Revised Volkswagen Eos breaks cover in LA

Vw eos 1

As scheduled, Volkswagen has lifted the veil on its revised Eos coupé cabriolet at the LA Auto Show. The facelift, featuring a wide range of technical and visual enhancements, will begin selling in Europe from mid-January and in the US from the end of March 2011.

The exterior design revisions – a reprofiled bonnet, new grille (complete with chrome highlights), headlamps with LED running lights and reworked bumper with new airdams and fog lights in front and new tail lamps at the rear – brings the Eos into line with the latest iteration of VW’s design language as seen applied to the new Polo, Passat and Sharan.

vw eos 2

A range of powertrains abound, including a 1.4 litre TSI with 122 or 160 PS, a 210 PS 2.0 litre TSI unit as well as 140 PS 2.0 litre TDI engine. BlueMotion Technology variants will also be available featuring Stop/Start and battery regeneration systems.

As previously, the facelift features an advanced five-piece folding roof with an integrated tilt sliding glass sunroof that takes 25 seconds to actuate fully, though the difference from before is that going from a closed coupé to an open cabriolet can now be carried out remotely via the key fob, that is if the car is specified with Keyless Entry. Park Assist will also be available for the first time on the Eos.

vw eos 3

Inside, new trim finishes enhance the interior of the Eos, and highlights include a leather multi-function steering wheel, an eight-speaker CD stereo system and sports seats. Also available as an option is ‘cool leather,’ which reflects the sun’s rays to prevent it heating up as conventional leather does.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1709]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Is it me or does this look a bit boring?

• I Want 1 !!! :D on Nov 19, 2010 at 7:09 am

Wow !!! Super cool….better tha the old oddball looking Eos….Nice work !! :D

• wanfumi on Nov 19, 2010 at 7:09 am

90’s car design

• droll on Nov 19, 2010 at 7:48 am

ewwwwwwwww…….am i the only one who thinks the current VW family look only works well on boxy, square lines like the polo and polo gti? it even looks weird on the Mk6 Golf GTI.

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 19, 2010 at 7:55 am

I dont really like this new design..just straight line.and no curve..
    I prefer the old one..

• 908HY4 on Nov 19, 2010 at 8:48 am

which looks better? this or a 308CC?

• comrade on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:01 am

same headlamp and rear lights with golf…hmmm

• BeemerFreak on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:10 am

They should have took the head lamp from scirocco. that looks edgier. This car look a bit….blur. Maybe vw wants to be their old self again. creating cars that looking among the worse but drives among the best

• The old ones looked better, the headlamps are better. This one looks old and boring

• Holly F on Nov 19, 2010 at 11:50 am

Yea, agree with what others have mentioned, the exterior is boring and outdated.

• Looks like 308cc for me. The previous leaked spyshots on facelift Eos look so much better than this one, not to mention the projectors are missing as well.

• NotSoDeep on Nov 19, 2010 at 1:24 pm

Boring!

And what does VW’s new design language mean for the Passat CC??

• Gajen on Nov 19, 2010 at 1:51 pm

vw shouldnt have put the horizontal lines at the grill,its oldschool…

• Roy Ho on Nov 19, 2010 at 2:47 pm

This definitely looks boring indeed. However, we might grow to like it as time goes. I had the same problem with the GTI Mk6. It looked dull initially but as time goes, I fell in love with the design and now I feel it looks much better than Mk5. Definitely not love at first sight!

• Adrian on Nov 19, 2010 at 3:33 pm

Thats what happened to me. Initially kept the Mk5 but after a few months of looking at the Mk6, it grew on me… So now I’m having the 6…

• firdausprudential on Nov 19, 2010 at 4:00 pm

ugly

• kazos on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:49 pm

recycle from the previous model… tak de budget la tu… malu la sikit VW… model dr asia lagi more “fluidic & gorgeous”

• kazos on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:52 pm

para designer VW dah kering idea… ha…ha… ramai lg anak2 muda germany yg berkebolehan. Beri peluang kpd mereka

• frossonice on Nov 19, 2010 at 10:36 pm

Well, I did complained about the VW’s design language becoming boring with each new model coming and I got bashed because of it.

:)

• Neat and tidy. Simple. But boring eh…

• polo +golf gti=eos

eos=coool