MINI One 31 unit limited edition – RM139,888!

The 31 unit limited edition MINI One set to be launched this month will also be the most affordable brand new MINI ever, as MINI Malaysia’s Facebook Page has revealed that the price for the MINI One will be RM139,888.

It’s quite a barebones MINI though – the 1.6 litre engine makes just 98 horsepower and 153Nm of torque, a detuned version of the 1.6 litre engine in the Cooper. Only two colours will be available – Chilli Red and Pepper White. Even the wheels are the most basic steel wheel design.

Word is that as of today, 21 of the 31 units have already been booked, and there are only 10 units left for grabs!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• teelim on Aug 18, 2011 at 4:10 pm

meh!

want to get a car that looks good… but in the end, it does not look good enough (not exactly cheap and only 98hp). pass

• alpha0201 on Aug 18, 2011 at 4:40 pm

i think this is the first time I’ve heard a lesser equipped model being a limited edition. Usually a bespoke model get that treatment.

• I pick the Polo GTI over this sissy!

• ttooyyoottt on Aug 19, 2011 at 7:10 am

lol,, better Peugeot 308T lah..

• tiadaid on Aug 19, 2011 at 3:04 pm

I agree. I don’t see how anyone could buy the MINI One when they can spend less getting a 308 Turbo whose engine’s is the same engine in the Cooper S & is bigger and more practical to boot.

Oh wait, I forgot, Malaysians aren’t really rational, but are brand worshippers!

• Is there a reason why MINI Malaysia is bringing only 31 of the MINI One here? It is sold as a basic model else where in countless number, so why only 31 here and not sell it like a normal car?

• Might as well get a Vw polo

• joker on Aug 18, 2011 at 5:31 pm

98hp?
    about the same hp as the 1.3 saga. noob mini, overpriced~

• Really? Only cost this much? on Aug 18, 2011 at 6:26 pm

Someone needs to give Auto Bavaria the directions to the nearest bank, so they can go rob it.

A bare bone model “only” cost this much?

The only reason they are limited is because there are limited number of fools that were born not just yesterday but last night.

• Simon Templer@ Seman Tempe on Aug 19, 2011 at 11:13 am

It would be exciting if AB could line up the 31 celebrity buyers at Econsave or Mydin for people to see how these desperate jokers look like. They wld look much respectable in a cheaper & equally capable Kelisa instead.

• khairil on Aug 18, 2011 at 8:04 pm

why only 31 unit? i remember paul mention something about national day in the last post.

• Paris Milton on Aug 18, 2011 at 8:23 pm

No thanks! with that amount of money i’ll buy something else.

• Maye this release is done as a prelim attack on the release of VW Polo Gti in Malaysia end of this month..price about the same

• polo gti is 160hp…7-speed DSG…can’t compare….Mini is afterall, a lifestyle ride…those tat drool mini will still get One ( no pun intended ) no mattter how….and now it’s so called even more ‘affordable’ at 139k….i’d say all 31 units wud b sold out this instant….

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Aug 18, 2011 at 9:09 pm

whoever bough this car is a total twat

• Polo viva on Aug 18, 2011 at 11:10 pm

Again, typical malaysians made complains more… R u guys complaining so much afford to buy or nOt… Useless…

• teelim on Aug 19, 2011 at 12:49 am

*facepalm* its only RM140k, plenty of ppl can afford it (its cheaper than a Camry/Accord/Sonata, and there are SO many of those on the road). Just that hardly any thinks that its worth it.

• Classicminiftw on Aug 19, 2011 at 3:07 am

At this price, its truly the idiot’s mini. I’d feel sorry for anyone who is seen driving this.

• Revolvolution X on Aug 19, 2011 at 8:21 am

Get the JCW package for this and voila, it’s still cheaper than a cooper S! Macam beli lancer mod to Evo…haha rich ah beng car….

• Roffle on Aug 19, 2011 at 8:02 am

Meh I will take Ford Fiesta, Mini Cooper so overrated and cramp inside.

Fiesta most pleasure in the eyes and give an excitement on driving.

• Apalalu on Aug 19, 2011 at 8:16 am

They should price it at RM31,857. Then choose 31 lucky to be owners that can afford to
    purchase it.

• Haha… Here our car is over price. but this mini is call over-over price.

• Jason Yong on Aug 24, 2011 at 8:37 pm

Some companies just never learn … you make your customers look desperate … going after one another … begging for your limited promotions … for their amusement ???

… very UN-dignified … this car buying experience is …

the likelihood of me ever buying a Mini … and or encouraging my friends and relatives on buying one … is … ZERO