Proton P3-21A bookings open at indicative RM62k to RM75k

Proton managing director Datuk Seri Syed Zainal announced that the Proton P3-21A has been officially “soft launched” today, which means bookings are now open at all Proton showrooms, with a booking fee of RM500. Indicative pricing for the car is about RM62k for the base model up to RM75k for the high-spec model.

It was also announced that if you book your car today at the Power of 1 event at Bukit Jalil, you’ll be entered into a raffle which wins you a trip to Spain. More details on this later.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• racing jebon on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:44 am

awesome, hope the powerwindow is working well , especially the handbrake. 99% percent of malaysian actually use handbrake drift to park…(according to proton survey) that is why savvy is so successful.

• eims @ gold on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:02 pm

Dont worry coz proton gave lifetime power window warranty.

• Vader on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:17 pm

lifetime warranty and quality is different.. and the warranty is t&c.

• Proton is stupid rite if give lifetime warranty with low quality or rite…only stupid company do that…funny la comment u vader.

• Vader on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:43 am

u r the funny one… lol
            relax trooper… dont be too sensitive, could u tell me which words or sentence in my comment saying that proton is stupid?

• no company got balls to give lifetime warranty if its low quality parts. power window problem is thing of the past..though i still have to face it in my Waja.

• Arzaq on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:50 pm

power window problem in Proton already be a history
      last time my dad’s waja after 2 years bought new, all 4 power windows malfunction

then at 2006 my mum bought a neo, till now both left and right power windows still working

my relatives at Johor mostly use the BLM never encounter with power windows anymore, got one using the waja cps, till today still okay

So yeah, the power windows problem is already become history

• NAR2645 on Mar 29, 2012 at 7:52 pm

How can you jump to conclusion that the power window problem is already history just by a few cases of “lucky” proton owners?

You have to base on a wider population in order to arrive at a more scientific and concrete conclusion.

In other words, it has to be statistical proven, and it is insufficient just by quoting a few favourable cases.

• thelonely on Mar 30, 2012 at 9:15 am

irony considering even in paultan.org, the surfers are just a fraction of total population of malaysia. well can’t disagree with you though. the power window problem was really alarming back then.

• n which current stats prove its still problematic??

• imunsureabtproton on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:47 am

75k with paddle shiftersand 7 speed??? I wonder it’s quality!

• xiper on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:56 am

lol it is suppose to be that price or even lower with these specs…

• eims @ gold on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:04 pm

inspira already using paddle shifter. no issue untill now

• if they put price 100k u blame..75K olso u blame..so..u want what price to satisfy u?

• Arzaq on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:13 pm

Virtual 7 speed because as I know this car using CVT transmission
      and btw the paddle shifter tilt with the steering as well, not like other car model the paddle shifter stay straight while the steering already turn 90 degree

• hekelehhhh…bg murah bnyk soal plak!

• Justice on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:24 pm

Do you know the price of lancer GT in langkawi?? cheaper than this..so, lancer got no quality also?

• d specs gud…
      but preve??
      *now how do i put the tail on top??

• how come the side mirror design is totally different from the tuah design? it is same with persona. .

• normal_user on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:57 am

RM75K is quite too much. and very near to Vios/City. Most people who are H & T fanbois will certainly choose the latter.

• Arzaq on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:16 pm

For the specs they offer, the engine performance, safety 5 star rating which has Electronic stability control, 4 airbags, abs + ebd, brake assist. RM75K is worth every cent

• RedBeanBun on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:30 am

LV Beg, Prada Beg and Bonia beg serve the same function, but there is a reason why people paying for LV Bag.

bro, Its the brand and images that matters. Woman carry beg, and Man drive car to show own personality and character also.

its nature drivers buying evolve pattern here:

used to be 3 tier like
        P1/P2->Toyo/Honda ->BM/Merc

now 4 tier like
        P1/P2/Cherry->Suzuki/Toyo/Honda/Nissan/Kia/Mazda/PUG/Hyundai/Passat -> BM/Merc/Audi->Porsche/Ferarri/Lambo/RR/

P1 wanted to move to 2nd tier, which is the most challenge not only quality which fails them in history that damage the brand. Toyo/Honda/Suzuki is bring the tier2 to tier1 in the City/Vios also with income raising…P1 facing the biggest challenge is brand.

also new management direction? re-brand? or..? this P3 may be last of Protong build, and I sure would think twice before the Protong Polo Sedan, or Protong Jetta comes out…which is cheaper for the DRB to run and making instant business revenue than doing the real national project of this P3 target to export. (which is yet to see the success or failure, imagine if this export model still fail…)

Still…RM75K is day light robbing…and Msian is used to that in automotive..

How much they are going to sell in overseas?

• jonathan on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:56 pm

The current batch of Vios & City has nothing much to offer potential customers except for the fact that they are both T & H … that’s pretty much to it!! … Don’t tell me that they have better quality … I’m a vios owner n i CANNOT say that the overall quality of the car is light years ahead of proton’s

• jonathan on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:02 pm

rm75K too much? take the specs of the proton n compare to the specs of a Limited Edition Vios … it’s like night and day … The only good thing about a vios is the good FC & balanced power to weight ratio..Nothing more than that.. In my 4th year of owning a Vios, i can honestly say i REGRET THAT I BOUGHT A VIOS… let’s give proton a chance…let’s wait for the car to be on the road before we criticize it …

• SWYeo on Apr 02, 2012 at 10:48 am

Think we have given p1 too many chances from Psaga till now. Maybe you have yet to drive a proton.
        Please be aware that Vios and City are not premium cars . They are actually subcompact entry level cars. In terms of performance and handling – so so. But at least all things work normally without having to worry about car breakdown, power window failure, crack/broken plastic parts – dashboard ( avoidable – use a good quality UV film), glove compartment that may lock up and unable to open and the list goes on….

75k is definitely too much – not because of the car specs but because of the protection given to proton, all of us have to buy that spec of car at that kind of price. at 75k, i could afford a bloody BMW 3 series in US/UK/Japan. In fact i would be able to buy another house instead of paying for Cars which is a necessity not a luxury.

• jtype on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:05 pm

… this car priced around vios j-type and I can tell u,j-type is a total shit… owned it for 20 months then cannot tahan the overall package sold it to my uncle… even persona is better than stupid j-type….

• azrai on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:01 pm

So the again ‘softlaunch’ is today, when will the ‘hardlaunch’ then?? Waiting for Tun & PM?

• dozy888 on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:03 pm

Damm expensive!

• eims @ gold on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:11 pm

Very good price range. still in proce range for people’s 1st car.
    woh.. 1st car already can get a good car.

If this model is realy as good as expected, keeping the quality of its later model like exora bold & persona elegance. p321a can beat city vios anytime la i guess.

My friend drove exora & oddisey from KL to kelantan & he said huge different. except for the powertrain, he prefer exora handling.

• especially at bukit 7 area.

• Vader on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:22 pm

nope, normal ppl 1st car’s price range should be ~50k, or even lower.
      of course, this not meant for those rich guys..

• don raj on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:17 pm

how much cheaper la we want…forever complaining only..maybe 5k will be good i guess

• Lim Kopi on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:39 pm

Honestly people …. if you had 75k to spend,

would you seriously buy a Proton?

Theres Kia, Honda, Toyota etc.

• Arzaq on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:57 pm

I would buy a Proton because looks at the given spec for this P3

It’s hilarious, the engine performance, 507 litre boot space, a bit continental design, a global car, 4 airbags, electronic stability control, abs and ebd….5 star ANCAPwhat else?
      I already seen the interior of the car, it’s different from other proton!

Let see sub 100K foreign car

1) Vios
      2) City
      3) Forte
      4) Mazda 2
      5) Fiesta

between these 5, only forte 2.0 and fiesta that can match with these p3

• jonet on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:56 pm

1.6cfe Egine=2.0 fortelor & powerful than 1.6 fieastaik

this proton car bigger than fiesta..

• waja2007 on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:54 pm

They say that this is their ‘Global Car’. Lets see if they can compete with Altis, Civic, Elantra, Forte at the Global Stage and World Autoshow with the GLOBAL PRICE.

In our Bolehland, Proton and Perodua just ‘boleh’ stay at the top as the “Jaguh Kampung” because of the ‘not global price’. You can thumb me down but that’s the fact, and this fact always hurts. I will not buy a Waja if Altis or Civic is same priced.

I will visit this new Global Car to see if its interior is much better than my 2007 Waja. Waja 2007-2010 interior (except the meter panel) has the best quality, design and finishing among all Proton cars. Even Persona Elegance and Exora CFE can’t match it.

• try drive both on wavy road, corners
        p3 is sure much better in handling

• ajim1Malaysia on Mar 21, 2012 at 11:26 am

u r proton sales man! haha

• Basikal_Buruk on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:59 pm

yes.. i would.. this would be my third proton apart from my iswara and persona elegance..

• I support.

• kepala bapak korg on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:07 pm

BUT YOU CAN GET THIS FROM KIA,TOYOTA,HONDA,HYUNDAI AT THIS PRICE?

the engine performance,
      safety 5 star rating
      Electronic stability control,
      4 airbags,
      abs + ebd,
      brake assist. ETCCCC…

P/S:I’M NOT PROTON SALEMAN BUT PROTON SUPPORTTER feat BASHER

• Michael on Apr 02, 2012 at 7:02 pm

If it not because of the goverment tariff protection, I don’t think Proton can compete and all other cars in similar segment will be at least slightly cheaper than Proton.

We can’t compare with Vios and City as they’re only 1.5 CC. They’re actually used to compete with Wira and Iswara. People buy Vios and CIty was because they prefer quality.

So far I’ve used 3 Iswara and 2 Wira’s, my second Wira was an Australia spec. and guess what, it went to overhaul just 3 months of using. The engine oil keeps running low just after a month of changing oils.

• if gov doesnt protect proton, how can a young not popular brand can compete with other established long formed car makers? the protection was for the sake of today, the production of global preve and onwards. after this they just need to improvise preve like what civic, elantra and other popular c segment cars did to those respective models.

korean and japanese can be succesful in industrialism today because of their strong “semangat kenegaraan”. look up history bashers.

• farghmee on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:30 pm

tgk spec dulu, baru ble pk.

75k dual airbag? forget it.

• Fraz006 on Mar 17, 2012 at 11:57 am

4 airbag, abs,ebd esc, 5 star ncap bro….. Dui, mls mau ckp dh cmnih

• 4 airbags, ebd esc , 5 star but don’t know whether it works or not as claimed. This maybe because of its name still Proton. I am not anti Proton but I learnt from history. It is good if Proton not produce the car so people will benefit from cheaper and higher specs car or imported cars. Some more Proton always losing money and that money is our money… hee hee . sorry..

• y not..
      this machine is far away better compare to vios J (consider the 75k to spend). macam langit ngn bumi kau tau dak??
      stupid people always been cheated by brand..pitty..mentality problem..forte..for 1.6cc, apa je ada? mkin boleh compare bila p3-21A ni dilancarkan..lps tu baru kita blh tgk yg mana lagi ok?

oh ye..forte 1.6 ada pedal shifter ke eh?

• THEN I THINK FORTE 1.6 ENGINE POWER IS LOWER THAN THIS PROTON…
        INTERIOR OF FORTE IS NOT GOOD LOOKING…
        TOP SPEED OF FORTE I THINK ONLY 180/185KM/H (IF NOT MY FAULT)..

• if i am not mistaken, of cos it isnt not your fault.. is KIA fault .. lol

• MoFaz on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:51 pm

can you get the same spec Kia, Honda, Toyota etc at RM75k?

• Statistician on Mar 14, 2012 at 10:13 pm

Mofaz lagi ? Taknpayah keje ke ? Vios G spec price only 52 k la Tanpa tax. I used to have 1 ?

• MoFaz on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:56 am

ko bangang ke apa? waja kalau takde tax below RM40k, P3-21A ni kalau takde tax pon confirm below RM50k la.
          konon statistician, memang pandai buat statistic je la ko ni.

• give me one new model by Kia, Honda, Toyota etc prices RM75k with all the P321A specs plz!!! no used car mehhh…

• crazee on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:16 pm

Definitely cannot! since Gov is protecting Proton. Even new Elantra price “sangkut” due to Proton. Not that i’m saying this car is bad. This is a good value for money car, but open the market, let people choose. What for you are afraid if you have a good product to sell.

• 75k for a proton?? yep… no support = no improvements… we support imported cars, they got improved and proton got hit by bashers as it is improving… how ironic that the bashers own imported cars…

• teelim on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:00 pm

hope this car does not suffer the problems that all newly launched protons face.

• lim guan eng on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:02 pm

U CAN GET BELOW 60K BUT WITHOUT the engine performance, safety 5 star rating which has Electronic stability control, 4 airbags, abs + ebd, brake assist…….

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:10 pm

vios j is much better at this price! still the top selling non national model!

• powder1 on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:02 pm

bookings opened even before reveal car? @@

• oblong on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:24 pm

Ya lor…i thought last time for muslim Majlis Fatwa Kebangsaan has decreed ‘haram’ to buy item which is not ‘real’ yet. i.e. can see/can touch.

• bolong on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:24 pm

my friend….there is a different between “booking” and “buy”….get it??

• Is it haram to book flight to oversea? Wat bout booking for cinema tickets?

• Wow!!! So there r a lot of people involve here. U sure one of them. Don’t make statement like a primary student.

• brian on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:07 pm

with rm62000-rm75000, i bet their sales will be below 1000 unit per month.

• You're beating... on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:15 pm

a dead horse.

• Bobby on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:02 am

Yes..brian.. u might right!!! maybe below apprv below 500 units per month because new policy from Bank Negaraku….

• For Saudi Arabia Protongkat estimated RM31K – RM37K price only…

Make sure LifeTime warranty for the turbo also…mana tau kan kaput nanti…

So, the power window problem ‘solved’ by slapping Lifetime warranty? Kerja pemalas tu…

• ononimos on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:49 pm

Life time warranty = kerja pemalas??

Nice way of thinking. Best among the retards.

Can’t you see it from the business point of view for this ‘life warranty’? More parts to be replaced for free means more losses for the company. Period.

• budak TKO yg tak tau apa pasal automotive.

• Lloyd on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:13 pm

62k – 75k is a reasonable price range. In terms of pricing, Toyota and Honda can sell cheap because of the economies of scale they enjoy. P3-21A is an excellent car for a small company like Proton and it can be considered the best looking and best featured produced by Proton. We should support Proton, finally they’ve got it right this time.

• brian on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:59 pm

a small company must produce a car for a mass. If proton sells a car more expensive than other foreigner car, which also include excise duty, I think not more than 5 years, proton will go bankrupt and it will beg other carmakers to joint venture again like in 2006.

• john f kennedy on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:15 pm

come on lag!70-75k is still pretty expansive for a TUAH!kamon lag give us malaysian a break!!just by looking at the speedometer,i can see proton only used 20-30k to make this car!hahaha i hope people from proton is reading this.if price go up to 75k,it is ridiculous.ppl dnt go out and buy car with cash.we borrow from bank la.so if u have a choice just go for a car priced around 85-90k.the installment monthly will only be 200-300 rm different.think bout it.

• Nakal on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:10 pm

poor

• luffykewl on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:24 pm

i don’t see anything wrong with the speedometer..

• bonbon on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:07 pm

no prob bro..go buy your city or vios aa… you will definately ‘happy’ with your decision…. if others want to buy this new proton.,,,let them make their decision….

• john f kennedy on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:16 pm

come on lag!70-75k is still pretty expansive for a TUAH!kamon lag give us malaysian a break!!just by looking at the speedometer,i can see proton only used 20-30k to make this car!hahaha i hope people from proton is reading this.if price go up to 75k,it is ridiculous.ppl dnt go out and buy car with cash.we borrow from bank la.so if u have a choice just go for a car priced around 85-90k.the installment monthly will only be 200-300 rm different.think bout it.Please.

• Gabla on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:31 pm

You can spend the same amount of money for a japanese car which offers less or you can spend a bit more for a japanese car which offers more but using the Proton badge.

• bongek on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:42 pm

ala…if i bought car at 85-90k,,then u will advice me buy car between 140-100k … only 300-500 different… and it goes on…. tam bah skit saja lagi,,sampan ferrari…..

• For people who dont wanna buy and said rm75K for the hi spec is too expansive, no need to nagging here..theres always a choice..u can have Viva, Myvi, Saga BLM, Persona, Alza….the list goes on..or can look for the used imported brand….u have choices..

its good sign that proton still alive and keep offering us their product..well at least we can have many choices of car to choose if we have rm75K in our account.

yaa..people would said that if no ridiculous tax ..the car prices would be cheaper…but please tell that to your self that the TAX will not go away..even u change the gov!..its a source of income for a gov..and its A LOT..no way for any gov will abolish that source of income instantly..

any way.. congrates to proton, cant wait to see the actual new proton (this car) in the showroom.

will i buy one?..for now ..NO, ..got many commitment…future..maybe..

• Dato Seri on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:13 pm

From this forum i can assume that some of malaysian are ungrateful. If you dont have money to buy car please dont make a statement that this or that car too pricey or expansive. Its your bloody fault when u grow up with no education qualification and end up working as macha with little pay. If u are ambitious and mature enough you wont be putting such statement coz you are most likely success in your life.
    Anyway, i think this car good for daily use and for RM75k with the spec it offers is value for money. Good job Proton!

• from heavy protong cum sippers,go booking yourself this new car..dont just only know to back up protong only but no action..for the basher surely they dont buy this car,as long as it’s protong..and yes,we dont need ur explanation about wht spec for this car such as abs,airbag,5 star rating n bla3 bcoz we already knew about it as protong is always keep doing stupid teaser for this car..

• Brazbuz on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:52 pm

So on with you STUPID….. When p1 come out with a new car everything is not good, why no 6 airbags la,why so expensive,why design not good,bla bla bla….

• yeah mr clever..go booking urself one la..dont just barking here like stupid..hahaha

• hayden on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:09 am

yeah “go booking urself one la” .. that really show how “smart” you are.

• if i am ferrari cum sipper..do i need to book n buy it oso? Well i cum sipper many ferrari class type of car..i dont have that much money to book let alone buy all those…ayo!!!..i only can bark all day long

• IMHO, all people have a different goal when buy a car. if u get a little bit more money, pls consider T&H. good resale value. i already own Proton and H. No complaint on Proton. so far so good. only resale is suck even proton car sale equal to P2.

• F Fiesta on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:17 pm

Overpriced for Proton car… Ford Fiesta much more worth it

Pros
    1) Voice Control on Ford Fiesta
    2)Overall design is awesome Proton P3 ugly
    3) More air bags than Proton P3
    4) Continental car or USA car
    5) Ford Brand
    6) Car of the year 2010
    7) Sporty design
    8) Feels more luxury car

Cons
    1) Abit pricey
    2) 6 speeds vs 7 speeds not so much different

• 7 speed cvt??for cvt even 11 speed pon bole la..

• lUlzzz on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:29 pm

my smart handphone olso got voice command…so no problem…

design wise-ford fiesta ofcoz looks may kill…but that’s for compact car, young executive segment…p3 is more to family which you will sell your ford fiesta later on and buy such things like p3 when you got children….design simple okla….bawak budak pon…

more airbags tp body pon kecik…kena sondol dr belakang xde protection pon…anak pon tercedera parah…

ford brand??so what??malaysians da lama x pedulik sgt kereta ford brand-take a test @ hway—-berapa kali sgt nmpk kereta ford??

ford car of the year 2010–p3 2012?

• No 5 n 6 proton cannot get..how can proton be ford if it is proton? Take over maybe? It 2012 already this certianly imposible to become car of the year 2010

• more imported car owners lost their nationalism to consumerism… consumers support foreign car makers, thus foreign car makers got money… got money, got funds for research… got research, thus getting better cars… while consumers blame local car makers cannot do better… and for those who are comparing proton with ford, bear in mind that ford had been on earth for how long?? and come on… fiesta is already 6th gen… if 6th gen cannot get a car of the year award, what will… even the oldest proton model, the saga, is in its 2nd gen… and did i mention imported car makers got global market on their hands?? this is proton’s 1st try to go global and if we’re not there for them, then who will?? stop and think for a while…

• more imported car owners… lost their nationalism due to consumerism… since other’s kept paying foreign car makers, foreign car makers got more money… when they got more money, they can do more research… so, they got better cars… and the consumers blame local car makers they can’t do better… and the cycle continues… and for those who are comparing proton to Car of the Year or whatever, don’t put high expectations on a 1st trial… fiesta is already the 6th gen… even the oldest proton model, Saga, is on its 2nd gen… if 6th gen cannot get car of the year award, it should be a shame… think about it…

• d'aboukir on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:24 pm

Most Malaysians are emotional when commenting and debating, sometimes they use foul words as well. All of the comments about this car were made based on limited knowledge using the photos, video clips and sketchy data from the internet.

Give this car a test drive first, study the specs and the data, perhaps one of you can get a copy of the engine dyno graph, then only we can make the comparison. Present your case based on fact and figures, for example what quality and safety standard they used? You need to find these facts first.

As for me the price is reasonable based on the “specs” from the teaser.
    But I admit, it is not within my budget if I were to buy a new car.

• majeeeda on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:31 pm

emmm….RM 75K, at this price, yes it can beat the likes of Toyota and Honda products. However,most of the bashers are Perodua Myvi fan….maybe not a myvi user yet! Thats why some are saying its expansive let alone the safety, performance and all the extra features…..the best thing can be done to win these group of Myvianese thinking is yes…by bringing the price lower but still retaining most of the advance specs….at least the price must be competitive enough to outrun the Myvi 1.5se…imagine if Proton can steal all the heart of those thinking to get Myvi 1.5se with the right price…Definitely car of the year 2012 in no time….

• Inswira on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:58 pm

Hello guys and girls ;

If the price itself is around 62k and above, it should be reasonable for all malaysian. If you still thinking that the price is quite expensive then you should consider yourself to buy your Toyo, Hon, Hyun, or the rest of the imported cars. This car is meant for “SMART PEOPLE” only … only this kind of species know how to put their own money in a SMART way. Hahaha … just my point of view. No heart feeling mate ….

• Pixel on Mar 14, 2012 at 7:55 pm

booking fee of RM500 can take back or not if not satisfy with the final design/spec???

• 75k berbaloi la for the spec.. kalau rasa mahal, p la beli toyota ke honda ke mazda ke ford ke. cakap banyak tak guna. aku tengok bersepah jugak kereta nasional kat malaysia ni.
    dont worry la protong tak akan bankrupt. kualiti makin bertambah baik. makin cantik.

• =)

• affordable price on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:21 pm

Dont get too happy guys. you might only get cfe at 75K.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:11 am

with this price, it shall be bye bye for the inspira………Wonder will they call it the Persona R as intended.

• Kraven on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:50 am

Good stuff proton! Everything me e90 lci has, u almost had it all.. I’m still keeping my 1st batch 15 year old wira as my dads spare car now, yeah had some minor problems with the power window, changed it, never broken down in the past 6 years. N I’m those who usually buka cermin for parking n tolls n never use the doors for it.. Guess it’s all bout proper maintenance n care for your car.

I’ve had the privilege of jumping from a proton to a continental. Driven most of the cars u guys listed here vs P3. vios j? Piece of crap, TRD? Decent but overpriced for the accessories. City? A basic car tht has past it’s peak. Fiesta n forte? Come on, resale value? After sales? Worst than proton k!
    Benefits of p3-a local car, no problemo for parts n such. Service mana mana pun boleh, no one gives a crap about full service records as banyak foreman tau repair. Koreans? Do u even know the reputation of Korean engines from mechanics before forte? Haha..

75k is the ideal pricing for such specs expected from this car. It’s inflation, things gets pricier, deal with it! 6yeara ago u can still get a landed property in pj area under 600k. 600k now will only get u a puny studio apt in pj! Adept ppl, n stop complaining!

Some of u bashers pls think before u even lay any comment n waste paul’s server storage for your lousy half ass comments. Jeez, vios j better than p3? Which part? The rims cap or the crappy interior? Haha jokers

• tok nebe on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:18 pm

pasni nokgi kedai proton, nok buking 2 butir selalu. jange jeles …

• the problem with the onset of sale of p3 is the future resale value of city and vios .why would people pay more for a second hand honda city or toyota vios when the p3 provides better value brand new.

• zaidS on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:01 pm

org akan kate ‘CANTIK DESIGN KETE NIE’ if kete nie HONDA

org akan kate ‘BERBALOI BELI KETE NIE’ if kete nie TOYOTA

tp org akan kate ‘ADEYY..MCM NIE KER DESIGN KETE PROTON a.k.a GLOBAL

CAR???RND PROTON XWAT KEJE KER TAW NK COPY PASTE DESIGN KETE LAIN

JER ????’ if kete nie namenyer PROTON…tu r pandangan org yg ‘BIJAK’ dan ‘ARIF’

psl kete…hmmm bak kate astro mcm2 ada d MSIA….peace…

• i love Proton – why? I don’t know.

for the price myr62k – myr75k, the target market is for those who willing to spend above rm700 for 108 months installment

i kinda agree with the idea that the maximum for car loan is 3 years or less than 4 years. that means if you can afford to settle the loan in maximum 3 years, you can buy that car.

I too kinda agree with the idea that if we all united the price will be reasonable. Is it logic to price the car MYR50k if people willing to pay MYR160k for it? imagine yourself a businessman, would you?

I too wonder – do we get discount for being loyal and supportive to one’s brand? Tell me, if i can get discount just by support the one’s brand, i would.

btw, I saw the ad on tv.. good job proton.

• The more people bash Proton, the more I want to buy this Proton model. Why? Because my family have 5 proton trouble free cars and the money that I pay will stay in the country.

• LOL with all the bashing in ths forum..
      imagine i am PT,
      *owh, i fgot to cash my cheque, too bz laughing..
      haha,ops..i hurt my stomach*

• A WV Jetta burst into flame in an accident few weeks ago. A RM1m++ Ferrari 430 Scuderia burst into flame while cruising along LEKAS highway a few days ago. A BMW 7 series caught fire and claimed the lives of its occupants along PLUS highways last year. All those expensive cars with all sorts of bells and whistle proofs values and Ncap don’t mean anything when you are out of luck.

• Hyundai-Kia Group manage to evolve well today due to “Automobile Industry Protection Act 1962” in Korea and with local support from Korean. Foreign car companies were prohibited from entering the Korean market during 1960. 20 years after that, they began exporting their car. Their reputation was pretty bad due to quality and reliability and today, they are the 5th largest car exporter..

I believe that Proton will do well. Proton maybe small and young company but they are struggling and ‘committed to be better’. I am Malaysian..full support to Proton and that’s why I’m buying this P3-21A..

• racing jebon on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:51 pm

the car is highly specs up with EPS some more , funny if they try to get the most of the engine why using HPS (hydraulic) power steering , better use the EPS (electric power steering) automatically you get 9% power up out of nothing..funny la you potong..but nobody is laughing.

• My family owned a latest Camry, 8 years old Gen 2, and 14 years old Tiara. the passenger front seat window is the only major problem we’d got on gen2. Tiara still working fine except for the gear box not as smooth as before(14 years!). We still love proton and recently re-painted both our protons to make it look new. Sometimes dont blame Proton if you dont know in handling/take care proton. ANd now I guess we plan to get the third proton, Preve! Love you. Wish there will be CFE manual huhu.

• I think 73k for a high end proton is worth every cents. it is design to compete with civic, forte, etc. rather that have to pay 120k++ on those cars, i would rather get this preve almost half of the price with same quality if not more. From the review, they say performance wise, preve even beat some other c-class segment cars let alone city and vios; in term of handling, acceleration. have to try it for myself. myvi will bungkus la after this, 60k for a mini car? what a joke!