Proton P3-21A is the big ticket item at Power of 1

There’s certainly plenty on offer at Proton’s Power of 1 showcase, which began its run at the Bukit Jalil National Stadium today, as our visit to the event earlier showed. The brand’s entire portfolio is on call at the exhibition, which runs until Sunday from 10 am to 10 pm daily. Admission to the event is free.

Visitors can expect to catch everything Proton -and Lotus – under one roof, from its entire model line-up and motorsports-related activities to a multitude of technology and engineering displays. The highlight is of course the appearance of the upcoming P3-21A sedan, which will be seen in action daily throughout the duration of the showcase, sparring with a Persona on the autocross track section at the event.

The car was officially “soft launched” today, and bookings are open for it at all Proton showrooms nationwide, with a booking fee of RM500. The indicative pricing was also announced for the car, being around RM62,000 for the base model, up to RM75,000 for the top-of-the-range variant.

You can of course book the car at the Power of 1 event, which puts you in the running for a raffle in which the prize is a Lotus F1 Team I-Race experience for two in Spain – the three-day stint will see you having the chance to be an F1 driver for a day, training and all.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• It is one of their marketing strategies.

• Aroma on Mar 14, 2012 at 10:17 pm

Who dare to bet with me this car cannot get more 1000 monthly sales three months later in the coming July August and September ?

• Arowana on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:21 am

I bet it can get up to 2000 in monthly sales throughout the year….

• sape ntah on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:13 am

im betting at least in this year this p3-21a sales would get 3k units at least for a month in 2012 :D

• my goodness, I can’t believe this is assembled locally! the prices aren’t exactly cheap, either proton is overcharging or the devaluation of our ringgit is a lot more than what we have expected

this is just horrible, in both cases – don’t you guys think so?

• Nakal on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:00 am

i think..you are just so poor

• laluan sehala on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:28 am

its devaluation of the ringgit. not just cars are overpriced. everything else is too. soon we’ll need a few grand to buy a t-shirt!

• Potong needs to recover their RM84M loss.

• erwinkarim on Mar 14, 2012 at 10:54 pm

and let the proton bashing session begins!!!

• haven’t been to the Power of 1 showcase yet but how does this compare with the 2008’s Proton Technology Week?

• soundsfishy on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:56 pm

What with the heavy taping?? U ask people to come n see ur car but in front of them u r hiding. Dont b foolish lah

• Exactly rite? Anyway it reminds me of BMW’s tapping, except they do it with much less tapes and more creatively placed tapes.

• Sparta on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:16 am

Those who still trust Proton are blind.

• engku2 on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:46 pm

whatever!!!!… my money .. not ur money….

• c’mon man. who else gonna support our products and brands? u guys like to bash our brand,and praise the others like it is very perfect. how proton gonna compete with others if u guys keep bashing and bashing? c’mon laa people. u tak suka u keluar. try first then comment laa.

• RedBeanBun on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:39 am

Can they have a bigger rim?

• powder1 on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:14 am

with this car at that price range, means inspira will be phased out soon?

• Is this the real “Asia’s answer to BMW”?

• Medic on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:58 am

Why is the lattest proton car named after a fax machine?

• Sparta on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:52 pm

Proton always encourage the culture of slapping own face. They create many product but of the same product eventually they like Pasar Malam seller offering various type of dish but all with the same purpose to make money only irregardless whether it will hurt one or two of the same product.

• botol on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:22 pm

cantik kereta ni..
    terbaik la Proton..
    Tahniah ..

nak kene pegi booking ni satu..
    :-)

• QUATTRO on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:30 pm

Best!!!

• Jason Wee on Mar 15, 2012 at 3:03 pm

Can somebody please let me know if they are offering any discounts for proton personaat this Proton’s Power of 1 showcase? My mum is thinking of buying one. Thank you very much.

• The Common One on Mar 16, 2012 at 12:21 am

You go into Proton review, you will get Proton Bashers.
    You go into Kia review, you will get Kia Bashers.
    You go into Hyundai review, you will get Hyundai Bashers.
    You go into Toyota review, you will get Toyota Bashers.
    You go into Honda review, you will get Honda Bashers.

Why do people still buy a New studio apartment for 500 Sq Feet even though it is priced at RM 350,000.00 in Damansara when they can get a new double storey 1,800 sq feet at RM 400,000.00 in Cheras.

So who is right and who is wrong. If you can tell me the answer then you are god. Personally i think is a matter of personal preference. I believe all cars has it’s flaw and strength. Proton in the past were haunted by the stereotypes of bad quality should be given a chance for them to redeem them self with this new car. This car has not even on the road and yet we have so many bashers.

Take for example Kia in the previous years and now. I previously own a Kia Spectra and the quality is somewhat bad(Really bad) and this had deter me from purchasing any Korean cars again until last month i have decided to take the leap of faith with this New Kia Forte (1.6 SX) and I was totally blown away. I could not somehow believe that im actually driving a Korean Car. The feel of the car is different and it has significantly improved so much that i thought i was driving a Conti Car. Despite bashers giving comment that “It Sucks” and “Bad Resale Value “, i have prove them wrong. There may be uncertain issues with the Resale value but it definitely does not “Sucks” =)

That is how i personally felt despite that car was still not perfect (Some issues with alignment, etc). Disregarding the resale value and other factor i think it is the driving experience that matters. Im still a proud and happy owner of the Kia Forte =)

Nevertheless my point is that i think we should test drive this car first before we comment. If rumors hold true that the feel and quality has improved, im more than eager to test drive this new proton so that i could judge for myself whether it is a good car or otherwise.

Just my 2 cents =)

• hasswong on Jul 02, 2012 at 4:16 pm

plz….i bought my savvy pd 2008..masa offer buy back proton saga @ rm5000.00. thought value for money such irresistible offer from national car maker! after 4 yrs on teh road…problem gear(amt)..worst no warranty! xpe bayar rm960.00…but thank god a good samaritan (service consultant) wrote up a working a paper n proton ganti free….2 months later the same problem encountered!..sekarang masih dlm workshop technician trying to figure out the problems…tak le masuk gear, bila boleh masuk “D” tekan minyak broooommmm tp x bergerak! a foreigner bg tau his savvy tersadai di workshop bcoz x mampu nk repair the gear box-rm16000.00?????!!!! ni nak trade in semua car company x dak ambik…proton nk ambik balik at rm5k only! hutang di finance masih rm19000.00!!! ape nk buat??? plz laa proton kalau nk bautm keta canggih2 make sure ada teknisyen yg boleh repair2…nii menyusahkan rakyat.