a problem in itself…as the Lancer was designed to be driven hard and fast…

When Paul wrote about the overheating ‘problem’…maybe quoting Proton folks who wanted to justify their bumper design…it was probably in reference to the earlier models of the Lancer…since the launch in 2007 when Paul test drove the current Lancer Mitsubishi has also listened to its clients and improved the air intake and design…because this problem is hardly heard of anymore…

Maybe it’s just another Proton marketing ploy…whatever…

• Paul Tan on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:06 pm

I’ve personally experienced the CVT overheating on the Lancer and it is real.

We also never claimed Proton has 100% solved the CVT overheating problem. They briefed us that the new air guides were installed to solve the problem, and we reported it. Cos that is part of our job, to go out, find out, and report, not sit on the chair and dream up drama.

The overheating warning is not the problem. The overheating is the problem. The airguides might eliminate the overheating, or it might just increase the time it takes to overheat, or it might not do anything at all. But it is fair to simply taruh and speculate without testing?

When the Inspira is launched and we get a test drive unit of the production version, then it will be time to test if it still overheats. Until then, we report the changes first. It’s all factual.

• lancer_admirer on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:40 pm

Paul, couldn’t find the reply button on your post…but I think you are being too sensitive bro…I mean it as a Proton marketing ploy to say the bumper was to solve overheating and indirectly insinuating that Mitsubishi couldn’t address the problem until Inspira came along…notice I said possible Proton ploy…not your ploy…

Anyway…wanted to tell you your first sentence was uncalled for…because I already pointed out that info probably came from Proton…

but please share if you know this overheating warning is still occurring generally? I mean this sincerely…and I am also interested to see the Inspira performing for real…maybe you could test a current Lancer too…and see it overheats when Inspira doesn’t…until then its not factual…but a claim…

• Paul Tan on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:42 pm

Guess you are right, sorry for jumping the gun, shoud have thought longer before replying :) Anyway, I have no idea whether the overheating problem is still the same on the Inspira. What we can say is Proton has tried to fix the problem, and we look forward to evaluating the fix. There’s only so much you can say right now with pre-production cars and limited drive time. We’ll share more after we’ve tested the car, after it is launched.

• huiyoo on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:15 am

please quiet and silent Bung Moktar, you doesn’t know about automotive industry and peoples demand. i bet you yourself didn’t even use proton

• squall_shinoda on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:24 pm

Agreed. A carmaker should be run by businessmen and engineers, not politicians. It is Bung Mokhtar who should step down as MP Kinabatangan due to his outspoken and “flip-flop” remarks.

• but if we choose the other side..they will close proton also

• nabill on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:18 am

this setiment of rebadging is jus short term , it will go away soon as soon as customers will be happy with their products , if its a good quality with decent reliability , i dont think customers care if its rebadged or home made….

infact the public wil encourage it since it will be as good as the original with the added bonus of alot cheaper than the original , what else wd thy want more ??

another point wd be the the huge amount of money saved from this collaboration is that thre funds will be directed to the development of its core models , like the saga,persona and the exora ,

leaving emotions aside , it makes sence to me , one one condition , proton have to make it right this time , absolutly no more excuses of any kind !

• wolfsburg on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:18 pm

The problem is when they save their money from developing car, they never care about people’s safety as well… Think Naza Forte 2.0 at the same price as Inspira 2.0 where Forte have 6airbags+ESP+ECM as standard where Inspira still stucked with 2airbags+ABS+EBD only? I will always choose the safer car so Inspira is totally out for me.. People who don’t care about their life will buy Inspira instaed of Forte?

• maximus on Oct 31, 2010 at 8:17 pm

so..you measure safety on the list of acronyms. the longer the list, the safer you’ll be? So if the list goes a mile long, you will be indestructible? BTW, Wolfburg’s facility is a sight to behold, especially at night.

• BeemerFreak on Oct 31, 2010 at 9:54 pm

Damn right. First comment which actually makes sense.

• if the car super safe but the driver of the car is not safe..no diff at all..eg full airbag car 5star NCAP vs proton basic no airbag no star at all..the proton stop when red lite n 5star car not stop n there a lori kontena..the question now which car is safer?

• wolfsburg on Nov 01, 2010 at 4:06 pm

This is not talking about extreme case but general cases… If you feel that full airbag+NCAP 5-star are joke than you can always ignore it but the fact is a lot of people in the world are trying their best to make car safer for people who appreciate it….

• hyundai sime darby on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:10 am

Mr Wolf,

Forte fitted with theeta 1 engine 4 speed while Inspira invecs III 6speed paddle shift.

Forte 5star but Inspira 6star J-NCAP.

Plus Minus la bro . Jangan kuat2 hantam

• john doe on Nov 03, 2010 at 2:21 pm

Forte 5 star tested in UK n US n Malaysian Fortes are imported

Did u crash test Inspira?….Lancer achieved 6 star in Japan NCAP test not international, of course Japs will rate it higher since its their car, but forget tht….Inspira will never achieve the same rating as Lancer since the safety equipment level is diff n even body metals are diff.

Forte n Lancer using same GEMA engine block

Lancer’s INVECS 3 CVT sucks big time, thats a known fact, transmission feels rubbery, and nobody knows whether the overheating is solved…Proton can only speculate on their air guide.

Paddle shift is just a accesory one uses for the 1st 3 weeks or so, after tht nobody bothers, n with the rubber band CVT, paddle shift dont give the same effect as Civics

There are more plusses than minus there…n i havent even start on Forte’s active headrest, tilt telescopic steering, all round airbags, UV cut glass, electroscopic rear view, TCS, ESC, parking assist system, Harmon Kardon Infinity sound system, automatic climate control with ionizer and activated carbon filter…etc etc

• Why is the Persona a core model and the Inspira is not?

if the Persona is priced at RM55k and the Inspira is priced at RM60k – would that mean the Inspira is also a core model? Think about it.

• lancer without the goodies!!!!! the lcd screen us gone,replaced by retro clarion huhuhuhu

• kencingkentut on Oct 31, 2010 at 10:01 am

its your choice… you can go buy lancer and get lcd screen.. or buy inspira, save 26K.. then can go buy 42′ led tv put in your car!

• Lancer GT dun hv LCD screen either, Lancer EX have but no paddle shift, what do you want? LCD touch screen cost you how much? 26k or 2.6k?

• as usual ppl who want to buy sure ask for this & that… more free gift seen like worth, so they buy….

• mohdjiman on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:44 am

No Bose sound system in inspira?

• goproton on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:46 am

i assume driving experience of inpira more towards to lancer ex than lancer gt…..

• maximus on Oct 31, 2010 at 8:18 pm

I assume it will whack any of the Lancer EX, GT etc and will give the EVO X a run for the >200K price tag

• i think it’s like this,

Lancer EX<Lancer GT<<Inspira<<Lancer Ralliart Turbo<<<Lancer Evo X.

• bobby on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:54 am

Can’t they just put in a decent LCD and a navigation system ? Would not it be more decent looking.

• yeayea on Oct 31, 2010 at 7:29 pm

True. It cost less than RM2K for this but definitely Proton can get way cheaper in bulk.Proton is trying to save every penny. The free Navigation that Proton includes on the Premium is not much.Handphone also got.Should have been a build in touch screen player with gps.

• 80K for this national car interior? How the real one is better. Should add real spoiler like the original.

• mamamia on Oct 31, 2010 at 3:13 am

If they sell the standard at RM75K,definitely will sell like hot cake.Vios and CIty can go junk yard but then again ….

• Ya… Bank interest 2.88%, sure buy!!! RM75k still reasonable… maybe Proton can offer 1.8L Manual Basic, with steel rims, no radio, at RM 70k. Like what they offer for Exora or P2 Viva 660cc got nothing? If RM70k base-line sure the sales will go Up!!! more affordable & all the copy-cat complain gone straight away… Bcos basher will buy one to~ ha ha ha……

• rebadge on Oct 31, 2010 at 3:16 am

No USB? why they are so lame about this?
    Can’t even think y Proton can’t even see this as a main criteria for young

• yeayea on Oct 31, 2010 at 7:24 pm

Yea,it should come as standard. Most cars even Korean cars have that as standard.

• proton türkiye forum on Oct 31, 2010 at 6:12 am

i think it would better with a ESTATE model of this car!!!

I mean a SW model from Inspira, and a diesel engine please!
    We can only afford a diesel car!
    proton why so slow, diesel, you can do it!

• fadzil on Oct 31, 2010 at 6:45 am

me still couldn’t understand why is inspira not a core model for proton instead of being a replacement model to waja? so why must they build waja before?

• peYno on Oct 31, 2010 at 8:40 am

waja was under T. mahalel managemnet.. Now is DSZ era

• ayat sama ulang2 bila nak cover proton puii…tak kira zaman sapa kalau dah proton ….proton la….

• PakAbu on Oct 31, 2010 at 8:48 am

They thought WAJA can compete head-on with BMW and take over Europe by storm. :lol:

I’m glad they are back to their senses now.

• oldman on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:11 pm

Pemimpin baru, mestilah nak hapuskan legasi pemimpin lama……

Tambahan, org dulu tinggalkan nama buruk…so, kene buang sume ‘model-model’ tak guna tersebut….hihi

• Proton just says it is not a core model because they have no other excuse to use to justify what is, essentially, a rebadging of the Lancer.

What’s worse. A shameful car company spewing out shameful excuses that is lapped up by the general public as honey from the sky.

Malaysians can no longer think critically.

• developing this rebadging waja took up to 17months?..then why making the exora took just only 18months?..

• 17 months to design a bumper and steering…hmm..
      and probably rim..

• other “national carmaker” : 17 years still styling bumpers.

• I know of a national carmaker who, after 25+ years, also styles bumpers and grills.

• 17 month is use to study for local part la… they not just replace local part without test the realibility … to test this, sure its takes time…

• i believe tuning a Mitsubishi-developed suspension systems to Proton/Lotus standards are quite..hard. lol.

• MoFaz on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:08 pm

it’s not as simple as CKD. for CKD, you receive the parts from oversea and just assemble it. for inspira, they need to get the local supplier ready to produce the parts, get ready the body stamping machine and also the robotic arms setup & collaborations. they also retuned the suspension setup, so they require some road test for that.
      if you still don’t understand from the article above, let me rephrase it for you my fren. the inspira took shorter duration to produce compared to a full two years if Proton would have to develop it from scratch. but the main reason behind ‘rebadging’ is the cost, not the duration. producion cost for Inspira is only half of Exora.
      that’s why Perodua is enjoying their sales so much and could afford to give 4 months bonus to the staffs. their design & development cost, crash & safety test and all other test was done by daihatsu.

• aduss on Oct 31, 2010 at 3:04 pm

ha.. tahu dah.. hang ni org proton… tak pun dari moto line.. sampaikan proses CKD dan CBU pun tau aper bezanyer… hahaha comment mcm ni la kita nak..

• alf147 on Nov 01, 2010 at 10:40 am

yeap bro..second to u….this is the purpose of having copy cat…cant compare with P2…everything done by daihatsu..

• why the found NVH levels to be noticeably lower than the Lancer???
    that is one of the reasons why Proton can sell it in cheaper price????

• maybe Proton use more insulation? Because of MANUAL tranny?

• kencingkentut on Oct 31, 2010 at 10:04 am

bro, your question in confusing. do you know what is NVH in the first place?

• Tiadaid on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:01 am

Lower NVH = better since Noise lower, less Vibration & less Harshness

That’s what NVH stands for.

• zaff1984 on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:32 am

the lower NVH; the better…

• OMG…. seems like I have made a mistaken…. still blur in the morning because didnt sleep yet….. haha….. thanks for the correction……

• pro-sui on Oct 31, 2010 at 7:49 am

eVERYONE WANT TO THINK POSITIF… one thing which still no change… even if this good car after sale servis still below mark… full of compalint every day, currently Misu & P1 share same servis centre, after this you waiting time for servis will take 3 day3 hahaha

• proton edar service centre not share with mitsu but eon service centre…no need to wait just book first

• At first proton should segment their car clearly. I think the naming of proton car is too fragmented and it very confusing.

Savvy meant to be under the class of viva?
    Saga is comparable as myvi, Mazda 2, honda city, vios, fiesta, Hyundai accent,
    Persona is the same category as supposly corrola, Hyundai elentra/avante, civic, cruze, Peugeot 308, volkswagen golf/jetta?

So where inspira/waja gonna be? What segment this should be categorize? Don’t tell me that inspira would be the same category as corolla, civic, cruze, Peugeot 308, Kia forte, Volkswagen golf because then there are another car falls into this category, which is persona.

• shooter on Oct 31, 2010 at 10:10 am

as i understand it, the lancer is a direct competitor to the civic, sylphy and altis (1.8L-2.0L). so it’d be only natural the inspira would slot in the same segment.

persona is more in line with the city and vios segment (1.5L-1.6L).

• vios and city are nothing,
        persona is much better

• Joker on Nov 01, 2010 at 12:58 pm

Errr, u sure ur comparing like for like ?
          compare’lar dgn rival in the same segment.

mcm budak Form 1 masuk kelas Darjah 6 !…
          hahahahaha

• tak kira la masuk kelas apa pun
            janji seat besar lagi vios/city, lagi selesa
            aircond sejuk, handling mantop
            minyak pun long term lagi jimat dr vios/city
            overall cost pun lagi jimat
            kecuali ko nak pai vios/city tu sampai 10 tahun
            masa tu org tak pandang dah vios/city tu
            pakai proton baru lagi best dr pakai japs car buruk
            kualiti proton dh improve banyak, bukan mcm dulu
            takat vios/city tu apa sangat la

• BeliOriginal on Nov 07, 2010 at 3:00 pm

Continue to enjoy your low quality power windows and low quality parts. Perhaps you can put a Mitsubishi logo to your car and re-sell the car at japanese car.
          Otherwise, chnage to Lotus logo, that’s looks good to your Pertukda
          Good luck to you.

• squall_shinoda on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:20 pm

In terms of car dimensions, the Persona is a C-segment car because its wheelbase is longer than the Honda City and Toyota Vios, but in the end the Persona competes with the B-segment cars due to the price tag and accessories packages.

• Exactly, the Persona IS a C-segment car. The Inspira is also a C-segment car.

Those who use engine size to segment cars really need to update their knowledge.

• iskandar on Oct 31, 2010 at 8:05 am

Smart move by proton.focus 80% of your effort on the important models. There’s no need to think about export with this mode. It’s an old model after all.

Bing should just shut his mouth and focus on his constituency and wives.

• _xXx_ on Nov 01, 2010 at 9:03 am

Wives? U mean after paying the fines, she turned legal wife now?

• is the brake pads still the same super huge and bites like the ori Lancer?

• THinking on Oct 31, 2010 at 8:14 am

bung mokthar at one time was defending proton before re-badging. Now making noise in dewan rakyat? this two faced clown to be taken seriously? wasn’t he the one who married out of the country while still married in the country? speaks volumes about character ain’t?

seriously, proton can do whats best for them to stay alive, even if it means re-badging. in malaysia to drive a nice car, you gotta pay THE price…

btw, bung mokthar drives a cayenne…. ;)

• rotul on Oct 31, 2010 at 8:57 am

i agree with u man…this man do not really understand about automotive industry.. i totally not agree on his suggestion to close Proton…its better for him to give advice/opinion on how to make Proton a very good car manufacturer..not just bash just like that…

i think Proton is moving ahead since DSZ take the job…

btw, bung mokhtar also got T Ninja King with DBM plate on it..
      DBM : Datuk B M

• agreed… DSZ has moved the company to be a real business… a real business shd be managed by a real businessman… not politicians…

some ppl dont realise that they made millions through spoon-feeding, but not really involved in real business world after all…

• if Proton/Lotus plans to develop the MSX/APX then his Cayenne is going to be fucked up lol.

• VWfan on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:20 pm

he should be eliminated and exiled by the voters at his place after this, this leader talking shits all the time! just go take care of your family and your brand new wife!

• actually most of us here do not know much about automotive industries from A to Z..maybe little bit we know but as a whole maybe some of us knows

• Martin on Oct 31, 2010 at 9:04 am

The Premium model comes with RM94,000 price tag (speculation) but does it comes with keyless entry and push start? Side and curtain airbags?
    Naza Forte 2.0 has all of these and comes with the same price tag.
    If i am buying a sedan within these price range, i’ll choose Forte becoz i value safety more than CVT and MIVEC engine.

• JohaEs on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:54 am

if proton put more spec than so called ORI lancer, the lancer owner will more BUTTHURT than they do now…full spec inspira with keyless entry and push start,Side and curtain airbags and traction ctrl..those ORI lancer owner will be butthurt coz spec like that sell at onli RM94k+

• i prefer fun driving , stable cornering and big car smoking
      so i chose INSPIRA!!

• wolfsburg on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:13 pm

Inspira don’t have ESP and ECM as well… So it seems that Proton still don’t care about the safety of their domestic customer…

• MoFaz on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:17 pm

the spec hasn’t come out yet…
      but if what you said is true, then forte is a better choice.

• should be still dont have them even the side mirror also same as Mitsubishi without the turning signal….

But maybe all will add in after the “another” facelift version of this.

• BeemerFreak on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:46 pm

But if u are thinking about the Forte, hold on first, cause the Koup is coming to Malaysia soon, That is already facelifted with the 6 speed auto, 166bhp 2.0L Dual CVVT engine and Paddleshifters. In Singapore, it is sold exactly the same price as the Forte, so malaysia shouldnt expect much difference, especially when the cars comes from Naza. That time, the Inspira is doomed…

• wolfsburg on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:09 pm

FYI Forte Koup SX is SGD7k more expensive than Forte sedan SX…
        http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_listing.php?MOD=Kia

• BeemerFreak on Oct 31, 2010 at 3:32 pm

Nah check the initial pricing, this new price was after COE review…….. Initial pricing was posted about a year and half ago. That time it was the same.. I live in Singapore, so no reason i dont know……….

Car prices in malaysia are much nicer, once launched, seldom change……
          In Singapore buying cars is like buying lottery, see when u lucky u get…….
          (BTW I am still Malaysian, and a very proud one. Never wanted to be assiciated with kiasuism)

• MoFaz on Oct 31, 2010 at 3:20 pm

but due to limited availability of Kia / Naza service centres, people would still choose Inspira

• i thought 2 door sedan is a big no-no for malaysian?

• What is the big deal with MIVEC anyway?

• strada on Oct 31, 2010 at 6:49 pm

Hey Martin – those Forte goodies come at the expense of a sophisticated rear multilink suspension. Forte’s rear torsion beam is philosphically similar to those found in Viva, MyVi etc. Coupled with the lifeless electric steering, I would rather drive the Inspira and feel much more confident avoiding myself from getting into trouble, rather than enjoy those curtain airbags exploding in my face or the ESP cutting in unnecessarily should I want to go for a spirited drive.

Honestly I think heavy crash structures, ridiculous emissions law and overkill safety nets in the name of ESP etc are just another way of big automotive cartels to keep the market in their own circles. Bring back the 80’s!

• wolfsburg on Nov 01, 2010 at 4:14 pm

Please go and check the Peugeot 308’s rear suspension before talking about it…
        You can avoid yourself from getting into accident but you cannot avoid other people getting you into accident… You never try you never know, once you try you will regret why you don’t have… ESP and airbags are proven over the years in saving people’s life… Only people who gone through that kind of experience then only can they appreciate the importance of the safety… For people who think that airbags and ESP are jokes are because they never get into an accident yet… It is a fact that a Forte with ESP have a higher chance of preventing you from losing control compared to a Inspira without ESP…

• Tiadaid on Nov 01, 2010 at 8:20 pm

You want to know why Forte can have all those and still sell at that price? Because NAZA’s playing the volume game. They price it low to entice people to buy their cars, betting that their low profit margins on the car can be padded by higher sales.

• Extract from Thai paper :

…We’d wish not to complain about the Corolla’s chassis, given that potential customers would like its compliant low-speed ride and effortless steering. But other than that, the driving manners of the Corolla come second to the Lancer.

Aside the poor level of road noise suppression in the Lancer, it handles and rides in a more convincing manner when driven with enthusiasm. The chassis feels more planted to the tarmac at high speeds, plus the ride that’s more stable over undulating roads, bridgenecks and in cornering.

The stoppers in the Lancer also feel more natural, progressive and powerful during both general driving and hard-braking from high speeds. The Corolla’s brakes feel more wooden and the chassis doesn’t feel stable when they are worked hard…

Paul, after drove both car or even new Altis 1.8 perhaps, do you find that our rebadged Inspira has SUPERIOR than its sibling Lancer-Galant Fortis in R&H, NVH, braking etc?

Kudos to Proton if they can make it better than the Mitsubishi’s car otherwise l rather feel RM250m of rebadging exercise 50m is simply EXCESSIVE figure compared to any CKD-ed exercise. If RM250m inclusive of the whole Inspira’s projected years of production and localization up to 60%, still acceptable.

Only thing that make Lancer stand out is their dark interior/dashboard really black unlike grey-ish nature of Inspira or it just due to photo quality limitation?

Whatever reason, Inspira is the best RM80k monies can buy in Malaysia. Really tempted though l wish Proton will have Honda or Toyota style 3/4S in each states to cater for new and growing customers. Current 4S not that handsome as the Japanese marques.

• klguy on Oct 31, 2010 at 9:21 am

wah Paul u r so pro Proton :P .As for me i will only consider protons when the other cars in this country is given equal treatment by BN

• he is not pro proton he is just a reviewer…you check all his reviews what he pro Toyota he pro NIssan…paul does not blindly review….

• Syarif on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:03 pm

I’m no supporter of BN, but I believe even if PR cime to power, they cannot change the Malaysian automotive industry overnight too, even if they wanted too.
      Kudos should go to DSZ for being able to be being both pragmatic and visionary with having to deal with so many issues and hurdles in reviving Proton to this level.

• Doopee on Oct 31, 2010 at 9:22 am

Had a friend who sold his Civic in favour of Lancer because there is just too many Civics on the roads and he wanted something rare. Now his car is going to be a very common sight. What a bummer for him.

• Then your friend is not very smart. If he wanted something rare, he could have chosen a Citroen!

• elite on Oct 31, 2010 at 9:26 am

there’s nothing wrong with rebadging…

but when there’s no level playing field and the whole market is tuned for proton’s marketability and survival..

rebadging but still trying to twist the people’s minds…

• Ash Menon on Oct 31, 2010 at 9:54 am

In the second shot, the panel gap above the headlight is rather odd, don’t you think?

In terms of ICE, I think they got it best with the Savvy. Well-balanced, well-designed, and the Clarion looked stunning.

They really shouldn’t make this silver colour…it looks so drab. The white red and black ones look gorgeous! Proton rarely makes a mistake with body colors, so this is a bit surprising.

• BeemerFreak on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:41 pm

With the price they are charging us, why cant they just put a touch screen ICE system on the Inspira? Clarion has many of such units that are very good.

• lancer got touch screen or not???
        asked mitsu to do it 1st and proton will follow

• Hazri on Oct 31, 2010 at 10:02 am

i still doubt on quality of this car….i had bad experienced with my Gen2…my sister’s new Saga also got problem too…

after 3 years, rattling sound everywhere…..

• Personally I am negative about Proton for have given us not so good quality cars for the past 25 years, also the expensive spareparts (especially for waja which i am currently driving). But I reckon Proton has changed its corperate culture (like MAS) and grearing up for local & overseas competition. I sincerely considering to purchase this new model as I think is a value buy. At least I can replace all the changeable sparepart with mitsu original parts if the local parts are of a lower quality..

• MoFaz on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:30 pm

you complained that parts for waja are expensive. so, what make you think parts for inspira are cheaper? and you even consider buying original parts from mitsu? it will cost double or triple easily.
      if you’re still paying installment for your waja, it’s better for you to just continue with it. you feel happy when you get your brand-new car, but you’d be happier when you finish paying for it, because now you have extra RM600-800 to spend on something more important :)

• Haven’t you heard of “once bitten twice shy”?

At the Inspira’s price point, there are many other cars to choose from.

• jason on Oct 31, 2010 at 10:19 am

i like very ,much the MP comment and it should be done this way.

• The way I see it, only original Lancer owners have the rights to condemn Inspira (if they wish to, that is). As for the others, what have you got to lose in this?

• henry on Oct 31, 2010 at 10:29 am

No way to buy Malaysia car bad quality and unsafe.

• Tiadaid on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:02 am

Any car is unsafe in the hands of a typical Malaysian

• yeah..altho they have car with 6,8 or even 10 airbags..but still tak mahu pakai seatbelt…

• To critic sumthing is not easy. Got to know and learn everything regarding the ‘thing’ that u want to critic. In ur case, “No way to buy Malaysia car bad quality and unsafe”.

FYI, did u know that this Inspira, and all department that related with this project is FULLY MONITORED/AUDITED by Mitsubishi itself. The quality that Inspira got to pass is totally same with Lancer. But personally i think Inspira quality audit more strict due to we are using their platform/carrying their brand on our Proton name.

If u know about Lancer performance, reliability, etc, plus u AWARE that Inspira is a Lancer with Proton badge (besides 40% local parts inside) then there is no way u going to said like that. :)

Some point i like to say to bashers:
      Inspira = Lancer+Lotus with Proton badge (no less,no more). Its still MITSU!
      Proton with Mitsu platform : Bad
      Proton with our own engine & model : Bad
      Proton with Mitsu platform + Our own engine&model : Also Bad
      So wat on earth actually did u want? A powerful, fast, and comfort like bimmer&merc car that cost u rm10 isn it? Hehe no hard feelin. I love u guys. U make my day :)

• squall_shinoda on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:19 pm

I agree with you… the bashers always talk as if they are automotive engineers from BMW or Merc. They should deserve an Auldey Gen-3 rather than a Proton Gen-2.

• fame a'mous on Nov 01, 2010 at 5:01 pm

hoping that Proton’s QC will learn the way Mitsu’s QC doing their job for the betterment of Proton’s future products….cheers!

• dont for get rebranding car.. ok

• the first rebadge lancer (saga) is a BLM car, a car for everyone. The second one is the staple core model (wira). The latest rebadge lancer is a premium car. From cheap to expensive, from BLM to premium positioning for the lancer. Dont know la.. it seems like we are worse off than before for the lancer that we get.

• jimmyc on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:10 pm

true.. the same rebadged lancer is getting more and more expensive.

• exactly… how car the later the we rebadge.. the more expensive is it?? it’s all bull shit~!!!!!!!!!!!!! Since it’s all Lancer from the very beginnig of saga, wira to inspira~~!! piss off~!

• 80’s nasi lemak = 0.50 (with telur mata lembu)
          nowaday nasi lemak = 2.00 ~ 3.00 (with telur mata lembu)

• stewpid on Oct 31, 2010 at 7:12 pm

even so the ori lancer from japan is getting cheaper ker?
        pls lah look around you..the price of fuel still going up, also the piece of sheet metal tremendously up to 100% from early 1990’s.. still hope the car price still like early era of old saga ker?

• aduss on Oct 31, 2010 at 3:13 pm

errr.. just for your info lah… saga BLM ni guna underbody savvy 90% mane lak datang dari lancer.. wira jangan cerita la tu lama punya carita.. jika new waja boleh keluar 7000 unit sebulan rasanyer proton tak kan rebadge lencer punyer.. paling kuat 1000 unit sebulan tu pun dengan export.. tak der untung sangat la… so you fikirla sendiri..

• duda dude on Oct 31, 2010 at 10:44 am

Just to take care of Malaysians’ heart, proton have reached the ‘death point’ before, but Malaysians still bashing them…… Then, when they try to make a great move, people still bashing, ask them to make their own car… Its not like making a goreng pisang which is cheaper!! then when they are almost bankrupt coz of the loss so much money in R&D, people will ask them to close!! Whats wrong with Malaysians heart!! ( to basher)

• easy tell them to build theor own cars
      because they talk too much like pro engineers and auto designers

• blaze on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:57 am

If Proton came up with a car on par with the 5 Series for RM79k also these idiots will still buy Honda and Toyota., You can’t change them. They’re just stupid. They won’t be seen dead with the Proton badge.

Berlagak macam orang kaya, duit takde. Pigi dahhh

• I think the stupid one is the one who thinks Proton can actually come up with an equivalent to the 5-series.

• that same opinion/mindset/attitude before barrack obama become usa president.

• bmw is nothing
            nothing is impossible , think positive
            time will tell

• 100 percent correct bro what u say….

• Honda Power on Oct 31, 2010 at 6:47 pm

Just curious to know. What car are you driving, bro? If yodrive a Proton, don’t act like you are rich. Maybe you cannot afford to drive Toyota or Honda, that’s why you drive a Proton. Inspira doesn’t inspire me at all. Pigilah!

• HondaTop on Nov 07, 2010 at 3:10 pm

He is probably a Proton with Mitsubishi logo. He may also put Honda TypeR sticker at the back. Wearing a BMW T- Shirt bought from Petaling Street and talk like he is drving 5 Series.

• they can join venture with other company to to R&D in engine.then use the engine to produce their own car. goreng pisang and making a car is different.if u dont have the technology, y still wasting the time and money?if the company will bankrupt coz of the loss so much money in R&D, then y still got so many car company invent neew technology nowaday? it is all depend on the company management.if u put most of ur research money in useless place(put the money in jamuan for example), then u will always become other companies factory to produce their old model and rebadge it.

• oldman on Oct 31, 2010 at 6:45 pm

masalah INspira ni rega dia….tak bersesuaian…

kalo bubuh dlm 60k – 75k gerenti boleh tapau vios, city dan seangkatan dengannnye…

• research on Oct 31, 2010 at 10:49 am

the best part is this car has been announced like a year ago… yet here u c some dungus who didnt do any research before committing n buying their lancer…..hahahaha

• research on Oct 31, 2010 at 10:54 am

http://paultan.org/2008/12/05/next-generation-proton-waja-to-be-based-on-the-mitsubishi-lancer-platform/

this article published in 2008….hahaha… so those who bought lancers is kinda living in a cave really..

• walao on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:12 am

So proton rebadge a car using the government’s grant and subsidy (tas payer’s money)? Isn’t this Cheating?

Those who dont pay any tax please shut your mouth.

• bro how u know…. proved it…

• did u read their annual financial report 2009? go read here how much gov grant and how much they loan from bank

http://www.proton.com/public/media/mediacentre/documents/annualreports/AReport_2009.pdf

……..some might be not pay income tax but still pay tax…when buy kfc, mcd, pay maxis bill, road tax, airport tax, etc

• why so many people mentioned bout PSA Peugeot Citroen and aston martin? as we know that the companies above rebadge the car as their side product to fill the production gap. they have their own technology and their main production are using their own technolgy. they rebadge just to fill up the gap.perodua is owned by toyota.so rebadging the passo as myvi is ok.now proton, as our national car must not become other companies factory to produce their car.the shame is Mitsubishi set up a lot of rules when rebadging their car by proton.just like proton is controlling by mitsubishi. i think it is not a win-win situation. i m sure mitsubishi win more as they can continue to sell their lancer in much lower price by using other people factory in malaysia.somemore mitsubishi can still earn the money from their old lancer in malaysia as their new lancer will coming soon. proton will become the rebadging factory for other car company in the future and they will lazy to produce their own technology.

• New Lancer in the pipeline? You must be kidding, dude. Lancer aka Galant Fortis was introduce to replace both Lancer predecessor and aging Galant in the same time! Their financial even below Mazda and typically having imbalance and age model with fewer replacement. Their concept ZT for Galant already few years back in 2007 but no concrete plan to make it for mass.

Is it good financial health for the Japanese brand?

• armandd on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:54 am

People who think it’s wrong to rebadge a car actually does not understand how the auto industries work. Do u know that:

Mazda2 and Ford Fiesta,
    Seat Exeo & Audi A4 (previous gen),
    Ford Mondeo & Mazda6,
    Upcoming Lancia Stratos & Ferrari 430,
    Lotus Elise & Tesla Roadster

is actually the same car underneath? Of course the specs are a little bit different, but they are basically the same car. Even Rover cars rebadge Hondas some time ago.

• wolfsburg on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:05 pm

I don’t think they are re-badge(other than Seat Exeo)… They should be called part sharing… Just like Polo/Fabia/Ibiza, 207/C3, Sonata/Optima…
      In Proton’s case, at least now they only did very little thing in modifying…

• untitled on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:26 pm

Little enough to distinguish itself from outgoing lancer

• armandd on Oct 31, 2010 at 5:11 pm

wolfsburg, u got some valid point there. However, I think it’s more than just parts sharing, coz those cars actually use the same platform, suspension design etc. In Inspira’s case, yes they did very little other than changing the front bumper and mod the suspension setting.

• oldman on Oct 31, 2010 at 6:48 pm

jangan lah gitu bro…tukar lambang & bumper pun bole masuk smart partnership (part sharing) …hihi, jgn lah sebut rebadge, perodua je yg rebadge…kununnyer

• come on mazda and ford are same company.they have share to each other.

• That is because in most of your examples, the marques mentioned share a common owner. Ford used to own a huge chunk of Mazda. SEAT and Audi is owned by VW. Lancia and Ferrari are owned by FIAT.

See what happened to Rover when they rebadged Hondas? The Brits are not fools but it appears that we Malaysians are.

• HondaTop on Nov 07, 2010 at 3:14 pm

People can sell their car everywhere in he word. After so call our rebadge inspira, where can it sell to ? cant even compete witht he Mitsubishi price outside this country ok.

• Jesse James on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:09 pm

It would be very funny if Mitsubishi decided to CKD the Lancer. I really wish they just do that!

• Hanif on Oct 31, 2010 at 6:10 pm

I wonder people will actually buy CKD Lancer (if there is) or Proton Inspira~

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:15 pm

Paul are you forgetting something?
    You said that the car tested was a pre-production model.
    So,maybe the NVH and interior for the car tested is not the same as the production model.

• At the end of the day, cheaper petrol price and safer streets gives you more than just a car. Regardless of driving a lancer or inspira. Just my 2cents.

• Leonardo on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:33 pm

Maybe the MP from Kinabatangan should just concentrate on his new wife instead of cars? Anyway i don’t think he is driving National cars as he got AP permits to buy foreign cars for his won use. Dare he declare what cars he owns now?

• Jimmy on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:39 pm

‘Proton is gunning to achieve a quality threshold that will pass the Mitsubishi audit’ sounds promising, hope it comes true.
    BTW, to achieve good quality, the persons in-charge of QC must be firm and independent, not writing reports influenced by politics. The vendors ought to be selected based on COMPETENCY, not by tali-undi ! The workers of all levels ought to be selected based on efforts and competency. Not the sambil-lewa type whom you need to give tongkat to (please do not admit if you are not one).
    To improve the brand image, TOTAL OWNERSHIP SOLUTION is again very important, especially the aftersales services; so Proton really need to select their employees carefully, based on their working attitude, commitment and competency, and not by other factors like R & S (you know what I mean).
    Finally, do you think our Malay friends will also one day get angry (at goverment for supporting Proton to build crappy cars which frequently cause headaches) having to pay quarter of their salary only to get a lousy Proton(don’t mistake it Proton, I hope you will improve). Or the Government think Malay is easier to tipu and bully? Selling them lousy cars, they will still vote for me. Come on everybody, please improve.

• MoFaz on Nov 01, 2010 at 1:36 am

why the racist sentiment?
      i’ve seen all other races drive proton cars too, including some foreigners (well, maybe those are rental cars). and i’ve never read any statement that proton is only for malays, in my whole life.

• i pay 1/7 of my salay for waja
      can afford more than national car but still want it because i like it

• amarilo on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:42 pm

how can loser(bung mokhtar) be a MP? i feel sad 4 the people that votes him

• Have you actually visited the Kinabatangan region that he represents? If you visit, you might understand why the people there voted for him.

• squall_shinoda on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:12 pm

He’s a BN MP anyway so expect ghost voters and vote buying… and expect also that most people in his area are only spoonfed with the BN propaganda in the media and not being exposed to new media like us.

I also wonder how a person who is outspoken, flip-flop and even used profane gestures in the parliament can be an MP…? I think a famous Malay pantun should be changed like this – Siakap senohong gelama ikan duri, bercakap bohong lama-lama jadi menteri…

• anyone knows the kerb weight of this car?

• Jimmy on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:48 pm

I hope Proton one day will say: now we can well surpass the quality threshold of Mitsubishi, and our aftersales is similar to Toyota.

• supercap69 on Nov 01, 2010 at 9:21 am

Is Toyota aftersales service that great? Only a handful of service centres even in KL (unlike Honda), long queue and have to book for service way before the scheduled mileage (not all can estimate that in 2 weeks time their mileage can be at certain km). I like Toyota cars but opt for Honda due to easier servicing.

• Omg, did ur saw the gap below the audio player? Dang.. Zzzz

• please rebadge lancer evolution X for only 150k

• ctawyong on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:28 pm

proton explain all about business, rebadge save how many million bla bla bla, please move forward, making car is not just about money, its passion, just like growing your own child!!! 20 years ++ proton never grow, and conclusion its still about money, business, there’s no trust on your own brand, just like jeremy said, they making the car at the jungle making profit out of our malaysian only:P making it worse if it was a rebadge, why make a fuss of it , why dont just launch the car instead telling the whole world, hidden the whole design from public view while we all know its the lancer?does proton think we are retard or what??maybe this car is really for the kampung standard??? really shame on you, and the name (inspira) where they got the inspiration from:)

• Tiadaid on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:50 pm

Funny, you said making cars is not about money but when Proton loses money you’ll be the first to condemn them to kingdom come. If making cars is about passion, then by your definition Toyota is failing because their cars are as passionless as they come! And what about P2 then, which, by the way, is actually the target of Jeremy Clarkson’s quote that you just gave!

• i m agree that making a car must have passion and responsible. do u think proton do all those things?beside making money,passion is very important.as toyota can recall all their cars with problem for repair without thinking of lose.they sponsor their car in F1 and other racing competitions.these all are because they have the passion in making a good and quality cars.lets see our proton, we dont talk bout the engine 1st,more than 25 yrs, they still cant solve the power window problem.because of making money, they even dont install an airbag in our proton here.they install the airbag for foreigner. so do u still support the business minded proton?

• tiadaid on Nov 01, 2010 at 10:21 am

What you mean Toyota recall without care of loss? Only when they got kicked in the butt by American authorities after people died in their car only did they recall. Responsible? I think not!

• if no cases happen, how toyota knows their car got problems?so because of the passion and responsibility of the company, they willing to recall and repair. the company without responsible is the company that selling their car for the people without airbag and abs but they install all those things for export model.because of business minded and let their own people die in accident, do u think we still need to support such company?u know this cos how many people die already?

• Tiadaid on Nov 01, 2010 at 8:27 pm

NCM, you are joking right. They KNOW about the problem and did nothing until somebody DIED! Responsibility? You’re kidding! Then they tried to blame everybody else!

And speaking of which, Toyota Vios J. 1 airbag only. Before this NO airbags. What do you have to say about that?

• frossonice on Nov 01, 2010 at 12:03 am

Yes, and TopGear do hates Perodua more than Proton. They never thrash Proton as bad as they did on Kelisa.

• MoFaz on Nov 01, 2010 at 6:59 pm

because proton own lotus… so dia malu la nak kutuk proton.
          hahahahahahahahahaha!

• i think someone talk about business like they own multimillon ringgit company… or stock share in BSKL…bro please la it not easy …. what u say also effect other manufacture car…. like P2 or Naza (rebadge manufacture)
      i think what u means is WHEN OTHER MANUFACTURE CAR WILL MADE THEIR OWN CAR? right

• BeemerFreak on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:36 pm

Proton MD says it is not worth the R&D money and time to make a non core model….. hence the OEM. IN the first place, the national car company isn’t even suppose to compete in this D-Segment car. The Waja definitely wasnt suppose to be in this league. So why even consider wasting money in bring out a low volume model?

They should just focus all attention, money and man power into making the Phoenix turbocharged engine and develop a range of it from 1.3L turbo for BLM saga to maybe a 1.8L Turbo for the upcoming Persona R. In that case, the development time might be cut short, and with such anicipation of such good engines coming from proton, i bet even investors are willing to invest more in the company, not to mention the internation publicity proton would get.

• Com’on… Proton MD need to hire a better PR guy… find a better reason… I can suggest.. “The 2.0/1.8 segment (D-segment?) is completely new to Proton, and it would be very risky for Proton to invest such Huge amount of money into developing something we are not well verse in.. hence that is where this collaboration comes from.. we all know that the Lancer is a great Product and a lot of people wants to own one but it is just too expensive to be a rakyat car.. hence Proton has a need and Mits is willing to help.. and there we have it, the Proton Inspira!! It is not the inspiration behind the car that I call the car the Inspira, we know that this is basically the same Lancer u all droll to own and we try not to change it so much, it is the concept of this collaboration that is so inspiring. We are learning to get better, we got help from our old frez in Mits, we will detail the car down and u will see a complete Local made/design Proton Inspra in the next few years, watch up.”

• scgtimk1 on Nov 01, 2010 at 3:53 pm

much better PR.

I agree people who drive Myvi’s is the one who are currently drooling for this Inspira.

• Paul Tan on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:39 pm

We’ve actually test driven the car twice at two separate media events. This story is Danny Tan’s take on the car and the rebadging situation.

Mine is here: http://paultan.org/2010/10/13/proton-p3-90a-based-on-mitsubishi-lancer-preview-drive/

Just in case people are wondering why there are two preview test drive stories and love to cucuk saying “paid to spread propaganda la”, this that for no reason :) I thought it was actually quite clear from the author name on the article.

Anything that certain people disagree with, they will automatically label it as “paid”. I think they are perhaps are too used to political blogs where there’s lots of controversy.

• fadzly on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:55 pm

yeah.. they thought in internet is only about politics.. and they think they own this WWW and what u written should be always on their side..

• bryan jones on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:35 pm

they also think that they wil be in Putrajaya next election, dream off..

• JohaEs on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:42 pm

they just dont read..

• mr_3m on Oct 31, 2010 at 10:59 pm

mature blog readers should be able accept what you write and your views on the cars you have test driven…

if they don’t agree or like what you write, go and test drive the cars first themselves and then make an opinion…

if still they are still incline to disagree, they should well know the internet is big enough for them to go and find other blogs which may (or may not) write what they like to see or read…

• jl@ipl on Nov 01, 2010 at 2:32 am

100% Agree.

BTW, is there any politician like to talk about good thing about anything? Most of time prefer to talk bad. Why? Coz, that bad thing was favored by most………….regardless the truth!!!!! (so he/she got more support).

• think bcoz they hate the Gov..they r more politically motivated n their automotive industry base on politic

• is it confirmed that the 1.8 manual variant is the fastest?
      if yes, its a done deal then… cheapest and fastest at the same time… best bang for the buck…

• lancer_admirer on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:09 pm

Paul…appreciate your honest views of any car you review bro…

Have you heard for yourself that the Inspiras are all assembled in Malaysia? It seems I read that somewhere…that means even the early birds would not be getting CBUs that are ‘improved’…but rather a total CKD…

If so…it might be worth the wait to see if any QC issues crop up…in the initial batches…

• Paul Tan on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:18 pm

Afaik all Inspira are assembled in Malaysia. It’s just where the parts assembled are coming from. At first, only about 20+ percent will be local. Even big sheetmetal like the Bonnet will be imported. It will only go up to about 60 percent in the future. My first drive story has details about this.

As with all cars, first batch may have some teething issues.

• lancer_admirer on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:49 pm

Agreed…good point…first batches do often have issues…just making the point that it was widely thought the first batch would be actually CBU units…and that might account for some of those who booked early…hope they won’t be disappointed…peace…

• Heisenberg on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:18 pm

(Proton to be closed down for embarrassing the nation. (Said the MP)
    Yes i do felt embarrassing. I bet some a lot people do to . So “going full circle” whats really make sense? to help Proton embarrassing the nation again?

• aduss on Oct 31, 2010 at 3:18 pm

Paul Tan says:
      13/10/2010 at 6:36 pm

I’ll explain in my story, but it’s a “case by case” rebadge strategy, same as every other global manufacturer’s strategy. There’s no ‘shame’ to it.

ha ni jawapan orang yang arif dalam motorline.. stdy dulu ok?

• rossi46 on Oct 31, 2010 at 3:25 pm

as long as it saves $$ for consumer…go ahead proton. You willing to spend more for pride, go ahead my friend but we can’t afford to

• i dont agree u said spend more for pride. is spend more for safety. u buy a car for daily use and sometime use it in highway.our national cars have lack of safety features like airbag n abs for so long. yes proton is cheaper cos gov charge more tax to imported cars because they want help proton. but do u want to gamble it with ur life bcos of u want to save the money?

• Tiadaid on Nov 01, 2010 at 8:29 pm

If you’re willing to spend more on safety, buy the H-Line Proton models. Their safety features are the same as any Honda & Toyota (minus Vios J)

• Simon VW on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:22 pm

U guys are right on what does a so called MP knows about production and manufacturing of cars???? Proton is doing the right thing in this collaboration both the companies will benefit in the long run. In the end it is also the rakyat will be able to enjoy this car and not be limited to Toyota & Honda syndrome.

• Initial R on Oct 31, 2010 at 3:10 pm

In automobile industry, it’s was common for do rebadging exercise for non core model (assembly rebadged are difference story). From that exercise the company can generate side profit & gain some technology from others. From the side profit & tech, it can be used for core model. It not about patriotic story only, but it about what Malaysia can achieve in future tech… the kinabatangan MP said maybe have correct point on certain case but think again, if Proton close or phase to other country it auto tax will drop ?. Nope, I think it’s not discrease. Proton in other hand have achieve so many improvement after they done managment shifting starting from satria Neo until now. The progress still running & will unveil in future (not far from now). To be a global player is not easy like “makan cendol”, you have to learn the falling proses, stand up & start walking again. If thinking about your “syok sendiri” or “hang punya selera saja” then it no achievement progress can achieve. Proton is 25 years but have lot’s of achieve already compare than other that more than 40 years in industry.

• local car supporter on Oct 31, 2010 at 3:12 pm

rebadging and down grading an old model from Jap and sell it new in msia, and feel proud of it, i can’t understand those people who are buying this car. At least i feel proud buying exora (even though it’s a lousy car).

• akupunya on Oct 31, 2010 at 3:13 pm

please put in your mind..
    this car is mitsubishi car..not a proton car..
    that’s why everybody loving it and wanted to own it.
    again, it is not a proton car..a mitsubishi car..

• meteoraniac on Oct 31, 2010 at 3:19 pm

and you thought after 20plus years and millions of RnD they could come out with better rims….

• rossi46 on Oct 31, 2010 at 3:23 pm

As long as its = to a cheaper mitsu….i’m all with proton….how about re-badging the whole range…proton triton/grandis…good for consumers, savings of btw 30 to 40k by re-badging. Anyway, why the hoo haa by those against this??…u prefer to spend more $$$ kah??

• Whoistalking on Oct 31, 2010 at 3:58 pm

A car pullout bu an English daily today announces that Inspira has secure 1500 booking. Who is right and who is wrong ?

• Copywrong on Oct 31, 2010 at 3:59 pm

For once, I agree with the polygamist Bung Moktar. Start with Lancer, coming full circle with Lancer is why we pay high prices for cars in Malaysia. We have Lotus in our kitty, utilise it to the fullest. R&D is definately costly but resorting to rebadging after 25 years is really one step backwards and two more step backwards. The reason why people despise this is because we have to pay high prices for our daily ride.

• oomph on Nov 01, 2010 at 9:27 am

Car companies with more experience than proton also resorted to rebadging for economic reasons. Proton is at no fault by doing so..it is how automotive industry works nowadays.Plus as they say several times, they are doing this just for non core models.

However I think the price should be a bit lower in the range of 70k-80k

• bohtakchek on Oct 31, 2010 at 5:22 pm

business sense?? proton doesn’t make business sense at all after its 10th year in operation!! so call rebadging or OEM others make business sense?? why spent the RM250mil to enrich mitsu?? might as well develop own model!? … why spend this kind of money?? RM250mil to promote proton brand?? WTF business sense is that? branding is a symbol of quality – proton still lacking behind, symbol of deliverable of innovative – doesn’t seems so… i can keep going on this branding crap thing… but to proton to continue to bleed and enrich japanese, i don’t see where is the business sense in that!? obviously proton management has a serious weakness is position proton as ‘what’?? … always happen with nationalization of business… no direction at all.

• Alonso 2010 champ on Oct 31, 2010 at 5:32 pm

hello Paul . u did mention abt the shifting with light clutch. does it have a short shifter?

• tracktion3 on Oct 31, 2010 at 6:08 pm

Actually, I dont really understand why they need to cover those logo? I mean.. is not that nobody know what underneath and how it looks like. he he he Sound like waste of time to cover them… :P Or perhaps some regulation to follow?

• My 2 Cents on Oct 31, 2010 at 6:12 pm

I can understand why some of the bashing.

The reality is that we Malaysians are forced to pay higher prices for our choice of car for the last 25 years because of Proton.

The Inspira is a viable business strategy for Proton in Malaysia. However this is because the ‘gov protection’ that Proton gets create a situation in Malaysia where Proton can sells a 2.0 Mitsubishi for 94K but that Mitsubishi can make a profit of by just selling it for 62K (duty free). It make great business sense for Proton but we, the consumers, are still being sell short.

Don’t get me wrong. It is a bargain and consolation comparitively since we are paying lower duty for Inspira/Lancer but I think most of you wish the same as I do, that;
    1. We shouldn’t be paying such high tax/duty in the first place.
    2. That every cents we pay goes toward the quality/performance/spec of the car and not to some extortional tax/duty to prevent us from getting the car we want.

Just my humble opinion.

• This preview shows how that Inspira is way better than a Ori Lancer GT.
    1. You will feel more confident with Inspira..
    2. More comfortable riding.
    3. better NVH.

Good Job.. Proton. Keep it up. R&D by proton can make a good car even better.

• Goproton on Nov 01, 2010 at 10:55 am

no….inspira more to daily family car bro….lancer more to ‘gt-ness’….read properly….proton tune it towards comfort only…you can’t say it is better…just diff tuning for our market….if to you comfort:better then Inspira better than pagani zonda?

• Malaysia will soon be ranked No. 1 in the number of EVO owners in the world. ;)

• kingkong on Oct 31, 2010 at 7:00 pm

hm….chery is chasing up..

• kingkong on Oct 31, 2010 at 7:06 pm

how many average malaysian could afford 80K car?

• Faisal on Oct 31, 2010 at 7:15 pm

all the best to proton! i like!

• reuben how on Oct 31, 2010 at 7:50 pm

Its very unfair of proton to rebadge a lancer. Then what’s all of our effort of suffering all these years? We still have limited choice. Even a small market like New Zealand (total population < klang valley) can enjoy 3 – 4 times the number of car models sold in Malaysia. All this protectionism for what ? We can't even enjoy the latest safety equipment (eg curtain airbags, electronic stability program) that other motorists in other countries are enjoying, yet we are paying hire purchase on TAX !!!

• dpillai on Oct 31, 2010 at 8:22 pm

What I still cannot understand is why w/o taxes(in Langkawi), which reflects the base price, the Lancer at RM72k is RM13k cheaper than the Inspira at RM85k?

If that is the cost of rebadging and localization, Proton will never be able to compete w/o protectionism.

• rosdi on Nov 01, 2010 at 10:20 am

Ask yourself.. why Proton Inspira is almost 10K cheaper in Langkawi than the rest of Malaysia? Think.. think..

• BadBET on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:42 pm

Because proton also been tax by G. I wonder why some people think proton in Malaysia (except langkawi & labuan) is tax free? Exora M-line price is RM30k ++, plus dealer margin, insurance etc is RM40 ++ , the balance is the tax we pay to G. People pay about RM20k tax to G. sad bad true. I really hope the tax can be lowered to national car, so proton can really be ‘Volkswagen’ aka ‘kereta rakyat’ one day.

• Proton GoGoGo on Oct 31, 2010 at 8:52 pm

Proton please rebadge Colt, Pajero and Evo!

• Copycat.

• Two side of story,

Thank you Proton for offering a CKD Lancer at Cheap price…

The other side, thank you Proton for resulting all the Civic/Altis to cost so much..

Couldn’t understand the logic for Proton MD, a great way to make a story to cover another fact.

• “You might have read about outspoken Kinabatangan MP Datuk Bung Moktar Radin blasting the national car company for not developing its own car, going as far as calling for Proton to be closed down for embarrassing the nation. ”

I wonder if he drive Proton???
    sebok srh proton develop kerete sndiri..dia ada proton kat umah tak???huhuuuhuhu

• bryan jones on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:39 pm

do u think design & build cars as cheap as 10 millions?? go figure other carmakers cost.. more than a billion!

• taboo on Nov 01, 2010 at 12:19 am

BORINGGGGGG !!!!!!!

• pay no attention to what that re***d MP said..he’s just looking for fame, and have no useful issues to said in parlimen..

jezz..way people like him being elected to run the country?wasting people’s money..all he does only talk..

if malaysia is a little bit more towards democracy, mp like him can kiss his chair in parlimen goodbye

• quattro on Nov 01, 2010 at 12:30 am

hope this time proton come out with new proton emblem, please design emblem like perodua, timbul gitu, bukan lagi yg guna plastic…….DSZ> Pls consider and make a move…

• imblurplshelp on Nov 01, 2010 at 1:25 am

why r&d a rebadge car needs 17 months while doing a brand new exora 18-19 months ah?

• Darren Lee on Nov 01, 2010 at 7:00 am

rumours about the first 2000 units of the 2.0 is totally CBU from Japan to help Mitsubishi Malaysia to clear out their stock. worth to buy the first 2000 units of the 2.0 version.

• savvy88 on Nov 01, 2010 at 7:56 am

Quality average score for models sold in Malaysia :

http://www.motortrader.com.my/Cars/NewsHeader/Highlights/2010-JD-Power-Initial-Quality-Study.aspx

looks like Perodua still lead Proton

• ehemm.. of course you dont compare a Proton Savvy to any others… No1 will bother to know about it..

OTS… from what i see,

Proton Saga score the same as Perodua Myvi..
      I think this comparison between Proton and Perodua is good enough.
      since no other model you can direct challenge each other ady.

• research on Nov 01, 2010 at 4:20 pm

also because the number of import cars sold r smaller than local cars,…so comparison is not really that correct…

n who is gonna complain when he buys a 80k import vios and it has problems? he malu wanna report what…he will say the car is good oh..even though plastics inside is so cheapskate

• Lembap on Nov 03, 2010 at 8:54 am

Proton Exora is the best quality car for local brand.

• shaif on Nov 01, 2010 at 8:12 am

I feel sad for a someone who sit in the parliament, responsible to the DUN, but with this level of maturity and wiseness. The issues is not like marrying an artist and get away with it.
    If the MP don’t do their studies, get a more feedback from industrialist, and just listen rationally, I’m sure he will not downgrading himself.
    What to do, rakyat has choose him.

• Lotus DNA = Great superb handling
    Proton DNA = Power window failure..Fuel pump failure..sudden fire.. im pround

• Paul, from your review, seems like this Inspira is better than Lancer in several aspect. Is it safe to say, Inspira is better car all around compared to Lancer (which means better vaue for money)?

• S.Roma on Nov 01, 2010 at 9:57 am

MP Datuk Bung Moktar Radin blasting the national car company for not developing its own car, going as far as calling for Proton to be closed down for embarrassing the nation. Is that fair?

—————————————————————————————————————-

Disagree !

We have tried and failed. Thus, we are doing in another approach. Is it wrong?

He has his own agenda i thk, as usual, politician is all about money !

What i disagree is, the price is sky rocket for national car !

• Hate Bung on Nov 01, 2010 at 8:30 pm

He is dumb ass who condemns almost all living species on earth… He got into trouble and BN still keeps him what a shame …

• Chicharito on Nov 01, 2010 at 10:16 am

The rim look so so so hard to clean…the design make the finger hard to reach certain area…..

• rajawali on Nov 01, 2010 at 10:53 am

As long as DSZ & TM is at the driving seat P1 will go no where.
    Sort of driving around the roundabout. After 25 years now back at the starting point.
    Good luck P1.!! you’ll need it….lots of it !!!

• I never have a tendency toward purchasing a Proton in very near future BUT l simply can’t stand with your pathetic comment. Use fact not emotional, dude. Other marque also do he same thing, rebadge. That’s economic reason.

Having said that, RM250m is too astronomical for a rebadging exercise unlike P2 Myvi since the compact hatch really high volume model, so over RM200m investment is understandable.

• fasha on Nov 01, 2010 at 7:47 pm

and i assume you’re the best candidate to replace them? fat chance!

btw, i believe proton is moving in the right direction now.

• Need4SpeedUnderground on Nov 01, 2010 at 10:59 am

nice car …

• Goproton on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:05 am

those ‘smart’ ppl who always say ppl as basher you are a level high up basher…
    ppl telling truth n explaining it then you bash…wth

• termiziKgBaru on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:08 am

Kalo nak rebadge lagi baik ikut saja apa Perodua buat.
    Proton kini macam tak tentu arah kejap nak Renault kejap
    Emas dan CPS turbo. Macam rojak mamak saja.

Mana ada economics of scale sebab spare part pun lain-lain.

Rebadge saja Mitsu sebab Mitsu ada semua jenis model.
    biar electric , turbo. MPV Grandis.
    Beri sikit equit pada Mitsui – Gerenti untung !

• aduss on Nov 01, 2010 at 1:15 pm

proton rebadge tuk none core production car jer, pasaran yg de’man tak banyak setakat 1000unit sebulan.. nak buat baru tak cukup mguntungkan wat per,, tengok savvy and neo, sebulan baru 500 unit tu pun susah,, rugi lah mcm ni dari cos r&d dan production line termasuk vendor,,, faham kan kenaper proton rebadge ? mcm saga blm boleh cecah 7000 unit sebulan, peluh jantan keluar org shah alam, max production 2.. so tak per la proton buat baru,, masih untung walaupun harga saga ni murah.. lagi tinggi production oder lg murah kos productionnyer so ada la untung.. end..

• stephen on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:23 am

Looking forward to have Taxi version so everyone can feel how its like before buying one….well this is not surprise since Wira/ Waja/ Saga all have Taxi version

• MoFaz on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:00 pm

erm… maybe u can try police version?

• quattro on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:22 pm

hope PDRM BOLEH BELI INPIRA NIE BYK 2 SUPAYA SENANG NAK KEJAR MAT2 REMPIT YG RASA HEBAT SGT TU..

• putrajaya precint 6 on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:31 am

For once Bung Mokhtar has spoken out for the rakyat.
    Is this progress? More of regress and hitting a wall or a desperate move.
    If you don’t have the capabilities to produce a replacement Waja then be it.
    It makes P1 a bastard w/o a DNA.

• nabill on Nov 01, 2010 at 12:48 pm

he’s an idiot , so dont put the rakyat into the picture…we as consumers are smarter than alot of those smart asses up there..

• goproton on Nov 01, 2010 at 12:54 pm

they are actually leaving it aside though…they don’t wanna make a new waja now but they need a new waja…so comes out a new inspira as a temporary waja….maybe few years later there comes a revival of new waja(probably alot of upgrade from their knowledge in building the inspira[probably la is something im hoping])….but main thing is…pls proton….try your best to sell as many as you can…not just in malaysia…..so that by then you can really give a real price of a national car…
      currently still expensive for a national car(including perodua)….don’t bring out the issue of 10% sales tax la….other country no sales tax is it?they include everything but still cheaper….
      so….GO PROTON!& do come out with more models……when Hyundai/Kia was at your age of time…their car really suck in quality n performance(now is above average la…can’t say good if you drove any you’ll know)…but that time they already capable to produce many diff segment of car……i know you might be doing r&d for those models all these while but where’s the result?come show us….
      GO PROTON!

• MoFaz on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:27 am

what makes local car expensive is excise tax. imported cars have 75% excise, and local cars get 50% rebate for excise. which means, we still need to pay 37.5% excise. plus 10% sales tax, you pay almost 48% tax for local cars. without these taxes, you might get Persona at RM35k or Waja at RM40k only!

• kanno on Nov 01, 2010 at 1:03 pm

if other big companies do the rebadge, i wolud not care, because they sell
    million cars every year . but now proton resort to rebadge but how much
    did they sell every year?so now they cannot compete because of no volume to sell,
    higher cost of RnD an all the excuses..pity to rakyat..pay higher price for car because
    of proton..sigh. .

• my analysis on Nov 01, 2010 at 1:06 pm

When you look back proton history, it is nearly same as Hyundai, which both of them had also joint venture with Mitsubishi. However, their vision is very different initially. Hyundai want to build a people’s car. This is where you can see from their first in house production, Pony. Since then, Hyundai is moving forward until it became eighth largest automaker and the world’s fastest growing automaker. While, proton want to be bmw Asia. This is where every body knows their first in house production is Waja. But since that it’s market share was reduced to barely 30% by 2005 and in 2006, Proton’s sales dropped 30.4% from 166,118 in 2005 to 115,538 for the Malaysian market, with a later report indicating a 55% fall of sales to 962.3 million ringgit, its lowest in at least seven years. All of them are already a history. Now I see proton is doing a right thing came out a new saga and persona where everybody can own just like Hyundai. However, in long term p1 must find a partner just like renault-nissan alliance in order to compete with big players worldwide. It cannot always rebadge just like that…

• nocar on Nov 01, 2010 at 1:28 pm

to proton,

plz stop all the suffering that the rakyat face rite now…bcoz of u people need to pay higher price 4 outside car than the other countries. But yet the quality of proton still the same. Where the money goes?
    n the G still promoting to the rakyat to support malaysian made product..haha
    too many dirty politics in malaysia dats for sure

• Unforgiven on Nov 01, 2010 at 1:48 pm

I’m seeing Proton as a very sad story not just in M’sia but Globally…. very sad only….

MMC will be laughing at us because they are able to sell more Lancer and earn more money.
    The Jap may be earning more money by selling Inspira than the original Lancer in M’sia.

We are just a joke to them because we are willing to take their cars and sell it in a high price in M’sia.

It’s quite funny because at the end of the day, the rakyat is still paying so much for the tax…

• Sayang, my request/question for u :

1. I really want/interested to know wat is sad story about Proton that not just in Malaysia but globally? Can u write down more detail. Because we want to share information as it is a main purpose of forum and discussion.

2. Quote from ur statement :”The Jap MAYBE (ya…maybe. So are you sure?) earning more money”. Can u explain more detail about how they earn more money by selling Inspira?

3. Quote from ur statement.”We are joke to them because we are willing to take their car and sell it in a high price in Malaysia”. Err if im not mistaken, i think Proton sell it at almost RM30k cheaper than CBU Lancer (2.0 GT).

I eager to know because im learning. Not to make fun of you or others. I believe every person got their own opinion, view or perspective regarding this subject (i believe its about Proton name,not about Inspira at all).

My personal opinion.

Im no good or any better than u all about tax. Wat i do understand just a basic and simple method. I just know that every company got their own product and their own price + strategy. Decision is in our hand either to like it or not, to buy it or not. Some people will not satisfied and some other satisfied.

Just put politic view a side. We all now how dirty politic is. The only party that clean and good just a Tupperware party and birthday party.Jk jk…So discussion prone to off topic and endless. Now we are talking about Proton selling ‘improved’ Lancer at cheaper price. Not about tax or any serious calculation. Let just see this case in different perspective. As an example, MMC asked Proton to sell Lancer on behalf of them. Thats all :)

But i still wondering to those that always use ‘TAX’ point for Inspira price, i really want to know what is suitable price to sell this Japanese-engined + technology + well known + performance car? Seriously…i want to put this discussion back on track.

• Unforgiven on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:18 pm

You’ll need to think a little deeper, you’ll need to know the cost price for a Lancer, in a mass production environment, and you may even know the price with you have the AP on hand, which belongs to the AP holders.

The Jap earn more money because they get the volumes, and the Inspira cost is expensive because we need to take the car and change the bumper/badge, so we spent x amount of money into R&D, in order to earn back the money from R&D, we need to include it in the car price.

Don’t worry, you’ll learn one day… when you have the knowledge… and able to think wisely…

• “it made little financial sense to build a car in this segment from scratch, as the small volume won’t help it recoup the investment. It takes about RM600-700 million to do so, while a OEM collaboration (as Proton MD Datuk Syed Zainal prefers to call it over “rebadging”) takes up just RM250 million. The process also just took 17 months compared to a full two years”,

paul, don’t u think this is an afterthought??they should have think it earlier!!! pity to rakyat, for a local car they pay up to 9 years!! IMHO

• Dik Mie on Nov 01, 2010 at 2:34 pm

Mine ok jer… dont compare with 10 years ago punya model

• who care about rakyat?..proton?..mitsubishi??….proton fan boy always said..it about bussiness strategy! end of the story = PROFIT !..that what they really after.

Proton want profit
    Mitsubishi want profit

rakyat get 7-8-9 years loan with 4% interest rate + fast depreciate cars + god knows what problem come with the package

1 Malaysia..

• Tiadaid on Nov 01, 2010 at 8:38 pm

So? When Proton lose money bashers bash to no avail. Now want to make money also get bashed?

And your arguments are just baseless. Of course Proton cars depreciate fast, because there’s A LOT OF THEM IN THE MARKET! Supply and demand, more supply than demand the price goes down. Unlike Toyota & Honda, demand is higher than supply so they don’t depreciate as much. If Toyota & Honda sell a lot of cars like Proton do you think their value hold well? It’ll also depreciate fast!

Interest rates meanwhile are under the purview of the banks. Why no basher ever thought about blaming the banks for the high interest rates? They’re the ones who are to blame because they think Proton buyers are high risk defaulters. Proton doesn’t profit from high interest rates!

Don’t forget, Proton is not a welfare organization. It’s a business. You don’t like Proton losing money, then why don’t you like Proton earning profits?

• because they are regret they don’t have enough money to buy inspira, hahaha
        work harder even black man (yes nigga) can drive new shiny persona why not you (basher)

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Nov 01, 2010 at 4:41 pm

No spoiler..no fierce front face…Sporty and fast car with weird sport rims..Anyone told Proton designer..

• can buy 3rd party rims later on
      many choices available as inspira have 5 nuts
      wohooooo!

• Mahati on Nov 01, 2010 at 8:00 pm

I just dono why this car so cheap (even lot of money). I feel that it should be more expensive becoz its a mitsubishi engine. If its 95000 then all the other car company sure close down. Proton is so stupid. They should increase the price to at least 110000 so that they can play fair game with other car company. I suspect the engine print mitsubishi but technologi copy china cars.

I don want to buy this car becoz waste a lot of money. RM95000 can buy 9 use kancil. I can buy 9 cars who so stupid one to buy one car only???

• That’s silly logic, bro. Can you really maintain 9 cars? Why would you want 9 cars anyway? One each for your cat?

• Autocrat on Nov 02, 2010 at 11:58 am

True…If you have the cash why settle for something smaller and used. This is rather pointless.

• merc owner can buy 30 used kancil
      but they are not stupid, are they?

• No..Miscalculation. Still not a wise decision. U know how much wheelbarrow (kereta sorong) u can buy rather than u buy 9 used kancil? So better u buy wheelbarrow. Oppss no. I miscalculate it again…better u buy bicycle. Can get more…Hehe u just kidding rite? :)

• epalhead on Nov 01, 2010 at 9:15 pm

Paul,

People here are so in love with Proton…..They’re just too shy to admit..

• Shy? Why? I also love Proton car. The handling is good and the maintenance cost fit my budget. If i can afford a bigger car (with different manufacturer) also,i will love it. Seriosuly i do love anything that i buy with my own hard-earned money. If u love any car brand, i got no prob also and do be shy to admit. Coz it urs money rite? :)

• ctawyong on Nov 01, 2010 at 9:42 pm

proton should focus on making one good car, instead of wasting all the money on R&D at many kind of different but same car, why persona, waja, gen-2, satria, and now inspira?? should kept all the reserach money and use it to R&D the best C-segment car?? why cant they follow others foreigner company like the germans, or the japanese even the korean??

• Erm, the Germans, Japanese and Koreans do cross-platform work as well. No company develops one car to fit one segment. That’s what we call a waste of money.

If you can make one good car that you can transform to multiple segments, you’re making money that you can put towards making the next generation. It’s a good thing that you don’t run any car company because guarantee it would be bankrupt already. Lol.

• I wish Proton would start with the Emas styling already. Get rid of this Mistu rebadge stuff and just be original.

• 15-man team. 1 working, 14 lepaking.

• izack04 on Nov 02, 2010 at 11:43 am

If anyone want to change their inspira to Evolution10, thats the owner problem not proton….the cars owner evo-wannabe….So why proton to be blame?

• Lanz Shazam on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:21 pm

Dear Paul,
    From my observation, Everybody love Proton, because for every post about Proton, sure comments pouring like rain, see, only 2 days, 400++ comments in already. Those people who like, will give good comment, those who don’t like, sure shoot like nobody’s business but deep in their heart, still love Proton. I wonder why?

• Its just the figure game that they wish to portrait. The people are not going to see what is the actual cost for development process nor the final decision maker in the cabinet would tells us that the decision was for the best interest of the nation or the Car manufacturer.

First with the grant, then with development subsidies, now tells the whole nation people that it is viable to do it this way for the company, sincerely hope that Proton does not need anymore funding from the federal.

Loyalty paid to Mitsubishi per car will not be any cheaper. Mitsubishi continue collect loyalty for another 10 years until Proton decided to kill this model and the instant profit made by Mitsubishi per year is multiple fold then they sell their CBU Lancers here from now on.

We have no business sense, but why build this car?
    Just stick to Persona replacement and get the best profit out of it, can’t they?

• Just been informed by Proton salesman ,(informed by his management dept),that suspensions is all done by Proton,which is true,and the engine is Myvec technology only which not 100%Mits. engine,the Japs simply won’t allow full transfer of tech, so we get some Campros with Myvec tech……can this be true?

• apooo samy on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:11 pm

bro all 1.8 to 2.0 mivec is same like what japan get…ecu oso same….the only different proton tweak the suspension and handling..put abit LOTUS DNA….mean that proton inspira handling much better than ori mitsui… if mitsui allow proton to tweak the ECU and chasis maybe much better…

• apooo samy on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:22 pm

wait until proton launch inspira R3 version from 1.8 manual engine….performance hi-cam, stroke to 2.0cc, bigger TBO, ReChip Ecu, R3 extractor and exhaust setup, racing clutch, bigger injector, upgrade fuel pump, increase compression, forged piston, racing bearing, PnP, Inpira R3 bodykit (sure better than lancer GT design), 18inc lighweight rims, Bride Cuga Ori seat, Momo stereng (airbag version), AP Racing brake and etc

with this setup…maybe this car can produce minimum 180-220hp..and some more NA..if charged dunno how high can go…..

• bonceng on Nov 03, 2010 at 3:02 pm

add some more …. the price will hike up to $200K..still proton supporters said “wah so cheap”..

• never heard that before ,you are only dreaming , the truth is proton makes value for money cars

• apooo samy on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:10 pm

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_U6NKeSKR2-k/TMo5pisln6I/AAAAAAAAAyY/gmUBXPE8K5w/s400/Inspira-X.jpg

-hope inspira R3 and Inspira R3 X will lauch soon….

• Bbingbong on Nov 06, 2010 at 10:43 am

what a stupid..believe fully what SA says…what u think SA better than proton engineer…its 100% mivec from mitsu..

• gaban on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:04 pm

tunggu la perasmiannya….test drive dulu…kalu puas hati,beli jika mampu..kalu tak puas hati,jangan beli…yg penting fuel comsuption…jimat minyak….minyak skarang mahal lo…

• What to complain when u can buy overseas technology car at cheap price?
    So, will u buy a Prtoton car if it is a rebadge BMW latest 3 series car at more cheaper price? Or will u still complain?

• for me it’s becoz of the logo n brand ‘proton’.that’s y some pple say it’s not s good s imported cars. but i think pple will buy the kelisa if the logo n brand is ‘mini cooper’/’porche’ right? eventough the size n looks is similar with our perodua car,but bcoz of the logo n brand, no one will comment about it. the case is same like our inspira..pple will keep comment on this car eventough the engine n the body is taken frm mitsubishi..but it’sbecause of the brnd ‘PROTON’.please laaaa…. support our malaysian car. aaiiyyooo nak apa lagi…for me, make a smart choice…:)

• It is so annoying that, you still find Malaysian thinking that local technology is no better than overseas.

How much would be the production cost per car? What would be the base selling price after add in Profit, 5 Yrs Warranty and Sales Agent Fees? That will automatically refer back to at what price you think it is cheap. What makes one think that the local talents has no clue of what to do with theirs’ Proton dream project?

RM1.20 a piece of tasteless soggy over night roti canai is not cheap. RM1.40 for a piece for tasty roti canai in a hotel and serve with gold plate is value for money. A RM12 set meal of sushi filled with “sambal ikan bilis” from hawker stall is not tempting, a well prepared nasi lemak in well known restaurant at RM13.00 is still tempting. Get it?

Get a baseline Persona, and soup it up with R3 bits and other extras and sell it below 55K. Prove me wrong, if it can’t sell.

• HondaTop on Nov 07, 2010 at 3:25 pm

It is so annoying if you are still dreaming of what Proton can do. Wait for next 20 years ( if it is still there) and I bet yaou are still driving a replica Mitsubishi. Continue to dream.

• proton can be one of the best car manufacturers in the world, go proton!!

• nothing wrong with the car, nothing wrong rebadge
    but where is the rm 250m going ?
    spend anywhere? or in somebody pocket?
    depend on all the smart reader ???

• MoFaz on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:13 pm

talk is cheap.. everybody can talk and being cocky. but can you do it?
      try develop a car with 250mil, complete with production line, machines, and robots to produce the car…. if you can, i salute you bro!

• why proton must hav so many car to sell…….try to be concentrate like OTHERS car makers just like honda as an example.they have city, civic n accord which are their major sales……..faham tak bro?

why proton watse so many money den only can come out with low quality car?
        bear in mind proton hav so many production line …………..y they can’t just fully utilize the facility ? if they can i, wil salute proton but not you ,bro :)

• Faisal Haroon Uppal on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:51 pm

Very much “disappointment” to see “Malaysian assembled Lancer 2010” in the news. Proton celebrating 25th anniversary, started from Mitsubishi Lancer. In 2004 The Gen2 uses a platform which has been extensively developed “in-house” by Proton and their partner Lotus. After 3 years Persona was very big hit from “in-house” R&D. and there must be a world record that launching of New-Saga was possible in 2008 after only 5 months of Persona. it was really a “Mega Hit”. Last year launched Exora MPV, the development of this MPV started from scratch and it is the first Malaysian-designed MPV.
    Now in 2010, Proton introducing 2007 Lancer’s shape once again, already on the roads 4 years. (Same year, when Persona was launched)
    Why Proton need to make Lancer again after 25 years? Where is R&D work spreaded over 25 years, which gave you three new “Home produced” hit products?

• MoFaz on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:09 pm

my friend, think about business. the thing about inspira is, it’s not only targeting current proton owners who might upgrade their cars due to increasing income or salary.

Waja is rm66k, Perdana is rm100k. the gap is too wide and Proton has nothing to offer for the segment in between of Waja and Perdana. Currently, less than 1000 people buy Waja and Perdana every month, but about 7000 people buy Vios and City. Proton already realise this more than 2 years ago and they quickly looking for partner and model to rebadge. otherwise, they will lose a great potential from this segment.

Inspira is not meant to be ‘the best selling’ model for Proton. It’s just a gap-filler. Or we could say that Proton is trying to get back the customers by offering more models, and with better features than its competitors.

• Faisal Haroon Uppal on Nov 19, 2010 at 5:37 pm

1985 Proton (based on Mitsubishi Lancer, model 1983, almost 3 years old)

25 years (Proton spent millions of RM. on R&D.)

2010 Proton (based on Mitsubishi Lancer, model 2007, almost 4 years old)

Hyundai cars also based on Mitsubishi in 1980s ,,
        but now……
        Hyundai and Proton ????

• Mr Chow Chee Die on Nov 04, 2010 at 3:30 pm

today I smart guy. I don’t buy this stupid Proton car. Stupid malaysians buy Proton cars. I’m very smart guy one.

• aloya on Nov 04, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Hahaa Ah Beng! Just came from Jinjang issit? Smart ass like deserved beca oni :ppp

• Mat Tongkat on Nov 07, 2010 at 4:34 pm

haha, hey tok tongkat, from kampung baru ar? beca better than use tongkat walking le

• Apa nama ini,Lancer GT in Langkawi RM 72K,Inspira 2.0 in Langkawi RM 85K?? Please continue forever to support apa nama proton…….

• Elvis on Nov 06, 2010 at 1:12 pm

To all Proton hardcore who say that Proton must produce its own car especially to MP Bung who embrasses Sabahans as a whole, i say f**k you guys! Nothing wrong with going rebadge. You guys think easy ka to copy Mitshubishi Lancer? You should be proud what? Producing cars is not cheap, doing R&D also not cheap, actually selling your own cars is damn hard. To MP Bung, please lah, put your stupid comments in mamak shops instead of the Dewan Rakyat, we all know your dirty secret in PUBLIC. if you think your are supporter of Proton, you buy every unsold Tiara, Savvy etc. Still got many stocks rotting in Proton warehouse!

• zimba on Nov 06, 2010 at 7:13 pm

where can i buy unsold Proton Tiara? what is the price?

• HondaTop on Nov 07, 2010 at 3:27 pm

Proton use what to produce it own ca ?? With Kampro engine that is 20 yers behind the technology, you do nothing bang !

• you never read don’t you? came here just to bash, who paid you?

• Misbun on Nov 11, 2010 at 9:50 pm

Kalau you tak suka jangan lah baca. Siapa yang bayar you utk melindungi Proton.

• Potongtio on Nov 11, 2010 at 10:04 pm

I am wondering who pay you to do marketing for Kampung engine. Dont simply bash if you dont like the comment.

• Car lover on Nov 06, 2010 at 11:23 pm

Inspira is a nice car.

• TrueOrginal on Nov 07, 2010 at 3:29 pm

Yes u are right. only with the Mitsubishi logo at it.

• Salamandar on Nov 07, 2010 at 7:29 pm

Haters will always hate. I pity you again :(

• Salahmana on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:28 pm

Pity the guy who is driving non original car with orginal logo and assume he is not pity

• can anyone comment about proton ispira and kia forte? which one i should buy…. which one more worth….the engine of proton ispira is from mitsubitsi…how about the body? is our own proton make?

• HOw much for 1 unit proton INspira???/

• Funny… one day we will see inspira side by side Lancer… and looks abviously the same. Why argue? Why put harsh words to Proton? If you affort, get the Lancer, if not, get Inspira… Convert to Lancer with your extra saving… (what Malaysian always did). I heard that the Inspira’s Enjine MIVEC and the interior is as UK spec. Worth of buying I guess… Hey Lancer owners… don’t worry… soon the caldina owner will join you after all… New Ixora with turbo is planning its birth… Its back design just like Caldina… (Good source telling me that)… :) By the way… We are Malaysian… ans I love my country… Do you???

• raiden on Jan 23, 2011 at 2:45 pm

New ‘Ixora” design like caldina?In ur dream….One more thing is,that was Caldina wannabe,:)

• AlvinTHV on Nov 08, 2010 at 3:09 pm

I saw the car oledi at the traler last week. Really satu biji with the LANCAR. But, I don like the RIM. Anyway. Good Luck Proton

• Yeah, saw the car on a trailer in Kuching as well a few days back.

• imbcsab on Nov 08, 2010 at 11:13 pm

Rebadging took 17 months versus 24 months by working solo?
    And rebadging cost RM250 million versus RM600-700 million?
    Something fishy here.

• i think on Nov 09, 2010 at 4:40 pm

17 months, think halted/paused due to pursuing VW option which would make Lancer rebadge less attractive. No comment on the cost.

• Ivan Tai on Nov 10, 2010 at 11:17 am

How is the price of Proton Inspira? thanks

• JimBales on Nov 12, 2010 at 3:38 pm

RM80k for 1.8 manual, RM87k for 1.8 CVT & RM94k for 2.0 CVT

• HSP racing on Nov 10, 2010 at 1:17 pm

Such a great look and great engine from Mitsubishi. But there is something in my mind.
    This inspira is much cheaper than lancer. So the spare parts later made by mitsubishi or proton?
    I hope not proton because I really fed up with proton parts. Own waja and perdana, so many problems I have met.

• …even tough proton OEM BMW and put the proton badge and sell for 50k i will still not buy..coz still a proton car…must let proton die then we will have the reborn of the car industry in Malaysia!! Die Proton!

• RashidOneM on Nov 11, 2010 at 9:57 pm

Proton being Proton. After many years of R&D, today we see the Lancer is back in town with Proton badge on it. The most shameful thing to see soon is all Mitsubishi Lancer & EVO on the road with Proton steering. You will see all Mitsubishi Lancer driver send their car to Eon service.

• proton is ok la. small company with small capital.
    what do u expect guys. haha. u guys talking about export,expending,bla bla bla.
    .what the hack. open your own company la. name it = anti protons car. haha.
    engine mivec 4B11 tu . pakai standalone ecu kasi bukak mivec tu. power tu.
    forged internal parts, pasang turbo. jadi 4B11T kot . bleh dapat 270 hp tu.
    evo 10 car under 120k after modification,what the hack.good deal for money.
    but every one have their own opinion. if we do not support our own car,
    how the hell do u expect people for other country to buy our car.dumb dumb.
    dont make sense at all.

• JimBales on Nov 12, 2010 at 3:33 pm

Berapa saiz rim & tyre Inspira ye? Puas cari kat internet, tak dapat info. Takde time lak nak pegi showroom. Sape penah tanya bagi tau la…

• ini berita yang menggemparan!!!
    td aku tesermpak ngan lancer wane hitam.
    tpi yg besnye lancer 2 pkai lambang proton wo..
    hahahaha…
    ni cite btol.
    bukan cobaan..

• Nusan on Dec 24, 2010 at 3:00 am

I got myself a 1.8E, plum red =) Like Paul said, the ride is steady, less bumpy.. Im happy, very happy. But, day 1 – Bubbles on my front right tyre. Blame Continental for that. Got my replacement tyre after almost 100km drive.. Ampang-PJ-Sg Besi. They got no stock in PJ =(

Day 2, found out my front hood cannot be opened! 1st time opened was during the salesman briefing, 2nd time was at tyre shop (guys there wanted to see inside, I allowed it).. third time infront of my parents, it failed =). It was however repaired on my 1st service.

Day 2 or 3, I just noticed the car auto central lock is not working at 30km/h (should be working based on salesman briefing). I had to manual lock. My wife is so paranoid about thugs, kidnappers and so.. AUTO LOCK IS A MUST to her. Sadly, it is still not repaired during my 1st service eventho details of problem were noted earlier. HARIMA Service, Kota Bharu didnt do a good job. They did wash my very dirty car anyway =)

Btw, EON service is not well prepared to handle Inspira. The had to send my car to main branch, wasted my holiday time in Kelantan. And they did reset my next service km, but wrongly to 18400km, which is supposed to be 10000km. Luckily the manual said it can be adjusted at any authorized Proton service.

Back to Kedah, I reach Djen Proton Service, Bandar Darul Aman. They sort of said my car dont have that feature. Again, they still ask me to consult main branch in Jln Gangsa, Alor Setar. I think tomorrow i got free time to do so.

Thats my experience with my Inspira 1.8E, plum red. Other than above, I trully enjoy this car.

• Dont Ask My Name on Jan 06, 2011 at 9:36 am

Proton’s management reiterated that it made little financial sense to build a car in this segment from scratch, as the small volume won’t help it recoup the investment. It takes about RM600-700 million to do so, while a OEM collaboration (as Proton MD Datuk Syed Zainal prefers to call it over “rebadging”) takes up just RM250 million

BULL***T !!! PROTON said they dont have the money to develope a new car..but the have THE MONEY to buy RENAULT F1 team share stake over a 2 figure milion pound..

WTF..!!

• raiden on Jan 23, 2011 at 2:03 pm

SAY NO TO REBADGE!
    Like P1 supporter always say to P2.

• Raymond on Aug 21, 2011 at 11:08 pm

can anyone tell me proton inspira is segment b or c ???

• botol on Oct 07, 2011 at 10:25 am

inspira is the worst ever product from malaysia! i will sell back my inspira as soon as possible. rattling sound everywhere, adsorber s**k . do u expect people who r buying their product will accept non-standard quality and need spend non-productive time to your SC. let think.

• steam_man on Nov 21, 2011 at 9:50 pm

308thp

at rm118000 also dashboard rattle.

if you do not have a passion to get your car fixed, dont buy any car.

even toyota will fail. just send back to SC to get it done

• proton lover on Jul 05, 2013 at 10:17 pm

despite all the reviews, this car is heavy to drive, hard to park compared to other cars. I think it is the hydraulic steerling. Sometimes I wonder if being heavy is good feedback and being light is lack of feedback as many times described in reviews

• proton lover on Jul 05, 2013 at 10:20 pm

definitely no rattling unless one never owns it and comment based on heresay. However suspension is on the firm side